The public discussion was held last night to address the worrisome crime issue. It has been recorded in this space and elsewhere a many hands making light work approach is a pressing requirement to save our small stable society from the ‘abyss’ it is heading full tilt.

Welcome to the first in a series of national dialogues on issues which matter to Barbadians. This first dialogue will focus on crime in Barbados, looking specifically at some of the causes and suggested solutions. Moderator Rosemary Alleyne will host knowledgeable panelists including Marcia Weekes, Lumumba, Bertie Hinds, Winston Branch, and Dr. Derek Alleyne. Email us at beheard@barbadosopposition.com or whatsApp 233-0860 with any questions or suggestions – Source: YouTube

The Singapore model is office referred to as a benchmark for economic performance as well as the firm grasp it maintains on maintaining law and order. The following is a response from the blogmaster’s AI chatbot to the question ‘what is Singapore’s crime model’.

The Singapore crime model is often cited as a comprehensive and effective approach to crime prevention and control. It is characterized by several key components:

1. Strict Laws and Severe Penalties: Singapore has stringent laws and severe penalties for a wide range of offenses. This includes the death penalty for serious crimes such as drug trafficking and murder, and corporal punishment (caning) for crimes like vandalism, sexual assault, and certain immigration offenses. 2. Efficient Law Enforcement: The Singapore Police Force is well-trained, well-equipped, and highly professional. The law enforcement agencies in Singapore work efficiently and are known for their effectiveness in solving crimes and maintaining public order. 3. Surveillance and Technology: The extensive use of surveillance technology, including CCTV cameras throughout the city-state, plays a crucial role in crime prevention and solving. This pervasive surveillance acts as a deterrent to potential criminals. 4. Community Policing: Singapore emphasizes community policing, involving the public in maintaining safety and order. This includes neighborhood watch groups and various community outreach programs to foster cooperation between the police and the community. 5. Swift and Decisive Justice System: The legal system in Singapore is known for its efficiency, with a relatively quick turnaround time for the prosecution and adjudication of cases. This swift justice serves as a deterrent to criminal behavior. 6. Preventive Measures: Singapore focuses on preventive measures to address the root causes of crime. This includes social policies aimed at education, housing, employment, and welfare to ensure a stable and prosperous society less prone to crime. 7. Public Awareness and Education: There is a strong emphasis on public education about laws and the consequences of breaking them. Campaigns and educational programs are regularly conducted to instill a sense of lawfulness and civic responsibility among citizens. 8. Rehabilitation and Reintegration: For those convicted of crimes, Singapore has rehabilitation programs aimed at reducing recidivism and helping offenders reintegrate into society.

Overall, the Singapore crime model is based on a combination of tough laws, efficient law enforcement, high levels of surveillance, community involvement, and social policies aimed at preventing crime. This multifaceted approach has contributed to Singapore’s reputation as one of the safest countries in the world.

82 responses to “DLP political leader crime forum”

1. The crime problem in Barbados is tied to politics
    Singapore is serious Barbados is not
    Guns coming through ports have become an easy access entering into Barbados
    Can’t forget the unbelievable approach by PM having individuals allegedly involved in criminal activity in attendance at the ceremonial swearing of ministers in Parliament
    Where was respect for people and country shown

2. Why is it that mostly black communities have been infiltrated with guns and mostly the male gender are being killed

3. We are at a stage of crisis where feeding a blame culture does not add value to solving the problem.

4. David this is a crisis in order to fix the problem
    The source of the problem must be recognized confronted and dealt with
    Blame goes with the territory along with critical observations that send a message of knowing who the culprits are

5. All these fora are exercises in futility. How many times have we seen ‘crime and violence’ being deployed as a political weapon to gain power and not as the indicator it obviously is of the failure of economic democracy.

With their pretenses about addressing crime when they themselves are the epitome of the nascent yet overarching crimes which are then interpreted by the rank and file and manifested on the streets as lived reality.

For it has to be the supreme political crime to inform a rhetoric with the proven lies of a book even as the fascist chosen people supply us with yet another one of their oft repeated genocides.

