There is the popular saying that the only sure things in life is death and paying taxes. This is not an accurate statement – two more certainties must be added: successive Barbados governments reluctance to enact and operationalise transparency legislation i.e. integrity and freedom of information AND rationalising State Owned Entities (SOEs).

It is a pity the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) continues to usurp its important obligation to be a dissenting voice on behalf of Barbadians. The same can be said about the many academics educated by taxpayers at UWI and elsewhere. Why aren’t we getting the same torrent of public commentary about the current state of the economy to match what is being generated by immature political infighting at George Street?

Although government and its agent the Central Bank of Barbados continue to self congratulate on the outlook for the Barbados economy, we need to take a breath. Besides the fact Barbados continues to be over-reliant on the tourism sector – there is the caution noted by Fitch Ratings report – Barbados’s SOE Support Has Fallen, but Contingent Liabilities Remain High and supported by a government generated Fiscal Risk Statement 2024 report as it relates to the financial burden on public finances caused by SOEs.

In a recent Letter to the Editor a former minister of government Anthony Wood confirmed what we always knew, SOEs are created by governments to pad employment numbers with political supporters. In the a 2017 Barbados Underground report Sinckler’s spiel, former Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler reminded about government’s intention to rationalise SOEs. It is 2023 and the current Minister of Finance AND Prime Minister Mia Mottley is making the same promise.

The MoF cursorily addressed the problem of the nagging fiscal deficit. The junior pool of reporters present let slip the opportunity to press the MoF on the plan to rationalise state enterprises. The MoF promised Barbadians many moons ago that statutory corporations will be rationalized. Wasn’t a committee headed by Dr. Justin Robinson established to chart a roadmap to execute the Sinckler Plan. A year from the next general elections and the government continues to dither on its implementation. Clearly the project to rationalize statutory corporations is integral to reducing the fiscal deficit. At this late stage in its second term It is difficult to see how this DLP government will aggressively pursue rationalization if it plans to win the general election.

Sinckler’s spiel

An irony to note is the government’s intention to create additional SOEs. In the 2024/2025 Budget, Prime Minister Mottley declared that the government will establish a new SOE, or two, in the form of Business Barbados where the Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property Office (CAIPO) will be split into two divisions: Corporate Registry and Intellectual Property Division.

It is unlikely this Mia Mottley government will have an appetite to aggressively rationalise SOEs to reduce the huge annual transfers and subsidies allocations – not with the head of the largest trade union Toni Moore nestled in its bosom.

70 responses to “SOS: SOEs, DLP”

1. A loud steupe was heard by anyone within earshot of this blogmaster.

PAC to probe steel houses

The cost overruns flagged by the Auditor General in relation to the construction of Chinese steel houses will be the first issue under the microscope of the incoming Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

This was stated yesterday by Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne, who will chair the PAC, which has not functioned for the last two years.

Thorne said the investigations would delve deeper into the operations of the Ministry of Housing, stressing that an account must be given of how the public funds have been handled.

“We propose to make a large inquiry into the Ministry of Housing and this includes the issue of the steel houses. It is a case of obvious wastage of taxpayers’ money and I’m being mild when I put it that way. It is egregious, it is staring the public in their faces and that is why I want to give highest priority to it,” Thorne explained.

The Opposition Leader said there were other matters on his radar for probing, noting that these would be made public after the first meeting of the PAC.

Won’t disclose everything

“I would not wish to disclose the other areas that we will be investigating at this point. I want to have that first meeting with the committee because I do not want to get ahead of myself and disclose everything to the media before I have discussed things with the committee. So, I want to defer to the committee which we are putting together now,” Thorne stated.

The issue of the steel houses received national attention following the laying of a special report by the Auditor General last month. The report stated that as of February 2024, the timeline for completion of the project was significantly exceeded. In addition, based on the information provided by the Ministry of Housing dated October 26, 2023, only 22 houses were completed.

Major overruns

The report continued: “However, in November 2023, it was anticipated that on completion, the project would have incurred major cost overruns with the estimated budget increasing by $23.64 million.”

