Who believes that Dwight Sutherland resigned from Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s Cabinet raise ‘wunna’ hand.

Politicians really take us for fools. That said the blogmaster understands that the nature of politics in Barbados requires a cloak to smother transparency regarding ‘missteps by political actors.

In our political climate, resignations are rarely just resignations and ministers rarely resign. Resignations are strategic manoeuvrings especially with a general election on the horizon. In this case one suspects Sutherlands being shown the door is choreographed to protect the BLP brand, Thankfully the public is not as naive as in bygone days. Time will tell if this third ‘resignation’ from the Mottley cabinet in quick time gives currency to the saying – ‘one one blow does kill old cow’.

89 responses to “Dwight Sutherland ‘resigns’ from Cabinet”

1. Resignation signals crisis in Govt

OPPOSITION LEADER Ralph Thorne has described the resignation of Minister of Housing Dwight Sutherland as an event that points to wider political trouble for the administration of Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley.

Thorne noted the Prime Minister’s disclosure yesterday, that Sutherland asked to be relieved of his portfolio and said this was significant and the Prime Minister may have unwittingly revealed more by disclosing that Sutherland’s request to be relieved of his portfolio was “after discussion”.

Thorne explained that the development was in line with warnings he had made about the Government’s handling of the Housing Opportunity, Production and Empowerment (HOPE) project.

Blame

During his Reply to the 2024 Budget, he raised questions about the way housing policy was being executed and predicted that Sutherland might ultimately be made to carry the blame.

“I characterised Mr Sutherland’s various pronouncements on housing as being ‘the voice of Jacob’, while there was a different hidden ‘hand of Esau’ at work infelicitously. I speculated even then that he would be sacrificed for the scandalous HOPE project, for which the entire Cabinet ought to have taken collective responsibility,” Thorne said.

“It remains a fact that the $60 million was voted and approved by the Cabinet out of the Housing Credit Fund. Mr Sutherland has been the hapless messenger who did the public lifting of heavy infelicity.”

The Opposition Leader said Sutherland had become closely associated with some of the Government’s most controversial measures. He pointed to the parliamentary resolution that authorised the transfer of land at Jemmott’s Lane to Afreximbank.

‘Voice of Jacob’

“Again, it was Mr Sutherland’s ‘voice of Jacob’ that brought to Parliament the infamous land gift resolution of the public property at Jemmott’s Lane to Afreximbank, Mr Sutherland has become the Government’s hapless messenger of its failures in relation to its housing and lands programme,” he said.

Sutherland, he said, had also been placed in the position of justifying the Government’s housing record by referring to private building activity.

“He has been going around the country counting the construction of private houses, while seeking to persuade Barbadians that the Government is in some way responsible for these private enterprises. Mr Sutherland’s many failures have been the Government’s many failures.

“One well remembers a statement made by the Prime Minister after the 2022 election in which a veiled threat was made to Mr Sutherland as to the consequence of his expected failure to oversee the construction of 10 000 houses in five years,” he said.

He pointed out that the condition of unfinished housing projects stood as evidence of this shortfall.

“The abandoned houses at Pool, St John, now stand as an unhappy testament to his Government’s many failures in housing,” he added.

Thorne noted that he had warned in his Budget Reply earlier this year that the minister was at risk of being removed.

“I again lamented Mr Sutherland’s invidious role and anticipated his sacrifice by the Prime Minister,” Thorne said.(CLM)

2. The person who SHOULD resign in shame is that person who stood up in the highest court of the land, and PROMISED the BB people of Brassbados that there would be a ‘report’ on the $60 million that disappeared into HOPE.

What is the penalty for LYING in our courts?
    …especially when it is a ROUTINE practice to do so via ‘false promises’…?

Sutherland no more ‘resigned’ than did Bostic, Johnny, or Gline Clarke.
    This is just the normal underhanded MAFIA goings on…

Passing strange that DooShiite has not offered his head over the STEAL houses, MTW foul-ups, West Coast road, and ongoing infrastructure mess ups….

Perhaps he knows how the game is played.
    What a place!!

3. It always amazes me at how folks can write long articles and leave out what should be the main topic, ‘corruption’. I suffer from the inability to read these articles as I know the authors are not being fully honest.

BT with a few short paragraphs delivers more truths than some of these long ‘scholarly articles.

4. “Bushy – Listen carefully.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Thanks @ John2, listened…
    Heard yet another lie about how ‘the money will be paid back’…
    Bushie had missed THAT doozer…
    Oh Shirt!!
    Now DAT is funny….!!

