Rihanna wins Best Rap/Sung Collaboration (For a Rap/Sung collaborative performance by artists who do not normally perform together. Singles or Tracks only.
Congratulations from the BU household!!!!!
Click On Image
Our friend Superlative1 has all the lowdown happening at the Grammy’s this weekend. Can Rihanna bring home the bacon for Barbados? What ever the final result Rihanna would have done well to have been nominated 5 times.
Congrats Rihanna!
Dear Pat, are performing-arts all the Bajans can do???? Then, the Indians, certainly WILL, take over!!!!
Bimbro // February 15, 2008 at 6:59 am
Dear Pat, are performing-arts all the Bajans can do???? Then, the Indians, certainly WILL, take over!!!
No Bimbro. What I am implying is that we are wasting time arguing about things of no consequence and little importance. Some were suggesting that the government give Rihanna a house, car, etc. Those things she can buy and are fleeting. Something permanent named after her as an “entertainer” would be more relevant, in my humble opinion.
Pat, you don’t need to humble your opinion, ny dear. You’re as entitled as any to your opinion, on this blog, whatever that opinion happens to be.
I fully, agree with you and would be surprised if Rihanna even agreed to accept gifts from the Bim govt. which she could, plainly, quite easily afford to buy herself!!
I’m certain the home-awards will be forthcoming, but I daresay, will take time in Bim!!!!
One of the most disturbing things that I have noticed throughout my life is that many Black Barbadian men try to prove their manhood by attacking other Black people, while sheepishly kowtowing to Whites and others. Bizzy Williams once said that Black Barbadian men will follow directions from a White man more easily than from a Black man. He said Black men in his companies give his Black supervisors hell.
I am sure, David, that you feel like a real man, because you told me, a Black woman, to put up or shut up. It is sad that you feel you have to prove your manhood that way.
You and other Black men on this blog talk tough, but at the end of the day most of you have to beg the Indian and White men that you blame for everything for jobs, because most of you don’t create any and most of you have empty pockets. The Royal Shop and Sandy Lane disputes are examples of how Blacks have to beg for jobs from Whites and Indians. All people like you have to offer Barbadians is talk. You are not “doers” like you said you are. You are talkers.
Stop talking and go out and create jobs and opportunities for Bajans, so they won’t have to keep going to Whites and foreigners for opportunities. I will have more respect for you then.
PS.
Isn’t it hypocritical of you to under one thread bash Guyanese and under another thread say that the government of Barbados should try to capitalize on Rihanna’s success? Rihanna’s mother is Guyanese. If you don’t like the Guyanese, you shouldn’t try to ride their coattails or live vicariously through them or their children when they succeed. Don’t get me wrong, we need to control the influx of immigrants, but if you are going to be as venomous as you are towards Guyanese, you should be ashamed to then try to take credit for their success here.
Also, the December 18, 2006 Nation newspaper online states that there are over 34,000 British citizens living in Barbados. Why are you just concerned about the 30,000 Guyanese? The British don’t treat Black Barbadians any better than the Guyanese. Bizzy Williams’ Black wife was shoved and called a nigger by a White British couple who were living in Barbados a few years ago.
You need to put up or shut up David. That means do something substantive instead of just talking.
I am finally done for good.
Bajan Girl:
Cool it. Dont you recognize the testosterone? Let them be. I would not be surprised if some of the men on these boards come here to throw their weight around, mouth off and act the big man because at home they dont wear the pants!
The Royal Shop and Sandy Lane disputes are examples of how Blacks have to beg for jobs from Whites and Indians.
Bajan Girl, perhaps, it’s by virtue of this close contact with them that we’re able to speak so expertly, about what they’re like?!!
The British don’t treat Black Barbadians any better than the Guyanese.
Perhaps, ONE set of foreigners living among them and treating them like dirt is ENOUGH for any people, including Barbadians!!!! Do we need the Indians doing the same, also????
Please feel free to contribute to BU and expect that exchanges may get ‘rough’ sometimes.
Please bear this in mind, David!!!!
I would not be surprised if some of the men on these boards come here to throw their weight around, mouth off and act the big man because at home they dont wear the pants!
