The following analysis about crime was uploaded to Barbados Crime Blog by the public spirited Amit.

Around the second week of June, I decided to launch an online poll that asked one simple question: “How safe do you feel living in Barbados today?” This was not meant to be a formal survey (while that would have been more rigorous, it would also be more expensive and complicated to carry out). 
My poll is basically a “man on the street” type poll that looked to measure public sentiment. Furthermore, this poll doesn’t attempt to offer sociological or criminological conclusions. It’s a data-driven look at patterns in how Barbadians perceive safety—broken down by demographics like gender, age, and parish. Long term, my plan is to run it twice a year (June and December), and compare results over time.

Amit – Barbados Crime Blog

26 responses to “Talking CRIME—For real this time”

1. Fear over growing murder rate

There has been a dramatic rise in major crimes, and a leading criminal justice researcher is concerned that a new homicide record may be set if there are no urgent interventions.

Director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU) Cheryl Willoughby expressed that fear yesterday as grim statistics were shared about the rise in major crimes against the person, and theftand firearm-related offences.

“So far for June, we’ve had [nine] murders. We are almost at 30 murders for the year. If we continue on this trajectory, based on trend analysis, we may experience as many as 60 for the year. That is something that we do not want to see,” she said.

Willoughby was speaking during a Stakeholders’ Meeting: A Review Of Crime Trends In Barbados – January 1 to May 31, 2025, held at Baobab Towers in Warrens, St Michael.

So far this year, there have been 28 homicides, most of which were by the gun. Although the session focused on and compared data compiled for the first five months of the year, it was also pointed out that June was a tragic period with nine homicides, eight of which were firearmenabled. All the victims were male.

It was also revealed that the average age of those arrested for murder was 28 years old.

Willoughby expressed concern about the prevalence of youth involved in criminal activities.

“I am disturbed, like many of you. I am a mother; I see what is happening with our young men. When we can have 17-year-olds charged with murder and gunrelated offences, it tells us something is going on within the family structure that we need to examine.

“When we have persons who are incarcerated, and challenged with their reading, writing and learning skills, we have a problem,” she said.

She also suggested that there was a connection between school expulsions and incarceration.

“We did a study looking at expulsion and suspension. We found that some of them end up interfacing with the criminal justice system. We had one on remand for murder, so we also have to look at how we address or tend to children who may be having behavioural problems.”

Senior research analyst at the CJRPU Kirt Goodridge reviewed and compared crime trends from January 1 to May 31, 2024, and the corresponding period this year. He revealed there were increases in many categories.

While there were 176 major crimes against people for that period in 2024, it increased to 248 this year. For major crimes against property, there were 462 in 2024 and 504 this year.

In terms of firearmrelated crimes, 152 were recorded in the 2024 period, and rose to 221 in 2025. There were 58 robberies in comparison to 113 this year.

“There has been an increase in all crime categories overall, with an increase in major crimes against the person; a 41 per cent increase overall. This has been propelled by a 95 per cent increase in robberies,” Goodridge explained.

“There has been a small increase in crimes against property; a nine per cent increase overall. This has been marked by an increase in commercial burglaries at 45 per cent.”

The senior researcher highlighted the serious gun violence issue facing the country.

“There has been a significant increase in the use of firearms, which has increased by 70 per cent. There has been an increase in firearm-related crimes, which increased by 42 per cent, and this is propelled by a 120 per cent increase in firearmenabled robberies,” he said.

Vehicle theft and praedial larceny were also of concern.

Last year, 30 vehicles were stolen; so far this year, 50 were reported stolen. There were 20 instances of livestock theft this year in comparison to eight from January to May 2024.

“There has been a significant increase in three types of theftrelated crimes. There has been an increase in theft of livestock, which has increased by 150 per cent. There has been an increase in the theft of motor vehicles, which increased by 67 per cent, and an increase in theft from shops or stores, which increased by 52 per cent,” Goodridge said.

Murder statistics this year up to May 31 as set out by the researchers yesterday. (GPs)

He identified risk factors to crime as socio-economic deprivation (poverty, unemployment), community environment, family and social bonds, education, individual behaviour drivers, substances and mental health, and access to weapons.

He suggested that economic upliftment, educational support through school retention programmes, scholarships, family strengthening (parenting workshops, family counselling), youth engagement (sports, arts, mentorship hubs) and substance abuse and mental health intervention through early screening and community treatment services could be used to fight the scourge.

Chief Medical Officer The Most Honourable Dr Kenneth George, officials from the National Peace Programme, the Government Industrial School, Barbados Police Service, Barbados Prison Service, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Ammar Empowerment, Men Empowerment Network Support (MENS) and other stakeholders attended the session. (TG) .

