The following is a letter appearing in the media authored by former minister Anthony Wood. Discuss for 10 marks.

Central Bank statistics confirm flaws in Lynch’s World Cup analysis
In an address at a luncheon hosted by the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) in May 2024, Ambassador Noel Lynch, chairman of the National Organising Committee of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) T20 World Cup, painted an optimistic picture of the benefits to the Barbadian economy from hosting nine matches in the tournament, including the finals on June 29, 2024.

On that occasion, Mr Lynch advanced a business case for the event, suggesting that the initial investment of $50 million would yield in excess of 100 per cent return. Specifically, he noted there will be an estimated 30,000 to 35,000 visitors for the World Cup and their spending about $105 million.

In a few published articles, I identified fundamental flaws in Mr Lynch’s analysis and concluded that his predictions were exaggerated. I suggested that tourist arrivals for the World Cup in June would be around 10,000, and the first-round economic impact in the neighbourhood of $35 million.

In his presentation of the report on the Barbadian economy for the first six months of the year, governor of the Central Bank Dr Kevin Greenidge provided information on tourist arrivals for June 2024. Dr Greenidge noted that long-stay arrivals reached 49,316 compared to 36,670 in June 2023, an increase of 12,646 or 34.5 per cent. The Central Bank estimated that the World Cup was responsible for 78.5 per cent of the increase in tourist arrivals or an additional 9,932 tourists.

The Central Bank’s analysis accords with Mr Wood’s predictions and corroborates the position of grossly inflated arrival figures presented by Mr Lynch. The implication of the Central Bank’s data is that the first-round economic impact of the World Cup spending was significantly less than the $105 million predicted by Mr Lynch.
The tourist arrival figures provided by the Central Bank (and their implication for economic impact) can be viewed as supporting the view that the Mottley administration will have a difficult task defending the expenditure so far of $44 million on renovating Kensington Oval and tens of millions in other ways.

Indeed, Central Bank officials are looking beyond the (disappointing) immediate economic gains from hosting the World Cup. They believe that the legacy gains from the World Cup will include “future visitors and investments, enhancing the island’s international visibility and its reputation as a premier destination for sports tourism and a capable host for major international events.”

Given the limited tangible legacy benefits from investing hundreds of millions of dollars in hosting games in the ICC World Cup tournaments in 2007 and 2010, there is no guarantee that the benefits identified by the Central Bank will be achieved.
The administration will need to engage in structured planning on a consistent basis to ensure that very positive legacy benefits are realised.

Finally, it was recently revealed that from the money secured for the renovations at Kensington Oval, $3 million for the drop-in pitches and $10 million for the proposed state-of-the art indoor facility have not been spent. The administration is encouraged to seriously reconsider expending such hefty sums on these projects. The resuscitation of the interest in cricket as a legacy benefit of the World Cup mandates that the bulk of these funds be directed at cricket development programmes within the communities and school system.

Anthony Wood is a senior economist, former Cabinet minister in the Owen Arthur administration and former lecturer in economics, banking and finance at the University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus.

103 responses to “Did Noel Lynch and government lie to Barbadians?”

1. Steupsss…
    So is Wood saying that HE actually took Lynch seriously..??!!
    murda!!

Does ANYONE ever believe ANYTHING that these political jokers EVER say in the first place?
    …and this includes Wood….

The ONLY possible intent of this article could be to give the impression that some people ACTUALLY take the lotta shiite that these failed -birds of a feather- politicians talk …with any seriousness…

So it is clear that Wood has a bit too much time on his hands.

2. A politician lying?

Do you believe in the Easter Bunny, the tooth fairy and Santa Claus?

Must be a slow day somewhere!

3. @Bush Tea

The issue of if the country swallowed what Lynch mouthed about payback for the world cup.

4. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

LET BAJAN #PoLIEticians TAKE A LESSON FROM AFRIKA’s BURKINO FASO’s PREZ IBRAHIM TRAORE BASED ON HIS WARNING TO EVEN JAMAICAN PM ANDREW HOLNESS

#StopTheShyteMan – “TAKE CARE OF THE PEOPLE” & STOP KISSIN’ THE ARSE* OF THE ALBINOES”!!! KICK THEM OUT OF YOUR COUNTRIES & PLEDGE ALLEGIANCE TO YOUR OWN LAND & ITS PEOPLE!!!

