Submitted by a frequent BU family member and published unedited.

view_47042.jpg

“….Hardwood Housing Factory Inc. is A GOVERNMENT-OWNED company with EGFL holding more than 90% of the shares.” Minister of State, Clyde Mascoll, in a letter dated October 10, 2007 to Opposition Leader, David Thompson, on Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s instructions.

Hardwood Housing Factory Inc. is an example of the BLP’s arrogance and contempt for YOU. It’s a serious matter. You ought to be concerned. Millions of your tax dollars are being spent willy-nilly without accountability. It’s only when the BLP is put under pressure, that you get disclosure.

If David Thompson hadn’t raised the flag by calling for an independent forensic audit at Hardwood Housing Factory, you would’ve never known it’s a GOVERNMENT-OWNED company. All along, citizens were led to believe by Clyde Mascoll that the owner is a “poor little black boy” whom Government was facilitating.

In just one year of operation, Hardwood Housing Factory has gobbled up almost US$2 million of public financing through the Enterprise Growth Fund Ltd (EGFL) – the basis of Government’s ownership. The so-called “owner’s” investment was $100,000 representing “the value of the equipment contributed and his sweat equity”. Source: Indicative Term Sheet dated Nov 9, 2006.

Clyde Mascoll has more explaining to do. He needs to give FULLER CLARIFICATION of the nature of his association with the company. Saying “I hold no office or shareholding in the Hardwood Housing Factory Inc.” doesn’t satisfy legitimate questions which remain unanswered. He needs to explain, for example, why an employee would have reason to tell the CEO “nothing will make me compromise the trust that God, MR. MASCOLL and the Board has placed in me”.

When Mascoll announced the establishment of the low income housing project on September 5, 2006, it is also interesting he chose to use “WE” in talking about the factory instead of “THEY”. There are four instances where this was observed in the Nation story of September 6, 2006. Here are three: “WE are going to meet within the next two months or so with the carpenters and masons, and this is a project for small people…. ” “WE are now in the process of developing, along with the BIDC, a formal arrangement where the necessary financing would be accessed.” “The masons will put down the foundations and WE will then install on the predetermined foundation….” Don’t you find this baffling?

In the Sunday Sun of January 21, 2007, Albert Brandford, who comes across in his writings as a loyal Mascoll lieutenant, wrote the following about Mascoll’s role in Hardwood Housing Factory. “…. HE has been able to CONCEPTUALISE AND EXECUTE a vote-catching Hardwood Housing project, in three months, and which, according to media reports, is on course to deliver houses – acknowledged as one of the island’s most pressing social needs – to many Barbadians, including his own constituents in St Michael North-West.”

Mascoll’s repeated use of “WE” when he announced the project, as well as Brandford’s firm assertion that “HE” (Mascoll) was the one who CONCEPTUALIZED and EXECUTED the project, raises serious questions about Mascoll’s involvement. A Government minister’s job is not to CONCEPTUALIZE and EXECUTE a private business project. His role is to serve the public interest. It is a serious conflict of interest. Interestingly, Mascoll has never challenged Brandford’s description of his active role. Doesn’t it seem inappropriate for a minister of the Crown? Barbadians are interested in hearing THE TRUTH, THE WHOLE TRUTH AND NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH.

THE CREDIBILITY FACTOR

“I look forward to a no-confidence motion tomorrow, Mr. Thompson. I have more credibility than you in Barbados and I will continue to have more credibility than you do….” Clyde Mascoll, Nation, October 15, 2007, speaking about the Hardwood issue, at Perry Gap.

Mascoll is clearly living in a dream world when he speaks about his credibility. Look now at how he puts his foot in his mouth and takes his credibility further below zero. On September 6, 2006, the Nation reported:

Mascoll credited Barbadian Anthony Murrell with the concept, after the latter had supervised the building of 500 houses in Grenada in six months after the devastation caused by Hurricane Ivan.” David Thompson investigated and found the figure of 500 was inaccurate.

