Submitted by Preretirement

David,financial institutions want to know where you get your funds from as required by the Central Bank. However, for years my bank seems to give coolie men zero hassles and are nonchalant towards East Indians deposits.

Recently I went t get some car parts and what surprised me was the offer to get a better price if I paid cash rather than by card. Working in compliance for years the question often comes up why government does not scrutinize the source of funds for large court fines paid into the court and government auctions. The prime minister says she wants money and is it she and the AG just want money at any cost.

We need a Kamala Persaud in Barbados, Trinidad now investigating the promoters of the Kartel show to ascertain the source of funds 

29 responses to “Who are the biggest money launderers?”

1. “Are governments and banks the biggest money launderers?”

No “governments and banks want to be the biggest gangsters in the word”
    that’s the reason why USA set up Anti-Money Laundering regulations back in 2000

2. Oistins

3. Banks got nuff tricks for true.

Now Imagine if they had a bank that saying that it got nuff money and financing this that and the third, wunna would say could dear that is a good bank. But suppose now you did find out that the same nice bank was in fact getting prop up by another big up bank from somewhere else and the nice bank balance sheet was prop up by loans from the big up bank, what you would say then?

Now I only drawing an imaginary example cause surely nothing so could happen. Or could it???

4. @ John A
    Wuh you like you talking bout Brassbados – and its record forex holdings and lavish giveaways…
    No wonder we are impressed with our new bank friends…

5. @ all the men on BU

6. @ Bushie

I only wondering aloud what would happen if something like this could happen? I mean nowadays a man got to ask a question. Anyhow time will tell cause nowadays you cant hide nothing with all thses blogs and other things. I mean I hear they got entities taking deposits and offering high interest rates, but saying you could only take back 10 percent of you money each year. Hope wunna live 10 years to get back all if this is true of course! lol

Dont mind me I only asking cause you know people does say all kind of things.

7. Last week, someone, either from the government or a Mia sycophant boasted how Barbados fleet of 30 electric buses (Chinese) surpassed the totality of our neighbours in their modernity. It raised a chuckle from me.

https://www.aljazeera.com/#flips-6373957241112:0

8. “We need a Kamala [sic] Persaud [sic] in Barbados, Trinidad now investigating the promoters of the Kartel show to ascertain the source of funds.”

Doan mek muh laff do! Not Auntie Kams? When one is uninformed and just trying to appear bright.

9. @TLSN
    I think it was more than our nearest neighbors. Silly me was googling the number of electric buses in all of the US after one of these posts. The story was so farfetched and ridiculous that it drove me to google. No one could be that wrong. Perhaps, it is just ‘bad phrasing’

10. All the men on BU wuh?

11. @ Donna,

You have made it clear that you are straight. lol

12. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Shhh!!! Don’t tell anybody, but all during Covid19 I was a money launderer. When I came home from shopping I washed all my money and my bank card in the bathroom sink and dried them on paper towels. Along with the vaccines it may have worked because I did not get Covid19, and even so a very, very mild case until April 2023 a few days before the pandemic ended.

So “yes.” I must confess that I have been a money launderer.

13. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TLSN June 7, 2025 at 9:57 am “A Ghanaian today; perhaps a high profile Barbadian tomorrow.”

“The prosecutor’s notice, published by the state-run Ghana News Agency on Monday, stated a number of possible locations, including the United States, the United Kingdom, South Africa, Guyana, Hong Kong and the Cayman Islands.”

TLSN you betta start checking in you neighborhood. The Interpol Red Notice seems to imply that the former Minister may be up by you.

14. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Interpol Red Notice “Ofori-Atta, whose location remains unclear as he reportedly seeks medical treatment”

And what is it with all of these men who at their young ages appear too be sickey, sickey? Money does make men sick? Just this week I was reading that that young boy Elon Musk on a mobaton of medications, including things for depression, and that boy young enough to be my son.

I mean if a man has access to billions of dollars, and nuff, nuff p0key what is there to be unhappy about asks de ole ZR woman who has never yet needed anti depressants?

15. “Who are the biggest money launderers?”