Senior research analyst at the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit, Kirt Goodridge, giving an analysis of the crime trends. (Picture by Shanice King.)

Study: Fear has many not going out

Some people’s growing fears of becoming victims of crime have made them spend more time indoors and less trusting of others, even individuals they are familiar with.

They are also seeking more ways to protect and defend themselves if necessary.

Those were some of the findings from a study entitled The Fear Of Crime In Barbados,

which was presented by master of social work (administration and management) student at the University of the West Indies Cave Hill, Aliya Trotman, who is also an intern at the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU).

“One respondent said they choose to be isolated and not to go anywhere. Another person said they stayed inside more. Another person said they are fearful of wearing jewellery, how they dress and they are suspicious of people’s actions.

“One person said they don’t trust people even if they are the homies, because persons would do anything to anybody for gains.

“And then we saw increased youth disengagement. Young persons are no longer interested in community activities,” Trotman said yesterday during a stakeholders’ meeting hosted by the CJRPU at Baobab Towers, Warrens, St Michael.

The study was conducted to determine if Barbadians feared crime, to understand its impact on the community, to determine the root causes, and gather insight on plausible solutions.

“Thirty-three per cent of persons avoided community events due to fear. One person said nobody in their community comes outside after 6 p.m. There is a decline in trust in neighbours,” Trotman revealed.

“Some common factors included the fact that events were held at night. Some persons said that if the event was not within their community, they would not attend, and some persons avoided events with little supervision, such as fetes.”

The researcher said that people were also getting more protective of themselves and their homes.

“One respondent said, ‘I installed a camera in my home and I am even thinking about getting a gun, which costs $10 000’.

“So, just the thought that they could be victims, they are saying, ‘I want to get a gun’, which could potentially turn them from a victim to a perpetrator,” Trotman said.

Fifty-three per cent of the respondents were female.

Half of those surveyed were employed full-time, 23 per cent self-employed, ten per cent unemployed, ten per cent retired, 3.3 per cent employed parttime and 3.3 per cent students.

They were also asked what they believed was needed to solve the crime situation, with answers ranging from employment to harsher penalties.

“There was a very overwhelming support for preventative measures. One person said, ‘Bring back harsher penalties (for crime) to make people more sensitive. Another person said we must change the mindset of people through education and skills development programmes. While one other person said we should create more jobs, not only more jobs but higher-paying jobs for young persons, giving them something positive to do,” she said.

She added that 83 per cent supported increased police presence and more community programmes for the youth, but only 3.3 per cent called for boot camps. ( TG)

2. SO WHAT HAPPENED TO GIVE ME THE VOTE AND WATCH MUH.

PRIMARILY SEEN ONLY ON THE WORLD STAGE USING SO CALL CLIMATE CHANGE AS A CRUTCH FOR MORE BEGGING AND BORROWING WHILST IN ADDITION TO CONSTANT COMPLAINING ABOUT HOW SMALL ISLANDS LIKE THE 2X3 IS BEING DISADVANTAGED.

OH HOW UNFORTUNATE THAT LOCAL BLACKS FOR THE MOST PART ARE BEING BAMBOOZLED HENCE LEFT TO A SOCIETY ON THE SERIOUS DECLINE AND DECAY ONLY PROPPED UP BY CONSTANT BEGGING AND BORROWING LOCALLY AND INTERNATIONALLY SHENANIGANS.

3. Well, the DPP said there was no case to answer and ordered the charge be withdrawn.

But, some recent news leaked out from the Police Force said there was a deliberate attempt to haul Mr Slinger over the fire and cause him embarrassment

[…]

– he’s been accused of causing bad boy police Everton Gittens to be charged for Blues Knight killing – it’s been described as the straw which broke the camel’s back since Slinger’s pen had been touching quite a few people including Speaker of the House Michael Carrington who should have been charged for keeping that poor man in the wheelchair money for over 14 years and Slinger has also been at the forefront of CLICO’s Leroy Parris exposures.

In fact, Slinger’s arrest and charging was orchestrated by Acting Assistant Superintendent Graham Husbands, one of the Commissioner of Police low-life cops who hail from St Lucy as well.

Husbands was heard telling some young detectives – go and bring his ass here, he like writing bout people, leh he write bout this.

Husbands also went on to curse and swear about Slinger’s consistent writing about “Blues” death and even mentioned that the Nation newshound even started a day by day count-down on Blues’ death since no one had been charged.

He said this had caused a lot of pressure on the police to do something. Husbands even went on to say that it was Slinger who wrote story that police was trying to get Blues’ son who was shot as well to change his original statement.