#Listen4Yourself

5. So Boss…
    Don’t you see a MUCH BIGGER issue of politicians openly lying, making patently false promises, and then simply disappearing from sight when the shit collides with the fan? …especially after we realize that MILLIONS of taxpayers dollars are GONE…

– and you actually want to debate what Noel Lynch said..?
    SERIOUSLY!!??
    …The same man that hired the cruise ship last time around in 2007?
    ..and who was OBVIOUSLY brought back from over and away- because SOMEBODY wanted to repeat the SAME KINDA SHIITE again in 2024…

Or…
    You would seriously consider anything that Wood has to say now that he and this government are having their childish public tiff after Weir shafted him?
    What did HE have to say when HE was a government minister – doing the VERY SAME kinda shiite?

steupssss…
    All politicians should stay with CBC and perhaps the Nation, where they can talk shiite and run from the mock reporters…

BUT YOU SEE here on BU?
    …bout here, we don’t mek dat kinda sport with shiite talk….

LOL ha ha ha

6. You too bad Bush Tea.

7. Boss…
    What Too bad what!!

These people carrying a joke too far now.. EVEN FOR Balls-less, Bajan, Brass-Bowls.
    But facts are facts.

Lynch got on TV and looked directly in our faces and told us AGAIN, that it makes sense to spend MILLIONs on the cricket World Cup…. apparently Wood and about three others took him seriously.
    EVERYONE else remembered the cruise ship thingie, and the Plantation calypso.

But the best was when DooShiite ALSO went on TV and announced PUBLICLY that he was ‘going to STEAL houses’???? (or did he say he was going towards steel…?)
    – and then had the GALL to do it – and now NOT A BOY can get a peep from him- after over $50 million gone…
    ..but he got poor Sutherland hymning and hawing, and claiming that the company involved is ‘East-West’ and NOT North-‘Suth’….. LOL

Looka Boss…
    We ADMIT that Bajans are easy to fool….over and over…and over..
    BUT NOT STINKING Bushie….

8. @Bush Tea

You must have heard BHTA head honcho and traditional media pumping out the news today that tourists arrivals at all all time high.

Don’t worry, be happy.

9. Now i aint want to say i told wunna this long before as is eveident in my statement in which i said ” The governor claim can not be substantiated by the numbers.”

Anyhow i told wunna so! LOL

10. Did Noel Lynch and government lie to Barbadians?

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/LS0E3I09WQQ

11. I will also now state that when and if ever the figures are shared, I will bet the net earning for the cricket (that being the NET EARNINGS AFTER ALL EXPENSES FOR THE EVENT ARE DEDUCTED) may well show a loss on the whole exercise.

Now we can swallow the governors statement about how it will lead to an increase in arrivals in the future. Again however like his first statement about cricket being the savior and salvation for the winter season, this other prophecy can not be substantiated either. I mean what is his plan for the next 2 years of arrivals? Will he give out a survey form to each arrival asking ARE YOU RETURNING BECAUSE OT THE CRICKET FINALS OF 2024?

Lord man credit us with a little more common sense neh!

12. “Blah, blah, blah….abracadabra…..money gone! Again.”

I did not listen to Noel Lynch. Even in 2007 I did not. Did not get excited enough to attend a single match. I never believed the hype even then. I could not see those projected numbers adding up.

I do not listen to Anthony Wood now. I have not read what is posted here.

I do not waste time attempting to pick pee outta shit.

Clearly, a revolutionary resetting of the mind was necessary on May 25th, 2018. Barbados had one foot in the grave, after all!

A red flag was raised just a few months later when a particular shitehood was hurriedly conferred. Though the shitehood would not cost us money, it did establish the “me and mine” priorities of the new government.

Maya Angelou’s admonition to us was, “When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time.”

And yet I foolishly held out hope for a change in mindset. Surely one would want, even for selfish reasons, to “write [one’s] name on history’s page”! Surely saving a 2×3 island from sinking, making it a model ship for all to follow would be an accolade worthy of pursuit!

