Submitted by John A

How many of you remember the old drawing books that had numbers on a page? You would start at number 1 and the go to number 2 and by time you were finished a beautiful picture would appear on the page.

Just a few weeks ago the local hotel building czar proclaimed that the shortage of labour (at his prices) was hampering the building of all these newly promised hotels. Shortly after that the free movement of people was announced from certain territories. Coincidence I am sure, but thus it unfolded none the less. 

Construction workers in safety gear are working on a building site, with wooden frameworks and scaffolding visible.
Source: BT

Now suppose we moved to another dot and considered maybe that they were other reasons that this hotel building boom had not yet started. A few months ago at a lunch I ran into an old family friend whose family has operated a small hotel for years. In the conversation he mentioned that the family was thinking of selling the property, but it was not as profitable as many believe a hotel is. Yes they do ok in winter but then they suck salt in summer, hence ending up with a low average occupancy percentage over the year. He then went on to say that the growth in Airbnb and the competition from private home owners had also cut into his business. Wait hold on, where did I hear that name Airbnb in the news recently could this be the next dot?

It was recently by share coincidence, announced in the news that Government would be clamping down on the local Airbnb operators (hotel competitors) with new laws to “ensure a quality product.” Well from what I have read, a bad Airbnb doesn’t remain in business too long with entities like TripAdvisor out there. These review blogs could mek you or brek you real quick! Ah another dot maybe? So is this about protecting our global image or is there another agenda in play here?

Right to a next dot now, what could a government do to help to ensure a better profitability for any foreign investor coming here to operate a locally built hotel? Let me think pun dat one for a while before commenting. Would a smart builder risk building a hotel with the hope that he could catch a foreign hotel investor under the current climate of alleged high labour cost and stiff competition from airbandb, when coupled to the low annual occupancy rate we currently achieve in the industry? Let me tink pun dat one for a while too. 

So my question as a simple shop keeper in St Farlip is this. Is this going to become a situation where the sharks eat all the sprats leaving only sharks to live? Will local sprats be protected in an environment where sharks roam free and the fisherman simply focus on catching and removing the nuisance sprats? This ecosystem don’t sound safe for a small man like me to swim in. I going have to rethink my idea about fixing up the back room as an airbandb and offering tourists that stay there free drinks pun a weekend as part of my package! DE SHOP INN DINER AND LOUNGE may get put on de back burner now!

In closing when you connect the dots what do you see?

Disclaimer: The above story may be fictional or em might not be, so tek what dey with a pinch of salt or not, its wunna choice! The writer does not practice party loyalty, so if any faithfuls are offended that is wunna problem not mine. Besides em is only a story, or is it?

121 responses to “Let’s Connect the Dots: Fact or Fiction”

1. Mr. Dottin, you crossed T’s as well 👏

2. @ Tony this issue is something every hotel worker from maid to manager should be concerned with. Our hotel sector has always been seen as expensive, so where you think savings can now easily come from? How better to sell this movement thing, than to say it will lower hotel operation cost and make Barbados more competitive. I find the unions real quiet on this issue though. Look past the “all of we is one” talk and dig deeper into the reality of such a development.

These waters run real deep!

3. @John A

How many people you anticipate to enter Barbados from what are underpopulated countries?

4. Even a large island like Jamaica struggling with population growth.

“J’can population at 2.774 million as growth rate slows, long-awaited census data reveal

https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news/20251015/jcan-population-2774-million-growth-rate-slows-long-awaited-census-data-reveal”

5. @ David they will come because we have the strongest currency against the EC dollar. So a maid that is working for $100 EC dollars in St Vincent say will automatically see a 35% increase in salary if they come here and work for a $100 bds. USDs are also easier to find floating around here in the winter period than most of the other islands in this group. Who knows a maid may decide to come here and work in the winter season and then return to St Vincent in the offseason and do something else. They may then come back the following year and work December to April only at the same hotel. This will suit hotels perfectly as they don’t need the full force of maids in summer anyhow. The same applies to all aspects of the tourism sector as well not just maids.

6. @John A

The flip side is that the cost of living here is much higher.