Here’s Mascoll’s explanation now. “….the issue of whether he (Murrell) built 500 houses in Grenada or not was “neither here or there” (Mascoll’s words). Source: Nation, October 15, 2007. No, Mascoll! The figure is relevant. It’s what you used to establish the builder’s credentials and to justify the project. Credibility is based on consistency. You cannot be serious about your credibility when you made a definitive statement a year ago and now say it is “neither here or there”. IT MATTERS! If you cannot give and keep your word on a simple issue, it raises questions as to whether Barbadians can seriously take anything you say at all.

TERMS OF ECFL INVESTMENT

For putting money into Hardwood Housing Factory, ECFL established certain requirements which the company must meet. Where certain specified breaches occur, ECFL says it “shall be entitled to demand repayment in full of all outstanding monies due regarding the class ‘A’ shares (covering its investment) and to take such action as may
be deemed necessary to protect its interest”.

Such action would apply, for example, “if any creditor shall take action against the Company to enforce payment of monies due to such creditor.” The evidence suggests Hardwood Housing Factory came close to breaching this requirement. Up to August 28, the company had issued bounced cheques totalling $33,000 for various services.
One cheque, for the sum of $4,262.60, was written to the Comptroller of Customs. Management has acknowledged there were cash flow problems. Could some of Hardwood’s business practices have been contributing to the problem?

HARDWOOD’S BUSINESS PRACTICES

Clyde Mascoll recently told us that Hardwood Housing Factory is a GOVERNMENT-OWNED company. As junior minister of finance, he shares responsibility with his “boss man” – Owen Arthur, the minister of finance – to ensure the sound and proper management of public finances. Back in July, a month before the bank declined to honour the cheques, concerns were expressed about certain business practices. These concerns are documented. It would be interesting to hear what Mascoll has to say about them. Will he say these too are “neither here nor there”?

The charges were as follows:

There were sites where work was taking place but the sales department had neither a record of these sites nor receipts for any monies deposited in the company’s bank account for the said work. There were persons who were being paid by the company for doing work which the company had not record of.

If such allegations were made against any other government-owned entity, it would be enough to justify an official audit of the company. Taxpayers would demand no less. As a government-owned company, Hardwood should not be treated differently. A strong case exists for an independent forensic audit of Hardwood Housing Factory.

A situation also exists where equipment used by the company – truck, stone mixer, bobcat, excavator, generators – are owned by the minority shareholder rather than the company itself. The minority shareholder acquired the equipment through lease arrangements with Simpson Finance and Consolidated Finance and, in turn, leases them to the company. Mascoll said this arrangement results in “savings of approximately $44,000 per month to the company”. He did not give details of how this is achieved.

It is alleged that Hardwood covers the cost of maintaining the equipment. Normally under arrangements of this kind, those costs are borne by the owner of the equipment. Just over a month ago, both finance companies wrote the owner, bringing to his attention that payments were in arrears. One company even mentioned the possibility of repossession if the issue wasn’t promptly resolved.

After one year in business, what does Hardwood Housing Factory have to show? SEVEN HOUSES built in the New Orleans for the Urban Development Commission (UDC). Initially, there were cost overruns of $248,000 on this project but the figure was later revised downwards to $129,000 by the UDC. Draw your conclusion! Mascoll has complained that “THE LACK OF AVAILABILITY OF LAND” to build houses, has hindered Hardwood’s ability to deliver on its promises. It is refreshing that a member of the Owen Arthur administration has finally admitted the folly of the BLP’s land policy of aiding and abetting the sale of Barbadian land to the highest bidder who increasingly is foreign.

In the case of one St Peter land owner who was approached, readiness to make land available for low income housing was tied to Town Planning approval of other lands for “high end development”. Hardwood Housing’s experience shows how much the BLP’s ill-advised land policy is having the effect of forcing middle and low income Barbadians out of the real estate market.

A MODEL EMPLOYER?

As a government-owned company, Hardwood Housing Factory has an obligation to be a model employer. If a government-owned company disrespects workers, doesn’t it send a wrong message to private enterprise? In just one year of operation, here’s are blemishes on Hardwood’s image as an employer.

Charges of sexual misconduct against a manager.

Charges that employees are shouted at and abused.

Employing workers whose immigration status was not in order.

