Tracking violent incidents in Barbados is central to everything I do here on the blog and in the homicide database. It all starts with checking the news periodically throughout the day and into the night. Once I find something related to violent crime, it becomes an incident. This also means that my numbers may understate the actual number of incidents, since not every violent event makes the news.

An incident, for the purposes of my work (viewed from a purely data-analyst lens rather than that of a sociologist, criminologist, etc.), is a violent event that is either fatal (i.e. resulting in or contributing to death) or non-fatal (no death, but possibly injury to the body or damage to property).

Read more on Barbados Crime website.

102 responses to “Violent Incidents – Jan to May 25”

1. It’s now a homicide

Police are probing the death of Laqwain Morris as a homicide.

On Tuesday, initial investigations indicated the 35-year-old, of Silver Hill, Christ Church, was riding a motorcycle along Lodge Road, in the same parish, about 9:45 p.m. when he was struck by a car. Ambulance personnel were summoned to the scene, inspected the body and found no signs of life. A doctor subsequently pronounced death.

The incident was initially reported as a suspected hit and run in the media, though Morris’ family was sceptical about the circumstances surrounding his death and were hoping for an autopsy to provide some clarity.

Yesterday, police communications and public affairs officer, acting Inspector Ryan Brathwaite, said the autopsy ruled out a hit and run.

“An autopsy was conducted and based on the results, a murder investigation has commenced,” he said, adding Morris had been shot.

This means Morris was the 27th homicide out of 28 for 2025.

With nine killings, June has been the bloodiest month so far. January recorded the next highest with seven, and April had four. (CA)

2. Man critical after market dispute

Tempers flared at the Bridgetown Fisheries Complex yesterday morning when one fish vendor slashed another with a cutlass, leaving him gravely injured.

According to witnesses, the incident was sparked after the assailant called out the victim for smoking in his vicinity.

In response, the victim allegedly picked up a shovel and gesticulated to the assailant who responded by slashing him with the cutlass.

With the victim wounded on the floor, the assailant advanced on him but was warded off by a bystander who threw rocks and bottles in an attempt to keep him back.

Police confirmed they have a man in custody, while another is assisting with investigations. The victim was taken to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital where he was said to be in serious condition.

Some vendors said the incident came as a shock to them, as to their knowledge, there was no animosity between the two men. Both were described as quiet individuals, with the assailant said to be a reserved person who mostly kept to himself.

Well-known fish vendor Sharon Bellamy said the clash took her by surprise.

“It was unfortunate because normally this is the fish market and yes, we would have fights, we would have quarrels, but it never came to a state like this where swords would have been used.

“The one who was injured and the one who did the crime, they are both persons who don’t actually really talk. You would never hear them in a noise or anything like that so I am really shocked at what happened,” she said.

(JRN)

3. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

And every violent death [except one] was done by MEN to MEN. The MEN of BU love to say that WE have a problem. ME and the rest ‘o we women do not have a problem. The MEN of Barbados have a serious, serious problem, and the thing is, the elder MEN such as BU and TLSN don’t seem to know the difference between right and wrong, so who is going to teach the young men? Clearly the men of Barbados have stopped listening to their grandmothers, mothers, aunts, and girlfriends. And have we not noticed that NOT ONE of the dead men, and none of the accused MEN seem to have a wife?

I think that women help to settle men, help them to become responsible, but when MEN decide that they don’t want or need a wife, then it is cat piss and peppa.

Am I the only one who has noticed that after the violence in the fish market yesterday it is a woman who is armed, not with a weapon, but with a broom, and she is working to clean up the mess left behind by the violent MEN.

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I have very close, very beloved relatives, both male and female who labor too long hours at the QEH and this violence is taking a serious toll. What does it do to a human who has to be a witness to constant serious violence, and who has to work long. long hours trying to heal the wounds?

5. Fish sellers can cut people up into small neat slices. Should sharp knives be banned in kitchens and public places.

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Not long ago Donna mentioned the illiteracy of the Dodds inmates, but it is not all about poverty and illiteracy. A young man a graduate of Queen’s College told me himself that he was about 15 “stopped listening to his mother” even while continuing to live in her house and eat her food. He is on remand now charged with a double murder. Another that I know of a graduate,like me of the Alexandra school is on bail charged with murder. Of the murder which took place at the funeral home, I know some of the family members very well, some of the women have graduated from university and are working steadily, several have learned trades and are earning an honest living.

