RECEIVED FROM RAS SIMBA OF AFRIKAN HERITAGE FOUNDATION – Ras Jahaziel

In the past when gun violence was becoming a daily occurrence, politicians, the church and those who put themselves in leadership positions, cried out “how are the guns getting in”. The national conversation led by these leaders was focused on plugging the holes that were letting the guns in. In recent times a number of stabbings have been reported. However, I am not hearing the cry ” who is letting in the knives and cutlasses  being used to kill”. The point being made here is, people kill people, and the national focus should never have been on the importation of guns.

Barbados’ Prime Minister in the hopes of appeasing the people has come up with an initiative to create a special unit to deal with crime. That is a colossal waste of time. Is this unit expected to be everywhere all the time to stop people killing each other?  Clearly the government is at a loss for a solution to this problem.

The Afrikan Heritage Foundation has always put forward the idea that what is needed to quell  the anger and violence in Barbados is the creation of a wholesome and morally healthy environment for our young people. What do I mean? If you listen to the average music listened to by our young people we will hear it is packed tightly with violence against brothers and sisters, advocacy to trust no one and do whatever makes you happy regardless of its impact on someone else, glorification of ignorance and stupidity, sexual objectification of women, the thumbs up to infidelity and a total lack of respect for the family unit.  These negative influences can be heard in soca and dance hall, the two main types of music that flood our  society. What is the government doing about this or can they do anything to influence more positive listening?

When looking at the rise in violence we must also look at the government’s national cannabis policy. With its attempted eradication of regional cannabis and the upgraded fight against locally grown cannabis, effectively clearing the way for the mass illegal importation of North American cannabis, Barbarians are now suffering the after effects of cannabis corruption mentality and economically. With the increased levels of THC and related concentrates in the cannabis that now floods our street, it is not surprising that violence is on the rise.

Barbados’ moral compass is broken. Money and fame have become prerequisites to become a national hero. The nations head cannot show us an example of a healthy family structure.

The education system has failed and continues to fail the majority of Barbadians who trust in it. Many are asking how does a child get 0 in a Common Entrance exam? Who is responsible of the illiterate reality of many Barbadians. Why are our school environments so violent?

Finally it must be said that the police must share some of the blame. Many of us when facing threats by others get little or no satisfaction. People are left to take matters of justice in their own hands. Courts take forever to dispense justice and the people either don’t care or are bound by laws that make them non effective to pre-empt  violence, especially domestic violence.

Churches continue to go on their knees and pray and they have been doing as crime and violence rises steadily. Let us not forget throughout the Old Testament, God was the orchestrator of much war and violence. Maybe it is God effecting the blood flowing in Barbados as a rebuke for a government who has turned its back on  all that is good and divine in its essence. We have read of the judgements given by God to leaders who have strayed from the truth and the light. Is Barbados’ leader standing in truth and moral fortitude?

Violence in the society is a direct result of an uncaring, unethical, immoral, corrupt and self serving government  Be not fooled that heavier policing will help. Only a national conversation which leads to a national redemption song influencing those who can to do better, to do so for the sake of our tomorrows.

88 responses to “A stab at violence on the street …”

1. BAJAN IN EXILE Avatar
    BAJAN IN EXILE

I totally agree with Ras Simba.

I have been saying this for years. If a society turns its back on God then that society can expect what is going on in Barbados now and no amount of legislations, committees, whatever will change God’s mind.

He is looking for 2 Chronicles 7:14

2 Chronicles 7:14 – if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

So it is up to HIS people in the land of Barbados. Going to “church” on Sunday and doing mas on Monday will not cut it. This calls for a 180 degree turn in the way that Barbadians are living their lives. It’s up to you.

God is a RIGHTEOUS JUDGE. He gave you a little shake up with Beryl. TAKE NOTE. Search yourselves, repent before it gets worse.

I am praying for you.

2. I am in total agreement with everything Ras Simba has said. So many of our population no longer have a moral compass. Role Models are no longer men and women with standards of decency and respect. Children no longer go to Sunday school. Parents, teachers employers are not given respect and correcting youngsters seems to suggest you are taking away their rights. Drugs are easy to get and I hope there is time to turn things around, but I feel the horse is out of the stable and running wild and uncontrollable.
    There are no longer CONSEQUENCES FOR YOUR ACTIONS.