Being accused by the Barbados Workers Union of violating
International Labour Organization Convention 94 regarding fair
practices.

Keeping a dog inside the factory in violation of the Factories Act
and pressuring workers to clean up the mess.

SOLID CASE FOR PROBE

Going by available evidence, a solid case does exist for a probe, including independent forensic audit, of Hardwood Housing Factory. This isn’t only David Thompson’s fight. It’s YOUR fight. Demand accountability from the BLP! Tell Owen Arthur it’s time to demonstrate real leadership instead of running away from calls for accountability.

Related Stories

BU Report Emailed From The Parliament Of Barbados On The Debate Of Co-operatives Societies Act
No-Confidence Motion Looms; Current Leader Of The Opposition David Thompson To Face Off Against The Former Leader Of The Opposition And Current Minister Of State, Clyde Mascoll
David Thompson Gives Prime Minister Owen Arthur 30 Days To Start An Investigation Into Hardwood Housing Factory Incorporated Or Clyde Mascoll Will Face No Confidence Motion

471 responses to “Knock On Wood, The Facts On HARDWOOD HOUSING”

1. Credibility, is the key! Thompson’s, mascoll’s, Murrell’s, and mostly that of “Wishing In Vain”

2. Wishing in Vain when you create a blog-site….you should stay away from it and let others express their views. You contaminate the whole process! Fraud!

3. what has continued to puzzle me…apart from assisting the govt to solve a housing problem…what was Mascoll to gain? How id he profit? where is his Skullduggery? Show where he receive one single dollar…and then I will be the first to say…shame on him…he should resign!

4. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Fear not my friend I will be yours, ASSCOLLS, Owings worst nightmare.

So long as the corruption continues you will hear my voice and nothing such as you can or will affect my willingness to decry these illegal actions.

5. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Also explain ASSCOLLS statement to investigate the ABC road wors project they to seem to have steal in there.

6. Massie,
    The question is not so much how would Mascol gain personally. .It is about the whole question of governance? What standards do we intend to abide by? What are you defending. Mascoll’s wife said on CBC that she told Hardwood GM not to use any of that company’s resources ( employees) on her building. Now, why do you think Mrs.MMascoll, took that position if she did not think there was something wrong?

7. Rejoice, are you still at it? What more do you need? You have been totally exposed!

8. MASSIE you are setting the bar for accountability way too low. All we ask is that people who occupy high office both be and appear to be above board and act within the limits of their authority.

For example, when ministers acts in the way the minister of state did it makes it difficult for one to have confidence in the processes of organizations like the Enterprise Growth Fund .

I would even argue that the minister put the growth fund in an impossible position.

Sure, some exploiting this for pure political gain, but in my view it does not change the underlying issue. The minister has some explaining to do. I am quite concerned that he like you feels he acted quite properly.

9. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Rejoice, you talk about having balance!

If I was Mr Mascoll, and I had said SO MANY things that had subsequently proven to be untrue, I would have checked VERY carefully before quoting two particular websites, neither of which gives any reference to Anthony Murrell.

This is all about honesty and judgement, and the kind of people we want running our country.

Once again, Mr Mascoll has been found to be economical with the truth!

10. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Lets face it friends not only is ASSCOLL in need of an investigation in this scam called HARDWOOD HOUSING, so to the actions of Owing for his role in every single corrupt event that has transpired over the course of his rule including the reasoning of depositing of that cheque, mottley in connection with Edutech, culture, AG Visa, Prison burning, awarding of the prison contract to an international group of gangsters with a know track record of paying bribes to politicians where local Barbadians quoted a mere US $ 7 million more than VECO but because of their refusal to pay HALLAM NICHOLLS and Owing a commission of 7 % are not awarded the contract but instead of costing us US $ 60 million as quoted it closes off at the grand sum of US $ 145 million WONDERFUL PLANNING OWING AND mottley , Glyne Clarke his role in the awarding of the road works project that jumps from US $ 60 millon to US $ 180 million, Jerome Walcott for his absolute abuse of his ministry, Noeless I want a plantation Lynch for he sudden turn around in his financial well being from not being able to live to living the lifestyle of the rich and the famous, ps how are your golf lesson progressing?
    Wonderful what one gets in exchange for giving golf lessons???
    we need to investigate Liz Thompson who despite all the best advice chooses to proceed to build a dump at GREENLAND she should be jailed for her misconduct and that of her husbans least we forget his construction of the super baths.

