It is with intense regret the following blog is being posted. News broke overnight of a 12 year old girl shot after a masked gunman sprayed two houses with bullets located at Silver Hill, Christ Church.

Drive-by shootings, killings execution style have become a routine occurrence in Barbados in recent years. Sometimes one has to stop to ask if this is Barbados and if with all the renaming of buildings these days if Barbados should be renamed Guntown.

The blogmaster does not intend to be prolix on this matter, it has become clear even to a blind man on a horse, our people have become untethered from our moorings of the past. We find ourselves in the current state as a result of negligent parenting, incompetent enforcement and a people riddled with corrupt tendencies.

For the first time the blogmaster is able to recall, an innocent child has been shot as a result of the level of lawlessness currently afflicting our society. An innocent child shot from all reports sitting in her home doing what children do no doubt.

In previous posts on crime this blogmaster has indicated that Barbados government needs to declare a state of emergency at the earliest time before the situation gets worse. Of course the blogmaster feels no pleasure in making the suggestion BUT on the current trajectory it is obvious where we are headed if relevant stakeholders refuse to escalate intervention strategies.

Governments in the Caribbean have previously declared ‘violence’ a public health crisis. When Covid 19 reached our shores the Barbados government was quick as lighting to activate state of emergency laws which authorised it to bypass established protocols to fight the pandemic. Isn’t it obvious violent crime is escalating and requires a similar urgent response unshackled from the normal bureacrartic process?

A glance at the sidebar indicates we are up to 30 reported homicides for the year, tracking the highest number of 48 in 2019. Government data collection system is not robust therefore the public is unable to access number of shootings, stabbings, and other forms of violent crime at a glance. However, there is sufficient evidence to support what is being reported represents the “tip of the proverbial iceberg” of violent crime in Barbados.

A 12 year old child sitting in her home was shot – what will it take to trigger a sense of urgency from Barbados authorities and citizens? How many more must be shot? How many more must die?

The piecemeal namby-pamby measures being rolled out to combat our high level of crime- reported and perceived by the public- do not accord with the declaration by regional governments violent crime is a public health crisis. We have to take the hit to our pride today to save our small society from falling over the precipice tomorrow.

A word to the wise should be sufficient.

101 responses to “Namby pamby approach to crime failing”

1. Gary Griffith for Prime Minister Of Caricom https://youtu.be/6_oen1KoW-8?feature=shared

2. Well, Bajans have been exposed to decades of cultural penetration.

The propaganda wars emanating therefrom have gotten the society hardened to all kinds of violence, other maladies toooo!

How then is it possible to, on the one hand, allow Hollywood to beam violence into every formative Bajan brain cell, and on the other, while not making a case against the capitalist root, complain that the violence indicators the society has achieved are the results the authors have long determined.

Not only violence! Barbados boasts about other indicators which are the children of Western degeneracy.

Yes a 12 year old child would have died last night from the violence we all point to. Certainly, every 12 years old is prescious.

However, how many children have died for other avoidable reasons – abortions, for example.

This and others are the causes for a declining population. As a results, the wider system we operate under is helping us to destroy children, ourselves, in every circumstance.

Is it not clear that this system can never be fixed? Why would that be unexpected when all kinds of violence are promoted as the dog eats dog mentality is the norm.

3. This article was in Guardian on Monday
    ‘Wherever you have drugs, you have guns’: why is there an epidemic of violence in the Caribbean?
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/article/2024/aug/19/caribbean-violent-regions-in-americas

4. So which part of the island should there be a state of emergency. Jamaica usually has it in the south. What message do we intend to send the international community about having an island wide state of emergency. What would be the goals. Are we going to call out the defense force to raid homes. When you arrest people after raids where will they be imprisoned after booking.
    The valid point of a holistic approach requires goals and objectives. How to engage the 15-35yo. How to stem the movement of drugs and guns into island, etc. We’re good at talking but poor at strategizing and implementation. Expect another prayer session to halt the spread of crime.

5. If violent crime continues on the current trajectory how will the international community respond? The other question for you, the 12 year old question s from the international community?

6. @ irate blog master

Boss..
    Name an area of public affairs in brassbados where the approach can be honestly described as ‘much better than namby pamby’.

