The ‘omnipresent’ Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Kevin Greenidge is on message for the start of 2025. After a recent upgrade by Trinidad based CariCRIS, he called for Barbadians “…to invest. Whatever project they were planning, take it off the shelf, dust it off and go because that is how we are going to get the economic growth”.

There was also hype about the economy achieving 3.9% growth and unemployment rate holding at a respectable 7.7%. Truth be told GDP and the unemployment rate are the two key indicators used to track economic performance by successive governments. If it were business as usual the blogmaster would give unequivocal congratulations.

Traditional media actors and talking heads must be dispassionate in commentary about the performance of the local economy. There has been no fundamental change to the economic engine driving the economy. The growth being heralded by the Governor and government can be attributed to tourism with financial services chipping in. The ‘other sectors’ like manufacturing, agriculture and other services are statistically insignificant to moving the performance needle.

If we agree that Barbados is a one-leg economy, on what basis is Governor Greenidge and Prime Minister Mottley saying the economy has become more resilient in the post 2018 period? As far as the blogmaster is concerned we have no R&D and export creating industries; we continue to be a net purchaser of products and services, practically all of our foreign direct investment is tourism related.

The blogmaster recognises that there are ongoing attempts to rebuild crumbling infrastructure but much needed governance and law and order initiatives continue to undermine government’s transformation program. Lack of reform to State Owned Entities (SOEs) is one example of government’s lack of serious commitment to a transformation program it promotes. Does public sector reform sound familar?

Back to Governor Greenidge’s call for Barbadians to invest. In theory some of us understand for the economy to grow individuals and businesses will have to invest. Investment increases productivity, jobs, consumer activity and so on. However, Greenidge must know it is not that simple to command Barbadians and private sector to invest and it will occur. There are cultural characteristics that have given good reason for Barbadians to be described as being risk averse.

Historically Barbadians have not had appealing options in which to invest. The Barbados Stock Exchange exists in name only with small trade volumes. There is no Secondary Market. Even if these markets existed there is good reason to doubt a significant number of Barbadians would participate.

A lot of work is required to educate Barbadians about the upside to investing given what opportunities available. Bear in mind too many Barbadians are financially illiterate. An average Barbadian understands investing to be growing a saving account. Although in the past a segment of Barbadians was bullish on government bonds as the preferred option to invest, the 2018 haircut the Mottley government gave to bondholders has undermined public confidence in government bonds. On a daily basis the public is bombarded with promos to encourage Barbadians to purchase BOSS bonds.

There is a lot of work to be done to shore up the Barbados economy before any credibility can be earned that it has become more resilient. Also, let us tone down the rhetoric about ratings by credit rating agencies. Some of us have not forgotten these agencies were partly responsible for the 2006 global financial collapse.

158 responses to “Who wants to invest?”

1. @NorthernObserver “Simple Bakery and Produce? You even could put the grands at the cash.”

I like that name. I think that I will copyright it.

Some of the grands can’t count yet. Can’t read nor write either.

2. @David January 2, 2025 at 5:48 pm “…collapse of CLICO”

Collapse sounds like an accident.

Did CLICO collapse, or was it bulldozed by insiders?

Asking for a friend.

3. @david “what steps can be implemented to incentivize Barbadians to invest”

Maybe:
    Thou shall not steal
    Thou shall not covet

But we dun learn those things in Infants A.

Isn’t the sort of thing business and or political or religious leaders should have to teach us when we are bigable hard backed men and women.

4. Maybe we like behaving like gangsters.

5. @Simple Simon

Try to stay on point for a few comments at least.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

what steps can be implemented to incentivize Barbadians to invest”

1. Dividends are tax free.
    As it stands, the gross revenue already includes tax, VAT. Then, you deduct expenses, and now you pay corporate tax on that income. Part of this AFTER PAYING tax income is then returned to shareholders as dividends. Currently dividends paid to corporations are not taxable. Hence, all major shareholders have companies so they don’t pay tax on dividends. Extend that to ALL shareholders.
    2. Completely revamp the BSE, to allow for lesser requirements on small/start up businesses.
    3. Put all CAIPO employees on a bonus scheme which distributes 10% of revenue to employees. If they complete an application/form/task in 15 days the revenue is charged, after 15 days it’s FREE. No revenue, hence no bonus.
    4. A few other rules would help, but since the GoB blatantly ignores whatever they choose, these would be a waste of effort.