Basically at every turn in the adminstration we have seen a gross misuse of funds and a gross misuse of power .

11. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Sadly I doubt ASSCOLLS abilty to reason and see his flaws.

Adrian is so correct in his suggestion that ASSCOLL has been found to be economical with the truth! I think that this is wonderful expression.

Here we have someone that has said that he was fully prepared for this debate delivering information that was proven to be unreliable and untrue, what does he take us for?

At least while speaking in the house try to deliver clear and honest speeches neither of which you seem able to do.

12. Has anyone seen or heard from Ezra Alleyne who had self appointed himself lord allknowing of all matters constitutional and parliamentary?

…..At least as a former speaker of the house does he not have any spin to add to these recent events? Maybe he is here diguise as someone else. We know how damaged his real name is.

13. Sometimes silence speaks louder than words.

No words from anyone to dispute the direct allegations as laid in the motion.

No word from EGFL about this issue, even though CLEARLY they are directly implicated.

No word or statement from the new chairman of Hardwood Housing about the issue or how things are currently going or have improved with the company.

No word from anyone who worked with or for Murrell in Grenada on the 500 houses.

No word from any former or current Hardwood employee in defense of Murrell.

No word from any other small black men in the country in support of one of their own.

No word from the Minister of Housing whose ministry is a “partner” with Hardwood.

No word from any representative of BIDC whose buildings Hardwood used.

No word from anyone who has received a house, or has a house already built and is at the factory waiting.

No words of support for Mascoll other than Owen “all the members on my side have integrity” Arthur, Mia “we are ready for this motion anytime you bring it ” Mottley and Liz “I can’t defend unless I use personal attacks” Thompson.

No word from Murrell since the infamous press conference.

Silence is golden. It also speaks volumes.

14. Wishing in Vain Avatar

If Kott is going to be looking at 3 years for taking less than US $ 100,000.00 how much time do you feel ASSCOLL , OWING, LYNCH, CLARKE, WALCOTT mottley deserve for their actions?
    In my book double life with hard labour.

Another VECO CASUALITY WILL OWING, BANNISTER AND NICHOLLS FOLLOW ?

Kott’s lawyer says about 3 years in prison enough

The Associated Press
    ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) – The lawyer for former Alaska House Speaker Pete Kott says his client should serve less than three years in a federal prison.

Jim Wendt made a 33-month recommendation in a court filing ahead of Kott’s sentencing Friday for bribery, conspiracy and extortion. He was convicted in September.

Wendt’s recommendation is much lower than the government’s request that Kott serve at least a decade.

15. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Seems like the blp mouth piece has been forced to shut up when faced with the fact of the matter.

HONESTY IN OFFICE, NO CORRUPTION

IF ANY MINISTER OF A DLP GOV”T IS CAUGHT IN THIS SITUATION HE WILL BE FIRED ON THE SPOT THIS IS WHAT THE PARTY HAS AGREED TO AND STATED SO BY MR DAVID THOMPSON.

Time for a new gov’t, time to evict this corrupt dishonest bunch before we have no land and no money for us the real BAJANS.

16. I heard today about the list of names David Thompson submitted to the Speaker. I also saw a document of great interest to BU and others. This will go down as an exciting event in our history!

17. Please, don’t leak anything that is scheduled for Parliament Tuesday, especially if it’s between Thompson and the Speaker. Let’s keep the discussion based only on what has been revealed so far. Fairness, objectivity, due process and neutrality in mind of course….

btw, uh caaaaaaaaaaaaan’t……waaaaait……

18. Hilarity. Reading this blog is really like reading the comments made on Brasstacks without the deletions. Are you all retired or self employed, or on the block? You seem to blog all hours of the day. Just kidding!
    I enjoyed the opinions recorded here for the most part. Some comments are obviously fair, others are obviously biased. Still I guess this all lends to variety and quite a few laughs.
    However, stop insulting each other. Remember that even the dull and the ignorant have their stories to tell.
    We are always fast to recognize problems/criticize but when it comes to making a difference we shy away from this as it requires a bit more effort.
    If we expect nothing from our politicians we will get nothing; if we require accountability and insist on it, it will come eventually.
    Still I seem to sense that even though we are still a politically immature country, we are starting to open our eyes and are expecting more from our politicians! I believe it can only get better from here. I think we are not going to be satisfied until this country becomes less of a plantation and more of a nation.

