Submitted by Lefleur

BU, yuh can tell meh what de rasshole QEH doing deh wid people? Are we still human beings  or mere human collateral?

BU, I was writing QEH medical administrator’s about Kadija and how the out patient nurses were handling her. Ripping her skin off to change dressing. That stopped.

Then she was admitted for a respiratory condition. Placed on a respirator then escalated to a CPAP machine. This is no game. She was then moved to Ward C6 without respirator or CPAP machine.

David, you and I are no medical fraternity member but this leads us to think that the patient had to have been stabilised and clearly out of danger to do that.  You’re with me?

But Kadija began complaining of feeling as though she’s going out of her mind. She complained of nurse leaving syringe pon she bed. Oh louse! If Dem doing dat what next?

I forwarded all to medical administration and got a response from something called Clinical Risk Management unit, (CRMU). I greatly appreciated it. Kadija continued to complain about them altering and upping her medication and the effects on her; “mommy I’m shaking badly“. My speech is slowed n I can’t think through my thoughts”. She was repeating two or three words but not completing any sentences. Then she began to tell and talk as if in a different dimension. On Monday last she sent voice message “mommy I shit myself twice. Two times, mommy when you come back I’m going far far away from you“.

David, if you know anything about the human anatomy that is the signal of the end. Suddenly QEH and their CRMU communicates to me that they had to put her in a coma n return to ICU on the CPAP machine.

David,  since when we learned to bring back de dead? What the f@%k! Are they selling body parts or what?

David, Kadija sent no more messages after the shitting episode. On Friday February 16 in the year of our Lord 2024, QEH had relayed to me information that Kadija had died that morning.

David, Kadija died that day she emptied her bowels, twice. Again she advised that I was going to loose her and that she was going far away. How is the Registrar of QEH leading a pack of ***** Doctors that are doing such crap?

Why was a patient with respiratory malfeasance and a weakened heart moved to a ward without the basic protection and safeguards?

David, I read the riot act and calling in the Guards. This particular guinea bird was highly insured.

Talk to me QEH. Talk to me. English please cause my brain not processing de French or Spanish. I won’t take no excuses. There could be none.

52 responses to “QEH horror story”

1. I do not believe her. Nope! I do not believe her.

2. RE Ripping her skin off to change dressing.

IS THIS REALLY RIPPING OFF SKIN? OR RIPPING OF DRESSING ATTACHED BY ZINC OXIDE STRAPPING?

FOR SKIN TO BE THUS RIPPED OFF (IF INDEED IT WAS), SUCH A PATIENT MUST HAVE HAD A SERIOUS UNDERLYING PATHOLOGICAL MALADY.

IT IS ALWAYS MUCH LESS PAINFUL TO REMOVE ZINC OXIDE STRAPPING QUICKLY THAN SLOWLY, AS THE NERVE ENDINGS ARE NOT THEN STIMULATED FOR A LONG TIME. THERE IS USUALLY SOME METHOD IN APPARENT MADNESS OR MEANESS.

WE MUST BE CAREFUL IN THE THINGS WE SAY . ILLNESS AND SUFFERRING IS JUST AS EMOTIONAL AN EXPERIENCE FOR THE CARE GIVERS.

3. Sonia Browne M.P. – her contribution to the debate was interesting to hear because she was until recently junior minister in the health ministry until her resignation.

She opined the QEH needs urgent help and she would have opted to build a new general hospital instead of the Geriatric hospital currently being constructed at Waterford.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Those are two vastly different levels of cost.

5. Agree NO it the takeaway from a doctor who operated in the belly of the whale is that ‘Houston, we have a problem at the QEH’.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

One needs neither an MD nor first hand exposure organizationally to know the QEH is plagued with challenges.
    Why do you think they continue to withhold annual reports? They go to the House to change the organizational structure, and then a few years later, are changing back again. Whatever they sought to achieve didn’t work?
    Why is it, that often when I try to contact people (my contacts are all getting older like me) I hear they are in USA,UK, Canada for medical treatment?
    Ever thought of that Fx drain?

