The following is a letter appearing in the media authored by former minister Anthony Wood. Discuss for 10 marks.

Central Bank statistics confirm flaws in Lynch’s World Cup analysis
In an address at a luncheon hosted by the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) in May 2024, Ambassador Noel Lynch, chairman of the National Organising Committee of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) T20 World Cup, painted an optimistic picture of the benefits to the Barbadian economy from hosting nine matches in the tournament, including the finals on June 29, 2024.

On that occasion, Mr Lynch advanced a business case for the event, suggesting that the initial investment of $50 million would yield in excess of 100 per cent return. Specifically, he noted there will be an estimated 30,000 to 35,000 visitors for the World Cup and their spending about $105 million.

In a few published articles, I identified fundamental flaws in Mr Lynch’s analysis and concluded that his predictions were exaggerated. I suggested that tourist arrivals for the World Cup in June would be around 10,000, and the first-round economic impact in the neighbourhood of $35 million.

In his presentation of the report on the Barbadian economy for the first six months of the year, governor of the Central Bank Dr Kevin Greenidge provided information on tourist arrivals for June 2024. Dr Greenidge noted that long-stay arrivals reached 49,316 compared to 36,670 in June 2023, an increase of 12,646 or 34.5 per cent. The Central Bank estimated that the World Cup was responsible for 78.5 per cent of the increase in tourist arrivals or an additional 9,932 tourists.

The Central Bank’s analysis accords with Mr Wood’s predictions and corroborates the position of grossly inflated arrival figures presented by Mr Lynch. The implication of the Central Bank’s data is that the first-round economic impact of the World Cup spending was significantly less than the $105 million predicted by Mr Lynch.
The tourist arrival figures provided by the Central Bank (and their implication for economic impact) can be viewed as supporting the view that the Mottley administration will have a difficult task defending the expenditure so far of $44 million on renovating Kensington Oval and tens of millions in other ways.

Indeed, Central Bank officials are looking beyond the (disappointing) immediate economic gains from hosting the World Cup. They believe that the legacy gains from the World Cup will include “future visitors and investments, enhancing the island’s international visibility and its reputation as a premier destination for sports tourism and a capable host for major international events.”

Given the limited tangible legacy benefits from investing hundreds of millions of dollars in hosting games in the ICC World Cup tournaments in 2007 and 2010, there is no guarantee that the benefits identified by the Central Bank will be achieved.
The administration will need to engage in structured planning on a consistent basis to ensure that very positive legacy benefits are realised.

Finally, it was recently revealed that from the money secured for the renovations at Kensington Oval, $3 million for the drop-in pitches and $10 million for the proposed state-of-the art indoor facility have not been spent. The administration is encouraged to seriously reconsider expending such hefty sums on these projects. The resuscitation of the interest in cricket as a legacy benefit of the World Cup mandates that the bulk of these funds be directed at cricket development programmes within the communities and school system.

Anthony Wood is a senior economist, former Cabinet minister in the Owen Arthur administration and former lecturer in economics, banking and finance at the University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus.

103 responses to “Did Noel Lynch and government lie to Barbadians?”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    You really need to cease these negative comments. You have a report after 2016, for each of the holding and development entities under the Needhams Point brand. That is one more than you have for the NIS, QEH or Transport Board.
    This former requirement to report annually is a Colonial thing. Bim is a Republic now. General election day will now be called Accountability Day, and be a holiday to maximize voter participation.
    And now see this economist Forte, warmly ensconced in Canada, calling for an audit. Here we have an esteemed Central Bank, where the CEO (Governor) is also the Board Chairman, just like the family businesses. Ably assisted by a former NIS Chair and Director. What could go wrong? Steupse.

2. Do we have trained economists in Barbados? Traditional media always ask Dr. Justin Robinson, retired Michael Howard et al for comments. Looking forward to listen to pro and counter views to Carlos Forte assertions.

3. Like the story of the Emperor’s robes, this shiite is beginning to unravel before our very eyes.
    @ NO
    Skippa, stop beating around the bush with the discarded whacker ..and explain to us how and why the balance sheet and income statement of the entity that OWNS the Hilton Hotel – looks more like that of an average snow cone cart.

Does the Government NOT own the Hilton – through NPHI?

Is THIS the kind of returns we are getting on SIXTY MILLION DOLLARS of investments?
    In an industry where we are now pushing Hyatt etc?

Is there some kind of quid pro quo arrangement instead?where for example the Hilton operators are mandated to offer competitive rates to keep Barbados competitive? if so, what is that arrangement?
    …or is there some secret leak like we saw in the murky Clear Water company?

To Bushie, this is beginning to look like YET ANOTHER Clear Water arrangement – and the Board is looking VERY similar in composition….

Bushie is seeing nakedness in our future…
    All we are awaiting is the honest son or daughter to shout out the fact…

Is that Carlos….?