19. To those old FARTS like MASSIE & REJOICE……ASSCOLL’s bellyaching about a woman and a missing file…..can be likened to a man who shot & killed another and threw the GUN in the BUSHES !

You know what the ACCUSED ( ASSCOLL ) man swore to all and sundry ( BARBADIAN PUBLIC )……I never touch that GUN
    ( HARDWOOD Inc. ) or shot no one ( $ 2 million taxpayer DEAD ! )

The TRUTH…..a passer – by ( YET TO BE IDENTIFIED …..DEEP THROAT ) stumbled on the GUN alert the authorities ( David Thompson & DEMS ) and BINGO the GUN has the finger prints of the accused !

20. I really cannot wait for Sunday night to come to hear a lttle more on the bastard, corrupt, liar ASSCOLL.

That Political meeting is going to be sweet , sweet , sweet with all of members of both houses speaking it will be electric indeed.

It will be at the HARDCOURT in BAYVILLE and the actions promises to be tight and hitting real hard.

I want to hear the Leader of the Opposition rip more holes into ASSCOLL and leave him with more holes in him and looking like a bad piece of Swiss Cheese.

21. Sadly Jerome this is the manifestation of too many years in power and ultimate control of ones mind body and soul.

With the length of time that this gang have been in power it attracts an element of gross arrogance and contempt for the ones who put them in office in the first place.

With it, one will witness a change in style and manner from a caring group to a callous self serving bunch.

This is exactly what has happened with this lot, each one cashing in on scams and bulking up their bank accounts as if there will be no tomorrow, this encompasses the entire blp administration.

22. I do not often quote from persons that are know to be dishonest and those that have been taken before the courts and have faced charges for stealing, but I must ask which drug is this idiot EZRA ALLEYNE on when he states in his article of today’s date that “Political Debate during the past few days about Hardwood and the Ministry of Finance, has once again exposed the YAWNING GAPS IN PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE ON MATTERS CONCERNING THE GOVERANCE OF THIS COUNTRY”.
    As I see it this is an assult on our intellect we the taxpayers of this island, we do not understand Goverence because we are not prepared to tolerate gross corruption and dishonesty by those in office and because we seek justice and resolve in those matters we do not understand Governance, you must be a total and complete idiot, I think that it is because we understand Goverance that we seek honesty in public office a feature that you and your gang of cohorts seem not to know about.

If by seeking to get to the bottom of HARDWOOD HOUSING and by using a means often used in the past to seek truth we do not understand Goverence I think you have major problems in your judgment Alleyne.

23. Well Philipe Taitt has come to the……PARTY !

Here are some of the GOODIES he brought along :

** YES……I was ASSCOLL’s agent for sourcing HARDWOOD materials from GUYANA !

** YES…..I delivered the HARDWOOD materials to ASSCOLL as REQUESTED !

** YES….there was a Manufacturing Plant producing houses ( Taitt seems to suggests there may be OTHER MANUFACTIRING PLANT / COMPANIES ! )

** NO……the company was not called HARDWOOD by October 2006 !

That is quite TRUE…..because the COMPANY was incorporated as HARDWOOD HOUSING FACTORY Inc. on 1 st November 2006 !

In the link below…..ASSCOLL confirms TAITT’s stand on this……because by October 2006 it was only a Manufacturing Plant….NO NAME attached !

http://www.nationnews.com/story/286970350093911.php

What we waiting for TAITT to tell us is this……Who wrote :

+ The letter appearing in the Weekend Nation of 2007 – 12 – 05 & 2007 – 12 – 07 ?