And I don’t buy the poverty analysis either. All of the men both accused and victims have enough money not only for the necessities of life, food shelter etc. but they have money to buy or rent guns and vehicles, money to party, while I after nearly 44 years of work cannot afford a vehicle, can’t afford a gun.

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@555dubstreet June 28, 2025 at 7:24 am “Fish sellers can cut people up into small neat slices. Should sharp knives be banned in kitchens and public places.”

No.

But perhaps we need to teach people self control?

8. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

CORRECTION ” the elder MEN such as BU and TLSN don’t seem to know the difference between right and wrong”

the elder MEN such as Bush Tea and TLSN don’t seem to know the difference between right and wrong

9. @Simple

So boys are in crisis, we know this, what is your point? Maybe all the women in Barbados can relocate to Mount Hiilaby.

10. It is so great that we can have someone such as Simple Simon here on BU to remind us of the Biblical wisdom of seeking WISE ideas, leadership and analyses at all levels… AND of the folly of allowing SIMPLETONS to influence organizational and national policy.

Anyone with a modicum of common sense would see that our current crime trajectory will be a MUCH bigger crisis for WOMEN and CHILDREN, that it will be for shiite men.

It is always the most vulnerable in any society that will suffer most when law and order, and sanity breaks down.

So when someone with a degree in sociology from the Cave keeps harping about men versus women – as if they live in two different worlds, we have to worry about the THOUGHT PROCESSES of the OTHER lotta women that are making decisions nowadays in Brassbados….and the world.
    Perhaps THEY also think like our graduate blogger.

Perhaps THEY think that by appointing every woman that they fancy, to positions of influence, they are strengthening the ‘female side’ of the equation.

Perhaps THEY also think that it is a WE versus THEM battle – and that the females are ‘winning’… by getting to call the shots…

BUT here are some relevant BIBLICAL REALITIES….
    Man was CREATED in God’s image… BUT with mortal bodies – and placed in a world of brassbowlery.
    As a result, in a survey by the wisest (and probably the wealthiest) man who ever lived, it was found that ONLY 99.9% of ALL men were brass bowls.

The woman was created in Man’s image – designed to COMPLIMENT the man.
    That SAME survey found NOT A SINGLE WOMAN who was NOT a brass bowl – UNLESS she was attached to one of the VERY FEW wise men.

The problem that the Architect of Evil has, is that in every thousand brass bowl MEM, he comes up against ONE WISE one, and catches his royal…
    Whereas, with women (especially UNATTACHED ONES) he can close his wicked eyes and dead with laughter…

Pick some sense from THAT declaration and, for ten marks, discuss why we are on a CLEAR death spiral in 2025.

What a time to be alive…!

11. Dodds is an educational institution for Criminals, should they graduate with a Masters in Criminality or should they be rehabilitated like cadres of war and terror before debriefing and rejoining the community. The Prison Industry is a growing Business opportunity.

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David June 28, 2025 at 7:54 am Simple. So boys are in crisis, we know this, what is your point? Maybe all the women in Barbados can relocate to Mount Hiilaby.”

Not boys David, MEN, MEN.

But it seems that some of the MEN are boys.

MEN need to relocate their sorry failing asses, not to bike riding at 3 AM, not to the rum shops, not to the drug dens, not to the block, not to the lodges, not to the golf and cricket clubs, but to the homes where their sons [and daughters] are being raised. Too many MEN seem to feel that if they drop their seed an galong ’bout dey bizness that all will be well with their sons [and daughters] This Simpleton is here to tell you MEN that it doan work so. If the MEN do not take the time to love and raise their children, then they will have to find the time to lower those same children into their early graves.
    So sayeth this Simple Simon.

I int going nowhere, is here I intend to stay.

13. Not again! I am tired of this argument. Enough of the Genesis allegory written by men for men. AND enough of the “men, not women, have a problem” simple shite!

Also, enough of the offering the exception of ONE QUEEN’S COLLEGE BOY and an Alexander boy as a rebuttal to the literacy link to violent crime argument.

I too can bring a story!

I have a cousin who went to St. George Secondary School.. He fell behind from the start at primary school. His mother went to the school and was told by the teacher these exact words –

“I don’t have time for that. I am doing my degree.”

I tried to bring him up to scratch, but he was already demotivated. His mother then took him to lessons with a remedial teacher, and finally she enrolled him in a private school. Too late for him to catch up.

He recently told me that he is tired of funerals. Apparently, more than half of his former classmates are dead.

Cheryl Willoughby, NOT DONNA, has said that ninety-five percent of those in Dodds for violent crime offences read at the level of a three year old.

