There is an understandable focus on escalating crime and violence in Barbados. A blind man on a trotting horse can see the lawlessness that is ‘feeding’ violent crime in the country. It is obvious civil society has no immediate workable solutions. Increasing the number of judges, assigning different cabinet ministers, marching up and down the streets like the Grand Old Duke of York, negotiating gang truce et cetera are predictably failing. The crime situation has become endemic, like a cancer that has taken hold in a part of the body and metastasising at an alarming rate. We will have to chop off the offending limb or die..

While the country is absorbed with conventional crime there is also the worrying trend of state crime that has also taken root. One glaring example has been the lack of compliance by successive governments to complete audited financial statements of a majority state owned entities (SOEs). To add to the alarming state of affairs has been the late submission of the 2023 Auditor General’s Report which had been one of the few beacons of excellence in government’s oversight process..

It is Wednesday March 26, 2025. The Annual Auditor General Report for 2023, still has not appeared. A “leak” occurred recently on a Special Report from that office.

On December 1, 2023; the former NIS transitioned to the NISSS. For publicly traded companies on the BSE, the production of an Annual Report within 3 months of year end, and an AGM shortly thereafter is standard. We still have not seen anything from the NISSS. (The end of Feb’25 was three months)

On August 23, 2023; the PM told the Nation several reports for the NIS, I believe 2010-2016, had been completed. The citizen owners of the NIS still haven’t seen one of those Reports.

There have been mumblings about the old Paradise Beach site. Recall, the Auditor General advised this administration of the GoB, they could not write off $124M associated with CBL, for there was an asset, the lands at Paradise, which was received as collateral for the loan guarantees provided. The matter of the land, we were told was “before the Courts”. What is the status?

I note Minister Duguid was able to make a Ministerial Statement about the various Holetown projects. Given the massive cost attributed to CBL, and the size and location of the lands at Paradise, this TOWERS above the lands in Holetown and Jemmotts lane combined. Surely a similar statement is required for Paradise? It is now 10 YEARS since CBL received those lands.

In the private sector large and especially best in class organizations allocate significant budget to establish a framework for reporting and compliance. This is considered important to ensure regulatory demands are complied with in a timely manner to avoid sanctions. In is not uncommon for a CEO to be fired for receiving an adverse or qulaified opinions on the financial statement or being sanction for failing to meet regulatory deadlines. Such is the importance given to these matters by well managed companies.

There is a governance framework established to hold governments accountable as well, however, due to its labyrinth nature and complex bureaucracy taxpayers continue to be the biggest losers. How are intelligent people unable to ignore a fact that-

The thigh bone’s connected to the hip bone 
The hip bone’s connected to the backbone 
The backbone’s connected to the neck bone

Source: Musixmatch

How do we hold government accountable before election day? Will this government be bold enough to insert the power of recall in the NEW Barbados Constitution? Do WE care that it is included? Do we understand that unless ALL actors in civil society are held to the same standards, it will inevitable lead to corruption, injustice, inequality and erosion of public trust?

62 responses to “How government is getting away with crime”

1. The rogue BLP has been breaking the Supreme Law of the land, the Constitution, since 2018.

30-0 is a nullity and masquerading as forming a constitutional Parliament in the absence of a leader of the opposition and the group to appoint him is a breach of that law.

2. But is it really ‘crime’ per se?
    Or are we victims of the ‘Peter Principle’ – which may be even worse than criminality?

What we actually have are a bunch of small-time players, who got together and played partisan political games with this country (and also in many others).

In our case, these ‘games’ saw the DLP set of assletes – who were COMPLETELY outclassed by the BLP team of albino-centric money lovers…. but ONLY because the voters are THEMSELVES a bunch of selfish, money-focused-at-any cost, BBs who are quite happy to place PRINCIPLES WELL below personal profits.

Unfortunately, the world is now a COMPLEX, DANGEROUS, FAST-CHANGING, TECHNOLOGY-INFESTED, (and now TRUMP-challenged) cess-pit of trouble…
    Trouble that is WELL beyond the pay-grade of ANYONE currently in government bout here…

So, just like ANY Parro faced with the high cost of living, the dangers of living on the streets, the mis-trust of family members, and the INABILITY TO COPE, we are going deeper and deeper into debt – KNOWING THAT WE CANNOT REPAY, while still begging for meals and selling ANYTHING WE HAVE (including our asse[t]s), just to be able to stave off those predators who we have owed now for YEARS…..

LOL …We have more ‘ministers’ than policemen, but nothing demonstrates and reinforces our ‘Peter Principle situation’ better than the promotion of our MOST CLUELESS and non-performing ministers to ’SENIOR’ status….
    – Infrastructure
    – Hospital
    – Home Affairs
    – Water / Roads / Transportation

No wonder Dwight is doing so much shiite with Housing, obviously he is looking for a senior pick too…
    ..like the wifey who left the QEH in a mess to become a big-up in Africa..
    This MUST give us great cause for hope that the Afriximbank thingie will turn out to be a great success…!!

What a place..
    What a mess..