7. “The collapse of CLICO coupled with the haircut of 2018 would not have helped..”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not only its collapse.
    But even more so, the casual and dismissive REFUSAL to pursue the daytime ROBBERS – who we all know, and who are STILL walking bout FREE as birds.
    Shiite, some even get PROMOTE to top jobs bozie…

What message does THAT send???

Then there is the ‘haircut’.
    …where $1 Billion of our PENSION FUNDS has been casually WRITTEN OFF – by politicians who recently INCREASED their OWN pension benefits, and LOWERED their age of eligibility – while doing the OPPOSITE to local BBs.

Bushie suspects that our politicians spend MANY sleepless nights – trying to devise ways of getting their paws on the alleged $7Billion in ‘savings’ stashed away by our otherwise gullible Bajan Brass Bowls.

They used the CBB to SLASH Bank interest rates on public savings, in their attempt to FORCE BB to convert those savings over to the BOSS trough.
    When EVEN Bajan BBs could see through THAT scam, they came up with “BOSS-2”.

Now Greenidge is issuing THREATS – that unless such funds are freed up for ‘investment’, it shall be ‘cat piss and pepper’ bout here.. (in short, it will be OUR fault – and NOT that of the shiite hounds in charge of the Treasury).

He DONE KNOW that the ‘BB dog is dead’, the only question now is who to blame for the killing….

What a place nuh!!??

8. Here is a sound debt management program for Barbados
    it’s called “Don’t Buy Stuff You Cannot Afford”

9. @Bush Tea

You do have a way with words. Nothing to add. Then again we may need to discuss bail out vs bail in.

10. So for those who have never run a business the ” invest you money and tek it off the bank” makes it all sound so simple. For those of us who have run businesses though we know differently.

First the banking system here does NOT favour the entrepreneur. It’s spreadsheets with info and projections grand mer. Then we come to security and what you got to put up to borrow a few dollars. Now if you get past that you got to open an account at a bank. Well more paper needed there now cause its a business account you want. Then welcome to the real world of business with one of the most expensive ports in the region here to bring you goods through. Add to all that the joys of CAIPO and their inefficiency and you on the road to reality. Also don’t forget where we are on the ease of doing business scale neither, cause last time I checked we was near the bottom 30%. My point is that to make a dollar understand you going face major hurdles.

So what are your investment options? Well we got banks offering you less than 1 cent on the dollar as a return. Of course there is the government paper, but 2018 still left blood in the water that none of we forget. Then we got the stock exchange that most days can’t even get 2 cheese cutters and a Coke trade volume wise. So the alternative for safe investment with your capital guaranteed leaves little left other than the banks.

So I would say take the money clear off your credit cards and all liability costing you over 4% and go from there. As for ” investment” well what’s your appetite for risk and loss like?

11. @ Terence
    “Blessed 2025 Big Bruh…”
    ’times, a time, and half a time’… = “1 thousand, two hundred & sixty years”…
    ~~~~~~~~
    That is 1260 DAYS… not years.
    Kiki can handle that easily – provided that his Mary-J supplies can be maintained.

12. @ David
    I am also filing a counter petition to Ban Bush Tea for an equal time
    I anticipate Donna and Cuhdear would also concur

Jah Shaka Rock,
    Round the corner from where my mother block

Me go down to the rocket and

Jump to JAH SHAKA

When I reach back and go fe relax and

Me take off mi jacket and I hear the knocker

Negusa Negas Moa Anbessa

The girl from Xymacca bring I the Macka

Me give thanks fe that and

Back home I drop her

Virgin ma ma mwen

Boniface papa mwen

Myeah yeah yeah ee

Myeah myeahmm oh JAH JAH

JAH JAH oh JAH JAH

Round the corner from where my mother block

Me go down to the rocket and

Jump to JAH SHAKA

When I reach back and go fe relax and

Me take off mi jacket and I hear the knocker

Negusa Negas Moa Anbessa

The girl from Xymacca bring I the Macka

Me give thanks fe that and

Back home I drop her

Virgin ma ma mwen

Boniface papa mwen

Myeah yeah yeah ee

Myeah myeahmm oh JAH JAH

Myeah yeah yeah ee

Myeah myeahmm oh JAH JAH

JAH JAH oh JAH JAH

13. Our friends Ted Postol, Larry Johnson, Scott Ritter and Danny Hyphong are trying their darnest to frighten the world into a conciiusness about the extreme dangers currently faced by nuclear war. Dangers fostured by economic greed which this GoCB has not a care about.

