Submitted by John A

How many of you remember the old drawing books that had numbers on a page? You would start at number 1 and the go to number 2 and by time you were finished a beautiful picture would appear on the page.

Just a few weeks ago the local hotel building czar proclaimed that the shortage of labour (at his prices) was hampering the building of all these newly promised hotels. Shortly after that the free movement of people was announced from certain territories. Coincidence I am sure, but thus it unfolded none the less. 

Construction workers in safety gear are working on a building site, with wooden frameworks and scaffolding visible.
Source: BT

Now suppose we moved to another dot and considered maybe that they were other reasons that this hotel building boom had not yet started. A few months ago at a lunch I ran into an old family friend whose family has operated a small hotel for years. In the conversation he mentioned that the family was thinking of selling the property, but it was not as profitable as many believe a hotel is. Yes they do ok in winter but then they suck salt in summer, hence ending up with a low average occupancy percentage over the year. He then went on to say that the growth in Airbnb and the competition from private home owners had also cut into his business. Wait hold on, where did I hear that name Airbnb in the news recently could this be the next dot?

It was recently by share coincidence, announced in the news that Government would be clamping down on the local Airbnb operators (hotel competitors) with new laws to “ensure a quality product.” Well from what I have read, a bad Airbnb doesn’t remain in business too long with entities like TripAdvisor out there. These review blogs could mek you or brek you real quick! Ah another dot maybe? So is this about protecting our global image or is there another agenda in play here?

Right to a next dot now, what could a government do to help to ensure a better profitability for any foreign investor coming here to operate a locally built hotel? Let me think pun dat one for a while before commenting. Would a smart builder risk building a hotel with the hope that he could catch a foreign hotel investor under the current climate of alleged high labour cost and stiff competition from airbandb, when coupled to the low annual occupancy rate we currently achieve in the industry? Let me tink pun dat one for a while too. 

So my question as a simple shop keeper in St Farlip is this. Is this going to become a situation where the sharks eat all the sprats leaving only sharks to live? Will local sprats be protected in an environment where sharks roam free and the fisherman simply focus on catching and removing the nuisance sprats? This ecosystem don’t sound safe for a small man like me to swim in. I going have to rethink my idea about fixing up the back room as an airbandb and offering tourists that stay there free drinks pun a weekend as part of my package! DE SHOP INN DINER AND LOUNGE may get put on de back burner now!

In closing when you connect the dots what do you see?

Disclaimer: The above story may be fictional or em might not be, so tek what dey with a pinch of salt or not, its wunna choice! The writer does not practice party loyalty, so if any faithfuls are offended that is wunna problem not mine. Besides em is only a story, or is it?

121 responses to “Let’s Connect the Dots: Fact or Fiction”

1. @ Artax

Yes the travel cost is very prohibitive for sure. When you look at the price of a ticket from St Vincent to here you have to wonder what you paying for.

If we are going to trade a ferry is a must. Airfreight makes it uncompetitive to freight heavy or bulky items between the islands. The ferry would make seafreight a viable alternative. With a hig speed ferry there will also be less risk of spoilage, as it should be able to get from St Vincent, St Lucia or Dominica to Barbados in a couple of hours depending on sea conditions that day.

2. “In the opinion of a lowly blogmaster, intra-regional travel serves as a crucial ‘performance indicator’ of a successful integration project – since there are no active projects on the radar to make this a reality expect a business as usual culture with little material change.”

EXCELLENT, David.

My thoughts exactly as well.

I’ve mentioned in this forum on several occasions the positions regional heads of governments took on LIAT (1974) Ltd., was INDEED, according to you, “a crucial ‘performance indicator’ of a successful integration project.”

That the other governments refused to invest in LIAT, but wanted to reap the economic benefits therefrom, at the expense of the taxpayers of shareholder islands.

This is one among the many issues that reinforces my skepticism about regional integration.

3. @ John A

I could understand the possibility of a ferry service operating between Barbados, St. Vincent and St. Lucia, or maybe even Grenada.

However, is it feasible, for example, to operate a ferry service between Barbados and Antigua, while bearing in mind the distance between the two islands is 267.5 nautical miles.