3. AMEN!
    Amen!
    !!!

4. Absolutely nothing to add.
    Well said, well put, well articulated.
    Truth in its simplest purest form.
    He who hath ears to hear let them hear

Just observing

5. Some are asking if the death of the baby which the pregnant woman was carrying when stabbed to death would not be accounted as a murder

6. A culture of violence in the home and in society leads to damaging mental health issues anger frustration and more violence

So perhaps it is more about controlling emotions and learning how to communicate and handle disagreements with each other better on a day to day level

7. Some of you like to post so much puff on the blog having regard to the fact you live in countries where the police is militarized, huge social services budgets and what? This is a rising trend globally, something is happening, the choice is ours whether we want to chip away at the edges to avoid being a model country for change. Adding two judges, a special police unit, a junior minister etc will not significantly move the needle. Drastic measures must be done and seen to be taken.

8. “This is a rising trend globally, something is happening, the choice is ours whether we want to chip away at the edges to avoid being a model country for change. Adding two judges, a special police unit, a junior minister etc will not significantly move the needle.”

In the UK prisons are full to capacity and people are being released before half their sentence is served. So the prison service will need expansion too..

9. @ David

What are those ‘drastic measures that should be done and seen to be taken,’ without violating people’s civil rights?

10. @Artax

Read the crime blog below posted which touched lightly on the matter.

11. Unless we are lucky, some rights will and must be violated if we want to stem this tide of violence.
    Though I am a champion of human rights, silly me realized that heads may need to be busted and a few balls/nipple squeezed. That is the reality.

12. “Unless we are lucky, some rights will and must be violated if we want to stem this tide of violence.”

This state of violating human rights will be an ongoing never ending prospect which would never change except for becoming more extreme over time.
    If you think criminals will become scared then you don’t understand their mindset.

1/10 Try Harder

13. So many problems confront Barbados
    There is the drug culture
    The gun culture
    The wuk up culture
    The disrespect for law and order culture
    The indiscipline of the child
    The me culture
    Most notably money drives most of those called cultures

14. “So many problems confront Barbados … … … … Most notably money drives most of those called cultures”

This is called the capitalist culture of the wild wild west with it’s roots in slavery colonialism genocide and institutional global white supremacy racism which is the biggest crime in history of humankind which ain’t kind

If you want to learn from the masters of bias and prejudice who brought in the slaves from Africa with the largest project of forced immigration in history, treating blacks as prisoners, you could industralise the prisons for profit or build prisons in Rawanda to send them back to Africa*

(*) tongue in cheek :‑J

15. We are attempting to see how Barbados can be an agent model for change for everyone. Engaging in back and forth fueled by political and gotcha exchanges do nothing for the cause.

16. Understanding a problem is the first step of the analysis of a complex system,
    a solution to the will eventually manifest itself

17. David keep dreaming
    The horse has already bolted
    Go read a list of all of societies problems that Barbados has to confront
    Most likely going forward govt would have to build more jails

18. @ac

Then why are you here?

19. Narcos TV Series
    America (the biggest consumer market of drugs) has been fighting a war against drugs since GHW Bush (Senior) for 30-40 years home and abroad since crack epidemic

Small time criminals aspire to go big time
    When you see gangs fighting and killing each other for territory
    taking one gang out just enables another to step in and take the place

They tried
    Working with biggest gangs to maintain peace
    3 strikes laws
    Terror laws
    Anti-Money Laundering laws

It became an issue to them when the problem crossed over from the ghetto into white suburbia and they now have an opioid problem

20. David I can asked u the same question
    In as much as BU has tried to tackle these issues
    These problems have escalated over the years
    If the horse has already bolted all and every solution now being placed can be seen as a band aid solutions
    Hard to reverse mindsets triggered by selfishness

21. Police corruption also became rampant in USA in cities like Philadelphia
    https://www.inquirer.com/news/inq/philadelphia-police-brutality-history-frank-rizzo-20200710.html

22. You would blame a blog for these issues escalating? Don’t also blame the Nation or Barbados Advocate before its demise?