7. Boss…
    You may even be giving a bit too much credit to the complete jokers currently driving the Bajan bus… to even have been able to place those numbered dots…

Much more likely, we are seeing knee jerk reactions – arising from the various financial backers to have raised concerns about not raking in the anticipated high profits that they were promised when their ‘political donations’ were made.

Disjointed orders coming from the various albino-centric interests who have purchased control of our representatives have created all these hasty, contradictory situations.
    It is almost too pathetic to accept.

What a place!!

it is Enuff to make a proud Bajan shame as shiite.

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    The movement of labour has occured for years. Many of the Eastern Canada upper scale resorts, who outside of the ski resorts, make their money in the summer, have relied on Caribbean staff for years. They are well trained and available in summer months. They can scale up and down seemlessly. Those without training work in agriculture.

9. @ David

You remember in the Arthur building boom how many Guyanese came here. At the time their dollar was weak to ours but they came and lived here, while still being able to remit some money back home even with our much higher cost of living. You think when these folks come here dem shopping at Massy and going through Chefette 4 days a week? No sir it is Popular and the market for vegetables and ground provisions. plus no VAT dont stir in Cheapside LOL.

Here is expensive because of how we Bajans want to live. When you have 6 people coming here and sharing the cost in one house, they will get out ok between Popular and the market. Plus every morning each man takes his flask of food and home made lemonade to work with them. No food van for these guys either. I know what I talking bout here so don’t doubt muh.

10. @John A

The period mentioned is not a good example- many Guyanese lived in ‘pig sty’ conditions.

11. @ Bushie

The problem we have here is that the average Bajan does not stop to think on an issue unless it starts to affect them personally. The party faithfulls can barely think for themselves so all the see is red or blue. All that we are discussing will be brought to the front in a few months, but by then what can you do when horse done left the stable.

12. @ Northern

What you are talking about in Canada is a structure immigration movement not an open door “come with all you friends too” approach like what has been proposed here. Two completely different animals all together.

13. @John A

It is not logical to expect large numbers to enter Barbados from Dominica, Belize and St. Vincent. These are low population countries as commented on above.

14. @ David

My point is if Guyanese came in numbers and made it work with an exchange rate of $ 1 Bds to $100 Guyanese dollars, you dont feel a Vincy could make it work with an exchange rate of $1 BDS to $1.35 EC?

My friend I have been there often and the Vincentians or Dominicans are not accustom to a standard of living no where near ours, believe me they will welcome what we offer them here. Don’t look for them to patronise Chefette and Kentucky though. These guy wake at three AM and cook fresh food for that days lunch break at work. Meanwhile the Bajans going to every food van that shows up at the site.

The cards are therefore not dealt in the Bajans favour, even if it may be partially as a result of their own personal habits.

15. Are we doing this to deepen the regional integration project, increase the population or all of the above. The brassbowls must be confused?

16. @ David

My point is that there will be a net loss of movement on the Barbadian side. More will come here than will leave here to go there. We have the strongest currency and highest standard of living so here will be the drawing card. Whether 10 come or 1000 come is not the issue to me. The issue is that the deck is stacked against the Bajan worker however you look at it. For him to leave here and go there he will have to accept less pay in real terms. If he stays here he will be told if he is a mason say, ” man I can get a Vincy mason for $100 bajan a day now.” So either way to compete he is looking at dropping his fee.

17. YOU CAN DO IT

“If a thing is difficult to be accomplished by yourself, do not think that it is impossible for man.

But if anything is possible for man and conformable to his nature, think that this can be attained by yourself as well.”
    —Marcus Aurelius, Meditations, 6:19

“There are two kinds of people in this world. The first looks at others who have accomplished things and thinks: Why them? Why not me? The other looks at those same people and thinks: If they can do it, why can’t I?
    ― Ryan Holiday, The Daily Stoic

One is zero-sum and jealous (if you win, I lose). The other is non-zero-sum (there’s plenty to go around) and sees the success of others as an inspiration. Which attitude will propel you onward and upward? Which will drive you to bitterness and despair?

Who will you be?