+ Is the LETTER HEAD…..GENUINE ?

+ Why the Nationews both on 2007 – 12 – 05 & 2007 – 12 – 07 PUBLISHED this letter but refused to show WHO signed it ?

I hope you have not taken the BAIT…..Mr. TAITT ……!

We…….AWAIT….Mr. TAITT !

24. I wonder for what reason his partner Kim Young got fired when she worked at Brydens, was it for the same reasons that he was taken to court?

25. Wonder if ASSCOLL has made peace with the operator of 8 ball and has he been allowed back in?

Why does Owing spend his days recently in a complete drunken stupor?

Why does Owing feel it necessary to appeal to Chris Sinckler at lunch to give he and his party an ease time with this no Confidence Motion, his best course of action will be to fire ASSCOLL or to stand on the sidelines and do nothing and let mottley and her clan rise and displace him as the Barbados dictator.

26. Pat Hoyos is asking why are all the people using the call in show so hostile today, someone called in and very clearly told him that the Nation is frustrated, annoyed and ready to vote for a change of goverance.

He seems to be living somewhere other that Barbados as the caller told him that people are upset with the absolute lack of conversations with we the citizens about the vast number of things that the gov’t needs to be speaking to its citizens about, the arrogance of the gov’t to do things that they need to give the citizens an account for but totally and completely fail to communicate with its people about anthing.

27. Anonymous // December 7, 2007 at 11:02 am

I wonder for what reason his partner Kim Young got fired when she worked at Brydens, was it for the same reasons that he was taken to court?
    ————————————————————-

Is this an innocent play on the word “PARTNER” or it has more meaning than.
    that?

……But who is this Kim Young person? what is here story?

28. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

AH …. for a person who pretends to be so … OOf you really do ask some silly questions

29. Wishing in Vain Avatar

If a 5.5 % swing existed two months ago, I would pay to know what the margin is on the 7th Dec 2007, my guess is that it would have grown some what since the last poll.

I agree with you wholeheartedly that the people need to be motivated and want to vote a low voter turnout I would suppose would favour the blp but my feeling this poll may well be one of our largest in recent history, you only need to listen to people from all walks of life complaining about their electricity bills their water bills, food bills, gas bills and then let them realise that while they are catching hell, the politicians are are robbing them and stowing away vast sums of ill gotten monies to their overseas accounts and that in itself is enough to send people beserk with annoyance and hate.

30. If Mascoll has done nothing that was wrong…why did his wife fine it necessary to say to the public of Barbados that she had previously instructed Murrell not to use workers from Hardwood?..At least she recognised that it was a conflict of interest!

31. Anonymous
    Mascoll wife is a lawyer. She covering her tracks. AH you ask what is Kim Young story I suggest you ask the Bar Association. Lawyers know the woman inside out. Ezra Alleyne raise your hand.

32. #

Such Stupid Comments // December 7, 2007 at 4:07 pm

AH …. for a person who pretends to be so … OOf you really do ask some silly questions
    ———————————————————-

SSC you have to admit, that for someone who does not live in Barbados i does do a pretty good job, commenting on things Barbadian. 😀 ….but pray tell what is so silly about the Kim Young questions? wuh i don’t know de woman from de next person? Uh tell yuh i don’t live pun de rock , and i fairly confident that if i did i still wouldn’t know who she is. I don’t move in dem kinda circles. 😀

33. Kott gets 6 years in prison for corruption

By LISA DEMER
    ldemer@adn.com

Published: December 7, 2007
    Last Modified: December 7, 2007 at 04:40 PM

Former state Rep. Pete Kott was sentenced today to six years in federal prison and fined $10,000 for his conviction on bribery and other corruption charges.

In handing down the sentence this morning, U.S. District Judge John Sedwick said he found that Kott, a former House speaker who represented Eagle River until last year, committed perjury in his testimony during his trial in September.

The judge did not set a date for Kott to report to prison. Kott left the courtroom accompanied by his daughter, his girlfriend, his lawyer and friends. A mob of reporters waited outside.

Kott’s sentence also includes three years’ probation, and he was ordered to receive alcoholism treatment.