Simple Simon obviously did not study the sociology that I studied. And she sure as hell did not study statistical analysis!

14. @Simple

Men are boys before they become MEN. Stay with the blogmaster now. The reaching service is majority women for example. We have been told girls outstrip enrollment at Cave Hill for example. To keep pushing a bashing of men narrative is counterproductive, polarizing, divisive. It doesn’t matter if men are mainly responsible for crime, what matters is that as at the minute, it is a problem that must be owned by MEN and WOMEN.

15. Yuh throwing away more pearls Boss!

16. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Ask the fathers of Antonio, Vere, Mitchell, Pedro, Anthony Ebony, Adio, Rommell, Jerome, Kadeem, Derrico, Shawnathon, Stephon, Javan, Amani, Omari, Nicholas, Daron, Donte, Terrelle, Neil, Cameron, Tyson, Gavin, Roshawn, Laquain and others how they feel about having to bury their dead sons.
    Ask them David.

And ask the fathers of Omel, Brian, Rakeem, Shamako, John, Jadal, Alek, Kyresa, Aaron, Kylrion, Daquan, Steven, Rico, Jason and others knowing that their sons are in custody.

Ask them David.

Doan ask me,

17. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea “It is always the most vulnerable in any society that will suffer most when law and order, and sanity breaks down.”

Yes Bush Tea. We know that we need to be scared of wunna MEN who willing to damn nigh cut off the legs of old women on their way from volunteering with the youth. We know that we need to be scared of those of you who happily rape old women and children.

We know that we are not loved nor respected by men like you.

We know.

We are neither blind nor deaf.

18. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea “So when someone with a degree in sociology from the Cave keeps harping about men versus women.”

Kindly note that I have NEVER been a student at UWI. NEVER. Please also note that I do NOT have a degree in Sociology.

Oh! and I am not a yard fowl either. I have NEVER been a member of, nor an associate of any political party. I have NEVER asked for nor have I ever received any political favors, and I don’t want any either. At three and ten and more, I good having like St. Paul earned my living by the work of my own hands, and whether I live, or whether I die it is all the same to me. Me and my God are on excellent terms.

Thanks David.

19. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Bush Tea it is MEN doing the killings and it is MEN being killed.

Don’t try to pretend the foolishness that “we all in this together” that we are all equally responsible. The women of Barbados are NOT committing the violence that it is wreaking our society. IT is the MEN.

So far ZERO women have killed anybody this year or last or the one before.

I WILL NOT take responsibility for MALE bad behavior. I never put a gun or a knife, or a truck or a car into the hands of any killer. If the killers had asked me I would have told them””don’t do that”. But we know that many of you MEN, perhaps most of you don’t want to hear the voices of women.

So we have gone silent.

Go ahead, continue killing one another.

20. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Older men can’t continuing that adulterous, murdering men [even if a fairy story] are “basically good men” and expect young men to know better.

21. The Bible was written for men as they FAIL Grade F in spiritual schooling.
    Women are more grounded in arts of paganism of nature and Earth and generally are more aware intuitively of differences between right and wrong, but bitches will be bitches and witches will be witches and some but not all can be wrong too.
    It’s like yin and yang if you know what I mean..

22. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Bush Tea doan even know he Scriptures, lol!!! so how can he teach anybody anything?

Woman was NOT created in the image of any MAN.

“Male and female created he them, in the image of God created he them” Genesis 1:27

This is the word of God, hallelujah. Thanking God that I was not created in the image of any mortal man, but was created in the image of God the only life creator.

23. You may have the last word @simple

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna “Cheryl Willoughby, NOT DONNA, has said that ninety-five percent of those in Dodds for violent crime offences read at the level of a three year old.”

Good morning Donna. I apologize for misquoting you.

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

No more time with the BU crew.

I have to do laundry.
    Yard work.
    Balance the household books.
    Grocery shopping.
    Cooking.

26. I cried again today. Do you know I have seen this cuhdear’s nonsense taken to an extreme.

I have seen someone asking “would you prefer to be alone in the forest with a black man or a bear?” and I have seen bIack women who will become mothers answer “the bear!”

Cuhdear doesn’t have to add any racial description to an island that is predominantly black. Her trivial, trifling and piffling statements are becoming painful and unbearable (to me).

But to return to the question asked
    1) These women are demonstrating a great fear of their yet to be born son
    2) These women have allowed themselves to be trapped in a silly question; a question that devalues the humanity of the men of their own race

I have been looking at skits on the internet. Once upon a time the media would find the idiot in the crowd and push a microphone and camera in their face and ask him/her a question. Now the idiot has his own microphone, camera and a thousand silly question.

