Rihanna wins Best Rap/Sung Collaboration (For a Rap/Sung collaborative performance by artists who do not normally perform together. Singles or Tracks only.

Congratulations from the BU household!!!!!

Click On Image

Our friend Superlative1 has all the lowdown happening at the Grammy’s this weekend. Can Rihanna bring home the bacon for Barbados? What ever the final result Rihanna would have done well to have been nominated 5 times.

Congrats Rihanna!

138 responses to “UPDATE:Rihanna's Big Weekend @ The Grammy Awards”

1. I am so nervous just waiting.

2. Best of luck to my Super Bajan Ambassador – Rihanna. Show the world that you have what it takes to be at ‘the top of the class.

3. Don’t worry DAVID she will be the first Bajan to bring home Grammys.

I know that you are do not like Rihanna, but thanks for the post DAVID.

Also check out her new Umbrella line from Totes.
    http://www.gabbybabble.com/2008/02/rhianna-launches-umbrella-line.html

4. she has been doing such a great job and I am pleased to report that she STILL acts quite regular when she is here on holiday! Best wishes Rihanna

5. It’s about time the the Barbadian Government embrace the ‘jewel in hand’ in the person of Rihanna. Jamaica realise that Reggae with the super star, the late Bob Marley, placed that country in international market. Jamaica did not spend one cent to market its island since the presence of Bob or his records turned out to be blank cheques for the Tourist Industry for the island, and tourism ministers only have to fill in the amount yearly.

We in Barbados have a unique opportunity to do likewise, but if we continue to procrastinate, possibly, Guyana the birth of her maternal parent might hold out the olive branch to this gem of a performer. Minister Sealy, this is where you come in, look at monitoring our new found “Music Tourism” by acknowledging the fame bestowed on this “Bajan Superstar”. We have millions of dollars in over-runs, please take one million of our taxpayers dollars and present a beautiful home to ‘our star’ to show that she is “one of us” and you acknowledge her feat. You have to start the ‘damage control started by envious bajans who hate to see someone progress”

I rest my case. The ball is in your hands.

6. Whatever makes you think we don’t like Rihanna?

Because we have to criticize her sometimes?

If you have a child don’t you discipline that child sometimes?

Does that mean you hate the child?

7. Never though that I would ever agree with Frankolgy. We need to use Rihanna more to promote Barbados

8. We agree with the suggestion that we should use Rihanna some more to market our tourist product. It is interesting to note that Lewis Hamilton is being used by Grenada to direct some publicity to that island this weekend.

Two points Minister Richard Sealy should note 1) the shelf life of Rihanna will be relatively short so they need to act now 2) Rihanna is very popular in many of the non traditional markets which our current Minister seems to want to penetrate.

9. No DAVID.

10. I must say, since she has taken more control of her music and of her image, she has taken off. For two weeks in a row her song Don’t Stop the Music has been the Airplay Gainer on the Billboard Hot 100 and may very well be another number one for the young songstress.
    I have to stick a pin here though- people especially in Barbados need to realise that the outfits she wears on stage are COSTUMES. When you see paparazzi images of her walking the street or coming out of clothing stores, or at dinner what have you, she is always well clad, often in a baggy shirt and shorts or long jeans and a small top, keeping in line with what she said at the start of her career, if she’s wearing something short she’ll keep the top covered and if the top is revealing, the legs are getting covered. Please, better yourselves before crying down others who are doing a credit to your own country. Better yet, let he (or she) who is without sin, cast the first stone.

11. the tear down mentality cultivated during the days of slavery are in effect whenever the name of rihanna is mentioned to some people

we pretend to be so prim and proper and scrutinise so hard whenever our people do well. we want them to write a bible if they write songs. we want them to sing a philosophical anthem if they sing a song. we want to score a century everytime they take up a bat . we want them to take 10 wickets in a match if they decide to bowl a ball and even after they will still cuss yuh.this is something that we need to investigate and deal with as soon as possible

12. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) joins thousands upon thousands of lovers of Pop/R&B music in Barbados and across the region, and millions upon millions of adoring fans of these music genres across the globe in wishing Barbados-born international Pop/R&B super-star, Rihanna, her music label, and her managers and associates, every success at tonight’s 50th Annual Grammy Awards at the Staples Center in Los Angeles, California.

Certainly, we have observed how, Rihanna, her Island Def Jam Music label, and her managers and associates like Jay-Z, Evan Rogers, Carl Sturken, have helped and continue to help bring to Barbados, the region and the world, some of the best and richest in Pop/R&B music since 2005. From her first album, Music in the Sun, to her second album, A Girl Like Me, to her last one, Good Girl Gone Bad, this extraordinary talent Rihanna and her superb team of collaborators and associates in the global music and entertainment industry have done us and the world and history and culture of music, proud.