“The factors which negatively impacted the project, such as the unavailability of suitable labour and the challenges with providing the requisite sites and foundations, could have been mitigated through more efficient planning. Necessary processes such as due diligence and financial and technical assessment should have been carried out. Also, a more achievable deadline should have been set given the necessary prerequisites,” the Auditor General said.

Thorne said discussions were held as recently as Wednesday regarding when the PAC would be convened. He said they were also still working out logistical issues such as the location for such sessions.

“I am actually discussing the timing of the first meeting with the administration of Parliament. We are awaiting installation into our new Opposition offices. So, all I can say to you is that the Public Accounts Committee will be assembled very soon,” Thorne said.

The PAC will comprise 13 members, six from the Lower House and seven from the Senate. Clerk of Parliament Pedro Eastmond explained that the Senate was expected to choose its members by the next sitting. According to Parliament’s Order Paper dated March 28, 2024, the six members of the House would include Thorne, Kerrie Symmonds, Marsha Caddle, Edmund Hinkson, Colin Jordan and Corey Lane.

Thorne said the intention was to keep the tradition of public hearings.

“You do closed doors when the information is sensitive, but I prefer transparency and open hearings. If it is a matter that is sensitive and could cause embarrassment, a matter that is not proved, a matter where evidence is not conclusive, you would then protect the person’s best interests and do it in chambers so to speak. So, it comes down to our judgement as to when we should do open hearings or when we should do private hearings,” he said. ( CLM)

2. Public Inquiries are circuses and not indictments where Governments will review findings for lessons learned in order to mitigate culpability but also reserve the right to ignore findings and recommendations in final report as they wish. It is just a tool to kick issues into the long grass with drawn out proceedings that take several months or years. Eventual outcome will be the blame is diverted away from the PM and a sacrificial lamb will take the fall.

It is a given that all areas of Government can be improved and there will never be perfection so moaning about problems and raising issues are a life long purpose and mission in order to make things good, better and best as a daily effort and process.

Steel Houses has become a nagging over repeated soundbite which is annoying and will make me snap when repeated for the 1,000th time.

3. “EVERYTHING” YOU SEE AROUND YOU IS A GIANT CON”

“There was a “DEATH” and no one attended the funeral because no one knew he had died – it was the “DEATH OF COMMONSENSE”…

Mankind is befuddled by self-deception – where #MASS MEDIA” (MASS EDUCATION DEVILS IN ACTION) use #Hollywood_et_al as the “MAGIC WAND” in the hand of the “DRAGON” to destroy “CLOSE REASONING” & “LOGICAL THINKING”!!!

In 2024, the world has been fed a “BASTARDIZED DIET” of “WAR THEATRICS” where innocent children are “SLAUGHTERED” by “SMART WEAPONS” with their bodies lying strewn in pieces amidst the rubble and dilapidation of “UNJUST WAR” with only the poor victims “DYING” and the “GUILTY BASTERDS” getting off scotch free!!!

“AMERIKKKA” HAS BEEN AT WAR 225 OUT OF ITS 243 YEAR HISTORY (SINCE 1776)”!!!

She is the “GREATEST WARMONGER” the world has ever seen – outstripping the “ROMAN EMPIRE”!!!

Ideas were once peaceful but men have been able to “WEAPONIZE” every facet of human existence – where “HONEST PURITANICAL SPEECH” can be subject to “LAWFARE” and given the fact that “HISTORY IS BENT ON VIOLENCE” – nothing today escapes pre-programmed annihilation!!!

#ArtificialIntelligence is now the “FINAL FRONTIER” that intends to make human existence “OBSOLETE” – relegating human endeavour to the trash heap of history…

So while we fight on every front using “BIG TECH” – the lost of “CONSCIOUS HUMANITY” dwindles into the ether, while the “ROBOTIZATION” of #Person2Person relations bites the dust with tragic reverberations!!!

THE FINAL PILLAR TO FALL WILL BE YOUR MONEY – FOR WHAT USE WILL IT HAVE ANYWAY WHEN SUPPOSED AI IS NOW THE #god OF THE AGE???

4. HAC ( Hants accounts committee )

150 plots of land.

