The dust has settled on the St. James North by election. As predicted by all and sundry including Barbados UndergroundA redundant St. James North by election – Chad Blackman of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) destroyed the main challenger Felicia Dujon of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) by capturing 2 723 votes to 468.

The St. James North is supported by the numbers as a BLP stronghold and running Dujon, who has been one of the more visible members of the DLP, must be seen as an error in political strategy. Surely Ralph Thorne and his minions were aware Dujon would be nothing more than a sacrificial lamb by naming her a candidate?

Of interest to political pundits is the opportunity to observe the national swing indicator. It is normal to expect a movement away from government after two or three terms. However, we are not operating in normal times are we.

Truth is, there is still the pall of the Ronnie Yearwood vs Ralph Thorne clash hanging over the DLP. The BLP winning St. James North seat must be assessed against the public perception of a beleaguered DLP trying to find its way. The blogmaster is of the view voters preferred to go with the status quo rather than risk the uncertainty of the ‘unknown’. It does not mean DLP would NOT have won had all things been equal but the by election would have generated traditional stats for analysis.

All post election commentary is centred on the need for the DLP to get its house in order. Hopefully the ‘poor’ performance in the St. James North by election will encourage sober reflection in George Street. One thing the result has confirmed is that the DLP is not seen as a credible alternative – although Barbadians maybe fearful of a one party state. This week was an opportunity to signal to the ruling BLP its discomfort with the lack of opposition representation in the Lower House. Unfortunately the DLP and the other candidates did not engender the confidence of the electorate. This should be a deep concern for Barbadians..

One suspects were a general election to be held tomorrow, the result will be the same give or take a seat or two. The BLP would inflict another shellacking on the opposition. This would be more to do with an inadequate political opposition rather than voters being happy with the performance of the incumbent BLP government. Barbados maybe headed to a crisis of governance in the not too distant future.

One cannot directly blame Prime Minister Mottley or the late Owen Arthur for aggressively practicing the politics of inclusion. However, it should not be ignored any fallout from the strategy which weakened opposition ‘talent’. What it exposes is the lack of a differentiating philosophy between the two main political parties exemplified in the political leader of the DLP. First a DLPite, then a BLPite now a DLPite. There is no law against crossing the floor in Barbados but there is a good case that it challenges the perception of politicians by an apathetic electorate.

119 responses to “DLP rejected, again”

1. “Understanding voter apathy.”

Most bajans don’t care or have little interest in their local political representatives. It’s about what you will do for me personally = nothing. We are followers and Mia’s BLP is a popular household name. Bajans vote party. Not candidates with little known political aspirations. Mia is transparent and has the undivided support of bajans who earn less than 50K on lockdown. Those are the majority. That will probably change in 10 years. The longest-serving Prime Minister of Barbados was Owen Arthur. She will surpass his reins. So, sit back, relax and take the ride.

90% of bajans love 💕 Mia. That includes you.

2. “Mia is transparent”
    Jesus take the wheel !!!

3. https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/05/25/prime-minister-mottley-reverses-decision-will-lead-blp-into-the-next-general-election/

” “The world is in trouble,” she warned. “If you add to that an opposition that resembles more a pressure group than a political party of 70 years, this country of ours deserves stability and steadiness.”

4. After a 10-hour Budget reply, RAT’s party recorded a negative swing in the by-election; 7 and 3 years after losing 30-0. Their candidate received numbers in many boxes that resembled the Mega 6 draw. Funny thing is, many of the BU intelligentsia are no different to the current DLP–obsolescent, reductive, pompous and lost.

5. “No wonder Enuff was silent – when Bushie asked what the next scam would look like – after the SJN ‘endorsement’ – where 70% of voters said to ‘piss off’…”

No Bushie! I was silent because I don’t frequent BU and only now see your post. You cant even get the turnout right. You should go read my previous post. If the cap fit…..

6. What doesn’t kill the DLP will only make them stronger,

for the record it is not my fault Barbados PM Mia is rerunning for a 3rd term due to her many concerns.