4. @ Northern

Based on the 2020 financials cant see how they could pay a dividend.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

BushT
    Beyond my scope.
    Wasn’t there once a rumour of a sale with a price tag?
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/07/09/govt-faces-legal-hurdle-in-old-oil-refinery-clean-up/amp/

Between the debt/guarantees and environmental remediation, $1 maybe too high?

Given the length of time, nobody wants to touch this, even with the Bushman’s extended pole.

The CWB similarity. The realizable value is well below what the taxpayer is on the hook for. Maybe they can blame the underground hydrocarbons on climate change. Or better yet, announce a new oil find 😀😀

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    The 2020 report is old. A 2¢ dividend costs +/-$2M if my math is correct. Well within reach, especially if the primary purpose is a PR announcement.
    Plus, back in 2020 the GoB was not described as the SOLE owner of NPHL (as is the case with NPDI), but the Ultimate Beneficial Owner. That is a nebulous term, meaning anywhere from 25% ownership with no other related parties cumulatively higher, up to 99%.

7. Also based on the stated income and assuming there is no unaccounted income, it APPEARS based on the 2019 best year performace, that Needhams is leasing the Hilton for a little over $130,000 bds a month. Or roughly 20% of what would be an acceptable return on that asset base!

8. @ Northern

We can only really discuss what was stated in the audit. As for the wranglings dat dont concern me in what percentage Needhams owns. What i DO know is that the people of Barbados own SOME SHARE OR PART THERE OF and are carrying an assett valued at 65 million Barbados dollars in an entity know as Needhams. I also can comfirm based on the 2019 audit that after expenses the net return in 2019 was less than 1% on the $65M investment. I reflect on 2019 as that was the best year we had just before covid.

Now if 2019 was the best year before covid and we have spent the last 4 years chasing our 2019 performance, I will put my head on a block that this entity would now have a lost of around $1.5 million coservatively between the 2020 year and 2023. I mean cuh dear dem lost couple hundred thousand in 2020 alone! Dont worrry what percentage we own or who own what, focus solely on the performance of Needhams which we know as of 2020. After all we each as Bajans own it! If they are side entities and partial ownerships that dont matter to me. What DOES matter is that MY $65 million dollar asset can not even earn me a1% return in the best toursit year precovid.

Now my next concern is does the NISS have money in Needhams and if so how much? After all that is major issue if the fund cant even get 1% on the money dem got in dat.

9. Why would the NIS invest money in Needhams given its paltry record?

10. Why would the NIS invest money in Needhams given its paltry record?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Rhetorical genius ….
    Murda!!!

11. No you see why I don’t like certain fellows 🙂
    The GoB and it agencies will hit you with bogus numbers and these guys will come and toss them around and try make them real.

Let me be clear, these are smart, honest and well intentioned fellows. Their aim is to educate and to add clarity to the matter in front of us. I admire their objectives, but I wonder if these kind, thoughtful and polite explanations are having the desired impact if any.

Forgive me gentlemen, but I am wondering if you are too far away from the lexicon and discourse of the average Barbadian? Do you say “having an affair” instead of ‘gettin”, or “giving” a horn? Do you say “not balanced” instead of “a good bit of we money gone, just disappear.

I could give you numerous examples of polite English, but I will tell you this until these fine gentlemen get the courage to say ‘con’, ‘scam’,
    ‘they tiefin we money’,
    ‘de money aint there no more’ or
    “dey only bring down 53 steal houses; de other 247 boxes are scrap metal; sheer junk and not steal houses. They can’t even build a will out of the remaining 247 boxes, dey tief we money.

That is the kind of report de man in the street can understand.

12. @ NO
    ….nobody wants to touch this, even with the Bushman’s extended pole.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Let’s try to keep this clean Northern…
    The ladies on the blog are already pissed of with Bushie…
    LOL ha ha

13. “Do we have trained economists in Barbados?”

Come on, David.

Economists are often bashed on BU by the forum’s intelligentsia, and any reference to them is usually followed by the question, “what the hell is that?”

Now, because Carlos Forte is perhaps ‘saying things you want to hear,’ he has now become the ‘epitome of economic analysts?’

You guys are ‘consistent in being inconsistent,’ similarly to a guy who is ‘always punctual being late.’

14. @Artax

The question posed by the blogmaster stands.

15. Did you notice I have reduced 300 houses to 53 houses and 247 pieces of junk?
    What does this do?

Well, if I can get my fellow citizens to claim that they were cheated and that the remaining boxes are all junk/scrap metal and not houses, this will force the GoB to rush out and turn a few of those junk boxes into houses. In effect, I will have provided a few more houses for Barbadians. (I will accept the national award if nominated)

Don’t you think I should get de Hope project? If some money remain then I want the project as there may still be a little extra juice that I can squeeze out.

