The ‘omnipresent’ Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Kevin Greenidge is on message for the start of 2025. After a recent upgrade by Trinidad based CariCRIS, he called for Barbadians “…to invest. Whatever project they were planning, take it off the shelf, dust it off and go because that is how we are going to get the economic growth”.

There was also hype about the economy achieving 3.9% growth and unemployment rate holding at a respectable 7.7%. Truth be told GDP and the unemployment rate are the two key indicators used to track economic performance by successive governments. If it were business as usual the blogmaster would give unequivocal congratulations.

Traditional media actors and talking heads must be dispassionate in commentary about the performance of the local economy. There has been no fundamental change to the economic engine driving the economy. The growth being heralded by the Governor and government can be attributed to tourism with financial services chipping in. The ‘other sectors’ like manufacturing, agriculture and other services are statistically insignificant to moving the performance needle.

If we agree that Barbados is a one-leg economy, on what basis is Governor Greenidge and Prime Minister Mottley saying the economy has become more resilient in the post 2018 period? As far as the blogmaster is concerned we have no R&D and export creating industries; we continue to be a net purchaser of products and services, practically all of our foreign direct investment is tourism related.

The blogmaster recognises that there are ongoing attempts to rebuild crumbling infrastructure but much needed governance and law and order initiatives continue to undermine government’s transformation program. Lack of reform to State Owned Entities (SOEs) is one example of government’s lack of serious commitment to a transformation program it promotes. Does public sector reform sound familar?

Back to Governor Greenidge’s call for Barbadians to invest. In theory some of us understand for the economy to grow individuals and businesses will have to invest. Investment increases productivity, jobs, consumer activity and so on. However, Greenidge must know it is not that simple to command Barbadians and private sector to invest and it will occur. There are cultural characteristics that have given good reason for Barbadians to be described as being risk averse.

Historically Barbadians have not had appealing options in which to invest. The Barbados Stock Exchange exists in name only with small trade volumes. There is no Secondary Market. Even if these markets existed there is good reason to doubt a significant number of Barbadians would participate.

A lot of work is required to educate Barbadians about the upside to investing given what opportunities available. Bear in mind too many Barbadians are financially illiterate. An average Barbadian understands investing to be growing a saving account. Although in the past a segment of Barbadians was bullish on government bonds as the preferred option to invest, the 2018 haircut the Mottley government gave to bondholders has undermined public confidence in government bonds. On a daily basis the public is bombarded with promos to encourage Barbadians to purchase BOSS bonds.

There is a lot of work to be done to shore up the Barbados economy before any credibility can be earned that it has become more resilient. Also, let us tone down the rhetoric about ratings by credit rating agencies. Some of us have not forgotten these agencies were partly responsible for the 2006 global financial collapse.

158 responses to “Who wants to invest?”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

Happy New Year 🎊 to all BU family.
    This seems to be an odd dig at the GoCBB, who has no fiscal nor Ministerial portfolio. Potentially he is stepping beyond his remit, in suggesting investing beyond the products offered by the CBB.
    Possibly the Kevin Greenidge Charitable Trust, may have provisions for helping those negatively impacted by any of his decisions.
    It appears the job GoCB, not specifically GoCBB, is becoming a more direct path to elected politics than it has in the past. The strategy of using somebody else’s money to promote oneself, is as old as time.

2. The GoCBB is as often the case, putting the cart in front of the horse.
    What he SHOULD be calling for is full financial transparency at the national level.

Bushie will NOT invest one shiite, in an environment where there are
    NO REPORTS on results…
    NO independent audits
    NO clear plan of action or strategy
    Laws being changed wily nilly to suit political interests

…and where shiite-talkers are spending my investment as they like, on their family, friends and spices.
    Not for shiite!!

If Greenidge can get systems in place for investments to be TRANSPARENT, and for LEGALLY REQUIRED audits and reports to be done – WITH SEVERE CONSEQUENCES WHERE NOT DONE,
    …THEN he would not have to beg brass bowls to invest their $$$

BUT WAIT!!!
    Is the ROLE of the Central Bank not EXACTLY that of creating a clear, level financial playing field?

So why is THIS GoCBB now an agent of the MoF in seeking to get citizens to add their savings to the BILLIONS already being MISMANAGED by the current warped system?

Steupsss!!
    What a place!

3. I thought that I heard that wunna Bajans, not me, have $13B sitting in savings accounts. That is not small change.

So?