Perhaps the problem may not be one of ‘failing crime response’ per se… but one of our COMPETENCE to effectively manage / solve complex problems.

It is one thing to ‘Watch Muh’ or ‘Listen to Muh’.
    You could even get Brass Bowls to VOTE for yuh….
    But actually SOLVING complex problems is an altogether different challenge.

We can only hope that the BB Police Service don’t get the idea of ‘solving this problem’ by no longer responding to incidents -since the culprits will be out on bail again in a few weeks anyway – and even if not, will just be gaining their ‘badge of Honor’ at the St Philip Academy…

What a place…

7. Roslyn, I’m afraid that there’s nothing we can do about this problem in Barbados unless the government admits that this problem stems from their desire to introduce and increase mass tourism, the right for foreigners to purchase land and build property, foreign businesses who have embedded themselves into our business landscape, the development of private ports and an over abundance of accountants and lawyers.

Barbados has become a safe haven for money laundering and money launderers – period!!!

This government, the previous one and the one before them have always been aware of this problem.

So long as gun violence does not impact our tourist trade and the rich ghettos; and it can be contained within the impoverished parts of Barbados which are untouched by these two groups then the government will feel that they can remain in control of such events. After all we are only talking about poor domestic black Bajans. A demographic group which has always been generally despised by our elite.

Such cynicism from this government is very dangerous. I hope that Mia and her backers realise that Barbados is a mere 166 square miles.

8. ” Toronto police say a spike in gun violence this year is a city-wide priority. Over the past six days, there have been seven shootings in the city — including two that were fatal. As youth firearm arrests in particular skyrocket, police say an escalating amount of the violence is coming from gangs recruiting children. “

9. PM MIA.

10. All the sweet talk about holistic solutions will only work after the guns are taken from the so called gangs.

If nothing is done sooner or later the shootings will reach the heights and enclaves of the upper echelons of Bajan society.

There is also the danger to the tourist industry.

11. Reckless!

Fear of gunmen’s return after girl shot among children

By Tre Greaves tregreaves@nationnews.com

A group of pre-teens and teenagers are traumatised following a near-death experience on Thursday night when they had to scamper from two masked gunmen.

A 12-year-old girl was the most seriously injured of the group of four who were liming in their driveway at Silver Hill, Christ Church.

Although she was strong enough to share details of the incident, her mother was one of the many Barbadians who pleaded with the culprits to stop the violence.

The girl recalled that just before 9 p.m., she was seated near her sister and two of their friends chatting when a vehicle pulled up and two men with large guns exited.

“We were outside sitting down. I was sitting on a ledge at the front door next to a boy from next door. My sister was outside in a chair and [another boy] was sitting on the gutter top.

“Two men get out; one from the front door and one from the back. They had on ski masks and they had guns from about their shoulder to their thighs,” she recounted.

She gave this account while in the presence of her mother (whose name is being withheld) shortly after police officers continued their investigations.

Once they realised what was about to occur, they all scrambled to get inside.

Hole in hand

“Me and the boy in the doorway fell back because we could not get up at the same time while in the doorway. So when we tried to run, my sister and our neighbour were already running past two of us,” she said.

They made it inside, but at the time the 12-year-old did not recognise she had been shot.

“I don’t know what happened. I felt something in my foot . . . . I looked at my hand and saw that I had a hole in my hand. I went upstairs to my aunt and asked her if I got shot and if I was going to die,” she said.

It was then that she noticed a trail of blood in the house.

The bullet was said to have hit her foot first and then her wrist. She is scheduled to have it removed in a few days.

Her older sister, who also had to run for her life, said she fell as they escaped the bullets.

“I was sitting down in the chair and the car came down the road and it stopped right here. They said there were two guys but I only saw one . . . . He had on all-black. I ran and went inside and ended up on the ground and I passed out,” she said.

As she spoke, she highlighted the numerous bullet holes in the wall and the door of the apartment, and the broken glass at the next-door neighbour’s apartment.

She was still fearful that the men would return.

“I am okay but every time I see a . . . car pass I get frighten,” she said.