150 foundations

150 factory manufactured steel frame houses imported from China.

Total cost between 29 million and 68 million inclusive of commissions and miscellaneous expenses.

Hants fee for writing this on BU is 7.2 percent.

5. David, my ‘steupse’ was such that I almost uprooted and swallowed my molar teeth. This BLP administration has been borrowing, spending and writing off money ‘willy nilly,’ with explanation. Thorne, as political leader, cannot solicit support from all the members of his party’s executive council, expects as chairman, to convene PAC meetings compising members of the party of which he was RECENTLY a member, and, under circumstances where (a) prior to Atherley, the Committee has a history of being unable to form a quorum, and (b) the BLP has shown a blatant disregard for transparency, accountability and freedom of information, especially relating to public finances, makes one wonder if the BLP Committee members would assist Thorne or present difficulties for him in investigating themselves.

6. GRECO-ROMAN PHILOSOPHY: BLACK FOLKS ACCORDING TO THE #MYTHOLOGICAL_gods WERE BORN TO BE EITHER SLAVES OR LEADERS – 90%+ #Slaves – THE OTHERS*: #SellOuts

#GrecianScholastics were the channels through which “KNOWLEDGE” came that would become the “SCHEMATIC TEMPLATE” for the “TRANSATLANTIC SLAVE PERIOD” – where today, “POSTMODERN SLAVERY” has been relegated to the “MIND” given the “DOMICILITY OF THE THOUGHT PROCESS”…

#NietzscheanEpistemology opined that #ManIs_god and that there is #NO_SUPREME_BEING above him – hence, we are the “FULL MEASURE” of all that is (LIVING & DYING BY OUR OWN CHOICES)!!!

#AristotleanPhilosophy became the foundation of “METAPHYSICS” & the ethereal world of ethics, logic, criticism, rhetoric et al… This is “FOUNDATIONAL EDIFICE” from which #SecularEducation arose – a “BOTTOMLESS PIT” of moronic discipleship!!!

#TranscendentalistDivinity was the “FUSION” of both Greek & Roman literature which saw that the individual is inherently good – capable of his own divine experiences through the contemplation of natural phenomena that augmented self-discovery – giving us the right to live according to our own intuition…

#PresocraticCosmology were the “ANCIENT MYTHOLOGIZERS” – but today are the “GENIUSES OF SCIENCE”, who still have not been able to “ASCEND TO THE HEIGHTS OF MOUNT OLYMPUS” – with #ElonMusk ET AL thinking they can make it to a “MARS COLONY” (WHAT COSMIC DECEPTION)!!!

#PostmodernHumanists are the “BULK” of the world’s populace (in & out of the “MADNESS” of #ReLIEgion) – who see man as the sum of all things, and the parallelogram of “NOTHING” – a quadrilateral ensign of opposite & equal angles and the bisected diagonals of one another…

STRANGE HOW THE PAST HAS SHAPED THE PRESENT & FUTURE!!!

7. 29 million divided by 150 (pre fab steel frame houses ) = 193,333

Land ?

Foundations ?

8. “TRUE & EXACT HISTORY OF THE ISLAND OF BARBADOS”:-

First published in 1657, Richard Ligon’s account details the experiences of a royalist who escaped to Barbados following the English Civil War…

“BLESSED ARE THOSE WHO READ”…

Old books are harbingers, “ROADMAPS” & satellite guided technology that show “BAJAN” people how they got here – (THE PLACE WHERE THEY ARE TODAY) and why “NOTHING” will truly change as the late Dr Myles Munroe suggest that the people are on a “RINSE & REPEAT CYCLE” until they rise up and take matters into their own hands!!!