Do you blame CNN or FOC news in your neck of the woods for its decadence?

Problems in a society have to be solved collectively.

23. Barbados has been known as a model country for its education system, electoral system, imcivil service etc. let us use our resources (educated people here and in the diaspora) to crack the code towards making Barbados a model society.

We will not do it by looking to the US, UK and elsewhere. Our values are our own and therefore our method should be our own.

24. David where did I place blame on BU for society problems
    As a matter of fact I made mention of BU tackling those issues
    Good grief

25. Another thing AC, it is evident we can’t look only to politicians to solve anything. Not if the internal squabbling in the DLP is anything to go by which has now made its way to Whitepark. This is a call for the NGOs to make their voices heard.

#privatesector
    #church
    #barp
    #youthcouncil
    #sportsassociations
    #unions
    #djs
    #psvzr
    #others

The problem we have is that many of our NGOs are led by party faithfuls of the duopoly.

26. Crime syndicates can be international and can also have people in the justice system etc in their pocket

27. Let us call a retreat as a matter of urgency with leaders from civil society to agree to a blueprint how we want to claw back from the precipice. It will inform short, medium and long term plans which will have to be tweaked to respond to evolving threats.

Why do we only respond this way if there is an economic crisis? The issue of rising crime must be seen as a NATIONAL DISASTER.

28. 🔔 Ding!
    the best solution is youth investment to preemptively engage the youth before they cross the line

29. “BARBADOS – Just Beyond Your Imagination”

Barbados – A nation of hypocrites.

30. Netflix and other Production Companies often take true stories and makes films about them, for subjects such as DEA, War on Drugs, Iran Contra affair, Drugs for Guns, Contras in Nicaragua..

.. The South American Drug Lords and Cartels such as Pablo Escobar, El Chapo, The Medellín Cartel, Sinaloa Cartel etc etc

which is useful and interesting way of learning and understanding underlying facts

Similar local Caribbean companies could document local Caribbean stories

Although American shoot ’em up violence on TV is probably part of the problem

Maybe, it’s better to send messages through Comic Books like Batman fighting crime in Gotham City

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

Our system, gives great power to the elected. They get to make the rules AND enforce them. They get to decide policy and how it will be executed.
    They can set as many rules as they like, they are moot if not enforced. When they themselves repeatedly break those rules with impunity, how can we expect society to follow and obey them.
    And this is not confined to Barbados.
    Things have a habit of spreading if not contained.

32. Snipers attack at Trump rally. At least 6 shots fired.

33. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

FOR ALL THE MADNESS BEING WITNESSED IN OUR COMMUNITIES, VILLAGES, TOWNS, CITIES & HAMLETS – ONE THING IS 4 SURE: #WeToldYouSo & IT’S SET TO EXPLODE IN A WAY THAT MOST WOULD NOT BELIEVE EVEN IF AN ANGEL APPEARED FROM HEAVEN & TOLD YOU SO

The “GLOVES ARE NOW FULLY OFF”!!!

When a “FM PREZ” can have an “ATTEMPTED ASSASSINATION” made on his life in “BROAD-DAYLIGHT”, you know this is the “ADVENT” a “NO-HOLDS-BARRED” #SpiritualBattle that has now turned from a “WAR OF ATTRITION” into becoming a “WAR OF VOLITION”!!!

“GANGBANGING” has now ratcheted-UP* to “STEROIDAL LEVELS” – where nothing or no one is “OFF-LIMITS” – for “PANDORAS BOX” has been bust right open & the “BLACK SNAKE SATANIC GENIE” has slithered outta’ “ALLADIN’S LAMP”!!!

The “VOICES CRYING IN THE WILDERNESS” told you “IN ADVANCE” that all these things would BEGIN* to alarmingly happen on our watch, but the “MASSES” were docile, apoplectic & dizzyingly comatose on “DENIAL”, “APATHY” & the “SPIRIT MERCHANT” of “TIME-SPACE DISTANCIATION” – citing the “PROPHETS OF DOOOOOOM” as “FEAR-PORN ANARCHISTS” who sole purpose is to keep “STIRRING THE ALCHEMIC POT OF THE APOCALYPSUS”!!!