Hope flew out of the window of the steal houses.

I am not chasing it. It is gone.

13. Unfortunately Donna your apathy and cynicism is where many find themselves at this time. Excluding diehard supporters.

14. Tourism has done well BUT a large hotel in Sandals has had to layoff 200 workers.

Following article from BT.

Tourism’s uncomfortable truth
    Barbados must face the “uncomfortable and unsettling reality” of seasonal layoffs in the tourism sector, a key industry player said on Thursday.
    Despite its allure as a tropical paradise, the island continues to struggle to maintain year-round occupancy rates high enough to prevent a significant number of hospitality businesses from shutting down during the off-season.
    The latest example of this reality were announced plans by Sandals to lay off approximately 200 employees – a decision which has led to an exchange between the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) and the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU).
    The association’s new chairman Javon Griffith described Sandals’ plans as a typical seasonal pattern, leading the BWU to issue a sharp rebuke.
    However, at the BHTA’s third quarter press briefing in Belleville, CEO Ryan Forde acknowledged that while annual layoffs in the industry have long been a sensitive topic, the island simply lacks sufficient year-round events to sustain high occupancy levels throughout the year.
    “The country’s tourism industry has evolved from decades ago; however it is still not a 12-month, high occupancy sector as yet. But . . . the more we diversify our offering and target different markets and demographics then we are able to fill those gaps of low occupancy period and aim to not have to reduce hours or reduced staffing levels due to the downturn of business,” Forde told the media. “It is an uncomfortable and unsettling reality that all stakeholders are putting their efforts towards changing.”
    After the BWU General Secretary, Toni Moore, disclosed news of the layoffs last week, the BHTA’s Chairman Javon Griffith said the redundancies reflected the annual downturn in business.
    “That is pretty standard across the industry at this time of year,” Griffith explained. He added that many hotels typically scaled back operations after Crop Over, often closing for renovations during September when there was a significant decrease in business and that workers were usually laid off if the closure period exceeded their holiday entitlement.
    Sandals has not commented publicly on the layoffs, and Forde told journalists that while the company had discussed its plans with the Labour Department, it had not advised the BHTA. Therefore, he said, the association did not have enough information to comment on the matter in detail.
    However, Griffith, reiterated the association’s commitment to collaborating with the BWU in negotiating a new collective bargaining agreement for tourism workers. While only 22 of the BHTA’s over 80 hotel members have signed the agreement thus far, Griffith stated that the most critical elements, such as wage increases, have traditionally been adopted by industry members. In fact, he said some properties had already granted these increases to their teams due to the protracted nature of the negotiations.
    (SB)

15. -@ David

This we know yet we talk about a hotel coridore stretching from the city to the Hilton. To put who in six months of the year!

Now even at the macro level tourism emplyoment is a problem to its worker and our economy. So lets say you are a hotel worker, with seasonal layoffs how you going trust a fridge at Courts? How you going pay a car loan or a mortgage?

I have been saying that Covid has taught us nothing. Coming through that we should by now of had a diversifide economy where tourism no longer played such a major part. But instead we bank on the same dam thing and they cry when it falls on its tail six months of the year.

16. @John A

The seasonality affects some workers, some hotels close, some operate below capacity because of lower occupancy. It is a feature of the industry. We have to load more resiliency into the economy. The bottom line is this: we remain a one leg economy. No amount of pretty talk can mask this reality.

17. William Skinner Avatar

The excessive promises made to the vendors were unrealistic and unnecessary. It was nothing more than political public relations.
    Sometimes, we all get carried away because of our deeply held partisan positions. For example: why is the Hyatt taking eight years to get off the ground ?
    Perusing some submissions on BU and other media, prior to 2018, reveals how blatant partisanship can lead to a lack of analysis and blind us to taking personal rather than objective positions and that is exactly where we are as a country today.
    Perhaps we can all do with a mindset/approach, such as @Bush Tea, that deals with reality and truth rather than mumbo jumbo.

18. Sighhhhh. Same ole same ole.

19. “Tourism has done well BUT a large hotel in Sandals has had to layoff 200 workers.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    That is called hitting the nail on the head Boss.