4. Bush Tea January 2, 2025 at 7:51 am “Bushie will NOT invest one shiite…”

Not even in your own business(es)?

My understanding is that is what Mr. Greenidge wants us to do. Invest in our own business, in family businesses, employ some people etc.

5. Long overdue is the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Recently a non Barbadian who owns a property here and decided after Brexit, where they spent six months in France and six months here to relocate permanently to Barbados. Admitted to ICU his family was told on the Sunday to get a piece of equipment which was necessary to help him breathe. We had to pull strings to get this from a closed on Sunday business. Several days later we were told to get another piece of equipment which we were told would have to be obtained from Trinidad. Subsequently told by a Dr. That he was too weak for that. He died several days later.
    Our economy is fuelled by Tourism, yet our Hospitals cannot provide necessary equipment and patients are told they will have to source them. This is ridiculous and puts us in the category of third world countries, yet we want to attract first class visitors who invest in the island and employ people year round.
    This is a disgraceful and unacceptable situation and needs to be rectified immediately.

6. @ SS
    Not even in your own business(es)?
    Steupsss @ SS.

“….IN AN ENVIRONMENT WHERE….”

So NO!
    If such shiite conditions existed in Bushie’s OWN business… NO investment.

You got any conkies left…?

7. @Bush Tea

As NO hinted what is the role and responsibilities of the GoCBB. We have heard that the person is a creature of the MoF. Greenidge is obviously doing the bidding of MAM. We have to start there including the Nation newspaper PR piece about him being a personality of the year.

8. @Platinum

We tend to focus on big ticket items to give the impression of progress. You recall from nursery days:

“The toe bone’s connected to the foot bone
    The foot bone’s connected to the ankle bone
    The ankle bone’s connected to the leg bone
    The leg bone’s connected to the knee bone
    The knee bone’s connected to the thigh bone
    The thigh bone’s connected to the hip bone
    The hip bone’s connected to the backbone
    The backbone’s connected to the neck bone
    The neck bone’s connected to the head bone”

9. @Simple Simon

Are you aware how difficult it is for small businesses to operate successfully in our environment? We need to zoom in on the structural problems and leave out the vacuous commentary.

10. The writer is generally right!

Him being right merely recognizes the hard limits to the triple ironies of a central bank governor dutifully doing the job which best serves his benefactor; the iron wall of contraints which preclude most people from economic democracy participation: and the well worn commentaries about the real and imagined failures so produced.

He is a governor, like all before him, who aims these kinds of messages to the public but to the big money men, his real and substantial targets, other more private and valuable offerings are made.

These will of necessity include special legislative and other carve outs giving them protections unavailable to the many.

Of course, the popular investment appeals by the govenor are intended to disadvantage the small, feckless, investors, on the one hand. And on the other act as a mere filler to close a perceived investment gap.

Why should any subset of investors allow this or any other government to limit them to a single Barbadian marketplace in circumstances where government’s hand protects preferred investors from some risks?

11. William Skinner Avatar

We often wonder if Barbados (Bajans) have actually moved on and have embraced what seems to be new thinking within the general population. Perhaps the mouthings and writings of those who critique the stupidity are no longer considered as relevant. Quite frankly, we believe that Central Bank Governors, Chief Justices and other big wigs are considered part of the grand elite that have been intentionally blanked out and are considered irrelevant to the struggles that confront the poor on one hand and the lifestyles of those who are flying high.
    We may be embracing the mantra : Ah don’t care about a fella…………

12. At least 30 times a day everyday
    Barbados needs to get busier on the music production and the Barbados Underground to switch it up and get radical

13. @ David
    Bushie’s feelings about the ‘Nation’ (One Caribbean) is well documented. Ever since Harold Hoyte sold out our CRITICAL EDUCATIONAL MEDIA to albino-centric interests – so that he could buy a Hybrid SUV and live like the White people bout here, we have been saddled with that Trojan horse.

What itony in the names nuh…!!
    ‘The Nation’ – (whose?)
    ‘Massy Holdings’ – Same as Massa
    ‘Republic Bank’ – Perhaps we became a ‘Republic’ to hide the fact of who wags whom.

Wunna done know what Bushie thinks of ‘economists’ (whaterver the Hell THOSE are…) and even by those low standards Greenidge has been pedestrian.