Therefore, and in so short of space of time, we in PDC have very much marvelled at the many platinum hit singles like “Pon the Replay”, “SOS”, “Unfaithful”, and the monster hit, “Umbrella”, that they and the relevant music lovers and consumers of this world have helped to get chart-topper status on world music charts like the Billboard Hot 100 and the UK Singles Chart. Moreover, in addition to scoring big in terms of commercial and discographical success, and in helping Rihanna to land enormous endorsement deals with global corporate enterprises like Nike and Cover Girl Magazine, as well as helping to bring star power to our own music diva, these songs have also made sure that Rihanna and her “music partners and associates” have received several well deserved music awards across the globe including the prestigous American Music Awards, People’s Choice Awards, World Music Awards, and our own Barbados Music Awards.

Now, the time has come for Rihanna and her “music partners and asociates” to celebrate her stellar and breathtaking music success by taking on the competition at the the creme de la creme of world music awards – the Grammy Awards – tonight, at the said Staples Center in Los Angeles, and at the same time capturing some Grammy Awards. There is no doubt it, Rihanna WILL win and win properly some Grammy Awards tonight, and make millions of her very ardent fans worldwide, including thousands of die-hard and patriotic fans and supporters in Barbados, very happy and thrilled indeed. A Barbadian patriot herself, she is simply awesome and unstoppable at the moment!!

Again, it shows that in these so-called developing countries like Barbados, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, etc, how really and truly we have the talents, skills and characteristics in given areas, that can, with the best and greatest and most genuine training, support and exposure possible, esp. as coming from other persons and entities in many other countries, allow us – Barbadians and relevant others of this so-called developing world – not only to greater than ever before possess the opportunity to compete on the world stage and be successful at what we are doing, but that can also allow us to have the greatest opportunities available to foster and achieve a spirit of social and cultural cooperation and development at the international level. Of course, very intrinsically bound up in such afore mentioned circumstances are possibilities for us – again, Barbadians and relevant others in the so-called developing world- properly achieving and actually achieving themselves the financial fruits of such activites on a truly substantial scale. Altogether, the above is essentailly Rihanna’s musical entertainment journey so far!!

13. I do not have a problem with Rihanna promoting lip gloss for Cover Girl Cosmetics, sneakers for Nike, or umbrellas for Totes. I do, however, have a big problem with Rihanna promoting Barbados. It is very risky for a country to stake its reputation on an individual. Right now I am thinking about Marion Jones, the Olympic sprinter and the wife of Obadele Thompson. When she first started winning international races, she ran with both the United States flag and the flag of Belize, the country of her mother’s birth. At first, I am sure the Belizeans thought they had struck gold having an international star give them free publicity. However, Marion Jones has now been found guilty of check fraud, running on steroids, and lying to US federal agents. She has been stripped of her Olympic medals. I don’t think the Belizeans counted on getting that kind of publicity.

The Barbados Ministry of Tourism put Rihanna in an ad when she first became famous. After appearing in the ad, Rihanna went on to tell foreign reporters that Bajans “talk sh*t” about her and that they don’t like to see each other get ahead, among many other things. When she made the comments, Rihanna knew that she appears in an ad for Barbados and was serving as an unofficial ambassador for the country. Her judgment is so poor and her character so low, that she did not have enough sense to know not to bad mouth the country in public knowing she appears in an ad for it.

If Rihanna were to badmouth products made by Cover Girl, Nike, or Totes, her contract with the company would be swiftly scrapped. Why should the Barbados Ministry of Tourism be any different from the aforementioned companies? They are selling a product (Barbados). Rihanna badmouthed their product. They would be foolish to use her again to promote Barbados.

One last thing. In the past, I used to read a tourism newspaper that the Ministry of Tourism use to have available at the airport and at various sites around the country. There used to be a statement in the paper that cautioned tourists about dressing inappropriately in Barbados. I think it used to actually state that the tourists needed to leave their bikinis at the beach. How can the ministry of tourism tell tourists to dress appropriately and then use someone like Rihanna, who often appears scantily clad at public events, in their ads?

It is predictable what will happen now. Rihanna supporters will say I am jealous. I am awaiting your responses. The Barbados Ministry of Tourism needs to keep doing what it is doing, i.e. promoting Barbados as a high end destination that still has some standards. Hundreds of thousands of Barbadians over the centuries have worked hard to make Barbados the wonderful place it is now. Let’s not give one individual the opportunity to destroy its image. We don’t know Rihanna well enough to be confident that she won’t some day have a Britney Spears or Marion Jones moment and embarrass us.