There was scheduled fast ferry service from Antigua to Montserrat, provided by the “Jaden Sun.” The fares for this 1- & 1/2-hour trip were EC$300 (BD$224) return or EC$150 (BD$112) one-way.

How much do you think a return trip would cost passengers to travel from Barbados to Antigua?

Taking the distance into consideration, how many trips would the ferry be able to service in one day?

Will the vessel sail according to the availability of passengers? It wouldn’t make any sense to have a scheduled ferry sailing from here to Antigua with 10 or 15 passengers.

Do you believe a ferry would be able to sustain enough cargo or inter-island travel in the off season to be a sustainable, properly maintained low cost connection?

4. @ David

I would be first to say that Inter Caribbean has helped us with the loss of LIAT. Problem is ICA flies for profit and hence some of the less profitable destinations may suffer from a reduced service with companies like ICA.

LIAT was more of a state air service where some countries benefitted from a service that caused LIAT to lose money. So this is why all this talk bout ” all of we is one” is not practiced in the eleven. What SHOULD of happened and could of saved LIAT was this. LIAT should have done a study on how much its loss per seat on flying in to the unprofitable islands was and those islands should have paid a state subsidy to LIAT for its loss per seat to their destination. This decision SHOULD have been taken by the PMS of the 11 and then LIAT would still of been with us today. But no the losing islands figured let me hold on to the contributions of the busier islands and ride this plane till it shut down.

As Artax says another example of each man looking out for himself.

5. @ Artax

Well how I see the ferry sevice working is that you will need to have a hub with say 2 ferry boats to start with. One could do Antigua, Martinique, Guadalupe, Dominica and St Lucia using St Lucia as the Hub and exchange point for persons and cargo. The second one could then do Barbados, St Vincent, Grenada Trinidad and St Lucia as the hub stop. The Vincentian ferries can then service Bequia and the Grenadines as a connection service out of St Vincent.

I was in Bequia last year and was surprised with 2 ferry companies going St Vincent to Bequia how much traffic they both handled. Commercial cargo especially was interesting. I remember the early days on the Admiral when you might of had a goat with you on the crossing! LOL

6. Belize agrees to host migrants seeking asylum in US

https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/ace/ws/800/cpsprodpb/b0a9/live/fad43820-ae64-11f0-bf6e-0db822206ec2.jpg

Image caption, Belize could join countries including Honduras, featured in this picture, who have taken in people deported by the US

Author: George Wright

Belize has signed an agreement to act as a “safe third country” for migrants as they seek asylum in the United States.

The small Central American nation’s Prime Minister John Antonio Briceño said the deal – which still needs approval from the Belize Senate – will mean that migrants deported from the US could apply for asylum there instead of returning to their home countries.

The US State Department called it “an important milestone in ending illegal immigration” and “shutting down abuse” of the US asylum system.

The agreement appears to be similar to one with Paraguay announced in August.

This year Panama
    https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c07mze191xko.amp

7. US forces kill two in strike alleged drug boat in the Pacific

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cd9k2w8ell0o

8. Mallalieu: Block loopholes in full free movement bill

SENATOR ANDREW MALLALIEU is urging Government to close a “loophole” in the way Barbados has opened its borders to full free movement of some CARICOM nationals.

From October 1, nationals of Belize, Dominica, and St Vincent and the Grenadines can move freely to live and work here indefinitely, but Mallalieu was concerned that some people could benefit from this arrangement simply because they purchased citizenship in another CARICOM member state.

Dominica

He mentioned Dominica in this regard, and also voiced similar concerns about St Kitts and Nevis whenever that country becomes part of the full free movement regime.

“That is a loophole that, in my opinion, should be blocked,” he urged.

The businessman and real estate expert raised these points yesterday as the Senate debated the Caribbean Community (Free Movement Of Nationals) Bill, 2025.

Mallalieu said he supported the full free movement initiative “because I come at it from the point of view of an abundance mentality”.

“My point of view as a regionalist is looking outwards at the opportunities that this brings for us, rather than looking inwards at the scarcity that some others talk about,” he explained.