The question is: “IS ANY WORLD LEADER NOW OFF-LIMITS”??? What about “CRIMINAL CARTELS” – are they reticent given their past history??? What about the “BLACK YOUTHS” who “MURDER” for no “REASON AT ALL” other than their “DEMONIC POSSESSION” – fed on the entrails of “DEMONS”, their sordid minds & souls satiated by daily doses of “SERPENTINE FIRE”??? Does anyone in their right minds believe that this can be solved by “TACTICAL MANEUVERS”, by #PoLICE*, #PoLIEticians or anyone else for that matter???

#LetsGetReal

In the “IMMORTAL WORDS” of the #ProphetHabbakuk who sorely opined from “THE MESSAGE BIBLE”:

JUSTICE IS A JOKE (Hab. 1 1-4)

“SCRIPTURE SAYS: The problem as God gave Habakkuk to see it:

“God, how long do I have to cry out for help before you listen?
    How many times do I have to yell, “Help! Murder! Police!” before you come to the rescue? Why do you force me to look at evil, stare trouble in the face day after day? Anarchy and violence break out, quarrels and fights all over the place. Law and order fall to pieces. Justice is a joke. The wicked have the righteous hamstrung and stand justice on its head…”

It wasn’t “CLIMATIC” then – “BUT IT IS NOW”!!!

FOR THIS IS BOTH A HISTORICAL NARRATIVE & A “PROPHECY” OF THE END OF DAYS FOR PLANET EARTH – LIKE IT OR NOT, THIS IS BREAKFAST, LUNCH & DINNER ALL ROLLED INTO ONE

The “APOTELSMATIC” principle has been “BREACHED”!!!

#StayTuned

34. Bushie

Amen shiiite!

All of this shiite talk and you have no sense about the origins or etymology of Amon or Amén, more properly pronounced as Ah-men.

Indeed, within it’s origins there were no vowels.

Certainly, your book of lies is replete with violence from the beginning to the end.

And then, like Columbus, such a book of violence is to be important in a world it has fashioned when that same violence appears to be engulfing us all.

Is the civilizational culture of the Twa-anu not a far better counter-cultural point of departure.

Or are you and kin so teethered to the Whitrness otherwise spurned that you must return to this vomit.

The truth is that this world order was created by the violence consecrated in your book of lies and it shall thusly so end.

We nearly got a step towards this should that bullet aimed at Trump was a few inches right.

What a pity!

However, these levels of biblical violence will exit your lies along with the Whiteness brought coterminiously.

And yes! Therein is a fundamental contradiction within your belief system.

For on the one hand you rightly cuss albinos but on the other hand their book of lies remains indispensable within your malformed cranium.

35. Everybody that calls for heads to be cracked forgets that the cracked heads may include their own and those of their loved ones.

One does not have to be guilty to be perceived as guilty, even more so in the USA than here in Barbados.

And if Trump gets back in, it will be much worse.

36. How ironic that our North American cousin whom has been flooding the world and the Caribbean with firearms manufactured in the States should find one of these same firearms being used to target their very own ex-President Trump.

Returnee North American Bajans have always concerned me as they are familiar and comfortable with this USA firearm culture which is comfortable with gun ownership. No doubt this group represents a small percentage of people who are importing guns into Barbados.

As for Trump, he quite literally dodged bullets! We have to realise that the USA was built on the foundation of the wild west, slavery and violence. Let’s stop trying to emulate the USA and using this country as a measuring stick for our economic, cultural and social development.

37. Communication at the root of violence

When there is a spike in violent crime, the relevant authorities often respond by releasing statistics that indicate that crime is down overall.

It is a communications and public relations mistake. It backfires and serves to confuse the issue even more.

However, it also gives us insight into one of the elements at the root of the problem of violence. We may have a communication problem.

I do not doubt that crime is down overall. I do not doubt that the police are working hard and reaping success. Is policing in Barbados perfect? I do not think so. However, they do not get enough credit for what they do well. So, it is understandable if when there is an upsurge in violence and the public starts to come down hard on the police service, that someone will want to highlight the positives in the job that they are doing.