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

And yet, some of those private entities are engaging in similar lawlessness, and adopting public sector solutions to their lack of accountability; an independent report, frequently overseen by the same people under investigation.
    The typical response on the island, is to compare to elsewhere and note similar breakdowns. We en no wusser dan dem. And today, it is “take your pick” for it isn’t difficult to find.
    And often it is, as if some tyrant suddenly emerged. While the breakdown has been piece by piece over time. And across many sectors. They are given a pass. Or in lingo “wha yuh want muh to do”. Until it is outta control.
    And the solutions become as elusive, as the causes were to spot. Only by now, a level of vindictive retribution is associated. It was before too, but convincing ourselves otherwise, was calming, “tings gine wuk demselves out”. We got this.
    And nobody is at fault, it just stop so and holla ply. And dig down, and examples will flow how they (whoever “they” are) did the same thing, and it was ok. Ipso facto, two or more wrongs make it ok. And in several situations it has gone on for so long, we cannot even identify when it began.
    So lewwee talk bout Trump, causin there is a system going bad. We en nutting like dem. To besides we gine blame he anyways. You got a rum?

4. “The thigh bone is connected to the hip bone
    The hip bone is connected to the backbone
    The backbone is connected to the neck bone”

I have seen this her before and I like it now as I like it then. It is an apt description of the numerous issues that we discuss one at a time… all are connected,

It is this connection that makes me wonder if we will ever solve of our problems. Fixing one place may only cause a next break in another.
    Travel on

5. @ Northern

You observations are very valid and should be of genuine concern to ALL Bajans, sadly however a large percentage of our people just don’t care “cause I still got money in my pocket.” There is also no one educating them as to our reality, be it the opposition or fourth estate.

Further to your concerns however is my concern that we just had a budget with estimates of expenditure, based on more than half the state assets not presenting up to date financials for years. So anyone with a molecule of sense would ask how could these estimates and budget bare reality? When and for how much will major subsidies (hand outs) be asked for by these unaudited entities during this financial year? How will these hand outs be financed based on the already swollen deficit? Can we expect a sizable GRANT NOT LOAN from the recently gifted African Bank?

Is their any truth to the rumor that the new bank will be acting as the state bank going forward? If so what securities have we pledged, or was the Jemmonts Lane property actually given as security against a facility to be offered? Lord so many questions and no answers.

Also of concern should be our 2025 summer arrivals from the USA. With people uncertain of their jobs and the economy, what can we expect from the domestic US tourism market over the rest of the year? This is no time for a small island like us to play fast and loose with our financial reality. These unaudited entities need either to present audited up to do financials over the next 3 months, or demand audits need to be done on ALL OF DEM. We can not go on with this nonsense that we have accepted and one could argue even encouraged!

Also what cost of living increases can we expect from Trumps Tariffs and shipping fees on Chinese vessels? I heard the PM talking about capping the freight for customs purposes which is well and good, however this will do nothing to help with the increased price of the item due to tariffs etc, along with actual freight increases if the country of origin is the USA and the products are from tariffed countries. Also WHEN NOT IF these price increases are seen on the shelf, do not blame either the merchant or the PM as the matter is way out of their hands.

I don’t think people understand what challenges lie ahead. Anyhow Reggae pun de hill soon hey so all will be well.

6. CBC Barbados workers to be severed today ?

7. The march.

8. John boy marching with a sign Adio Pile-Agard. He doesn’t miss a March.

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    I have no expectation most Bajans will give a rats ass. It will fix itself.
    A Judge in France today found a Party Leader guilty of embezzlement, along with members of the EU Parliament and their assistants.
    Oh shirt.
    They were redirecting funds….wonder where I have heard that term recently?
    And the RH US State Department, not one of Trump’s flunkies, offering commiseration.
    Of course it was ‘political’, for no RH Party Leader would ever attempt to embezzle funds that were not theirs. And even if they did, they were merely ‘trussing them’. And the Judge had the audacity to remark, the law is the law. Murdah.

On court cases, whatever happened to the former Deputy Speakers case?

10. @ Northern

What case? What happened to so much other things that fizzled out like a wet firework? Things that we were promised AS A MATTER OF URGENCY. NISS Audit, Four Seasons update, HOPE report and on and on I could go. Where dem is?

I think we have reached the stage where explanations are not due and reports are simply a formality of the past. So we flying by wire and hoping we can land without crashing. I like you am not happy with what is going on, but sadly we are the minority when it comes to such concerns it seems.

As I said to David before when you see serious topics like this barely with 12 comments and if a MP get catch with another woman it would bring 300, you know the society we have. Problem is the politicians know it too so all they have to do is wait it out..

11. Johnson
    March 31, 2025 at 1:32 pm

John boy marching with a sign Adio Pile-Agard. He doesn’t miss a March.

I could not miss it because the shooting of a 13 year old with such an innocent face beggared belief and I could only have thought the worst of the youth in Barbados had I not gone.

But, I discovered the child was used as a human shield.

It is only hearsay but I believe it.

I glad I went and found out for myself.

I hope and pray the eyewitnesses fearlessly tell the police the names of the two killers.

You should have gone too.

12. Rowe’s case was rescheduled until next month.

13. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

AFTER WE HAVE WALKED A USELESS, CROOKED MILE – #ThenWHAT***

Where are the “CONSCIENTIOUS VIGILANTES”???