While some residents speculated that the violence was a result of an ongoing war between groups, the girls’ mother stressed that too many innocent people were being injured in the process.

“When I got the news, I swear to God my child was dead because all I heard was [she] was shot. It was very traumatic for me. She is an innocent bystander. She should not have been in this here at 12 years old.

“They have to stop it because too many young people are going down. I would like them to think about it before they do. If you see children, you should [think] twice, more than twice. Something has to change,” she said.

So far for the year, there have been 30 homicides and while several residents said they were grateful Thursday’s incident was not worse, they vented their frustration.

‘Doing foolishness’ “I stay inside as much as possible because of things like this, but it seems that nowhere is safe now because they were basically at home in a safe space, but they were not safe because of boys with big guns doing foolishness. This needs to stop,” one woman said.

Another said: “It was very reckless to me. I can’t understand how you see children and still proceed to shoot at the same children. Children from the neighbourhood, and when I say children I mean children. A lot of them are under 15 and they always come and sit down outside, so it was weird that someone would do that.”

In a statement released online yesterday evening, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley spoke out about the incident and urged anyone looking to settle disputes by using weapons to find a peaceful way.

“It is unacceptable and that is why a few weeks ago I called on all Bajans [that] we need to step up. We’ve had young people last week and now this week. This battle will not be won by the police or the other law enforcement officers, the Government alone. This battle will only be won when all of us step up and start to apply our hearts to wisdom. Guns do not walk or talk.”

She added: “I want to reach out to all those who may be inclined to settle disputes this way, you are going to hurt innocent people. I am asking us across communities – mothers, fathers, brothers and sisters, children – those who may be tempted to use guns, let us talk with them and let us get them to put it down because innocent people are being hurt and we know better than that as Bajans.”

