It is with intense regret the following blog is being posted. News broke overnight of a 12 year old girl shot after a masked gunman sprayed two houses with bullets located at Silver Hill, Christ Church.

Drive-by shootings, killings execution style have become a routine occurrence in Barbados in recent years. Sometimes one has to stop to ask if this is Barbados and if with all the renaming of buildings these days if Barbados should be renamed Guntown.

The blogmaster does not intend to be prolix on this matter, it has become clear even to a blind man on a horse, our people have become untethered from our moorings of the past. We find ourselves in the current state as a result of negligent parenting, incompetent enforcement and a people riddled with corrupt tendencies.

For the first time the blogmaster is able to recall, an innocent child has been shot as a result of the level of lawlessness currently afflicting our society. An innocent child shot from all reports sitting in her home doing what children do no doubt.

In previous posts on crime this blogmaster has indicated that Barbados government needs to declare a state of emergency at the earliest time before the situation gets worse. Of course the blogmaster feels no pleasure in making the suggestion BUT on the current trajectory it is obvious where we are headed if relevant stakeholders refuse to escalate intervention strategies.

Governments in the Caribbean have previously declared ‘violence’ a public health crisis. When Covid 19 reached our shores the Barbados government was quick as lighting to activate state of emergency laws which authorised it to bypass established protocols to fight the pandemic. Isn’t it obvious violent crime is escalating and requires a similar urgent response unshackled from the normal bureacrartic process?

A glance at the sidebar indicates we are up to 30 reported homicides for the year, tracking the highest number of 48 in 2019. Government data collection system is not robust therefore the public is unable to access number of shootings, stabbings, and other forms of violent crime at a glance. However, there is sufficient evidence to support what is being reported represents the “tip of the proverbial iceberg” of violent crime in Barbados.

A 12 year old child sitting in her home was shot – what will it take to trigger a sense of urgency from Barbados authorities and citizens? How many more must be shot? How many more must die?

The piecemeal namby-pamby measures being rolled out to combat our high level of crime- reported and perceived by the public- do not accord with the declaration by regional governments violent crime is a public health crisis. We have to take the hit to our pride today to save our small society from falling over the precipice tomorrow.

A word to the wise should be sufficient.

101 responses to “Namby pamby approach to crime failing”

1. So. What do these so called gangs trade or service that is so lucrative?
    Why is it lucrative?
    Legalise the whole Rh lot. The govt gets additional revenue. The gangs have no value.

2. At this trajectory, in three years and after 10 years of this BLP regime maybe those who made the term ‘lost decade’ as a moniker for the former DLP regime must of necessity find a similar nickname for this BLP regime as well, having done no better, maybe even worse. Time will tell. However, it ain’t looking good at all.

3. “Burst mains affecting St.James, St.Peter and St.Lucy residents
    Water tankers have been dispatched to assist the residents in these areas.”

4. @David et al,such crime is symptoms of corruption, maladministration, political arrogance, no accountability in the auditor general’s report, absent fathers, incompetent mothers aiding their boys and induced drug assassins.

HOWEVER, THESE THUGS CANNOT BE ALLOWED TO INFLICT FEAR ON COUNTRY AND NEED TO BE SENT INTO ETERNAL SLEEP. Sorry to TBPS but if you guys cannot do it with the assistance of courts, may god help us if the citizens decides to.

5. @ David,
    I hope that the BU family will watch the fascinating link below. Bush Tea would be truly impressed with the way the interviewee referenced the Titanic to describe the state of Nigeria.

6. Bushie

https://youtu.be/wgM5V44eQHU?si=f4eAdGpJIyFd_Ime

UAPs/UFOs/aquatic man

With the recent dynamic and weeks long sightings off California. The testimony of Lue Alozander, above, and the research into the existence of an aquatic man, broad steps are being made to avoid an increase in the violent confrontations between humans and unknown other intelligent lifeforms operating in other dimensions.

7. I have been trying to find a name each year. ‘Lost’ is short, meaningful and cute.
    The ‘dumb sexennium’
    The ‘numb sexennium’
    The ‘pleasureless sexennium’
    The ‘painful sexennium’
    We have to link it to ‘sex’ennium

8. It is obvious to everyone that the wheels are off this bus. Luckily for us we no longer need wheels as we are past the edge of the cliff and can rely on gravity to complete the trip. The end is near.