18. Hey guys I got a toll bridge from Vinci to bim for sale.
    Get it before the Vinci wave start and u will make ur ROI before Xmas 🎅

19. It seems like a lot of Barbadians and people in other affected countries are raising concerns, which is a bit concerning. If the BLP had launched a PR campaign similar to how they are promoting their Annual Conference, maybe more people would have been less vocal about it.

This could lead to even more erosion in public trust.

20. “This could lead to even more erosion in public trust.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    What public trust what!!??

Except for John2, Enuff and Lorenzo, …and perhaps a few others whose only source of survival is via crumbs thrown from the BLP / DLP duopoly, NO sensible BBs are able to retain ANY semblance of ‘public trust’ in our present politicians / lawyers.

These jokers have failed at EVERY SHIITE they have attempted.
    Not even in implementing simple laws (which are largely copied from other jurisdictions – WHERE THEY ACTUALLY WORK) have they been able to avoid BASIC miss-steps.

The Court system – THEIR OWN AREA OF TRAINING, is an embarrassment, with the CCJ constantly berating its pathetic inefficiency… even with a highly experienced EX-CLICO top man now in charge…

The young girl Lashley recently pointed out the HYPOCRISY of our PM being a GLOBAL voice against Climate mismanagement, WHILE at the same time being the DIRECT minister in charge of OUR Town Planning, …and AGGRESSIVELY destroying our beaches, agricultural lands and general landscape – in exchange for $US and lord knows what else…

Boss, if public trust is eroded any more that it presently is, then Enuff and John2 may actually start to make COHERENT points on BU…
    ..Forget Lorenzo…. he is about as HOPELESS as DooShiite’s STEAL housing projects…
    What a place!!

21. #AshleyLashley

Lashley questions island’s progress

Youth Advisor to the United Nations Secretary-General on Climate Change and Executive Director of the Ashley Lashley Foundation, Ashley Lashley, has sounded the alarm on what she describes as Barbados’ troubling indifference toward the climate crisis – even as construction projects continue to rise across the island.

Delivering the featured address on Day 1 of the Barbados Youth Climate Action Summit & Expo under the theme “ Beyond Talk, More Action” at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on Wednesday, Lashley questioned whether the island’s vision of “progress” was truly sustainable.

“When you drive around Barbados, what do you see? I see hotels and condos growing taller by the week, restaurants creeping closer by the beach as progress takes hold – but progress for who?”

“I see erosion eating away at what made this island, home. I can’t help but wonder how many more beaches do we have to lose before we realise that development without sustainability is just destruction dressed up in concrete.”

Lashley’s address cut to the heart of the issue – the tension between development and environmental preservation.

“We celebrate every new building, every ribbon cutting,” she said. “But where’s the ribbon for the reef that was dying last year? Where’s the applause for the mangrove that quietly protects us from flooding? We call it progress. Then we pour another slab of concrete – but let’s be honest. It is capitalism dressed up as development.”

She stated that the debate was no longer about whether climate change was real, but how much longer Barbadians would allow profit to outweigh survival.

Beyond her call for accountability, Lashley highlighted tangible efforts by her foundation to empower youth through training in disaster management and climate resilience. Through a statehood-based programme, 31 students aged 11 to 18 from six local schools were trained in disaster preparedness, each school receiving a $2 500 microgrant to strengthen their capacity.

However, what the foundation uncovered during this initiative raised concern.

“What we discovered was troubling, because many schools in Barbados do not have emergency security plans,” Lashley revealed. “How can we call ourselves a climate-resilient nation if our children’s environmental safety is not built into our education system?”

She urged that “every young Barbadian should be trained as an emergency responder”, arguing that resilience begins at the community level.

“We want to see more youth volunteering as district emergency officers, helping to build resilience from the ground up – because true preparedness doesn’t start with Government policy; it begins with our people.”

The Barbados Youth Climate Action Summit & Expo gathered students from both primary and secondary schools for discussions, exhibitions, and interactive learning about the realities of climate change and local solutions to address it.

Looking ahead, Lashley announced that in 2026, the foundation will host a new phase of the initiative – the Barbados Youth Climate and Ocean Action Summit – in collaboration with the Coastal Zone Management Unit. The expanded summit will deepen focus on ocean protection and youth-led climate innovation. (AJ)

22. So wait the forming a committee to look into the free movement AFTER the said free movement was illegally started on October 1st?