The only criteria that Bushie can see to come up with Greenidge as Person of the Year, could be his acting role in those childish CBB productions on CBC where – much like the Easter and Harvest plays at church in days of old, children acted out roles from the Bible.
    Have these people seen what is now routine on TicToc, Instagram, and even Facebook?
    His have been the most inane and simplistic attempts at public education in economics since the DLP had Hal and Depeiza on the TV far too often, showing how unsophisticated they are at Law.

Steupsss.
    All things beong equal, Tricia is hands down a better choice – having shown in a VERY SHORT PERIOD, how a Senate voice CAN be intelligent, relevant, and educational, AND having led the fight in exposing the economic criminal behavior of the Electricity sector and the complicity (or naivety) of the Government and regulators.

She was a breath of fresh air, in a room full of brass bowls – that are mostly full of jobby…

But we should not expect that the Trojan horse would wish to recognize such contributions, since THEY can be next on the list of targets for true Bajan PATRIOTS.

What a place, and what a time…

14. “Are you aware how difficult it is for small businesses to operate successfully in our environment?”
    ~~~~~
    LOL @ David
    Boss, this is Cuhdear we talking bout…

What is difficult about catching a ZR and burning a single LED bulb at night to keep the electric bill below $30?
    Shiite skippa, ..wuh her ONLY ‘employees’ are the lotta ‘grands’ who keep on eating Bushie’s damn conkies…

You going only go and stop the woman from mekking the few conkies now, and deprive Bushie of one of the true pleasures of Life in Brassbados?
    LOl
    ha ha

15. @Bush Tea

Here is a related piece by Wade Gibbons

Issue of the year – prostitution

Any media house in the hands of a politician is like gold dust. However, a politician does not have to own a media house. Ownership of the management will do. Of course, the slanted news or commentary emanating from a media house might not result from political influence. It could be a case of the pure ineptness of those charged with supervising the news brought to the populace. Thus, one can determine which is worse – political servitude or stupidity. Fortunately, or unfortunately, the reading, listening, and viewing public, is always understandably influenced by what is fed to it by the media, whether fair, foul, or filth.

Case in point, the Nation Newspaper (sic) has published its Issues of the Year and has by its juxtaposition, somehow equated the national crime situation in Barbados which has seen 52 murders and myriad robberies, assaults, burglaries, etc, impacting Barbadians, with the internal or institutional confusion that surfaced in the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) earlier in the year. Gunmen bursting into a bar in the city and slaying multiple persons has, for all intents and purposes, been likened to the well-documented incident at George Street and the subsequent departure of some members from the DLP. . .not one a sitting MP, and some unelectable and unknown. The discovery of the remains of two murder victims at Henley, where suggestions are that the main protagonist remains free, has been equated to a decision to implement a measure to conduct a peaceful conference and prevent further disruption and confrontation. The proliferation of bloody shooting incidents across the island has been equated to the verbal political shots fired from predictably aggrieved parties following the George Street stand-off.

But one is tempted to surmise that the juxtaposition of the two by the newspaper (sic) was unavoidable. In a best-case scenario, it might have been preferable or more desirable for the foot soldiers not to mention the national crime situation at all, and to leave the internal DLP impasse as the principal ‘national issue’ of the year. That might have taken some journalistic acrobatics, but the balance was found by the paper in the highlighting of the crime situation, by not highlighting the multiplicity of other NATIONAL ISSUES facing the country.

The healthcare system in Barbados is in crisis. Those with the financial means will avail themselves of excellent, speedy care. Those without means must first hope they survive the wait for an ambulance. Since the majority who seek care are not trained in medicine, they must hope that their initial self-diagnosis is correct, if they adhere to the QEH’s dictate for them to seek alternatives to the national hospital if their situation is not an emergency. The newspaper (sic) should have spoken to new QEH boss Neil Clark who said: “The waits at the A&E department are too long and we do need to address those but the A&E department’s just a bottleneck for the whole system. . .” In essence, the entire system is a problem.

The shoddy treatment of Barbadian nurses that has led some of them to flee Barbados (if I may be somewhat hyperbolic} for better pastures, seems not to worry the authorities other than trade unionist Caswell Franklyn. This is what a national issue looks like, editors.