Saying Abracadabra is not going to help us.
    Mia has lost ‘the beauty of her speech’. She must find a new drum to beat as her phrases are now tired and worn out.

There was a time I would rush to listen to her or to watch her at the ‘Parish speaks’ but her act is now stale and boring. A next 30-0 may be a possibility despite the incompetence that is constantly displayed.

At this time with her mangling of the island’s economy and the missteps of her administration the UN position is well out of her grasp. No one mentions it anymore.

What does this mean for us
    More misery and mismanaging by a motley mickey mouse team.

9. Talk can just carry any politician thus far. And once the people’s needs and wants come up against a wall of empty talk and nothing more even the great orator that is MAM will be eaten alive, no pun intended.

BTW, is there a any word from George Street and their AGM, any political violence?

10. The Nation reports that there was more trouble at DLP headquarters today.

11. Why would matters related to DLP be posted here if there is another blog where the matter is being discussed?

12. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

FOLKS DON’T WANT TO HEAR THE TRUTH OR BE CLOBBERED BY IT – FOR THEY WOULD RATHER BE KISSED BY LIES, INTRIGUE & CORRUPTION, GIVEN THAT TRUTH-TELLERS ARE HATED, VILIFIED & SCOFFED AT, UNTIL EVERYTHING REACHES SUCH APOCALYPTIC LEVELS & EVEN THEN THE CAST OF SNOWFLAKE ACTORS, ALL HUDDLE TOGETHER ON THE ISLAND CALLED #Denial TO FURTHER COMFORT THEMSELVES WITH #MoreMeaninglessLies

The entire world is in the “VICE-GRIP” of increasing “ANARCHY” – as these “ISSUES” were “PROPHESIED” long ago, in Matthew 24, Luke 21 & across the panopticon of the “SACRED SCRIPTURES” – where even amongst those who “CLAIM” to believe, there is a metastasis of “DENIAL”, “UNBELIEF” & “RETICENCE” that the “CREATOR GOD” is removing His Hand of protection from over the nations of this “CURSED PRISON-PLANET”!!!

In a “DEAF, DUMB & BLIND WORLD”, a “ONE-EYED CYCLOPS” rules with supremacy – for there are none who are so blinded by their own pathetic passions that they “SIMPLY REFUSE” to see, choosing the mindless inertia of “ABSTENTIA” – than to face head on, the “REALITIES” of this “PASS-IT-SELL-BY-DATE”, past-modern age, that is completely “IMPOTENT”, “VOICELESS” & “INEFFECTIVE” in using whatever “CRAPPY” available resources to deal with the “MALIGNANT CANCER” that is eating away the “STRUCTURAL SCAFFOLDING” which holds the fragile pillars of societal “MADNESS” together!!!

HOW MUCH LONGER BEFORE ALL THE NATIONS OF THE EARTH ARE SWIMMING IN A VAST CESSPOOL OF PIG SHYTE??? DOES ANYONE IN THEIR RIGHT MIND REALLY BELIEVE THAT ANY OF THE MOTTLEY-CREW GOVs OF THE WORLD HAVE ANY MEANINGFUL ANSWERS??? THEY ARE ALL DEAF, DUMB & BLIND!!!

Bajan “PATRIOTS”, like “AMERIKKKAN PATRIOTS” et al are” “ALL DECEIVED” by their so-called sentimentalized version of love of country – for they neither “ADD” or “SUBTRACT” but merely “EXIST” in a “SELF-IMPOSED, ISOLATIONIST AMEBIC STATE”, filling a “MORBID” vacuum as nature intended given that it does not provide for anything else!!!

Like it or “LUMP” it – I will continue to advocate “HARD TRUTHS” irrespective of who say what – for so did the “ANCIENT PROPHETS” for whom “CHRIST* RAISED UP” & sent to His people, but as “HE SAID”: “Our forbears “SCOFFED”, “RIDICULED”, “RAILED ON” & even “MURDERED” those who were sent to them”!!!

This time around (2000 years later) – “MESSIAH ADONAI” is preparing a “SELECT GROUP” of individuals for “TRANSLATION” & not even the “GATES OF HELL” shall prevail against them for their lives are in “HIS NAILED SCARRED HANDS”!!!