To the office or position of censor.
    Sometimes I feel like a motherless DLP child when posts made get taken down

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

I see Minister Duguid in his announcement of 9 hotels under construction, he included Four Seasons (which is now a bad word), and has reverted back to Paradise. The Barbadian taxpayers reportedly paid BDD$124,000,000 for this property. Who owns the land today?
    This land, nor its former owner CBL, managed to make the ’23 Auditor General Report.

8. Well as wunna know I don’t get into politics nor religion as both got their loyalist who are blind to reason or logic. What I don’t understand though is how the DLP after 2 consecutive 30 to 0 and over 8 years in opposition, have not regained any favour with the public. We have never seen a party discarded like this and even the 28 to 3 who many referred to as the 3 blind mice from yesrs ago, made a comeback.

Is it a case where the ignorance done by Sinkyuh and Stewart still haunts this party, or is it a case where the party just can’t stimulate the public into seeing them as an alternative ? Will they be an opposition in name only devoid of any seats won going forward? Would really like to hear the political specialist like Mr Wickham and OTHER POLITCALLY NON ALIGNED PERSONS explain this to us.

9. Lorenzo
    Snuff,Mr Thorne,s 10 hour speech was nothing more than his egotistic opinion of himself.All he said in my view of importance could have been said in 2 hours tops.Mr Thorne is no Errol Barrow or Tom Adams.He needs to tone it down.In my view he also needs to step down or be replaced..Otherwise,the dems are looking at another 30 to 0.The good news is that Ms Mottley will lead the BLP in the next elections
    This does not bode well for the dems but for the country in these times her experience is needed, no time for newbies.I gone.

10. What is analyticity of a function?
    Analytic functions. Definition: A function f is called analytic at a point z0 ∈ C if there exist r > 0 such that f is differentiable at every point z ∈ B(z0, r). A function is called analytic in an open set U ⊆ C if it is analytic at each point U. An entire is a function which is analytic on the whole complex plane C.

Elections can be called subjectively, objectively or early with the element of surprise..

A Sneak Attack* You can’t say I never did warn you
    The Dees can’t say they were surprised if them Bees are coming in with a sneak attack as they have prior form history from the last time that sees to that and my job is to teach these cats and present the clear speech they lack and show ’em how to eat from rap they’ve got victory and now they skipped to three heads ain’t quick to be so I thank you for picking me it’s all logical I perform the impossible win or lose I never shout believe in yourself and never doubt discipline is simply a better route
    we keep it tight we keep it right we’re comin strong we’re movin on it’s time to rise
    and unify – unifyyyy

11. Opposition party not needed. Listen to the boss.

12. @ Enuff
    The percentage that said ‘piss off’ comprises those who REFUSED to vote, AS WELL As those who held their noses and voted for the OTHER set of jokers.
    See if Kiki can calculate that for us…

@ Hants
    Only those with clean hands can afford to walk away peacefully from power…
    Trump will likely seek another term too – least his many indiscretions be exposed, …like Biden’s are being shouted from the Senate Hearings – WRT Covid19, his personal health, Ukraine etc…

Most dictators therefore NEED to be dictators-for-LIFE…. Netanyahu for eg.

Bushie NEVER believed our Empress’ two-term pronouncement….
    but has GREAT admiration for anyone who is willing to take up responsibility for bailing out the BB Titanic

13. Ex-PM: Don’t count out DLP

Dems not done!

FORMER PRIME MINISTER Freundel Stuart is issuing a word of caution to those writing the obituary of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) – we are far from finished.

Addressing a special meeting of the St Lucy branch in North Stars Cricket Ground in Crab Hill yesterday, Stuart criticised those who he said were reading the party’s death knell.

“The DLP has never been and will never be a fly-by-night organisation, although sometimes when you hear the commentators in Barbados talking, you wonder whether they’re talking about the same DLP that you know and have experienced.

“Just a few days ago, we fought and lost a by-election in St James North and again, the pundits have been having a field day, to say nothing of the political parties, all of whom have been writing the obituary of the DLP only because we lost a byelection in a well-known stronghold of the governing party,” he said.

