Submitted by Statsman

How would you rate the stewardship of the Honourable Mia Mottley with 1 Poor, 5 Average, 10 Excellent.

We are on track to 60 this year while life becomes much harder. How many of the murders are linked to known drug dealers?

Empress and her acolytes rake up frequent flyer miles. How much was spent on overseas travel by BLP over the last 7 years and how have the life of the masses improved and infrastructure better?

How much was spent on vehicles outside of contractual obligations for friends and family? Consultants old and young sucking the Treasury dry. Never expose a rat to cheese.

Cost overruns and supplementals are the norm. What is the total bill for consultants and who are the contractors getting the overruns?

Police get an offer of pay increase as a trade off to crack masses head not if but when Bajans decide enough is enough. Take the money. Would you crack your brother head when you are also smelling the same hell?

This is absolutely the most unpopular government since independence. It’s only a matter of time before the internal devaluation leads to an external devaluation. How do you think the $1B will be covered?

Can the middle class take anymore financial pressure with high land taxes, reduced disposable income, high utilities and high food prices?

39 responses to “Rate Mia Mottley, pass or fail?”

1. Wow

Seems a bit unconsidered.

To say that this is the most unpopular government the country has had is a stretch after two consecutive 30 loves.

Especially given, based on current trajectories, that the next, and the next, and the next, are likely to continue with a clear downward trend.

For the last one was no less feckless than this one. Maybe, other factors beyond the control of the political class should be brought into these equations.

It’s about time!

The low hanging fruit of government officials travelling too much, largesse to friends of the BLP, crime, violence, the police, the possibility of devaluation, problems with a socalled middle class are easy to throw against any wall hoping something would stick. However, there are no emerging or internal machinations which have been mounted to address any of these. Indeed, none of them started under this regime.

For one, it’s a nonsense to continue to suggest that government officials running around the world as economy class paasengers are in anyway privileged to travel in a mini bus in the sky.

Let’s apply radical measures which go past this eternal political trite, or shiiiite!

2. An unpopular government can mean different things to different people. In this case Mottley and her government are judged based on the results of recent elections. However this can be said to be as a result of a political opposition in shambles. If we want to be objective and dispassionate reviewing Mottley and her party it has to be based on objective analysis like KPIs achieved in the economy, relevant legislation like transparency laws?, crime prevention, public service reform/efficiency e.g. Zrs, lawless on the roads, timely delivery of audited financials e.g. NIS and HOPE?

3. In this dispensation there are no good guys as world leaders there are only bad guys who don’t even try to hide the fact they’re bastards like the British who use polite language to screw you so you feel obliged to say thank you for screwing me

Mia uses liberal language which in my opinion is correct politically as the racist dog whistles in politics grates me

Rating leaders is relative and she must be the best of the worst

We’re coming stronger than before
    because we are hardcore
    come to settle the score
    not afraid of enemy and more
    7 times rise and 7 times fall
    not going to live with my back against the wall
    tribulation I must face
    Babylon keep me out the race
    you see certain things got to be fulfilled
    as long as you know it’s Jah Jah’s will
    they win the battle but they can’t win the war
    can’t stop the vibes we carry from afar
    got to tell them let them know
    we coming rougher than before

4. Well, the opposition is only in shambles because Mottley was able to convince Bajans that she would better run things.

There is little evidence of this. Some táctical approaches like the SD were obviously different than what came before and required a modicum of courage. However, the sum total of this regime has not and will not make any generational leap forward for the country.

Let us then look at these socalled key performance indicators, as if we needed to, when it’s clear to all sentient beings that things are going from bad to worse, and there’s no stopping them. That no type of internally derived logic would be able to transform any of these circumstances.

The much harped upon transparency laws exit elsewhere and a difference have they not made. Those who have been so insisting are only requiring of the political establishment, in their arms race against the people, to become even more innovative in the conduct of their crimes, maladministration.

Need we say more!

5. 30-0 is a nullity!!

6. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

IF THE MOTTLEY-CREW GOV HAD TO PRODUCE & DEFEND A PROVEN WRITTEN & PRACTICAL ACADEMIC EXERCISE IN QUANTUM UITILITY & THE ACOUSTIC OSCILLATIONS OF DARK MATTER – THE PRINCIPAL WOULD HAVE TO GO BACK – REWRITE & REMODEL ALL ITS ATTENUATED ARGUMENTS

Thankfully, the entire GOV* populace wouldn’t know where 2 start!!!