Men are “HARD OF HEARING” ( #HardEars ) according to “GRANDMA” but we know the statement finishes by saying: “HARD EARS YOU WON’T HEAR – OWN WAY YA’ GINE FEEL…”

“COVID-19” TAUGHT US NOTHING!!! AS A MATTER OF FACT, IT DIVIDED US EVEN MORE!!! NOW THE YOUTH ARE DYING AT AN UNPRECEDENTED & ALARMING RATE FOR REASONS THAT TOO MANY ARE IN DENIAL OVER!!! FOR I LEARNED JUST THIS WEEKEND THAT A FAMILY MEMBER HAS HAD [4] COVID JABS IN THE LAST 3 YEARS!!! YET HE DOES NOT KNOW THAT HIS DAYZ ARE NUMBERED FOR ALTHOUGH HE IS YOUNG TO SOME DEGREE – THIS IS THE PRIMARY GROUP THAT ARE DYING THE FASTEST – WHETHER FROM MURDER ON THE STREETS DUE 2 VACCINE PSYCHOSIS & EVERY OTHER MALIGNANT EVIL OR VACCINE MADNESS, RIGHT UP TO TURBO-CHARGED DISEASES!!!

On that note, here are the “UNIMPEACHABLE WORDS OF THE WISE MAN SOLOMON”: #Eat, #Drink & #BeMerry for tomorrow, “EVERYTHING IS GOING TO HELL IN A PANCART”!!!

#WhatAWorld
    #WhatACuntry
    #WhatMadness

13. SPEAK OUT

Humphrey, Forde urge families not to shield those in serious crimes

By Tre Greaves tregreaves@nationnews.com

Barbadians are being urged not to continue coddling their relatives who are involved in serious criminal activities.

Member of Parliament for Christ Church West Central, Adrian Forde, and Minister of People Empowerment Kirk Humphrey made the plea yesterday following the shooting of a 12-year-old girl at Silver Hill, Christ Church, on Thursday night.

“The last time I made a call to those who are involved in this wanton behaviour to put down those weapons of destruction, but now you have passed the threshold when it affects those on the dawn of our lives, our children.

“So the families of these perpetrators, the mothers, brothers, uncles, grandfathers . . . we have an understanding of what our family is involved in. Speak and call out your loved ones when you see them involved in criminal activities,” Forde said.

He said he believed interventions could help minimise the prevalence of violence impacting communities across the country.

“If you are a mother and you see your son with a gun, or an illegal weapon, it is your responsibility to say, ‘You are doing something wrong and to stop it’. That is a way we can help pull back our society,” Forde added.

Around 9 p.m. a group of pre-teens and teenagers were liming in their driveway when a vehicle appeared. Two masked gunmen with large guns exited the vehicle and started to shoot at the house, causing the group to flee. The 12-year-old was shot in her hand and foot.

On Friday, the mother of the girl and one of the other children impacted was traumatised she could have lost her daughter.

Forde, who also spoke to the family, said the incident should not become the norm.

“They are very distraught, they are living in fear and we must not have a society where the ordinary citizen lives in fear. This is not who we are,” he added.

The officials visited Silver Hill yesterday and assessed the damage to the apartments which were shot at. There were several holes in the wall of one unit, while next door, there were bullet holes in the windows.

Forde said the National Housing Corporation would be engaged to see how they could repair the damage while Humphrey said he asked the Child Care Board to intervene and offer all levels of psychosocial support to the girl and the family.

Similar to Forde, Humphrey urged parents to work with the Barbados Police Service.

While using child abuse as an example, he said to get justice, a collaborative effort would be needed.

“If your child has been abused and you determine you do not want to carry the case forward, then it is a waste of the police’s time but it also exposes the child to harm.

“It’s the same thing with this kind of violence. If you know your child has guns, or associates with people who have guns and you refuse to give the police information it makes the situation more complex unnecessarily,” Humphrey said.

While suggesting that programmes to assist the youth were critical, he also encouraged the wider public to give the police their support.

“I support community policing, strong community programmes and finding activities for young people, but I am at the point where I also support strong policing. I feel we have to give the police the authority and a greater level of flexibility and freedom to intervene when it comes to these acts. We have to determine the kind of society we want to live in. Either we want law and order, or we don’t want that. We have to give the support they need to be able to do this,” Humphrey said.

So far for the year, there have been 30 homicides, one of which occurred in this community.

In May, 37-year-old Omar Laron Haynes was fatally shot at Green Hill Drive, Silver Hill.

Resident and entrepreneur Raphael Barrow, who grew up and works in the community, acknowledged that the violence had taken a toll on the community.

