2,322 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. Can you “Adam and Eve it?”. A St. Lucian gal won the woman’s 100m whilst crushing the field.

2. All hail Alfred of St. Lucia, fastest woman in the world.

St. Lucia: 2 Nobel laureates and an Olympic Gold medal

Talk about punching above your weight!

3. Jamaican man won bronze in the shot put. A Dominican leads the triple jump with a Jamican girl in second. Did Barbados send a team to Paris?

4. oh Canada. sweet.

5. A Jamaican man wins gold in the discus and breaks the Olympic’s record; whilst 3 Jamaican men reach the final in the 110 metres hurdles.

Meanwhile, Sada Williams came third in her semi-final heat. I’m not sure if that was sufficient for her to make the final.

If there were a gold medal for bare shite talk Barbados would clean up. A special congratulations to those Caribbean countries who have excelled and brought honour to their country.

6. If you had taken the time to read the comment above yours you wouldn’t have posted an irrelevant comment about whether Sada made it to finals.

Take a breath!

7. I clicked on the link 3 times and the screen was white. You have made the wrong assumption. Well did she make the final Mr Blogmaster?

8. Super sydney.

9. Oh Canada.

GOLD . Men’s 4 x 100 relay Paris 2024

10. The US inability to get the fastest team in the world around a track with a baton in its hand puzzles me.

This has made me suspicious of the moon landing. You can take a team to the moon and back and cannot carry a baton 1600 meters. Tell me a next story.

11. Was it worth sending our team to Paris?
    Does it make sense for Barbados to build a new national stadium?
    I recall Mia expressed her desire to build several new stadiums. Fifty years of independence and not a single government from Barbados priotised the development.of a sport’s culture for the young. Is it any surprise why Barbadians are some of the most obese people in the world. And let’s not forget that the country punches above its weight with Diabetes.

https://www.caribbeannationalweekly.com/sports/barbados-names-four-athletes-for-paris-olympics-including-williams-evelyn/

12. What silly question is that? How do you know what improved sporting facilities will yield?

13. Test match.

14. Jamaican Grandfather.

15. He is as arrogant as Carl Lewis.

16. @ David,

Open your eyes! There was a period when the vast majority of Muslim countries would not allow their women to participate in sports. Now we witness their women taking part in a diverse range of Olympic sports.

Barbados is an authentically western country with a small tinge of African influence. We are predominately a nation of ex-slaves who where whipped and forced to carry out back-breaking work on the plantations. It is incomprehensible when you consider our history that we could find only two field athletes to represent us at the Paris games.

Barbados white minority community have a long history of relative sport success and participation. Golf, tennis, motor sports, polo, equestrianism, horse racing, sailing, etc. What do these events all have in common? Over the years they have been heavily subsidised by the Barbados taxpayer. Whereas sporting activities carried out by Barbados majority population have received very little in government subsidies and support from local business.

My solution to this problem would be for us to forget about track and field. Rather, we should force Barbados white sporting establishments to open their doors to Barbados black population and to allow then the right to participate in these closed shop sports.

They will have access to excellent sport’s facilities and will have the perfect environment to thrive. Our irresponsible governments, over the years, have criminally neglected the development of young people to participate within a sport’s culture.

17. @TLSN

Please share links to support how the sports you mentioned are heavily subsidized by taxpayers. Also what is your idea of what has made these sports successful.

18. @ David,

You are a real Devil’s advocat. Let’s not play a game of semantics. Maloney’s boy has done quite well of the back of his father’s “business exploits” and his ability to be supported by this government and previous ones.

https://www.facebook.com/BroadcastBdos/videos/sir-trevor-mcdonald-interviews-sir-charles-williams/221311957884627/

19. @TLSN

Zane Maloney’s father is Sean Maloney.

20. @TLSN

What is the point you are trying to make from the link posted about the late Sir Cow?

21. You Tube

Secret Caribbean COW williams HQ

22. Great Sporting Moments in Dub

Barbados B-Girls Better Break Blacker

Japan’s Ami wins first ever Olympic breaking gold medal | Paris 2024 Olympics |

23. @Hants
    Re: My grandfather is Jamaican.
    This is not directed at Gabby Thomas.
    Take the blackest islander in the US and he will tell you which island his roots are from. Tell him that he is African and he/she most likely will deny that factand want to fight with you.