That is what happens when there is no consultation with the people. Just like the attack on Airbandb this will prove as another embarrassment for them.

23. A

I would like to see ur breakdown on how the construction boom in Vinci will affect the migration between the two countries .

Incase u missed it in the Bajan media = they are about to refurbish their international airport and construction 4 hotels ( sandals was in the Bajan news just a few days ago)

Incase u also missed it in the Bajan new – rental units for the local bajans are very scarce under a certain price

I have read online the Vinci cost of living is 37% better than Bajan

How do u explain the large / substantial bajan population in Vinci as mention by Artax in the other article on this matter? What boom did they have in Vinci that attracted the bajans there ?

I can also remember grenade with it ec dollars stealing away one of our tourism officials a few yrs ago ( I don’t know if politics were involved )

Bajans ( larger population and probably more individuals unemployed) been in and is more experienced in the tourism industry than Vinci so with all the above mentioned who should be really be insecure about a migration wave ?

Awaiting you detailed breakdown

24. Bushie

Kiss ur donkey. You more depend on the duopoly than I ever will

25. @ John2
    Bushie’s donkey is actually quite cute and kissable, it is of the amiatina breed…
    …so no issue there.

However, if you RE-READ the offending post SLOWLY, ..you will find that Bushie DOES NOT include yourself, Enuff or Lorenzo among the hoards of parasites…
    …as the bushman is aware of your wealthy status.

HOWEVER if the cap indeed fits, and – despite your bank accounts, you feel INCLUDED, then … haul!!!

26. Talk chalk our donkey is hitched to the tourism wagon. There are no structural changes being implemented to suggest we will move from an over reliance on that sector.

27. @ John 2

Yes you are correct that the cost of living in St Vincent and probably Dominica as well, is around 37% cheaper than here. It probably would be lower even than that depending on where you shop. What I notice when there, is that what I pay $1 Bajan dollar for here they pay $1 EC dollar for there. Massy is there too but most of the people patronise the market and local growers first. So lets put some numbers to this and show why Barbados will be a choice still.

Lets take a mason as an example. He may work for $120EC there but get anything like $150 BDS a day here. Both of these are accurate going rates now in both territories. Now if we convert the $150 BDS to EC here he would be getting 150x 1.34 = $201 EC dollars a day.

Now if say 6 guys rent a house here and share the cost, shop in the market and Popular, while taking work their cooked food daily, their cost of living will be far lower here than if they live separately and all shopped at Massy, while buying lunch from a food van. So again lets apply some numbers to this. A mason renting a house in St Vincent may pay $1000EC a month if he is lucky. Here is more expensive by roughly 37% so lets say he pays even with 6 to a house $ 1000 bds a month each, that’s his base expenses equivalent to $1340 EC a month. Good final step now. Bare with me as I am using a basic online comaparison based on exchange rate and cost of living difference.

rental expenses in St Vincent = $1000 EC a month
    Income 24 working days a month x120 EC a day = $2880 EC
    Net gain on above = $1880 EC

I am going to convert the Bajan dollars here to EC for easy comparison now based on him being here.

Rental expenses 6 to a house each man= $1340 EC ( 1000 bds)
    Income 24 days at $201 EC a day = $4824 EC
    Net gain on above per person = $3484 EC

Now here expensive but sharing expenses in a 3 bedroom house cant come to no $6000 EC dollars a month ( 4300 bds roughly) for these 6 guys, but for comparison I have inflated the cost here somewhat. Even if we put the mason in St Vincent at $150 EC a day, which would be exactly the rate of a direct comparison dollar for dollar, it does not change the outcome that much. If we put 4 people to a house here instead of 6, again they still doing better as they would now need a smaller house hence a lower rent.

last thing lets say the Vincy working here remitted $500 Bajan back home a month how would that play in their market? So here we go again.

$500 bds x 1.35 to EC= $675 EC. But you now have to realise that their cost of living is 37% lower, giving that buying value from the $500 bds sent home, a value of roughly $900 EC at market value as its true worth.