The police investigations have been described by the DPP as shabby and without merit since close circuit video showed Slinger leaving the restaurant empty-handed. Also an inventory signed by Slinger and three other people showed clearly nothing was removed or stolen from the bar.

Apparently, Slinger was trying to assist Pizza Man Doc who owned the place against a bad tenant and fraud Jacqueline Proverbs who owed thousands of dollars in rent.

People who frequented the De Hype Bar said they have never even seen a long neck brandy or whisky as was reported stolen by her.

Another thing that went against the Nation Tim Slinger was that he is a personal friend of suspended commissioner Darwin Dottin who has been described as one of Husbands’ most hated people.

It all adds up, now we know what depth some police would sink to, to falsify charges.

It’s not the first time and it wouldn’t be the last. You could be next.

4. It all adds up, now we know what depth some police would sink to, to falsify charges.

It’s not the first time and it wouldn’t be the last. You could be next.

Xxxxxxxxxxx

BOSS I KNOW THIS BULLSHIT ONLY TOO WELL IF THEY WANT YOU THEY WILL DO ANYTHING ALONG WITH THEIR CROOKED CRONIES.

I DEALT WITH SEVERAL FRAUDS IN THE “FRAUD” SQUAD ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

CONSTABLE WAITHE, SGT PINDER AND ANOTHER DETECTIVE WHOSE NAME I CAN’T RECALLED BUT WHO LIVED NEXT TO WESTBURY CEMETERY ALL FOR BLACKMAIL AND EXTORTION OF BD$15000 IN COLLUSION WITH A US DRUG DEPORTEE ALIAS JERSEY WHO WAS A FORMER OWNER OF ROLEX THE STRIP CLUB WITH FREDDY THE REGGAE PROMOTER AND THEN LATER WITH DIAMOND FORMER STRIP CLUB WHICH WAS ON ROEBUCK STREET CLOSE TO HARRISON COLLEGE.

“JERSEY” BUSINESS PARTNER AT THAT TIME WAS BOUNTY THE DRUG DEALER FROM ST PHILIP REAL NAME NIGEL PINDER I BELIEVE TO BE A RELATIVE OF SGT PINDER OF THE FRAUD SQUAD.

BOTH CONSTABLE WAITHE AND THE OTHER MALE DETECTIVE USED TO PLAY A LOT OF BASKETBALL WITH “JERSEY” AT UWI AND WERE ON HIS PAYROLL AS BESIDES BEING INVOLVED AS A STRIP CLUB OWNER WAS A MAJOR PUSHER OF COCAINE WORKING WITH A KINGPIN TRINDADIAN IMPORTER NAMED CHANDERBALLY AKA BALLY THAT “JERSEY” LATER SETUP COLLECTING AROUND 50 KILOS OF COCAINE ON A BEACH FROM A YATCH INCOMING FROM TRINIDAD WITH POLICE FROM THE DRUG SQUAD AND ROBBED HIM OF THE STRIP CLUB AND ALL LOCAL INVESTMENT AND GOT HIM DEPORTED AFTER SERVING TIME IN DODDS WITH THE CORRUPT PEOPLE IN HIS CIRCLE.

AKA JERSEY WAS ALSO INVOLVED AS A ROOMMATE AND PARTNER WITH AKA BALLY THE TRINIDADIAN COCAINE IMPORTER ON A LARGE SCALE FORMER STRP CLUB BY CENTRAL BANK THIS WAS AFTER HE AND FREDDY THE PROMOTER ANOTHER DRUG MAN FELL OUT AS BUSINESS PARTNERS AS THEY WERE ALSO FORMER ROOMMATES IN WEST TERRACE IN A RENTED HOUSE WHERE THEY SOLD DRUGS ON A SERIOUS LEVEL.

AKA JERSEY THE US CRIMINAL DRUG DEPORTEE WHO SPENT I BELIEVE MORE THAN 7 YEARS PRISON FOR DRUG TRAFFICKING IN THE USA BEFORE BEING DEPORTED TO THE 2X3 ISLAND. THE STRIP CLUB HE PARTNERED WITH BOUNTY NIGEL PINDER WAS HIS THIRD AND THEY ALL HAD LOCAL POLICE ON THEIR PAYROLL TO DO THEIR ILLEGAL BIDDINGS FOR A PRICE OF COURSE.

THIS WAS MORE THAN A DECADE AGO.

5. Officers move up

MAJOR SHIFTING AND PROMOTIONS have taken place in the Barbados Police Service with three new officers acting as assistant commissioners, including a woman, the second time in the service’s history.