All the “MASSES” simply wanted was sound, fiscal “GOVERNANCE” & prudent, economic management of a small island nation state…

What they got after Monsieur Stuart was “MORE OF THE SAME” – “2 CHEEKS ON THE SAME ARSE”!!!

One of the age-old “MAXIMS” that I have verbally & practically enforced in my household is this:

“IF YOU WANT WHAT YOU HAVE NEVER HAD – DO WHAT YOU HAVE NEVER DONE: for doing the same ‘ole, same ‘ole & expecting a different result are the machinations of mad men/women”!!!

In the book, “Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion” (Cialdini) – ‘The Gaslight Effect’ (Stern) – we see how GOVs like the “MOTTLEY-CREW” have “MANIPULATED” an entire nation (BAR A FEW ENLIGHTENED ONES) – who with dubious, influential psychology have duped the “MASSES” through deceptive and/or unfair tactics to gain mind-bending control, subliminal advantage, and/or to avoid ethical accountability – with the solitary motive to hold consummate power for personal gain, and/or socio-poLIEtical security!!!

THE MOTTLEY CREW GOV CONTINUE 2 EMPLOY THESE COMMON TACTICS:

Deception – (Self-explanatory)

Lies – (Too many 2 list)

Half-truths – (The worst form of “LIES” – sugar-coated with “SHYTE”)

Omissions – (Refusal 2 volunteer information)

Gaslighting – (Making others doubt their reality)

Guilt-Tripping – (Using shame to control actions)

Love-Bombing – (Overwhelming affection in specific quarters to gain trust)

Fearmongering – (Instilling fear to compel compliance)

Red Flags – (Self-Explanatory)

Inconsistencies – (Contradictions in stories and/or facile logic)

Pressure – (Urgency to decide without time to think)

Emotional Manipulation – (Phrases like “MIA CARES”)

Isolation – (Encouraging distrust of others)

Victimhood – (Persistent inertia, navel-gazing & self-pity to evade responsibility)

Contextual Manipulation – (Passive-aggressive communication)

Personal Relationships – (Buying partnerships, family, friends & foes with emotional blackmail)

Politics/Media – (Misinformation, disinformation & cherry-picking data)

THE LIST CANNOT BE EXHAUSTED HERE

With such “FAILURES”, it is “NIGH IMPOSSIBLE” to give a “2-TERM GOV” a mark given that (F) stands for “FAIL” & (E) for “EFFORT”!!!

To assign a number out of 10 – “ONE” being “POOR” does not “MATHEMATICALLY MODEL” the possibility that the number may be in the “MINUS” column (e.g. -10)!!!

What will be “TRAGIC” is in the next “CYCLE” – the #PoLIEticalPendulum may very well swing “COMPLETELY” in the opposite direction (AS THE BAJAN CROW FLIES)!!!

DO I SOUND HOPELESS???

This “GLASS” is not even “HALF-EMPTY” – the last drizzle will not be enough to quench the thirst of anyone!!!

BIM NEED A LEADER LIKE #DrArikanaChihombori

All else have failed!!!

#WhatACuntry

7. The DLP (only credible political opposition ‘duopoly’) is in shambles because since Barrow it has been unable to reinvent itself. The Stuart tenure hastened its demise.

8. @ David

The correct description in my opinion is AN ELECTED DICTATORSHIP. Don’t let we dress it up. I only waiting to see what going happen in Holetown before I formally enshrine this term in my Bajan vocabulary.

A country without an opposition is a dangerous thing. Here we have the trifecta of failure. NO OPPOSITION, NO ACTIVE PRESS AND NO REAL FORM OF STRONG PUBLIC LOBBY. We therefore are living in a situation where 2×30 to 0 along with the above in capitals, gives our divine leaders a level of power never seen in Barbados before. How they use it seems to be sadly unfolding, wherein we the Bajans are not their primary concern. Instead it appears we are second class citizens in our own country who are sucked up to once ever few years for the vote. For this purpose I am disappointed in this party’s performance, as it has strayed from its electoral commitment of placing us first and respecting our concerns.

Sadly there is no real alternative hence next elections I shall go to the beach, assuming of course by then I can find access to one!