It pains me to see civilization hurtling to the future in leaps and bounds and WE (folks like me) are going backwards even faster. The phone and camera are not our friends. Powerful tools that can be used for enlightenment and education have become the plaything of fools. Will we rue the invention of the cell phone and internet?

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Woman was NOT created in the image of any MAN.

“Male and female created he them, in the image of God created he them” Genesis 1:27

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TheOG June 28, 2025 at 9:19 am “I cried again today. ”

I am truly sorry to hear that you are in pain.

I’ve have never killed anyne, and I intend never to kill anyone.

However you ought to save your tears for the fathers and mothers and the orphaned children of the MALE killers and their MALE victims.

29. Cuhdear,
    I should have split my post in two
    I think you have a good mind and a keen wit.

30. Cuhdear,
    I figured you out
    You love these old men
    You like interacting with us and have figured out how to get our attention
    You go, girl
    —***—
    Sometimes, I wonder if I visited Barbados, could I count on Donna and Cuhdear to keep me supplied with delicious mangoes
    I can see Cuhdear saying this is for TheO and then throwing it at the monkeys
    Donna would be nicer…. she would send a few mangoes with the police and an order of protection at the same time
    Enjoy the day, ladies

31. You know it is not surprising we can not come up with a soultion to crime and how to address it.

Everytime I read the comments on a serious topic like crime, it always boils down to either gender or politics. The actual topic just falls off the table before any real discussion can occur.

32. @John A

It is easy to retreat to a blame game.

33. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Hants June 28, 2025 at 11:35 am “Police busy.”

Yes. We pay them to work hard.

I hope that they remember to collect the weapons from Doris, Eunice, Golda, Mildred and other gun toting, hat wearing, church going grannies.

Them old women ’bout here behaving too bad.

34. Our friend Roy Morris posted to Facebook.

Yesterday at 09:25 ·
    I’ve been keeping my distance from Facebook for a little while now because there are some people who believe that because of my job I should not have an opinion, or that any opinion I express is the Prime Minister’s. Apparently they forgot that I existed before I took up this job and that I have never been afraid to speak my mind.
    Today, I have to do so, but I will try not to be too specific as it relates to the personalities.
    There was a shooting death recently. And as has occurred with all such events since the year opened, many Barbadians have been understandably concerned, even scared. And with each event more and more people are asking what the Barbados Police Service is doing and what the Government is doing.
    My reading though is that these are not in fact questions, but statements really of a feeling that not enough is being done. Again, that’s understandable.
    But back to the murder in question. I am told that the victim’s family implored him to keep a low profile — not to attend the event at which he met his death. I’m told they gave him this advice because he, allegedly, was one of the people involved in another series of high profile shootings recently that claimed a life.
    Here’s my point: In every one of these incidents, family, friends, neighbours, associates — whatever you choose to call them — are aware of what these miscreants are doing, either before the fact, or after the fact. And I am not talking about others who are involved in these activities, but supposedly decent, law-abiding Bajans.
    They knew what he was involved in, but rather than call the police, they advised him to “lay low” to avoid being shot in retaliation. Clearly blood is thicker than water.
    When your sibling, your cousin, your neighbour, your friend, is involved in criminal activity, violent criminal activity, where should your loyalty rest? With your family, or with your society? I wonder how many of those who “know” are among those complaining that the police and the Government are not doing enough?
    I know: you will tell me they are afraid to talk. But they are not afraid to tell him to “lay low” in the house where they and their children live, putting everyone else in mortal danger.

35. GOOD EVENING BU FAMILY!!! THE SABBATH* – NOW GONE INTO LONG ETERNITY WAS AWESOME, WITH BEAUTIFUL SUNSHINE* & WITH THE REMINDER THAT SWITCHING OFF 4 TIME WITH THE MOST HIGH IS CRUCIAL 2 A BALANCED LIFE & SOCIETAL EQUILIBRIUM

To share a family joke:

I overheard my 39 year-old daughter (married with 3 sons) talking to her mother, (I WAS NOT EAVESDROPPING), as she had her on speaker, & the 2 of them were laughing (as girls do), about my eldest grandson who is 19 yrs young & is frankly a “GREAT HARDWORKING KID” with his head truly “SCREWED ON” right & with an intellectual capacity that is 2 be wondered at – but his mother was saying to her Mum, that she told him – “LOOK I GOT MY ARSE KICKED BY MY FATHER (LASHES AS SHE CALLS THEM) & I AM A GROWN WOMAN BUT IF HE DECIDED TO WHOOP MY BEHIND NOW, IF I GOT OUTTA’ LINE, I WOULD HAVE TO STAY & TAKE MY BLOWS”!!!