From the beginning of the month some of the changes went into effect. Among the new faces in the top brass are Acting Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs) David Welch in charge of change management and technology services, Barry Hunte in charge of special operations and management services, and Sonia Boyce heading administration and human resources.

The latest assignments were released on Friday and circulated with the service via memoranda.

Hunte and Boyce returned to Barbados last Sunday following an intense 19-week Executive Leaders Programme at the Royton in Coventry, England, a course marketed as preparing the next

Continued on Page 4.

Vacancies after ACPs leave service

generation of leaders.

They both skipped a rank from their substantive superintendent positions to the ACP post, with Boyce being the second woman to reach it, the other being Leila Strickland Boyce who has retired.

The three ACPs who have left the service within a short space of each other, creating the vacancies, are David Griffith, Ian Branch and Sylvester Louis.

The others acting at the ACP level are John Boyce, brother of Deputy Commissioner Erwin Boyce, who will have the command assignment of crime, while his counterpart Jefferson Clarke has responsibility for territorial policing.

Detective Mitchell Roach, who came to national attention during the police’s solving of a number of serious crimes, including illegal guns and drive-by shootings in the latter part of last year, received a double promotion from Station Sergeant to Assistant Superintendent, as did Dwayne Cumberbatch and Peter Barrow.

Likewise Vernon Farrell, another serious crimes investigator, moved up two ranks from Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) to Senior Superintendent, along with two others. In all, five officers rose to that rank and Farrell, former senior investigating officer – Criminal Investigation Department (CID) – will now be the officer in charge of the CID with Superintendent Markeith Gibson-Woodroffe moving from being in charge of the financial crimes division to being deputy divisional officer, CID.

Seven have risen to inspector, nine sergeants to station sergeants (with another expected to take effect next month) and 18 constables to sergeant.

The reassignments, some of which will take effect from this week and the others from July 14, include acting Senior Superintendent Christine Stanford moving from being deputy divisional commander, Bridgetown, to officer in charge of the Bridgetown Division.

Dale Crichlow, the acting Superintendent previously assigned as the Divisional Commander, special operations management services division, will shift to Deputy Divisional Commander, Bridgetown, and Derrick Bobb, another acting Superintendent, will carry the same duties for the north.

Superintendent Anthony Warner, who was in charge of narcotics,will move to being deputy divisional officer in the south; Superintendent Mark White will become officer in charge of research and development, and Senior Superintendent Adrian Broomes will be in charge of special operations management services.

President of the Barbados Police Association Wendley Carter said that the organisation did not get involved in promotions and transfers unless a major issue was brought to its attention, and no such thing had occurred since the release of the information on Friday.

He added that personally, he had no issue with the developments.

When contacted about the impact of the changes, Attorney General Dale Marshall said the posting of police officers and the allocations of day-to-day responsibilities were solely the purview of the Commissioner of Police.

“The Commissioner best knows how he should deploy the men and women under his command, and unlike the last administration, this Government does not get involved in those matters. We have every confidence in the ability of the Commissioner of Police to run the Police Service,” he said.

Up to press time there was no response to calls and messages to the Commissioner from the DAILY NATION. (AC)

6. Why are all these appointment ‘ACTING’?
    Is this some kind of shiite movie?

Have you EVER heard of an ‘acting’ Minister of anything?
    …yet these politicians are nobodies from nowhere, who suddenly arrive large and in charge…. OR EVEN WORSE, a bunch of dishonest lawyers of questionable character.

However CAREER policemen with a LIFETIME of training and experience are appointed to ‘acting’ positions …
    …NO DOUBT SO THAT THE CROOKED POLITICIANS CAN HOLD THREATS OF DEMOTION OVER THEIR HEADS.

…and we wonder why the place is a mess and getting worse….

What a place!!

7. Another drive by shooting in long bay St. Phillip.

8. @Bush Tea

Are politicians responsible for appointing policemen to various positions?

9. ” in custody after nearly three years on the run ”

A man who was the subject of a police wanted bulletin since 2022 is now in custody.

10. “Are politicians responsible for appointing policemen to various positions?”

NO.

11. The acting is solely to dangle the carrot before the rabbits as a potential reward for turning a blind eye to evil. We are in a sad place.

12. Thank you for putting it SO clearly @ Junior.

There is ABSOLUTELY NO SANE REASON for senior ranking police officers to be put into shiite ‘acting’ positions. These are meant to be HIGHLY PROFESSIONAL law enforcement officers who are required to make independent assessments and to take action to enforce the law.

Senior constables and perhaps even sergeants, FOR a maximum of six months, but at the level of very senior officers, it is a damn INSULT – the ONLY objective of which can be to keep their LAW ENFORCEMENT POWERS IN CHECK.