So you tell me as a Vincy mason what you and 5 other partners or even 3 other partners would do? The reality is in the fact that the country with the highest currency rate always holds the gravy for the person with the weaker currency.

28. @David
    “There are no structural changes being implemented to suggest we will move from an
    over reliance on that sector.”
    Read what you just wrote again. You wrote this comment under a post about an immigration and citizenship bill. Immigration affects human capital which is a structural issue. Immigration policy changes represent structural change. Your comment is contradiction.

29. @ David

People are thinking construction will benefit most from the free movement, but be careful you don’t find its the tourism sector that may be the biggest winner here.

30. @John A I think you are confusing two different but related matter before parliament. One is the Freedom of movement among 4 CARICOM states first announced in July and is going ahead, the other is the new immigration and citizenship bills which came out of the work of the population commission. The population commission held town hall meetings in 2023 to get public feedback. The sessions were streamed on youtube.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buDlmBXYhpY

What I will say is that managed migration, when done in a way that allows for smooth integration of culture and language and the participation in institutions, can be beneficial to a country’s development. Well integrated immigrants bring skills, diversity of thought and they are more likely to be entrepreneurs than native born folks since they’re already accustomed to taking risks.

31. https://youtu.be/mxpngi9d-aM?si=HimFO28WfrJFCxbd

Even as Pacha is tired of being right. It does not prevent shaggers here from nibbling at the proverbial heel.

China is almost singlehandedly establishing the Renminbi as the global means of exchange, value, reserve.

Being the buyer of up to 80 percent of iron ore, it’s now demanding that all its purchases must be so denominated.

Of course, this is merely the most recent of a long series of such measures.

Indeed, we’ve come a long way from BRICS countries using national currencies for crossborder trade to making massive progress on the way to dethroning the greenback, and well ahead of the generally accepted ten year project time as widely estimated.

The blood of the greenback is in the water and the Chinese are wasting no time in going in for the coup de gras.

32. @wargeneral

Much of the noise and commentary around this matter is due to a lack of efficient communication and implementation.

33. @John A

Construction is NOT a sustainable sector, is it?

34. @wargeneral

Let us hope this ‘managed migration’ is implemented probably. Given the track record of successive governments one has to be blindly optimistic.

35. @wargeneral

What I am speaking to is not ” managed migration” as you mention above, but the free unmanaged movement of persons we know nothing about, as not even a certificate of character is required from them to come through our ports and live here. I am also showing the effect a stronger currency benefits those coming from countries with a weaker currency as opposed to those moving the other way.

Finally a survey should have been done at the very least, in order to feel the pulse of the people on free movement LONG BEFORE it was started. As I see it the freedom of movement from those territories, makes the immigration and citizens bill somewhat of a watered down document as dem here already. We should have gone through a full period where ALL BORN BAJANS could voice there view on the FOM and THEIR views then be represented in any decision made. But no you start freedom of movement illegally without hearing from your people, THEN you go to make it legal by backdating the relevant laws. To now therfore bring an immigration and citizens bill for public opinion, AFTER you have decided that free movement is best for us, with no public input being sought prior to implementation, is amusing to say the very least.

But our X Is only needed once every couple of years and with no opposition wunna carry on smartly!

36. @ David

It is not sustainable as a source of mass employment for sure. To build a hotel 30 years ago would require a small army of workers. Today that is not the case.

If anyone here lives by a current multi level hotel or condo block being built, you will notice few workers compared to years ago and the reason is technology has now taken over. Practically all of these buildings are now precast slabs built by a factory and put in place by a crane, with a few employees there on site to pin them in place. So for construction to employ the same amount of workers as years ago, they would have to be building a massive amount of properties at one time. Go and look at the houses being assembled now at Coverly and how may workers you see on site. The good old days of Hotels and developments employing hundreds on one site is over. Construction too tens to run in booms and bust periods, where is does well for a few years then falls into a lull for a few. This is represented by our Central Bank Reports over the years.

Now its the independent builders still using blocks for the private homes and the wealthy who still are using blocks for their individual homes. Its progress and change that can’t be fought. I watched a documentary recently where concrete houses were now being built by a type of 3D printer.