Would that be because, you do, in your home, Pat?!!!!
well this is an interesting site cant even remember how i got here but i must say ya’ll have some interesting opinions.
i think i’m just gonna say this about rihanna not touching the political thing. i’m glad of her achievements and hope she contiues on in good health. however i dont see why the big national debate is and why some bajans think its necessary to insist that all bajan bow down and kiss her ass. every one has their own opinion some ppl like rap music some ppl dont some ppl will prefer a song over another just because she is bajan doesnt mean we have to like every thing she sings and every thing she does when american artiste go anywhere and their clothes are inappropriete they get critise in much the same manner sometime worst if she cant deal with it then she is in the wrong business. noone should expect just because their a celebrity that everyone should automatically like or worship them. 2 with all the shit going on in barbados why the hell are we concentrating on rihanna?? she is a millionair now spending her money in the usa contributing to the us economy not ours do you all think she gine be concern if gas prices and food prices increase or decrease. as for comparin her to bob marley and what he did for jamaica one must realise that reggae is All jamaican rihanna isnt promoting barbadian music she not putting Our music on the map shes putting american music and culture out there. yes she has done wonderfully s far and we applaud
her, but no amount of talking about whether bajan should “leave her alone” and embrace her is gonna put or economy back on track.
bajegirl, I wun mine kissing she a** – but den I wufless!!!! Laaaaaaaaaaadddddd!! 🙂
What most bajans don’t realise is that the lady’s one of the most talented singers/musicians IN THE WORLD!!!! That’s no mean achievement when you consider the number of people who aspire to that title!! You would need a particluar appreciation of excellent music to realise just how outstanding she is which most people simply, do not possess!! However, people ‘in the know’ know this! Why do you think that J Z (or whatever his name is) nearly broke his neck to sign her!! It was n’t because she’s good-looking or Barbadian but because he recognised that she’s a phenomenal, talent, as do I!! That is why she’s won so many accolades and will win so many more!!
If you can’t appreciate just how brilliant Rihanna is, it’s not her fault but yours for nor having the sufficently, expert ear to appreciate a genius when you hear her!!!!
And that’s a second reason why I would happily, kiss her ****side!!!! 🙂
u obviously dont know what talent is rihanna can sing but lets not go over board she’s not that good if u want to talk about brillian musicians then talk about mariah carey or celine dion toni braxton whos deep voice was fabulous arthea franklin dianna ross alicia keys those women are brilliant musicians rihanna is more like the teenage wonders we have today. like brittnany ciara and other whose voice may not be all of that but they have the ” package” to make it in the music industry which is more about looks than real music. all it takes is a half naked woman and a catchy refrain to make in music today and that is not showin brilliance. so many ppl try to get auditions and they are many who have better voices and more talent than rihanna will ever have but they dont get notice because they dont have to looks to grab attention like rihanna did when she met evan rogers she should be glad she is that pretty and that freaks like u are willing to kiss her ass she’ll go futher then
I nominate Rhianna for the position of Barbados’ roving Ambassador to the UN !
She does not wear cornrows…….so Matthew Farley would approve of her nomination !
OOPPPS……..I forgot Rhianna likes to wear her clothes in a youthful fashion and I am sure that BIGOT Matthew Farley would have second thoughts…….!
Such are the two-side actions of WOMANISERS !
Bajegirl, u might be surprised that I’m not overawed by Rihanna’s looks!! It’s not because of her looks that I think she’s brilliant but because she’s an amazing singer and musician although I think her looks are absolutely, fine!!
Also, I doubt that she looked as great when she met Evan Rogers as she does these days, don’t you??
I agree with you about the other singers you mention, that they are excellent, too. What you don’t realise is that Rihanna’s in a different musical, category in which she in pre-eminent!!!!
Plus, when last did you hear of those other singers winning any major awards??
Rihanna is the 21st century girl and eclipses them all!!!!
Even Madonna, had better watch-out!!!!
If, for loving our girl, I’m a freak!! Then, so be it!! I’m happy to be a freak!!!!
u my friend is highly delude. of course she isnt in any genre with them they can actually sing they did not get a contract on their looks alone be real if rihanna was as pretty as she was evan roger and his team wouldnt have even given her a second look today music is all about who looks good in the most skimpiest outfits on stage and not about who can actually sing
Bimbro, please. Rihanna did not win for her singing style, or talent or whatever. She won for singing outside of whatever her style is. She was nominated for 4 awards (the other two were for the producers and writers) and copped only one that featured another singer.