7. @NO

You mentioned reports. Did you hear the PM last night announced that reporting at BWA is a dud and a decision has been taken to cauterized (think that is the word she used) their existing balance sheet and as old balances are reconciled add to the new one?

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

I did hear similar.
    No surprise really. Did you read the two BTMI reports from periods in the lost decade, where the accountants couldn’t “qualify” the numbers? That is embarrassing. (No wonder the revolving door continues there)
    Yet, do you think it took SIX years to discover that reporting was non-existent or that decisions for continuity had to be made?
    This is stale news.
    More of this will surface now they have an Opposition to discredit.

9. Barbados is in shambles. The ship is sinking but OH NO DON’T STOP THE CARNIVAL.

10. @ David March 21, 2024 at 12:25 pm

@NO
    You mentioned reports. Did you hear the PM last night announced that reporting at BWA is a dud and a decision has been taken to cauterized (think that is the word she used) their existing balance sheet and as old balances are reconciled add to the new one?
    (Unquote).

I hope the blogmaster realizes how the BWA is being privatized through the back door.

In the fullness of time that massively large Suspense Account of unreconcilable balances (pseudonym for massive fraud) -along with that extremely long list of large uncollectible accounts- will be written off to make the BS more attractive to the pending new owner(s) of the BWA.

So too will there be deep staff cuts and significant increases (aka adjustments) in water and sewerage rates later in the year as mandated by the IMF for loansharking their money to the Bajan conspicuous consumption addicts.

As for its pound of flesh, the IMF has demanded that all commercial state-owned enterprises must be put under the hammer and sold to overseas buyers for a mess of forex pottage.

All the other utilities are now fully-foreign owned.

So why not BWA and NPC; with the appropriate (brand) name changes to boot?

11. @ Miller,
    Spot on as always, especially with yesterday’s reference to the great North Londoner.

You referenced that the family silver will be imminently sold off. Noticed how all of this is being passed in a republic still without a constitution in a virtual one party state.

12. If you paid for qualifying services outside Canada after January 1, 2020, you may be eligible to get some of your money back.

To submit a claim:

Fill out the Out of Province/Country Claims Submission form.
    Attach a detailed statement in English or French with the:
    date you were admitted
    date you were discharged
    description of service(s)
    nature of any complications
    kind and number of any laboratory, radiological or other diagnostic tests performed
    nature of any treatment, procedure or surgery that was performed
    discharge diagnosis
    itemized fees for each service
    health card number (and version code, if applicable)
    your name and current address in Ontario
    Include original receipts for payment to the:
    hospital or health facility
    doctor or surgeon, if billed separately from the hospital or facility
    You can submit your claim by email or mail.

Email your claim to CSBOttawa@ontario.ca

Mail your claim to:

Ministry of Health
    Out of Country Travellers Program
    700-75 Albert Street
    Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5Y9

13. I am sorry that you were sick. Glad that you are well on the way for recovery.

Your 10 days on the ward was NOT “free” We who pay heavy taxes in Barbados paid for it. I trust that you will ask your provincial health insurance plan, and your private insurance to reimburse the QEH for the excellent/life saving treatment which you received over those 10 days.

14. If you have asthma AND an autoimmune illness AND can’t climb stairs, AND you are fainting it is unwise to try medicating yourself with over the counter medicines, and home remedies. Nurse Maria should have sought medical attention a day or two or three or more before, and a health professional ought to have know that.

15. Of course family members have to leave.
    ONE: Covid isn’t dead yet.
    TWO: Also family members crowd the emergency room. Imagine the crowds if multiple family members accompanied each patient.

16. Dear Lefleur:

Morbid obesity kills.

17. Also please don’t yell at the staff, some of them are my kinswomen and kinsmen.

18. Browne calls for new hospital

Member of Parliament for St Philip North, Dr Sonia Browne, says Barbados needs a new public hospital to replace the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, which she suggested should be converted into a major health care facility for the aged.

Responding Wednesday to proposals for health expenditure outlined in the Prime Minister’s Budgetary Proposals, Browne said the Queen Elizabeth Hospital “really needs help and we cannot get a lot further in the building as it is”.

“My vision would have been to build a new public general hospital and renovate the old hospital that was birthed in 1964, for the elderly.”