12. Rising gun crimes in the Caribbean: Urgent action required by all

There is an alarming surge in gun-related violence, particularly among younger people and gangs. This plague has now spread from other parts of the Caribbean into Antigua and Barbuda which has recently suffered a spike in gun crimes.
    Throughout my lived experience, Antigua has traditionally enjoyed a low rate of homicides. Sadly, this treasured tradition has been shattered by a surge in broad daylight robberies, particularly of small supermarkets, and even more tragically, by an increase in killings.
    Antigua’s current wave of violence, while deeply troubling, mirrors a broader trend that has been prevalent in other Caribbean countries for much longer. Haiti, for instance, bears the notorious distinction of being the most affected, with armed gangs controlling large areas of the country despite the presence of a Kenyan military force, invited by the government and approved by the UN Security Council.
    My friend and colleague in Antigua, Lennox Weston, recently published a sobering account of the murder rates in CARICOM countries in 2022 per 100,000 persons, as compiled by the World Population Review: Jamaica (53.4), St Vincent and the Grenadines (40.41), Trinidad and Tobago (39.52), St Lucia (36.7), Bahamas (31.22), Belize (27.88), Haiti (18.02), Barbados (15.27), and Antigua and Barbuda (10.67). Based on anecdotal evidence and media reports of killings, these figures have likely increased over the last two years, underscoring the gravity of the problem across the region.
    The continued illegal trafficking of guns into the Caribbean fuels this violence. The origin of most of these weapons is the United States. Despite undertakings by the current US administration, the flow of illegal arms has not slowed. This issue is tied to the ease with which Americans can purchase weapons, inadequate record-keeping, and the internal politics of the US, where the gun lobby—along with many citizens— fiercely advocates the right to bear and purchase arms.
    As long as gun purchases remain a domestic political issue in the US, the provision of critical information regarding the shipment of guns to the Caribbean will remain sporadic, limited to occasions when US customs officials manage to intercept illegal shipments at their ports. This reality necessitates that CARICOM countries adopt cooperative measures to police their territorial seas collectively, with overlapping jurisdiction to interdict ships carrying illegal weapons. The problem is as regional as it is national, and while countries like Antigua and Barbuda are enhancing their maritime capacity, regional collaboration is essential. This includes the right to pursue suspected vessels in each other’s territorial waters.
    Historically, the Caribbean’s geographic position has made it vulnerable to illicit trafficking routes, and this challenge has evolved as modern criminals exploit regional integration efforts to expand their networks. Organised criminals are taking advantage of economic integration to grow a lucrative network of crime, particularly for gun and drug trafficking, establishing local “branches” across the region. In truth, these criminals are better organised regionally than are the law enforcement agencies of CARICOM, despite the efforts of the CARICOM Implementation Agency for Crime and Security (IMPACS) and the Regional Security System (RSS), which lack comprehensive region-wide enforcement mechanisms.
    It should be noted that IMPACS itself has drawn attention to the facts that “regional gangs are increasingly integrating with international criminal networks” and “gangs are increasingly diversifying into a broader spectrum of criminal activities”. IMPACS also reported that in 2023, firearms accounted for 80 per cent of all homicides in CARICOM countries.
    Prime Minister Gaston Browne of Antigua and Barbuda, alarmed by the presence of “474 repeat offenders who are roaming our streets with impunity,” has announced that while Antigua has pursued a liberal immigration policy, there will be “no tolerance for any immigrant involved in criminal activities.” Such individuals will be deported immediately upon conviction and completion of their prison sentences.
    This stance is directed at persons of all nationalities, not only CARICOM nationals. It is also not “anti-regionalism”; regionalism was intended for the law-abiding, not for the lawless.
    Beyond regional efforts, there is an urgent need for stronger international cooperation. The issue of gun trafficking from the US is part of a broader, global problem of arms proliferation.
    The US gun lobby’s influence extends beyond domestic politics, affecting neighbouring regions like the Caribbean.
    Greater collaboration is needed not just within CARICOM but with broader alliances, including nations and organisations like the Organization of American States (OAS), UN organisations and even European states with territories in the region that are affected by similar issues.
    As president of the Permanent Council of OAS in December 2023, I introduced a resolution on Guns, Gangs, and Violence, which recognised the interconnectedness of transnational organised crime. The resolution called for a cross-border, collaborative, multi-stakeholder approach to address the root causes and consequences of criminal gang violence, particularly gun-related violence. While this resolution was a step in the right direction, the wheels of establishing effective enforcement mechanisms move slowly.
    Unfortunately, addressing the issue of crime cannot afford to grind slowly. Lives and livelihoods are at stake, as is the right of people to live in freedom—freedom from fear of crime and the right to live in peace. Therefore, national action, such as Prime Minister Browne is taking, is imperative.
    Economic implications of rising crime are also dire. Tourism, a critical sector for many Caribbean nations, could be severely impacted if the region continues to be perceived as unsafe. This would not only affect national economies but also the livelihoods of millions of citizens who depend on tourism. Moreover, the high unemployment rates, particularly among youth, contribute to the rise in gang-related activities.
    Economic policies that create jobs and opportunities are vital in steering young people away from crime.
    Prime Minister Browne has announced a series of measures designed to curb crime, stating, “The consequences of allowing these criminals to destabilise our country are too dire to contemplate. We cannot grow our economy or build a prosperous future for our people in an environment riddled with crime and violence. Defeating these criminals is not just a priority—it is an absolute necessity for the continued safety and prosperity of our nation.”
    Few in the Caribbean would disagree with him, particularly as crime is no longer random or occasional; it is now an organised enterprise. Dismantling it requires strong, consensual action by governments, businesses, civil society organisations, and all who wish to live in peaceful and law-abiding societies.

The writer is Antigua and Barbuda’s Ambassador to the US and the OAS. The views expressed are entirely his own. Responses and previous commentaries: http://www.sirronaldsanders.com

Source: BT

13. Funny how those who don’t carry, bear or even get left to raise the children single-handedly are the ones on about abortions and family planning.

Why do women choose to have abortions? Why do women thank whoever is responsible for making family planning an option?

I don’t want to be a Simple Simon, but ….

14. This writer has never been nor will ever be any anti-abortion zealot. Must resist such popular feminist pigeon-holing.

Our position has always been the right of a woman to choose.

Not dissimilar to the right, not responsibility, some men assume not to support their children.

In both cases, all other things being equal or ignoring all other factors, self inflicted violence happens especially when a wider violence of declining population is bedeviling the country.