9. “Well, the opposition is only in shambles because Mottley was able to convince Bajans that she would better run things.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Two KEY errors are included in your statement here @ Pacha …

1 – The opposition is in shambles because of the LOW QUALITY jokers that they have insisted in recruiting as candidates. The trend has been to entice LACKIES who are prepared to bend any MORALS and ETHICS that they may possess – to WHATEVER nonsense the party leadership demands.

So we have a political class constituted largely of FOR-SALE ‘moral PROSTITUTES’.
    The DLP reflects this characteristic, PARTICULARLY since the days of Mascoll and Thompson. Sandi being the last to show ANY signs of PRINCIPLE (if not political savvy)

The BLP is similar, but Arthur had money to burn from VAT and Offshore and could buy his way for a time.

THIS is why the the DLP is in more HOPELESS shambles.

2 – Mottley did NOT convince Bajans that she woud run things better….
    She did NOT need to.
    All she needed was just that she was NOT a DLP.

ANY alternative placed on the Ballot in 2018 – against ANY of the DLP jokers, was a guranteed winner… they were THAT Bad.

Indeed, when some Bajans were begining to see that “giving the vote and watching“ was just as much shiite as before.., the DLP (characteristically) brought BACK a FROON to talk shiite about the ‘glory days’… thus reminding EVERYONE to vote AGAINST them… and getting ANOTHER 30-0.

What Ms Mottley ACTUALLY convince us to do was to ‘give her the vote …AND WATCH HER..
    …she obviously meant on ‘watch her’ on CNN,BBC and at the UN….

10. At last a brand spanking new stadium will be built,

“the Chinese government had recently asked Government to “clear up all of the material” at the location in preparation for the demolition of the existing structure.”

11. fuh real .

12. @ Pacha
    To reinforce the NATURE of the hopelessness of the DLP, just listen to Brass Tacks ANY day and you will hear a clown called ‘Bascombe’ apparently claiming to represent the DLP.
    One wonders if he is a Froon clone…. or perhaps even a ‘BLP plant’, whose role is to remind us of the LOW QUALITY material that they have available.

ANY self-respecting National organization would have PUBLICLY issued a statement DISCLAIMING any such representation….

13. What is disappointing is the inability of the citizen to access assistance on an urgent basis form relevant government departments contacted. Why would the first government agency contacted not offer to reach out to other agencies to request emergency assistance?

14. Bushie

We’ve long considered that Barbados is a political duopoly.

And in your first stanza, in rightly condemning the DLP, you then proceeded, in part, to suggest that there are no cultural differences between Dees and Bees. And we’ve long agreed. You have thusly described the essential duopoly.

In your second stanza, more holes appear within your arguments.

First, how come Mottley had no effect whatsoever on people like Pacha, a fifty percentile, which has not voted in several decades? Essential ingredient within duopoly.

Second, your argument is crippled by the fact that the BLP was unceromoniously rejected by the same people previously and thus cannot be as above the cultural traits you now wish to associate, in that time period, purely with the DLP and the DLP alone. This seems to run counter to your master narrative.

Third, then you, yourself, went on to contend that Mottley’s shiiite was no different to that of the Dees they had ousted. We hear duoploy!

Fourth, and if all the above are true, is it not reasonable to therefore conclude that the same culturally degenerate DLP, operating within a culturally bound duopoly, now has maybe an even chance of giving a better showing next elections?

Has not enough time elapsed for a 30-love in reverse. With the same culturally degenerate DLP replacing the culturally degenerate BLP. Thereby utterly disproving your gap theory of 2018 as repeated in 2023 after the absence of percieved differences were clear?

15. It seems Mia’s popularity has gone down (⬇)
    since 2018 election and 2022 reelection
    but a downward direction ( ↓) is a relative direction
    if she ran again she might lose a handful of seats
    but she has said she won’t
    .. as she is unappreciated by the chattering classes in the peanut gallery she should prepare her résumé or resume (or alternatively resumé), and apply for a new position

No names shall be mentioned to protect the guilty..