The management of the education system in Barbados is also in crisis. And the minister’s silence is not going to make it go away. In 2023 more than a dozen teachers suddenly found themselves on the breadline. Several principals and deputy heads were shifted from their schools without proper, timely notice. Between 2023 and 2024 schools such as Wesley Hall, Mount Tabor, St Paul’s Primary, Lester Vaughan, St Giles, Luther Thorne, among others, were plagued with health and environmental problems and shut-downs. BSTU president Mary Redman described the situation as causing “confusion and dislocation”. The situation at Grantley Adams is a national embarrassment that is too painful to mention, but I did. This is what a national issue looks like, editors.

And perhaps the biggest issue, besides violent crime, is the cost of living. In fact, many suggest a link between the two. But law-abiding citizens are reeling under the oppressive weight of the costs for services, goods and food. Some households in Barbados are rationing food as they have never done before in the name of survival. And Government has been blatantly powerless to do anything about it. In fact, the state has become part of the problem with its fuel tax, and others such as the sewerage tax; sometimes a burden imposed on persons not even connected to the system. Starvation and homelessness are realities in Barbados because there are people who cannot afford the attendant costs to prevent their occurrence. This is what a national issue looks like, editors.

But these situations are not worthy Issues of the Year. To highlight them would be to highlight the government’s struggles and incompetencies. However, compromised media owe their allegiance not to the people who purchase and subscribe to their product, but to their political puppeteers. I have said it once, and will say it again, the majority of the media in Barbados have taken to Bush Hill where they lie spread-eagled with their main purpose seemingly now that of a vessel for partisan political pleasure.

Source: Wade Gibbons Facebook

16. Gang Warfare in St Michaels is the same as the Political Warfare in DLP
    which is the same as Genocide / Warfare in West Bank and Gaza

Issue of the year – prostitution
    note: Wade Gibbons is a Ralph Thorne acolyte / Journalist at Barbados Today

17. If Simple Simon can take the time to catch a ZR to attend an AGM of a listed company on the BSE, if she has not already, there would be an appreciation for the ‘close shop’ and non transparent way business is done here. This close shop culture permeates all aspects of the way business is facilitated in Barbados by owners of big capital who are the influencers in the business space. How many times have we discussed how business process/requirements is frustrated by CAIPO for example? What about the legal and banking processes? It is not strait forward for the GoCBB to beg Barbadians to invest because there is 13 billion dollars in the system. It will call for some innovative work to influence a risk averse public to tweak behaviour.

18. Bushie’s new year revolution…
    Ban KiKi’s little Asian burro from BU for ’times, a time, and half a time’…

Pretty please nuh Boss…

19. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

ANOTHER YEAR – THE SAME ‘OLE PARIAHS AT IT!!! MONETARY MACHINATIONS; POLIETICAL PANACEAS; HAPHAZARD HAPPINESS & THE DAMNABLE DESTINY OF NATIONS THAT REFUSE TO SEE THE ICEBERG ON THE RADAR SCREEN WHILE BUSY LOOKING IN THE REARVIEW MIRROR

The “EMPEROR’s” ballz are hanging at the door given how he’s lost his pants!!!

I was just in a online forum meeting regarding “INDEX FUNDS” with one of the world’s “3-LARGEST” behemoths: “VANGUARD” (the other 2, being “BLACK ROCK” & “STATE STREET”), who combined, run & operate 90%+ of global trade, commerce & markets – (at the top of the “TOTEM POLE” stands “POPE FRANCIS” AKA #MarioBergoglio – “VATICAN BANK & THE ROTHSCHILDS”!!!

As of the 2nd quarter of 2023, “GLOBAL DEBT” reached a staggering high of $307 TRILLION*. This significant increase has pushed the GLOBAL-DEBT-2-GDP-RATIO to a mind-altering 336%, marking the 2nd consecutive quarter of rising debt ratios. This surge in global debt is largely attributed to developed countries such as the US, Japan, UK, & France (THE 4-HORSEMEN)!!!