In Barbados all kinds of concessions are given to businessmen, why not support pregnant women on the level consistent with national objectives as is happening in a growing number of countries and push back on the options present.

This was the deeper point!

15. Good point, then.

16. In Barbados all kinds of concessions are given to businessmen, why not support pregnant women on the level consistent with national objectives…
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    1-How would pregnant women provide political donations (bribes) to politicians?
    2-Are the concessions to businessmen ‘consistent with national objectives’..?

Come on Pacha,
    Get a grip on yourself…

Besides, that kind of thinking would confuse our politicians… it is too logical,
    …and how many of them have children themselves anyway..?

We reap what we planted in parliament

17. So we have a little girl getting shot in a drive by and only 15 comments what does this tell you?

Its not that Bajans dont care its just that we are all tired of the talk by the authorities that follows. Its the PM calling for a peaceful resolution to the police having no answer to the problem. Well I got one for you.

Call the defense force who got REAL guns and say listen we forning a new entity called the National Security Team and put 500 defence force in it to work with the police. Wunna losing control of this island and encouraging foolishness. Insurance people acting as police, nothing in place to control lack of insurance by drivers, cameras that nobody monitors, motorcycles wild on our roads. Wunna dont see a trend here yet? Wunna have lost control of the island and all the pretty talk and prayers cant do one rass to fix it!

18. @John A

It tells us what we know. Out of the 12 subtract those not related.

19. William Skinner Avatar

Unfortunate shooting of a twelve year old while apparently in the comfort of her home. Then, the arrest of a seventeen year old , for the murder of a young man not yet twenty five years old.
    Pray tell us what a state of emergency will solve other than to flex the muscle of a Defense Force and then lead to politicians using the same tactic to keep themselves in power. Violence breeds violence. Small economically challenged countries should avoid utilising the army to solve socio-economic problems.
    We need more police and to get to the root cause of the heavy proliferation of guns, we need to go after those , who import the guns and drugs. We refuse to do so because it’s easier to gather a few constituents ; declare a national day of prayer and get the photo op.
    @ TLSN is right . We are absolutely brilliant at masquerade. Imagine the cost of living killing the poor but we talking about declaring a state of emergency at 31 murders but did not have one at almost 50 a few years ago. Absolute hog wash.
    Reminds us of blaming people for the increase in vegetables because they would not “keep kitchen garden”. Now that the price of pork has sky rocketed are we going to be told to Keep pigs. And if we don’t get the fishing industry back up are we going to be told : learn to fish or buy a damn fishing boat.
    We certainly don’t see the wisdom in soldiers stopping every car; people being chased off the streets after 6:00 PM; soldiers breaking into peoples homes looking for guns and our little school children traumatised by strange men in masks patrolling their neighborhoods with big ass guns just because we refuse to address the frigging problem and deal with the root cause of those who are controlling the drugs and guns scene.
    BTW bananas are now about $1. 50 each. Time to plant a tree !!
    Clowns.

20. Skinner

Your point is right.

This writer is currently in a country which deploys these SOEs, states of emergencies, when gang violence goes up.

They are characterized by special powers to lock down people without trials and the deployment of the army in poor neigbourhoods

So Barbados’ response is merely to copy cat the same kind of responses from elsewhere.

Our own view is that all forms of violence must be confronted as if one. That these cookie cutter approaches will never work. Are purely political.

For example

Is it not a form of violence to make our children believe that God is White?

And might this not be a root cause of these senseless killings, all violence, in our societies?

21. @William

Living in the USA you are probably numb to this kind of violent crime. A state of emergency will probably offend your memories of an idyllic Barbados of the 60s and 70s but pray tell us how we should signal to society we are serious about getting guns off the streets if we don’t change how we are doing things? The police force does not have the resources and the proliferation of weapons in Barbados have become out of control. Tell us what we should do to curb the escalation.

It is an increasing bad situation and draconian measures are required and not the namby pamby approach we see today.

Let the bickering and revelry continue. We are open business as usual.

22. Black children?

23. There is no rh right or wrong because we do not know. What we know is that a Barbados society is tracking US and other developed countries. What are waiting for, bombs to be exploded?