An excerpt from the #Introduction of Richard Ligon’s book states:

“Having lost much of his wealth during the English civil wars, Richard Ligon (c. 1585-1662) left England in the summer of 1647 to regain his fortune on the small Caribbean island of Barbados, one of the most valuable colonies in the Empire. Ligon, a patron to the Royalist exile Thomas Modyford, spent three years on the island working as a plantation manager before returning in 1650 following a severe bout with yellow fever…”

“By then, the white European population on the island had increased to about 30,000, compared with 12,800 Black Africans, as many planters had begun to switch from cultivating cotton and tobacco to sugarcane for export, substantially increasing labour demands…”

“Between 1640 and 1660, English Caribbean planters had purchased about 55,000 African captives whom they claimed as slaves, and the trend only accelerated. Although most of the True & Exact History of the Island of Barbados (1657) is devoted to the development of the island’s booming sugar economy, Ligon demonstrates a keen interest in the material and religious lives of the local enslaved population as well…”

READ FOR YOUR OWN EDIFICATION:

https://slaverylawpower.org/richard-ligon-history-barbados/

9. Transparency, integrity legal-ease and freedom of information.

You must have been living under a rock.

Indeed, the reverse of all these are being solidified worldwide, as a function of or a corollary to the billionaires and soon to be trillionaires created by financialization as the end stage of capitalism.

In short, the rich people don’t want nuh rasssoul body cussing them.

Can’t you see that students in America, for example, cannot even criticize the genocide in Palestine.

That American and Bajan media were long directed to a misinformation ethos.

That leading university presidents are expected to support a genocidaire state and may lose their jobs if they appear less than supportive or be the sacrificial lambs if they students separately organize against genocide.

Universities, as leading lights of so-called enlightenment ideals, must now support genocide or at least remain silent in the face of barbarities.

We highly doubt that the whore mentality on the hill will be suggesting anything different as they minority Jewry would expect a certain level of obeisance to wickedness.

Even as reparations are being beggard from these same people who ran the Transatlantic Slave Trade.

Of course, Julian Assange is still rotting in Belmarsh Prison for telling us the truth. Significant truths which leading governments hid from us, as is the norm, as if we’re all wards.

When are you ever going to reach the point where a meeting could be set up between all that afflicts you and god, with Bushie as his right hand man and vicegerente?

10. Should be:

“This BLP administration has been borrowing, spending and writing off money ‘willy nilly,’ WITHOUT explanation.”

11. An example of a sham inquiry was UK’s “Chilcot Inquiry” into War in Iraq.
    Uncle Sam wanted assurances that they would not be implicated. such as Bush and Blair agreeing to go to war in Camp David, and his subsequent lies in Parliament and a knocked up manufactured dossier with false evidence of WMD presented as unwarranted certainty that was used as proof justification by US and UK.
    Gordon Brown complied and promised they would not be implicated in toothless inquiry. The reasons for the war and investigation into “legality/illegality” of the war was also outside of it’s remit.
    Tony Blair had a scripted speech that he did not know that his lies weren’t true and he “truly” believed the false evidence he provided.
    The inquiry was limited to “lessons learned” on how to improve their warfare,
    such as bigger budgets and extra spending etc.

Nowadays US and UK will freely admit their bias and prejudice, corrupted lies and war shenanigans and pressure to get allies onboard to rig votes in UN instead of hiding it.

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

Post all the maffematics you want. But please don’t embarass the minister by statements he made.
    When it comes to project planning, estimation and execution….well, we ain’t dere yet. Wha um is de trinis say….any one eyed man is king in a blind man land.
    And de maffs is wrong. Remember dey had a wash of duplexes (semis) and quads, so there is no match between lots, foundation and total units.
    But we trying hard.

13. The government couldn’t even store the prefabs at a secure location to prevent stealing. Who cares. Mia cares.

14. @ Pacha asked..
    “When are you ever going to reach the point where a meeting could be set up between all that afflicts you and god, with Bushie as his right hand man and vicegerente?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    What de Hell!!!!

…or he could just meet with the bushman then…??

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

Steupse @ David
    They had security guards.
    But my guess is no one had a clue how the various structures had been containerized.
    So they had to open nuff to find what they wanted. This exposed elements they were not using, were then left outside, and so some(?) get teefed.
    Probably more profitable than teefing carrots or yams.
    Perfectly predictable human behaviour anywhere.

16. The scam is working as it should.
    The steal houses (nothing more than a brilliant scam) will be produced and then you will hear of an additional $50M overrun.