Extra Legally
    CIA Iran Contra scandal suggests biggest money launderers are USA
    Check out Black Eagle Funds for Covert Ops

Statutory
    USA also implemented AML Anti-Money Laundering Laws circa 2000
    Which led to Channel Islands x Caribbean Offshore Banking Compliance

Iron Sharp Dub (Iron Sharpeneth This Dub)
    As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.
    so a man sharpeneth the countenance of his friend.
    Breathe In Strength

16. It has become a recurring story. First Barbados, then T&T not St. Kitts.

https://www.facebook.com/share/r/1AXiyxfaXP/

17. WHO HAS DUMBED-DOWN BARBADOS UNDERGROUND??? WHY ALL THE BANAL SUPERFICIALITY??? THERE IS NOT A SHRED OF INTELLECTUAL BANDWIDTH ANYWHERE ON HERE EXCEPT FOR THE BUSHMAN!!! SEEMS LIKE EVERYONE IS LIKE MY OLE’ COMPUTER – #ConstantlyBuffering!!! THE LIKELIHOOD OF ANY INTERNATIONAL AUDIENCE TAKING THIS BLOG SERIOUSLY IS GROSSLY UNDERMINED BY THE SURFACE-LEVEL, MILK-DRINKING, MEDIOCRE MUSING OF SO-CALLED INTELLIGENT ‘humans’

To quote Nietzsche: “THE SECRET OF REAPING THE GREATEST FRUITFULNESS AND THE GREATEST ENJOYMENT FROM LIFE IS TO LIVE DANGEROUSLY…”

I know it take a quantum depth of cerebral power to dig deep into the mind-shaft of weary brains that have been subjected to all kinds of Malthusian rigours from Sunday to Sunday, but surely, a B+ engagement with the subject matter is not a stretch 2 far!!!

ANYWAY, I KNOW WHAT THE REAL ISSUES ARE

Most of us have to protect our online character & image given “GOOGLE’s” algorithmic data compilation of what individuals put out into cyberspace knowing that “BACKGROUND CHECKS” these dayz are based on what one says in the public square!!!

MY ATTITUDE IS SIMPLY THIS

#DieOnYourFeet or #KissTheBackside of your “OPPRESSORS”¬

But then, most of us do not know the meaning of “BRAVEHEART” given that we have played “COWARDS” for so long that it is nigh impossible to stand for anything, less we fall apart at the seams in the process!!!

At least, Dr. Phillips has the “BALLS” to state his piece without fear or favour!!!

#ImDone

18. YOUR GOVs & YOUR BANKS* ARE ALL SCAMS THAT BILLIONS HAVE FALLEN FOR!! WHY ARE SOME ALLOWED TO OPEN BANKS & OTHERS NOT*??? WHY IS YOUR BANK ROBBING YOU BLIND* & YOUR POLIETICIANS TAXING YOU 2 DEATH & YOU ARE COMPLETELY COMPLIANT??? WHY IS IT NO LONGER POSSIBLE TO ROB FROM THE RICH & GIVE TO THE POOR??? IS ROBIN HOOD PHILOSOPHY A MIRAGE???

What is really true education??? Is it not to foment change???

Why is it that when you look around the world today – there is a complete vacuum in DISSIDENT UPRISINGS & CHARISMATIC “LEADERSHIP”???

What is it going to take for there to be payback for all the socioeconomic travesties Blacks have undergone???

IT SEEMS LIKE REVOLUTION IS DEAD IN THE DIASPORA

19. Hants,

Just checking! I thought it was something like that.

20. 8 YEARS WE WERE GIVEN A MASTERCLASS ON RUSSIA TODAY ( #RT ) NOW BANNED IN THE UK, ON THE ISSUE OF WHAT BANKING REALLY IS GIVEN THE SCAM THAT IT IS

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Terence Blackett June 8, 2025 at 5:33 am “WHY IS IT NO LONGER POSSIBLE TO ROB FROM THE RICH & GIVE TO THE POOR???”

When has it ever happened that the rich were robbed and the spoils given to the poor?

Please enlighten us. Thanks

22. YOUR CENTRAL BANK IS A CURSE!!!

There is no “MONEY” in the “TRUEST SENSE” of the word in your “CENTRAL BANK” – they don’t even have “GOLD BULLION” as Richard Nixon saw to it that “FAKE MONEY” would never again be hedged to hogtied to the precious metal!!!

SO WHAT SCAM* HAVE WE BEEN BRAINWASHESD INTO BELIEVING GIVEN PROF. WERNER’S POSITION ON THE MONEY SUPPLY & THE CROOKED CASSAVA STICK OF BANKING ON OUR HIGH STREETS

The below VT explains it better than I ever could…

Got money in the “BANK” in #AmeriKKKa, #London or #BIM*???

IT MAYBE SAFER 4 YOU TO FIND A SAFE PLACE TO STASH IT AWAY FROM THE BANKSTERS & THE DIRTY BASTERDS WHO ARE ABOUT TO IMPLODE THE SYSTEM

#TotalControlIsComing

23. @CB

“When has it ever happened that the rich were robbed and the spoils given to the poor?”