We are not even trying to infer a “TOOTH 4 A TOOTH” or a “LIFE 4 A LIFE” but a form of “VIGILANTISM” that says: #HELL_NO – “NOT IN MY NEIGHBOURHOOD” or “ON OUR WATCH”!!!

WHERE ARE THE STRENGTH IN NUMBERS???

After “MASS PROTESTS” – then ratchet-UP* 2 the next level of “CIVIL DISOBEDIENCE” with some prepared to face down the “UNLAWFUL, SUPPOSED LAW BREAKERS” who “UNJUSTLY” claim 2 be defenders & upholders of the said “LAWS” they violent break without batting an eyelid!!!

#ThoseDirtyBasterds

PEACE IS NOT THE ABSENCE OF WAR – NEITHER CAN TYRANNY BE ALLOWED 2 STAND IN THE FACE OF WHAT IS JUST & TRUE

You cannot get what you have “NEVER” had if you are not willing to do what you have “NEVER” done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHERE IS THE WILL* – WHERE IS THE BACKBONE*

#NoAnswerRequired

SHAME, SHAME ON A PEOPLE WHOSE GOD IS THE LORD* BUT YET THEY ARE PATENTLY CLUELESS

#WhatASadCommentary

#WhatACuntry

#WhatANationOfFOOLS*

#WELCOME2APRILFOOLSDAY, y’all

#Time2DeportSomeSUCKERS

14. @John
    “You should have gone too.”
    That phrase really caught me by surprise…
    A reminder that each of us has a part to play in the national dialogue.
    Simple and elegant.
    I will be in Barbados later this year and in circumstances like that one, I too will march.

15. Reports, reports, reports! I repeat, of what use are reports when no action will be taken on the basis of said reports?

The USA had plenty of reports lately. Trump is now president.

Look, my comparison to the colonial masters is simply to point out that we must away with the white man’s mythology of superior systems. Those countries are corrupt, corrupt, CORRUPT! Their governments are not working for ninety-nine percent of their citizens. Whitemanitus is the disease, not the cure.

We must stop looking to them for ready-made solutions to our problems! This is the time for us to dig deep within ourselves and develop new mindsets. And then to ACT and demand ACTION! Consistently, persistently, insistently!

16. John can find an excuse for every black American murdered by police and white vigilantes.

John Knox has an ulterior motive for his marching.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

Donna
    The purpose of Reports is to make those, the people entrusted with operating and decisions, accountable for their actions. And to provide the electorate with a verified account of their actions.
    How can we act, to demand action, when nobody has verified knowledge of what is going on?
    It is approaching 20 years since the last NIS Report was laid before the House. It occured 4 Prime Minister’s ago under OSA.
    People only Act, when they can tie the consequences of actions to themselves. As @ac would say, even a blind man on a trotting horse knew the SD of 2018 was hurting the NIS. But it wasn’t until some of that hurt became real in changes in 2023, that some do-do hit the fan.
    The GoB is a continuing entity, irrespective of who the currently elected administrators are. You think a certain currently elected person’s clients didn’t benefit greatly by having the taxpayers of Barbados pay their debts? Instead of paying the NIS $124M, they chose to pay the Bank of Scotland et al. What was the benefit to you?

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

And because it is current

Many will have read headlines like “LePen guilty of Embezzlement” or similar.

But, what was embezzled?

“LePen and other National Rally party officials stood trial for having used money intended for European Union parliamentary aides instead to pay staff who worked for the party between 2004 and 2016, violating the 27-nation bloc’s regulations.”

Kindly note…the offences occured between 2004-2016. It is now 2025.

Yet, another question, far less addressed in media coverage, is HOW were they discovered?

The answer is Reports. Via Reports, it was pieced together, persons receiving these funds, actually worked FOR the Political Party, not the person elected (parliamentarian).

In layman’s terms, the monies were misdirected, and since never repaid, they were deemed stolen.

The fact Ms LePen wasn’t “in power” or was never “in power” was irrelevant.

A reminder the CBL Act was 2011. The guarantees paid on defaulted loans around 2013. The redirection of NIS premiums for public employees, circa 2015-2018(?). The Reports from CBL explaining the guarantees/defaults; Never. The legislation to permit redirection of Premiums; Never. But since the NIS was given J-Bonds for the premiums redirected (we’ve never had audited confirmation of either) they were not stolen.

19. A critical piece in the watchdog process is the media. Many of our journalists do not have the nous to expose these kinds of matters and the ones who do are constrained by ‘boundaries’ of culture.

20. Again, you miss my point! You really believe that I need a lecture on why reports are important. Steupse!

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

I was actually hoping you might dig deep, and share some of the brilliance of the newly developed mindset with the blog.
    We can all learn.

22. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

EVERY GOV ON EARTH* IS DOOMED FOR APOCALYPTIC DESTRUCTION – FOR YESHUA THE MESSIAH (#KingOfKINGS* & #LordOfLORDS*) WILL NO LONGER PUT UP WITH THE NASTY, STINKING MESS THAT MEN CONTINUE TO CREATE ON THE EARTH – #4TimeHasRunOut

“And it came to pass in those days that a decree went out from Caesar Augustus that all the world should be “TAXED”. So all went to be registered, everyone to his own city…” (Luke 2:1-7)

“BRAINLESS” & “CEREBRALLY COMPROMISED” critics argue that the #GospelOfLuke “may” (“SOWN SEEDS OF DOUBT”), contain inaccuracies regarding the “TIMING” & “SCOPE” of the census given that the said census mentioned in Luke is often associated with the “CENSUS OF QUIRINIUS”, which took place in 6 CE, & was specific to the Roman Province of Judaea – as historical records suggest that there was no single decree from #CaesarAugustus that required a “UNIVERSAL TAX REGISTRATION” across the entire Roman Empire!!!

FOR THOSE WHO CHOSE 2 NAVEL-GAZE OVER THE HISTORICAL VERACITY OF THE HOLY SCRIPTURES – LET THEM BE; FOR THE SAID SCRIPTURES OPINE, THAT “WHAT HAS BEEN WILL BE AGAIN & THERE IS NO NEW THING UNDER THE SUN” (Eccles 1:9)

If the “CYCLICAL NATURE” of “PROPHECY” suggest that what was once declared will “MANIFEST” again – then “WELCOME TO THE DAYZ OF CAESAR AUGUSTUS 2.0” & what will “FOLLOW”!!!

#TheApearanceOfYESHUA_THE_MESSIAH* to rule this world with a “ROD OF IRON”!!!

For many on this “ILLUSTRIOUS DAY” (#April2025) marks the beginning of a period in human history that will “PROVE ALL THINGS TRUE”, according to “HOLY WRIT”!!!

#DonaldJTrump for most is a “MARMITE CHARACTER”… You either “LUV ‘EM” or you “LOATHE HIM”!!!

The #PoorGUY* is being led around by his 2 & 3 quarter ear & is frankly “CLUELESS” of the call of “DIVINE DESTINY” – as was most who have occupied (UN) hallowed seats in the “SYNAGOGUE OF SATAN”!!!

Daniel 4:17 opines: “This MATTER* is by the DECREE* of #TheWatchers, and the DEMAND* by the word of the #HolyOnes (A SPECIFIC BATTALION OF THE ANGELIC HOST WHO HAVE PRIMACY OVER THE EARTH & OVER MANKIND): to the INTENT* that the “LIVING” may “KNOW” that “THE MOST HIGH” RULETH IN THE KINGDOM OF MEN, and GIVETH* it to WHOMSOEVER* He will, and “SETTETH UP OVER IT #TheBasestOfMen”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YOUR LEADERS SINCE TIME IMMEMORIAL HAVE BEEN THE VERY BOTTOM OF THE BARREL – the “BASEST” of metals; easily corroded, corrupted & cankered – (exceptions being “THOSE” who were “ANOINTED” for “DIVINE PURPOSES” & fulfilled their mandate to the letter & spirit of the “LAW”) – all else, has been “MERE DUNG” (REFUSE FOR THE GROWING PILE @ MOUNT STINKEROO)!!!

Today, THE ENTIRE WORLD WILL BE TAXED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The last time the “WHOLE WORLD WAS TAXED” fell between 6 & 4 BCE – with some theories suggesting that it happened around late November in 5 or 1 BCE…

Whatever the date, counting backwards shows that almost 2000 years has “ELAPSED” given that “YESHUA THE MESSIAH” was born around that time as His mother Mary & her husband Joseph had to make the journey to pay the “TAX” (TRUE FULFILLMENT OF PROPHETIC SCRIPTURE)!!!

Almost 2000 years later, a similar “DECREE” has been “ISSUED” using 21st century vernacular – “TARIFFS” which is a “DUTY” (TAX) imposed by the government of a country & in this case, “THE MODERN-DAY ROMAN EMPIRE” whose buildings, architecture, GOV* & all the rest of it is a “CARBON COPY” of ancient “PAGAN ROME”!!!

In AD 27, YESHUA BEGAN HIS MINISTRY AS PROPHET*, PRIEST* & KING* & though “REJECTED” by His own (STARTING WITH THE BLACK ISRAELITES OF HIS DAY) – today, “ALL THE WORLD” still “REJECT HIM” (#BarAHandful)!!!

2027 will be a stupendous year in earth’s history – (FOR THOSE WHO WILL MAKE IT THUS FAR given the “HANDWRITING ON THE WALL) which suggest that earth’s “POPULATION” is about to be slashed by “ONE-THIRD” in a very short time span!!!

The remaining “TWO-THIRDS” will experience what the “HOLY SCRIPTURES” call the “TRIBULATION PERIOD” & no man alive on the day after April Fools Day can even begin to comprehend what this coming world will be like!!!

For those “BRAVE ENOUGH”, “OPENMINDED ENOUGH” & curious as to what I am saying this morning: “READ REVELATION CHAPTER 18”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Do not be “DECEIVED” by M.A>G.A< (Donald Trump et al) or any other "DECEPTIVE HUMAN ANOMALY" – #Tariffs is about to bring "STARVATION" on an unprecedented scale, not ever seen (INCLUDING THE GREAT DEPRESSION OF THE 1930s) or the "1918 SPANISH FLU PLANDEMIC" (for the 7 years of "LEAN" as prophesied in Genesis 41 when "PRINCE JOSEPH" interpreted Pharoah's dream where "7 FAT & HEALTHY COWS" coming out of the Nile River, followed by "7 THIN & UGLY COWS" that ate the healthy ones!!!

