UPDATE: There was another fatal shooting today in Station Hill, St. Michael (2 for November 19th). Also, missing from my count was a homicide that happened in Station Hill on Sunday November 16th. The Database has been updated. With the additional data, it brings the total to at least 46 homicides for 2025, and at least 7 for November 2025.

Read full post @barbadoscrimeblog

17 responses to “Homicides Deadly Climb”

1. When Corey Layne was supporting government’s fight against crime he was in the news frequently, pretty boy Kirk Humphrey has taken over and not a peep.

2. Does the visibility of a minister make a difference?
    Wasn’t Corey in charge in 2024 ?

3. To clarify: traditional media is quoting 44 homicides, the blogmaster is reporting 46 i.e. the 2 lawful homicides that occurred at Weston.

4. Amit does a wonderful job in presenting these data. His charts are simple and easy to understand.

Before, one had to do an intensive search to get numbers for Barbados. It was easier to track events in Trinidad and Jamaica than for Barbados. Now Amit places them at you fingertips.

Great job Amit.

5. @ TheOG, thank you, appreciate the feedback. Also, I saw the comment on my Barbados Crime Blog and it has been published. My data/info is not perfect, and not official, but I think it’s a good start. The intent is, as always, is not political, but simply to objectively collect, analyze and present data on crime. My hope, as a Barbadian, and as a technology professional, is that it used in a positive and constructive manner to benefit society.

6. @David November 20, 2025 at 11:31 am “…the 2 lawful homicides that occurred at Weston.”

How do you know that they were lawful?
    Have the police completed their investigations?

7. @Simple Simon

In the context of what BU is trying to do it does not matter – potato potatoe. 44 or 46…

8. Governments within this region, and afar apparently, are given to using technicalities to influence murder counts.

In another country they have tried to suggest that there is a difference between what they called criminal murder and something they call manslaughter as though illegal death was not the common result.

9. “potato potatoe. 44 or 46…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss
    Try not to get de woman vex fuh the next few weeks or so if possible nuh… at least until a few conkies forward… or the season pass…

10. Making conkies Saturday.
    NONE for…

11. November 19, 2025 by Site Editor

Days With Multiple Attacks Resulting in Homicides

Image Source: Starcom Network

While updating the Barbados Homicide Database recently, I noticed that November 19th now has two fatal shootings recorded a few hours apart (President Kennedy Drive and Station Hill). That led me to take a closer look at the data to see how often we’ve had days where more than one person was attacked that ultimately resulted in a homicide, whether the deaths occurred the same day or later.

(SIDE NOTE: Please look at the methodology page of the Barbados Homicide website to learn more about the methodology behind my database).

12. What’s a Yardie?
    Jamaican
    What’s a Yardie?
    Gunman
    They don’t respect one nation one people.
    I was taught respect my elders.
    Respect my father, mother, brother, sister.

13. Bush Tea (asking fuh a friend) Avatar
    Bush Tea (asking fuh a friend)

@ Cuhdear bajan
    “Making conkies Saturday…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    When is a convenient time to pass by…?

14. RIP Jimmy Cliff.

Would it be an exaggeration to state this this film reflects a modern day Barbados where poverty, crime, politicians and the law all intersect to create a society which emboldens the elite whilst suppressing the poor.

This is one hell of a film. The Jamaicans are strong in the field of culture.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zzCv8-AJywc

15. “The Jamaicans are strong in the field of culture.”

What makes these Jamaicans so creative, it must be Food for Thought

16. Man shot at sporting event

One man among a group of spectators watching a sporting event at Boundary Lane, Eden Lodge, St Michael, was shot on Wednesday night.

Police say the incident occurred around 10 p.m., when a car approached and the occupants discharged several gunshots at the people who were congregating outside of a residence.

The man was transported to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital by ambulance and was receiving treatment.

Anyone with information or who may have witnessed the incident is asked to contact the Crime Stoppers Hotline at 1800-8477, Police Emergency 211 or the District ‘A’ Police Station at 430-7242 or 430-7246.

(PR/SAT)