Stuart also voiced his thoughts on Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley declaring she was going to hang on for a third term, despite once saying she was not. He said he had never been fooled.

“I was not surprised at the announcement because I never believed what was being said in the first place.

I think it was just theatre, it was a confidence trick . . . . she was always coming back. Therefore, I think that all those people who are now excited about the announcement have to ask themselves why they are so easily beguiled.

“It kind of frustrates the vaulting ambition of people like Kerrie Symmonds and one or two others who saw themselves as likely successors. And if I could go further, she cannot leave for a number of reasons – which I will not disclose now,” he said.

Stuart said it was up to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to deal with their business while the DLP dealt with the people’s business.

“I think the DLP has to organiseitself in a way to fight for the people of Barbados who do not have anybody fighting for them at the present time. There’s a manicured, pedicured, dressed-up and perfumed silence in Barbados on critical issues, so I think the DLP has an obligation to come out and to take up the people’s issues,” he said.

Stuart also took some of the party members to task for believing the criticisms and not doing enough to defend the organisation.

“What has been a source of disappointment to me is that a lot of this gibberish is swallowed hook, line and sinker by some of our own people who should know the organisation to which they belong and should be able to fend off these puerile attacks on the integrity of our organisation.

“We have not done a good enough job defending our record. I think we have a lot to defend, but we haven’t defended it, and I think that has created some problems for us, but better late than never. I think we’re starting to do that now, and I hope it intensifies with the passage of time,” he said.

Stuart took the crowd on a history lesson, saying the DLP had contested 16 by-elections since and had only won five of them, and while losing by-elections was nothing new to the DLP, they also had a history of bouncing back. “In 1958, we lost two by-elections, and by 1961, we were elected to Government. In 1971, we won 18 of the 24 seats after losing by-elections in 1969 and 1970. I remember the BLP was feeling really good, but after the election, [late former Prime Minister] Tom Adams lamented that the ‘people followed us in the thousands but only voted in the hundreds’.

“In 1984 we lost the St Peter by-election and again the St Thomas byelection in 1985 but in 1986 we got 24 of the 27 seats and we could have won them all except [late former Prime Minister] Errol Barrow said he did not want all the seats because he said it would create a constitutional crisis in this country,” he declared.

The former Prime Minister assured party faithful there was no need to feel despondent over the latest loss, urging them not to “buy the nonsense coming from the prophets of gloom and doom” in the BLP and from social and mainstream media.

However, he did voice a major concern with the electoral lists.

“I have never experienced an election in Barbados that was not free, but I have experienced some that were not fair.

“So that it is a political imperative for any candidate running for any election – get some people around you who can help you keep those [electoral] lists up because therein lies potential danger. Let us get to work on those lists in our respective constituencies, see all the additions and deletions and make sure it all makes sense,” he said, also labelling the 2022 election as “free but not fair” due to the pandemic.

(CA)

Source Nation

14. Methinks Freundel is trying to finish Dem off.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

15. Is Alvin Toppin the DLP candidate courting or named to run in St.Lucy? It is hard to believe the executive of that branch would invite Stuart to address them post last week.

16. Every time that we conclude that Stuart and Stinkliar have gone away – and that there is a glimmer of hope that the DLP will survive …to screw us up again – after we can no longer take the BLP’s crap….
    One or both of them turn up, talking shiite – and REMINDING every one of their idiotic and amateurish incompetence…

Bushie had WARNED Thorne NOT to join the DLP … BUT to form a NDLP with a core of defectors (those with some basic common sense at least) …

But no!!…. He gone and jumped into the cesspool with a gallon of clorox, looking to perform a miracle…

Question for the day…
    Explain how we now have a graduate in every home, a car in every garage, $300 in every account…
    …and yet, – Barbados is at its worse since slavery… and going downhill…!!
    -Murder is now a daily occurrence..
    -Practically all of our politicians are DOCUMENTED liars…
    -There is ZERO HOPE of accountability – even when Millions in STEAL disappear
    -Where we are about to be ROBBED by Hardwood2 – BLP version
    -ete, etc

What a place!
    What a dilemma!
    …except that Isaiah 3 explains it all in GRAPHIC detail…

17. @ Bush Tea

There is the saying- “can’t see the forest for the trees”.