Browne, a practising physician, resigned as Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness, the post to which she was appointed by the Prime Minister two years ago.

In her January 4 letter of resignation “with immediate effect”, the Government backbencher cited “personal and professional matters over the past several weeks”, as her reason for stepping away from the post.

Constituents’ interest

“The last two years in the post have contributed to my professional development and I owe you a debt of gratitude for this. However, after careful consideration of personal and professional matters over the past several weeks, I have concluded that it is in my best interest and that of the constituents of St Philip North, to continue public service in my role of Member of Parliament outside of Ministry.”

She said on Wednesday she had “no issues” with the Budget presented by the Prime Minister. However, she gave vent to some concerning issues experienced during her tenure, among them the paucity of hospital staff, which she charged had led to “burn-out of staff and angst among patients”.

In her appeal for greater sensitivity to the concerns of hospital staff, Browne said: “I would like to offer small pieces of advice to the Ministry of Health to allow staff members to have more of a say as to what goes on in the hospital. A lot of them were not even included in the design of the new Accident and Emergency Department (A& E) and even now there have to be some adjustment to the A& E which is really not fit for purpose sometimes.”

She also suggested improvement and enhancement of the primary health care system, saying it “really needs to be supported in terms of staff, training and public outreach with regard to the operation of the island’s polyclinics, considering the island’s battle with NCD’s”.

“We cannot make a dent if we cannot control diabetes; screen for certain cancers; do not have staff,” Browne contended. ( GC)

19. By Logan Stein, Alejandro Melgar

Posted December 9, 2023 4:40 pm.

Last Updated December 9, 2023 5:00 pm.

Roughly 17,000 Canadians have died while waiting for surgery or diagnostic scans in 2022-23 but that number could be significantly higher, according to research published by SecondStreet.org.

The report from the think tank shows patients were waiting for procedures that could have “potentially saved their lives” like a heart operation, and procedures that can improve their quality of life, like a hip operation.

It states that 17,032 patients died after waiting anywhere from less than a week to nearly 11 years.
    MORE HERE:
    https://toronto.citynews.ca/2023/12/09/canadians-die-waiting-surgery-report/

20. The Quebec coroner’s office has opened an investigation into the death of yet another patient waiting for care at the Anna-Laberge hospital in Châteauguay, Que.

A 41-year-old man died Wednesday in the emergency room of the hospital on Montreal’s South Shore after he waited 45 minutes with chest pain for an ambulance.

His death marks the third in the hospital’s ER in the span of a few months. Two patients died in November while waiting for care.

MORE HERE:
    https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/montreal/another-patient-dies-waiting-for-care-montreal-hospital-1.7132443

21. Doesn’t sound too first world to me.

22. And I trust that the QEH will bill the Ontario Health Insurance Plan for Nurse Maria’s care. It is foolish for a poor third world country like Barbados to be providing care for first world patients like Nurse Maria and then not collecting the money for the care from the deep pocket first world countries.

And I don’t care if nurse Maria is a “nominal” Bajan. I too have beloved siblings, nieces, nephews, etc. who have lived outside of Barbados some since 1955, and have never paid a cent of taxes in Barbados, [except maybe for a l’l VAT when they show up every decade or so] I say treat them but collect the money from them too. They can have a free lunch at any time at my home because in family relations that is a love thing, but at the QEH, at the polyclinics etc. it has to be a money thing. The QEH is NOT FREE. It cost hundreds of millions every year to run the QEH and other facilities. That money comes out of the pockets of those who pay taxes here, and have been paying taxes here since long before nurse Maria was born.

I don’t step out of Barbados unless I purchase additional health insurance in addition to my BARP health insurance. Because you know what? Shit happens! As nurse Maria literally discovered.

23. “Barbadians resident overseas sent US$85 million back home last year.

This is the same amount remitted annually over the past four years.”