14. David what did I tell you?

15. WOW people, Barbados received its first ever GRAMMY award, thanks to Rihanna. Go Girl, I for one is proud of you.

16. It is predictable what will happen now. Rihanna supporters will say I am jealous.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    You are simply pathetic Bajan Girl. You’re possibly speaking with ‘tongue in cheek’ we believe your jealous statement.

17. Congratulations must go out to Rihanna on receiving her 1st Grammy. She made sure that she reminded everyone that she is from Barbados. She is certainly a confident individual.

18. Bajan Girl: Are you are around 19 years?

19. agreed

20. Rihanna won – Best Rap/Sung Collaboration, featuring Jay-z

21. Congratulations to Rihanna for putting Barbados on the map yet again. Does anybody know how many millions it would have costed when Rihanna gave a big hail to BARBADOS during her acceptance speech?

This is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

22. Minister Sealy, what wunna gonna do. Guyana might rush and give her accreditation for her accomplishment if we fail to act. Ah dunn talk.

23. “I LOVE YOU BARBADOS!!”

That’s what she cried out, for literally tens of millions of potential tourists around the world to hear.

Bajan Girl, you must have a face like a squeezed lemon all like now.

Face it: Rihanna is a winner. You, on the other hand – well we all know what you are…

24. We are not sure if some Barbadians understand what winning a Grammy represent. This is a fantastic achievement.

25. What Rihanna said was “Hello Barbados, we got one!” I am glad for her. I thought it would have been for song of the year. Having said that, there is much truth in what Bajan Girl has said above. To speak the truth, in a rational and analytical way is not jealousy neither is it envy. It is business. When Rihanna matures and/or her handlers are more cautious about throwing her to the press holus bolus, then and only then would a business person put his money on her.

Dont forget that when the tourists come to Bim they will be interacting with the locals. Bad press for the island’s people is bad press for tourism. I worked in Small Business and Tourism in Canada and we are very careful when it comes to marketing.

26. Hearty Congratulations to International Diva – Rhianna on your GRAMMY win !

We in BARBADOS remain VERY proud of you.

I look forward to my ESTEEMED Gov’t lead by His Most Honorable , PM David Thompson to fully reward and recognise Rihanna’s feat.

Hip Hip…………. HOORAY !

27. I’ve long, said and hopefully, Barbadians will now recognise that Rihanna is ‘the best’!!!!

28. Hope our girl is n’t losing weight!! She was fine as she was, before!!!!

29. Winehouse wins a slew of awards at the Grammys – I just know the intro to just ONE, of her songs!!!!

Rihanna obtains one award – I know and love the full version of every, single track on her latest CD!!

Guess what I think of the Grammys!! There’re ******ng ***t!!!!

30. We hear the argument so often that if Rihanna is used by the Barbados Tourism Authority and she turns to a bad girl it would hurt our tourism.

We don’t agree!

We think that this is a very conservative position to take. The world tourist market has become very competitive and any characteristic about our product which has world appeal should be incorporated in our product.

We are not experts but there are ways to do it that would not make the effort a risk reward scenario for Barbados. Minister Richard Sealy is a young and intelligent man, there is a way!

31. David // February 11, 2008 at 12:31 am

We are not sure if some Barbadians understand what winning a Grammy represent. This is a fantastic achievement.
    ==============================

I don’t understand what it means. How is a grammy won anyway?

32. Bimbro // February 11, 2008 at 6:39 am

Winehouse wins a slew of awards at the Grammys – I just know the intro to just ONE, of her songs!!!!

Rihanna obtains one award – I know and love the full version of every, single track on her latest CD!!

Guess what I think of the Grammys!! There’re ******ng ***t!!!!

Is this Winehouse person a known drug addict? Was she at last night party? I heard that she couldn’t get a visa to enter the US, is this true? Did she win any grammys? if she did can someone tell me the real value to her of a grammy? Maybe she can sell her grammy for a fix.

33. hey congrats Rihanna, u brought home the bacon, the continued success of the Waterford crowd forget the haters remember the line UP AND ON

34. The People’s Democratic Congress heartily congratulates Rihanna, Jay-Z, and their team for having won Rihanna and Barbados their first Grammy Award and and for having won it themselves, last night at the Grammy Awards Ceremony, held at the Staples Center, Los Angeles.

Eternal gratitude must also go to ALL of those, including her parents – who have helped to nurture and guide Rihanna along the way into becoming an international Pop/R&B super star, and one that remains so wonderfully patriotic, indeed.