The first thing I would do is change the name to HOPELESS. Of course there would be a competition giving the winner $500 for a better explanation for the acronym
    HOPELESS – Helping Ordinary People Envision Large Economical and Safe Structures

The HOPELESS projects
    With HOPE gone, Barbadians are now anxiously looking for the HOPELESS project to bail them out and restore their hope.

16. @ David

Well if the NIS had money in Clearwater alias Four Seasons they could have money in the Needhams entity too couldnt they? I mean that was when them was investing in anything. Lol

What the oppposition leader needs to do is ask if the NISS fund has investments in Needhams and if so how much.

17. The blogmaster has not had the time to review Auditor General’s report on Needhams.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    Sec 9 ii) b)
    The NIS is reported to get over 6% on its loan.
    And NPHL numbers indicate it is being serviced.

I cannot comment on your ROI conclusions as I am unsure exactly where you extract your numbers.

19. @ Northern

So the NISS is a lender and not a shareholder as such. So the NISS is making 6 times the return on their loan in interest as the investors are making on their investment. Needhams is probably only making interest payments on the loan balance anyhow. I would more call that a revolving fund than a loan LOL.

But dont sweat it should push come to shove we can always borrow from the central bank and pay Needhams, who could then pay the NISS the loan balance when the NISS cash strapped. WUHLOSS everybody happy and the paper trail look good.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

JohnA
    It would appear NPHL is repaying the NIS as per schedule.
    While it doesn’t appear in the audit, the environmental issues remain significant. Remediation is an expensive process.
    Given what is known, and large firms liability aversion, it would not surprise if Hilton carry additional coverage which they back charge the landlord for, until the matter is rectified.
    Further NPDI, as the name implies, is to develop all opportunities within its land boundaries. It cannot do that until lands are environmentally compliant.
    I cannot take the words of the embroiled contractor, but they do suggest contamination extends beyond the NPt land boundaries.
    W.r.t NPDI you will note the Chair mentions the removal of a subvention (a.k.a Grant) as a reason for cash flow issues. Without digging deeper I am unsure the amount of the Grant removed.
    As you note, the circuitous flow of public funds is an ongoing challenge.

21. Click on this link and go for a ride.

https://videopress.com/v/6bNFICSG

22. Howard M Michael (Facebook)
    ·
    After reading the editorial in the Barbados Today paper on the danger of this tourism “one crop” economy, I reminded myself that Barbados economy is in “silent crisis”.
    The vainglorious Mottley, who wants to build 12 hotels on the fragile south west cost, in her overbearing ignorance, is not listening.
    Sandals has now laid of 200 workers. When will she listen. The govt also has no clue of the NET FOREIGN EXCHANGE contribution of tourism which I believe is close to ZERO, given its all inclusive nature, and its negative impact on our water, transport, fuel infrastructure and the foreign exchange cost of other goods.
    The bogus growth rates for the economy by the pathetic Central Bank governor should be discarded, because they are based on ARRIVALS, NOT the GDP$ component contributed by TOURISM.
    How can the Barbados unemployment rate be around 6% when the youth unemployment rate, of people between 15 and 25, is 30%. The silly Greenidge is really saying that we are pretty near to FULL EMPLOYMENT, which is 4% or 5%.
    The agricultural sector, which is going nowhere fast, is our only hope to avoid being a total “beggar economy”. I rest my case.

Michael Howard.

23. Central Bank stands by report

The Central Bank is confident that the economy grew by 4.5 per cent in the first half of the year based on data from the Barbados Statistical Service (BSS) and other sources.

Central Bank officials are also assuring Barbadians that “there is no intent to manipulate or distort economic data”, and said that the institution “will continue to refine our models and methodologies, ensuring that the Central Bank remains a trusted source of clear and accurate economic information”.

The country’s monetary authority made this clear yesterday as it responded to a statement from Canada-based Barbadian economist Carlos Forte, who questioned aspects of the Central Bank’s halfyear report, including the economic growth figure and the tourism industry’s performance.

The Central Bank reiterated that it stands by its economic reviews.

“The bank recognises the critical role that accurate, transparent, and objective economic reporting plays in maintaining public confidence, and takes considerable care to ensure that the information we publish is both reliable and reflective of current economic realities,” it said.

“The economic data, including statistics on economic growth, nominal GDP, inflation, and unemployment, are produced following best practices. While the BSS is responsible for producing much of this data, we rigorously interrogate their submissions to ensure thoroughness and reliability.”

It added: “Our reports are grounded in robust statistical frameworks, supported by rigorous analysis, and are frequently reviewed by international partners such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to ensure accuracy.

“The 2023 GDP estimates, produced by the BSS and reported by the Central Bank, have been reviewed and validated by an IMF technical assistance mission. This external review provides additional assurance of the validity of our data, which we stand by confidently.”