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    It isn’t even second world. It is a disgrace what is occuring. One of the downsides to several layers of government, and a host of different rules between Provinces.
    It is one thing to offer admission to medical school to a host of foreign students, but another when Canadian students who train elsewhere, cannot get a job in Canada after qualifying? Meanwhile the foreign students return home.
    Plus, we have a slew of foreign doctors who emigrate here, but cannot work as doctors because they don’t have the requisite approvals.
    You might think somebody would have created a program to expedite both situations? Not yet.
    And once you leave your provincial boundaries, their plans “may” have no responsibility for you. So don’t expect OHIP or others to cover you abroad. Even between Provinces can be a challenge, something your average citizen doesn’t understand. Buy insurance or don’t travel?

25. And Bajans at home send money to Canada too. Principally to OUR CHILDREN. Both my sibling and I had children in Canadian universities at the same time and we siblings, AND the Student Revolving Loan fund sent them money for tuition, rent, books computers, food, transportation, health insurance and recreation. If a parent does not support a child, who then is supposed to do it?

If you have children in Barbados it is you legal and moral duty to support them. If you have elderly parents in Barbados, parents who have raised you from the time you were a pissy li’l thing, until the time you graduated from university [sometimes twice] then it is your moral duty to contribute to their support.

I still don’t understand why people are so busy counting money coming South, and nobody seems to take the time to count the money, brains and skills flowing North.

And of course if you own property in Barbados it is your legal duty to pay the taxes due on that property. Or you can sell the property. Who do you think pays my property tax? Me. Most resident Bajans pay their property tax. And we support our dependent children too whether they are in Barbados or elsewhere. And we contribute money and TIME to the care of our elderly parents.

I doubt very much that much of that USD$85 million was a gift to the government and people of Barbados. It is PRINCIPALLY money sent to take care of FAMILY and LEGAL responsibilities. We don’t want to divorce our elderly parents do we?

Responsible adults take care of their family and legal responsibilities. That’s what responsible adults do.

Health care int free, especially complex health care. It int free in Barbados. It int free in Canada. It int free in the USA, in England. No where in the world is it free or cheap.

26. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S095937802200005X

Imperialist appropriation in the world economy: Drain from the global South through unequal exchange, 1990–2015

Rich countries rely on a large net appropriation of resources from the global South.

Drain from the South is worth over $10 trillion per year, in Northern prices.

The South’s losses outstrip their aid receipts by a factor of 30.

27. And nobody is yet counting the time.

If you left your children behind [and I don’t mean you personally Hants because I don’t know you] and I raised them for months, or years or decades. If I provided unpaid labour, how much is my unpaid labour worth? Nothing?

If while you are away and I hold down my work, raise my children AND provided unpaid labour caring for our elderly parents, how much is my labour worth? Nothing?

If my unpaid labour permits you to hold down your job without having to worry about child or elder care, how much is my unpaid labour worth? Nothing?

28. @Cuhdear Bajan
    Thank you for your foray into what about is
    Just to be clear, could you advise the number of people who died in 2022 while waiting for surgical procedures in Barbados.

29. Into whataboutism

30. “The South’s losses outstrip their aid receipts by a factor of 30.”

wages are also a factor of 1:30 i.e. a days work in north = a months work in south

global recessions will also affect global south a large multiple more times than up north

the overall cost of living is much tougher in south than materialist north which is an understatement as you need to see how the poor majority in the third world poverty live to really feel it

the point I would like to make is this is all by design

it took centuries of concerted effort to make this wicked system of world wealth inequality

and the privileged people in the north believe they are better people

31. @Sargeant March 22, 2024 at 1:47 pm @Cuhdear Bajan
    “Thank you for your foray into what about is. Just to be clear, could you advise the number of people who died in 2022 while waiting for surgical procedures in Barbados.”

I checked and did not find any published data. Maybe the data has not been collected; or maybe it has been collected and not published. Should such data be collected and published. Yes. I think so.

But an in-law of mine died this year because even though surgery was offered and arranged about 3 or 4 years ago, she refused. She was 80+ and it was her right to say yes or no to surgery.

More than 10 years ago a sibling of mine refused the best USA medical advice and died in early his 60’s. It was his right to say yes or no to any medical procedure.

Another sibling gave her health care providers a DNR [do not resusticate]. She was in her 80’s and it was her right to say yes or no to any medical procedure.