It is quite possible that this scam will give us steal houses costing $1M each.

Cut out the long talk

17. This BLP administration has been financing its scams by borrowing, spending and writing off money ‘willy nilly,’ WITHOUT explanation.”

“Willy nilly’ = brilliantly

18. @ NO
    The term is ‘spectacular Incompetence’.

Do-shiite has a long history of stupid decisions costing taxpayers millions, and then being moved on to new, and more senior areas in which to be wasteful.

-Recall those ill-conceived stickers on number plates? …lotta shiite!!
    -The Vehicle tag nonsense with large detector structors that any offender can OBVIOUSLY avoid? (that is – if the shiite was working in the first place) ….more shiite!!
    -messing up the west coast highway for over a year… real shiite!!
    – the steal houses …. more East/west shiite
    – so now he has been moved to planning bigger and more expensive areas to %$#^ up.

This is ALMOST as funny as our bringing back the architect of the cruise ship fiasco from the first WCC to ru(i)n the upcoming fiasco….

What a place!!
    What a curse!!

19. @NO

SMBH

20. DEBT BURDEN
    PM, UN DEPUTY CHIEF HIGHLIGHT SIDS DEBT RESTRUCTURING CHALLENGES

Prime Minister Mia Mottley and United Nations Deputy Secretary- General Amina Mohammed have raised concerns about the difficulties Small Island Developing States (SIDS) face in restructuring debt while providing essential services.
    During a ‘Fireside Chat’ at the Global Inclusive Growth Summit, held in Washington to coincide with the annual IMF-World Bank Spring meetings, Mottley said international financing for SIDS’ sustainable development is primarily used for climate change adaptation rather than social programmes to reduce poverty.
    “Climate is part of the SDGs [Sustainable Development Goals]…we may save the planet and lose the people,” she said.
    Mottley explained that SIDS are forced to choose between climate resilience projects like coastal defence and funding for schools, hospitals and crime prevention initiatives within a short timeframe: “If at the same time I am trying to build out my coastal infrastructure to stop aquifers from being spoilt forever because of saltwater intrusion, I can’t spend money on building schools or building hospitals, and all of this within a timeframe of at most a decade, how am I going to make it?”
    The prime minister argued that the fiscal constraints prevent longterm social investments that benefit future generations. “You are not even giving the kids a chance to grow up and help pay for the school that [was] built, or for the hospital that has been built.”
    Deputy Secretary-General Mohammed, who chairs the United Nations Sustainable Development Group, agreed the climate and development agendas are “in crisis”: “Climate action is development; if we look at the 17 goals we have, at the very centre of it are these three dimensions that we have, one of them is the environment.”
    She warned that lack of funding for SIDS can inadvertently drive people toward criminal activities, pointing to her experience with the militant Islamic group Boko Haram’s rise in northern Nigeria.
    “I went to school in the same place we had Boko Haram,” she said.
    “If we had put the investments at scale, in time, we would not have had this disaffection where there is a better job working for ISIS or ISIL than for building your nations.”
    Both leaders criticised the international community’s “doublespeak” and lack of unified support for the interlinked climate and development challenges facing SIDS.
    They agreed that current frameworks are failing to provide SIDS with the fiscal flexibility required to invest in their sustainable development across social, economic and environmental priorities.
    “The financial markets are premised on short-term money and short-term gain,” Mottley declared, contrasting this with the longterm investments needed in areas like education, healthcare and crime prevention.
    Mohammed echoed these concerns about insufficient and inflexible financing for SIDS. “The frustration is real because the instruments are there, the political will if powered can do the things we need to do,” she said.
    Their comments highlighted the unique vulnerabilities faced by SIDS due to their small size, remoteness, limited resources and exposure to economic and environmental shocks beyond their shores.
    Mottley questioned why statistical “idyllic” indicators for Caribbean nations mask underlying socioeconomic challenges.
    “The Caribbean for example has one of the highest homicide rates per capita in the world, but nobody studies that because of our idyllic appearance.
    “Guns don’t talk and guns don’t walk, so how do you stop people from using guns? You got to give them education and you got to give them opportunity,” the PM declared.
    She and the UN deputy secretary-general called for a more holistic and coordinated global approach that provides SIDS with the necessary fiscal space and concessions to make progress across the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals.
    “The climate agenda is not different from the development agenda that is in crisis,” said Mohammed. “Both are in crisis right now. As Mia just said, you can save the planet and then there are no people on it.
    You have to do the two together…. Right now we are losing our moral compass on several grounds.”
    Mottley said: “I think what you are hearing from the DSG is that there is an utter frustration with the doublespeak, and the lack of capacity to see, hear, and feel people.”
    (SB)