What she said following that statement was mind-blowing: “IF YOU WANT TO GET ON YOUR GRANDFATHER’S BAD SIDE & HE HAS TO BEAT YOUR BEHIND, THAT’S ON YOU – BUT I AIN’T TAKING NO LICKS FOR NOBODY, FOR I HAD MY SHARE…”

I was humbled…

The 2 most “PRECIOUS WOMEN” on earth (WHOM GOD GAVE 2 ME) were literally “CRACKING UP” over the “MAN OF GOD” & the person who is the “HOUSEBAND” that holds everything & everyone together – as “PROPHET, PRIEST & KING” in my home, (WITH THE COMPLETE HELP, AID & ASSISTANCE OF MY FATHER IN HEAVEN)!!!

#LookFolks – I said all that 2 paint a picture of what Scripture says:

“IF MY PEOPLE WHO ARE CALLED BY MY NAME WOULD HUMBLE THEMSELVES & PRAY & SEEK MY FACE – THEN I WILL HEAR FROM HEAVEN, FORGIVE THEIR SINS & HEAL THEIR LAND…” ( 2 Chron 7:14)

The issue here is not “CHASTISEMENT” or “SPARING THE ROD”, or any of those other “UNCOMFORTABLE VARIABLES” – for who want to inflict pain on another person, when the “SOCIOLOGY”, “PSYCHOLOGY” & every other “ISM” & “SCHISM” would try 2 paint a verbose picture 2 to the contrary (EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE ALL WRONG) – for the veracity of Scripture is, as I always opine: “UNIMPEACHABLE”!!!

Look, these are Dennis Manning’s words based on the pivotal subject today – even on this thread:

WHY DO MOST WOMEN NOT TEACH THEIR SONS HOW TO TREAT WOMEN?

He argues: “Because that’s not their job unless there is no Dad to show them. Women are supposed to model the type of woman they want their sons to marry. They are also supposed to teach their daughters how to be good women. Men are the ideal choice to teach their sons how to be men…how to treat women with respect, give their word and keep it, to respond to those in authority, and to teach their daughters what to look for in a good man. Women are better suited to instruct girls in what being a woman entails. Men are better suited to instruct boys in what being a man entails. That includes kindness and respectfulness to the opposite sex. Men AND women should teach their children how to give respect by modeling it with each other, by respecting their spouse, and being someone their spouse can respect…”

I DON’T NEED 2 SAY NOTHING ELSE

Ladies & gentlemen, BIMSHIRE* has a “GRASSROOTS” problem that has “METASTASIZED” & the “CANCER” is eating away the very “MARROW” of the nation & no amount of “RADIATION THERAPY” (in the form of policing & IGRUNT* social policy) will stymie the onslaught – neither will “CHEMOTHERAPY” (which is meant to “KILL”, the “GOOD”, “BAD”, “UGLY” & “BUGLY”), in the short run, will NOT* amount 2 a hill of beans, in the “LONGTERM” – given that a “POISON CHALICE” only results in “DELAYED BUT EVENTUAL DEATH”!!!

I am sorry 2 say this because “BARBADOS” is my “HOME COUNTRY” – LOCK*, STOCK* & GENEALOGICAL* preponderance – for who in their right mind would want a “BUNCH OF USLESS NAVIGATORS” 2 sink a ship already “CHOCOBLOCK” & riddled with endless bullet holes???

SOMETHING HAS 2 BE DONE BY SOMEONE (ANYONE) OR THE MASSES BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY

The “EQUATION” is simple:

“IF YOU DO WHAT YOU HAVE ALWAYS DONE – YOU WILL ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU HAVE ALWAYS HAD…”

However, “IF YOU WANT WHAT YOU HAVE NEVER HAD – YOU’VE GOTTA’ DO WHAT YOU HAVE NEVER DONE…”

Your leaders are running around like “HEADLESS CHICKENS” – “CLUELESS COWARDS” who talk a bunch a “CRAP”, often with meaningless, empty words – but completely “VOID & VACUOUS” of understanding & incapable of changing the “DYNAMICS” or 2 “STEM THE ROT” that has set into the bones of the society!!!

No one is ready 4 the “IMPOSSIBLY TOUGH CHOICES” that would have 2 be made that not only would “SHOCK THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY”, but would send the entire country into serious “MELTDOWN” – affecting everything & everyone including the “VERY ELITES” who would probably bailout from the fallout!!!