18. ”The former Prime Minister assured party faithful there was no need to feel despondent over the latest loss, urging them not to “buy the nonsense coming from the prophets of gloom and doom” in the BLP and from social and mainstream media.”

Prophets of gloom and doom? The party has failed to win any seat at an election, whether general or by-election in the past six years, the party squabbles are there for all to see and he is nonchalantly dismissing people criticising the state of the party?

Unbelievable…or maybe not.

But consider, the above is the raw and proven fact.

Now add if one may, the subjective view that there is no clearly able leader, nor even a leadership group from which one may be chosen and that makes his statement even more out of place.

Maybe that is the issue, that they do not even want to admit that there is one.

19. Who in their right mind believed Mia when she said that she would step away after two terms? Now she is blaming COVID among other issues, notice how COVID is being blamed for every shite….

Power is exhilarating and addictive, what was Mia going to do if she left office? She is not the stay at home and knitting type and although some were whispering about a potential job at a Global institution that would never materialize now that Trump is the new world boss.

Mia put the DLP in intensive care, Thorne pulled the plug.

20. It is fair to say a majority of Barbadians want to see a strong political opposition voice whether DLP or other.

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bush Tea May 26, 2025 at 7:58 am “Explain how we now have a graduate in every home, a car in every garage, $300 in every account…”

I just look in my garage, still no car.

Where my car?

Although a “gentleman” called me early one morning last week and promised me a free phone, a free car, and a free $800,000. Was that you calling Bushie?

22. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Bushie at 7:58 AM “…and yet, – Barbados is at its worse since slavery.”

My parents who were young adults with one child in 1937 told me that Barbados is not anywhere as badly off as it was in 1937.

Maybe both my parents were big -able liars.

23. I here listening to Down to Brasstacks.

David Ellis just named Barbados Underground Blog as part of the fourth estate.

24. It has been said that in the absence of opposition Bu is the opposition
    but the efficacy of Bu as opposition is questionable as Mia seems to thrive on it

25. Lorenzo
    David BU,as was stated many times people vote for a government not an opposition.People are free to vote for who they want and long may that continue.If the so called opposition leader who came to office under the bees cannot get the gems motivated to vote then he should step aside.All the 10 hour speeches and the talk of morality does not seem to be helping him.This is a guy who sat on the backbench apparently supporting the positions taken and all of a sudden decided to jump ship leaving some of his constituents in the dark.However,now speaks of morality.In my view something does not add up with that scenario.I gone.

26. Simply put the govt has engineer a well oiled political strategy to forever demonize the dlp
    A strategy which took foothold years after the 2013 campagain and still resonate as a bold truth in the minds of the people combined with a narrative ” the lost decade ”
    The dlp rather than put out a similar strategy which can hurt the govt given that govt has many times backpeddle on many of there policies
    Decided to fight amongst themselves fighting inward instead of outward
    Govt now ceases the opportunity and pleasantly sees the infighting as a gift handed to them using it against the dlp
    Can’t the dlp in its present state fight a govt well oiled PR machine,?

27. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

When Chad’s weight/size was mentioned by the opposition, I though it rather clever of the BLP to turn that around with a chant “go big or go home”

But I do worry about any obesity.

Not obese myself. Ground food, ground work, and a little meat now and then keeping things in check, and for decades now ZERO sweet drinks.

28. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

We lay people make jokes about lawyers, because only a lawyer would call a 500 page document a brief. The rest of us would call it a book.

I was not impressed by the 10 hour speech. Most of us lay people considered it a waste of time, so after the first 20 minutes or so we checked out.

Reminds me of a church I used to go to where the preacher spoke from the pulpit for at least an hour every Sunday. I checked out of there too, because when I go to church I am not taking lessons for a doctorate in theology, so stop with the long, long sermons then. I worship elsewhere now.

29. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@angela cox May 26, 2025 at 6:17 pm “The dlp rather than put out a similar strategy which can hurt the govt given that govt has many times backpeddle on many of their policies decided to fight amongst themselves fighting inward instead of outward.”

And why is this?

And how is the DLP going to stop the infighting? Because only the DLP can stop the infighting within the DLP.

30. Maybe both my parents were big -able liars.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    …Or perhaps they were “old blocks off the current chip”…?

31. @ Cuhdear
    It is a pity that you are not interested in politics.
    Bushie is SURE that you could easily displace Mia as the next Empress…

You have all the requirements.
    – Clueless of, and disinterested in, anything that takes up more than a page..
    – Known by, and knows all the ZR publics
    – Not fat and unhealthy looking (if a fella CANNOT manage his OWN health, …he could look after Bushies’???
    – You can talk shiite on ANY topic – but cannot cook 6 conkies for a bushman…
    in fact, can’t do a phang!.. but yuh know how others can do everything.
    – Most importantly, you are representative of the quintessential Bajan BB – so NUFF votes would be assured…

Bushie would be campaign manager fuh free….
    Just promise a ’senior minister’ pick when you win… wid a fancy office.

32. MIA forever

33. @Angela, The BLP demonised the DLP?

Really. While one could expect an apologetic line from Douglas Leopold Phillips, the above was not convincing.

No one but the DLP put it in the current position.

Of course the BLP will broadcast it, as would any other party.

34. @ac

You must remove the blinkers. The issue for the DLP is several fold. Inept leadership, a not for purpose/irrelevant internal political machinery and greed. All of this is undergirded by rampant relativism.

35. Bushie

“The percentage that said ‘piss off’ comprises those who REFUSED to vote, AS WELL As those who held their noses and voted for the OTHER set of jokers. See if Kiki can calculate that for us…”

You were the template for the cap! There therefore is no surprise that it fits you, perfectly. Refusal to vote does not automatically equate to dislike for a party or individual. The 50% voter turnout in the SJN by-election is on par with the 50% in the SGN by-election in 2020. We all know what happened in 2022. Based on the turn out and results so far, is there also BU, and by extension, Bushie apathy too?

36. @ David
    Actually, the problem with the DLP is IDENTICAL to the problem with the Anglican Church (ac)…
    The ac is essentially no different from the Catholic church, and the DLP is no different to the BLP – its parent.
    In both cases, there was a PERSONALITY clash some time ago, and the emerging personality put their own PERSONAL stamp on the breakaway organization.
    When these personalities died, the remnants just continued with the rituals – but these had no deep epistemological roots, and both will inevitably die also.

Meanwhile, the Catholic Church (Pope) is the religious mouthpiece of the world’s ALBINO-CENTRICS (ACs) and the BLP is that of the good old plantation party – featuring the Malmoney types, pulling strings in the background – in keeping with current realities.
    The DLP & ac – with nothing different to offer, just continue with personality clashes.

Our own ac is just caught up in a cesspool of confusion…
    She is;
    ac – Angela C
    ac – Anglican Church
    ac – Albino Centric
    ac – always cussing Bushie…

What an era in which to be alive!!

37. Who said anything about ‘dislike for a party or individual’ Enuff?
    Often, it becomes necessary to say ‘piss off’ to those we like – and even love.

The issue is whether that person is doing shiite or not…!

But seriously.
    Don’t you think that a party that garners 100% parliamentary wins SHOULD be focused on SERVING the needs of the electorate to the extent that AT LEAST 70% of the population is willing to publicly endorse their efforts?
    …especially AFTER bribing EVERYONE with $300, spending $$$thousands on PR, meetings, & handouts and committing to (unfulfillable) promises to Tom, Dick and Henry?

What are your party’s KPI targets like boss?
    Is the objective just to be ‘in powah forever’?
    ..by hook or crook…?

38. @Bush Tea

You know you’re is an idealistic if not simplistic view. A political party is in the business of nurturing popularity. Some may say at an extreme cost. Every now and again a leader will come along to calibrate a little in the favour of the masses.