But one should never bite the hands that feed, or go on social media to denigrate the people who tended to you when you were sick and who were instrumental in your recovery.

If the woman had gone to the USA and become sick there and needed 10 days on in-patient care how much would that have cost. I would bet anything that the number would be higher than zero.

If I should get sick on my next visit to Canada and needed 10 days on in-patient care how much would it cost me? You know as well as I do that OHIP coverage expires if out of the country for more that 6 months, and it does not matter how many years you have paid into the system, and how much taxes you paid.

6 months out of the country and you are out of luck.

And you will have a wait period of 90 days before you are let back into the system.

32. Reminder to everybody.

Whenever you get free goods or services, if you haven’t paid for it, it is a fact that somebody else has paid for it for you.

There is no free lunch.

33. ” If you will be away for more than 212 days, you can apply for continuous OHIP eligibility. This means that you want to keep your OHIP benefits, even though you will be out of the country for more than 212 days. “

34. Whether we like it or not delivery of services at the QEH continues to be a challenge.

35. At midnight Sunday, approximately 26 patients were waiting to be seen, down from 71 patients recorded at midnight Saturday at the height of the surge. At 7 a.m. [this morning], 11 patients were waiting to be seen in the department

36. @Hants March 24, 2024 at 9:35 pm ” If you will be away for more than 212 days, you can apply for continuous OHIP eligibility.”

Thanks for this info. Useful.

A great week to you.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Read carefully….”WILL BE away”. Not “have been away”. It isn’t automatic. Usually reserved for those studying or working (earning income) abroad.

38. @Simple Simo

The CS confirmed there is a 24 hour wait time at A&E because Winston Scott is out of commission at the moment.

39. Elective surgeries suspended at QEH
    The island’s lone general hospital has suspended all elective surgeries for the time being.
    The Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) informed the various heads of departments and other senior staff of the decision on Tuesday.
    Director of Medical Services Anthony Harris conveyed the news to all surgical consultants and medical staff, including Chief Executive Officer Neil Clark, Director of Nursing Services Henderson Pinder and Theatre Manager Cherry Denny.
    He informed them that only those operations considered emergencies or urgencies would be done.
    Without giving reasons for the decision, the director said his office would provide updates as they became available.
    The Department of Surgery provides surgical services to the entire population of Barbados for secondary and tertiary care in elective and emergency cases. It also provides services for patients referred from other Caribbean Islands for elective and emergency surgery.
    The department is also called upon to provide surgical services, particularly in emergency situations involving visitors to Barbados and persons who have become ill or sustained injury on ships in the waters off Barbados. Services offered include general surgery, hepato-biliary surgery, vascular surgery, transplant surgery (kidney), and plastic surgery. Other surgical procedures are urology, dental and neurosurgery.
    (EJ)

Source: BT

40. 3.8% growth target

However, this ‘could be derailed’ by adverse global shocks

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH

shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

GOVERNMENT EXPECTS the economy to grow by 3.8 per cent during its new fiscal year which started on April 1, but it is advising that adverse global developments “could derail the outlook”.

Slower than expected global economic activity, tighter financial conditions in developed nations such as the United States, and heightened geopolitical tensions are likely to dampen growth projections by reducing travel demand, the Mia Amor Mottley administration cautions in its 2024 Fiscal Risk Statement.

The report from the Ministry of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment says that “in fiscal year 2024/25, real GDP (gross domestic product) growth is expected to be approximately 3.8 per cent, primarily influenced by the continued pick-up in tourism activity.

“The higher inflow of tourists is expected to be driven by increased airlift capacity, intensified marketing of cultural events by the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc., increased cruise activity and Barbados’ hosting of the 2024 Cricket World Cup,” it continued.

“The anticipated rise in tourism activity is expected to benefit auxiliary sectors such as manufacturing, wholesale and retail as well as business and other services. Moreover, construction activity is expected to be buoyed by public sector projects along with several hospitality projects slated for the forecast period.

“During the period, the economic growth trajectory is anticipated to be the main driver of the revenue and expenditure out-turn,” it stated.

The Fiscal Risk Statement added, however, that “despite Barbados’ strong economic performance following the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, adverse global developments could potentially impact” growth prospects.