As to your RIDICULOUS question @David re “politicians being responsible for appointing policemen to carious positions”. Unless you are part of the political MAFIA, or dumb as a BB, YOU HAVE to know that politicians are responsible for EVERY BIT OF SHIITE bout here…

They mostly do it via proxies in the form of ‘Boards’, consultants, special advisors, ‘Acting’ Public servants (who get their donkeys transferred if disobedient) by Political lackies appointed to various posts… or via BRIBES like they do with calypsonians.

NOT A BOY dares ‘botch a peg’ without the prior permission from the approver of big works. Don’t you see that NOTHING HAPPENS during the many overseas jaunts..??

Shiite, our politicians even seek to influence what calypsonians sing, …do you think that with such scams outstanding as the STEAL houses, Clear Water, HOPE’s $60 million, and the Radical conspiracy, they will just sit back and allow senior police officers to do their jobs?

You forgot the political mess created during the DLP police promotion fiasco? or this AG breaking the law in appointing deputies?

LOOKA! …don’t mek Busjie ded wid laugh do!!!

What a damned place!

13. @ David

Your question is NOT ridiculous.

What are BPS’ policies on promotions and why are some officers acting in their promoted positions, as outlined by the Protective Service Commission?

It is clear that some persons, mainly the so-called ‘BU intelligentsia,’ are commenting on those policies based on ‘WHAT THEY FEEL,’ or making assumptions, as truth, rather than any fundamental knowledge or understanding of the facts.

Was there any consideration given to a situation where, for example, ACP George Browne retires, but goes on preretirement leave, (which is usually paid), Tom Jones is promoted as Acting ACP, until the rank becomes completely vacant after Browne’s leave has ended?

In other words, after Browne’s leave has ended, he officially goes on retirement…… making the post vacant thereby enabling Jones to be officially promoted to ACP.

According to the article, “the THREE ACPs who have left the service within a short space of each other, CREATING the VACANCIES, are David Griffith, Ian Branch and Sylvester Louis.”

Obviously, Griffith, Branch and Louis would’ve gone on preretirement leave before officially retiring.
    And, you would’ve also read that THREE officers, David Welch, Barry Hunte (both former public relations officers) and Sonis Boyce (who replaces Jefferson Clarke as OIC of Administration and Human Resources), were promoted to Acting ACPs.

14. Vow to speed up CSME

BARBADOS IS ONE of four CARICOM member states which has committed to full freedom of movement from October 1.

CARICOM chairman, Jamaica Prime Minister Andrew Holness, announced this last evening in Montego Bay, Jamaica, at the closing press conference of the 49th Regular Meeting of CARICOM Heads of Government.

The imminent adoption of full free movement of CARICOM nationals by Barbados, Belize, Dominica and St Vincent and the Grenadines, Holness said, was a key part of efforts to accelerate the implementation of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME).

Holness was joined at the press conference by the next CARICOM chair St Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister Dr Terrance Drew, Laurent Saint-Cyr, Member of the Transitional Presidential Council of Haiti, and CARICOM Secretary General Dr Carla Barnett.

The CARICOM chair said that member states agreed that the pace and scope of implementation of CSME “was just too slow, and we agreed that we will do everything in our power to speed up implementation”.

“And I’m pleased to share that we are now moving from applying administratively the Protocol On Enhanced Cooperation, which all member states have signed with now four countries, Barbados, Belize, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica, reiterating their willingness to implement full free movement under the protocol starting October 1, 2025,” Holness said.

He also said that “within the framework of the existing skills regime, heads agreed to add aviation personnel to the approved list of skilled categories”.

Responding to questions from members of the media, Holness said that within the CSME context his hope was that there would be increased trade among CARICOM countries.

“You’re going to see more trading, but . . . you should also take note that trade works when there are other parallel activities. So, there needs to be a freer and more integrated capital market and a freer labour market,” he explained.

Free movement

“And, therefore, the free movement of labour in the region is something that is critical. We now have four countries that have indicated that they are at the stage where they are prepared to start as the first of October . . . and Jamaica is making the commitment that we will do it, but we still have to work out our internal, legal and procedural issues. But what we’re committing to is to put that on a fast track.”

Holness flagged transportation as a key area of improvement needed to boost trade.

In this regard, he said CARICOM Heads agreed to establish a small committee led by the Prime Ministers of Barbados and St Vincent and the Grenadines and the President of Guyana “to review presentations on ferries and report back to Heads”.

“We have made some progress in air transportation and . . . we’re well down the road in developing a plan for a ferry service regionally, which is likely to start in the Eastern Caribbean, but that would also have some cargo capabilities, and the plan is to expand that regionally,” Holness said.