Bushie presumes that you did not miss the financial reports published recently by many of the ‘State Silverware’ that our shiite politicians and economists have sold off to foreigners – AND CONTINUE TO SEEK TO DISPOSE OF FOR $$$$ TO BUY ‘SOUP’.

Massy, The Banks, Sandals, EMERA, DIGICEL, LIME, SAGICOR, Parkland, The Insurance Industry, Pharmaceuticals, even sweet drinks…..

THEY ALL have been reporting impressive PROFITS, while local brass bowls are crying out about high prices, poor service, layoffs and that all the good jobs are going to foreigners.

KARMA IN WUNNA TAIL!!!!

Wuh sweeten goat mout with ‘Foreign Direct Investments’ and big loans, does BUN he tail with high prices, poor service, lay-offs, and foreign bosses.

So while Simpson Oil is fighting with Parkland in a billion dollar court case (over assets accumulated out of the sweat of Bajan Brass Bowls), those SAME brass bowls now have to work until they die BEFORE even applying for a little shiite pension…

The current situation is VERY MUCH like the old plantation days, …only MUCH WORSE – because at least our fore parents were FORCED to be slaves ‘vi et armes’, and in the absence of an ‘education’.
    WHILE WE HAVE CHOSEN to sell ourselves into slavery by LUSTING after shiite $$$$$ – borrowed, begged, or by FDI (selling our asses to the VERY SAME albino-centrics that exploited our fore-parents – while foolishly expecting them to treat us differently)

We let shiite politicians make up our beds… so now our donkeys must lay down and tek wuh dey get.

What a place!!!
    What BLINDNESS
    What a price we will have to pay….

20. WAIT!!!!
    Enuff in Barbados…???!!!
    WTH…!

21. @Bush Tea

Travel budget probably near to busted. Thing is the DLP making it easy going. So as they say, in the land of the blind a one eye man or woman can become king or queen.

22. “About MPox, the narrative here in the past is that it is spread among men who have sex with men- ”

For the record, I am highly concerned about catching diseases from other. However, I did not/have not/will not have sex with other men.

I felt that I should point this out.

23. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

VENEZUELAN PREZ, NICOLAS MADURO #ROFLHBO AT THE USA, EU & ALL THE OTHER “DIRTY BASTERDS” WHO FELT THAT AFTER HUGO CHAVEZ DEMISE THAT THE BLACK GOLD WOULD BECOME THEIRS! NOW MADURO IS KICKIN’ OUT THE “GRUBBY BASTERDS” & HAS BROUGHT IN A BLACK NIGERIAN BILLIONAIRE & GIVEN HIM CONTRACTS TO DRILL 4 MORE OIL! AS A SIDENOTE, MADURO HAS JUST JOINED BRICS AFTER ACCEPTING THE INVITATION FROM RUSSIA ET AL

Soon the world’s hegemonic currency will be consigned to the “DUSTBIN” of history as a “RELIC” of “LATE_MODERNITY” – forever, “THRASHED” as it goes “BELLY-UP” & those imbecilic countries who were reliant, “PEGGED” & “AWASH” with the “US DOLLAR”, will be throwing the “USELESS PAPER” into the streets or “WIPING THEIR BACKSIDE” with it!!!

A further sidenote: “IF TRUMP WINS 2024 ELECTION, HE WILL BE SADDLED WITH A GLOBAL MARKET CRASH, A PLANDEMIC CALLED #MonkeyPox (mPOX) & #WW3 AS A (TRIPLE CHEESE BURGER) – something he is rather relished & is fond of!!!

#NoPrimeAngusThisTime

#StayTuned

24. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

DOC CAMPBELL ON (mPOX) GIVEN THE ALARMISM* BY SATANIST W.H.O TEDROS & THE EXPLANATION GIVEN REGARDING THE “#Variant CALLED #Clade1 WHICH IS MORE AGGRESSIVE THAN #CladeII WITH OTHER POSSIBLE VARIANTS LOOMING AS WAS SEEN WITH COVID 19 – 24!!!

#BillGatesOfHELL et al are already “SMILING LIKE CHESHIRE CATS”!!!