He recalled seeing it reported in the media that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley made it clear Barbados would not be pursuing a citizenship by investment (CBI) programme.

Mallalieu said that while this suggested that Barbados’ citizenship “is not a commodity to be purchased”, the fact that other CARICOM countries participating in free movement had CBI programmes was a concern.

“There is a loophole now that you can have a route to citizenship in Barbados by first achieving citizenship by CBI in another country and then residing here for the period and naturalising as is allowed in our existing laws,” he asserted. Mallalieu noted that Dominica “allows for the purchase of a citizenship in Dominica for a price of US$200 000”.

“There is absolutely no requirement to ever live there, and you will become citizen by virtue of purchasing that citizenship and never living there. I believe one of the unintended consequences of this bill is now to extend to those persons who have contributed to Dominica the right to live and work in Barbados,” he stated.

He also mentioned St Kitts and Nevis, a pioneer of such programmes, having had one since 1984.

Mallalieu’s view was that “our bill should in some way have recognised the difference between a naturally-born CARICOM national and/ or naturalised citizenship by descent, but a purchased citizenship without a requirement ever to have lived in that country, for me, is a bridge too far”.

He also wants the country to “consider very carefully whether or not it would be appropriate to have an age limit [for free movement] such that our health care system, our retirement system, whatever, is not burdened, [and that] we are seeking to expand our population with productive individuals”.(SC)

9. Glad to see that Dominica is making some think a little harder.
    LP m
    One of the issues with brass bowls (as BT likes to call us) is that reception of a message is a function of who is the messenger.

10. @ John A

I mentioned the feasibility of a ferry service from Barbados Antigua, which you’ve not addressed.

However, based on what you’ve outlined, from Antigua to St. Lucia, the better route would be, Antigua, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique and St. Lucia.

Using your “two hub stops,” and the approximate travel times of ferry services between some of the islands you mentioned, a passenger leaving Antigua enroute to Barbados, with at least a 15-minute stopover at each port and the St. Lucia hub, he/she would probably spend approximately 9 hrs at sea.

I’ve also travelled to Bequia via the ferry service, and from St. Kitts to Nevis as well. Since St. Kitts is the mainland, Nevisians go there to shop. I saw cars, groceries, animals, lumber, cement, paint and other building supplies being loaded on the ferry.

11. @Artax

Some of those ferry rides are brutal between the islands up north, not a good experience for a traveler.

12. @ David

Yes, you are correct.

For example, ferries from St. Maarten to Anguilla, Saba and Statia can either be rough or calm, depending upon the weather and sea conditions.

Also, from Antigua to Montserrat. But that service is inconsistent.

However, one could endure the turbulent sea conditions going from SMX to SAB, or travel by plane, and enjoy the terrifying experience of landing and taking off from there. 😱😂

13. @ David
    Wunna REALLY think that Bajans will routinely choose to travel by ferry across the Atlantic / Caribbean Sea routes between these islands?
    You know how rough those seas can be…?
    Steupsss!!
    We are much too SPOILED with luxury air conditioned conditions, with movies, and first class accommodation…
    At the very most we may achieve cargo shipments.

If we CANNOT sort out our ZRs – not even controlling their behaviors with school children, how the Hell could we solve such a regional challenge?

The whole integration matter is a lotta shiite!

Each island should FIRST seek to perfect its systems of governance, its productivity, and its services to citizens!

The ones that perform best can then become ROLE MODELS for the others – as we benefit from each other’s successes.

Lotta shiite – trying to succeed with advance mathematics, when we cannot even grasp basic fractions or algebra.
    AKA – Charity begins at home…. THEN we can look outwards.

What a waste of time and resources…!

14. @ Artax

Yes what you have mentioned from say Barbados to Antigua by ferry would be a challenge for a person on a direct trip.

Having said that in the old days I have flown from Barbados to Antigua on what the guys used to call the milk run. We would leave here at 7am and go St Lucia, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Dominica and finally get into Antigua after lunch LOL. In those days it was the old LIAT Avros that serviced this route.

15. @ John A

Thanks for the feedback.