“Barbados recorded two consecutive years of growth in 2022 and 2023 after the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, primarily driven by increased growth across all sectors,” the document recalled.

Economic programmes

“These developments, coupled with the strategic allocation of spending, led to the Government meeting its primary balance targets set under the BERT (Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation)-2022, International Monetary Fund-supported programme in fiscal year 2022/23 and fiscal year 2023/24, with primary surpluses averaging approximately $375 million over the periods.”

In mentioning the several factors that could derail the positive economic outlook, the Ministry of Finance said that “consequently, these developments could potentially erode the tax base for both direct and indirect taxes, leading to an expansion in the fiscal deficit and a reduction in the primary balance.

“While international inflationary pressures eased during 2023, potential price hikes resulting from an extended backlog of cargo in the Panama Canal, Red Sea conflicts and escalation of the Russia-Ukraine War could lead to higher priced goods and services in the public sector,” it noted.

“Additionally, increases in interest expenses on foreign variable-rate debt due to monetary policy tightening in lending countries could also worsen the fiscal projections.”

The report said that the recently-approved Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure 2024/2025 were prepared based on the economic assumptions for the new financial year and into the medium term.

These projects “are mainly underpinned by estimates for economic activity, prices and debt service costs for both domestic and external debt, [and] any deviations in the actual performance of these key indicators may result in variations in the forecast outcomes for revenue and expenditure”.

In the Fiscal Risk Statement, which is required under the Public Finance Management Act, Government outlined positive and negative economic scenarios beyond the 3.8 per cent real economic growth “baseline” scenario.

The positive outlook “considers a rise in economic activity in fiscal year 2024/25, influenced by a ten per cent increase in tourist arrivals over the period compared to the baseline projections.

On the downside, the report said that “the negative outlook assumes a ten per cent fall in tourist arrivals in fiscal year 2024/25”.

41. Bravo, Cuhdear Bajan! Thing is that no matter how many times you tell them, they will come back again with the same shite argument.

Barbados has problems. But where they live has the same damn problems or worse. They send money to their family members to fulfil their obligations and act like they are doing us favour. We do the same thing, it counts as nothing.

You have patience with their attitude. I do not!

42. @ David,
    Barbados one and only public hospital funded by the beleaguered Barbados tax payer appears to be a drop in hospital open to all and sundry. If you are a caricom citizen, or a pregnant Nigerian women who comes to Barbados to give birth, or one of thousands of holidaymakers within the region then our beloveth QEH will treat you, probably free of charge.

43. “Barbadians resident overseas sending US$85M back home last year,” was of benefit to their local bank accounts or relatives…… not me or anyone ‘outside their circle.’ However, should we subtract the millions Guyanese, Haitians, Jamaicans, Trinidadians living here ‘send back home?’ What about large Trinidadian owned companies such as ANSA McAL, Massy, First Citizens Bank, Republic Bank, Trinidad Cement Ltd.?

44. Elective surgeries resume at QEH
    The Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) has resumed elective surgeries following a 24-hour suspension.
    In an update on Wednesday, QEH officials said that the Operating Theatres (OTs) recommenced elective surgical admissions at 8 a.m.
    On Tuesday, only emergencies or urgent cases were facilitated.
    Barbados TODAY has learned that the suspension of the elective surgical admissions was due to the Recovery Room reaching close to capacity levels at the weekend, when the hospital registered an influx of trauma-related cases.
    “This resulted in the QEH management taking proactive steps to accommodate other potential emergency surgeries presented to the OTs,” Communications Specialist Shane Sealy explained. “This decision was taken by the Office of the Director of Medical Services (DMS), in conjunction with the Heads of Surgery, Anesthesia and the Surgical Intensive Care Unit (ICU) in the best interest of the hospital and public health.”
    Sealy said that during the suspension period, “medical teams worked around the clock to decant the recovery room and the hospital has recommenced elective as expected”.
    Patients affected by Tuesday’s suspension have been urged to contact their medical doctor to have procedures rescheduled and to reach out to the Office of the DMS at 436-6450, extension 6158 or the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS/Help Desk) at 536- 4800, using regular or WhatsApp calls.
    The QEH apologised to the public, especially those directly affected, for any inconvenience caused. (EJ)

Source:BT

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

Sounds like a project which can make a difference. The Chinese oversight will hopefully keep it ‘close to budget’. Unlikely with all the new equipment.