But nobody is anymore so fearful!

https://youtu.be/EBoV6YrZOGo?si=wMOK4Riz0HvAKzMe

14. “I am also filing a counter petition to Ban Bush Tea for an equal time
    I anticipate Donna and Cuhdear would also concur”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bushie wishes to second dat motion –
    Provided that the Bushman has access to conkies from Cuhdear in place of Kiki’s herb.
    Also..
    Cuhdear has to bring two fresh conkies personally every day (by the last ZR), and she can take the early morning ZR back home to resume her duties…
    She would undergo ‘intensive investment sessions’ in the interim… LOL

By the time Kiki is back on BU with his ‘ragga ragga’ gibberish , Cuhdear would be posting as ’Simple Simon’ again …and singing old gospel songs like ‘Amazing grace’.

Wunna ban muh do!!

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT
    I know you can write sweet….but…
    They used the CBB to SLASH Bank interest rates on public savings, in their attempt to FORCE BB to convert those savings over to the BOSS trough.

In fairness, it was a former admin who allowed rate (floating) slashing, largely to make their products, bonds and TBills be more attractive.
    This admin hasn’t forced (reintroduced) a min deposit savings rate, because that forces them to increase their offered rates, in light of ‘risk factors’ previously not considered possible (default).

16. @John A at 7:42 PM on January 2, 2025 “…clear off your credit cards and all liability costing you over 4% and go from there.”

I’ve already done these things. Zero credit card debt. No liabilities costing over 4%.

So what now?

Sincerely

ZR woman seeking advice from a financial whiz.

17. @555dubstreet January 2, 2025 at 9:07 pm “I am also filing a counter petition to Ban Bush Tea for an equal time. I anticipate Donna and Cuhdear would also concur.”

Actually I am not in favor of banning anybody.

I like BU because it is kinda “wild.”

18. @Bush Tea January 2, 2025 at ?? PM “Cuhdear has to bring two fresh conkies personally every day (by the last ZR), and she can take the early morning ZR back home to resume her duties…She would undergo ‘intensive investment sessions’ in the interim.”

No please. The ZR woman prefers “safe spaces” home, ‘the plantation’, church, any ZR. I went to town the other day and slept on the ZR all the way home. That is how I define a “safe space”

Additionally if I need financial/investment advice I will ask John A and/or Northern.

19. @ Cuhdear

Well I can tell you that you are one step ahead of most for sure so congrats.

The problem here is there is little opportunity for investment. Yes we have the credit unions, the banks which basically are money storers with no decent returns and of course government paper, along with a few mutual funds. The thing is though older people want their capital guaranteed so that rules out the mutual funds unless you opt for an interest fund and not a growth fund.

The problem here is the central bank refuses to get involved with the Bank’s activities and hence they make us see hell by offering us nothing on our money, then raping us when we borrow. Barbadian based banks enjoy one of the widest spreads between deposit and lending and with no mandated minimum savings rate by the central bank what you expect. They then turn around and cut business hours while enjoying large profits.

Maybe it’s time the central bank gets involved and stops talking about using things like “moral suasion ” as a tool to protect us! Then again what better way to drive Bajans to government paper than to allow the banks to offer us nothing on our money?

Moral suasion with a Bank lord I deading here with laughter!

20. @John A

Putting money in the banks is not investing, it is saving. A big difference.

21. And how does the banks make their profits? By loaning out part of the people savings and INVESTING some in government bonds

22. @john2

Your comment is not 100% accurate in a post 2018 period.

23. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@Bush Tea

“That is 1260 DAYS… not years”

The #Day4YearPrinciple would see @KIKI exiled for the time the #RomanCatholicChurch ruled with a “ROD” of iron (538 AD – 1798)…

Thankfully, “PURGATORY” would be short-lived for only “DAYZ” & not “YEARS”!!!

24. @ David

You mean putting money in a BAJAN bank is not investing its saving. Lol

That is because our banks do not offer any Instruments for investment. They do not want to be obligated to you at a guaranteed saving rate for a specified period when they can use it as they wish and lend people to buy Range Rovers instead.

25. One of the better posts in this discussion began with
    “The toe bone’s connected to the foot bone
    The foot bone’s connected to the ankle bone

This may be an issue, but there are so many issues confronting us that Joe Average is transfixed to his spot. The higher-ups can run around talking about ‘pie in the sky but Joe Average who sees the sky continuously falling on him is in self preservation mode.
    Joe Text
    Hold on what you got

26. Who wants to invest?

Certainly not our prime minister.

Two years ago, she recommended that Guyana should become the bread basket for Barbados. She doubled up on this by exporting our black belly sheep to Guyana. She argued that our economies of scale for animal husbandry and agriculture could not match those of Guyana.

We need William Skinner, an individual of a certain age A man whom I would still call a domestic Bajan. A man who can recall when standpipes were part of our landscape; the period of black owned thriving businesses; a Barbados where watchkeepers would bar blacks from walking unfettered in areas such as Belville and Strathclyde; and a period when Ms Rock ran a fleet of buses with a rod of iron.

Mr Skinner could you please explain why Barbados under this government refuses to invest in agriculture. Is it true that our people no longer consider agriculture to be a viable option?

27. Cuhdear Bajan
    January 3, 2025 at 5:54 am

I went to town the other day and slept on the ZR all the way home. That is how I define a “safe space”

Most people would just say that is a sign of old age!!

It happens to all of us, not necessarily on the ZR.

28. Market Summary
    Emera Inc
    53.97 CAD
    +0.44 (0.82%)today
    Jan 3, 11:43 a.m. EST •

29. @ Hants

Do you remember when cable and wireless operated in our region they had the Gaul to say ” the Caribbean is very important to us because it represents a large portion of our profitS.”

For decades we been getting our tail soak by these internationals its just that the numbers are getting larger now and not easliy hidden like they were before.

30. @John A

Trying to understand your position. We operate in a capitalist system where the objective of any business is to make money. It is up to the government to enact relevant laws are implemented and enforced to ensure all actors in the system benefit.

31. “Mr Skinner could you please explain why Barbados under this government refuses to invest in agriculture.”

No Man is an Island
    William believes in a 1 nation Caribbean not 700 small separate Islands each doing their own version of everything. Guyana is about 500 times bigger than Barbados.

32. @ David

Yes sir and that is my point from earlier who looks out for us the end consumer as individuals.

So companies face the increases but pass them on to us the consumers so they don’t feel the pain we do as individuals. The problem is who looks after us. Please don’t tell me the FTC either as they have failed on several fronts so to do. That leaves State intervention. The CBB has the power to deal with the banks why has he not? If he doesn’t want to set a minimum interest rate, well better yet regulate the point spread between deposit and loan rates. I mean do something to control the madness. It’s not us older ones they hurt, cause all I need from them is a cheque book and a debit card tied to Visa or Mastercard. Wunna can keep the credit card too! It’s the younger entrepreneurs starting out that need help. They are the ones having to jump through hoops for A $5000 loan.

33. @John A

We are back to the old chicken and egg argument. We have the regulators that are agents of government (politicians) BUT who control the government and politicians from the shadows?

34. @ David

And there in lies the problem no one really wants to make the uncomfortable decisions in the best interest of us the employers of these said politicians. Of course we could set up a committee to look into it and appoint a lackie to chair the committee, as that seems to be a popular approach.

It’s the old statement politicians say to each other. WE WANT CHANGE AS LONG AS NOTHING REALLY CHANGES.

35. “It is up to the government to enact relevant laws are implemented and enforced to ensure all actors in the system benefit.”