5. ALL THIRD PARTIES ON THE 2×3 ISLAND SHOULD HIDE THEIR HEADS IN SHAME.

YOU HAVE A THIRD PARY IN GUYANA (WIN) OF ONLY 3 MONTHS BECOMING THE LEADING OPPOSITION PARTY NOW OPPOSITION LEADER AND BEATING THE TWO PREVIOUS MAIN PARIES IN MANY AREAS BY MORE VOTES AND WILL GAIN MANY SEATS ONLY IN 3 MONTHS FROM INCEPTION.

MAYBE THEY NEED TO STUDY GUYANA AND TAKE THEIR HEADS FROM THEIR ASSES.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2025/09/03/news/guyana/guyana-elections-results-2025-gecom-declarations/

6. ONE YEAR AGO.

PM Mottley calls for full investigation into HOPE

I GUESS THE 2X3 ISLAND IS AS BIG AS USA 33O MILLION RESIDENTS PLUS SINCE NO FURHER WORD.

7. ‘the voice of Jacob’
    ‘hand of Esau’
    infelicitously
    invidious

ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz….

My Take Away Points of Note
    Sesquipedalian can be used to describe someone that overuses big words
    Eloquent, fluent, articulate, expressive are adjectives that characterize speech or speakers notable for their effectiveness.
    What more can I say?

8. Bushie

The politickians ain’t got nothing on you. You ass cut from the same cloths as them just that you scared to put ur foot in the ring

9. As educated intelligent beings operating within the political system we have to do a better job holding the players accountable. Tired of the generalizations. Is there any wonder all of our ‘systems’ are disintegrating?

10. @Bush Tea “on the $60 million that disappeared into HOPE.”

1st law of physics: Matter cannot disappear, however it can change form.
    Eg: water, steam, ice.

So if the $60 million isn’t where it sholld be, then it has to be someplace else.

The $60 million dollar question is:

Where?

11. Are those brand name alcoholic drinks I am seeing?

I wonder if we would have better decision making if our “political class” drank less alcohol?

12. In another time and another place Cabinet Ministers who resigned did so “to spend more time with their families”

That’s when I learned that old wives, and pissy, snotty, shitty l’il children were so valuable, so beloved.

Lol!

13. @BAJE September 4, 2025 at 8:42 am “ALL THIRD PARTIES ON THE 2×3 ISLAND SHOULD HIDE THEIR HEADS IN SHAME.”

BAJE if you was a real-real man you would come home and lead a third party to victory.

14. The Minister.

youtube.com/watch?v=GLrlrq8KvtI&embeds_referring_euri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cbc.bb%2F&source_ve_path=OTY3MTQ

15. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

I guess time will tell if there are other reasons Mr. Sutherland resigned. We always believe that when a Minister leaves Cabinet it is automatically for nefarious reasons. It is more “salacious” to believe that he was fired or forced to resigned. All i can say is that across both parties that have held the govt Mr. Sutherland is the happiest minister i have ever seen when they resigned from Cabinet. From what i have seen he has done most of the interviews and doesn’t seem guarded in his comments. The PM has given one press statement on the matter. From the outset there doesn’t seem to be a disruptive effect on the govt or party that usually comes with these resignations.

16. @BAJE said:
    “YOU HAVE A THIRD PARY IN GUYANA (WIN) OF ONLY 3 MONTHS BECOMING THE LEADING OPPOSITION PARTY”

This is because Guyana has a PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION electoral system.

They actually have a republican constitution rather than the embarrassing colonial Westminster nonsense that we suffer under in Barbados.

17. @Disgusting Lies

Give us credit. It is a well orchestrated show.

18. It is alleged that:

“Dwight’s nephews were involved in shooting in St George over the weekend.

They are already on bail for similar offenses.

They returned after the shooting and smashed the windows and windscreen of a vehicle belonging to his secretary ( in the housing office). Together they decided not to give police any info on the incident as arrangements were made to repair her vehicle and no one was injured.

She also lives in the area.

He was allegedly in the area when the shooting occurred. Heard the incident was reported to MAM and he was invited to resign to save face before elections with a promise to give him another Ministry after the next elections.”

19. “It is alleged that:

“Dwight’s nephews were involved in shooting in St George over the weekend.

They are already on bail for similar offenses.

It must be the music that takes the blame

20. @peterlawrencethompson September 4, 2025 at 4:53 pm

Am I misunderstanding something? Is it being said that a Cabinet Minister is somehow being held responsible for the alleged misbehavior of his nephews?

If so why?

A nephew is not a first degree relative, and is unlikely to even live in the same household.

So why?