#LetsVAX the “BASTERDS”

25. When a curve is always approaching a straight line but never touches it we speak of asymptotic convergence.

I have noticed that many here are on the same path as I am on, but somehow their vocabulary seems to be missing some key words. They will write volumes, perform elaborate dance routines but avoid telling it as it is.

They break dance like the Australian lady instead of putting their heart and soul into their contribution.

I beg of them to remember the expression ‘the truth will set you to free’. Don’t you want to ‘break free’?

https://youtu.be/f4Mc-NYPHaQ?si=Bm4c9Xdm2ANOdSz4

26. @ William

Barbados will always have trouble attracting toursim development. The reasons basically are we are dam expensive and hence only have a winter season followed by a ” catch ass” summer. You go and check the dividen, for lack of a better word that the Hilton here paid its shareholders. This hear after bragging how well they did. LOL

27. @John A

Who are the shareholders of Hilton?

28. @ David

Needhams Point Holdings.

29. Needhams is 100% owned by government?

30. ” The asymptotic convergence describes how fast the sequence {xk } could arrive to an optimal solution if exists.”

31. I have never been a secretary and never has a man succeeded in giving me dictation.

32. @ David
    PLEASE explain to John A, that when you put albino centrics to manage your assets, you CANNOT expect to then use ‘dividends paid’ as any yardstick of performance.

LONG before the arrival at ‘dividends’, various ‘expenses’ such as management fees, consultancy fees, finders fees and other exotic charges are introduced – such that ‘dividends’ then become a pre-determined independent variable – designed solely to pacify the idiotic brass bowls who were foolish enough to hand their VERY BIRTHRIGHTS over to strangers.

The damn hotel industry makes Enuff money during the strong periods to do quite well OVERALL for the year. HOWEVER, tell Bushie why a white foreign owner would not DOUBLE his profits – by sending the hapless brass bowls packing during the down time…?

Steupsss…
    If you can’t manage your OWN asse(t)s – SURELY you expect to need large amounts of vaseline…

33. @Bush Tea

Tried to make the point that paying little dividend by Hilton to a company owned by government says what?

34. @ David

Yes to the best of my knowledge Needhams is owned by the government. I dont think Hilton has any interest in it. So the income from Hilton’s lease should go to Needhams and then if they are shareholders, a dividend would be paid to the shareholders of Needhams. I am not sure of the structure of Needhams point, but i dont think it trades shares as such on our exchange. Technically its not a government entity but is its own entity. Cant remember ever seeing financials published for it though publically.

35. @John A

Has one look at who was the Chairman and moved right along.

36. Lol you bad!

37. A good example is Carlos Forte questioning Central Bank’s tourism revenue modeling and instead of people probe for the central bank and government ministers in economic affairs to respond, everyone is jumping in with their partisan bullshit. Years ago Hal Austin in this space asked for transparency about the models used by central bank to be fair to him.

38. @John A
    Go to Barbadosparliament.com
    Do a search using the term Needham
    You will find a 2020 report

39. I had this Needham point discussion elsewhere for the dividend was a fraction of what Hilton paid.

I was directed to that site and learned of second entity Needham Point Development Incorporated (NPDI)which has a significant investment in Needham’s Point Holdings Limited (NPHL) that owns the Hilton Hotel so the source/size of the dividend may be dependent on other factories/companies.

Accept or ignore the numbers. Silly me went investigating and ended up more confuse than when I started.

–xx–
    Short story
    One of my first job was working at a company (TEAMS – Technical Evaluation and management Systems) which went bankrupt. Our boss told us don’t worry we would continue on in his other company (TEAMS- Technical Evaluation and management services).To some clients there was no change in company as they were still doing business with TEAMS. Do you know the con man also ripped off the workers who followed him. I left Texas with a bad taste in my mouth

40. There is nothing more frightening than seeing a number produced by an organization/ministry in Barbados. Numbers appear as if by magic. These numbers jump out like ghosts hiding behind a corner in attempting to frighten the hell out of you.

There is little supporting evidence for any number. You take them or you leave them. My choice is to leave those numbers alone.