Businesses are like Governments
    They want to take more money to provide less quality and quantity service

36. @John A January 3, 2025 at 8:39 am “Cuhdear Well I can tell you that you are one step ahead of most for sure so congrats.”

About a year ago the bank tried to persuade me to take a credit card. I simply said “no.” I know how to say no. If you doubt me ask Bush Tea. Lol! I traveled a lot, maybe too much when I was young. Now that I am old I am happy to be a barnacle on this rock called Barbados. I don’t need to buy a lot of stuff now that the children are working for themselves. I use online payments or a debit card for most things, food, utilities, church, new shoes. I hold maybe $20 cash to buy ice cream from the truck. So what do I need a credit card for?

My “sins” ice cream and new shoes, Lol!

37. Another crippling thing many young people have not learnt is that in the case of loans like a mortgage, the snakes take their interest up front. So lets say you have a 30 year mortgage and 15 years into the mortgage you think ” well let me clear my mortgage as I have saved enough to do so” many think they will owe the bank half what they borrowed. No sir you will probably owe still around 80% of what you borrowed or more as the bank takes their interest up front.

Our problem also stems from our education system where topics like finance and money management are not taught. Couple that to the brainwashing and material chase we have developed and our young people are the perfect consumers for the bank loans and credit offerings.

38. @ John A
    Boss, your submissions on this topic have been inspirational – just knowing that there is at LEAST one BB with working eyes and a brain, gives hope that a few more may exist.

It is hard to describe the sadness of seeing gullible BBs being raped daily by the FOREIGN OWNED banks, utilities, retailers, insurance companies, news agencies, car dealers, hoteliers, real estate people, and pharmacies…. and then to have the government that represents us, not only inviting and BRINGING MORE vultures to torment our donkeys, but joining them via NISSS, HOPE, BOSS, STEAL, Four Seasons, and an ever increasing series of scams… many without any vaseline.

Shiite, even the coconut vendors and ZR terrorists have also joined in terrorizing our sore burros.

Back 50 years hence,
    Barbados and Bajans were CLEARLY BLESSED.
    Were CLEARLY proud of their strength and resilience
    Were CLEARLY proud of their association with our CREATOR.
    …and were accordingly envied.

Now, we are CLEARLY the laughting stock of the region and the world –
    “The BB people who SEEK to be enslaved”

– made worse by the lotta pretentious shiite talk at the world stage – while begging and borrowing and kowtowing to ANYONE with $$$$ – and who is looking for a good time…

What a turnaround!
    What a price!

Steupsss!
    Unless we can find another dozen or so like you John A, ..and soon,
    Sodom and Gomorrah may be the story of our fate.

39. @ Bush Tea

First thanks for your kind words. Truth is like you it is hard for me to watch what is happening to us. Some of the issues stem from the choices made by our politicians. Sadly much of our dilema is caused by decisions we have made and our consumption patterns based on bling and trying to keep up with the Jones, who themselves brek as ass and in debt cause they trying to keep up with the Smiths, who also up to their ears in debt.

We spend our money on consumables that hold no value long term like cars, 70 inch Tvs and what ever else we feel we must have. Sadly none of these things are growth assets. You remember years back when parents preached get piece of land to their kids. I remember when many people from humble backgrounds were able by their frugal spending, to gift each of their children a piece of land for a start in life. Today most young people looking for a $80,000 toyota instead and willing to rent till dem dead. So what changed? Well the influence of media played a part, but the dam banks also made it easy to borrow for such consumables. So they made finance available for everything with a short shelf life. Why? Well dem in the business of lending so what sweeter to lend for than a car! The borrower always in debt, cause when the loan done in 7 years they back in the bank looking to borrow for a next one.

I don’t have the answers but what I can say is that our educational system does not prepare our youth for reality. They leave school and find work geared up to consume and quick so a bank shoves a credit card in their hand with a $2000 limit, thus starting the financial demise of another financially unprepared young Barbadian.

40. @ Jonm A
    Have another read of your 9.05 am submission, and you will see that you CLEARLY highlight the significant role of the MEDIA in influencing the new self-destructive tendencies of Bajans to go after bling and valueless shiite like cars and TVs.