THERE IS NOTHING CITED AS PART OF THE KNOWN HISTORICAL RECORD THAT UNCOVERS SUCH AN ABERRATION (not even during the French Revolution) UNLESS THE RECORD WAS WHITEWASHED

The mythology surrounded #RobinHood maybe more allied to “LEGEND” & “FOLKLORE” – however, it is a concept that is gaining traction!!!

However, #MansaMusaI, the ruler of the medieval Black Malian empire, who was renowned for his immense wealth due to the empire’s control over gold & strategic trading routes, during his pilgrimage to Mecca in 1324, distributed so much gold that it caused a significant drop in its value in Egypt!!!

While Mansa Musa’s wealth was considerable, estimates of his exact wealth in modern monetary terms are speculative – just as King Solomon’s wealth in gold was also inestimable!!!

Beyond those cited confines: the #BiblicalReference: “THE WEALTH OF THE WICKED IS LAID UP FOR THE RIGHTEOUS…” based on (Proverbs 13:22) & 244 other verses of Scripture which categorically shows that a “WEALTH-TRANSFER IS COMING VERY SOON”!!!

Historically, the rich have faced high tax rates in certain periods. For instance, in the early 1960s, #AmeriKKKa’s richest faced a 91% tax rate on income in the top tax bracket, which had hovered around 90% for 2 decades before that!!!

However, tax rates on the rich has spiralled downward significantly since then – so that by 2019 ( JUST BEFORE THE PLANDEMIC* ), the top federal income tax rate in #AmeriKKKa was a mere 37% – with “BILLIONAIRE’s” like Warren “the oracle” Buffet paying less tax than his house maid!!!

But be on guard, #PitchForksAreComing

24. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@TB quoting Nietzsche “THE SECRET OF REAPING THE GREATEST FRUITFULNESS AND THE GREATEST ENJOYMENT FROM LIFE IS TO LIVE DANGEROUSLY…”
    Maybe some of us don’t want to follow the advice of a mad German to live dangerously [and die young]. Maybe you haven’t followed Nietzsche’s advice either, because if you had it is unlikely that you would not be an old man sitting quietly behind your computer in the safety of your home.

So…

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

CORRECTION

NOT: you would not
    BUT: you would now

26. @CB

If you are going to engage me on any subject, but especially based on your own skewed perception of subjectivity regarding the tour de force of my longevity – please “ASK” instead of making “ASSumptions”!!!

I did not ask you or anyone else for that matter 2 follow any ideological hubris I may have cited, for that shows very poor analytical reasoning on your part – as the deductive notions postulated were points of reference – “NOT GOSPEL ACCORDING TO…”!!!

But to also callously “INFER” that I am some “OLE’ TIMER” sitting obtusely behind a flat-screen mirror narcissistically engaging my own countenance under the guise of ex nihilo is like a fool stepping off a precipice into an infernal abyss!!!

Show some imagination instead of mindless petulance when you do not know the person you are addressing, but bedevils the room with innuendo & speculative nonsense!!!

Life is a precious “GIFT” (when you have truly lived it on your own terms) & have not bent your will to the “HERD” at any time, neither have chosen the broad road, but rather the road less travelled…

You may learn something (IF HUMBLE ENOUGH)!!!

#SemperFidelis

27. It has become a recurring story. First Barbados, then T&T not St. Kitts.

Statutory Reporting of Clients in Offshore Banking effectively means all the Clients will migrate their funds from Banks before implementation.

The original regulatory changes were made under GWBs PATRIOT ACT under the guise of fighting terrorist groups, but mission creep rolled this out to include, proceeds of crime, tax evasion and freezing funds of World Leaders involved in War, such as Gaddafi, Assad and Russian Oligarchs with tenuous links to Putin.

WHO HAS DUMBED-DOWN BARBADOS UNDERGROUND??? WHY ALL THE BANAL SUPERFICIALITY??? THERE IS NOT A SHRED OF INTELLECTUAL BANDWIDTH ANYWHERE ON HERE EXCEPT FOR THE BUSHMAN!!!

This premise is arguable, especially regarding the repetition of the biblical etymology of End Times Apocalypse Armageddon eschatology the part of theology concerned with death, judgement, and the final destiny of the soul and of humankind.

In the Foundational Early Days of BU when this Avatar gave the impression of being a really scary dread person full of Bushisms with comments written in a brand new and original style not found anywhere else on the internet or in any literature there was a BT blog called
    Bush Tea at Large – The rantings of an miserable ol’ Bajan man
    which hasn’t been updated for a long minute but should be revived for his Bu fan boys

Regarding the end of world old chestnut, the hijackers and the road blockers
    who are heads of this world just keep on storing up dreadful war

UK media is full of Government propaganda saying UK is at war with Russia and USA won’t help so they need to spend X Amount of tax monies for defense.