24. We need to come up with different approaches to search and find weapons. What we are currently doing will not do it. First we saw 22s and 38 today semi and automatic weapons.

25. When the scanners at the Barbados Port were out of commission for two years where was the outrage? What about the union voices? What about the so-called political directorate? What about the same outrage from citizens?

https://barbados.loopnews.com/content/new-scanner-port-soon

#buisnessasusual

26. Running around behind gun importation or distribution is a distraction and will not work because of market forces.

Why not consider taking away all these other guns some have always assumed to be their birthrite to have.

Like from plantation managers, corporate bosses. Are these not the people who have originally fueled the violence industries?

27. @ David

Before the usual suspects ‘come out blocks,’ let me first issue this disclaimer that it is not my intension to imply Barbadians should not be concerned about crime in Barbados because there are similar occurrences of crimes elsewhere.

David, you ‘said,’ ‘government’s namby pamby approach to crime is failing.’ Was your assessment of this ‘failure’ based on the shooting of the 12 year old girl?
    Do you believe that, without consideration to national security, ‘government’ or the police should provide the public with extensive details on how they plan to address crime?

However, your repeated calls for ‘government to declare a state of emergency’ reminds me of St. Lucia, which has also been experiencing a similar alarming increase in gang and gun related violence as well.

Recall in 2023, following an upsurge in gang and retaliatory crimes in that island, more so Vieux Fort, PM Philip Pierre requested assistance from the RSS, initially for 3 weeks.
    Barbados was among several RSS member states that responded and deployed 10 SSU officers and 10 BDF soldiers.
    Upon arrival is SLU, the contingent of officers were sworn-in as ‘special constables’ and deployed in Vieux Fort, where they assisted in conducting mobile and foot patrols, vehicle check points operations etc.

Yet, with a population estimated at 180,000, SLU recorded 75 homicides in 2023, which is being regarded as the ‘bloodiest year in the island’s history’……

…… and has so far recorded 53 as at August 18, 2024.

According to reports, on Wednesday, July 31, 2024, 13-year-old Melchizedek Tixcy, while asleep at his home in Blanchard, Desruisseaux, sustained a gunshot wound to the head after individuals looking for his older brother who no longer resides at that residence, opened fire at the house.
    Unfortunately, Tixcy succumbed to his injuries the following day at St. Jude’s hospital, becoming the island’s 49th murder.

The latest murder occurred on Sunday, August 18, when police responded to a report of a fatal shooting in Fond Assau, Babonneau, and discovered the motionless body of a male who had what appeared to be a gunshot wound to the head.
    The victim was subsequently identified as 17 year old Alva Cole of Girard Cacao, Babonneau.

I’m opposed to introducing any ‘knee jerk’ response to combating crime, especially by ‘setting up’ so-called ‘special units or operations’ similar to Jamaica’s Crime Management Unit, which I referred to in a previous contribution, and SLU’s 2010-2011 ‘Operation Restore Confidence,’ during which it was alleged police officers engaged in extrajudicial killings of 13 civilians.

28. @ John A,
    You are too emotional. When you veer down the road of “popular” rhetoric could you please employ more objectivity.

Several years ago, I stated on BU that Barbados had twice the level of homicides than the USA. If you look at the homicide rate index taken in 2021 it appears that it has opened up on the Barbados side.

Not surprisingly the usual suspects ridiculed this statistic. One could say that the USA homicide rates are under reported as we are all fully aware that the unlawful murders of American blacks committed against them by the American police force is not counted as homicide.

The Caribbean is surrounded by the big international narcotic players. Numerous Caribbean governments have knowingly entangled themselves with these players. The tourism industry remains a trojan horse. It should really be renamed the narcotics industry.

We have the polo set who come to Barbados during the winter period in Europe, we have reggae on the hill, carnival and a host of festivals which are no more than facility gateways or networks for the distribution of narcotics and money laundering. This dirty money is made legit by the purchase of deliberately over priced houses. We have shell companies that are mere fronts for the recycling of the drug’s industry. We have many lawyers (I will say no more) who are or have applied oil to the engine of this trade to ensure that it runs smoothly.

