2,322 responses to “Sports Corner”

1. Not mekkin sport.

It was a fuse that had blown. We are sourcing that fuse now and at the same time we are doing servicing of the electrical system. The gymnasium should be back up and running by next week Tuesday. . . ,” he said

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239441/lights-gym

2. ” Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley has sent a strong verbal message to Cricket West Indies (CWI) led by Ricky Skerritt that it should be cautious before moving swiftly to introduce a clean sweep of the top decision-makers of a sport which comes close to religion status in the English-speaking Caribbean.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/239476/mottley-clean-sweep

3. Patrick Husbands is back in the saddle and back to his winning ways.

Husbands won Race 4 on today’s card at Woodbine Race Track in Canada.

https://woodbine.com/watch-races/

4. Condolences to the family and friends of Seymour Nurse.

” THE cricket fraternity was thrown into mourning today when legendary Barbados and West Indies cricketer Seymour Nurse died at the Queen’s Elizabeth Hospital after ailing for a long period.”

5. @ David,

Lewis wins again. Best car best driver…..imho

6. Good driving.

#goodstart

7. Bajan star in the making.

Zane Maloney seals maiden win and Ford Super Rookie Award

http://fiaformula4.com/zane-maloney-seals-maiden-win-and-ford-rookie-award/?tr=1940&sr=

8. TORONTO RAPTORS going to the NBA finals for the first time. Sweeeeeeeet!!!!

9. Let the big dog eat

GO RAPTORS

10. @those Canadians

This is the end of the line for the younglins

11. Serena Williamss Custom OffWhite Outfit at the French Open Sent a Message

Serena Williams’s Custom Off-White Outfit at the French Open Sent a Message

Photo: Getty Images

Last summer at the French Open, Serena Williams—and specifically what she wore to it—faced much criticism. The tennis pro chose to wear a Nike catsuit for her match against Czechia’s Kristyna Pliskova, a compression garment that helped fight off the blood clots Williams was experiencing at the time, having recently given birth to her daughter, Alexis. Her choice of dress drew an instant negative reaction: the French Tennis Federation deemed the outfit a disrespect to the game and a violation of the tournament’s dress code and, as a result, banned catsuits from future matches entirely. The backlash was viewed as a tired, sexist reaction by many; Williams, however, brushed the controversy aside, telling reporters she simply felt “like a warrior princess” and a “queen from Wakanda” in the design.

Serena Williamss Custom OffWhite Outfit at the French Open Sent a Message
    Photo: Getty Images

Flash forward to today, when Williams made her grand return to the French Open, winning her first round against Russia’s Vitalia Diatchenko. With all eyes on her, Williams did not disappoint: She wore a custom performance outfit by Off-White’s Virgil Abloh for Nike involving a black and white two-piece with a matching cape printed with French words for “Mother, Champion, Queen, Goddess.” It was a nontraditional look to be sure, and the fact that it championed female empowerment in French—the very words Williams has used to describe her much-maligned French Open look of 2018—was very clever indeed. It seemed to say, “I’ll take your catsuit bam and raise it.”

“It’s the second time we’ve worked together,” Williams said of collaborating with Abloh, who also designed performance wear for her at the U.S. Open. “It has words in it in French. It talks about me being a mom and me being a queen, as all women are. A champion. It’s positive reinforcement for me, and I kind of love that.” Williams will now advance to the second round of the Open—and hopefully, there will be more winning on-court fashion moments to come, too.

12. World cup

” West Indies produced a blistering bowling display to crush Pakistan by seven wickets and begin their World Cup campaign with an emphatic victory at Trent Bridge.
    The two-time champions bowled Pakistan out for just 105 in 21.4 overs – their second lowest total in World Cup history.”

13. @Hants

The other bowlers followed Russell’s lead to bowl short.

14. One love . Cedella Marley.

Jamaica also owes many thanks to Cedella Marley, the eldest daughter of the late Bob Marley, who helped revive the national team following a four-year hiatus resulting from funding cuts.

15. Barbados will not get a single match of India’s tour to the Caribbean later this year.

The West Indies will play in the United States, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua and Barbuda and Jamaica.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240229/barbados-stop-india-cricket-tour

16. CANADA CELEBRATES

TORONTO RAPTORS WIN NBA TITLE.

Awesome !!!!!!!!!!

17. Still got it.

18. Lewis Hamilton wins British Grand Prix.

Bajan Jofra Archer helps England win Cricket world cup.

19. One to watch

Barbadian quarter-miler Jonathan Jones has broken the men’s national 400 metres record again.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240850/jones-breaks-national-400-metres-record

20. Tia-Adana Belle

3rd in 400 metres hurdles

21. Johnathan Jones

22. Lewis wins in Hungary thanks to better Mercedes strategy.

23. It was a good drive characterized by the determination of a champion and the smarts from the pit wall.

24. Congrats to Shane Brathwaite who won won gold in the men’s 110m hurdles at the 2019 Pan Am Games in Lima, Peru,

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241179/gold-shane-brathwaite

25. Couch potato day

F1 Qualifying, West Indies vs India Test day 2, Diamond league Athletics, Tennis.