UK Banking was stupid to mess with the Bear and should never have frozen Russian Accounts because of Ukraine as the City Of London is now the most obvious target for nuclear booms.

Although people in the epicentre will instantly die, computer simulation shows the effects will ripple out across Greater London and Suburbs quickly and further damage such as radiation will spread across the whole nation. (see video below)

Those without bunkers are advised to hide in a Fridge for protection

Cease The War, Stop The War, Warmonger

28. Barbados gets 55 nominations for CBU Media Awards

BARBADOS WILL BE well represented at the 36th Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU) Media Awards, with four organisations earning a total of 55 nominations.

Leading the way is the Government Information Service ( GIS), which secured 24 nominations. The Nation Publishing Co. Ltd and

Starcom Network followed with a combined 16 nominations, while the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation ( CBC) received 15.

The announcement was made yesterday at the official launch of the 2025 awards during a hybrid event hosted by the CBU.

Secretary General Sonia Gill reported a recordbreaking year for entries, with 551 submissions across 61 categories from 30 media organisations representing 11 countries and territories, as well as a pan-regional entity. This represents a 13 per cent increase over last year’s record, underscoring the continued growth and relevance of the regional competition.

Gill revealed that Belize’s Greater Belize Media emerged as the most nominated organisation with 103 entries, edging past Jamaica’s RJR Gleaner Communications Group, which received 95. Jamaica, however, remains the most represented jurisdiction overall, submitting 112 entries through five different entities. Trinidad and Tobago came in third with 94 nominations from six organisations, including strong showings from One Caribbean Media’s Express and CBN TV6.

Contributors

Guyana also recorded its strongest participation in recent years, with three media houses, including newcomer Guyana Chronicle, securing a total of 28 nominations. Other notable contributors included Cuba’s ICS with 18 nominations, San Andres Island’s Teleislas with six, and Antigua and Barbuda’s ABS with four entries as it celebrates its 60th anniversary.

During the launch, featured speaker Carol Roberts-Reifer, chief executive officer of the National Cultural Foundation (NCF), delivered a wide-ranging and passionate address on the role of the media in advancing the Caribbean’s creative sector, often referred to as the orange economy.

“Our vibrant visual arts, our fashion, our culinary traditions, our festivals like Crop Over, Carifesta, Carnival, Junkanoo and even our digital content creation. These are not just cultural expressions. They are tangible economic assets,” Roberts-Reifer said. “In the Caribbean, the orange economy is our innate genius, our ancestral heritage come alive. It is the colour of our sunshine, our zest, our spirit, and our boundless imagination.”

She described Barbados’ hosting of Carifesta 15 later this year as a timely backdrop to the discussion, noting that the festival long demonstrated the power of the orange economy before the term had even entered common regional vocabulary.

Roberts-Reifer challenged Caribbean media practitioners to embrace their role as “powerful amplifiers and facilitators” in building the creative industries. She emphasised the responsibility of broadcasters and content creators to tell authentic Caribbean stories, resisting the tendency to dilute regional identity in favour of mass-market appeal”.

“Good content in the orange economy is authentic, high-quality and culturally relevant,” she said. “It highlights our innovators, our entrepreneurs and our everyday heroes. It drives demand for Caribbean content by building bridges and creating global appetite for what we uniquely offer.”

Quality

In an impassioned plea for quality, she warned against derivative or stereotypical portrayals, calling instead for storytelling that reflected the region’s complexity and creativity.

“We must get to the point where we are not just creating content for the Caribbean – we are creating content from the Caribbean.”

Roberts-Reifer also addressed the growing influence of artificial intelligence on the creative sector. She acknowledged the transformative possibilities of AI in content creation from generating scripts to translating stories for global audiences. However, she warned of its potential downsides, including job displacement, algorithmic bias and intellectual property violations.

“AI must augment human creativity, not replace it and it must benefit Caribbean creators – not just large corporations. We must put in place clear guidelines for its use in media, ensuring transparency, accuracy and respect for creators’ rights.”

She underscored the need for the CBU and other stakeholders to be proactive in advocating for policies that ensured AI was developed and deployed ethically and equitably within the region.

“We bring what no computer or tool can replicate – soul. The soul of our stories, our cultures, our people.”

To accommodate nominees interested in attending the gala, the CBU is waiving the US$300 conference registration fee. Nominees must request a discount code via email. A full list of nominees and registration details is available at www. caribroadcastunion.org through August 20.

The awards ceremony will take place on the evening of August 20 at the Hilton Barbados Resort, where regional excellence in journalism, broadcasting and digital storytelling will be celebrated.

Roberts-Reifer closed her remarks with a message of encouragement: “You are seen. You are valued. Your work matters.” (CLM)