BUT IF THAT IS WHAT IT TOOK TO BRING ABOUT A RESET – THEN HEY-HO

‘Till then, I continue to “PRAY” 4 #DivineIntervention 4 “I KNOW THERE IS A GOD WHO NEITHER SLUMBERS OR SLEEPS” & I also know that “RIGHTEOUSNESS EXALTS A NATION BUT SIN IS A REPROACH TO ANY PEOPLE…” (Psalms 121:1-4 & Prov.14:34)

#GrinAndBearUp until such times is all I can tell y’all…

Who knows if it has 2 get so much worse before it can get better!!!

#ImDone

“NO VIDEO REQUIRED” – JUST PRAYERS!!!

36. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna at 8:27 AM :His mother went to the school and was told by the teacher these exact words – “I don’t have time for that. I am doing my degree.”

Teacher was/is an idiot. I can’t believe that we continue to pay such people.

37. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@ our friend Roy Morris “I am told that the victim’s family implored him to keep a low profile — not to attend the event at which he met his death. I’m told they gave him this advice because he, allegedly, was one of the people involved in another series of high profile shootings recently that claimed a life.”

Well the old people had wisdom brought with them from the lands of our ancestors “hard ears ya won’t hear, own way you will feel.” I’ve read that in the Twi language family that people who won’t listen, who won’t take excellent advice are described as “their ears are hard”

Remember guys, this is not coming from me, but from the ancestors, and I first heard it from an elementary school teacher when I was about 6 years old. My teacher, female of course lived to be 103 years old. She was wise enough not to be hard ears.

“hard ears ya won’t hear, own way you will feel.”

38. Steupsss!!
    You mind Roy Morris?
    Lotta shiite!

He just joining with his political cohorts in pointing blame at everybody else but themselves.
    The solution is for MOTHERS to be crime busters now…?

How the Hell anyone could expect parents to turn hardback bad-men in to police, WHEN THE SHIITE POLITICIANS HAVE BANNED THE SAME PARENTS, TEACHERS, AND EVEN SCHOOL PRINCIPALS – FROM EVEN CUTTING THE ASSES OF LITTLE WICKED SCHOOL CHILDREN?

These political Jokers… went and sign all kinda shiite agreements and loans to…
    – ban corporal punishment for bad behaved children…
    – ban capital punishment for murderers
    – treat teachers and Principals like errand school children themselves
    – release murderers on bail – to suit the convenience of lawyers
    – thief as much money as they can from the lotta shiite projects like HOPE
    – ILLEGALLY refuse to ovey the Laws about financial reporting
    – refuse to pass PROMISED Integrity and Transparency laws…

… and now he come talking shiite about EXPECTING parents to turn their own GROWN UP children in to police – when the damn police would have come for them, if they had attempted to correct their little wicked tails as children…

Steupsss…
    Morris should REALLY go back to enjoying whatever pieces of silver that he currently receives for no longer criticizing this government policies, …and stop talking shiite on facebook.

Well…
    At least we have David Ellis … who REFUSED to continue to be brought….

What a place!
    What Judases…!

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

@David @4.35pm
    I thought that FB post was brilliant.
    It reminds me of the Bajan version of “I kan do dat”. Not that they cannot, physically or otherwise, but they choose not to, for the potential implications may cause harm.
    As a former integral part of the fourth estate, this should be well understood. Any of those accredited members “may” ask certain questions, but they don’t. Why? Wouldn’t this benefit society? No, because they may have to endure negative personal consequences.
    Ditto for the business community who could withhold NIS contributions “in escrow”, until that entity complies with the law. They don’t because they fear retaliation, which could cost them. Don’t make yourself a target. Even if society could benefit.
    So it is “rich” to expect citizens to turn on their own. Look, he was a good boy until he got mixed up with X,Y &Z. I feel he will come around.
    Plus, unless they have hard, verifiable evidence, going to authorities only further exposes them. And those whom they may be trying to protect.
    It’s a vicious circle.
    The ‘old time’ practice was ‘get them off the island’, depending on which side had the power.
    Once the criminal element is organized, the power shifts.
    I’m surprised the public reporting of violet crime, hasn’t been banned like an NIS Report.

40. Agree with you @NO. These persons try to create an impression that he or she is doing the public a favour by articulating a clarifying position. They always forget that to whom much is given much is expected. If they forget this obligation_what about civil responsibility?