Kott’s attorney had argued that he should receive 33 months in prison – a little less than three years – while prosecutors had requested 10 years.

A federal jury convicted Kott, 58, of bribery, conspiracy and extortion for his role in advocating an oil tax pushed by Veco Corp. executives and favored by North Slope oil producers. He received nearly $9,000, a political poll for his re-election campaign and the promise of a job, all from from Veco executives, according to testimony.
    For more details see -: http://www.adn.com/news/politics/fbi/kott/story/9504703p-9415453c.html

34. You are so right.

Thistle
    December 7, 2007 at 7:49 am
    I think there should be a strong public outcry against the blatantly partisan behaviour, and downright rudeness, shown by the Speaker of the House on the suspension of the No Confidence Motion. Mr. Roett reminds me of the late Burton Hinds – partisan and dictatorial.

35. Owing seems to have lost his brain or is it the rum taking control of his emotions?
    What he is so accustomed to doing here of calling and cursing people at will seems now very sadly to have been carried forward to his manner with dealing with the various heads of state, I am not sure that this manner is the right manner for our PRIME MINISTER to display at this level.

Conferences sources spoke of “tension and verbal clashes” involving some heads of government including the Prime Ministers of Barbados Owen Arthur (current chairman of the community} and Grenada’s Prime Minister Keith Mitchell who had initiated moves for the cost of living problem to be a priority agenda.

If I did not know better I would have considered that Owing was worrying about the impact his stealing from the treasury may have been having on our cost of living position, or he may have been worrying about what he is going to do about the one ASSCOLL, his worries may even extend to the HARDWOOD HOUSING issues, or his worries may even be thinking about what to do with the thing in his cabinet called moraless mottley, or his worries could be the results of the court cases both in the UK and the USA for FRAUD, BRIBERY and CORRUPTION by people that he went into bed with on projects here in Barbados with VECO and DANOS two players and two Scamps, maybe it could have been the impact of the crap that they have done with GREENLAND or the BATHS, or it could be Lynch and his want a plantation claim or maybe the recall of 90,000 arrivals for CWC or the 34 cruise ships and the 700 yachts, but then I opened my eyes and realised it was merely a dream and the reality is that these things do not matter the least to Owing and his clan of criminals so long as they keep their bank accounts growing.

I was so wrong to assume that this party was a caring party, we have seen and felt that this is far from the case.

36. I regularly fail to unravel pudding and souse in Nation on Sat but today the story under Full Moon(town) is implying Denis Kellman as usual is a loose cannon on the no confidence motion.
    WIV what is Kellman’s beef?
    Is he so wrapped up in illusions of his greatness he doesnt appreciate what it is to be a team player. Its the goals of the team that count not one deluded player. The Dems have Owen and Bees on the backfoot. It would be a travesty for Kellman and his runt self to spoil the party. He has hurt the Dems before in search of his own selfish ends.

37. This topic continues to break all the records since its release on December 4, 2007. It has been the top post every day since being published – with all other topics trailing far behind.

What we think we will do is to list it at the top of the heap tomorrow and let it run until after the debate on Tuesday.

38. Erskine “Cap” Durant, I got a call today about you. You surprised me though! I still here thinking how to deal with the info I got…

39. Leviticus what are you going on about?

40. I try not to be personal or abusive, but Mascoll sending unbiased listeners to the no-confidence debate, to go to two websites that proved to be a total waste of time, shows a level of incompetence aptly described as dangerous to parliamentary democracy and good governance.
    Prison in Barbados has often been home to the idiot who “has done nothing wrong” hustled off to prison just for being stupid, ignorant, and sometimes uneducated. Mascoll at least can avoid the label of uneducated, but fits the other categories of person very well. He may not have benefited financially as yet from this Hardwood fiasco, but In my judgement he did a lot wrong and has undermined the public trust in himself as a minister of goverment.
    I appeal to all right-thinking voters to save Mascoll from himself, possibly from prison, and to save Barbados from this present morass. How BLP colleagues can try to foist this behavior on the voting public is beyond me. For me it is political suicide, by politicians so tired of getting away with murder their vision has become blurred and can no longer recognise corruption, or misconduct for what they are.
    They are like roosters shacking up with turkeys and asking: what are you hens crowing about?