.. but if a random anonymous generic elected leader of the free world should decide to abandon commitments to democracy, NATO and/or the United Nations to follow autocracy* due to the unforgivable sins of liberalism and diversity and some such

.. then surely Shirley it would indicate a greater not lesser or equal commitment to democracy, NATO and/or the UN by the true free world earth citizens

I was indeed the first ever person to mention on a small random Blog the name of which I cannot recall that Mia would be an ideal leader on the Global Stage to lead the UN for example as she ticks all the right boxes against privilege and for inclusivity and the marginalized, such as those having physical or intellectual disabilities or belonging to other minority groups which was taken to heart by the ((((Little Island echo chambers)))) and it went round the houses and it bloody well went viral

Credentials
    ☑ P.o.C.
    ☑ Not Patriarchy
    ☑ Not heterosexual normativity

I am reminded of the speech given in the League of Nations by the Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah, His Imperial Majesty Haile Selassie I, King of Kings, Lord of Lords, Elect of God, about War which was a corker

that until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned;

that until there are no longer first class and second class citizens of any nation;

that until the color of a man’s skin is of no more significance than the color of his eyes;

that until the basic human rights are equally guaranteed to all without regard to race;

that until that day, the dream of lasting peace and world citizenship and the rule of international morality will remain but a fleeting illusion, to be pursued but never attained.

And until the ignoble and unhappy regimes that hold our brothers in Angola, in Mozambique and in South Africa in subhuman bondage have been toppled and destroyed;

until bigotry and prejudice and malicious and inhuman self-interest have been replaced by understanding and tolerance and good-will;

until all Africans stand and speak as free beings, equal in the eyes of all men, as they are in the eyes of Heaven;

until that day, the African continent will not know peace. We Africans will fight, if necessary, and we know that we shall win, as we are confident in the victory of good over evil.

(*) An autocracy is a system of government in which a single person or party (the autocrat) possesses supreme and absolute power. The decisions of this autocrat are subject to neither external legal restraints nor regularized mechanisms of popular control.

Love Without Feeling,
    Jungle Feeling,
    Gone Is Love,
    Theme From Gun Court,
    Fantasy Workshop
    Ketch Vampire,

16. “Well, the opposition is only in shambles because Mottley was able to convince Bajans that she would better run things.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Two KEY errors are included in your statement here @ Pacha …

1 – The opposition is in shambles because of the LOW QUALITY jokers that they have insisted in recruiting as candidates. The trend has been to entice LACKIES who are prepared to bend any MORALS and ETHICS that they may possess – to WHATEVER nonsense the party leadership demands.

So we have a political class constituted largely of FOR-SALE ‘moral PROSTITUTES’.
    The DLP reflects this characteristic, PARTICULARLY since the days of Mascoll and Thompson. Sandi being the last to show ANY signs of PRINCIPLE (if not political savvy)

The BLP is similar, but Arthur had money to burn from VAT and Offshore and could buy his way for a time.

THIS is why the the DLP is in more HOPELESS shambles.

2 – Mottley did NOT convince Bajans that she woud run things better….
    She did NOT need to.
    All she needed was just that she was NOT a DLP.

ANY alternative placed on the Ballot in 2018 – against ANY of the DLP jokers, was a guranteed winner… they were THAT Bad.

Indeed, when some Bajans were begining to see that “giving the vote and watching“ was just as much shiite as before.., the DLP (characteristically) brought BACK a FROON to talk shiite about the ‘glory days’… thus reminding EVERYONE to vote AGAINST them… and getting ANOTHER 30-0.

What Ms Mottley ACTUALLY convince us to do was to ‘give her the vote …AND WATCH HER..
    …she obviously meant on ‘watch her’ on CNN,BBC and at the UN….”

17. Until there is a concerted and consistent, formal deprogramming programme to free our people from colonial mindsets, all our leaders will be considered failures by me.

Whitemanistis in black people is a fatal disease.

18. William Skinner Avatar

“The ruling political elites hold on to their party sinecures, as the educated classes for the most part publicly shun the issues beyond their private coffee and tea rooms. More and more persons are seeking welfare or importuning those who appear better off. Gun crime is clearly out of control. As I write, the 12:30 news reported a shooting in Parish Land, Christ Church, in which again, children in the streets were apparently endangered.
    But the rhetoric of resilience, sustainability, empowerment, transformation and inclusivity persists. The struggle continues.”
    (Ralph Jemmott is a retired educator and commentator on social issues.
    Barbados Today Wednesday 5th., March 2025)

Occasionally , there is at least one or two of the intelligentsia, who possess the ability, to use their intellect to cut through the superfluous and just speak the truth.