21. Some of my nieces and nephews I see only at funerals.

22. Interesting promise made by Gibbs.

Gibbs vows greater transparency in housing

New Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance Chris Gibbs is pledging to seek “innovative solutions” to accelerate housing construction, as well as ensuring greater transparency in the allocation of houses.

He was speaking to the media at State House yesterday morning after being sworn in by President The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason, following the sudden resignation of Dwight Sutherland “for personal reasons” on Wednesday.

Gibbs expressed gratitude to Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley for entrusting him with “a consequential ministry that is so important to the lives of every Barbadian”.

Praises to God

“I thank God Almighty for giving me the strength and perseverance to be able to take this monumental step . . . . As the Member of Parliament for St Michael West, I know first-hand the challenges in urban communities, and I intend to continue the work that was laid before me while creating new opportunities for Barbadians to access affordable, resilient and dignified housing.”

He linked the housing issue to broader social challenges, noting that poor planning in earlier developments had led to “urban sprawl” and overcrowding.

“We all know that urban sprawl . . . has become too cluttered, and that has caused some issues, as I’ve seen in the urban area,” Gibbs said.

He, however, made it clear that his mandate was not limited to urban areas.

“I am the Minister for Barbados. The priority set before me by the Cabinet and the Honourable Prime Minister is to deal with the lower- and middleincome earners and the most vulnerable in this country.”

Asked whether he would press ahead with the ambitious housing targets announced by his predecessor, including the widely discussed “10 000 homes” project, Gibbs said it was too early to commit.

“I need to get my feet wet first. I will be having meetings with the Permanent Secretary and all the Ministry officials. We will look at the programmes and see what realistically we can offer. I’m not going to make lofty promises. Barbadians want this Ministry to give them good service,” he said.

Earliest priorities

Gibbs said one of his earliest priorities would be improving transparency in the allocation of homes. He acknowledged complaints from residents who often said they felt left in the dark about their place on the national waiting list.

“People will know their status in terms of ‘Where am I on the list?’ I think a lot of people don’t know where they sit and there’s a lot of confusion. They call the MPs constantly saying they’ve had applications in for years. Clearing up that confusion will be part of my mission.”

Mottley, who witnessed the swearingin, commended Gibbs for accepting the portfolio.

“This Ministry is pivotal to the Government’s programme, and I have every confidence that he will be able to bring to this Ministry the same diligence and passion that he has brought to representation on behalf of the people of St Michael West, and that he’s brought in his own personal career as a leading businessman in this country,” she said. “I think that the man of the hour is really him, not me.”

The appointment of Gibbs comes amid heightened scrutiny of the Ministry of Housing following Sutherland’s resignation and public debate over the controversial HOPE housing project.

“This Ministry touches the daily lives of Barbadians in a very direct way. We must deliver, but we must also be clear, transparent and fair in the way we go about doing it,” Gibbs said. (CLM)

23. HMMM FOOD FOR THOUGHT

xxxxxxxxx

.Zambia: Former Foreign Affairs minister jailed 4 years with hard labour for corruption

Zambia’s former foreign minister Joseph Malanji was jailed for four years with hard labour after being convicted of corruption. Malanji and former Treasury Secretary Fredson Yamba were found guilty of misusing public funds and acquiring illicit property worth millions. The convictions have reignited debate over corruption under former president Edgar Lungu’s administration. TUKO.co.ke journalist Harry Ivan Mboto has over three years of experience reporting on politics and current affairs in Kenya.

Zambia’s former foreign minister Joseph Malanji is set to spend four years behind bars with hard labour after a high-profile corruption trial concluded this week.

Lusaka Acting Chief Resident Magistrate Irene Wishimanga handed down the sentence on Thursday, September 4, a day after convicting Malanji of seven counts of acquiring property believed to be proceeds of crime.

https://www.msn.com/en-xl/africa/kenya/zambia-former-foreign-affairs-minister-jailed-4-years-with-hard-labour-for-corruption/ar-AA1LTjKC?ocid=msedgntp&pc=U531&cvid=68b9dc5a596d4c10bff5ff7d50b3363b&ei=13

24. @peterlawrencethompson

This is because Guyana has a PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATION electoral system.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE CURRENT GUYANA GOVERNMENT (PPP) WAS ELECTED WITH AROUND 260,000 VOTES. THE NEW PARTY OF 3 MONTHS (WIN) AROUND 109,000 VOTES. THE FORMER OPPOSITION PARTY APNU OF OVER 50 YEARS EXISTENCE GOT LESS THAN 100,000 VOTES.