For if religion is to be still the opium of the masses even as the so-called Singapore Model remains front of mind with the contradiction that the much hated ‘communist’ Chinese, at centre want its perfection there, but here with the additional ‘confusion’ that these local political mandarins, on the one hand and in accordance with the racist evangelicals in America despise the ‘communist’ Chinese, but celebrate the fascist inspired Singapore Model as a way of pretending that this is a solution to the crimes they themselves, as petty bourgeoise Bajan political wannabes, mandate.

What a mind-bending cocktail which passes for political action when these lightweights only really want one thing – political power. Once the end point of such a public, political masturbation, arrives this useless enabler can then be properly washed.

And the truth is that they lack the interest, even the courage to engage any of these fundamental issues following the local circumstances which have given rise to them in the first place.

And if these are their limitations what else are they doing but creating a fictional narrative unintended to be advanced until after their elevation to the holy land of political power – another elected dictatorship.

Was it not the archangel of the DLP who first brought this Singaporean Model into the machinations of the local political end users?

If this was so prescient, why has nothing, in this direction, been done to advance the society, to constraint the criminal dictatorial impulses of the local wannabe Lee Kuan Yews.

Beyond a little more interesting political theatre which this boy Ralph Thorne well represents, there is only vacuousness present.

6. B’dos is a FRIENDLY society. Who you don’t know know your family, friends, political associate’s & business colleagues. Someway along the system the legal can & will be aborted. Singapore’s population is over 5M ours is about 300K. Believe we need to create our own model. The main question being how to change a plantation mindset.

7. If there’s one common character trait about both Mottley and Thorne is the lawyer’s uncaring spirit for people in jail or in trouble with the police.

Maybe this is a prerequisite to be a lawyer. But as a politician, the orientation is to appear different.

Never got the impression that either, as lawyer, cared too much about the outcomes of legal matters.

Alternatively, they both seem to have a fervent acceptance about the expected commitment to the system, as officers of the court being their prime concern, not lawyers to anybody.

We estimate that Ralph Thorne will be more like Nayib Bukele, the recently re-elected president of El Salvador.

So we may not have to go as far as Singapore, as pipe-dreams are here repeated, ad infinitum!

Bukele has been very ‘successful’ in Salvadore using methods not dissimilar to Singapore while ignoring causation, outsourcing the causes of crime to its victims the poor and implementing a fascistic militarization of the poor, as he protects the elites and middle classes, his voters.

We see these levels of political criminality being wrought by a Thorne. A ‘thorn’ within the national political shoe.

Btw, Bukele, even got a much larger popular majority than Mottley.

Have weee not noticed, that throughout the world, especially within the so-called democracies, liberalism and fascism are now well conjoined, to the point where there are no easily discernible differences.

Bourgeoise democracy is dead!

8. Because we have to create our own model it does not mean what undergirds the Singapore system cannot be used to benchmark. Good policy, unwavering
    Enforcement etc. we resort to too many excuses.

9. Singapore model would never be embraced no matter how small
    Too much political interference stands in the way

10. How come this lotta talk bout enforcement is never applied to the truncation of the elites?

With the guillotine, of course, en masse!

11. William Skinner Avatar

Why do you and others believe that a police force that is estimated to be short by 300 can successfully combat crime ?
    Imagine in the Attorney General’s office we have somebody called a Crime Prevention Minister.
    Did the addition to the cabinet of a Crime Prevention Minister come on the advice of the Attorney General to the Prime Minister ?
    To quote Doctor the Honorable Anthony Carter : “Politicians making fun at we.”

12. Skinner

Why is a police force necessary at all?

13. Crime at the top leads to crime at the bottom. These little black boys are not at the top.

14. @William

The blogmaster has posted on an under resourced Barbados Police Service on the other blog while critiquing AG Marshall’s statement. It is staged his assertion has not been seriously challenged by the usual talking heads.

15. Good comment Donna. The forces that be know where to be rot of the problem is located but the elite calls the shots here there and everywhere.