The problem is that when there is a spike in violence, the public response of concern is not about crime overall. It is about a particular kind of crime which is extremely concerning. Statistics about overall crime miss the point.

Worse than that, it comes across as an attempt to side step the issue.

Furthermore, if the public cannot make out the difference between, crime overall and violent crime, it will start to question the veracity of the statistics.

Not a good strategy

A man who does not understand will tell himself, “Wuh how crime cuh be down and every day so somebody getting kill?” The statements about crime overall going down, in the midst of panic about violent crime among a particular segment of the population, do not do what they may be intended to do. It is not a good communications strategy.

This is also not a problem specific to the police. In general, the discourse around the murders, shootings and stabbings frames the problem as a crime problem. Violence is not necessarily crime and crime is not necessarily violence. Conflating the two is a problem because framing the issue as simply a criminal issue puts excessive burden on policing as a solution. The problem of violence, which can end in crime, is much more than a criminal issue. Also, there are aspects of the violent crime surge that are not violent in and of themselves.

The importation of illegal firearms is not directly a violent crime.

By the time the ball bounces into the policeman’s court, it has been dropped several times before. The violence we are experiencing is much more than a criminal issue. By the time the police get involved, it is too late. The violence is a historical, social, cultural, economic, political issue. It is multidimensional.

Understanding key

We need to understand this deeply because you cannot solve a problem you do not understand.

The response of pointing out the decline in crime overall when the public starts to lay the blame at their feet comes across as a way of the police service understandably saying, “Doan blame me. I doing my job!” Unfortunately, it does not highlight that it is not crime in general we are talking about. It does not communicate well that the violence is not the police’s job alone.

In fact, poor communication skills may be one of the factors at the heart of the problem. An inability to communicate effectively, especially in sensitive situations, when there is conflict and with nuance leads to volatile reactions. If we are honest, we see this problem with elected officials, other figures of authority, the media, callers on talk radio, in the music we produce and with the public in general. If we are honest, we may well admit to seeing it in ourselves.

Consider that we may be a society that needs a lot of work in communication skill and emotional intelligence.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email adriangreen14@gmail.com.

38. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

I NOW WAG MY HEAD IN DISBELIEF AT THE ACADEMIC DISCIPLINE CALLED *CRIMINOLOGY* – GIVEN THAT ONE OF THE PROFESSORS IN MY CLASS IN THE 1990S HAD ALL KINDS OF SPECIOUS THEORIES AS TO WHY FOLKS COMMIT ACT OF CRIMES & THE MENS REA BEHIND IT WAS PICKED APART WITH A FINE TOOTH COMB – YET NO CREDIBLE ANTIDOTE EXIST

I still “MARVEL” at some of the key “PHILOSOPHICAL UNDERPINNING” of criminology that state “EVOLUTIONARY THEORY” suggests that “HUMAN BEHAVIOUR”, including “CRIMINAL BEHAVIOUR”, is shaped by “EVOLUTIONARY FORCES” positing why certain individuals are more prone to criminal behaviour…

This argument is “SO PATENTLY WEAK” given that it is housed in the “DUBIOUS NOTION” that “EVOLUTIONARY THEORY” has any real substantiative value within the paradigm of “CRIMINAL BEHAVIOUR”!!!

(EDAs) #EvolutionaryDebunkingArguments are often “OVERLOOKED” as ET* dissidents believe that it is essential to recognize its limitations – for Evolutionary theory is not a direct “CAUSE-AND-EFFECT” explanation for criminal behaviour, but instead, it offers a “FIG-LEAF” 4 “CAUSATION”, which is based on our “ANCESTRAL ENVIRONMENT”, (those of us who are “BIOLOGICAL MIGRANTS OF THE SLAVE TRADE), that selected particular characteristics observable in present (BLACK) populations groups!!!…

Most philosophical argument centre around the ideas of #UltimateCauses v #ProximalCauses often referred to the features of “ANCESTRAL” environments – while proximal causes, are the “MECHANISMS” that produce the “CHARACTERISTICS” in the present environment…

Critics like myself argue that ET* “OVERSIMPLIFIES” the complexity of human behaviour & criminality. The contention is that human behaviour is shaped by a multitude of factors, including “CULTURE”, “ENVIRONMENT”, & “INDIVIDUAL EXPERIENCES” & “GOD KNOWS WHAT ELSE”, which cannot be reduced to a “SINGLE” evolutionary explanation!!!