“So, I would say that for the first time, the region is really taking very seriously the diversification of the CSME and putting in place the infrastructure to support intra-regional trade and to support South-South trade.” ( SC)

15. Call for greater support of young men

BARBADOS’ NEWEST SENATOR will continue to advocate for youth development, sports and community engagement.

Roshanna Trim, delivering her first Senator address to a constituency branch since being appointed, said governance was an imperfect endeavour, which was why the administration needed to have the support of the people.

“Government can make policy, but it is up to us to demand a change in behaviour. And oftentimes, if we act right and set a certain standard, we will see changes,” she said.

Trim, speaking last Sunday at the Barbados Labour Party St James North branch meeting at Gordon Greenidge Primary School, Rock Dundo, St James, said individualism and complaints were prevalent in today’s world, but too many people were not looking inwards.

“We complain about young people not being engaged, especially young men. But, how many of us are coming out of our houses to support those youth programmes? How many of us are looking through our community to see the young people that we can mentor and that we can engage? How many of us see young people who may need assistance in terms of direction? Because we take for granted that everyone has a sense of direction and purpose, that every household instils the same values, and the reality is that values are not all we see.

Invest

“And so, if we are talking about young people, and if we are asking the Government to invest in young people, it is not the job of the Members of Parliament alone. And it cannot be the job of the Cabinet alone. It cannot be the job of those who serve on branch executives alone,” she said.

The Government Senator called on more people to join mentorship programmes for young men as well as to support young parents.

“The Ministry of Youth has a mentorship programme. How many of us have called in to invest in that? How many of us are offering support to parents, particularly because most of our households are headed by single women? How many of us are assisting single mothers in terms of being able to engage their children?

“One of the things that I believe in strongly, is that we have to do more mentorship of young men. Outside of coaches, we don’t see as many men coming forward to mentor young men. And we ask ourselves, why are they frustrated and why are they upset?”

The Senator said this was a perfect mix to create crime, which Government had a mandate to respond to, but that crime was not something which “popped up overnight”.

Neglect

“What we are seeing is neglect. And I know that people say, ‘no, it was a while ago’, but you can destroy a house in one day. It takes much longer to rebuild that house, to get it back where it was.

“And so, if you don’t invest in youth programmes, if you don’t invest in sporting organisations, if you don’t invest in schools, if you do not invest in continuing education and access to programmes and access to jobs . . . if you don’t invest in mental health, you raise a bunch of young people, and in this case, a lot of young men who are frustrated and who feel hopeless,” she said.

Trim also supported the relocation of Graydon Sealy Secondary School from Paddock Road to the Ursuline Convent compound, saying the move opened more opportunities for “young people from an often disadvantaged neighbourhood”.

Another one of her passions is parliamentary reform. She said lowering the age of those who can participate in Government to 18 was an important step in supporting youth.

Trim also applauded the Barbados Labour Party administration for its work promoting sports and culture.

“We have to understand that beyond what has been traditional, this party is investing in finding and ensuring that we support young people in new ventures or emerging ventures. So, how can we support young men running around the field every Saturday or Sunday to scrimmage, but then we demonise the semi-professionalisation of football so that young people in the community, young men in the community, could actually participate in sports while also earning a living and being exposed to other things.

“How can we say that we support young people and the youth economy if we are not also supporting entertainers and promoters, if we are upset about the fact that we have fêtes, if we are demonising Crop Over and not investing in it?”

(CA)

16. The horse has bolted.

Carifesta weed ‘off the table’

No recreational smoking for festival

by TRE GREAVES

tregreaves@nationnews.com

NO EXEMPTIONS have been granted for artistes or visitors to use marijuana during CARIFESTA here next month.

Acting chief executive officer at the Barbados Medicinal Cannabis Licensing Authority (BMCLA), Shanika Roberts-Odle, however, has called for an evaluation of the industry’s structure, permitted activities and regulatory process.

“Medicinal cannabis is legal and regulated by the BMCLA. Individuals who are prescribed medicinal cannabis by a licensed medical practitioner can access it through licensed pharmacies. Sacramental use is permitted under the oversight of the Attorney General’s Office. However, recreational use remains illegal,” Roberts-Odle said.

While addressing Head of the Afrikan Heritage Foundation, Paul “Ras Simba Akoma” Rock, who had queries about recreational marijuana during the regional arts festival, Roberts-Odle said no special allowances would be made for the use or importation of the drug.