What follows right alongside "TARIFFS" will be #WorldWarTHREEE* (A CONTINUATION OF #WW2) that will remove "3 BILLIONS SOULS" in a puff of smoke!!!

WELCOME 2 THE BOOK OF ELI ON STEROIDS" – proving #Hollywoodesque "FICTION" true 2 life & the "FALLOUT" – #Apocalyptic4Humanity!!!

#StayTuned

#StayFocused

#StayPrepared

#LookUP* – "REDEMPTION DRAWS NIGH"

23. Why waste my time on old men when there are young people who need my attention? You can’t teach an old dog new tricks!

My son is yet a young pup. And so is his girl. You can rest assured that we are digging deeper every day.

24. Original Foreign Mind :
    You don’t need a Bible book to interpret the psychology of Trump’s whip / abuse of power and Anti-miscegenation sentiments. It is intuitivley easy to discredit the reemergence of racist white trash nonsense rampant in Amerikkka. A love revolution of sexual creative energy began in 60s, 60 year ago, which is when Son of Man 2.0 touched down on planet earth again and he is an undercover lover chilling like Dylan meditating contemplating anticipating a non-dual spiritual revolution for the higher mind body and soul.

A Big Tune :
    Foreign Mind, War & Crime, Get Ready For Dub,
    Tribute To C S Dodd, Reggae Music

25. William Skinner Avatar

1. We need to get past the old theme : how the youth get so ; why they dress so and listen to them. Our young people are highly creative and energetic but they are tired of being blamed and branded as useless because of the actions of a minority of them.
    2. There seems to be a trend of families losing more than one family member to violent crime sometimes with in rather short periods . We need a modern family advice unit to assist parents who are having difficulty with their children. This unit should not be only concerned with wayward children but also encompass the broader challenges of parenting. It should be managed by experts and not political favors.
    Right now, we’re just spinning top in mud. We need to be more realistic to the changes in the country. The communities cannot be the same as those of the 50s, 60s and 70s. They cannot return.

26. Whitemanitis is hard to cure in the old. And I am called to the young! That is my gift.

My son also has a gift. He has friends in Silver Hill AND Gall Hill. And Silver Hill and Gall Hill ain’t no friends. Ask Amir! Not a mean feat to navigate those treacherous waters as a teenager.

I won’t get into the details of the stories that freaked me out when he told me only AFTER he left school in that area, but after I calmed down, I realised that this gift should not be wasted.

The one thing I regret in life is not caring enough about money. In Barbados, I have found that if one wants to make a real difference, one needs to be in control of some serious purse strings so that you can do it your way – PROPERLY.

It is too late for me to fill my bucket with rainwater. It is not too late for my son. We are digging deep to make that difference. Cultivation of the new mindset is well in progress!

But in the meantime, google Burkina Faso! From West Afrika we came and to West Afrika we must return, not just for our history (and not twistory) but for new mindsets! (Well us, maybe not you. But you said you can learn, so….)

Away with whitemanitus! This myth of superior Western civilisation is our no. 1 problem!

“Liberation Day”, the Day of Tariffs is here! And with it falls empire! (eventually) Let us emancipate ourselves from mental slavery!

27. “Right now, we’re just spinning top in mud. We need to be more realistic to the changes in the country. The communities cannot be the same as those of the 50s, 60s and 70s. They cannot return.”

Agree
    Indeed, the 60’s and 70’s should only be confined to bouts of nostalgia and pleasant memories. We have come a long way since then.

I am willing to bet that donkey carts are ‘extinct’ and that there is no one rushing to hop on one of them. Modern luxurious vans and cars are now a part of our landscape.

I remember a group of us standing outside of a shop and looking at the TV in the window. This may have been common back then but now most homes have at least one television. Sadly, this advancement has also been reflected in the games kid play; once it was a gun made with wood and the inner tube of a bicycle, now kids have the real thing. A young child can now stay in Barbados and chat/play with a child at the other end of the earth. “Next door” can be hundred or miles away.

And look at the advances in technology, where everything can now reside on a phone. A young child can now go on youtube and access more music than Redifusion had in it best days (did I get that spelling right Redifusion)

The kids of today face a much more complicated and different world. The 60’s and 70’s are gone. They are not even as fantastic as we remember them.

The old world is gone, remember it as you would wish it to be, but don’t try to make your faulty imaginings the reality of our youth. T

28. “Why waste my time on old men”
    That did not turn out as I expected….
    I was here ready to say “You go girl. Let the cougar loose”
    Now, I must wait on cuhdear to tell us of her exploits.
    Have a great day

29. Goeht,

Dirty old women are as distasteful to me as dirty old men. Age is more than a number, no matter what they say. Being logical AND practical, I don’t pretend to be other than my age. I am aging gracefully, not trying to recapture my youth or capture anybody else’s youth.