16. @ac

The latest is that hardcore dems are denying the DLP had a meeting last night? You lot mean that implosion is be way to go? After all that has transpired this is where your party is stuck?

17. @David with 60 to 0, “many hands make light work” and all the other quotables from the I can do all things PM, citizens are rightly justified in “blaming” the admnistration. It took a man not in parliament to tamp things down, even though they had a dedictated crime minister.
    When you brand yourself as being able to solve problems and your only achievements to date are knocking down buildings, stiffing people what they are owed and partnering with the man you pretty much branded public enemy number one, what else can any reasonable thinking citizen do other than blame you and your crew for every shte that goes wrong.

18. @Redguard

#speechless

19. It is Doctor, the MOST Honourable Anthony Carter.

20. David
    June 21, 2024 at 2:51 pm

The latest is that hardcore dems are denying the DLP had a meeting last night? You lot mean that implosion is be way to go? After all that has transpired this is where your party is stuck?

Is that so
    The flyer never mentioned any party as being associated with the forum

21. Did you read the YouTube caption or are you blindly ignorant.

22. David
    June 21, 2024 at 4:27 pm

Did you read the YouTube caption or are you blindly ignorant.
    Xxxxxx
    Please point me to where in the caption the words DLP was mentioned

23. @ac

Who is the official leader of the opposition I. Barbados? Is it somebody from Mars?

24. A false fag is coming.

It maybe a nuclear related incident, similar to the false flags designed in Syria, then chemical weapons allegedly.

A crime!

Regime under toooo many pressures, from tooo many sides, from which there is no escape. Even as every thing tried is failing.

Maybe an October Surprise?

If one could get away with a daily televised genocide for nearly nine months what else can’t one get away with.

And knowing the exceptionally racist nature of the people who think the world belongs to them, a big crime must be tried to break this Gordian knot.

25. David Avatar
    June 21, 2024 at 6:17 pm

Who is the official leader of the opposition I. Barbados? Is it somebody from Mars?

Xx xx
    David you still did not answer my question in reference to what was placed in the caption
    Not everyone knows it all like you
    Thr caption says coming from the office of the leader of the opposition all well and good but that issue still has not been fully vetted
    However the leader for whatever reason did not placed the party’s name within the caption
    Why not ?
    Maybe you can answer that

26. If you had listened or watched the video in its entirety you would not be asking irrelevant questions.

Carry on smartly.

27. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    We figure that the police is responsible for fighting crime. That’s the need. We are very opened to any suggestions you have.

28. David
    June 21, 2024 at 6:37 pm

If you had listened or watched the video in its entirety you would not be asking irrelevant questions.

Carry on smartly.

No you are stuck

You try to make a point but can’t bring sufficient evidence to prove it
    The problem lies in your question and your quickened pace to attack
    Any how I leave now giving you sufficient time to find the answer
    Yes I watch the forum and it was a mixed crowd of barbadians some have political leanings and some I have heard them said openly they are not associated with any party

29. Skinner

Surely there was a time when the notion of a police force was unknown to mankind, no?

And without a study it may be fair to assume that with these police forces things are going from bad to worse, no?

There was a time when the police carrying guns was almost never seen, that the arms race between sections of the public and police seems destined to make a bad situation no better, yes?

Overall, it seems to this writer that with all of these Western influences the country continues to inherit the baggage which comes with them. That merely mimicking Western responses are destroying us, no?

Might not a radical, non-Western, cultural ethos be central to your One Caribbean discourses?

30. There has been a 17th murder!

31. Skinner

What’s up with the DLP embrollo? Has there been a deal of the parties? Are we waiting for the BLP judge?

32. Call for fund against violence

Rising violent crime, including an increase in young people killed by the gun, is not going away and will require a well-funded national plan with resources similar to the millions of dollars invested in tackling HIVAIDS and the COVID-19 pandemic.

These were among the recommendations on Thursday during a panel discussion at the Courtney Blackman Grand Salle, organised by the Opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP) on the topic National Dialogue on Crime: Causes and Solutions.

Dr Derek Alleyne, a former trade unionist, said gun violence “was really about issues that we are not responding to”.