14. “FOLKS DON’T WANT TO HEAR THE TRUTH OR BE CLOBBERED BY IT”

OR TO SEE THE TRUTH OR TO SPEAK THE TRUTH.

Your post was good from beginning to the very end.

15. “What about bringing private sector players to the table to fund a Reward Scheme that will make payouts to citizens leading to the arrest of criminals, confiscation of weapons and discovery of criminal activities?”

I am going to say what others are thinking “A very bad idea”. In fact this would increase the murder rate as “snitches” would have their information leaked back to the criminals. Death for snitching would be one of the outcomes.

A patch should be applied sensibly. A single patch will not fix an inner tube with many holes. I am not certain that our police force would protect the snitches or informers providing information.

But it would be amusing to see the police/officials handing out a big check to an informer on TV. “From Belleville we have Mr H*nts who ratted out the Shoot straight gang. Where is Mr H*nts? He saw the camera and ran. Join us, as we visit Belleville to talk with Mr H*nts”

16. You always have the answers what cannot work.

17. Are you saying that I am ‘consistent’.

Did you notice that the motley misfits mismanaging team always provide answers that cost money and do not work. They took are consistent, just that they inevitably fail.

I try my best to save money, save lives and demand justice and fair treatment for all. I accept the accusation/compliment.

18. It’s time for the likes of Sandra Husbands to show some balls and stand up. She has done it before when she signed up with BU.

When a leader of a tribe shows weakness, the head of the pack should sense this and go in for the kill.

Barbados is going nowhere with either party. It’s time for the adult in the room to take on the burden of righting the Titanic for the good of the country.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2015/07/07/time-for-something-new/

19. @TLSN

You like many believe the solution to our crime problem rests solely with politicians?

20. William Skinner Avatar

Will someone inform us when the private sector has ever displayed any Corporate Social Responsibility in our country.
    The corporate moguls, publicly say that they “put money” in both the BLP and DLP, that is their only interest ; to literally buy out the political class.
    Why did the biggest and most powerful conglomerate, Barbados Shipping and Trading (BST) close after making billions, and refused to invest in the country when it was most needed, when the new technologies were blazing across the financial globe. Why did BST refuse to invest in innovation and new dynamic businesses ?
    The traditional corporate sector and their inheritors never had any great interest in Corporate Social Responsibility. Their main focus was creating generational wealth and they have done so with great alacrity.

21. Because the private sector has fallen short for some of us it does not mean we shouldn’t call for greater support from it.

22. William Skinner Avatar

It is not about “falling short” for “some ” of “us”, whatever that means. We are talking about a culture of Corporate Social Responsibility, toward the society from which they have created substantial wealth and using some of that wealth, to further the betterment of the said society.
    You keep coming with these positions that are weak and basically pretending ignorance of what we are trying to say. Time to stop the crap and address the issue. The question: has the private sector of our country demonstrated any Corporate Social Responsibility in dealing with issues and needs of the society ?
    You have defended the private sector at every given junction. If you don’t want to firmly address the issue , just leave it alone. BTW , you are not really a very skilled Devil’s advocate. You don’t wear it well at all.

23. @William

Keep up, we are discussing being more strident as citizens to encourage change. Change is constant.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

WS
    Organizations, whether corporate, political, charitable or whatever, are merely groups of people. They have internal battles, especially when leadership or ownership changes. All do not air their dirty laundry like the DLP.
    And each time somebody passes, who say owns shares in a company, they get another few shareholders with lesser ownership than the deceased. By now, those “owners” may not even live in Barbados.
    I have no idea how many ‘families’ owned a meaningful piece of BS&T, or who led factions within that ownership structure. Plus, they never enacted a nepotism policy like GEL, and so you had the added friction of significant shareholders within the employee structure.
    Sometimes the only solution is a dissolution. And you will have those who disagree, but 51% is a majority.
    Hence, little miss Muffet, living in London or NY, who may never have lived in Barbados, may only be interested in $$$, she could give a shite about history or Barbados. So selling is an easy out, especially if she can get $$$ in her home currency.
    Hence your holistic view of a non or insignificant owner, carries no weight. The entity will continue.

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Northern Observer
    All we asked is whether the corporate / private sector has ever displayed any Corporate Social Responsibility to our country from which they have made billions.

26. All that you have said is true Northern,
    …BUT only because we have a set of ‘affordable leaders’ who set national policies and laws.
    There are a multitude of LEGAL, moral and social means of ensuring that national assets are leveraged to the overall benefit of the country.