I think of our young boys as my children. Indeed, when I step out these days, I answer to their respectful “mum”. And MOST of them are very respectful to me. It is indeed a small minority causing the trouble. It really shouldn’t be beyond us to fix it.

Barbados Today’s editorial is worth reading.

30. William Skinner Avatar

Imagine we keep bragging about tourism and the need to revitalize it. Nobody thought about turning hundreds of acres into recreating an authentic village as a place where tourists could visit and literally stay in the chattel houses and experience that now disappearing part of our culture.
    Meanwhile, Grenada created an underwater museum/ park that was an instant hit !
    Now it would perhaps be asked : what that has to do with crime. Well, to fight crime there must be vision; people must see creativity and inclusivity. The protection of one’s history and culture inculcates a sense of oneness within a people. Create jobs that are sustainable and good earnings. And if we are putting all our money eggs in one basket( tourism) make sure they are not addled.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Based on prior posts, I suspect we are separated by less than a few years. Anyways you delight in perjoritive terms. A focus upon youth is always welcomed, for hopefully their generations can achieve more than ours. Wherever that may be.

While mental emancipation is beyond my expertise, I cannot say it isn’t a worthwhile goal. Not that you should recall; my post grad thesis was titled “Debt: Incarceration Without Walls”. While different, it speaks to an entrapment difficult to see (for some).

I believe there are beneficial practices to be found in many places. And yet, without accountability, we are spinning top in the mud. Nobody likes it, for it begs difficult questions; exposing our mistakes or errors, and even our successes. It is not the reporting at fault, it is how we use it. Rest assured, a failure to report, is a failure to account. Only those with something to hide, can justify a failure to report.

32. Preaching morality: Solution or deflection?

Morality has rocketed to the top of Barbados’ political agenda, if recent speeches from the leaders of the nation’s two main political parties are any indication.
    Both Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne have framed their visions for the country in moral and spiritual terms, calling for a return to wholesome values and a renewed emphasis on ethics.
    Yet, while their rhetoric may resonate with some, it raises pressing questions: Is this a genuine strategy for national renewal, or merely a deflection from more systemic failures? And can moral appeals alone address the deep-seated crises facing Barbados today? The renewed emphasis on morality is not coincidental. It follows the horrific murder of a schoolboy at a community sporting event last month – an act that shocked the nation and intensified public fears over rising crime. In response, both leaders have pointed to a decline in national values, suggesting that Barbados has strayed from some golden age of virtue.
    Prime Minister Mottley, addressing the challenges of rising homicide rates during her administration, seems to be exploring spiritual solutions after other approaches have had limited success. Her government has previously called for national days of prayer, though their impact on reducing crime has been hard to measure.
    However, this approach may come across as a reiteration of past efforts rather than a new, effective solution. Church attendance has been declining for decades, first eroded by television, then accelerated by social media, and further weakened by the pandemic. While Barbados has not seen the mass closures of churches common in some Western nations, empty pews are now the norm.
    To her credit, Mottley sought earthly advice through a National Advisory Committee on Citizen Security six months ago. However, with limited visible progress from this body, the government’s shift towards moral encouragement may be seen by some as less of a strategic move and more a sign of frustration that other efforts have failed to bear fruit.
    Thorne, meanwhile, has made morality a central theme of his political messaging. Unlike previous party leaders, he openly discusses his personal faith, openly referencing prayer and divine guidance. At a recent gathering, he framed the next general election as a choice between “money or morality,” positioning himself as a champion of ethical governance.
    But what does this actually mean in practice? If Thorne were to lead the next government, would he truly prioritise morality over economic necessity? Could he ensure that his ministers would resist corruption when faced with financial temptation? These are not abstract questions — they strike at the heart of governance. Many Barbadians face daily dilemmas between survival and integrity, particularly in an economy still recovering from pandemic shocks and global instability. Thorne’s moral posturing, while politically appealing, lacks concrete policy underpinnings.
    The narrative of declining values is not unique to Barbados. Leaders across the world frequently lament that society is becoming less ethical than in some idealised past. But is this perception accurate, or is it a psychological illusion? In the United States, Gallup polls consistently show that citizens believe moral values are deteriorating. When asked to identify the biggest moral problem in the country, respondents most often cite a lack of consideration for others. Yet, as psychologists Adam Mastroianni and Daniel Gilbert have demonstrated, this belief is nearly universal across cultures and eras. Their research suggests that people persistently – and incorrectly – believe that past generations were more virtuous.
    Is Barbados truly less moral today? Are young Barbadians really less able to distinguish between right and wrong than their parents and grandparents, as the PM suggests? Or are we simply more attuned to societal problems thanks to 24-hour news cycles and social media? Take littering, for example: Is it really worse now, or are we just more conscious of environmental degradation, or is there more packaging to dispose of? Similarly, while violent crime is undeniably rising, is this due to a loss of values, or to the proliferation of illegal firearms and widening economic disparities? The danger in framing societal crises as purely moral failures is that it absolves policymakers of responsibility.
    If this nation is to reverse its current trajectory, its leaders must focus on tangible interventions in areas such as economic inequality by providing goodpaying jobs, education reform with some focus on ethical reasoning and critical thinking, gun control and law enforcement, and transparency and accountability.