Turning to specific concerns Forte raised about the bank’s estimates of tourism earnings and their contribution to GDP, the Central Bank said that “the estimated performance of tourism earnings in the first half of 2024 is comparable to that of the first half of 2007, a period when Barbados also hosted a major international cricket event”.

“In both instances, we observed a significant increase in the ratio of tourism earnings to gross domestic product – rising from 15.9 per cent in 2023 to 20.9 per cent in 2024. This is consistent with the increase observed from 22.7 per cent to 27.5 per cent between 2006 and 2007,” the monetary authority explained.

The bank said that tourism estimates for the first half of 2024 are supported by several key indicators. This included BSS data showing that long-stay arrivals increased by 17.9 per cent over the first half of 2023 and cruise arrivals recorded a 17.9 per cent increase, with cruise calls rebounding significantly in the second quarter of 2024.

The bank also said that food prices experienced a general increase of 5.3 per cent, indicating that visitors paid more for food, contributing to higher tourism spending.

This was in addition to information from Smith Travel Report, which stated that hotel room rates “rose by an average of ten per cent, with the second quarter showing a particularly strong increase of 13.3 per cent over the second quarter of 2023”.

“These data points collectively underpin our estimate of a 4.5 per cent economic growth rate for the first half of 2024. We remain confident in our assessment, which reflects a strong recovery in the tourism sector post-COVID, driving economic expansion across other sectors,” the bank said.

It also acknowledged the concerns raised by some Barbadians regarding the perceived disconnect between the economic reports and the actual conditions they experience.

“It is important to understand that while the economy may be growing, it can take time for the benefits of this growth to be felt by every member of society – a phenomenon observed globally, including in advanced economies like the United States,” said the bank.

“This is why we have consistently emphasised in our economic reviews the need for increased investments to achieve sustainable and inclusive economic growth that will improve the lives and livelihoods of all Barbadians.” (SC)

24. There is a simple reality. When we have to listen to Noel Lynch talking about track and field does he inspire the nation to rise up to follow his lead and that of the AAA?

NO!

—————————-

The Future of Barbados Track & Field
    Sada Williams added to her brilliant career with a place in the Olympic women’s 400m final in Paris. But the president of the Athletics Association of Barbados (AAB), Noel Lynch, says that there is more in the pipeline. However, the veteran administrator said that more must be done to support emerging athletes and to put mechanisms in place for them when they are competing at world level.
    Lynch says that a strategic retreat earlier this year included affiliates and coaches, parents and the media. Coming out of that retreat, the AAB developed a strategic plan, which will hopefully guide team selection and preparation.
    The plan largely focuses on working with under-20 athletes, cognisant that many of them will be starting their international representative careers at that level. But the AAB wants to be able to start getting its teams ready for CARIFTA much earlier than has been the case in the past.
    “I think we wait too long to have training squads for the CARIFTA Games,” said Lynch. “You can’t wait until the beginning of the year, in January, to start putting together the nucleus of your national team.
    “The ones who performed last year should form the nucleus of the team going forward. But also, we need to be moving towards a system where we have a national training squad, and there’s the probability of a national junior coach.”
    Lynch suggests that the national programme should start identifying athletes from as early as September.
    Coaches would work with the national squad to ensure that athletes are being prepared fully for the upcoming season.
    He points out that administration, reporting and proper structures must be put in place if this concept is going to work.
    Lynch went on to stress that local coaches are capable of standing toe to toe with the best in the world. He says that Barbadians have typically excelled in the World Athletics coaching development structure, but the lack of structures at the local level has been a limiting factor.
    “You’ve got to have the material to work with,” he noted. “You have to have a framework. Jamaica is a country with three million people; they have been winning Olympic medals since the fifties. There’s a legacy, there’s a community investment, the school programme is intense in terms of what is invested. This is not comparing apples with apples.”
    Lynch contended that Barbados’ investment in cricket through the years has paid off. He claimed that the bulk of Government attention and investment has gone into cricket, and the sport has delivered the returns. Athletics, he contends, is a close second with far less fiscal input.
    “I’m saying that we have reached the stage now, if you want to produce these global citizens that the prime minister speaks about with Barbados roots, we have got to look at sports and culture in a more serious way in terms of the investment made. And the investment has got to go way beyond the cricket investment.”
    With World titles, World medals, and multiple finalists at the World Championships and Olympic Games since the eighties, Lynch said that Barbados track and field has been punching above its weight. But he felt that still more can be done to improve local athletics.
    Coming out of the U20 realm, Lynch said that there must be a deliberate effort to get Barbadian athletes into appropriate development pathways. Notwithstanding that that was not Sada’s path, he reckoned that the collegiate system in the USA has been working well in terms of getting the best out of the island’s athletes.
    He cautioned, however, that it is important to match the athlete to the right training environment.
    “I think the NCAA system has worked for us,” he expressed. “It worked for Obadele, it worked for Shane Brathwaite, it worked for Mario Burke, Jonathan Jones, Kyle Gale. The only thing is that the programme that you go into in the United States has got to fit very well your academic and athletic performances; you’ve got to marry the two.”
    Lynch went on to say that the AAB strategic plan will be making a more deliberate effort to create a nexus between coaches, parents and guardians, and secondary schools. He explained that getting student athletes to even dream of being world-class must be a team effort, and interventions in their evolution must be carefully planned.
    At the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles, Richard Louis, David Peltier, Clyde Edwards, and Elvis Forde made the men’s mile relay final for Barbados. But for injuries to two of the nation’s leading male quarter-milers this season, Jones and Gale, Lynch is confident that the feat could have been repeated in Paris. The cupboard, he said, is certainly not bare, with a number of young, capable athletes coming through the system.
    The athletics chief pointed to access to appropriate facilities as another key element in lifting the nation’s performances at the world level. But in his opinion, the absence of a national stadium also means that upand-coming athletes don’t get to set their ambitions on attaining locally, and being inspired by the prospect of competing at the Mecca.
    “The stadium should be revered. And yes, it is a place for training and all that. But we need to get people involved at a point where it is an aspiration and a high to get into The National Stadium to be able to run at BSSAC or National Championships. The stadium is the physical and spiritual home of sports like track and football. You’ve got to aspire to get in there.”
    In addition to the training side, the AAB is insistent that physiotherapy, massage, nutrition, psychology, and public speaking must be part of the young athlete’s development. These elements, however, are costly.
    To that end, Lynch thanked the private sector and Government “for the sterling work they have done over the years”. But he contended that in order to build the next generation of track and field stars, early intervention is crucial. This, he explained, could include national federations collaborating with funding agencies from the beginning of their budget cycles, so as to ensure that their programmes are appropriately resourced in totality.
    All in all, the future looks bright for local athletics, provided that the social partners can work together more closely and more effectively, the better to lift young Barbadian athletes to the highest of heights. (TF)