If this is not the ROLE of our political leaders, PLEASE tell Bushie what is..

Instead, what we get is these albino-centric vultures bribing BOTH political parties – to the tune of millions of dollars each, so that WHOEVER wins elections will be at their beck and call. Political contributions should ALL be illegal, with devastating consequences similar to treason.

As Bushie has said previously and repeatedly, corporate Barbados has DELIBERATELY sought to maintain the disenfranchisement of ordinary citizens…even selling assets to foreigners instead of their long term workers.
    The current shiite of them importing PORK to deliberately bankrupt local pig farmers is only the latest example.

They have also disrupted the progress of multiple other industries where ordinary folks attempted to make outstanding successes in..
    -Transportation
    -Retail
    -Farming
    -Manufacturing
    -etc
    Every shiite except ‘Eddykashun’.

Note this:
    NONE OF THIS WOULD BE POSSIBLE WITHOUT POLITICAL JUDASES TO FACILITATE THEM.

27. @Bush Tea

Are you referring to FLOW Kadooment?

28. Wanna listening to Down to Brasstacks ?

22 thousand dollars disappear from a man bank account.

29. @Hants

Maybe there is another side to the story. He was referred to the police which suggests someone got possession of his PIN.

30. blp

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    Any is a ridiculous amount?
    At the last GEL AGM there was a meme circulating they had spent more on rebuilding and outfitting the Parkinson school, than on updating their own facilities in Barbados.
    I have no idea of that accuracy. Nor do I have any idea of the societal contributions vs profits. There are so few publicly traded private sector organizations it is tough to grasp their societal contributions.
    I know after Beryl several contributed and multiple ships were sent to the islands devastated, with supplies.
    So I cannot provide an accurate number, but it is more than ‘any’.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

You keep referring to national assets, and I assume you refer to companies owning assets of national significance. The BL& P, water, communications, sugar and rum, major beachfront land etc
    The biggest of course is the NIS, and while not sold, it was run into near submission.
    I have no issue, but that begins with a listing of such, so that sellers and buyers know when a sale may fall under a regulatory microscope.
    The recent sugar industry sale may fall closer to your ideal. But that was equally a govt entity unloading an unprofitable unit largely bec of poor mgmt. Ditto for Caves, albeit that was contracting the operation vs sale, where govt grants annually were more revenue, when they operated it.
    It is common elsewhere for govt’s to potentially block such sales.
    One possible local example was West India Rum Refinery. Those ja’s had gone and bought 33% of National Runs of J’ca. A massive amount of production capacity, when they themselves hadn’t figured how to sell rum much beyond bulk rum. So the price was inflated for local buyer’s, because the going concern included their share of National Rums. A govt could have insisted they split the offerings to keep WIRR local. Yet, after Mt.Gay, there was precedent. It can change, but industry must be given advance warning.

33. The shootings continue I. Barbados with ‘gay abandon’.

#businessasusual

34. “A life for a life” is the code that is kept to in these circles
    #watchingTVdrama4education

35. @ N.O.
    “…I assume you refer to companies owning assets of national significance.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Almost 100% correct…. if you would just substitute the word ‘owning’ with ‘currently managing’ then you hit the nail with what Bushie ACTUALLY intended to suggest.

Such assets can only be reasonably ascribed as ‘National inherited BIRTHRIGHTS’.
    But somebody HAS to manage them.
    Most governments are too inept to do so successfully, and ours is inept, incompetent, and dishonest.

In an albino-centric world where success is defined in monetary terms, this concept of ‘owning’ more and more stuff has become ingrained in our psyche – with the current result that 90% of the world’s assets are owned by 5% of the people – and hence the resulting CHAOS that is sure to ensue.

If on the other hand, top notch managers such as yourself saw themselves as developing National Assets to be passed on to future generations as THEIR BIRTHRIGHT, we would be living in a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT country (world), where continuous development and improvements would be the measure of success.

‘Spiritual blindness’ is the inability to see that the consequence of planting peas, is that you CANNOT expect to then reap corn, … no matter how hard you try at harvest time…

36. hope wunna does listen to Brasstacks.

black on black shootings. nuh problem fuh the middle and upper class.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/08/27/investigations-continuing-into-the-fatal-shooting-of-a-black-rock-man/

37. “The police are promising a crackdown on lawlessness on the streets, including gunmen traveling around in cars and bandits on motorcycles.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Asking for a friend Boss…

So what was the PREVIOUS policy on these?
    …ignore?