There are also “BIOLOGICAL FACTORS” that provides an explanation for crime that focuses on the physical & biological characteristics of individuals that may contribute to criminal behaviour. This approach has been criticized for its potential to “STIGMATIZE” certain groups of people!!!

I would argue that what we are witnessing today (TO A LESSER DEGREE) is the “MALOVENT” aspect of “CULTURAL CRIMINOLOGY” – a perspective that emphasizes the role of “CULTURE” in shaping criminal behaviour (HOWEVER, THAT TOO MAY BE OVERSIMPLISTIC). Cultural criminologists argue that crime is a product of social & cultural factors, rather than individual biological or psychological characteristics!!!

Then there is the over-arching aspect of “CRITICAL CRIMINOLOGY” – a perspective that challenges the “DOMINANT IDEOLOGIES” & “POWER STRUCTURES” that contribute to crime & criminalization. This approach emphasizes the need to address the “ROOT CAUSES” of crime, such as “POVERTY” & “INEQUALITY” (A TREE THAT HAS NOT BORNE MUCH FRUIT)!!!

Like all strands of philosophical science, academics hope that by theorising on the “MOON” & the “STARS”, they can play a significant role in “SHAPING PRACTICAL WAYS” of moving criminological theory into “PRACTICAL OFFENSIVE MEASURES”. Criminologists continue to debate the nature of scientific knowledge & the role of theory in understanding crime & criminal behaviour – (SADLY, THEY KEEP THROWING CRAP AT THE WALL BUT NOTHING STICKS)!!!

Some of the “KEY PHILOSOPHERS” like ‘Cesare Lombroso’ who was an Italian doctor & criminologist, developed the theory of the “BORN CRIMINAL” – something my grandparents would openly verbose. He believed that certain individuals were born with “BIOLOGICAL” characteristics & “PROPENSITIES” that made them more “PRONE” to criminal behaviour!!!

Also, “JEREMY BENTHAM” who was an English philosopher, social reformer & theorist, developed the theory of “UTILITARIANISM”, argued that the goal of “CRIMINAL JUSTICE” should be to “MAXIMIZE HAPPINESS” & “MINIMIZE SUFFERING” – (WELL, I GUESS THAT AGED PRETTY WELL)!!!

“IMMANUEL KANT” – German philosopher who developed the theory of “MORAL PHILOSOPHY” argued that individuals have a “MORAL DUTY” to “OBEY THE LAW” & that criminal behaviour is a “VIOLATION” of this duty – while “JOHN STUART MILL” – an English philosopher & economist developed the theory of “LIBERALISM”, arguing that “INDIVIDUAL FREEDOM” & “AUTONOMY” are essential to human well-being & that criminal behaviour is a result of the violation of these freedoms!!!

I HATE THE ACADEMIC HAT ESPECIALLY IN AN AGE WHERE EVERYTHING IS COMPLETELY LAID BARE & AS RAW* AS FLYING FISH IN OISTINS – YET THERE ARE FOLKS WHO WANT TO DRESS UP A PIG IN A PINK DRESS & PUT A RIBBON ON IT TO MAKE YOU BELIEVE IT IS NOT A SOW*

#WhatAStateOfAffairs

#WhatAPlagueOnOurHouses

#WhatDamnableTimesWeLiveIn

39. Have guns; will use guns!

40. William Skinner Avatar

Quite frankly , we were never a model country for the areas you referenced because each island and or country once ruled by the British Empire , had the exact model.
    You came with the same thing, when we went borrowing people’s money. You touted the idea that what we (Mottley) did was so brilliant that we could have actually tweaked it and get other countries to buy it. All Mottley did was go the IMF.
    We don’t subscribe to the popular belief that our crime is out of control. What we have is a very small segment of the community engaged in a drug culture that is based on : fast money and very fast lifestyles, wanting to enjoy what they consider the “good Life”.
    There is no way that the guns and drugs are being imported by those ending up either pulling a trigger or getting a bullet. We need to admit that as long as some are people are declared untouchable ; they would not be touched.
    The talk about absentee fathers being responsible for young men being involved in crime ,no longer resonates because it simply is not truth and it really never was. Then we have some mimicking all the soundbites from elsewhere talking about black on black crime. The country is 95% Black and its obvious that most of the crimes will involve blacks. Its like saying most teachers, firefighters, accountants, lawyers, bus drivers are black. Would we seriously expect them to be white. Talking about black on black crime in our society is a non sequitur.
    In order to arrest the current crime activity, we would need political will. We simply are not getting it. And we have never gotten it from the BLP or the DLP. Simple as that.