SO IRREGARLESS THE 3 MONTH PARTY WIN WOULD HAVE WON SEATS AS THEY WON THE MOST VOTES IN 2 OF THE 10 DISTRICTS, PPP WON 8 OF THE 10 DISTRICTS. FORMER OPPOSITION PARTY APNU WON 0 DISTRICTS AND LOST IN THEIR FORMER STRONGHOLDS IN ALL CASES.

YET YOU HAVE THE LEADING THIRD PARTIES ON THE 2X3 ISLAND SOME PARTICIPATING ELECTION AFTER ELECTION GETTING WAY LESS THAN 10,000 VOTES COMBINED

25. The traction We Invest in Nationhood (WIN) part received appears to be a ‘protest’ vote. That said Guyana politics is not a straightforward business.

26. [Asked whether he would press ahead with the ambitious housing targets announced by his predecessor, including the widely discussed “10 000 homes” project, Gibbs said it was too early to commit.]

From above. Gibbs need to avoid the pitfalls left behind by his predecessor. The number of homes (10,000) and the time limit are a prescription for failure. He needs to give himself a fresh start and abandoned old promises.
    Good luck.

27. Sutherland must have gotten the thumbs up on his aggressive housing plan from cabinet? All under the framework of collective responsibility?

The fact Gibbs is reluctant to rubber stamp his predecessor’s policy on reaching – what many knew was a bs target – makes this another example of a government forced to step back from a pie in the sky decision.

28. Caribbean voters frowning on major parties

(“Plain Talk” Sept. 5, 2025)

Voters in Trinidad, Guyana and Jamaica have spoken. Vincentians eagerly await their turn at the polling booths. The only discernible trend thus far is that significant sections of the regional electorate are turning their backs on the political parties and the electoral process.

Wednesday’s election in Jamaica recorded another victory for the Jamaica Labour Party led by PM Andrew Holness. The 53-year-old Holness will serve a third consecutive term, despite corruption, integrity, and transparency scandals swirling around him in the run-up to the election.

https://www.iwnsvg.com/2025/09/05/caribbean-voters-frowning-on-major-parties/

29. “Sutherland must have gotten the thumbs up on his aggressive housing plan from cabinet?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You are being unusually nice (naive?) today Boss…

Obviously…
    Sutherland must have gotten the INSTRUCTIONS on his ‘aggressive’ housing plan from cabinet…
    As always, these instructions were arrived at WITHOUT proper planning or consultation, to COVER UP SCHEMES similar to the Radical Vaccine scam… and mostly to allow a lotta big talk and bragging – about what their ‘many hands’ would do.

Poor Dwight seemed clueless … as the toxic STEAL houses scam was handed to him like a hot potato – while the REAL culprit went on to doing shiite with public lands.

Poor Dwight was handed a HOPE-less mess – where the usual suspects had LONG picked the last meat off the bones of THAT carcass.
    Even his hapless wife was ‘hospitalized’ to become the front person for a lotta shiite going on in the background.

Look up the word ’stooge’…. or ‘fall guy’….

No wonder he seems so happy to be free at last…
    Do you think he would have gone along UN-rewarded…?

The REAL stooges here are actually over 250,000 brass bowl Bajans topsies, into which the lotta jobby is being dumped.

What a place!!

30. ‘a pie in the sky decision’
    Slightly amused that one blogger think of me as Henny Penny. It appears that my cry should have been “Pie is falling! Pie is falling!”

Gibbs also has to keep his eyes on his inherited staff and those who they bring into his office… I doubt the pie sellers all disappeared with Mr Sutherland.

At the same time Mr Gibbs is reminded that the Hydra can grow its head back after it is severed. Will we see our own version of Jekyll and Hyde….. Mr Gibbs and Hydra.

A weak man in a hot seat is a recipe for failure.

31. OH!!
    …and “Gibbs is reluctant to rubber stamp his predecessor’s policy” ..

…because he is awaiting the required INSTRUCTIONS on what best suits the agenda of the Mafia bosses….
    NOT based on what is best for Bajan BBs…
    …ELSE he would be ASKING US what we want…. ent it?

BTW.. @CuhDear
    Bushie is highly IMPRESSED with your great PERCEPTION that the ridiculous excuse being proffered for Dwight’s ‘resignation’ is more than laughable…

…but you done know that it will work for BBs…..
    Murduh!!!

32. The advantage Gibbs has in Sutherland and too many in Cabinet is that he is a ‘well off’ individual thanks to his father’s who was a prolific contributor to this space. He need not smell the brown.

33. One blogger here!

You are Henny Penny when speaking about Barbados and Pollyanna when speaking about Amerikkka.

Imagine being “concerned” but comfortable in that water!

