101 responses to “The Mia Mottley Video trending”

1. @ David

Well if we pressure the state for change and no changes come, then the onus is now on them to tell us why none have come. Force these people to show us they are all talk and only talk of change as long as nothing changes.

Some here may be too young to know of a fellow called Eric Fly. He was an activist here years ago that pushed for change. He would hold his meetings and discuss issues that concerned him. He was not really liked by governments, as he would literally call them out on anything. It is this type of open dialogue that is missing here. Yes people call in on brasstacks, but those callers are speaking for themselves and not an organised group. BARP for example has massive power that can be used for change by lobby, but they are seldom heard. We all know the areas that need to be addressed so why have none been addressed? This government has won 2 30 to 0 elections, why have none of these issues been seriously addressed? They can change the laws governing road traffic violations at the stroke of a pen, why has this not occured? If alternatives are offered but not used then we must assume that they for what ever reason, are incapable of effecting change its that simple.

2. A “go-to tactic” of BOTH political administrations.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Touché!
    However the DLP jokers do not count – as they have been graded TWICE now and rated at 0/60 by the Exam Board.
    With such marks, NOTHING that they did is worthy of review.

One would have THOUGHT however, that seeing this approach by the DLP being so HARSHLY graded by the Bajan examiners, Mia and her large BLP entourage would AVOID that shiite approach to solving the problems (which THEY PROMISED that they could solve).

@ John A
    David is right!
    You obviously have NO IDEA of the levels of CORRUPTION that influence actions in politics.
    You SURELY cannot believe that those in Parliament are UNABLE to see the WISDOM in your suggestions. They KNOW all this… (well except for a few REALLY dumb…)
    The problem is that the DEMONS who are controlling their strings have ALTOGETHER DIFFERENT objectives – that mostly don’t align with COMMUNITY CENTRIC outcomes.

The problem we face (globally) is spiritual in nature, because the REAL fight is NOT against flesh and blood BBs, but against dark spiritual forces in HIGH places…
    What a world

3. I know this isn’t the correct thread, but as suspected the BAMC – Co-op Energy deal is dead.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/09/16/failed-co-op-deal-dashes-historic-share-ownership-hopes-for-sugar-industry-staff/amp/

“When contacted, Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir maintained that Co-op Energy was “not putting in their investment”.

Questioned about the issue of workers’ salaries, the minister offered only a partial explanation: “Salaries are paid by ABC and BESCO. It is not taxpayers’ money.”

Possibly the Minister could tell us, given his recent propensity for financial commentary, whose money is it, if not taxpayers?

4. @John A

Hasn’t something changed in the political landscape? Back then it was labeled cornbeef and biscuits politics but we seem to produce more community centric leaders. Today there is another dynamic at play don’t you think?

5. @ David

Sadly yes you and Bush Tea are correct. However if we pressure them for change while offering viable alternatives and still nothing changes, those leaders who claim they want issues addressed will be seen as blowing bare hot air.

We can’t criticise a system and not offer alternatives though. We have to be adults and give all a hearing. Only then can we find common ground. What I am seeing is our leaders talking about ” none of that bout here” but nothing being done address the issues they don’t want BOUT HEY.

My question therefore would have to be why not?

6. @John A

Think about it- we have highly educated Barbadians with all the academic qualifications their parents would be proud BUT when it comes to their politics they have no issue pushing a partisan narrative.

7. @NortherObserver

As suspected or as expected. lol.
    That was dead on arrival. As the old granddad used to say…start wrong, end wronger.

We are in different times. Froons and that crowd did enough to make an entire generation despise politicians. This crew and those before have done more than enough to sure make another generation despise politics. Civic engagement, robust debate, critical conversations are few and far between. With so many “plants” pushing agendas from top to bottom left and right it is fairly obvious to see where we are headed. Factor in the fact that ALL national decisions nowadays are based on politics first, pragmatism and people after and you have the perfect handbasket in which to take that ride to hell.

Just observing

8. You better believe it and if someone voices their opinion and it does not match theirs then God help you. Mind you them ain’t offering no alternatives just objecting for party sake.