37. Small family-owned budget hotel experiences low occupancy during off-season and is facing stiff competition from Airbnb properties. Known by those who read to be the case for years. But on BU this is profound [wait until they discover the Airbnb-residential rental market issue] and therefore a valid basis to connect dots between a developer and his recent comments about labour shortages, regulating Airbnb and free movement. Wowwww, the grasping is real!!!

38. LOL
    Oh Shiirt!!

It looks like Enuff is becoming incoherent yuh!!!

@ John2
    Can you offer your pal any help here…please!!?

39. @ Bushie

I was going to reply to Enuf but he like he didn’t read what I said. I going have to paraphrase it for him in Bajan terms LOL

ALL hotels here catch ass in summer.

The average annual occupancy percentage of the INDUSTRY ( not just small hotels)struggling to maintain 60% roughly.

So wait he think that the small family hotel I spoke of in St Lucia? No boss man it here in Bim, operating in the same market and environment that all the rest in.

God blyma if anybody grasping for a defence here it would have to be Enuf! Any other independently thinking non party affiliated Bajan done connect the dots.

Anyhow for those that ain’t of the feathered type, I going make a statement here about this Free Movement thing. I want wunna to think pun it.

FREE MOVEMENT WILL BENEFIT THE PROFITS OF THE HOTEL AND CONSTRUCTION SECTOR AT THE COST OF THE BAJAN EMPLOYEE.

If even 1 Bajan maid lose her job to a Vincy because they will work for $20 less a day, that is 1 Bajan that born and bred here that wunna system has disadvantaged, wunna remember dat! Also the Bajan maid had to get a certificate of character to get the little pick, the vincy one sail through Adams International smiling. That sound like sense?

Right I done wid that the floor is now wunna one.

40. @ John A

“ I find the unions real quiet on this issue though.”

+++

Political and public backlash can force unions to retreat from broader political participation and focus more narrowly on economic welfare. This limits their ability to advocate for workers on a wider scale.

Reality today?

41. @ Tony

Yes I have to agree with you, plus let’s be honest we no longer have any Walcotts or Trotmans out their either. It now seems to be a case of let’s not offend till we are forced to.

I have so many unanswered concerns about this whole thing. So here is a question, if these persons become citizens and are here for a couple of years prior to turning 67 years old, will they qualify for a non contributory pension as well? If so are we that have paid in contributions going to be asked to foot that bill via the NISSS, or will that be paid from a newly created consolidated fund’s relocation and free movement fund, yet to be set up?

The four minute address the PM offered us as a word of confidence on the FOM, failed to answer this or a wash pan of other concerns the Born Bajan may have. Cart before they horse again, this time without even having the farmers approval.

42. Bushie
    Claiming incoherence is another way of confessing ignorance. 🤭🤭

43. Correct @ Enuff
    Clearly ignorance of whatever points you were trying to convey…

44. Guess Jemmott’s concerns as a retired educator and social commentator will be dismissed as a BU commentator spouting nonsense as well.

Too much fear around full free movement

This article was written and submitted by Ralph Jemmott, social commentator and former educator.

There are two seemingly contradicting exhortations to Barbadians in dealing with issues facing their country. One is to “speak up and speak out” and “if you see something, say something”.

The other is to “keep yuh mout’ shut”. Our country, like much of the region and the world, is experiencing a period of turmoil and as a conscious individual who struggles to inhabit the life of the mind, one cannot help but worry about the state of humanity. Barbadians in general and the educated class in particular run the risk of becoming quiescent and timid.

The Caribbean Free Movement of Nationals Bill should concern all thinking Barbadians. Its implications for our future are significant. In and outside of our Parliament we are afforded two contrasting visions of full free movement and the future.

The Government’s position is that full free movement is vital to Barbados’ survival and to Caribbean unity. It is about securing our nation’s future and constitutes “a seminal milestone in Caribbean integration”.

‘Seminal moment’ It strikes me as passing strange that the three larger territories that have historically been in the vanguard of the integration movement, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago, did not see it fit to join Barbados, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Belize and Dominica in adopting full free movement right away at this so-called “seminal moment”. Barbadians are told that full free movement is an important mechanism for solving the problem of a declining population and filling the skills gap, and securing our country’s social and economic future.