Source: BT

25. Michael Howard is right.

26. Mr Lynch I tell you what. Lets settle the arguement about the cricket benefit by posting the total revenue generated by the finals here a few weeks ago along with the total expenses incurred for hosting it.

Wait dont worry i just realised you have no method of capturing none of these figures.

27. @John A

How can ‘accurate’ revenue numbers be posted if modeling is used to determine spend? The upside is that expenses are hard numbers.

If the Governor and central bank are confident in their modeling open it to rigour of public scrutiny.

28. @ John A
    Well said.
    Barbados is currently being run by intuition.
    This is the gist of what Prof Howard is saying.

Appointments are made by personal instinct, and assessments are based on interpersonal relationships.
    There is therefore no need for planning, measurement of results, or consideration of costs.
    This explains the type of people currently running things bout here… like Lynch.

We are on a fast train to bankruptcy.

To be honest though, Arthur started the shiite when he appointed the chicken feed man as supervisor of insurance to allow CLICO to rob Bajans unhindered.

What a curse…

29. @ David

The estimates show how far off ALL of their numbers are, as every year they come back to have huge supplimentaries approved sometimes within weeks of the estimates. What does that tell you?

The cricket talk is but another example. Now if we go by the Governors figures tourism was up over the winter season ending April by roughly four percent. So if we use the central banks approach, one would conclude that WITHOUT cricket we could well of had a 4 percent increase anyhow. So one can conclude using the central banks logic that cricket brought a 0.5 percent increase in ARRIVALS NOT SPEND.

So the questions is what did we spend to generate this 0.5 percent in arrival growth and what was this worth in SPEND over 2023 same period?

Again cant answer dem dont have the data! All that they can say ” is we feel it do good.”

30. @ Bush Tea

Well sadly the party faithfuls and those who dont understand numbers will take the talk and guestimates and run with it. After all dem is the bulk of the voters. I do blame the press and opposition for not doing more to highlight and educate the public though. Then again the DLP cant even organise themselves far less help educate anyone!

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Whenever a nation takes on hosting any top level event, they know measuring the impact beyond the hype and event(s) will be near impossible. That’s the beauty of it. It will almost always be a PR success, barring a bombing or similar occurence.
    Up until 2015, at least, Barbados was still servicing a $14M loan related to renting a cruise ship the last time a similar cricket event was hosted. While the expenses are ‘easier’ to measure, they are frequently scattered around several agencies, and equally easily concealed.
    The legacy, is often found in facility upgrades and expansions. The cost of which is potentially traceable, the benefit more difficult to quantify.
    Since accommodation and food entities will always be boosted with minimal expense to them, the positive reports from them is almost guaranteed.