WE ARE NOW IN 2025 AS THE TITANIC SAILS ALONG IN ALMOST NIGH COMPLETE OBLIVION

https://www.imf.org/en/Blogs/Articles/2023/09/13/global-debt-is-returning-to-its-rising-trend

Hedge fund assets (AS A MARKER OF WHO IS MAKING MONEY* & WHO’S NOT), under management grew to US$4.8 TRILLION* from US$370 billion over the 20 years ending Dec. 31, 2021, (AT THE HEIGHT OF THE *PLANDEMIC*), according to #BarclayHedgeLtd…

One would assume that given this kinda’ explosive growth, many people would be surprised by the hedge-fund industry’s “AVERAGE” performance – as the accompanying below table shows, how an average hedge fund has neither produced attractive returns nor provided effective diversification from public equities!!!

https://smartcdn.gprod.postmedia.digital/financialpost/wp-
    content/uploads/2022/09/noah-solomon.jpeg

MANY THANKS TO NOAH SOLOMON

THE FROGS ARE ALL CROAKING – #INVEST #INVEST #INVEST: BUT WHAT CAN A SANE PERSON INVEST IN THAT WILL GIVE A DECENT RETURN OUTSIDE OF THE TRADITIONAL AREAS OF INVESTMENT???

When anyone invest in a “BOND” or “GILT”, you’re proverbially lending money to a company or GOV* which in return provides a “FIXED” rate of interest, as bonds & gilts have lower risks than stocks & have the potential to provide a more stable return over time!!!

I am trying to TEACH* my grandson to understand the vagaries of “INDEX FUNDS” through “MULTILATERAL BEHEMOTHS” like “VANGUARD” & (how they work to make you wealthy over time) – but also, how, if from his salary per month, he “EXTRACTS” a measly 10% – 15%; by the time he is 30 years old, (IF WE HAVE NOT* COMPLETELY DESTROYED GOD’S GREEN EARTH) – he could be looking at a “NEST EGG” of some £30K plus…

Equally, (BASED ON THE COMPUND NATURE OF NUMBERS), as he ages & his pay-grade increases, (if he lives to retirement, possibly age 70 – 72) with a modicum of decent health, he could expect to have grown that “GOLDEN EGG” to some £25 MILLION, without even breaking a sweat!!!

ALL THIS USING AN INVESTMENT CALCULATOR & A SIMPLE ALGORITHM

HERE’S SOME KEY FINANCIAL ADVICE, I AM LOOKING 2 GIVE MY GRANDSON (and “KISS MY BLACK ARSE” to all those who think that they alone are qualified to give “FISCAL” advice, because they have “SUPPOSEDLY EARNED” some “IFA/IFC” qualification) & “NO APOLOGIES” for my use of language, (UNLESS THE NAMES OF THE ANCESTORS ARE INVOKED)!!!

Anyone with a “FEW DOLLARS” of expendable income (INCLUDING THE RUM SHOP MONEY), should be looking to put their “INVESTMENTS” into “AI STOCKS & INDEX CONCENTRATION”!!!

https://am.jpmorgan.com/gb/en/asset-management/per/insights/market-insights/investment-outlook/ai-investment/

While each of the companies in the “MAGNIFICENT SEVEN” are geared differently to the “AI THEME”, this group of stocks now make up nearly 35% of the S&P 500 market cap & have driven over 70% of returns since the beginning of 2023. This growing, “OUTPERFORMANCE” has also seen valuations expand exponentially & 2025 will be the year 2 watch!!!

FLIP THE COIN – HEADS UP

Final thought:

HUMPTY-DUMPTY SAT ON A WALL; HUMPTY DUMPTY HAD A GREAT FALL; ALL THE KING’S HORSES & ALL THE KING’S MEN, COULD NOT PUT HUMPTY BACK TOGETHER AGAIN

#SolveTheRiddle

20. “Bushie’s new year revolution…
    Ban KiKi’s little Asian burro from BU for ’times, a time, and half a time’…”

Mister Unoriginal is the same BB Bush Bitch who said the same thing first thing last year about 366 times last year.
    David has already ‘banned’ 1 comment this year. BU BT wants a rap battle

Parental warning
    Explicit lyrics
    Who told that old nigga goat I was asian
    My life was actually just like this TV show
    ‘Cause everytime I beat a challenge
    On the way, I go through different stages
    All them niggas, they didn’t wanna let me in
    So now, I’m kickin’ down the door for everytime that my house got raided

Who pop more shit than me? Nobody, ayy (Who?)
    Who really lit as me? Nobody
    Nobody, nobody, nobody (Yeah)
    Nobody (Yeah), nobody (Yeah), nobody (Yeah)
    Nobody (Yeah), nobody (Yeah), ayy (Yeah)
    Under pressure, these niggas still crumble (Still crumble)
    Even at the Super Bowl, these niggas still fumble (Still fumble)

(To accept this free call, press 1)
    Hey son, it’s Mommy
    I love you, I’m proud of the man and the artist that you’ve become today
    I know we’ve been through a lot together but I believe everything is gon’ be great from now on
    I’m your biggest fan, so reach for the stars because there’s nothing you can’t do
    I’m always in your corner and soon I’ll be back home
    To cheer you on from the front row again
    I love you

21. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@BUSH TEA

“Blessed 2025 Big Bruh…”

’times, a time, and half a time’… = “1 thousand, two hundred & sixty years”…

WE CAN’T RELEGATE HIM 2 THE BOTTOMLESS PIT!!!