An opposing vision inside and outside of Parliament made the argument that the way the Government went about the enactment of the full free movement, was in fact, illegal. Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne has a point. The first migrants under the scheme were to come to Barbados on Wednesday, October 1, but the Bill was not debated in the House of Assembly until Monday, October 13, before it proceeds to the Senate and then goes to the President for signature to become law.

Talk about carts and horses.

What was the rush to start on October 1? A somewhat less valid contention is the Opposition’s claim that the Government’s bill is a ploy to pad voter registration in the country in the Government’s interests. However, it is worthy of note that political scientist Peter Wickham has suggested that migrants are more likely to support the political party which affords them entrance.

Fear

The political opposition contends that migration is likely to be a stress on Barbados’ social services, particularly on health and education services and welfare provisioning.

Lines waiting at the hospital and polyclinics could lengthen and class sizes could increase. There is the perennial fear that an influx of cheap labour could drive down wages exacerbating the standard of living of the mainly black working class already suffering under the burden of high taxation and rising inflation.

Then, there is the fear of culture change if migrants do not share the same value system as the host country. The preeminent fear is that we may exacerbate an already troubling crime situation given the crime rates in other regional states. The last set of concerns are the ones that appear to resonate most with the local man and woman in the street.

With the usual sweet-sounding rhetoric, the Government is reassuring Barbadians that they have nothing to fear. Government will not expose Barbadians to any deterioration in the quality of life. Crime and fear of crime will not increase because Government will screen all those entering the island.

Government has claimed it is working closely with contractors and unions to enforce labour practices and it will not tolerate labour exploitation.

Migrants will not become a charge on the public purse. Given the increasing array of social and economic problems that Barbados is currently facing, the notion that we can guarantee these outcomes seems intellectually frightfully facile to a people encouraged to be “critical thinkers”.

As a born and bred Barbadian, my greatest concern is with the drain on our social services and the worsening of our crime in both qualitative and quantitative terms.

When Owen Arthur was Prime Minister, I penned an article entitled Migration And Social Contagion. Shortly thereafter, PM Arthur gave a speech to a St James constituency in which spoke of “fearmongering”. The term xenophobia is again being bandied about as a kind of contagious disease to which Barbadian are particularly susceptible.

The present leadership of the Government has dismissed Opposition concerns as “fanciful and irresponsible”, and yes, “embarrassing and lazy”.

Most people have expressed some serious reservations about the Bill.

Some locate themselves “on the fence”. Whatever the outcome, let us hope that Barbados is not sacrificed on the altar of someone’s political hubris and the phantasm of something calling itself Caribbean integration.

45. JA ( u a real one fuh tru )

Under Arthur the Guyanese came VINCI did not come like in ur scenarios =. The ec $ had the same peg as it is today

Anytime after OA and up to sep 30th the VINCI wereNT coming for the 35% in droves like in ur scenarios. – The EC still pegged the same. However the Jamaicans were and ( as you called them) the Mexicans are.

With the above in mind it is clear to see that VINCI is not interested in leaving their family and 37% better cost of living to live under ur conditions for 35% extra .

2. As for ur NIS CONCERN ……again …..in the Bajan media (some time before oct 1) the minister of labor said something to the effect that caricom countries already has some “ sharing” agreements (my word)in place . U need to read outside of BU sometime

3. Please stop this foolishness about Vinci getting a job without a police certificate while a Bajan need one for the same job. Bajan will not stand for that shite. You already know that Bajan are not scared of wild cat strike when they know they have been unfair

46. @John A

What matters is that concerns are coming from all areas of society. This could mean the government has done a poor job of communicating with an ‘ignorant’ electorate.

47. @ David

The Apologist and party loyals will always be out there trying their best to deflect from reality. It is their sole purpose in life it seems. The facts speak for themselves, the apologist can talk all the shite they want it CAN AND WILL NOT sway those capable of clear non partisan thinking.

None of the concerns I or others have raised, can be dismissed as not having grounds for concern. Ignore the apologist, they suffer from myopic party vision, as a result they are blinkered from reality.

As more independant thinkers study this Free Movement you will hear more concerns being vented, you can bet on that.