“Regardless of whether cannabis is permitted for recreational, medicinal, or sacramental use in other jurisdictions, it is illegal to travel across borders with cannabis products. No special dispensations have been granted for CARIFESTA regarding cannabis use. Visitors who wish to travel to Barbados with medicinal cannabis products must obtain prior approval from the Chief Medical Officer.

An ongoing evaluation of the medicinal cannabis industry’s structure was necessary, Roberts-Odle said, adding that “there is room for consideration and adjustment as the industry evolves”.

“Similar to our sister islands, where initial legislation is reviewed after a few years, Barbados must also adapt to ensure the effective organisation and flow of the industry,” she said.

Rock, who has been critical of the Government’s medicinal cannabis pursuits recently, reiterated his concerns about the approach.

He pointed out that Barbados’ stance was different from other CARICOM nations.

“When several of the CARICOM territories expressed interest in getting involved in the medicinal cannabis industry, they put forward a CARICOM task force. A group of people tasked with investigating the place of cannabis in CARICOM. They looked at culture, history and heritage. In its findings, the commission noted that cannabis use was vital to the lives of people in CARICOM. They said the prevailing prohibition laws were draconian,” he recalled.

He said Jamaica made it legal for residents to carry up to two ounces of marijuana, and grow up to five plants per household and that other nations, excluding Barbados, followed.

“All other CARICOM islands that involved themselves in the medicinal cannabis industry followed suit, except Barbados. The most Barbados did was to say if you’re caught with anything under 15 grammes, it would be a ticketable offence,” he said.

“Now, we’re going to embark on CARIFESTA. A lot of these artisans use cannabis to create. A lot of them are going to be coming from territories that have experienced some sort of cannabis liberation.

“Is the Government going to provide some legal leeway for those coming to CARIFESTA to participate in their cannabis? If they are making some sort of regulation for these people coming in, what about the people of Barbados? Why can’t the people of Barbados get any kind of a cannabis ease?”

He also asked why some Barbadians continued to link violence and marijuana usage.

“I would like the authorities to investigate how many people were shot during the St Kitts Music Festival,

where everybody could have five spliffs. What was the level of violence, seeing that Barbados seems intent on correlating cannabis to violent crimes.”

Roberts-Odle maintained that the Authority had a strict stance against under-age drug use, but cautioned against linking the rise in crime solely to cannabis consumption.

“I do not believe cannabis use is the root cause of increased criminal activity in Barbados,” she said.

“Problems often stem from adulterated cannabis products, which may be laced with substances such as cocaine, heroin, or even sprayed with formaldehyde. These combinations can cause severe reactions. Broader societal issues, particularly gang culture, must also be addressed. Cannabis use itself is not the core driver.”

The public’s long-standing perception of cannabis as a harmful substance has overshadowed the more pressing issue of illegal drug accessibility among youth, she said.

“We’ve seen reports highlighting the presence of drugs like MDMA (Molly), amphetamines, and synthetic cannabinoids. We fully support the work of the National Council on Substance Abuse and are committed to expanding efforts to help teachers and parents recognise the signs and dangers of these substances. The real concern lies in how easily children can access more dangerous drugs,” Roberts-Odle said.

17. Ex-cop on ammo charge opts for judge only trial

THE CASE OF former ace detective Ashford “Rap Browne” Jones has started and he has opted for a judge only trial.

It is Barbados’ second judge only trial and the matter has ended up before the same judge who conducted the first, Justice Elwood Watts.

Jones, 78, of Inch Marlow, Christ Church, who pleaded not guilty when he was arraigned in Supreme Court No. 2A yesterday, is accused of possession of 100 rounds of ammunition on October 13, 2019, without a valid licence.

Three police officers, Sergeant Richard Bailey, Sergeant Basil Hinds and Station Sergeant Roger Bullard testified.

In his evidence, Hinds said that in 2019 Jones had licences for three firearms; a .9 mm Glock 17 Pistol, a .177 Anschutz Target rifle and a 7. 62 Paramount Target Rifle.

Questioned by Browne’s attorney, Angella Mitchell-Gittens SC, as to how much ammunition Jones is entitled to have for the rifles, Hinds said he was not allowed to have any, although he was allowed to own 50 rounds for the 9 mm firearm.

“Since the rifles were going to be used at some point in time, Jones would be expected to have ammunition then?” she queried Hinds agreed, but explained that any ammunition for the rifles would be disbursed at the shooting range.

“Is that stated on the firearm licence?”

“No,” Hinds replied.

Forensic firearms examiner, Station Sergeant Roger Bullard, recalled test firing six of the 100 .40 cartridges submitted to him, and concluded they were ammunition.

Questioned about how he received the ammunition, Bullard said he got them separated into 50s, each in a plastic bag.

