Along with the late legal luminary Jeff Cumberbatch, Walter Blackman was one of Barbados Underground’s biggest supporters. His submissions especially on matters to do with NIS were enlightening.

Walter’s passing has left us all in deep sorrow. As a valued member of the BU family, he brought a unique insight that enriched our blog.

Condolences to his family. May he rest in peace.

27 responses to “Walter Blackman, gone but will not be forgotten”

1. A good man.
    Condolences to his family. May he rest in peace.

2. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

May he rest peacefully with his ancestors in his Faith!

David, he surely did enrich your site and our discussions.

I first recalled the man from school ‘dazes’ as he was a contemporary of my older brothers and others who I looked up to.

Meeting his bright and sometimes imprudent persona here was a joy.

Well done oh impressive Bajan brother.

3. My husband and I are in shock we are from the UK and listen to Brasstacks regularly.

My husband more so! He can’t believe it a great man he said very unbiased in his opinions such sad shame.

Condolences to his family friends and work colleagues such a big loss…

4. Critical Analyzer Avatar

His valuable contributions and insight will be missed.

My condolences to his family friends and work colleagues.

5. A relatively young man. Maybe his early sixties. And the 60s are the new 40s. No?

Wonder what could have taken him so soon.

We did not always agree, and there is never a need to, travel well Walter!

6. When he had the time to write he preferred the BU medium to share. He fought a good fight.

See BU Archives for his submissions.

https://barbadosunderground.net/?s=Walter+Blackman

7. He will be missed. I enjoyed conversing with him on BU. He always wanted to see the NIS fund properly regulated.

A good man gone. Condolences to his family.

8. My sincere condolences to Mr. Walter Blackman’s family and friends. He will be missed on the call in program. May he Rest In Peace. Up and On.

9. I never met Walter in person but as a Down to brasstacks listener, I quickly understood the powerful intellect that he had. I dare say that the entire world is a much poorer place on the intellectual front without his contributions.

10. Condolences to Walter Blackman’s family. I enjoyed reading and listening to him. His words were both wise and kind.

11. With respect, the photo is maybe 40 years old and is therefore unrepresentative of Blackman as most recently known.

12. And for a man who has spent his life dealing with matters including the representativeness of samples, well?

13. I am sorry to see Walter go. I rather enjoyed interacting with him. I never met him, but I felt like I had. I shall miss knowing that he is with us.

First Jeff, now Walter. Both gone, but I shall not forget them. Our nation is poorer without them.

14. Sincere condolences to the family and friends of Bushie’s partner Walter.
    Ever upward to the fight
    Ever upward to the light
    Ever true to God and Right

What a life!!

15. He loved BU.

16. I extend profound condolences to Walter’s family. He used both BU and Brasstacks , to highlight the shortcomings of our National insurance system and gave advice freely to those who were having difficulties with areas such as pensions and severance payments. It can therefore be said that he gave back to the country , as a forthright right commentator on all national issues and gave solid advice to many.
    His contribution to national development was well received and extremely helpful to citizens.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

Extremely sad news, and condolences to his family and loved ones.
    His insight into the operation of several entities, especially the NIS, were always factual and measured.
    Hopefully, his selfless approach has inspired others to be the voice of the people in areas of their expertise.

18. Blackman,,,too soon. I am sure they are both having discussions about the NIS.

19. I haven’t as yet seen any condolences extended by the political class [neither D nor B]

Wha’ happen?

20. The DLP President Andre Worrell was heard on national radio today expressing condolences. The blogmaster probably missed the one from government.

21. @Pachamama November 12, 2024 at 4:40 pm “And the 60s are the new 40s. No?”

Sadly, no.

The life expectancy of a Barbadian male is 75.68. For a Barbadian woman it is 77.71 a mere 2 years more.

So if you can do good for someone today, be like Walter and do it now.

22. Condolences to Walter Blackman’s family. I knew him in a personal level and ladies spoke to him on May 1st 3024 at St. Barnabas Church Fair. Sleep well my friend.

23. Well done Walter … You held a line. You are not one that thinks you have a need for balance. How can there be balance when one side has clear access to all manner of public platforms. People who seek “balance” believe themselves capable of MANAGING PUBLIC OPINION. You never had that need. You held a side, wrong or right.

Travel Well, Old Friend, Travel Well

Anti-America

24. Lorenzo
    My condolences to MrBlackman and his family.In my opinion he was very bias towards the dems but that was his right.May he rest in piece and rise in glory.

25. Firstly, the internet is full of studies which purport precisely this. That the 60s are now the new 40s. And there’s much scientific evidence in support. And a lot of anecdotal information as well.

Secondly, we are not as sure as you seem to be are that Walter Blackman was all Bajan and Bajan alone. There seems to be information that he died in an American hospital after living there previously for a long stint.

Thirdly, and at the narrower end of the spectrum, there are groups specializing in gerontology which are arguing that they know how humans could live as long as 150 years.

Fourthly, the lifespans referenced were not alway the case. Indeed, there was a time when most humans did not reach the 30s. And these numbers could increase or decrease in the future depending on a number of variables.

Fifthly, doctors currently know how to measure the differences between biological and numeric ages.

And on and on!

26. Condolences to Mr. Blackmans family and friends. I always read his submissions and supposed he was an Actuary before someone, maybe he, himself, said he had studied Actuarial Science in the US. Hence, his lucid and forthright comments and opinions on the Barbados NIS. May he rest in peace.