Source: BT

33. CBC (CA) is reporting that Barbados is among the countries that Trump has applied Global Tariffs against.

34. Digikiller
    More “developed” countries have more crime and jails and talk about jailbird rights

Artist : Leroy Smart / I Roy / Revolutionaries
    Title : Marcus / Tribute To Marcus Garvey / Marcus Garvey Version
    Label : Channel One / Deeper Knowledge

35. Ministry relooking grooming policy

THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATIONAL TRANSFORMATION will be reviewing the National Grooming Policy following public concerns about student appearance.

Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw recalled yesterday the policy was revised two years ago during the post-COVID-19 period when many boys had grown and styled their hair differently during school closures.

“During that time, several of our boys grew their hair out. They used to have their hair plaited and so on,” she said.

“There was a need for us to relook the grooming policy at that time.”

Archer-Bradshaw was speaking ahead of a meeting with student council representatives at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.

The 2023 National Grooming Policy was developed through extensive consultation with various stakeholders, including religious leaders, students, parents, principals, teachers and union representatives. It was specifically designed to avoid discrimination against students with natural hair, including boys with longer natural hairstyles.

“What was said very clearly in the policy was that there was a need for all children to be neat and tidy,” Archer-Bradshaw said.

“So, yes, we allowed the boys to wear their hair long. They could have their hair plaited in corn row, or they could have Rastafarians who can have their hair open, without tams.”

However, complaints from the public regarding student appearance have prompted the need for further consultation. She said the ministry must “fully understand whether it (the complaints) is linked to the colonial ties” or whether “persons don’t have an appreciation for black hair, and what does neat and tidy mean in a modern, Barbadian context”.

Minister of Educational Transformation Senator Chad Blackman said traditional grooming standards had been framed by colonial perspectives.

“A lot of our grooming and deportment has been wrongly based on a very colonial frame. As we move forward as a country that is independent and a republic, a country that is confident in its own skin, we have to now define for ourselves what is the best mode of dress in business, in school,” he said.

God-given hair

“We should not penalise naturally what God has given to us. If our hair grows a certain way, then it should grow a certain way because neat does not mean European,” he said.

While affirming that the ministry would not revert to previous restrictive policies, Blackman called on parents to ensure their children maintained appropriate standards of appearance.

“If you’re sending your child to school, you have a duty to ensure that your child or your ward leaves home in [a manner] that is tidy, that they carry the highest level of deportment.”

He noted that proper grooming extends beyond hairstyles to include overall appearance, such as tucked-in shirts and polished shoes. He said while students now have “liberty to be yourself”, school “is not a fashion show” or “about coming to school looking untidy”.

Blackman also announced plans to produce videos to guide parents through educational transformation efforts, including proper deportment standards. He acknowledged the challenge in defining universal standards.

“Tidy to you might be untidy to another and vice versa. There has to be a middle ground that Barbados settles on,” he said.

(DDS)

Source: Barbados

36. One day coming soon.

Dominica’s protests

WHEN SCORES OF CARIBBEAN people assemble in determined protest to obstruct the debate on a bill and struggle with police officers to remove metal barricades protecting Parliament, and when they are unbowed by tear gas and rubber bullets, undoubtedly an extra-ordinary moment of political contradiction is unfolding.

Such events are rare and require understanding. They cannot be dismissed as “partisan motivated” or as the work of disgruntled leaders. As Leon Trotsky has taught: “A mass uprising is no isolated undertaking, which can be conjured up any time one pleases. It represents an objectivelyconditioned element in the development of a revolution, as a revolution represents an objectively-conditioned process in the development of society”. The only explanation for the mass uprising is the mass uprising itself. The above provides a lens for discussing the protests in Dominica on March 19, when large numbers assembled to denounce the tabling of a series of electoral reform bills in the Parliament. Their gathering resulted in pitched battles with the police, captured in videos showing evidence of state violence inclusive of punching, tear-gassing, and the firing of rubber bullets.

It is not every day that “respectable church ladies” will confront the police in close quarters over an impending law. The protest, therefore, should not be disparaged, as was done by Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit, on the basis that they were led by “a group of activists who hold no constitutional authority”.

Negative features

What indeed was being observed, was a definitive politico-cultural struggle determined to transform, not only the electoral laws but the intangible democratic-cultural environment which has been established in the Caribbean since the 1990s. This “environment” contains negative features such as vote-buying, paid election consultants and “strategists”, loose election financing rules, and the dominance of “fêtes” rather than issue-based campaigns.

Electoral reform

Any suspicion of the Dominican government’s motives in engaging in electoral reform cannot be divorced from the disquiet around the waytoo-early election in 2022, in imitation of a similar decision by Barbados’ Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, despite the generous mandate and the several years of political domination by the Dominica Labour Party (DLP), aimed solely at annihilating the already hamstrung opposition.

Prime Minister Roosevelt’s Skerrit’s taunt “about those who boycotted the election” is therefore suggestive of his inability to fully grasp the historical moment that presented itself to Dominica in the protests.

The democratically mature response to a mass uprising is to halt, temporarily the decision that caused the protest. The second step is to organise a genuinely open forum for compromise. In our small, closely inter-woven societies, tear gas and rubber bullets should not be a substitute for dialogue and discussion.