19. “Until there is a concerted and consistent, formal deprogramming programme to free our people from colonial mindsets…”

Your energy goes where your mind goes
    You can repeatedly do the same thing but a different mindset achieves different results

Creation Judgement
    People are people and all of we come from the same creation
    People should stop praise the Satan Man

20. When weee take a broad view at all the recent above comments above it still seems unclear to us that the Bajan political culture is markedly different today than it was in days prior.

Admittedly, in each period we’ve had a handful of politicians who were perceived as the best of the bunch. Much of this, not all, can be associated with the lionization of politicians once elections are won and power is endowed. OSA is a prime example.

However, these were on the margins while the dominate underlying cultural characteristics were always very similar to what weee have today. Certainly, their results were no different, especial when viewed in transformational terms.

We contend that if there’s to be a difference it is best seen within the level and constancy of information as opposed to previous periods.

And as bad as the DLP may now appear, a significant election victory, as doubtful as that maybe, but engineered by the failings of the BLP, like the DLP constructed their own demise last time, and the assumption of power arriving therefrom will again make men/women of political mice. These are the mechanisms of politics which are culturally bound.

21. …is not markedly different …..

22. “….These are the mechanisms of politics which are culturally bound.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Culturally??!!
    Are you sure that it is not SPIRITUALLYbound?

“What a man soweth THAT also WILL his ass reap”. (Bushie 2020)
    THEREFORE, a people ALWAYS get the politicians, leaders, society, and the LIFE that they DESERVE.
    This is not CULTURAL Pacha, .. it is a SPIRITUAL LAW… called ‘Karma’.
    Perhaps one of the ONLY Laws that are irreversible.

In fact, Bushie has it on good authority that this is exactly why, after brass bowl men committed ourselves to DEATH (the story of Adam), the ONLY way that redemption was POSSIBLE, was for that ‘death’ to be substituted by the death of someone EVEN MORE VALUABLE than all the lotta shiite BBs that ever existed. (John 3:16).

The OVERRIDING laws that exist are SPIRITUAL laws.

The battle that is currently raging …is a SPIRITUAL war – and the miniscule roles of BBs in THAT war, are similar to those of rats in a nuclear war….

Where there may be any case of BBs properly ARMING themselves with the required spiritual ARMOR (Love, faith, righteousness, Godliness ..) THEN the results CANNOT BUT reflect this IN THE RESULTS THAT WILL FOLLOW.

WE (BBs that we are) however have allowed the money-focused albino-centrics and their ‘wannabes’ to dictate what and how we sow…
    …and THEREFORE WHAT WE REAP….
    …lotta shiite!!

What a plan!!
    What a curse!!

23. Nonsense and sense

Karma is a Sanskrit word that means “action.”
    Things we choose to do or say or think set karma into motion. The law of karma is therefore a law of cause and effect as defined in Buddhism.
    Karma is like a complex web rather than a simple linear relation.
    The Buddha stated that karma causes results in this life, the next lifetime, and all successive births.

“the ONLY way that redemption was POSSIBLE, was for that ‘death’ to be substituted by the death of someone EVEN MORE VALUABLE than all the lotta shiite BBs that ever existed. (John 3:16).”

Instead of accepting and believing the gospel as truth on a deeper level it should be understood and explained why its the truth

this also applies to instead of accepting and believing Buddhism and Karma as truth on a deeper level it should be understood and explained why its the truth

eg. Why was Jesus’ death so liberating as spouted without deep thought and understanding

Are / were black / Africans whipped and punished for their past and present life sins or are they god’s children like god’s ‘one and only son’

24. Wunna see WHY Bushie would ban his Sri Lankan, Buddhist burro from BU..?

Here we are on a BAJAN blog, using english and christian terms and meanings, ..and up comes a likkle Sri Lankan foreigner – talking shiite about ‘Sanskrit meanings’ and other Indian interpretations….

Now would Bushie go on ‘Sri Lanka Underground’ begging fuh conkies…?
    Thankfully the BU boss is much more longsuffering than a bushman without conkies…

Steupsss….
    From your www reference Kiki…
    ‘In Christianity the bad things we do are called sin and the effect of sin will return according to the principle, “As you sow, so will you reap”, which is really the same as karma.’