32. @ Northern

I agree with what you said above but what can be measured easily usuing the central bank logic is this.

With an arrival percentage already achieved up to April of 4% acccording to the central bank boss, a trend which it appears held up to the end of May thankfully based on the comments of the BHTA, one can take the january to June arrivals, which they would have by now and then use them as outlined below.

Use the 4% increase for the period January to June 2024, which we can call achieved growth and compare it to the arrival growth for the same period of 2023 as a baseline. Any arrival growth then in EXCESS of 4% can then and only then, be attributed to cricket. AT least that way we would know the true growth percentage arrivals wise cricket brought on and above the already achieved basline growth for the period.

If you want the revenue generated by the arrrivals use the same formula but this time use spend figures instead of arrivals. That sir is only true calculation that matters.

33. @John A

In all of your tourist arrivals assumptions revenue is an educated guesstimate based on modeling. What are the key assumptions used in the modeling we want to know. It is not enough for the central bank to assure us their models are reviewed by IMF etc. Allow peer scrutiny from private sector players.

34. @ David

Sadly after being in the tourist sector for over 60 years, Barbados via the Central Bank only captures around 60% of the tourism spend in their statistics as confirmed by international lending agencies. This they refer to as the FORMAL toursim sector. The informal sector being the taxis, vendors, sailing vessels etc are not captured in their statistics. The resaon they use arrivals is because that figure can easily be confirmed by immigration. So every year they compare apples with apples percentage wise. They then do the same with the tourism spend figures as well. Which i dont have a problem with for comparison purposes because once you comparing apples to apples you aint telling no lies. So again you comparing registered spend with registerd spend for last year via central bank collections.

Now what I do have a problem with is when people like the politicians and the governor make statements like ” The cricket was a resounding success.” Oh it was based on what formula and which data? Answer that follows is DEAFENING SILENCE. Or other statements like ” we could not of achieved this years arrivals without cricket.” Oh again based on what? AGAIN SILENCE.

35. @John A

We should be concerned if there is now a discussion being had that the macro success being boasted about is not trickling down to the masses.

36. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

David, why all the hullabaloo about the CB’s numbers when we KNOW it’s an exercise in statistical pin-de-tail on the hype.

@Northern’s analysis is ABSOLUTELY spot on and at its most basic level it’s that multipler effect we all know from basic economics (can we all say Lipsey together 🤣)!

It’s well theorized and rationally supported by facts that massive enterprises like de cricket WC or an Olympics does bring commensurate massive economic gain (to taxi operators, food vendors, hotels etc) but …. with commensurate ‘white elephant’ long term costs!

It’s great political hype to be caught up in the frenzy of construction and then the hundreds of thousands of visitors but boom … the drop-off on the downside can be deadly if you stupidly believed you could economically fly forever … because the initial winds were so strong.!

Maybe the economic gains can never be measured properly but we enjoyed the WC and those massive crowds at de Oval and all that massive world wide adverting we got, didn’t we!

So of course there were “lies”” of omission but we aren’t stupidly believing the hype … we are more astute than that.

37. Catching up
    Like the piece by dpd

38. @dee Word

The blogmaster’s concern about central bank’s computations (statistical analysis from the BSS) rises above white elephant spending.

The hosting of World Cup was fit for purpose to fit Mottley’s international agenda.

39. “It is not enough for the central bank to assure us their models are reviewed by IMF etc. Allow peer scrutiny from private sector players.”

Boss, it appears your brain is growing or whatever was damaged was repaired. Your deliveries are well received and considered as excellent.

In the past, after an excellent spell you seem to tire and to lose your length. I will inform you when it happens

Have a great day all..
    Have a great day Barbados

40. Use the 4% increase for the period January to June 2024, which we can call achieved growth and compare it to the arrival growth for the same period of 2023 as a baseline. Any arrival growth then in EXCESS of 4% can then and only then, be attributed to cricket. AT least that way we would know the true growth percentage arrivals wise cricket brought on and above the already achieved basline growth for the period.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Why go through all that calculation when the more accurate measurement could be obtain at the point of entry by asking a simple question and then tallying all the “ arrivals for cricket “ ?

Can any of the BUers confirm if the was one of the available options on the immigration questionnaire during June ?

============

IMO. One indicator that the growth is starting to “trickle down “
    Is the report a number of families ( 200 I think ) we moved off the list of needing assist by government to pay their electric bills

41. “IMO. One indicator that the growth is starting to “trickle down “
    Is the report a number of families ( 200 I think ) we moved off the list of needing assist by government to pay their electric bills”

Oh?

What if they moved to MP constituency assistance program?