I listen to the PM and she has done good in several areas but has also fallen short in some. The issue of enforcing the law without concern of political fallout is one that concerns me. The PM is not in the position of Trump who can make radical changes because he does not have to face the electorate again. Having said that though she also has no real opposition here either, so she is actually in a position to bring serious change. Before someone comes and say the police enforce the law not her, we all know how things work here.after all we have seen too many examples not to know better.

9. @John A

To bring ‘serious’ change as you call it means compromising the objective of a politician and political party which is sustain popularity with the public. The ‘serious’ change you yearn for usually comes from statesmen and stateswomen .

10. Are Bajans this gullible?

“There will be a proper accounting for the expenditure of CARIFESTA, but to rush and give anybody the figures when they are still processing and paying vendors would be an act of recklessness and irresponsibility,” she said.(PM Mottley)

11. There must have been a budget allocation? The finance team must know before invoices are submitted what over budget items were approved?

Enuff if this nonsense.

12. “One would have THOUGHT however, that seeing this approach by the DLP being so HARSHLY graded by the Bajan examiners…… NOTHING that they did is worthy of review.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Point taken. Agree 100%.

However, I’m ‘NOT reviewing what the DLP did.’

I’m simply highlighting the comparisons to RE-EMPHASISE an OPINION I’ve expressed in this forum on several occasions.

That there AREN’T any SIGNIFICANT political, philosophical, and ideological DIFFERENCES between the BLP and DLP.

A rational, historical analysis of both political parties…… the similarities in their approach to formulating policies, establishing committees, making political appointments……

……would essentially reveal there wasn’t any REASONABLE EXPECTATION Mottley would’ve FULFILLED those promises.

The BLP & DLP haven’t sought to reform their political institutions, preferring instead to remain in the era of ‘rum, corned beef and biscuit politics,’ and have essentially outlived their usefulness.

We need new political parties with RENEWED vision…… an introduction of socio-economic policies that benefit ALL Barbadians.

I’ve read Barbados has TWO (2) new political parties.

Some time during April 2025, former General Secretary of the DLP, Kemar Stuart, announced the formation of the New National Party (NNP).

In June 2025, The Friends of Democracy Party held its media launch with a gathering of supporters and the announcement of several party executives.

On one hand I’m happy we have alternatives, but on the other hand, disappointed, when I see familiar faces that were prominent in the mainstream parties, within those new political parties.

13. Are Bajans this gullible?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, do you NOT understand ‘brass bowl’ ?
    YES!!!

14. Ambassador Comissiong is on Brasstacks right now.

15. We aspire to be the Monaco of the region. Are we there yet?

16. Barbados aspiration ?

17. Ambassador Comissiong is on Brasstacks right now.

He is…
    …and talking shiite as is his wont.

They are opening our borders to persons who see opportunities to get some $US out of our economy, while NOTHING BOUT HERE WORKS well.

-The hospital is a joke – and a money pit
    -The Water off more than it on in upland areas
    -Traffic is a mess
    -People in St Andrew cant get home – bridges fall down
    -Housing is HOPEless and full of STEAL
    -They can’t even write a constitution
    -We are BEGGARS – China GAVE us a Gymnasium, and we now begging for a stadium

Asked what STUDIES or RESEARCH was done to inform this action, Come-and-sing-a-song sounded JUST like his cousin the PM … ‘yak yak yak’
    … and not answering the SIMPLE question.

With people like this making decisions for us, it is NO WONDER we are up shit street…

What clueless jokers…

18. cbc.bb/news/local-news/barbados-set-to-have-new-president/

19. You would of thought all had learnt after what was witnessed with the open border nonsense of Biden in the USA and in the UK. If caricom tries this all that will happen is the countries with the stronger currencies and economies will be the target of all the other weaker members, as is now the case in Europe where countries like Switzerland are putting measures in place to end this free flow. We can scarcely get enough economic activity to keep our people employed outside of the winter season, where pray tell will thousands of new jobs come from for the masses that will come to this rock?

On top of that as Bush Tea points out, we have a hospital and emergency department which is already strained due to the crime situation, who offering free medical to all these outsiders? look praying that cows could fly don’t make them birds.

20. David

“Don’t panic! Please advise the PM that people demanding full disclosure on the cost for hosting Carifesta is not unusual. In a living breathing democracy good governance dictates such transparency.”