Check out their foci.
    See what they highlight and reward…
    THIS IS THE TRUE EDUCATION SYSTEM of Brassbados -controlled by outsiders.
    NOT the ‘Eddykashun shiite’ that we spend millions on each year.

Steupss…
    Even our leaders are so influenced. Listen to them carefully…
    Every shiite is about $$$$$ and short term rewards like fetes, ‘We Gatherin’, hampers etc.

The strategy of taking over the ‘Nation’ FIRST, and THEN the Nation by stealth was a masterful one – aided by Hoyte et al.

Where there is no vision, BBs inevitably perish.

Amen.

41. Is it true Courts practice of allowing hire purchase customers to benefit from the cash price was discontinued presumably to benefit their finance company? It is a Wild west in Barbados. We can blame consumers as the blogmaster often does but government and its agents are expected to advocate and protect citizens interest.

42. @John A

It is all about education, reading the mortgage agreement to understand that a 15 year mortgage is 15 x 12 =180 payments where the interest and the principal is mixed up. This is where the regulators, government and so-called consumer advocates have to ensure agreements are transparent.

43. @ David

Yes but it goes further than that as the educational system is where the failure started. How many children leaving school even know how to balance a cheque book? How many know that when they hear a loan is 4% that it does not mean you will only pay 104% of what you borrowed back to the bank?

I will say now what some may think offensive and that is the fact that older Barbadians were way better off because of the difficulty in getting credit. They built houses a little at a time and owed no one for it. They bought what they could buy cash and left the rest. In other words they mastered the art of being debt free and cutting their suit to suit their cloth. In other words they were not part of the consumption generation.

So yes in the end they were better off in real terms than Bajans of today with their Range Rovers and Jags. They owned tangible assets like land, farms and growth assets. Today they own worthless bling for impressing others, most of who themselves are doing the same thing. And who do I blame for this? The Bank’s who feed us loans for cars easier than for land and a failed education system that has not taught our youth even the basics of personal economics.

Right I putting way the soap box and done there!

44. @John A

By mentioning a checkbook you have exposed your age. Young people don’t use checkbooks. However your point is taken.

45. The Dutch are coming.

46. Somewhere in the article it mentions tourism being the cornerstone of the economy however our economy is promoted as being resileint.

BRIGHT OUTLOOK

Straughn optimistic of 4 to 4.5 per cent growth

By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

Barbados’ economic outlook for 2025 remains optimistic, with the Government projecting growth of four to 4.5 per cent, according to Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn.

Speaking on the recent upgrade of Barbados’ sovereign issuer credit ratings by the Caribbean Information and Credit Rating Services Limited (CariCRIS), Straughn highlighted the country’s strengthened fiscal position and continued economic resilience.

CariCRIS recently raised the Government of Barbados’ credit rating by one notch to CariBBB (Regional Scale Local Currency), signifying an adequate level of creditworthiness compared to other Caribbean nations. The upgrade reflects key achievements, including a reduction in the debt-to-GDP ratio to 105.6 per cent as of September 2024, down from 108.7 per cent the previous year and 120.7 per cent in 2022. The agency also noted robust GDP growth driven by tourism, business services, and construction, as well as recordbreaking tourism arrivals surpassing pre-pandemic levels.

Straughn attributed the credit upgrade to disciplined fiscal management and targeted economic strategies.

“We’ve done quite a bit of work to ensure that our fiscal circumstances reflect the reasons for the upgrade,” he said. Highlighting the Government’s focus on sustainable growth, he added: “Our people will be getting work and the idea that the economy is propped up on borrowed money makes no sense. All investment, whether private or public, is predicated on sound financial propositions.”

The minister noted that private and public sector investments, including hotel construction and infrastructure projects, were central to the island’s growth trajectory. These initiatives, he said, would help maintain investor confidence and create opportunities for Barbadians. “We shall continue in this discipline, which will allow people to confidently invest in Barbados,” Straughn asserted.

While expressing optimism, Straughn acknowledged potential challenges posed by global geopolitical tensions.

“There are some geopolitics that could

Tourism still main driver of economy have a significant impact on growth globally, and therefore Barbados is part of that,” he cautioned. However, he said the Government’s measures were designed to mitigate these risks and sustain economic progress.