He said Barbados and the Caribbean were likely to have its people affected by gun violence three times above the average in the world.

“And we treat it as though it is not an issue. It is a police thing. That is something for the police to deal with. It is not a police matter. It has been deemed a health matter. It is not gong to go away,” he said.

Alleyne pointed out that HIV-AIDS was treated as a national issue and millions of dollars were spent on HIVAIDS and COVID-19 and, similarly, the gun crime was a national issue.

“Gun violence has been taking away from us our young men, but also our young women, at an alarming rate. And we treat it as though it is something that is going to disappear. It is not going to disappear unless we have a total national position dealing with it,” he added.

Alleyne reiterated that members of the public should be denied ownership of guns, with the weapons available [only] to the Barbados Police Service and the Barbados Defence Force.

Lumumba Batson, who works with communities, said gun violence was associated with “self-hatred taught from young”.

“If you take away all the guns out of these youths’ hands, they will still find a way to kill each other. Black youths in Barbados . . . they basically don’t have a culture,” he remarked.

Batson noted that the gun violence was among young black Barbadians and he suggested crime and violence was a mindset based on mass media messages of “wuk up, wuk up . . . kill, kill, kill”.

“The music itself is also selfdestructive. The culture taught by other ethnicities is basically what keeps them together. We, as adults, we have to take responsibility. The youths get so because the adults are doing the same thing. We killing each other with words,” he said.

Producer of The Marcia Weekes Show, Marcia Weekes, cited her experience with an adult male who was challenged with literacy skills and could not keep a job.

“We are finding that a lot of our young people are leaving school between 16 and 18 (years) thereabout, quite a number of them, and they can’t read. I think one of the first things that we need to do is address that literacy issue,” Weekes said.

Iston Branch, who has been a broker of harmony among community gangs, said there was segregation in the education system, with Barbadians “always taught to be less than all the time”.

“At Common Entrance, from early ages we see what is real segregation because the ones that learn, they put them one place, and the ones that don’t learn, put them someplace else. So who will excel and who will stop the same place,” Branch said.

Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne said a series of national discussions, similar to Thursday’s, which attracted a reported online audience of 741, would be held islandwide. ( HH)

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    We have not paid too much attention to the clowns. We fool ourselves that people without any ideology or philosophy can ever breed anything other than chaos and drama. What did we really expect ? The main characters are opportunists and that’s what their type do. Unfortunately, there is nothing to replace the thirty who sit in Parliament at this time. Unless we take them to the back of the building and…….
    One thing we learned from our teachings of Comrade Cumberbatch is that being too far ahead of those you seek to lead or influence is just as self defeating of being too far behind.
    We concur that Western civilization is crumbling because it was built on chaos , lies and its major weapon was and remains that of a ruthless predator. However, to defeat Western domination calls for strategic education of our people, who have been the major victims of the system .
    Perhaps to defeat crime, we need to examine what our children are eating; exposing them to meditation ; teaching them their real African/History and perhaps making them spend limited and well planned periods away form their home environments in order to develop respect for others and self-reliance.
    We suspect that the education system will have to be basically discarded and reformed . We seriously believe that by age ten, we should have citizens ready for progressive involvement in national engagement.

34. @Hants

You realize since BU put back the homicide tracker traditional media has restarted quoting the number of murders?

35. The above link has three comments and two of them are negative and directed towards ‘Bull’.

What a people? They would prefer to waylay and attack bystanders and ignore the actual criminals. May the Good Lord help them for they cannot help themselves.

36. Apart from the violence, is there any pattern/common link in these deaths? Is it just criminal vs criminal or have we entered a next phase?

Can we be honest with each other or do we want to continue walking blindly? We already had one rendition which was executed ‘improperly’. We suspect that we already had at least one death in police custody… Correct me if I am wrong.

I am not going to draw any conclusion, I am just going to ask a question… What kind of republic are we heading to?

37. Real change requires more than laws written on a parchment if the crime situation is to be tackled in a meaningful way.