Such transparency is accounting for ALL spend. It is nothing short of laughable to see Stephen Lashley in the newspaper talking about they spent $8M in 2017. But he didn’t say that cost jumped from $6M in March 2017 to $8M in July. He was also at the same time begging Bajans for $10 each to fix the national stadium, so clearly that’s all they could afford and that was reflected in the quality of the 2017 edition. Last I checked, the national stadium was under construction, the netball stadium was being redeveloped and a new 400m track and squash/badminton facility were being built at Wildey. You gine gotta keeping moving the goalposts because you can’t defend the foolishness you’re talking.

21. @enuff
    Such transparency is accounting for ALL spend…

So where is the accounting for CBL?
    What was the projected spend for Carifesta 2025?
    Where is the accounting for BMAC?
    Where is the accounting for the NISSS?

Lashley did give the accurate spend, whether over the projected or not. That was $2 million overspend, the current administration overspend on the steel frame houses was? HOPE? Carifesta…that depends on the projected spend which was?

People in glass houses shouldn’t pelt rock stones.

22. What open borders in the USA and the UK? Right-wing talking points coming at yuh like crazy!

23. Northern Observer,

I ‘m afraid I must ask you to unlaugh yourself because no, I would not make a good politician operating in the current corrupt system at all. I am surprised that you don’t have greater insight into who I am after all these years of my presence here. I’m not perfect, but I am certainly not that

I am not suggesting that anyone should be dropped like a hot potato after the campaign. Indeed, one SHOULD engage through regular channels in pursuit of solutions to problems.

But having KNOWN gangsters at the opening of parliament sends the message to the youth that gangsterism is legitimate business. And responding to questions in realtime in matters supposed to be answered by non-political agencies also elevates the gangster.

Your suggestion that donors get an invitation to the party would be an even bigger issue for me. All money is not good money.

Then again, the little gangster’s boss is most likely in the VIP section.

Nope! I would definitely NOT make a good politician.

24. @ Northern

You asking for alot. I would only ask for the financial reports from 2018 to 2024 and the promised report on The Hope Project. Don’t want to ask for too much and frighten dem!

25. Donna
    I enjoy a laugh, don’t get as many these days.
    To besides my comment was tongue in cheek.
    Yet, corruption didn’t cross my mind, as it extends well beyond the elected political sphere.
    You, nor I, would make a long term politician.

26. Let’s hope that Mr Trump is happy with his reception in the mother country. We know he has a massIve ego.

27. Loyal soldier Bostic gets his reward

28. @John A September 16, 2025 at 12:54 pm “we have a hospital and emergency department which is already strained due to the crime situation, who offering free medical to all these outsiders?”

What if the newcomers are young and healthy and don’t need the hospital for 40 or 50 years?

29. JohnA
    I wasn’t asking for….they are required by law.
    Rather, that one maybe directed to where they may be found. When one knows about unbuilt projects, one may also know about seemingly unpublished reports.
    Barbados is a nation of laws, so we know the GoB is following and complying with those laws. The question is, where are those compliance documents. Given that part of compliance is not only having them, but sharing them publicly, one can only seek to determine their location.

30. Remember that Trump has declared drug cartels terrorist organisations.

With that, they can seize arrest who they want, wherever they are and seize their money.

So all the top drug people could be raided anytime and their bank accounts seized.

While people talk about politics, serious action is on the cards.

As the saying ‘wunna could talk chalk’.

And nuh one cud do a ting bout it.

Barely cross the wrong body, you know who I mean and all of this nonsense done, one time!

31. What if the newcomers are young and healthy and don’t need the hospital for 40 or 50 years?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    What exactly would young healthy newcomers come for…?
    …when OUR young and healthy are liming on the blocks smoking medical mary J
    …or looking to join HANTS in Canada?

…and what if they are all old, sick, and poor, and coming in the hope of accessing some kind of better existence than their current hopelessness?
    Steupsss!!
    Wunna women and wunna intuition !!!

What a state!!

32. Northern Observer,

Understood.