25. “Here we are on a BAJAN blog, using english and christian terms and meanings, ..and up comes a likkle Sri Lankan foreigner – talking shiite about ‘Sanskrit meanings’ and other Indian interpretations….”

What do YOU mean when you say “karma”

Are you saying you are talking about Barbados and Christian Karma which is different from the Indian Buddhism Karma that Jesus spake about

Are you saying you don’t even know what Karma really is when you say Karma for everything

What about your WWIII Armageddon thesis theories spouted like a little tea pot as the answer to everything under the sun

Is their any accumulative actions cause and effects that make sense or is it just about the end result as the simple answer with no thought

What has you version of Christian karma got to do African spirituality

these are deeper questions for minds to ponder

you may not know the answers

you may never know the answers

you may have determined the answers yesterday

you may have forgotten them today

are you deep or macho when you get racial

26. For you Kiki…
    In your OWN language..

https://youtu.be/u01gisUNwic?t=52

27. What exactly is karma?

The true definition of karma can vary depending on who you ask. Some people adhere to the traditional meaning grounded in Eastern religions, while others interpret it from more of a Western view of good and bad. As a result, this can lead to different views on how karma applies to life.

However, many experts like to look at karma as more than just “good” or “bad.”

This article will help shed light on what karma is, the philosophy behind it, and its core principles, known as the 12 laws of karma.

https://www.healthline.com/health/laws-of-karma#responsibility

28. Let me get out front and state that I fully support my hero 000.
    I survive his recorded scratching and his genre of music I call abusic.
    I was unable to follow his many hallucinations and ho babblings but was overjoyed at his return to safety after every episode.
    Perhaps there is truth in the expression “What does not harm us make us stronger” as 000 return with gusto and energy after the effect of a spliff wear off.
    Go 000
    My hero
    Smoke on, brother
    I support you

29. Fail, failed and failing.

Mottley, and her motley mistake making mismanagement ministers should not be allowed to take any exam. It is obvious that they would be the type of students who write their names and then exit the exam proudly.

Mia’s touch has turned out to be anti-Midas touch. This motley crew have launched a thousand failed initiatives; every houseowner with a wooden house is afraid of wood ants but those with steal houses are now afraid of Motley and her crew of miscre-ants.

I will be listing the many failures of this administration. It pains me when I do so.

30. Chinese donating a brand new stadium.

What will the Indians be donating?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/03/05/barbados-to-deepen-ties-with-india/

31. @ Theo,
    You may not be aware that Mia studied economics at the prestigious London School of Economics in the late eighties. For the record this was a momentous period in British history where Madame Thatcher established herself as the most powerful Prime Minister in British history.

Thatcher was inspired by Sir Keith Joseph, who was of Jewish origin, an intellectual, and a firm believer that governments should play a minimum role in a country’s economy.

This was an extreme period in Britain’s economic, political and social history. Mia should and would have been familiar with the politics of the mother country during this period when she was residing in the UK. Personally, I believe that during this period she would have insulated herself from external events and would have linked and networked with those students who came from similar wealthy backgrounds as herself.

Fast forward to this current period and she has wholly embraced Thatcherism.

History will show that Mam was the Prime Minister who completed the works of our previous Prime Ministers and was the one who nailed the lid to the coffin; and in doing so sold out her own black people to Barbados minorities and foreigners.

We should not blame Mam. Prophesis require Judases in order for them to be fulfilled. Sadly, Mam has been selected to carry out this duty. Pray for her soul.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2025/mar/06/britain-us-uk-assets-economic-disaster-labour

32. It ain’t over ’til the PM sings

Welcome to Barbados, a wholly-owned subsidiary of other countries.

And here’s a li’l pome: “Bajes of Bayfield, all out by David Seale, Bajes of every Bottom and Hole, listen to my joyful tidings, for up to now they’re still untold. I have a vision, I see a mirrycle, Bim will prosper and delight, but wunna must accept it and not put up any fight.

Tourists will flock and bring in money, if we have hotels on every shore, but wunna Bajans must give them clearance and not bade there anymore. So don’t get cheesy, take it easy, for, my peoples, here’s the thing, wunna Bajans can go up St Thomas, and bade in Porey Spring.”