38. The above Nation article, what is it? What does it mean? How could such bits and pieces be so cobbled together to lead a reader by the nose through every word, meaningless at the end?

Was the writer no more than a stenographer for the DLP?

It it possible to have such an infantile ‘journalist’ without any thoughts of his or her own about what happened? How does such trite advance this discussion?

Skinner

Generally agreed.

As you know, this writer’s thinking about these matters does not and can never depart from that which has made us who we are.

Such conceptions cannot start and end in 1492? They can’t rely on the foundation built of sand as constructed within the space between genesis and revelations as many are want to presume.

We must dismiss the lies we tell our children that some intervention from the sky will save us.

As a result we develop a people denuded of that essential and really ancient ingredient which makes us whole.

39. The BU Leader of Opposition is AC
    but we know that David and Bush have a real bad man crush for Ralph

The DLP Leader of the Opposition is Ronnie Yearwood
    Ralph Thorne and rebel support committed a crime and that is a one one nine

“A false fag is coming. It maybe a nuclear related incident, similar to the false flags designed in Syria, then chemical weapons allegedly.”

“Might not a radical, non-Western, cultural ethos be central to your One Caribbean discourses?”

Speaking of false narratives
    The internet is too white and it is time to paint it black, brown, red and yellow
    and kill all the white narrative dead before they can spread
    They call their insidious nonsense populist but we call it racist

40. William Skinner
    June 22, 2024 at 6:37 am
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Brilliant and inspired.

41. Aha! Being too far ahead of those you seek to lead is DEFINITELY as futile as being behind.

So true! You have to meet most people where they are and guide them slowly and steadily forward.

I see no such effort underway.

Centuries of programming do not disappear as if by magic.

42. The absence of ideological discourse is indeed glaringly obvious. And telling!

Well spotted!

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha, @Bush Tea
    @ Bush Tea: thanks.
    We note that rather than say the documents were destroyed in the Archives fire , they are saying damaged. Even that basic truth cannot be spoken.
    They are now saying that digitization was started in 2017, that’s during the” Lost Decade.” Irony of ironies .We are now learning about all the grandiose plans that were to take place at Newton.
    We would have thought that if we really wanted to preserve national records, we would have protected them first so that when the fancy new home is completed, we would have the records to take there.
    Of course preserving the country’s history in a safe environment was not a priority we would prefer to do such wonderful things as burn up $200 million on steal houses.
    Saying that the documents were damaged and refusing to say that they were destroyed , will certainly not bring them back. We all know it was an act of nature and no amount of bogus political PR is needed.
    Let us now make sure that whatever is left at the Archives is properly protected so that we will have records for the new facility at Newton.
    Perhaps an investment in some proper safes for the time being. Just make sure that they are fireproof !
    We are living in a cart before horse bubble.

44. Agree with your comment William. There seems to be some cya statements being made. It will be up to the media (social) to attack the issues.

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You asked :
    “Might not a radical, non-Western, cultural ethos be central to your One Caribbean discourses?”
    Absolutely ! What we are failing to recognise is that we were violently removed from a culture that embodies and is the cradle for such an ethos. That is why wherever the Black people exists the predators murdered , enslaved and marginalised them in order to steal our cultural ethos and then rewrite history and claim it as their own.
    Yet if we pay close attention to certain everyday happenings we would see that whatever they think they have stolen returns mystically : Osaka in tennis; Pele in football; Woods in golf etc.
    You recently mentioned Paul Robinson in Russia. Baldwin ended up in the South of France and the most racist country in the world elected a man named Barak Hosein Obama.
    We can also reference that in the very most ruthless periods of slavery, the same white predator left his own children (babies) in the care of the same race he was dehumanizing. That in itself is clear evidence the being we talk about and the so-called civilization he claims to have built.

46. So far society has tried prays
    Govts have implement policies as well as having some members known within areas where crime activity becomes prevalent bringing solutions
    So far nothing has worked
    A plan of banning all types of guns would be a step forward in creating a no tolerance environment against gun related criminal activity
    Doubt rather any govt would have the intestinal fortitude to table such a law