33. Murder – Randy Brathwaite between 27th June, 2023 and 5th December, 2024
    ● Conspiracy to Murder – Junior Taitt between 19th and 27th June, 2023
    ● Murder – Junior Taitt between 27th June, 2023 and 5th December, 2024
    ● Conspiracy to Murder – Shane Renaldo Parris between 11th and 13th January, 2024
    ● Murder – Shane Renaldo Parris on 13th January, 2024

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

ALLEGED SERIAL KILLER WHO SET ME UP FOR BD$15000 ALONG WITH HIS RELATIVE SGT PINDER, HIS FORMER STRIP CLUB BUSINESS PARTNER ALIAS ‘JERSEY’ A US CRIMINAL DRUG DEPORTEE WHO SPENT 9 YEARS IN A USA PRISON BEFORE BEING DEPORTED. ALSO ALONG WITH OTHER CRIMINAL CO-CONSPIRATORS IN THE 2X3 ISLAND FRAUD SQUAD WHO PLANTED ‘EVIDENCE’ SEPERATELY IN MY FORMER BMW AND RENTED APARTMENT IN APPLEBY ST JAMES.

THE WAY THEY WERE MOVING BACK THEN I COULD HAD EASILY BEEN MURDERED.

I USED MY INTUTION AFTER THEY FAILED TO SETUP AND CONVICT ME IN 3 DIFFERENT COURTS AND LEFT THE PERVERTED 2X3 ISLAND AND HAVE THRIVED ELSEWHERE.

I HAVE LIVED TO SEE THIS DAY BEING OVERSEAS A FREE MAN.

KARMA IS A BITCH.

34. There is a lot going on with this matter. Are we there yet?

35. You thrive in the perverted ELSEWHERE because in that world, you ain’t all that, whereas here, you were. Envy is what caused your trouble.

Practically everywhere is perverted.

36. As police officers were escorting Nigel ‘Bounty’ Pinder into the Oistins Magistrates’ Court complex, a number of curious onlookers gathered to watch……

…… while others SHOUTED WORDS OF SUPPORT.

People actually went to Oistins to CHEER a criminal who is facing multiple murder and conspiracy to murder charges.

“What a place.”

37. Correct Artax, his influence is beyond the ‘boundary’.

38. What is so surprising that his people would turn up to cheer? Gangs are firmly entrenched in Barbados. Gang men have their women, children, other family members, and community members who live off the proceeds. Those who were murdered were probably members of a rival gang who also had blood on their hands. Bounty’s son was murdered. In the eyes of those who cheered, revenge had to be taken. It was.

These gang members who kill and are killed, as you know, call themselves soldiers, foot soldiers. It’s not called gang warfare for nothing.

It’s a different world they live in, though it’s only a few metres away from our homes. These worlds exist EVERYWHERE.

SO… what a WORLD!

39. Does MAM have any influence over this crew? She seems to socialize with them to some degree.

40. When you trade with the Devil to achieve your personal goals, the RESULT is not that YOU have influence over him, but that you have SOLD YOURSELF to that spiritual side.

Jesus used his strongest BB language in response to an offer from the SAME Devil to accelerate his rise to glory by simply bowing to Satan’s known power.

Satan presents in multiple forms…
    -KKK
    -Jeffrey Epstein
    -CLICO
    -Gang bosses
    -Crooked politicians

And many billionaires are ‘made’ this way
    Many power brokers took this shortcut
    Some politician we know took the needed $3.3 million

It NEVER ends well.
    This is why Jesus told de devil to “Kiss muh.. “ oops – he was not a Bajan…
    “get thee behind me Satan…”

What a place!!

41. Suspended Police Officer jointly charged with three young men

Suspended Police Officer jointly charged with three young men – Starcom Network https://starcomnetwork.net/blog/2025/09/30/suspended-police-officer-jointly-charged-with-three-young-men/

42. @ David

Yes, David, that’s the article I was referring to. Jeremy Stephen also made some very interested comments on the issue.

While the PMs of other Caribbean islands seem to be on the defensive, Mottley, Skerritt and ‘Comrade’ Gonsalves decided, perhaps against their better judgement, to rush ‘head foremost’ into ‘full freedom of movement.’
    Mottley seems to be more interested in CREATING a ‘PERSONAL LEGACY,’ rather than addressing issues facing Barbadians.

According to the Antiguan government, “Although Antigua and Barbuda has continued to stand on its policy of skills-based free movement of people, it is still a participant to the OECS’ separate free movement framework, meaning that any CHANGE in CURRENT POLICY will likely see an INCREASE in nationals from countries like Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Jamaica, Belize and Suriname.”
    According to Antigua and Barbuda’s Ambassador to CARICOM, Dr Clarence Henry, “The policy is pragmatic and realistic to avoid dislocation of the indigenous population, protecting jobs, and avoiding exacerbation of our economic/fiscal challenge.”