24. What a joke! The person with xy chromosomes won an Olympic gold medal in women’s boxing. ONE look at the person’s physique and there was never a doubt that this person would win.

None whatsoever.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TheO
    What fastest team? A TEAM is four persons who CAN get around. And it’s only 400m, 1600m is the 4×400. The fastest individual times from starting blocks, doesn’t mean shit when you have to run two bends and get a moving start in 3 of 4 legs. Plus, because they change runners up to last moment, they don’t practice as a TEAM.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    Another Caster Semenya?

27. @NO
    There is some truth in what you say. but if the US pull any four from their eight fastest runners, then they should be guaranteed a gold medal. That is the reality.
    I am highly disappointed with this group.

28. Khelif was born a female and identifies as a female. Semenya is a different issue.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

It is. But @Donna claimed Khelif had the XY chromosome, which I believe was Semenya’s issue, a.k.a 5-ARD.

30. @NO

Wasn’t Semenya’s issue her body producing high testosterone level? This is not the case with Khelif.

31. @ David,
    And you wonder why Barbados is in such a terrible state.

Somehow, we believe it’s more important to discuss a foreign female gold medallist rather then discuss the miniscule number of track and field athletes that Barbados sent to Paris. Just for the record, and I will repeat, Barbados sent the grand total of two track and field athletes to compete in France.

As Bush Tea would say “what a place!” Wunnah require a Bush bath. Forget about the Algerian it is a COMPLETE IRRELEVANCE to our athletics’ landscape. Can we please FOCUS our thoughts on why we are unable to produce athletes from our Bajan domestic population. Is it really too difficult to ask the question why are we not producing Olympic class athletes. And i’m not talking about athletes who are capable of winning medals.

What is the ratio of the four hardworking and focused athletes and the number of Barbados Olympic officials whom are currently attending this three week Olympic jamboree. How much money is being spent on these parasites? Are these officials currently laundering money in Paris?

Christ almighty why do we continue to always ignore the elephant parked at our front door?

32. @ The OG, yuh happy now ? lol

33. @TLSN

Can you list the names of local athletes that met the minimum qualifying Olympic standard?

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

From Wikipedia
    Although Semenya was assigned female at birth,[19][20] she has the intersex condition 5α-Reductase 2 deficiency (5-ARD).[10][11][19] This condition only affects genetic males with XY chromosomes. Individuals with 5-ARD have normal male internal structures that are not fully masculinised during the development of the reproductive system in utero, due to low levels of the hormone dihydrotestosterone (DHT). As a result, the external genitalia may appear ambiguous or female at birth.[21][22][23]

Semenya has said that she was born with a vagina and internal undescended testes, but that she has no uterus or fallopian tubes and does not menstruate.[11][24][25] Her internal testes produce natural testosterone levels in the typical male range.[11][26] Semenya has rejected the label of “intersex”, calling herself “a different kind of woman.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, this is a bit of what folks call’whataboutism so bear the affront !

I find this stat from the Olympic medal table shocking as compared to my lovely Bim and my fellow lil islanders !

Read as Gold, Silver, Bronze.
    India. 0 1 5

So we know Bim’s results … but little St. Lucia has 1 Gold, Jamaica had an off-year with only 1 gold in their six medals this year.

But how does a nation with 1.5 billion people produce those type of results!

Context: China with a similar population have 40 golds.

Now, India dominate world cricket so clearly they have an ability to establish grass roots sports program to develop talent which makes these other sporting deficiencies absurdly noticeable.

My point, the realism of our athletes not meeting qualifying stndards and lack of sporting facilities is surrly a result of lack of will on part of the govt/sports leaders but it’s also a result of other variables … as India’s piss poor results exemplify.

The power of whataboutism 🙃

36. Barbados wins !

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

So a few weeks ago, Patrick Husband’s was enshrined in the Canadian Horseracing Hall of Fame.
    Then he wins the second leg of the fully Triple Crown with an unexpected winner. He has one of the best stories of why betting horses is for the brave. The race and then the interview. BTW David, refers to another Bajan David Adams who runs trainers Mark Casse barn at Woodbine. PH is on #8

https://youtu.be/OSbXSzBulF0?feature=shared

38. Is this the correct link NO?

39. Race 8

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

My bad it was the race before
    https://youtu.be/RJAVs48_ReE?
    Sorry

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@hants
    Sorry I didn’t see your post.
    Yes it was race 8