46. “Sounds like a project which can make a difference.”
    ~~~~~~
    @ NO
    Why? How? Where?
    What difference did the fancy expansion to the Casualty Section make?

Sounds like yet another knee-jerk decision, taken with the potential benefits of handling large CAPEX funding in mind.

What are the specific problems being addressed?
    – The shortage of nurses?
    – The ridiculous exploitation of the QEH by consultants?
    – The lack of basic supplies and drugs?
    – The issues with the incinerator?
    – The laundry services?
    – The inadequate cafeteria services?

These can all be addressed within the existing envelope.
    … But it would require VISIONARY leadership.

Does THAT come with this new Building? …cause it seems to have been excluded with the Casualty expansion phase…

Unless the Chinese will eventually take it over, and re-colonialise our donkeys – when we are unable to repay their various loans and gifts…

High political rhetoric and zero management skills makes a mockery of
    “gimme de vote and watch muh …. mess up again and again”
    Place too sweet!

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Bushie
    You are correct, infrastructure improvements do not solve management issues. And since this, the QEH, is another of the non-reporting public entities, we are left guessing at a lot.
    As the old BTC lottery man said, if you don’t have a ticket….this is just a ticket.

48. Boost for radiation therapy

LINAC machine arrives at QEH

AFTER YEARS OF PLANNING and anticipation, the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) has officially received its new linear accelerator (LINAC) – a critical piece of equipment for delivering advanced radiation therapy to cancer patients in Barbados.

The multimilliondollar machine, which had been stored at a facility in Green Hill, St Michael, before being transported to the hospital, was offloaded and manoeuvred into the newly constructed bunker at the QEH yesterday.

Several truckloads of components arrived on site, with staff and technical experts from manufacturers Varian Medical Systems in North America assisting with the unboxing and positioning of the equipment.

Before installation began, the machine was blessed by Canon Noel Burke.

Milestone

Director of Engineering Services at the QEH, Paula Agbowu, said the arrival of the LINAC marked a significant milestone in the hospital’s efforts to improve cancer care.

“It has taken some time, but we are very happy to have the linear accelerator safely on site,” she said. “Our work is not yet done; there’s still a long way to go. The team from Varian and North America have been removing and manoeuvring the equipment in order to position it into its final resting point.

“As you can see behind me, the body or the main gantry of the equipment is here, but there are many more boxes to accompany it.”

She said the entire process of assembly and calibration would take several weeks to complete.

“We have another four truckloads or so of equipment to come down to get all of it together and assembled,” she said. “Once we have positioned it into the bunker, the next step for us will be to do the assembly.

“Then we have some testing to do. We have to make sure that we validate and verify everything, and our medical physicist Mr Corey Drakes, will be the one to confirm that all of the radiation is within specifications before we are ready for our first patient.

“But we are well on the way and we are happy to be at this juncture.”

11 000 pounds

The new linear accelerator, which weighs about 11 000 pounds, will replace the old radiation therapy machine that has been out of commission for some time, forcing many patients to seek treatment overseas.

The absence of a functioning LINAC on the island has significantly limited the QEH’s ability to provide radiotherapy – a key component of cancer treatment – for local patients.

The machine uses high-energy X-rays or electrons to precisely target and destroy cancer cells while minimising damage to surrounding healthy tissue.

Drakes, who has been leading the technical aspects of the project, said while the arrival was a major step, safety testing and calibration were essential before any patient could be treated.

“We’ll be validating and confirming that all radiation levels are within specifications before the first patient is treated,” he said.

Agbowu, who has overseen the project from its planning stages, said the moment carried personal significance for many on the team.

“I have family members that have had cancer, so to see this equipment finally here means a great deal.”

The installation and commissioning process will continue over the next several weeks under the supervision of the QEH’s engineering and medical physics departments, working alongside the Varian technical team. (NS)