41. Say what you want William Barbados developed a reputation as a model black country in the areas mentioned. Barbados was invited to participate on observer missions, our literacy rate was said to be higher than most etc, we can agree to disagree.

42. Viral video fuss

Education chief to meet with staff over gyrating pupils

CHIEF EDUCATION OFFICER Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw will today meet with the principal and staff of a primary school whose Class 4 students were making the rounds on social media for all the wrong reasons.

The series of videos captured the children – uniforms marked with farewell messages – in a classroom and along the corridor, the girls bent at a 45-degree angle “wukking up”, the boys behind them in close contact “jucking and stabbing” in response.

In a statement yesterday, the Ministry of Education urged members of the public not to share the video of the “grossly inappropriate behaviours” and said there would be no shaming exercise. Rather the appropriate interventions would be made.

The principal of the northern primary school also indicated to the Ministry the teachers of the students involved in the incidents already contacted the parents and they would meet with them tomorrow.

“While the images were deeply disturbing, we will not embark on a campaign of shaming minors. Rather, as we go into the summer vacation period, we are appealing to parents and other adults involved in the lives of children to not only increase the vigilance in our children’s activities, but also increase their engagement with them,” Bradshaw said.

“As parents, we need to continue open and honest discussions with our children about good decisionmaking and setting standards of excellence for themselves. We also need to help them set the necessary boundaries to protect themselves. Peer pressure is certainly not new, but in a digital world where there exists the illusion of reward for the most extreme exhibitions of behaviour, our efforts to help our children to become more resilient must be significantly increased.”

Red flag

Attempts to reach general secretary of the National Council of Parent Teacher Associations Nicole Brathwaite were futile, but president of the Barbados Union of Teachers, Rudy Lovell, said some of their members had raised a red flag about such behaviour.

“The recent video showing a group of primary school students engaging in inappropriate behaviour is unfortunate. The Barbados Union of Teachers condemns this type of conduct and hopes the students involved will receive the necessary counselling to prevent future occurrences,” he said.

Lovell was confident that after investigations, the Ministry of Education would take the necessary action with the parties involved.

The Ministry said since minors were involved, the outcomes would be “treated confidentially”.

“Their protection is our responsibility as a nation, and this incident, while unfortunate, should not be allowed to define these children. All parties will emerge better and wiser for the lessons learned, as the Ministry of Education and all of its partners move forward to create a bright future for every child,” Bradshaw added. (SAT)

43. What a bunch of hypocritical jokers!

Can ANYONE be so dense as to think that our children will actually do what we say they should do, … RATHER than what they SEE US DOING?

In the next couple of weeks, MOST of these high saluting adults, led by Ministers, education officials, doctors, lawyers ..and hoards of other brass bowl parents, will be up and down the streets of Barbados behaving like dogs in heat…
    …and PROUD of it.

The now indignant Media will highlight this on the front pages, usually the most sickening and gross examples of the debauchery….

YET, they now claim alarm, surprise and shock, when 10-year-old children do the same shiite – probably under the guidance of an adult…?!!

Perhaps we will also claim shock to know what the children generally graduate to, by the time they reach second form….

What a damned place!
    What brassbowlery…
    What eddykashunal shiite…

44. @Bush Tea

What is the plan?

The blogmaster is waiting for a comprehensive counter to an obvious increase deviance in the society which correlates with increasing lawlessness. Forget the PR about drop in reported crime rate and the other fluff.

45. No man is an island

The internet has made the world more global with global culture global news global trends global music global fashion

Barbados is no longer insular and needs to observe these changes