So, to Rihanna and her music team, we say thanks on the behalf of the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados.

35. please…do you think that Tourists are not able to separate Rihanna the individual from Barbados , from Barbados the country???

Why are we so scared that she will falter? Life is about taking risks… we have so much to gain from her exposure so if she ultimately falters so what??????

BTW Amy winhouse had a great album…very original BUT she is a dope addict ( trashy low class girl from Camden town in London). The British are still very happy this morning with her success!

36. I worked in Small Business and Tourism in Canada and we are very careful when it comes to marketing.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Pat: Your statement regarding Rihanna is pure nonsense. First of all, you have to define ‘marketing’.

37. I am so happy for Rihanna. She makes me proud to be a Barbadian woman.

http://www.cafepress.com/day_earth/4563204

38. Adrian, I must agree with you. I still see the selection of candidates for a Grammy award have a prejudicial block where ‘Third World Country” finds it difficult to cop a major award. Who the hell is this Amy Winehouse?

Let’s delve into these awards.
    Record of the year: Umbrella created a major stir on the majority of radio stations, internet and TV stations throughout the world. We never saw any ratings about this ‘Amy’ but looka what happen. Maybe, if Rihanna sang “Jenkins”, she might have won.
    Song of the Year and Best New Artist should have been awarded to Rihanna due to her assault on the International Music scene.

But, we have to remember, we have to check the composition of winners. I am not uttering ‘race’ here. I am looking at “Fair Play”

39. People. Amy Winehouse is probably the most talented singer / songwriter out there. Its unfortunate that she has a major drug problem. But in terms of raw, all-round talent, no one even comes close.

40. Ok enough of Rihanna and her success in the fake world of Hollywood. They are all entertainers for crying out loud, they were once called “court jesters” 😀

BU do you realize that Mottley is under going a make-over or is it a remake of her image? This would be a great story, which i don’t have the time to write. Ok go back to the Harold Hoyte article that argued for a make-over of David Thompson in order for him to win. Before this comment we saw right before our own eyes the re-make of Owen Arthur from the adulterous man to that of husband, father, christian man who suddenly abhor the basement culture. Then we had Mia down in the farm last month during election berating Thompson for always being in church, always having someone praying for him, stating that she loves the bashment culture that she is who she is. Now and probably as a result of coming to terms with the up hill battle she faces in having her aspiration of becoming PM turn into reality, She seems to be the second so called mighty political strategist that will need to under go a make-over to Battle Thompson. Oh how the mighty have fallen. From attempting to decriminalize buggery, to openly declaring I AM WHO I AM, to now being a servant of God. Buyer beware, there are wolves in sheep’s clothing, they are those bearing false witness to have come to know God, when they may not in good faith so do. 😀

This is a big story is it not? Two BLP leaders seek God to repair their images and to prepare them to win the hearts and minds of the Barbadian people away from Thompson. One had failed on Jan 15 will this latest camelion like action work? is it real? :d

41. me // February 11, 2008 at 10:08 am

please…do you think that Tourists are not able to separate Rihanna the individual from Barbados , from Barbados the country???

Why are we so scared that she will falter? Life is about taking risks… we have so much to gain from her exposure so if she ultimately falters so what??????

BTW Amy winhouse had a great album…very original BUT she is a dope addict ( trashy low class girl from Camden town in London).

*****The British are still very happy this morning with her success!******

ha ha ha ha that isn’t saying much. This made the Brits happy too.

dominating their charts for a very long time. 😀

42. This is a big story is it not? Two BLP leaders seek God to repair their images and to prepare them to win the hearts and minds of the Barbadian people away from Thompson.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    I am sick of all your constant political sick syndrome. Here we are talking about Rihanna and you condemning someone for going to church. Is that a problem with you?

Regardless to mouthing, Barbadians is still primarily a ‘church going nation’, like it or not. Even you would have encouraged your offspring to head for a church.

Inkwell made this submission:
    “What you think going happen to all the plantations in St John Clico bought up years ago and up to now produced little other than bush? You know which minister of finance approved the sale of those plantations to Clico? I am sure Duprey and Parris did not buy them to grow bush. That may well be the real payday for all concerned and the joke will be on Barbados”.

Adrian, please answer, or “Shut up and drive”

43. Adrian Hinds, I hope you get deported back to Barbados so that you have to deal with homosexuals on a regular basis…. my bad you already live in Boston so this should be nothing new Or is it just the bajan homsexual that you do not like… You doth protest to much for a supposedly str8 man!

44. frankology // February 11, 2008 at 2:05 pm

I am sick of all your constant political sick syndrome.