Now, your Engling chick Amy Winehouse. She can sing. She is soulful. She has talent, is a musician (she plays guitar), a singer (five Grammies) and a song writer (she writes all her songs), so please give credit where credit is due. It is not taking anything from Rihanna. When she gets as good as Amy she will also win 5!
It is good that you think Rihanna can sing and is the best singer around. It is also good to know that lots of people are tone deaf. It is even better to know that a lot of people dont know what good music is. That is why some of the “singers” out there can make so much money off of them.
If Rihanna, as you say, is pre-eminent in her category, why did she not win every award in it?
It seems to me that you are a musical neophyte.
Just for the record,
Bajegirl and Bajan Girl are two different people.
Now, your Engling chick Amy Winehouse. She can sing. She is soulful. She has talent, is a musician (she plays guitar), a singer (five Grammies) and a song writer (she writes all her songs), so please give credit where credit is due. It is not taking anything from Rihanna. When she gets as good as Amy she will also win 5!
——————————————-
Pat what absolute rubbish are you talking. Amy Whitehouse is a druggie and paro in rehab. She so bad USA refuse her a visa. No matter what talent she has I certainly wont want Rhianna to follow in her footsteps. In fact Rihanna should ignore Amy and keep on doing the fantatastic work she is doing for herself and Barbados.
——————–
Bajegirl you are reprehensible. I cant believe you are Bajan.
———————————
Bajan Girl has anyone told you that you sound like Bizzy Williams. It appears you have major problems with black people. As a no nonsense black man I wish I would run into one of these whites, British or local who call me by the “N” word. I interact with many whites and Indians but God forbid the day one of them disrespects me.
Pat what absolute rubbish are you talking. Amy Whitehouse is a druggie and paro in rehab. She so bad USA refuse her a visa. No matter what talent she has I certainly wont want Rhianna to follow in her footsteps. In fact Rihanna should ignore Amy and keep on doing the fantatastic work she is doing for herself and Barbados.
Well said, Techie, not to mention that Rihanna’s also one of the most talented and exciting singers of this generation!!!! Rihanna may only have won one Grammy the other day but I’m certain she has won many other awards and with a certian amount of luck, will win many more!!!!
Give me Rihanna, any day of the year!!!!
Techie, you’ve got to be careful about getting yourself into trouble because of these white or asian bast***s!! I can’t be certain the Bim authorities would be sympathetic with you. Authority to me, so often, end up seeming more to be on the side of the evil-doer than the innocent, so be careful about ruining your career and perhaps, life!!
You know the Bim authorities better than I do. You live there, I don’t any more!!
Best wishes!!
Techie & Bimbro:
Amy Winehouse is a druggie. We all know that. That does not mean she cannot sing. Natalie Cole was a druggie before her, it did not mean she could not sing. So, too, Bob Marley, The Beatles, Rolling Stones, even Elvis Presley.
Did anyone say they want Rihanna to follow in Amy’s footsteps? Do you people understand what you read? cheeeeeeeeupseeeeeeeeee
techie& bimbro its nice that you all are such rihanna fans its great that someone from barbados can actually get all the attention she does but you guys are also totally blinded or deaf but hey enjoy your enthuism while it last cause beauty fades and she wont be at the top for long
pat & bajegirl i would hope that if one of ya all close relatives get as big as rihanna wunna dont get mad if bimbro, techie or anybody else get on like wunna.
ya mean a young girl from bout hay mek um big and receive awards that other world artists aint get and wunna cant accept the fact that she is great? so much for being a hypocrite.
this is why jamaican artists will always be on top of all caribbean artists, simply because jamaica accepts their own and we do not with ours.
how often do you hear a jamaican saying they are tired of hearing about beenie man, or babysham, or bounty killer?
we have our own star and should be proud of her and the others to follow, even if we dont like the music, at least accept the fact that another bajan became a star.
its obvious that her stardom will end, only one thing never ends and thats time itself, so that is pointless to say she wont be the top for long.