42. The other point worth mentioning, we have seen how former Minister Anthony Wood has been running Barney Lynch ragged on his unsubstantiated and questionable assumptions re T20 World Cup. You mean to say given his former position in Cabinet, particularly in economic affairs, he is not seized with insider knowledge to educate Barbadians about these kinds of matters? Another one is the formula used by government to fix gas price. Why does it have to be a big secret?

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

Gas prices have always had your goat lol
    Dem does set um and dat is dat.
    Maybe there is a formula, potentially a little massaging from time to time, for whatever reasons. The GoB is unlikely to share any formula, and it may change.
    Dpd
    Dare you forget Sparks and Steiner. Guess it depends on where one is schooled 😀
    JohnA
    It was a resounding success. Wha you expect them to say? The only improvement is if WI made the final and won. I fear you must balance the books of that one door shop to the cent?
    At days end most folks could give a rambam what the GovCBB says. At least with growff, trilldren, comfortebble etc, he is widely understood even if the concepts are above many.
    The Auditor General is due soon, and that will be smorgasbord for you 👍

44. You don’t have to believe me, but…

THERE IS A WIDE DISCONNECT between the figures disclosed to us by the Central Bank of the volume of contribution from tourism to the economy of Barbados, and the reality of the situation. I have been saying this for a long time and the powers that be continue to ignore what I have been saying. My experience travelling all over the world shows me where countries keep a close eye on what tourists actually pay to their hotel.

We had great evidence of this a couple of years ago when local hotels were not sent payments because of disconnect in the cash flow arrangement abroad. Hotels in Barbados were faced with layoffs because guests were coming here but no money accompanied these guests and were not contributing to the running of the hotel.

The fundamental problem is that the Government talks about having hotels here without looking at how the payment for guests services are received. Look at the palaver being made now about two new hotels to be opened soon in Barbados. Even more fuss is being made about new hotels being planned at the waterfront.

A guest coming to Barbados would find the head office or agent in the company that owns the hotel and makes a payment to that hotel chain.

The chain sends enough money to cover essentials that the hotel must give, but not necessarily all room services or contribution to the hotel’s overheads.

The Central Bank report is based on the figures given to it of the number of guests arriving in the island and may include the room rates and the amount for services.

Herein lies the discrepancy. Coupled with this is the area of receivables that guests may pay abroad to the chain ownership or parked by local hotels and may not be repatriating to Barbados.

The Central Bank is also in receipt of the number of tourists who arrive by air and sea (not in-transit passengers catching a voyage). It can only estimate the amount spent or not spent by guests not staying with entities reporting to the Central Bank. The report in the last SATURDAY SUN of Barbadian Canadian-based economist Carlos Forte cannot be ignored, questioning the Central Bank’s recent statement that the economy grew by 4.5 per cent in the first half of the year. This should awaken our attention. He says that the Bank should hold a press conference and correct the public record. This may be necessary, as we do not seem to experience the positive impact on our economy as would be expected.

Moreover, we seem to have a race between the necessity to borrow and the need to have enough justification for foreign-owned hotels that do not effectively balance the situation as we continue our borrowing spree, our living above our means and our feeling in the dark.

“The Central Bank’s most recent report on the performance of Barbados’ economy is riddled with errors. Not unlike the first quarter report earlier this year,” Forte was quoted as saying.

Calling for a general discussion on the reports of the Central Bank implies a situation where the Government is working in acceptance of its guidelines. This is troubling as that situation is like peas in a pod.

Part of our present problem goes back to the misguided workings of the Central Bank by the printing of money. If foreign investors cannot trust the reports of the Central Bank, then we may be heading for another catastrophe.

Once upon a time it was easy to examine the various reports of the Central Bank but over the last few years the Wild Coot finds it difficult to sift through the data. It calls into question the information that is available to foreign investors and any decision to invest in Barbados even for local entrepreneurs – a point that I have been making many times. Do we necessarily blame the banks?

The Central Bank can reiterate its comments on the economy, but we the people do not seem to share in this good news. We are still seeing tax added to almost every item that people who can afford it, shop at the supermarket. (Those who do not or can’t just grin and bear it.)

Perhaps our local economists are at their wits’ end on accessing what has been in circulation here in Barbados.

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

45. Harry Russell tends to piss Bushie off.

Here is a man that TRULY understands the economic foolishness that has overtaken Brassbados, and who PERSISTENTLY writes about it, ….but who does so in such polished and refined language, that the average brass bowl – mis-educated by our albino-centric ‘eddykashun’ system, HAS NO IDEA what he is talking about…

The Tourism industry as practiced in Brassbados is EXACTLY like prostitution – where the Pimps keep their money overseas, the Johns pay for the services overseas, and where the BB locals sell their natural resources for the bare minimum pittances that are transferred here…. BORROWING to cover the differences.