38. #33 this morning ?

39. heard on VoB. shot while driving along Gall Hill road.

40. There is obviously another Silver Hill vs Gall Hill beef. There was a shoot out in Popular Discount Supermarket’s carpark in Kendal Hill on Tuesday. I had finally given in to my friend and went there with her to shop on Monday because Emerald City Supermarket’s produce section is no longer fit for humans, in my opinion and that of others. Complaints have fallen on deaf ears.

Looks like I won’t be going back until all the little black idiots who are willing to kill or be killed are dead. Could be a few weeks or a few months yet.

So you see, it is not that we aren’t affected, but what the hell is there to be said that hasn’t been said?

41. More shooting in Gall Hill last night. Thankfully no deaths. Business as usual eh William?

Hill folk call for more police

Residents of Gall Hill, Christ Church, are calling for a greater police presence in the close-knit district following yesterday’s daylight shooting that resulted in the second homicide for the year in that area.

Eyewitnesses said Dominic “Ted” Yarde had just left home when a man shot at him multiple times as he was driving his car along Gall Hill. The car collided with two vehicles, including an oncoming route taxi, before overturning on the driver’s side. Police said the assailant then fired several shots into the car before fleeing.

The bleeding 27-yearold was pulled from the wreck by men in the neighbourhood but died before ambulance personnel arrived.

Yarde’s girlfriend Tiffany Inniss also ran out of her house and assisted in pulling him out of the vehicle.

While Yarde’s death was recorded as the 33rd homicide for the year, shocked residents sadly recalled the death of 19-year-old Zakhir Goodridge, the 16th homicide, who was gunned down on June 12 while liming in the neighbourhood.

Gunshot wounds

Then, last Friday a 12-year-old girl of neighbouring Silver Hill received gunshot wounds to the hand and foot.

A young woman said yesterday that a police presence was definitely needed in the area.

“If they had put the police post ’bout here, nothing so would not be happening,” she said.

“Right now, I got a business and people call and cancel because of this shooting. They say they don’t want to come up here, and that is how I does make my money.”

She also expressed concern for the safety of children in the area.

“Little children that living in the neighbourhood, you got to think about them too. They does be just outside running ’bout and ‘nuff’ little children live up there on that same road where Dominic just get shoot. You can’t go ’bout in the district and do these things,” she cried.

The woman said the shooting brought back sad memories of her two brothers who were killed – Kobea Brathwaite, who was shot in the head in 2010, and Terrence Brathwaite, who was shot in Silver Hill in 2018.

Another woman, while lamenting that the police outpost in Gall Hill had been closed for several years, was sympathetic with the Barbados Police Service, saying that it did not have the numbers needed to cover the hotbed areas.

“It ain’t make sense talking about having a post and yuh ain’t got the officers because right now they say they short of officers.”

A man who sat in the patio of his home looking on admitted that he was scared.

“Right now, I frighten to lime. I even frighten to go to the shop to buy water,” he said.

Meanwhile, grieving family members expressed shock about the killing of the father of two.

Yarde’s girlfriend’s mother Roxanne Prescott, a roti vendor in the area, told the Weekend Nation that Yarde, who had been dating her daughter for the past four years, lived with them. She said he had just left home to pick up someone to take to the doctor.

“I was in the bathroom when he left. I didn’t hear anything until the hollering and then I hear my daughter screaming. I ran out in the road . . . and see them pulling he out of the car,” she said.

“I feel bad. He was like a son to me. If I lie down in my bed he used to come in my room every morning, every night, and we would talk. If I sick, he coming to cover me up. I don’t know what I gine do. My daughter went away for a month and he was in here with me.

“He would only go to the shop and come back. He don’t be in nothing,” she said as she sat on a chair weeping.

Yarde’s mother Waveney Yarde, broke down when she arrived on the scene and had to be supported by relatives as she viewed her son’s body at the side of the road covered with a sheet.

“He would give you his last and do without,” she said, sobbing, as she described how she broke down when Prescott telephoned and told her he had been murdered.

“He has a son who now going into Combermere. I don’t even know how to call him and tell him about this. . . . He was a very loving person.”

Other residents who stood by and comforted the family also described Yarde as “very quiet”, adding that he kept to himself.

“He was well loved and respected. He didn’t use to trouble nobody or nothing. He didn’t even like noise,” a neighbour said. ( MB/JRN)