pat because you do not like rihanna music doen not mean her music is out of tone or that us who like it is tone deaf. you do not live on this planet alone and you cannot expect people to agree with everything you like or disagree with everything you disagree with.
i do not like punk nor techno, but that does not mean those who like it are tone deaf.
it sickens me to read comments like yours that downplays the success of another. when you get to realize how an artist is selected by an A&R and signed to a label, and all that goes with the contract, then i challenge you to continue to downplay rihanna’s achievements. if u think getting a record deal is like getting & signing a military contract think again missy, thousands upon thousands of artists are turned down weekly and demos thrown into the trash daily, some without even being opened. this girl made a mile stone in which millions of us independent artists wish we were today, and we give them the respected praises for their work, why? because when its our turn, we look for the same.
you really think because she did not win in each she was nominated for that she is not good? come on woman, record companies with execs who got more sense than you and money signed her to make more money from her talent, not because of her looks, or else they would have selected from a model agency within the usa.
that is as straight as it is
thank god everyone don’t think like you pat
ya know ya all got to get realistic in case you dont read to often kadri evan roger said in an interview that rihanna look like star quality when he first met her and all he hope was that when she opened her mouth she can hold a tune which she can no matter what u’all say the girl got there on her looks first of all her talents or lack there of was second. as you say there are lots of artiste who are really good who dont even get listen to who try all they can but dont make it cause they dont have that speacial look, two things get u through in th emusic industry either your looks or u have real good musical talent rihanna was the latter.
ps no one is down playing her achievement what pat was trying to say is that they should’nt say amywhinehouse cant sing or didnt deserve to win as many awards as she did because as pat pointed out she is a true musican regardless of her drug problem and to say that about her is quite hypcrtical considering all the lashes u all like to give ppl when they have to state the facts about rihanna. we bajan have a way of acting like fussy idiots when we get lil attention.
two things get u through in th emusic industry either your looks or u have real good musical talent rihanna was the latter.
meant to say wasnt
Techie says…’Bajan Girl has anyone told you that you sound like Bizzy Williams. It appears you have major problems with black people.
————————————————————————
Ammm…..Techie…do you live in a cave??
Bizzie is MARRIED to a black Bajan girl!!
bajegirl, you are right and you are wrong. let me tell you what signs an artist.
image and singing ability which consist of style and originality, not sexy looks, the image must be there that represents the style of music the artist sings, in other words, have you ever seen a rock star wearing baggy jeans and big shirts with lots of plat and gold chains? i guess not, IMAGE is the term, not looks, looks is just an asset of the image.
rihanna’s success was both talent and looks, if you want to believe it was just looks alone, sister i am sorry to say, you are either deaf, or ignorant. she is not the best but she is brilliant. that grammy award may seem like a big milestone for many, but in my opinion, the world music awards she received is much bigger than the grammy, any musical enthusiast would tell you so, grammy is just usa and the uk, world music is usa, uk, asia, latin, african and european.
if you are telling me rihanna does not have musical talent, i wonder how come her ringtones are such a buzz on almost every website that distributes ringtones, always on the top 10 on almost all, oh yea, maybe all those people who download rihanna tones are tone deaf. i know much more about how the music industry works than you may think, getting a grammy is not all success as shakira proven it before she moved over to the usa industry, that girl was huge in latin america, one of the biggest names in latin music, and what, we never heard about her til she moved over to the usa airwaves.
if you think she was signed by her looks alone, u need to think again, a good song, a good voice, a good image and good marketing does wonders you will think is impossible. time for us to leave de girl alone and deal with our own affairs.
and it int na either two things, its both or the music, not just looks, its no modeling agency we bloggin about, its about selling hits, not looks, but the singer must have appeal.
These comments remind me of Collie Budzs’ hard ass tune…
” I’m blind to you ……F*#king HATERS!!
there is no word called fussy, its feeling proud and enjoying what you have, if you have no pride in yourself and what you have, i am sorry for you bajegirl, if it was your mother who won a 22 million lottery, or a hollywood director approached you to star in a blockbuster hit, i wonder where all this talk would be.
any artist who is signed to a record label, can sing, also note this too, any human being can sing, its the style they adopt that suits the voice. can you picture r.kelly singing any of rpb songs, or rpb singing any of r.kelly hits?
use wa wunna got upstairs for once
but hey enjoy your enthuism while it last cause beauty fades and she wont be at the top for long
Thank you, Bajegirl, I certainly, intend to enjoy her success while it lasts!! Whether or not, she’ll be there for long only remains to be seen. I, however, am so happy to have been alive and witnessed, almost certainly, the greatest singer which Barbados will ever produce and one of the greatest singers the world will ever see!!