26. Not good.

“Some of the island’s most promising junior athletes will have to do it on their own, as they will no longer receive a monthly grant from the Barbados Olympic Association (BOA).”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241603/boa-slashes-athletes-funds

27. When we cannot afford to fund the athletic pursuits of our youth, we have a problem.

28. HIGHLY-RATED Barbadian surfer Chelsea Tuach has had a dream run at the prestigious Pantín Pro Classic in Galicia, Spain.

She finished third overall at the highest rated event for women, a World Surf League (WSL) Qualification Series (QS) 10 000 event which featured 60 of the world’s best professional surfers.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241634/podium-finish-tuach-spain

29. I understand that Pollard has been appointed WI’s ODI and T20 captain, replacing Jason Holder and Carlos Brathwaite respectively.

30. Jason has an unflattering record?

31. David BU

May I join the discussion?

CWI President Ricky Skerritt said his administration believes “Kieron Pollard is the right person at the right time now to lead the West Indies team in white ball cricket.”

Ironically, on August 16, 2019, while being interviewed by Hema Ramkissoon on the “Morning Brew,” Dwayne Bravo suggested Pollard should be the “white ball captain.”

Holder’s and Brathwaite’s records as captain may be unflattering, (and I believe they are ordinary captains as well), but Pollard has not played an ODI for West Indies since October 2016.This is same guy that turned down a CWI central contract to pursue playing T20s all over the world as a freelancer.

What special skills does Pollard bring as captain of the ODI and T20 teams. His captaincy of the CPL’s Barbados Tridents, for example, wasn’t anything short of being abysmal.

There are certain West Indian players that are given accolades they don’t deserve. In my opinion, Pollard is one of them. On a few occasions, he may have scored a few runs, but is he deserving of being called a “destructive lower middle order batsman?” His stats indicate otherwise.

Pollard’s career summary indicates that, between 2007 and 2016, he played: ODI = 101; 95 innings; 6 not outs; 2289 runs; highest score = 119; with an average of 25.72. 100s = 3 and 50s = 9.

His T20 stats = 62 matches; 53 innings; 11 not outs; 903 runs; highest score = 63; with an average of 21.50.

IPL stats indicate 148 matches; 135 innings; 39 not outs; 2755 runs; highest score = 83; averaging 28.7.

His bowling stats indicate he’s an ordinary bowler, with an average of 39.12, and strike rate = 40.88.

Ricky Skerritt intends to take CWI in his direction and as president, it is his right to do so.

Jason Holder should bare this in mind and resign as test captain, before he is unceremoniously pushed out.

32. GEORGIE PORGIE with paper trophies Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE with paper trophies

RE Jason Holder should bare this in mind and resign as test captain, before he is unceremoniously pushed out.

i agree with you ARTAX

ITS TIME FOR JASON TO START”BREKKING FUH HESELF!”

33. Understand your points Artax. The little we know Pollard has a wealth of experience playing the short game. Who do we have with experience to lead a team which lacks depth?

34. Lewis Hamilton won the Russian Grand Prix.

Benefited from Ferrari mistakes.

35. ” Miami will host a Formula One Grand Prix in May 2021, subject to local government approval, after the sport announced a deal on

Tuesday with the city’s Hard Rock Stadium.”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/242333/miami-joining-formula-circuit-2021

One day we may see Z. Maloney driving an F1 car at Hard Rock Stadium sponsored by Rock Hard Cement. lol

36. Tiger wins in Japan.

” Ten weeks after he last played and two months after having a fifth surgery to his troublesome left knee,

Tiger Woods joined Hall of Famer Sam Snead in the record books with his 82nd PGA Tour victory on Monday (Sunday night in the United States). Snead’s final PGA Tour win came in 1965, when he was 52 years old ”

Lewis wins Mexican Grand Prix.

37. Seems like you can’t keep a good man down.

38. Lewis Hamilton seals sixth F1 world title with second place at US Grand Prix.

One of the greatest ever.

39. Hurrah! I don’t watch motor sports but I watch out for the Hamilton results.

40. Another great ride by a Bajan star boy.

41. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/08/leave-them-alone/

The rules should be changed. There is no way a better team should be demoted and an inferior team remain in the league.
    Perhaps, the schould boys can be included as a “guest team”

This comment made me laugh and I reject it…

“The former West Indies vice-captain said a young cricketer could also learn from losing as well.”

“Losing can make a young cricketer who has aspirations to play at the international level look deep into himself and analyse his flaws. It is my role to iron out any technical flaw to make them better cricketers while they are playing for Barbados Youth. These players are on a learning curve because of their age. I expect them to improve over the next couple of seasons, most of them will be around for the next couple of years,” the former Barbados captain said.

Given the results for the test team….. this is conditioning them to accept losing

42. ” As a result of the BCA’s quick action, an unwell Sir Everton Weekes was able to gain admission to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) earlier this week after it was reported that he was not admitted by another health institution.”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/242791/sir-everton-hospital

Wishing the best for a great Barbadian cricketer.

43. Well deserved, congratulations to him.