#KIKI is an “OPIATE” – he has his place on the couch with a “SLIFF” in his hand!!!

HAPPY NEW YEARS BOYS!!!

22. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@KikI

My bad BRUH, the word is: #SPLIFF*

TOO MUCH EGG_NOG

23. The Wade Gibbon’s piece is quite good.
    However, the sad thing about the piece is that there are many more issues he could have mentioned with the shenanigans in housing being top of the list.

Bushie’s and NO’s opening contribution were also quite good. One of the reason that folks may prefer to keep the money is the bank, is that compared to other financial ventures, you will get back what you put in. When there is a lack of transparency and a high risk of a loss. then Joe Average will not be rushing to part with his dimes.. his two choices .. the pillow or the bank.

🙂 What is difficult about catching a ZR and burning a single LED bulb at night to keep the electric bill below $30? 🙂 Murdah! Yuh gine kill muh!

24. @TMB
    The ❓
    How does Avg Bajan Joe or Jane invest in a global index fund.
    You going to convert their $BDD in Barmyland to £ or €, and hold them in the TMB Trust.

25. @Bush Tea January 2, 2025 at 8:17 am “You got any conkies left…?”

Nope.

But some cakes taken out of the over 45 minutes ago. Come to think of it I should start a thing making Bajan specialties for those who cannot cook or bake, or who don’t like to cook and bake.

My own mother and my father’s grandmother used to do these things. My great grandmother operated a commercial bakery on Gibbes Beach, opposite
    “Greensleves” back in the day when sugar was king, that is late 19th early 20th century and nobody wanted that sandy beach land but which was the only land a poor black country woman could afford. Wuhloss!!! that land is worth several million now. I believe that it is owned by the TetraPak people now.

26. @Platinum January 2, 2025 at 8:16 am “Long overdue is the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. Recently a non Barbadian who owns a property here and decided after Brexit, where they spent six months in France…”

Condolences on the death of your acquaintance. However it is unlikely that countries as small as Barbados, estimated population less than three hundred thousand [281,998] will ever be able to afford the kind of equipment that a country as large as France, estimated population more than 68 million [68,373,433] can afford.

27. Now if only we can get the reparations which are long overdue we could fix up the QEH and so much more.

28. You are always finding excuses for the poor service delivery at the QEH Simple. Even the new CEO has admitted there is so much to be done although we have come a long way when new elevators were left outside to rust for months. Good thing we could afford to purchase the equipment although installation was a problem.

29. For your information there is an active philanthropic thrust at the QEH. However a big issue affecting the QEH is the deliberate privatization of healthcare in Barbados. This is the overarching issue where all are complicit.

30. Both Greenidge and Mottley are members of the economic, technocratic, wokeist, global state which Brezenski first introduced back in the 1970s.

His is a nihilism which respects no so-called traditional values, national boundaries, etc. It consolidates wealth into fewer and fewer hands, like Greenidge’s mouthings suggest intent. And elevates techno gurus to dominate, subvert, all human communication. And so on.

Across the board, in every sphere, this is at the centre of major and currents problems.

31. @David January 2, 2025 at 1:55 pm “For your information there is an active philanthropic thrust at the QEH.

My response: Yes I know

However a big issue affecting the QEH is the deliberate privatization of healthcare in Barbados. This is the overarching issue.

My response: Not overarching, but damn nigh criminal. I don’t like it when most of our health professionals are educated from nursery to complex surgery compliments of long time tax payers like me, and then they want to charge as though they are USA doctors with $500,000 students loans hanging over their heads. And I know that some of them have exactly ZERO student loans, because some of them are my kinsmen/women. If I as a taxpayer funds your education, then I expect the best when I have to consult you. And don’t treat me like I am nothing and nobody because I have no money, because of all the taxes I paid to fund your education. I cudda hide my income from BRA have would now have quite a few hundred thousand tucked away.