Long live Rihanna!!!!
I only, PRAY, her next CD will be even remotely, comparable with the BRILLIANT, ‘Good Girl Turned Bad’!!!!
Keep rocking, Rihanna. I, for one, am with you all the way!!!!
I wid u 2 Bimbo. Nuh long talk, Hail Rihanna, our own superstar.
Tell me Why // February 20, 2008 at 10:14 am
I wid u 2 Bimbo. Nuh long talk, Hail Rihanna, our own superstar.
Hi ‘Tell Me Why’!! Glad you’re a Rihanna fan, also!! Came on here to gloat that I’ll be seeing my girl perform live on British tv tonight at the British TV Awards whereas you all would n’t be able to but as, along with several others, you’re a fan instead I’m sorry you won’t be able to share in the joy!!!! Anyhow, I’m getting ready!! Can’t wait!! Video at the ready!! They say she’ll perform so whether she wins an award or not, I’m sure she’ll rock the house!!!!
Can’t wait!!!!!
‘Tell Me Why’!! Glad you’re a Rihanna fan, also!!
…………………………………………………………………….
Not only I am a fan, but I believe in fairplay. Back here in Barbados, the majority of Rihanna bashers are around her age group. Why the behaviour, I cannot tell, but I feel that these people should remove pettiness and replace it with pride and achievement. If the world accept her for her ability, it shows that something must be damn good with her entertainment ability. Lay off the star you selfish lot and let her light shine for Barbados and the world.
Well said, Tell. I attribute the criticism to jealousy! Why people just can’t be happy for somebody who has made-it is beyond me. Forgive me if I say that I often find Bajees a strange lot, indeed, many west indians. However, I’m just going to try and forget about them and just enjoy Rihanna’s music!!
I’ve just seen the schedule for her latest tour beginning after tonight’s show and when you see the number of dates she has and different places to perform I think you’d agree that she deserves the money she earns!!!!
Regards!!
Happy to report our girl ‘sailed-through’ a more funky version of Umbrella. Wonderful voice as usual, made it seem so easy!! Time she was allowed to sing some of her other songs now, for fear of being thougt of as a ‘one song girl’!!!! Starting a new world tour. Catch her if you can!!!!
Certain persons, (I wun name nuh names!!) even DARED, to compare our Rihanna with this piece of tripe, an act which virtually, amouts to treason, in my book!!!!
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/article832034.ece
riri should get an education, with all the fame and money, she does not own a house in her country, neither does she own one in the usa, who is spending all her millions? when she is in bim she stays in the hilton, that is 100 us$ per night. cheep i would say, for a star. somebody please help her. she needs legal advice.
Rihanna bought a pad in the states last year for nearly 2 million—–
Rihanna was the 4th richest teenager in the states
Rihanna was given generous gifts by the government of Barbados
Rihanna seems to have her head on
Rihanna is being nominated for Vice President of the states because of her ‘diplomatic skills’-(JOKE-but true)
Rihanna is Barbados’s most famous individual.
Rihanna is OK -She has an education because education does not take place only in a building called a School
It is Asiba
Khadija
Please don’t talk things you don’t know about. Rihanna is at the moment building a massive house in Barbados, plus she owns a house in L A U.S.A. That young lady has her head on and is doing tremendous marketing for this country. Bajans needs to support the young lady instead of all the negativity. She is a COMBERMERIAN, should I say More. She also has a foundation which assist in helping needed sick children worldwide. She is a proud barbadian and a true ambmassador for this country. STOP THE NEGATIVE ACTITUDE.
I am not even from Barbados, but one of the other Caribbean islands, and I love Rhianna so much and I am proud of her representing the Caribbean community well. You Bajans should embrace her and recognize that she is shining the light on Barbados, and the Caribbean as a whole in a positive light.