The case continues next Monday.

18. ” marijuana is legal in Canada in 2025. The recreational use of cannabis was legalized nationwide on October 17, 2018, under the Cannabis Act. This means adults can legally purchase, possess, and consume cannabis in Canada”

“In Barbados, recreational marijuana remains illegal. However, medical and sacramental use of cannabis is permitted. Medical use was legalized in November 2019 with the Medicinal Cannabis Industry Bill, and the Sacramental Cannabis Bill allows registered Rastafarians to use it for spiritual purposes. “

19. @Hants

From the smell of herb that emanates from ‘everywhere’ in Barbados the stuff is legally illegally available.

20. The blogmaster warned you. William and others here labeled the blogmaster as alarmist.

Crime forces AOPT to act

By Sanaa Elcock From August 1, thousands of commuters could be left stranded on the road at night as public service vehicle (PSV) operators pull minibuses and route taxis off several noncommercial routes by 6 p.m. – a result of increasing violent crime.

Chairman of the Alliance Owners of Public Transport (AOPT) and chief spokesman for PSV drivers, Roy Raphael, said the decision was made to implement these measures to help safeguard workers.

“As members of the taxi fraternity and PSV community, we want to say to you that we are very concerned about the crime situation.

“It has not directly affected our community yet but we believe that sooner or later it may come to us,” he said.

“So, effectively, from August 1, our operators that are members of our association will not be picking up persons on the side of the road [after 6 p.m.].”

Raphael was speaking yesterday at the launch of the “Zippy” taxi, the first 100 per cent electric taxi car on the island outside Lucky Horseshoe in Warrens, St Michael.

Raphael explained that a decision to implement these measures came due to the significant rise in crime over the past few months. As of yesterday, there have been eight road fatalities and 28 homicides for the year.

He said the measures would be put in place from August 1 and then were expected to be reviewed within the next three months.

“After 6 p.m., our units are going to be shutting down. [There are] some routes we do not want to go on because of the risks that may be involved.

Commercial routes

“The reason for that is that we are going to put ourselves at risk if we just stop by the wayside and pick up anybody, and the next minute, you do not hear anymore about our operation.

“The commercial routes will remain open. I do not really want to drive fear into persons not able to get home because sometimes it might [be at] the discretion of some members because not all the drivers are members of the alliance.

“For the commercial routes, we will continue until 8 o’clock or 9 o’clock, but for the non-commercial routes, we will try to close off between 6 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.,” he said.

Some of the commercial routes that will remain open are Route 10 (Silver Hill) and Route 11 (Silver Sands).

Raphael added that some operators had already started limiting their hours in certain non-commercial areas such as Route 37 (Checker Hall).

“Some people have already stopped, so it’s not anything new, but we will continue to maintain that because we recognise the crime rate is still high and there’s lots of fear among our members.

“As the police address the crime situation, we’ve got to be mindful that these things could attack our home base at any point, so we ask our members to be careful.”

However, he noted that not all the affected areas had been fully identified and more information was to be released.

Specialised training

“I am hoping that common sense will prevail because at the end of the day, it is not about the dollar. It is about our safety and the safety of our passengers, and that is paramount,” Raphael said.

The alliance, he added, had requested a meeting with the Commissioner of Police to see how they could work “to heighten and increase” security among its members.

“We are going to be mindful who we put into our vehicle. We are going to be communicating directly with the police,” he said.

Other measures include specialised training for drivers and not allowing one or two people to sit in the back of the vehicle.

“We are going to do a facial view when you get into our vehicles so if any incidents happen we can give an account to the police. At the end of the year, if everything goes well, we’re going to do specialised training for our taxi operators and many bus operators so that they can be aware when they see a threat.”

With the pending changes, the chief spokesman is encouraging individuals to use apps such as Pick Up Caribbean

and Bim Ride, as well as ride systems when making arrangements late at night.

“What we will do is encourage you to either use the book-a-ride system, where you can use the app, or you can personalise your taxi by putting a person’s main taxi operators in your phone,” he said.

Source; Nation

21. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

It seems to me that male friendships are much stronger than female friendships.

I am hearing today that 4 men in a car and all dressed in black, including masks and hoodies turned up at a credit union long after closing time and attempted to take the ATM home with them.

I am a woman and if I needed 3 friends to help me clean my house, or to help me make conkies I can’t think of any who would say “yes” to my request.

How is it then that male friendships are so close, so loving, that a man can get 3 friends to come along with him to rob a credit union of its ATM, and perhaps some cash.

I want “good”loyal friends like that, friends who will stand with me for anything and everything.

How does one cultivate such friends?