The guns on the street are merely the remnants of a lucrative trade where desperate Joes are given the opportunity to work there way up the ladder of prosperity and to become the next domestic Mr “Biggs”.

So John A, next time you talk foolishness. Bear in mind that it is the system in place which has decided this fate for their own people.

The next time Ms “Biggs” steps up on to the podium berating those black street thugs ask her to answer some of those points that I have raised above.

Have a good day sir.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

29. @Artax

The blogmaster’s assessment is based on the using a reference point from the 80s compared to today. There has been a steady increase in violent crime in Barbados. There is easy access to guns. There is the fear perception by the public which anecdotally is increasing as well. You cloak that with a court system that is not working and reported deviance in our schools which has chased good teachers to taking early retirement. There is more but what is the point it seems.

30. @Artax

Please not it is not the blogmaster who has devalued violent crime a public health crisis in the region. In a crisis what should the actors affected attempt to do?

31. What some of you are not getting is that we have too many guns in circulation being used to commit crime. We have to get the guns off the street now. There is not time to rely on traditional police methods especially with the admission the BPS is short of man power.

32. A reminder for PM Mottley about the message leaders sent.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/mia_st.john_.mp4

33. When an individual lays claim that they would like to see a corridor of hotels built in Barbados. That person must know that such a pipe dream can only be built on the narcotics industry or an industry constructed where the moral bar is low.

Why do you think that America and Cuban Americans are so pissed off with their loss of Cuba.

34. It wasn’t the blog who condemned the lyrics of leading artists in Barbados who ignored that person and continue to get work from government.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/zyLcU9sqhGvcDy4t/

35. William Skinner Avatar

Who told you that William Skinner lives in the USA ? Are you now in the mis-information business ? Deal with the issue and stop the lies about where I live.
    You don’t know where I live , my Brother.

36. Some thoughts to throw in the mix..

If you compare this violence to TV films and documentaries about such matters,
    this situation resembles hood violence more than organised drug cartels.
    Small gangs can be more erratic and are not big money people who have more to lose.

People should avoid the sweeping generalisations of TLSN such as foreign business and investment is to blame, which is Trump like thinking along the lines of Muslims are terrorists and Mexicans are drug dealers and rapists.

Unfortunately these scenarios go from bad to worse and become more common,
    so emotive responses from the shock of each shooting incident should be avoided as the root cause of the problem is present all the time irregardless of each news event and the escalations and/or dips in statistics.

This is a time where instead of rushing for knee jerk reactions for solutions as a fix, it would better policing to build intelligence in understanding and determining the reality of the situation in the community and causes of the problem in general, as well as investigating each crime committed to make arrests. Removing players and gangs is like whack a mole as more appear in a vacuum and it is a never ending task. Police and Government are already on the case and it is bad politics for opposition to use it for leverage to get a foot in the door of power.

Countries like USA now concentrate on proceeds of crime, finance, income reporting and money laundering more and go after the millionaires.

37. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

David as the blogger notes re his piece of Jamaica’s special police unit, we need to be VERY careful with these calls for different or non ‘traditional’ methods.

First of all what’s non traditional in practice, really.

An examination of policing tactics shows that methods and practices CHANGE dynamically to suit the period.

Police are part of the community and have always deployed, for example, undercover agents.

In short, they are often quite abreast of the behaviours of the criminally minded and what the police do NEED are legislative (legal) changes to get ahead … not just to be caught up in the SEAL/SWAT military tactics with the armor and high powered weapons. That’s the outer trappings of this out-of-control situation.

Obviously guns are a problem but solving the criminal surge of activity is about the other stuff you alluded to … and that comes well before the guns get into the hands of the perps.

For those fundamental actions there is no need for any special police methods … rather the police need to be able to do their jobs without intervention; they need to be able to swiftly (and respectfully) execute residential search warrants, wherever that may be; they need to get those shipping containers effectively scanned; need to legally tap telcons; need to use facial recog to match possible felons on social media etc etc.

That’s what non-traditional must be … the evolving tool kit of any modern policing in this non-traditional world.