Source: BT

21. The government couldn’t even store the prefabs at a secure location to prevent stealing. Who cares. Mia cares.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS REMINDS ME OF PARADISE BLACK ROCK PROPERTY WHEN IT WAS ABANDONED AND A GUYANESE MAN GOING BY THE NICKNAME BAJE.

HE AND HIS WIFE HAD A FOOD AND DRINKS SHOP WHICH LED FROM A SIDE ROAD BACK OF LUMBER COMPANY AND THE STADIUM.

GUYANESE BAJE AND HIS FELLOW CRONIES WOULD STEAL UNLIMITED AMOUNTS OF LUMBER AND OTHER ITEMS FROM PARADISE ABANDONED PROJECT AND STORE IN THE BACKYARD OF HIS SHOP.

HE WOULD THEN RESELL AT DISCOUNTED PRICES TO OTHER LOCAL GUYANESE CARPENTERS MOSTLY ILLEGAL ON THE 2X3 ISLAND OR USE ON SOME OF HIS CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS FOR CUSTOMERS.

THIS RACKET WENT ON FOR MORE THAN A YEAR WHEN HE BOASTED TO ME AND SHOWED ME SOME OF THE LUMBER.

EVEN OFFERED TO TAKE ME ONSITE ON THE BEACH PROPERTY TO SEE HOW THEY DID IT. I DECLINED.

HOWEVER YOU CAN BE ASSURED THEY MADE BIG BIG MONEY OFF THIS RACKET.

THE THING IS I MET SEVERAL LOCAL POLICE INCLUDING HIGH RANK THAT FREQUENTED THE SHOP AND WORKED IN COLLUSION WITH HIM AND BEING COMPENSATED. THE REASON WHY HE WAS NEVER CAUGHT AND COULD FEEL COMFORTABLE BRAGGING ABOUT IT TO ME OR ANYONE HE CHOOSE TO CONFIDE IN.

22. It’s a green world
    (Cash rules everything around me) take you on a natural joint
    (C.R.E.A.M. get the money)
    (Dollar dollar bill, y’all) here we, here we go, check this shit, yo

If you say ‘He who pays the piper’ or ‘He who pays the piper calls the tune’, you mean that the person who provides the money for something decides what will be done, or has a right to decide what will be done.

It’s not a black world
    It’s a white world
    Money runs tings

23. Little England to pay reparations to take possession of the Drax’s Hall plantation.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2024/apr/20/tory-mp-from-slave-owning-family-set-to-gain-3m-from-sale-of-former-plantation

24. In Barbados, the bar appears to have been firmly set. A prime minister is no longer judged on their competency and their ability to raise the standards and quality of life for their citizens and the infrastructure of their country. That model is now obsolete and has been replaced solely with our prime minister’s international recognition and popularity.

No wonder Hal and Waru have given up the ghost!

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2024/apr/20/thousands-protest-canary-islands-unsustainable-tourism

25. @ Hants

I think your spend by Hope of the funds given grossly ovsrstated in terms of land value. I would bet the land was “acquired” by central government and then “vested” in The Hope projected. In bajan terms central government buy the land and give Hope and them never pay a blind cent for the land. So back that land purchase value out your numbers as that land is not in the money spent at all! So that probably gone in ” miscellaneous expenses” and things like professional fees and consultant fees or some other big mout line entry.

26. Now as for them SOEs both the Dems and Bs want a cut ass for how they “managed” those entities. Them pump money in them with no audited financials to show in support of their financial position. They were treated like an entitiled child that goes to mummy and says”Iwant $20 and is given with not a question asked.