41. Bedazzled.

42. @ Cuhdear Bajan
    “Teacher was/is an idiot. I can’t believe that we continue to pay such people.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    The teacher is not the idiot…
    The jokers responsible for the eddykashun system, and those of us (wunna) who have brought into their jobby are the idiots…

If a so-called ‘parent’ don’t have the ability, time, and patience to provide any special attention that is required by the ONE OR TWO children that THEY created…
    Why the Hell do we expect a teacher to find the patience, time, skills, LOVE and resources to provide for 100 children DUMPED on their laps?
    …or a Principal to deal with 1000?

ESPECIALLY – when the top Eddykashun jackasses have tied their hands behind their backs by:
    – restricting critical disciplinary OPTIONS that had been available
    – treating Principals like pawns is a shiite chess game
    – dismissing benefits and pay that WAS ALREADY AGREED for teachers
    – having CLEARLY POLITICALLY MOTIVATED promotions policies
    – targeting teachers who speak out / or show any contrary political interest
    – constantly changing the shiite system WRT 11+ , … special schools, … youth service etc

What that teacher PROBABLY meant to say instead of ‘… I am doing my degree’ was something relating to the kissing of bowls made of brass…. he was just trying to be polite.

What a place of cluelessness!

Wait Boss…
    Did you bread that shiite that the Minister of Agriculture write in todays paper about the value of borrowing?
    You feel dat he head good…?

How come he don’t have anything to say about agriculture, sugar, green houses, or food security – but suddenly representing the Ministry of fine ants ? …and talking a roll – similar to Roy Morris…

This shiite is worse than a curse yuh!!!

43. @Bush Tea

Weir is a Mia disciple and had also perfected the art of spitting hot air. Is it any wonder the young people are turned off?

Truth about borrowing, our credit standing

It is important to remind Barbadians that borrowing is a normal and accepted financial practice.

This article was written and submitted by Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir.

Borrowing, whether by individuals or governments, is a necessary tool for economic development and personal advancement. Yet, some seek to weaponise the conversation about national borrowing in an attempt to mislead the public and destabilise the Government.

Let us set the record straight.

Why Lenders Associate with High Credit Ratings Lenders are fundamentally riskaverse. They assess a borrower’s ability to repay loans by evaluating their creditworthiness.

Countries with strong credit ratings are seen as reliable, stable, and trustworthy. This is why individuals with high credit scores find it easier to borrow from financial institutions.

Similarly, governments with strong credit ratings attract international investors who are confident that their funds will be repaid on time, with interest.

Barbados’ Experience Under Poor Credit Ratings When Barbados’ credit rating fell to junk status prior to 2018, it became nearly impossible for the country to access financing on the international market. In fact, an attempt by the previous administration to raise $500 million USD on the international market completely failed, because no lender wanted to associate with Barbados at that time. Our economy was viewed as unstable and high-risk. As a result, the country had no option but to rely on the printing of money via the Central Bank of Barbados, which further devalued the currency and eroded public confidence.

The Normality of Borrowing It is important to remind Barbadians that borrowing is a normal and accepted financial practice. Young people entering the workforce often start by borrowing to purchase a vehicle.

Later, they borrow to purchase land, and then again to build a home. Some borrow to consolidate existing debts or to manage living expenses. In many instances, debt consolidation provides a longer repayment period and lower interest rates, creating room for savings or other essential expenditures—such as education, emergencies, or household needs.

Why Governments Borrow Governments borrow for the same reasons: to meet obligations, invest in critical infrastructure, and support national development. In Barbados, this includes:

• Free education for all citizens

• Comprehensive health care services across the island

• Welfare programmes and social protection

• Public sanitation services

• Subsidised transportation for seniors and school-children

• Tax credits and relief for low-income earners These services are expensive. The Government must, at times, access credit to maintain and improve them—especially during economic downturns or natural disasters.

Barbados’ Recovery and Economic Transformation Since 2018, the Government of Barbados has restored stability to the economy. Our credit ratings have steadily improved. The country’s debt-to-GDP ratio has decreased significantly. In fact, Barbados now carries less debt than it did before 2018, and we are once again seen as a credible borrower on the global stage.

Most recently, we returned to the international capital market to raise financing—not to splurge, but to:

• Repay existing loans, including obligations to the IMF

• Strengthen our financial buffers

• Protect our economy with a disaster clause, which allows us to pause debt repayments during natural disasters to focus on national recovery Rejecting Political Fear-Mongering The recent political rhetoric suggesting that borrowing is inherently bad is deeply misleading. It ignores the financial reality of both individual citizens and sovereign states.