I can only guess that is what the PM would like to say to Barbadians. But she isn’t saying it. And I find that strange.

This PM has been all over the world making speeches, United Nations, France, Addis Ababa in Aethiopia. Speeches on all kinds of subjects: climate change, rappyrations, debt swap. She’s talking about Ramadan; she probably never faced cricket balls but she pontificated on the sport; anybody who miss and dead getting a speech.

So tell me how come we have a national outcry about the sale of the Holetown Civic Centre – letters, demonstrations from locals and tourists alike; Dr Louise Roach calling it wrong for the environment, morally wrong, maybe even legally wrong. And not one word from the usually verbositous PM. No explanation, consolation, justification. Something is very strange. Was there honky panky?

I doubt it. Does the PM not care in the least how Bajans feel about their country? She has the absolute power to do as she pleases?

And what about the other 28 MPs? Don’t they realise they have a responsibility to the Barbadian public who elected them? Don’t they realise they were the ones who put the PM there and can take action if she is taking Barbados in a direction Bajans don’t want? It only needs for 16 or 17 to call the PM aside and say: “Listen up, lady, this time you’ve gone too far. People are hurting and angry. So either you tell the purty Canadian boy the Holetown deal is off or we will have to take a short trip to the President and install the young charismatic fellow who many feel should lead this country”.

But it’s not only about Holetown that the PM seems to be holding her tongue.

Don’t Barbadians have the right to know the details of any agreements with the Chinese?

If we default on a loan, will they have the option to take part of the country like the sea or airport as seems to have happened elsewhere? Do Chinese workers pay National Insurance or taxes? Why these elaborate Chinese dorms? Are they for permanent residence? Are we committed to support China if they invade Taiwan where the people have been living in peaceful independence for the past 75 years? Do the 28 MPs know the details of Chinese agreements? The Chinese workers are our guests and should be made to feel welcome. It’s not about them, it’s about agreements.

Despite all the fancy talk this Government has no record of which to be proud. The “peace” deal with gang leaders has got us nowhere with crime. People have been shot execution-style with the perps obviously having no fear of the law.

Innocent bystanders are being targeted.

We had the embarrassing task of telling a group of regular Canadian visitors to beware of sitting on their patio on evenings.

That sale of the Holetown Centre without public discussion is like the British public reading one morning that their Prime Minister had sold Buckingham Palace to a rich Arab. He wouldn’t survive. Our PM needs telling she does not own Barbados.

Richard Hoad is a farmer and social commentator. Email porkhoad@gmail. Combermerians.

33. “Something is very strange. Was there honky panky?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Hanky panky (hakk’ni panki) is the most likely scenario…

If it LOOKS like a duck
    and it WALKS like a duck..
    AND it quacks….

34. @ Quaker John, you are a great admirer of President Trump.

Real Estate stinks in most countries especially when you add price inflation into to the mix.

With the ever increasing numbers of trained lawyers in our country it has become self evident that real estate in Barbados equates to money laundering, crime, loss of land and the denial of Bajans to acquire a piece of the rock. In time we will see casinos and all the other trappings of an economy fuelled on illicit money.

When Mia won the vote she was implicit that domestic Bajans should try their luck abroad.
    Her plan from day one was to push Barbados as a land of international real estate development.
    It is clear that our leaders down the years have abandoned their own people and have had absolutely zero interest in diversifying the economy.

We see how the Zionists have encouraged the Palestinians to seek alternative pastures. The same could be applied to Barbados.

Mia would have, probably, been aware that this form of development was open to money laundering. Pre-Castro, the Italian American mafia and other criminal groups made a killing in Cuba. The British Virgin Isles is a model that Barbados is rapidly heading towards.

The link below highlights the role of real estate within an economy.

duck://player/DEseiA72yVM

35. How can Mia sort out the island’s gun problem when she lacks the will to defend Bajans from the wrecklessness, institutionalised and delinquent behaviour of her legal peers and acquaintances.
    Barbados has all the hallmarks of a state that has been captured. Nothing expresses this condition more than the “I don’t give a damn” attitude of these ten-a-penny Bajan lawyers.

Left unchecked, in the hands of our state captured political class, Barbadians will get exactly what they deserve: a beat down so severe that they will, happily, queue to quit the island.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/03/08/attorney-secures-bail-with-help-from-sister-and-friend/