Only ignorance could be the cause. Try listening to Jeffrey Sachs, since Richard Wolff seems to have had no effect. That is, if you ever gave him a listen as I recommended, rather than continuing to accept the bullshit American exceptionalism narratives.

Me, I would say that I am indeed worried about Barbados. But not enough to make me wear a helmet… yet.

34. If you read my post above you will see a photo that shows the real decision makers in front and Sutherland dutifully following behind.

35. Good post!
    Your pictures speak 60 million words @ Hants

36. Maybe a third party should study WIN and follow their example and make Donville their leader 🙈🤣

37. “One blogger here!” 🙂
    You have an introductory phase that tells me “prepare for battle”.

It is clear that we have different meanings for comfortable. I will not try to explore this.

. I must confess that I do not listen to heroes on the left or the right. Each side has their own truth to peddle and therefore the state of ignorance and being gullible may not be that far apart.

As pie is falling, a helmet may not be necessary… a covid mask to cover the mouth may be all that is needed.

38. Meanwhile in the mother country……. A man of Guyanese descent is made deputy prime minister after the former deputy was made to step down from office. We in the UK know why this minister stepped down. Unlike Bajans who remain clueless

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2025/9/5/uk-deputy-prime-minister-resigns-amid-tax-scandal

39. Housing has always been an interesting ministry not dissimilar to MTW and Transport. It is where politicians and governments reward their minions.

We should not forget that Duguid was promoted to Senior Minister without any redress for the Chinese Steel House fiasco. This is Barbados when Enuff is never rh Enuff.

40. One stepped down and a worse one steps up. David Lammy is a disgrace to the human race. They are usually the only non-whites who get that far in Whitemanland. My theory is that Little Rishi Sunak and the dummy Kemi Badenoch were set up to take make non-white people look so bad that there will never be another one. And Liz Truss, a crazy woman to make people forget the buffoonery of Boris Johnson, the man.

David Lammy has risen to second in command of a pile of shit about to hit the fan. He will go down in infamy with Kid Starver.

Doesn’t matter who resigns and who knows why they have resigned when the car is full of clowns.

Here and there, it’s just a pappy show.

41. Sigh! Does Donna sound like a person who looks for heroes? That is a very annoying American trait for which I call out grown ass Americans almost every day! They throw that word around like nothing. Good leaders I look for. Persons of greater knowledge I listen to. But though I acknowledge and appreciate the heroic deeds of people, I don’t fawn on them as heroes.

I find it baffling this talk of heroes on the left and the right when all I am talking about is persons of intelligence and knowledge being willing to present that knowledge. This is not a matter of left and right, but fact versus fiction.

Donna is one for facts and reason. Richard Wolff and Jeffrey Sachs have the facts of history and sound reasoning. Relying on bullshit narratives propagated by Machiavellian politicians, and on one’s intuition is not a way to form a solid opinion.

There are people who know more than both of us through intense research, study and experience. They move in circles we do not and have access to the private conversations and hence the minds of the actors. I listen to them and go with what makes sense. My brain is good enough to discern sense. You should try it.

Facts:-
    Capitalism leads ultimately to unsustainable exploitation.

The United States is a brutal empire built on rampant capitalism.

All empires fall in a heap of rubble.

No empire can conceive of its end, right up until it ends. Therefore they see no need for real change or adaptability to new emerging powers.

That the United States of America was a nation of false narratives that should not be believed was clear to me, as I always say, from the time I was a child watching Saturday morning television.

The United States of America started with genocide and is currently facilitating, arming, and providing cover for genocide. It is not simply a Trump thing. It is not simply a Republican thing. It is also a thing of the Democrats. This alone should alert you to the fact that the mindset of your American government has not changed over the centuries; there is no struggle to be morally better; there has been no evolution beyond what was economically unsustainable because of the cost of rebellion by the oppressed.

America is what it always was, and shall go out kicking and screaming.

42. D
    Here are some theories to throw in the mix:
    Israel and USA are biggest religious hypocrites in the world
    if you support them you follow evil
    leaders who suck up to them are bound to fail
    morality is the path to follow for good things to come

Re: bajan psyche
    never admit to anything
    possibly this dates back to slave days

43. Minister Gibbs don’t back down from big targets. Globally, housing targets have to be, and are, ambitious because of sheer demand. Most are not achieved. Lot by lot housing will not get you where you want to go. Don’t be scared and certainly don’t listen to the BU experts, it is clear some do not understand targets/goals and most are quite reductive with their arguments.

44. Yes, continue to plant concrete in the random way that continues to besmirch our pristine landscape. While derelict and abandoned buildings dot our neighborhoods.