The same people who criticize borrowing today once tried—and failed— to borrow $500 million USD under a cloud of poor fiscal management and a shattered credit rating.

We must, therefore, reject the fearmongering and understand that borrowing—when done responsibly—is a strategic tool. It is used to build homes, fund education, support health care, and strengthen economies.

Let us not allow political gamesmanship to cloud our understanding or distort the truth.

Conclusion

Barbadians must be assured that no debt incurred under this administration will be irresponsibly passed on to future generations. Borrowing is not the problem— mismanagement is. And today, Barbados stands stronger, more stable, and more respected globally because we have made the difficult, responsible choices that are now yielding results.

Let us remain focused on progress, not propaganda.

44. The minister cannot have an opinion outside of his portfolio should??

Now if he had posted an opinion that had criticized borrowing we would have had a totally different reaction . Smdh

45. The OG

I am well known to be “very nice until yuh mash she corns”. Last person who said that was my ex. So, plenty of free mangoes for you.

I am also known for being mad enough to represent myself, even without my fiercely protective son. No police necessary to deal with the likes of you.

Just this morning, I declared Animal Fun Day on my mobile phone. And there I was enjoying the sight of a tiny rhino fiercely defending his sick mother from the ministrations of the vet, when it put me in mind of my five year old son, and The Incident of the Boys in the Tree.

I had recently come home from hospital and was still wearing a back splint on my shattered elbow. Drowsy from the pain meds, I was rudely wakened by voices coming from right outside my bedroom window. You can stare right into my bedroom from the mango tree and so, apart from the trespass and theft, there is also the issue of privacy.

I had already told those three teenagers that they were welcome to pick the mangoes as long as they asked me every time. And I explained why.

Yet there they were, acting as though I did not matter on my own property. I suppose they were justp not afraid of a woman. Nobody had warned them that I was a MAD woman. And so when I reminded them that they were supposed to ask, they made the mistake of mocking and mimicking my words.

Well, nice Donna was gone and the mad woman took over. Without saying one word, I swung from the window to the door, clean forgetting about that stiff, straight arm in the back splint, and the two long steel rods rubbing against it. The mad woman wa feeling no pain.

Fortunately for them AND ME ( ’cause one of the rocks I planned to throw up in the tree may have “missed and hit” one of them) they saw the madness on my face from the window, and were gone with speed before I arrived.

And when I turned around, blowing hard, there was my five year old son, cricket stump in hand, ready for serious mummy defence action.

We had a good laugh this morning as we recalled that incident, and he said, “I could not stop to find the bat, so the stump had to do. I knew I could not beat them all, but I only had to beat one. Because if they had touched my mother……”

So, as usual, there is a point to my story, and it is this – if Simple Simon would only think, she would understand that the warrior spirit in boys is there for a reason. They are meant to be our protectors.

Unfortunately, if we don”t treat, teach and train our boys right, they become aggressors instead.

It is my opinion that we have not treated those illiterate Dodds inmates right. Not since the age of three have we taught them at all. And their parents could not train them. Most of them are probably lost to us now; if they are in gangs, they may be safe only in prison.

Something I have learnt over the last few decades – beyond the few slaps administered to a curious toddler unaware of the dangers of, for example, straying from one’s side in public, or of touching a hot stove, one does not need corporal punishment to train up a child.

For those not yet in prison and still in school, I just wish some of us had better solutions than whipping like a massa.

These children are not as we were growing up. Beatings only breed resentment. Respect breeds respect.

46. Oh, I forgot to mention. The rocks weren’t necessary. Apparently, the face was enough. Those boys never came back.

47. Donna, once just once I had to chase a fella out of my fruit tree. Since I am an avid gardener I have all sorts of sharp edged tools. At least once a year I take them to a tool sharpening place and have nice edges put on them, so…

The thing is I have NEVER sold any of my fruit. I am happy to give them to family, neighbors, friends and complete strangers, so if the fella had asked he would have got some free every year for decades, but he preferred to t’ief.

48. @Bush Tea June 28, 2025 at 10:35 pm “THE SHIITE POLITICIANS HAVE BANNED THE SAME PARENTS…FROM EVEN CUTTING THE ASSES OF LITTLE WICKED SCHOOL CHILDREN?”

Parents have NOT been banned from “cutting the assess of little wicked school children”. I have had to offer corporal punishment once or twice per child. They understood that if they had objections they were free to live elsewhere, with the politicians, with the police, with the teachers, with the principals, with the gangsters…but nowhere was as sweet as home sweet home, even with a few little lashes.