These numbers have given rise to a national sport. And some have become quite adept at playing the game. Nothing is more amazing than seeing some take a fictitious number and torture it until it yields what may be a more reliable number. Those guys should be national heroes.

41. So in 2019 with a assett base of $65,000,000 the company made after expenses $600,000 in profit or a return on asset base of less than 1%. Remember 2019 was the last good year pre covid.

42. Skippa
    Can you get one of BU’s financial gurus to explain this 2020 report, and the structure of this particular company – with millions in assets and only as productive as a snow cone cart with bad insulation ?
    Also what attributes do the various Board member bring to the table?

Father help us …

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BushTea
    All is good, it is the de-bushing works comments that should be of concern, esp since you lost the whacker.
    To get true Gurkha, you have to read the ’21 filing of a bond exchange.

44. Wait I confuse. I SURE a fellow was on.my TV the other night saying that Needhams Point was paying a divident of a few cents. I think he was the boss man on the board.

What got me is if the last year filed was 2020 and he paying a dividend in 2024, am I to believe that this was based on financial year 2023 which has not yet been filed? So how wunna could pay a dividend in an unaudited year if this is the case? If 2023 was filed why cant it be found on the same site the 2020 was found?

What de hell I seeing here at all!

45. As at January 31, 2019, the Ministry of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment instructed state owned
    enterprises and other public bodies to write off intragovernmental debt (including tax refunds and budgetary
    transfers which have not been made) incurred prior to September 1, 2018 effective December 31, 2018. The
    following balances were written off during the year:

2020 $VAT receivable 222,498
    Associated company balance (52,134)
    Adjustment to share of net income for associated company (1,566,795)
    Net adjustment recorded through statement of changes in equity (1,396,431)

2020 Needham’s financials

46. Canada-based Bajan economist questions review

CENTRAL BANK REPORT SHOT DOWN

Canada-based Barbadian economist Carlos Forte is questioning the Central Bank of Barbados’ recent statement that the economy grew by 4.5 per cent in the first half of the year.

However, the Central Bank says it is standing by the report.

In a statement yesterday, Forte took issue with the Central Bank’s January to June report on the country’s economic performance adding that “the leadership of the Central Bank needs to hold a press conference forthwith and correct the public record”.

“These errors have inflated Barbados’ nominal GDP estimates and its estimates of the real economic growth rate,” he charged.

Forte further claimed that his analysis “suggests that in the last year and a half, the Central Bank has been systematically inflating its estimate of tourism’s contribution to nominal GDP, and over-estimating Barbados’ economic growth rate”.

“The Central Bank’s most recent report on the performance of Barbados’ economy is riddled with errors. Not unlike the first quarter report earlier this year. Barbados’ economy did not grow by 4.5 per cent so far this year, in much the same way that it did not grow by 7.9 per cent in the first six months of last year,” he claimed.

Forte said he had “heard a lot of Barbadians publicly expressing dismay and disillusionment about the disconnect between the Central Bank’s report on the performance of the economy and the actual economic conditions they are experiencing and observing in Barbados”.

“I have expressed my own concerns with the errors repeatedly presented to the public during the Central Bank’s press conferences since 2020, in particular over the last two years,” he stated.

“Today I am calling for an audit or peer review of Barbados’ national economic statistics, in particular those key economic indicators that are reported by the Central Bank – the rate of economic growth, nominal GDP, the rate of inflation and the unemployment rate.”

His view was that “what the Central Bank reported to the public three weeks ago about the performance of the Barbados economy is alarming and should not be taken seriously by any Barbadian or international institution.”

In response to Forte’s statements, the Central Bank said it was standing by its report and that it welcomed all public discourse on its economic reviews.

Specific concerns Forte raised included estimated tourist spending.

The economist also flagged the estimates of tourism services exports otherwise referred to as travel credits.

“The Central Bank’s estimate for the first six months of this year is $1.5 billion, 41 per cent higher than the first six months last year and 75 per cent higher than the first three months of this year, which overlaps Barbados’ peak winter tourist season,” he said.

“Compare that to the 28 per cent increase in tourists spending that the Central Bank reported for the first three months of this year. The Central Bank . . . should have been aware of it before its July 29 press conference,” Forte added. (SC)