Meanwhile, the local (mostly political) pimps – characterized by their flashy houses, cars, dress, and language – pontificate about how GREAT this prostitution business is for Brassbados – and INSISTS that we measure success by the number of Johns who come here to screw us.

…and (except for Russell and a VERY few others) the Press goes along with that shiite narrative….

Russell ALSO understands the NONSENSE being executed by the foreign shiite banks, that our politicians have IMPOSED on our donkeys…
    BUT AGAIN, he covers this understanding in flowery language and ‘tongue-in-cheek’ phrases – instead of down-to-earth PLAIN TALK.

Here is someone that SHOULD be doing more than just writing shiite in the foreign owned newspapers…
    …but then again, Bushie blames him for being so passive with Arthur and the BNB debacle….

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    Russell and company find themselves struggling on the fence because they slavishly adhere to the intellectual ethos. We must remember that in the walls of Harrison College they were the prime recipients of the so-called classics and pride themselves in being able to speak Latin.
    Unfortunately, there are some , on BU, that although they did not reach Harrison, Cambridge or Oxford, also delight in this intellectual ethos, much to the amusement of the Russells and others.
    We are always amused when in their polemics they find time to quote the same European writers and thinkers , who held them in slavery. They don’t believe that the writers and thinkers of the region can fit into to that elite group.
    So, in many ways we are all trapped in the plantation educational system and thinking. We are still not yet free. We apparently can never bring ourselves to believe that the Mighty Sparrow is perhaps one of the most famous artiste that has ever graced the planet. We will however, reserve such adulation for Europeans preferably Italian opera singers.

47. Agreed 100% William.
    The ‘Eddykashun’ brainwashing exercise has been a COMPLETE success.

48. Politicians don’t ‘lie’ per se

they ‘bullshit’

and have immunity + culpable deniability

The foundation of culpable deniability is plausible deniability and allows leaders to deny blame for questionable activity that they should have been aware of but were not.

They were willfully ignorant.

49. Probe price at pump

by RYAN WALTERS I ASKED THIS question five months ago during the debate of the Appropriation Bill in the Senate, and I ask it again today.

Why haven’t consumers in Barbados seen a reduction in the price of gasoline and diesel at the pump for almost a year? In September 2023 the price of gasoline and diesel at the pump reached a whopping $4.22 and $3.47 per litre respectively.

This represents among the highest prices consumers have ever been asked to pay in Barbados. Since the increase in September of 2023 there has been no change to what the Government has asked Barbadians to pay for petrol at the pump.

It is now approaching a year – 12 months – that Bajans have been forced to pay through their noses for petrol at the pump, although global conditions have changed somewhat. Traditionally, the price that consumers paid at the pump is reflective of the current imported price which everyone is aware is heavily impacted by the price per barrel of oil on the international market.

Exorbitant level

Barbadians have grown accustomed and expect small variations in price on a periodic basis; whether it is a slight increase or slight decline in the price at the pump. However, for no change to occur in 12 months, especially when the price we are paying is at such an exorbitant level, is a situation that warrants questioning and an investigation.

Research on the average monthly international prices of oil post September 2023 suggests that something is not right with the way in which the Barbados Labour Party government has been asking consumers to pay at the pump over the last 12 months. Since September 2023, the price of a barrel of oil on the international market which ultimately dictates the price that consumers pay here in Barbados has declined. Yet no change has been made from a governmental level. If we examine the average monthly movement of the price of a barrel of oil pre-September 2023 you can see clearly that adjustments are being made locally that reflect those price changes globally (see appendix 1).

Reduced by 17 per cent

However, if you do the same examination post September 2023 you will see a stark difference. That is, while prices globally have reduced there has been no change in the price that consumers in Barbados are asked to pay. In the months following September 2023, the price on the world market based on the widely used Brent Crude Oil Price, reduced in some cases by 17 per cent when compared to September 2023.

On an overall basis, the average price per month is approximately ten per cent lower than it was in September 2023. Yet there has been no change to what this government continues to ask consumers to pay at the pump (see appendix 2).

The questions Barbadians need answers to are: 1. Why is this happening? 2. What is so special about the last 12 months that no price adjustments have been made at the pump?

3. Why haven’t we seen a reduction in the price of gas and diesel at the pump over the year given global trends in the price of oil?

4. Is this a result of negotiated contracts that have now proved disadvantageous to consumers?

5. How much longer do consumers have to wait for relief?

6. How much has the government profited by not adjusting the price down as has become customary and what is the government doing with the money?

7. This government speaks a lot about “transparency”. Why has this information not been communicated to the public?

8. Why does the Barbadian public not know the formulae used to calculate the price at the pump?

9. How does the government plan to reimburse consumers in Barbados? Bajans need reimbursement!

The country deserves answers!

Ryan Walters is an Opposition Senator. This article was submitted as a Letter to the Editor.