32. David January 2, 2025 at 1:51 pm “You are always finding excuses for the poor service delivery at the QEH”

Not excuses. Facts.

And I wasn’t talking about service. I was talking about the cost of equipment. Do you really believe that a hospital funded by a few thousand people can afford the equipment and human resources as hospitals in Paris, London, New York etc.?

33. @Simple Simon

Do we know what was the piece of equipment Platinum referred to and if it would be out of budget for Barbados in the context you mentioned?

34. Goeht January 2, 2025 at 12:51 pm “🙂 What is difficult about catching a ZR and burning a single LED bulb at night to keep the electric bill below $30? 🙂 Murdah! Yuh gine kill muh!”

Nothing at all.

But Bush Tea would like me to pretend that I am a big shot who can afford to buy new a big ride every three years, and a big, big electric bill like colleagues of mine who used to boast that their electric bill was $1,200 per month, when mine was $200 and I worked SMART to halve it.

It is not my business to make the shareholders of Emera or any other company rich. Them smarter than me, so they don’t need any help from me. And I make it my business to help them [pay them] as little as possible.

Happy and healthy way past 70.

The yams coming in real-real good. Apart from what I have in the house now, I may not buy any wheat flour products until about August/September. No rice either. I will eat yam as my complex carbohydrate, as did my father [94] and his mother [90] did before me. Still have plenty sweet potatoes, cassava, pumpkin okras, sweet peppers, avocadoes and spinach left. Gave away plenty too. Sold a little, what the young people call my ‘l’il side hustle’ When people complain about the cost of food going up fortunately I don’t know what they are talking about.

35. Just checked Walmart. One dozen free range eggs, what we call yard fowl eggs cost $9.47 USD. A friend who doesn’t eat them gave me 2 dozen free. So tell Bushie that the cakes were baked with some of those, and that you can’t beat the full flavor of a piece of pudding baked with yard fowl eggs. Gave some already to a friend. Saving some for another friend and the dear sweet grands.

36. @David January 2, 2025 at 2:45 pm “Do we know what was the piece of equipment Platinum referred to and if it would be out of budget for Barbados in the context you mentioned?”

No we don’t.

And if Platinum knows he or she chose not to tell us.

So?

37. Bushie and the other bright BU people, I am looking for an opportunity to earn me $1,000 BDS per month to supplement the l’il pension.

Any great place(s) where I can put my money so that I can immediately start getting that amount?

38. Then how can you assume we cannot afford if it is critical to saving lifes Simple?

39. @Simple

Why not take your own advice and start a business?

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Supplement which lil pension, the one from GoB or the GoC?
    Bushie just want a lil pudding, from you, and a conkie would be nice for his ZR ride home. Whatever happened to Whitehall, or was that the old boar?
    Simple Bakery and Produce? You even could put the grands at the cash 😀

41. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@FRANK

“How does Avg Bajan Joe or Jane invest in a global index fund???” You going to convert their $BDD in Barmyland to £ or €, and hold them in the TMB Trust???

Every “PROBLEM” has a “SOLUTION” (if you look hard enough & dig – deep enough”)!!!

Your question is actually “GENIUS” – (if only, the “MOTTLEY_CREW GOV” didn’t stand in the way)!!!

YOUR GOV APPEARS PROGRESSIVE – ONLY WHEN IT PROFITS THEM – BUT WHEN A SOLITARY INDIVIDUAL GETS THE APPLAUSE, THEY WANT NOTHING 2 DO WITH IT, AS IT DOES NOT BENEFIT THEM…

To answer your question:

By implication, the #AverageJoe/ #AverageJill are not the “PALESKIN BAJANS” WHO OWN & CONTROL THE MEANS OF PRODUCTION, OR THE FACILITIES THAT CONTROL THE MARKET???

But why is that? And whose “FAULT” is it that in 2025, the “AVERAGE BAJAN”, as you call them – are not schooled in 21st century “MERCANTILISMS”???

With 300,000 Bajan holding “BILLIONS” in savings in the “HIGH STREET BANKS” – why is that kinda’ spending power not allow to “INVEST” their hard-earned monies in 2025 technologies???

WHY IS THAT THE DOMAIN OF A MERE FEW???