38. William Skinner Avatar

You are still refusing to say why you did not call for a State of Emergency , when there were more gun related murders a few years ago and the murders were close to fifty. Furthermore, there were declines in recent years , with an upsurge this year, that has still not exceeded some previous years.
    You and other apologists, must now accept that we refused to address the problem, when the block culture showed its head back in the 80s.
    It would be always difficult for some to accept the truth of @TLSN and @ Bush Tea,
    especially those who spent at least three years trying to get people banned from BU; putting people in all kinds of groups because their entire arguments when stripped of the semantics, was to ensure that the party of their choice was elected. @Bush Tea and @ TLSN , clinically expose the bullshit that we have engaged in and accepted for many years on BU and elsewhere. COVID has exposed the soft underlying bellies of the political class .
    You can unleash the Defense Force on the defenseless masses in order to massage your disappointment of the failure we must all accept , for refusing to call a spade a spade. We hope the gratification that you will get from hurling an essentially quiet country into military leadership will last.
    We hope that you will experience a great orgasm, if a soldier points a gun at your innocent head because he or she thinks , you have a drug pushing friend or one who is a gun runner.
    You obviously don’t understand what a curfew means and what it does to the psyche of a people already downtrodden by economic hardship.

39. @William

If you say so William.

40. @Dee Word

We wait until our situation escalates to mirror Jamaica?

What disruptive interventions do you envisage can add value to the national debate on addressing violent crime in Barbados?

41. @William

You understand the meaning of outlier?

You understand what trending means?

You understand as crime trends emerge there is the opportunity for topology approach to be adopted?

Focus on putting suggestions on the board and avoid cloaking your comments with a gotcha flavour.

42. What do we have here.

Allow the ZR culture to grow and infect mainstream society for over 40 years.

Talk and talk about 11 plus for over 20 years and where are we?

We talk and talk about public sector reform and what is the latest?

We complain about the need to address concerns re NIS for years and where are we with current financials to give Barbadians confidence our leaders are in charge?

How many years we highlighted the need to legislate a national building code especially with climate change- update please?

How many years have we asked about the ineffectiveness of working committees of parliament as well as successive governments refusing to act on Auditor General’s reports?

Do you get the drift? We are a reactive society. Procrastination is in our DNA.

43. “people being chased off the streets after 6:00 PM;”

We may achieve this without having a state of emergency. Drive by and shooting folks in the vicinity of their home may drive folks off the streets… Ghost towns/country after 6:00 p m.

44. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

David, that IS the point … the police already have the means and power to be ‘DISRUPTIVE’.

The problem remains the same: the ability (without interference) to carry out enforcement.

Unfortunately myself – nor anyone or at Police HQ, it seems – have an answer to that problem.

Let’s put this into blunt perspective: didn’t we (the police) know how guns where coming in via containers, boats off the coast or in suitcases by our elites and others!

What special disruptive tactics they needed then ?

Didn’t we KNOW that a man was killed at Atlantic Shores and his girlfriend and lover on the night was possibly involved along with others in the murder!

Did that situation remain unresolved because the police lacked non traditional disruptive practices????

And Mark Stokes is still missing … what special needs did the cops need to at least give a reasonable time line of the man’s last hours!

Brother … in each instance it was INTERFERENCE that prevented a resolution. Not lack of special powers.

So as most here recognize … there can be no resolution to our current criminally fueled heartache due to INTERFERENCE of police enforcement.

Thus, unless we resolve that problem, you are ABSOLUTELY right that we will slip further into the Jamican morass … funny how we are mimicking them there but can’t on the athletic front!

Misery always loves company!

45. A state of emergency can be designed to fit our appetite. All a state of emergency does is to give authority for actors to act outside the normal process. What that authority looks like would have to be agreed/decided.

46. @ TSLN

The question remains what we doing bout it other than talk?

I am frustrated bacuase i see nothing being done about anything. ZRS, motorcycles on one wheel, gun violence, uninsured vehicles, the lastest idiots on the road now the chefette and KFC delivery Suzuki swifts and the list goes on and on.

47. @Dee word

We can agree to disagree.

48. Does the Crime tips hotline still work?

What about bringing private sector players to the table to fund a Reward Scheme that will make payouts to citizens leading to the arrest of criminals, confiscation of weapons and discovery of criminal activities?