Here we are talking about Rihanna and you condemning someone for going to church. Is that a problem with you?

Regardless to mouthing, Barbadians is still primarily a ‘church going nation’, like it or not. Even you would have encouraged your offspring to head for a church.

Do i detect an attempt to tell me what to do? Are you attempting to make me care about what makes you sick?

On the placque Mottley received was inscribe the words of Isaiah which prompted here to convenienently reflect on words that supposedly gives her inspiration. Isaiah Chapter 40.

They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up on wings of an eagle . . ..
    Well they are no eagles in Barbados to make such dreaming a reality, Only black birds, Mia on a black bird. 😀

I think Mottley should focus on the teachings contained in the New Testament. Here is one that she might want to ponder.

Matthew 23:27

King James Bible
    Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchres, which indeed appear beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness

Bible in Basic English
    A curse is on you, scribes and Pharisees, false ones! for you are like the resting-places of the dead, which are made white, and seem beautiful on the outside, but inside are full of dead men’s bones and of all unclean things.

45. Maybe she can sell her grammy for a fix.

Adrian, she’s a well known druggie up here in the UK. God knows why people make such a fuss of her. I’d much rather listen to Rihanna, any day, not to mention she looks a freak!!!!

Will post a link for you!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/article785347.ece

Interesting footnote: alleged romantic link with Jay Z, mentioned farther in article!!!!

Rihanna babe, if u read this; it’s most inadvisable to mix business with romance! Dump the ****** Jay Z. You’ve much more natural talent than he has. God knows what junk he was rapping at the front of your Umbrella record but heaven knows that it did n’t add a thing to the song!!! YOU made that song which achieved a lot for you!!!!

46. FAIRNESS IN BLOGGING: This was posted at BFP and is on hold.
    …………………………………………………………………
    What makes you unable to read the comment moderation tab at the top? ARE YOU STUPID?

It was 3 minutes between you posting the comment and us approving it.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    I REPLIED: You might be able to fool people some time, but you can’t fool people all the time, especially this writer.

Prior to the election, the other blog deliberately refused to post any comments by me; and that’s a fact. I submitted over 12 posts and NOT ONE SINGLE reached the blog. I copied the same information that was submitted to you and post it at BU and it appeared without any problems. But again, you admit your allegiance.

Now, tell the blogging fraternity why you refused my comments; and don’t talk nonsense of ‘spam’ or in moderation or no one was at the control. Let the guilty one(s) plead ‘guilty as charged.

47. Frankology you are not important, and even if you where it would not matter, to anybody here.

….So, was George Payne and Owen Arthur absent from Mia’s Thanksgiving service? I didn’t see them in the pic or their names listed as attended. If so who might we reasonably say was the focus of Wesley C. Dear’s advise to Mia when he said……

OPPOSITION LEADER Mia Mottley has been advised to surround herself with positive people and fire all those who are not with her as she sits at the head of the Barbados Labour Party.

Who me? ha ha ha ha 😀

48. Frankology you are not important, and even if you where it would not matter, to anybody here
    ……………………………………………………………………
    I ain’t or will never be. I believe in being a simpleton. If ever I needed fame, I would have removed Nelson and stand in his position morning, noon and night.

To the subject at hand, it look as though you was in attendance, thus your concern of who attend or not.

The last words in your above statement “to anybody here”, as I stated time and again, it seems that all of you work in a office set up specifically for propaganda purposes. I ain’t start the admittance, it is you and you alone. I rest my case. Next case.

49. I know you wouldn’t refuse an opportunity to put me in my place, so since you are reluctant to do so with my musing of Owen’s and George Payne assumed absence from Mia Thanksgiving, i gine believe um until otherwise.

Wait you want me to set up a camera you can see were i am at?

……. I find it very revealing that since this defeat which does not compare to the one they suffered in 86 (24-3) all i have been hearing is words of assurance that the BLP will survive, and emphasizing the 70 year history during which they have been down cycles and defeats. Why all the hand wringing with this defeat (20-10) there must be something more in de mortor besides de pestal.

50. “What you think going happen to all the plantations in St John Clico bought up years ago and up to now produced little other than bush? You know which minister of finance approved the sale of those plantations to Clico? I am sure Duprey and Parris did not buy them to grow bush. That may well be the real payday for all concerned and the joke will be on Barbados”.

Adrian, please answer, or “Shut up and drive”
    Frankology You are the one who should “shut up” unless you can speak to truth. Let me say with no dought, or fear of contradiction, the Plantations to witch you speak are in 70% Sugar production, and 20% ground food production Yams Patatos etc… so unless, and until, you have the facts Frankology, you know what to do SHUT UP!