41. 1.Look like more action in store for tonight at BAYVILLE by the HARDCOURTS.

2.http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/NewViewNewsleft.cfm?Record=33899

3.Nation on Sat but today the story under Full Moon(town) is implying Denis Kellman.
    You obviously received a very special version of the nation today as your must have been delivery with your share of crack or cocaine as there is nowhere in Pudding and Souse that any mention is made Full moon.
    Why are you blp louts so fixated with lying and stealing?

42. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

This gets more and more unbelievable…

‘She (Carol Phillips) said her salary at the time was $4,500 gross with fuel and cellphone bill payment, along with AN ENTERTAINTMENT ALLOWANCE OF $2,000 WHICH WAS USABLE AT AQUA RESTAURANT’.

Just help me understand!

This is a company that is stating its mission statement is to provide low cost affordable housing.

This is a company that is 90% owned by the taxpapers (Government).

What on earth would an employee of this company need to have a $2,000 monthly allowance to spend at a particular stated restaurant?

Just remind me who the owners are of Aqua are?

Is there any common link between Hardwood Housing Factory Inc, Enterprise Growth Fund and Aqua Restaurant?

So who is telling the truth, Ms. Carol Phillips or Minister Clyde Mascoll.

We know Mr. Mascoll lied about Crossroads and Samaritans Purse.

43. So who is telling the truth, Ms. Carol Phillips or Minister Clyde Mascoll.

Adrian you really need not ask , he is charged and convicted as a compulsive liar.

Maybe further investigation should be undertaken to see if AQUA is also benefitting from financial help from a common directorship in EGFL.

In this present setup I put nothing pass anyone within this corrupt gov’t called the blp headed by corrupt leader Owing.

44. Exactly, Adrian.

Why would a “poor black man’s” office assistant be allowed to spend $2000 of precious taxpayer’s money at Hardwood Director Mr Hoyos’ restaurant.

Please

45. You tell me partner?

I wonder if AQUA collected some of that easy money from EGFL as well after all HOYOS is a director of both companies.

46. We are sure that our online family appreciate seeing the ad which appears on the back section of the Sunday Sun today.

47. Plot getting thicker by the day. Hoyos and Brewer are Aqua owners? If so Hoyos has more questions to answer. I think we can stick a fork in Mascoll.
    The wood spoon this morning is clown Lynch repeating CWC was Barbados finest hour. This super arrogant, hard ears clown persists in treating Barbadians as fools. The world including majority of Barbadians voted CWC a letdown and barely short of a fiasco. Lynch the boasty idiot calls it our finest hour again and again. Not surprising low island tourism ministers Beache and Chastenet laugh at this clown Lord help us.

48. So it’s all coming clearer now.

Mascoll brings in a dupe with a cock and bull story and introduces him to EGF, who contrary to their lending procedures, dole out an initial $900,000 to purchase, among other things, plant and machinery.

The poor black man instead of purchasing the said equipment enters a lease agreement to acquire them, then leases them himself to the company to whom taxpayers have already lent money to buy them.

On top of that the pbm, although recieving a healthy profit on the deal, defaults on his lease.

3000 workers apply for positions at HHFL, but still illegal immigrants were employed, and some were then allocated work at Mr Mascoll’s wife’s commercial premises supervised by the pbm.

The poor black man forgets to inform HHFL of this sideline and no invoices were raised for the work done, wages paid or materials used.

Or so says the office supervisor.

The same person who as part of her salary package enjoys a $2000 allowance to spend only at a restaurant owned by a HHFL director nominated by EGFL, (the donors of initial loan and a further $1000000), of which he is also a director.

This seems a very enterprising way of growing one’s funds.

Allegations of sexual harassment and infringement of labour laws beset the pbm and he is demoted.

Is that all there is to it?
    Every participant picking their own berry.

Just another day in paradise.

Nothing to see here, move along please.

49. The entertainment allowance may have been a way of reducing the tax she would have to pay. However it is not the norm to stipulate where it has to be spent.

50. Et tu, Brutus