Thirdly, honest acknowledgement of the history of sustained one-sided electoral victories must be the starting point of any reform. It must be acknowledged that there can be no democracy without democrats. Will the democrats please stand up?

Tennyson Joseph is Associate Professor of Political Science at North Carolina Central University.

Email tjoe2008@live.com

37. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WHY ARE YOUR GOVs NOT ALLOWING #HardScience TO BE THE CATALYST WHICH ALLOWS THE REPURPOSING OF COMMON DRUGS TO BE USED IN THE PARADIGMATIC EMERGENCE OF TURBO CANCERS IN OUR SOCIETIES SINCE THE SNAKE VENOM USED AS A JAB DURING THE COVID-19 PLANDEMIC

Do not tell me that what we are witnessing TODAY* in the arena of pathophysiology based on “TURBO CANCERS” is not “NEO-EUGENICS” – an egomaniacal, evil scientific drive towards “POPULATION DECIMATION”!!!

IF YOU ARE NOT PISSED OFF – YOU ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTION (but then we know why)

Let’s hear Dr. John Campbell et al

38. You would say it is a simple addition and should be easy to follow, but, somehow the count of the number of homicides in Barbados causes me problems.

One day it is 11 and I close my eyes and open them and I see the number is 15. Aren’t there numbers between 11 and 15? What became of those numbers.

I stopped listening to government numbers of any type. I don’t want to see the reports NO is waiting for and now…. I no longer follow the homicide numbers. I just give up, gave up. I am done.

Nothing makes sense.

39. Amit and the blogmaster advised previously that we update the homicide # based on media reports. Stephen Miller was killed on March 31st which moved the number to 13, there was a double fatal stabbing at Foul Bay on Monday, 13+2.

It is not difficult to understand if your ear is kept close to the news.

40. Guilty as charged! I do delight in perjorative terms WHEN MERITED.

You aren’t going to take snide little jabs at me (while totally missing my point) without an appropriate response. You aren’t a bad whitey. But you still suffer from a slight case of whitemanitis. As the blog discovered, even Lawson, who does not hate black people, has a more than slight case of it. At least he has shame enough not to return after I forced him to face it. All is not lost with him. A little history (not twistory) of Africans and “African-Americans” would set him straight. I actually miss his joking around.

My antagonism is not against the White, but for the White White West and its white supremacist system. We ALL are victims of it. When a “civilisation” is built on the basis of lies we ALL suffer, even the poor whites who cling to notions of superiority whilst living totally mediocre lives and voting against their own interests, even the billionaires, who can’t understand why they are miserable with all that money. The poor fools miss out on the joys of making a better world. I mean, look at Elon Musk! Does he seem happy? I think MLK was happier.

Only the truth can set us free.

P.S. If you think I’m bad, you should compare me to the Pachamama. Hahahaha! He’s done you far worse than I have.

41. David,
    I think you misunderstood my statement.
    It was not my intention to cast aspersions on the accuracy or veracity of your count. I am sorry if it came over that way. I have full confidence in both of you (100%).

My problem is that the actual count is moving too fast for me to fully understand them. For me it is much more complicated than adding 11+4. It is a Barbados that I cannot wrap my head around. I had great difficulty when St Lucy was the murder capital of Barbados. Some things are just hard to accept/admit.
    Reality is a bitch.

42. @Goeht
    “Some things are just hard to accept/admit.
    Reality is a bitch.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, you need to get yourself a seatbelt and fasten it!
    You ain’t seen NOTHING yet….

Unfortunately, like it or not, Terence is the closest to ACTUAL reality on the blog.

What an era!!

43. About guns in Barbados…
    It had to be more than 40 years ago when a very good friend called me to his window. And when I got to window I saw that he was showing me a gun. An ordinary Bajan with a real live gun pointing at me. His version of show and tell.

That was over 40 years ago.

44. “….a very good friend called me to his window. And when I got to window I saw that he was showing me a gun. An ordinary Bajan with a real live gun pointing at me.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Tell tale tit!!
    You promised to keep our little secret…

45. William Skinner Avatar

We all have personal stories and episodes of success and failure. Even in the midst of abject poverty many rise to great heights.
    In all fairness to our distinguished Prime Minister, she would have had to undergo a political metamorphosis to be any different. Her followers only think of 90 love. On the other side , we can safely opine that Mr. Thorne would need a similar metamorphosis. That is highly unlikely. His main task now is to avoid another 30 love.
    As for those who dwell in the Diaspora, the challenge is now more monumental. They can expect a mixed reception if they have to return to the Rock.
    Suddenly, for those who have opted to throw nothing but cold water on the importance of a well ordered regional approach to problem solving, they would now perhaps think differently.
    So whether it is 90 love or 25 to 5 or any other permutation, we should at least try to understand that we all need a metamorphosis; not to save ourselves but those who will come after and those who are sitting in primary schools and kindergarten at this very moment.
    It is therefore imperative that we don’t fall for the old trick of divide and rule. It will serve no purpose. Wherever we are now, we collectively all played some part in getting us there.

46. Fault can be found on both sides of that “mixed reception”.