Introducing an inter-regional ferry service is a topic that ‘keeps coming up’ from time to time. Although an admirable idea, I believe it’s one that should be discussed reasonably and rationally.

Based on my experience travelling throughout the Caribbean, and the LIAT debacle, I’m forced to remain skeptical, while questioning the feasibility and sustainability of such a venture.

I remember sometime during March 2024, Guyanese President Dr Mohamed Irfan Ali, spoke of a proposed ferry service partnership between Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados, to transport both passengers and containers.
    Ali reportedly said the ferry was supposed to commence operations “in another two or three months,” and was hoping it would “instill confidence in the private sector.”

It’s almost March 2026…… and Kamla Persad-Bissessar is now the PM of Trinidad. As such, there isn’t any guarantee she would honour agreements made by the previous administration.

However, perhaps what the Mottley administration should consider are ferry services from Port St. Charles to Bridgetown, and Oistins to Bridgetown, for example, which would not only be a viable alternative to road travel, but would directly ease road traffic congestion as well.

Bear in mind, ‘back in the day,’ people used to party from Bridgetown port to Holetown, and sometimes as far as the cement plant, on the Bajan Queen and Harbour Master.

16. Let her win. lol

17. ‘NOT A THREAT’

Don’t fear full free movement, says criminologist

By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

Barbadians should not fear that the move toward full free movement in the Caribbean will open the door to criminals or increase violence locally.

That’s according to director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU), Cheryl Willoughby, who insists evidence shows crime here remains overwhelmingly driven by locals, not newcomers.

Willoughby, responding to concerns about whether the island could face greater criminal risks from regional integration, said fears were not supported by official statistics gathered and analysed by the Unit.

She said Barbados had a long tradition of orderly migration and regional mobility and that this latest phase of integration should be approached with facts, not speculation.

“Ninety-eight per cent of those persons who are charged for criminal acts, violent crimes, are Barbadians – young Barbadian males,” she said during an interview, noting that local offenders continued to be the main focus of criminal justice interventions.

“Our research does not support the idea that non-nationals are the ones committing crime,” she declared.

She recalled that Barbados once saw more foreign nationals involved in the narcotics trade, particularly during the era when drug trafficking routes in the region relied heavily on couriers and smugglers.

“If you look at Barbados back in the 1980s, you would recognise that with the drug trade we had more foreign nationals being arrested and charged. They were used as drug mules, especially young women looking for a better life, but with organised crime now, that has changed,” Willoughby explained.

The criminologist said while organised crime remained a concern globally, Barbados’ systems had adapted and stronger intelligence frameworks now played a role in monitoring border movement and potential threats. She was confident that border security would continue to identify persons of concern.

“I trust our border systems. I trust Immigration and Customs to be able to filter persons who may not be the ones we would want to have coming to Barbados. I have no fear that opening our borders will bring crime and violence,” she said.

Willoughby noted that criminal activity was now influenced by complex social factors rooted in community and family structures, peer networks and early exposure to violence and drugs. She warned that blaming foreigners diverted attention from the urgent task of addressing local youth vulnerabilities and strengthening community support systems.

“What we need to do is ensure our borders are strong enough to pick up persons who may not have a clean record, just like any other country. Our focus must remain on what the numbers show, and the numbers show that the issue lies here at home,” the director noted.

She stressed that misinformation and speculation could heighten tension and distract from meaningful community-based crime prevention efforts. Willoughby said regional integration should be seen as an opportunity to share intelligence, research and crime-fighting best practices rather than a threat to local safety.

“We cannot allow fear to guide policy or undermine regional cooperation. Instead, we must strengthen our internal systems, invest in young people and remain committed to evidence-based strategies,” she said.

Willoughby said the Unit intends to make official crime data more accessible to the public through an Online portal to ensure that debates around national security were informed by fact. She was confident that continued transparency and data-driven policing would support public understanding as Barbados moves forward in deepening regional ties.

“We must rely on the facts and the evidence. Barbados has a proud history as a safe, welcoming society. Free movement does not change that, and it should not cause us fear,” she said.