Tourism remains a cornerstone of the country’s economic recovery, with arrivals exceeding expectations in 2024.

The momentum is expected to continue in 2025, bolstered by increased airlift and events such as the We Gatherin’ initiative, which encourages Barbadians abroad to return home this year.

“Depending on the number of Barbadians who come home, we’ll see an additional boost to growth,” Straughn explained.

He noted that the International Monetary Fund (IMF) had stated its recognition of Barbados’ economic improvements, as the country successfully completed the Extended Fund Facility and gained access to the Resilience and Sustainability Trust programme, with a primary balance of 4.0 per cent of GDP as of September 2024, exceeding expectations.

Gross international reserves, equivalent to over seven months of import cover, provide further stability and external debt repayment support.

CariCRIS’ stable outlook underscores the balance between Barbados’ strong primary surpluses and steady medium-term economic growth.

As Barbados enters 2025, Straughn reiterated Government’s commitment to fostering an environment conducive to sustained growth and prosperity.

“We are aiming for a very, very good year,” he said, urging Barbadians to play their part in supporting the island’s progress.

Last week, economists Professor Emeritus Michael Howard and former University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus banking and finance lecturer Jeremy Stephen raised concerns about the level of the country’s borrowing.

While both acknowledged the potential for growth, they expressed concerns over the nation’s debt management, reliance on external factors and the lack of clarity in Government financial strategies.

Stephen anticipated some growth, contingent on the timely execution of Government projects and stabilisation of international factors.

Howard, however, remained wary of the nation’s reliance on borrowing and the lack of diversification in its economic base.

Stephen described 2025 as “a year of reckoning” for Barbados, influenced by domestic and international dynamics.

Domestically, he noted the Government’s increasing ambition in taking on debt to fund capital works projects.

47. This is a good initiative without knowing the content. It needs to be acerbated to as many students as possible AND sustained.

Students get insight into investments

A number of fifth and sixth form students from three secondary schools were recently exposed to the fundamentals of investments, in an effort to empower them to make informed financial decisions as they prepare to enter the world of work.

Coordinator for the National Financial Literacy Programme’s schools’ component FLITE, Corey Worrell, disclosed that the pilot phase of “Get The Bag”, was introduced to students at Springer Memorial Secondary, Christ Church Foundation and Daryll Jordan Secondary Schools during the last week of Term 1.

The students were taught the basics of investing, how to identify the characteristics of good investments (white flags) and how to recognise the warning signs of bad investments (red flags).

In giving the rationale for “Get The Bag”, Worrell said: “At this transitional stage in a young person’s life, many students are eager to start earning money for personal goals, education, or even entrepreneurial pursuits. However, the allure of getrich- quick schemes, such as ponzi and pyramid schemes, often prey on unaware, impressionable and vulnerable individuals seeking financial gain and freedom.

“In Barbados, some adults have lost a substantial amount of money to such fraudulent schemes, leading to emotional and financial devastation. Through Get The Bag, FLITE seeks to prevent future generations from repeating these mistakes by educating our students.”

The coordinator explained that by providing this knowledge in an engaging and interactive format, FLITE’s aim was to inspire students to approach investing as a longterm strategic process, which they could navigate with caution, confidence and an informed perspective.

“The long-term goal is to develop a generation of financially literate individuals who can identify and avoid fraudulent schemes while pursuing legitimate paths to financial success,” Worrell said.

The initiative was well received by the students and teachers, including the Guidance Counsellor from Daryll Jordan Secondary School, Annastasia Branch, who said the presenters were engaging, enthusiastic and informative.

“During the breakout sessions, the students talked and asked many questions, and this led to them being very competitive during the quiz,” Branch shared.

She added that even the teachers expressed an interest in benefitting from a similar presentation.

Worrell disclosed that more children would be exposed to the “Get The Bag” programme during Term 2. (BGIS)

48. Hmmmm

Of budgets, saving and investing

The following article was submitted by Paul Ashby, chief executive officer of SigniaGlobe. It provides readers with financial planning tips and budgeting for 2025.

By Paul Ashby

Most of us have aspirations of higher levels of income and accumulating wealth.