WHY HAVE SO-CALLED EDUCATED BAJANS ALLOWED THEIR GOVs TO HOGTIE THEM WITH THE SWILL THAT PIGS EAT – BRAINWASHING THEM WITH LIES, HALF-TRUTHS (#WholeLies) & A CLOAK OF SUBTERFUGE THAT HAS SO DUMBED-DOWN AN ENTIRE GENERATION???

#NoWonderThisGeneration is on the “BRINK” of “TERMINAL DESTRUCTION”!!!

I was just in BIM* (3 weeks ago) and what a “PITIFUL”, “PATHETIC”, “PALTRY” atmosphere exist in a country that had all the making of being the “JEWEL” of the Caribbean – “WHAT IN THE BOWELS OF HELL HAPPENED”????????????????????????

Is it any wonder, with “NO VISION”, “NO LEADERSHIP”, “NO SPIRIT”, “NO LEVEL PLAYING FIELD” & “NO VOICES OF INSPIRATION” that your young men/women are disillusioned with life & all they can find a serotonin rush is in “KILLING EACHOTHER” & whoever gets in their way???

WHO IS TO BLAME BIG BRUH???

#YourHumbleServant??? I am not your leader (GOD HELP Y’ALL IF I WAS)!!!

Your cuntry is “DOOMED” to hit that “LOOMING ICEBERG” if there is not course correction “IMMEDIATELY” – for “ALL HOPE” is gone & you can see it in the vast “POPULACE” who occupy that “LIL ROCK”: “you don’t even have to read “BARBADOS UNDERGROUND”!!!

Enough of the tirade on “MASS PSYCHOSIS”!!!

Here’s a starting-point (IN ANSWER TO YOUR CARICATURE-TYPE ALLUSIVE ???)!!!

https://www.fintechislands.com/

In studying “WARREN BUFFET’S BIO” – I discovered that he become unbelievably “WEALTHY” in his 60’s, although he was investing since in his “TEENS”…

This taught me: “TIME IS A FANTASTIC LEVELLER” & “AGE IS JUST A NUMBER” when you have “VISION”…

No wonder, society is falling apart, because the “MASSES” allow the “DEVILS FROM THE PITS OF HELL” to get away with “MURDER”, “THEFT”, & every known “EVIL”!!!

#WhatACuntry
    #WhatAPlace
    #WhatMadness

42. Things do move like sound, Waves do move like round, It don’t go up and down, It spreads circle bound, Running like a hound.

What world peace?
    What was in ya read? Yeah what was in ya feed?
    Where do you get to with the internet lead?
    Things do change and change can have a range
    Systems shouldn’t operate by sticking me in a cage
    Ain’t Dalai Lama
    Ain’t Sai Baba
    My words are my armor and you’re ’bout to meet your karma
    Karmageddon

43. @David January 2, 2025 at 3:44 pm “Why not take your own advice and start a business?”

I have, but truthfully it is not yet Microsoft.

Do you want to come with me in on the ground floor?

44. Still at de garage, de shed stage.

45. @Simple Simon

Not interested. Thanks.

46. @TMB
    Being concise, withOUT CAPS or !!!!!!!!!!, isn’t in your repertoire.
    I’ll keep trying. Thanks

47. @NorthernObserver January 2, 2025 at 3:52 pm “@SS Supplement which lil pension, the one from GoB or the GoC?”

25 cents from there and 75 cents from here=$1.00

So I get back based on what I have put in. No more. No less.

No GIS or other “goodies” for me as I don’t live there, and even if I did I may not have qualified.

48. @TB

You are aware Barbados has exchange controls? Any outflow of investments require it is backed by foreign reserves. What is the balance of foreign reserves compared to the 13 billion locked in deposits in the financial system you mentioned? Suggestions must be laced with a measure of being practical.

49. @Terence Blackett at 3:55 PM “our young men/women are disillusioned with life & all they can find a serotonin rush is in “KILLING EACHOTHER” & whoever gets in their way???”

Kindly note that in Barbados as elsewhere young women very rarely kill anybody. Is wunna men dat is de killers.

AS Dr. GP would say “I lie?”

50. The blog post referred to cultural characteristics that influence how Barbadians have invested through the years. The collapse of CLICO coupled with the haircut of 2018 would not have helped. The question for government’s leadership is what steps can be implemented to incentivize Barbadians to invest in. It will take more than a short man in a suit or a globe trotting PM.