John A mentioned, “the problem will always be for the islands with the stronger economies, as those from the weaker economies will gravitate there.”
    Regional territories, such as Bermuda (BMD$1 = US$1) and Cayman Islands (CI$1 = US$1.20), that have ‘high’ currency exchange rates, although Associate Members of CARICOM, and seeking full membership of the regional integration movement, ARE NOT PARTICIPATING in the initiative.

Bahamas (BSD$1 = US$1), is a member of full member of CARICOM, since 1983, but is NOT part of the Caribbean Single Market & Economy. As such, the free movement of people DOES NOT APPLY to them.

During the virtual conference on “Reporting on the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME),” Director of the Barbados based Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Single Market (CSME Unit), Leo Preville, said the perceptions of the movement of people are “still viewed from the lens of NATIONAL INSULARITY” and that there are still “lengthy delays” in decision making on critical issues.

Bushie mentioned West Indies cricket. The West Indies cricket team, composed of players from different Caribbean nations, is a rare example of regional unity. Unfortunately, however, we’ve allowed INSULARITY to divide us.
    Some people believe the WI team should be predominately comprised of cricketers from their respective islands.
    I was reading the cricket blogs a few days ago, and the Guyanese are protesting that their players were not chosen for the WI T20 team for the series against Nepal.
    A Guyanese going by the name, Mikheal Zulfikar, made several comments, which received several ‘likes,’ that there were too many ‘Bages’ in the team, and that WI should get rid of all the ‘Bages.’
    I’ve seen similar sentiments expressed by Jamaicans and Trinidadians a well. They continually suggest their respective islands should withdraw from CWI, and ‘go it alone.’

These are the same people who come to Barbados and DON’T want to leave.
    They engage in the ILLEGAL activity of SQUATTING on people’s property, while our government REWARD them with houses, land, loans, and grants.
    Recently, they were in the media complaining about the length of time it’s taking for them to be resettled, perhaps believing they’re inherently deserving of privileges or special treatment.

Rushing to full freedom of movement will not solve these underlying problems.

43. Rather than consult with Barbadians BEFORE making a UNILATERAL DECISION committing Barbados to implementing full freedom of movement, along with Dominica, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Belize……

……Mottley waited until the EVE of the October 1, 2025, implementation date to address their concerns, which she CONTEMPTUOUSLY DISMISSED, during her THREE (3) MINUTE video broadcast.

44. @ David

I’ve read the Barbados Citizenship Act, 2025, specifically Part 2, Acquisition of Citizenship: Additional grounds of citizenship and registration of certain persons as citizens.

(4). Subject to section 4, any person who, on the day immediately preceding the commencement of this Act is an immigrant having obtained that status under the former Immigration Act and had been an IMMIGRANT for a period EXCEEDING 3 years shall be entitled to be registered as a citizen of Barbados on the commencement of this Act upon satisfying the Minister that he has been an immigrant for the period referred to in this subsection.

(5). Subject to section 4, the following persons may, upon application to the Minister in the prescribed form, and upon payment of the prescribed fee, be REGISTERED as CITIZENS of Barbados:

(a). a PERSON WHO IS A NATIONAL of a MEMBER STATE by birth, descent or naturalization;

(b). the SPOUSE of the person referred to in paragraph (a); and

(c). the DEPENDANTS of the person referred to in paragraph (a),

if they satisfy the Minister that they have LAWFULLY RESIDED in Barbados as PERMANENT RESIDENTS of Barbados for an AGGREGATE PERIOD of at least 180 days, [approximately SIX (6) MONTHS] during the period of at least 730 days [TWO (2) YEARS] IMMEDIATELY preceding the date of application.

Bear in mind, according to the interpretation of the Act:

“National of a Member State” has the meaning assigned to it by Article 32(5)

…… (a) of the First Schedule to the Caribbean Community Act, Cap. 15;

“Member State” means a Member State of the Community, excluding an Associate Member within the meaning of Article 231 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas establishing the Caribbean Community, including the CARICOM Single Market and Economy, that was signed in the Bahamas on 5th July, 2001;