18. The good thing about having lackie appointees in position, is that they can be relied on to relay the messages that come from on high – no matter how illogical …or how idiotic it makes them look.
    The other good thing about Brassbados is that OTHER persons who KNOW BETTER, can be relied on to keep quiet – since THEY TOO are often themselves appointees in some other area of incompetence – and thus much too scared to dare to be honest.

This is why bad leaders like having ‘square pegs in wrong holes’.

Bushie most admires the ‘experts’ at BWA – who are forced to face the public with ongoing shiite talk and poor performance, seeking to convince brass bowls that brown water is clean water… LOL check the stress on their faces as they lie…

Crime remains a problem in BB PRIMARILY because it starts at the TOP.
    It is emulated by the seniors…
    Perpetuated by the juniors…
    and becomes endemic among the brass

Fix the top, and the seniors will straighten up QUICKLY…
    With the SENIORS then doing their jobs, the juniors will follow suit…
    And the brass will shine.

There is NO WAY to solve crime at the bottom, while it is RAMPANT at the top – and being hidden by LACK OF TRANSPARENCY.
    The CJRPU, (and the BWA ‘experts’) need to speak TRUTH according to their training and conscience… and stop being tools of the mafia outfit.

What a state!!

19. Migration ‘a plus’

Newcomers strengthen families and communities, says PM

WHEN PEOPLE MOVE from one area to another, they strengthen families and communities, so there is no need to look at migration with trepidation, says Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley.

Speaking at a service for the St Michael leg of We Gatherin’ yesterday morning at Golden Square Freedom Park in The City, Mottley said this was demonstrated in the parish which now had the largest population, forged by the resilience of the people.

“St Michael, of all parishes in this nation, really is the parish of migration. For St Michael didn’t become 100 000 people just so,” she told the congregation which included Members of Parliament, special guests and people from the various communities.

“It is because people came from St Lucy and St Philip and St Peter and St John. It is because people came from St James and Christ Church and St George and St Thomas, St Andrew. It is because people came to Town.

And when the first one or two came to Town, they were sent back and told the rest, ‘I got a spot next door here. You want to come too?’ You know it. I know it,” she said.

“So that when we speak about migration in these times, let us not do so with fear. Let us recognise that has been the story of our existence in this country, on this land. Let us equally recognise that when people came to Town, more often than not, they helped strengthen the families and the communities that they came to.”

Mottley said community and covenant were important and for the Barbados Labour Party, it started with the Covenant of Hope, the promise to the people of Barbados.

The Prime Minister said when people of varying strengths, perspectives and backgrounds came together, they achieved as a group what none of them could do on their own. She added that the way in which Barbados rallied through the COVID-19 pandemic was the perfect example.

“ We Gatherin’ exists because we want to ensure we can strengthen our families again, and build our communities, because it is only when we do those two things we will have a strong and resilient nation. For it is a resilient people that keeps a nation resilient.”

She said the focus was now to build the best Barbados for young people and they had not been forgotten in the celebrations. Two events will be designated for the youth where they will have a voice and also expression in a cultural extravaganza at the National Botanical Gardens on the eve of the island’s 59th anniversary of Independence, she told the gathering.

Mottley also encouraged her listeners to keep pressing on when faced with a setback.

“We need to recognise that we cannot quit just because we hit a bump in the road. If those who went before us quit when they hit a bump in the road, how could we be even here standing at Golden Square today when this was the place where courage emerged to be able to make a difference in the lives of people in this country? They did not walk away when they hit a bump in the road,” she stressed.

The ceremony opened with the voices of the youth calling for peace, hope and unity to reign in the nation through poetry by Kaden Ward, deputy head boy of St Cyprian’s Boys’ School, and spoken word by Renneika Wallace of Harrison College.

Chairman of the St Michael Parish Organising Committee, Kelvin Carvalho, outlined some of the activities to take place. They include night fishing, Passport To The City, Sunrise To Sunset Fete, family day, a back-in-time fete, outdoor movie nights, street festivals and a community garden competition.

He said it would be “a homecoming for all Barbadians and for persons born and raised in St Michael”. ( AJ)