Most people are very occupied and even preoccupied with one side of the ledger, which is the income side, but the real key to forging a way to increased savings and ultimately increased wealth lies more on the management of expenses than on your level of income.

In fact, from my personal experience, every time you receive a salary increase, what actually happens next is that you increase your expenses, which puts you back in the same place as when you had a lower salary or lower levels of income. Therefore, if you can master the discipline of managing your spending you will quickly realise that it is the key to amassing savings and then the opportunity for wealth creation will follow.

The first idea, therefore, that I wish to offer as it relates to improving one’s financial situation is discipline.

Discipline to set a budget, discipline to stick to the budget or plan, discipline in spending. The plan should include spending on entertainment and self-care, taking care of the necessary bills and it should definitely include some portion of saving – putting aside something. Normally, the rule of thumb that persons use is ten per cent, which is a great place to start, but the percentage can vary depending on your circumstances and your commitments. The key is to determine an amount and stick to it.

The next important key is increasing the amount you are putting aside as time goes by, especially when salary increases occur. It is crucial that you do not spend your entire salary increase or bonus or any additional income.

A key point I want to make is that we live in a very consumer-driven world where there is a lot of enticement to consume and to consume using debt, that is, consume now and pay later. However, as a banker, I cannot emphasise how important it is for you to have control over your debt, and in particular, your credit card debt.

A credit card is convenient and arguably necessary to transact business, but it is an easy and expensive recurring debt. You should be aiming to aggressively decrease your credit card balance from time to time so that you are not paying a never ending debt. This means paying off or paying down more than your minimum payment. Remember that controlling your expenses is the most important aspect of managing your financial journey. Let’s talk a bit about developing a savings habit and accumulating savings that you do not have easy access to. Banking today is becoming more and more convenient. The use of debit cards and online banking has made it very easy to access your accounts, but to ensure that you build those savings and don’t touch them, you ought to have them in an account that is not easily accessible to you, such as a credit union or a finance company.

You may use the fixed deposit product, or even consider something that is near cash accessible but slightly out of reach for spending; like mutual funds, savings bonds or boss bonds. Some of these instruments are what one would consider as investment type options but I am suggesting that they can be used on your savings plan. They are easy instruments to apply small sums of money to and they can give some moderate levels of return, especially in a low savings rate environment which is currently the case in our commercial banking system.

What about investments? It has been said that you should only invest what you can afford to lose. Now there are various levels of comfort as it relates to investment options and these may coincide with the stage of life of an individual.

You are usually investing to obtain income from your investment or at the other end of the spectrum you are investing in anticipation that the asset will improve in value over a period of time. The nature of investments is that the higher the return, the greater the risk, so one has to determine what your objectives are based on your stage of life and how much risk you wish to take.

Some investment options can include purchasing of stocks/ shares on the local Barbados Stock Exchange, or on regional exchanges (Trinidad and Tobago or Jamaica) and also on international exchanges; for example, New York Stock Exchange. You may also invest in property for short-term or longterm rental, or in a business that provides a return. The idea behind investing is to acquire passive income which is the notion of having your money earn for you without having to physically work for the income.

The reason you do this with surplus funds is that the investment may not always return an income immediately or steadily. In most cases, a deeper study or understanding of the investment option is required. Therefore, consulting with a qualified professional in the financial or investing space to ensure you understand the risks involved in the investment you are pursuing is sometimes the best course of action.

To summarise, on your financial journey this year, starting early is important, the ideas of disciplined saving and disciplined spending, should start with your first job. One of the “wonders” of the world is the combination of time and compound interest. If at age 20 and you start an account with $200 and deposit $200 monthly with interest rate of two per cent, by age 40 and without doing anything else, you would accumulate $60 000.

If you start your savings habit from your first job you will accumulate funds, if you include the important discipline of managing your spending, you will get to your goals faster.

If you combine these elements with continuous planning, you will eventually be able to invest and make your money work for you, so you can start achieve passive income. However, if you did not have the benefit of this information from your first job, it is never too late to start, you can start now.

As you set your goals for 2025, I encourage you to take that step to open a special savings account or take that next step to speak to a financial professional if you wish to start your investment journey.

Take some action now.