39. Bush Tea
    May 27, 2025 at 7:40 am

Bushie, there is something profound in that. Pity the likes of Onion Bags, Amused and Bonny Peppa are not here to discuss that in depth.

I take your musing to basically posit the question, what do the current parties actually stand for?

You are bang to rights on the point that the DLP, publicly, does not have a position.

And the BLP, some may say rightfully, are simply using their winning position to continue just doing as they have.

But, what is the ultimate aim? It cannot be to let shootings continue. It cannot be to continue importing foodstuffs, with local production floundering. Etc.

40. David
    May 27, 2025 at 9:17 am

That is a rather raw view of things. Are we that cynical? Surely a political party should at least try to aim for some altruistic doings and its purpose must go beyond acquiring and maintaining power for the benefit of its leaders and members?

Corned beef and biscuits indeed.

I agree with Bushie, the primary focus should be the betterment of the nation. If that is not a core value, we are finished before we even start.

41. David
    May 27, 2025 at 6:32 am

You must remove the blinkers. The issue for the DLP is several fold. Inept leadership, a not for purpose/irrelevant internal political machinery and greed. All of this is undergirded by rampant relativism.

Xxxxxx
    Where in my comment did I found favour with what is happening within the dlp
    Lest you misread my thoughts I specifically made note of the dlp all but having become it’s own enemy

42. @Horsemeat

A political party is nothing more than a collection of people. What kind of timbre are these people made of? What kind of people are the two main political parties attracting to its membership? Has the culture of the two main parties become that hard that change within is elusive?

43. Wait I just seen Freundel went and open his mouth AGAIN when it was not wanted. If Freundel wants to help the Dems then do so by not being seen or heard around the party in any public event. Better yet tell everyone you have cross the floor and will be running on a B ticket next election! That should scare away nuff voters from voting B. As for the rest of the old political cadavers that help sink the party, wunna do the same and stand far. Remember if anyone ask wunna anything, all wunna on a B ticket next election!LOL

44. @John A

Blame the ones in the party that sent him an invitation to speak. It is amazing the lack of understanding people who aspire to lead the country possess.

45. Freundel Stuart was the last DLP winner and the DLP are a small group of old men who are his best friends and personal picks. He is the most qualified experienced respected person they have to speak to this closed knit self appreciation group who are living in the past not the present or future.

46. @ David
    Boss, the NATURE of these sessions is that SOMEBODY has to give a speech.
    As Bushie explained, the DLP has NO unique philosophical position that is different to the BLP – and there have been voted out of relevance by the sheeple..
    So what can they talk about…?
    – how they can get more loans than Mia?
    – how they will have fewer ministers than our massive crowd?
    – how many houses they will promise to build?
    WE ALL know their PERFORMANCE in such areas.

…so that leaves Froon to talk about the ‘glory days’ when HE was in ‘POWAH’… cause he NEVER had one shiite to say back then…

The BLP don’t waste time talking about strategic initiatives either – cause theirs is the same nothingness as the DLP’s… Just how many loans they have leveraged.

Our focus for the next decade is to come up with CREDITABLE proposals to BORROW money from Peter loan sharks (…and green initiatives and private sector transformation gets attention)…
    …and then we use THAT money to pay back the Paul loan sharks whose payments and interest are coming due as we speak…
    …so tell Thorne to STOP asking for big project updates do!!!

Our children will have to find THEIR OWN new schemes to borrow from Peters to pay back the Pauls…. Either THAT – or they will pay with their donkeys…

47. @ Bushie

If you are correct in that B and D are 2 ends of the same cloth, basically then the chance of any real diversification in our economy is slim. Both these parties see tourism as our only salvation and hence one can expect little in terms of change from either if one accepts your conclusion, which for the record I agree with.

Who then can we turn to that can create a Barbados that along with being a tourist destination, can feed its people and bring us to a point where tourism represents no more than 50% of our economic base in a truely diversified economy?

48. What we have in Barbados is a level of inertia with the two main political parties. Both have done a poor job of balancing narrow interests with national imperatives.