Now I aint done yet. As for that foolish thing called Estimates we have to listen to every year, i feel them figures get take out a bingo machine. How de ass you could come and tell me in March or whenever and present a budget with a billion dollar deficit, then come back and say you going need another $400 MILLION to support the SOEs?

Bare foolishness all round by all!

27. Bunker notes
    I have seen what would be considered as ‘very intelligent’ comments. Sadly, I must express my extreme disappointment with those who make these comments. Why?

These ‘bloggers’ continue to discuss fraud and scams as if these misdeeds were legitimate government business. By providing reasonable explanations and refusing to ‘bell these corrupt cats’, these ‘bloggers’ by aiding and justifying fraud are just a guilty as the elected crooks.

Why do these good men and women continue to participate in this charade? Why are their words devoid of courage? Why do they refuse to take up bells and hang them around the necks of these fat cats.

These corrupt cats do not retreat. They have no fear. They boldly and openly move from one scam to the next. And good men cower behind nice phrases.

It is only when the fearful becomes bold will these ‘scamsters’ become fearful and mend their ugly ways.

28. @John A

Then add AG reports that are not attended to by PAC.

29. I had a restless nights. The phrase ‘world popularity’ rode me as if I was a horse in a rodeo?

What is it?
    How do you measure it?
    How do you remove the OR and puff pieces generated by the fan club?
    Should I count J2 and (not) enuff votes?
    There was a time when some were equating her with Macron, has she surpassed him?
    Is she now in the realm of Xi and Biden?
    Is she punching above her weight (no pun intended).

But this ‘world popular’ description is not surprising. My countrymen has a penchant for claiming to be world beaters at everything. Soon we will move from ‘world popularity’ to ‘world class’ to ‘world leader’

I am here waiting for one of them to claim she is Miss World.

The honorable EWB asked about ‘mirror image’. He was way ahead of his time, these jokers have not yet looked in the mirror.

30. @TLSN
    Are you surprise that an ass backward government is paying out money instead of receiving some?

Will you be surprise that when all the talk of reparation is done, the politicians and their cronies make money, Drax and company make money and the poor Islanders in the street asking ‘What happened? It was not supposed to end like this’

Don’t watch the politicians lips. Keep your eyes on their hands and see if you can guess which of the three cards is the ace of hearts 💜; three-card monte in your ass.

31. The Politician of the Decade stepped up to the plate after the Politics of the Lost Decade

Something like a phenomenon
    1. a fact or situation that is observed to exist or happen, especially one whose cause or explanation is in question.
    2. a remarkable person or thing.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BushT
    You have a good memory.
    Up to the last (old but most recent)BTMI report, the GoB was still servicing a $14M loan for that last cruise ship rental.
    Maybe it was traded for Bonds? For Scotiabank the loan holder was seeming positive on Bonds and I’m unsure why.

@JohnA
    The strategy has always been to overstate revenue (where applicable) and understate expenses. By the time year end approaches, due to circumstances beyond the entity’s control, the cost savings projected could not be implemented. But are sure to be in the forthcoming year.
    Again, this happens everywhere. Vote out that group, and be assured the incoming group will be as poor at estimating and implementing as the ones who came before.
    It isn’t THEIR money?

If Ralphie actually has gonads(and didn’t benefit), the next PAC will be CBL?

33. @ David.

It is truly a facade. When the Bs were in oppsotion they heavily criticised, shall we say the cost overruns of the SOEs. The said BS are now in power well over 5 years and what has changed? Not one RH. Further to change in 45 days of a budget they came to us and said ” oh by the way we need another $400 million for the SOEs.” What sort of budget wunna had to begin with, that in 45 days you had a 40% overrun on a budget delivered 45 days before?

What this tells me is the MOF came to us WITHOUT full knowledge of the financial needs of the SOEs. So either the chairman of these boards delivered no information to the MOF, or old outdated information. Leads me to wonder if these boards even require a projected budget with cashflow projections from the management of these entities.

You want the biggest joke of all? The Chairman of one of the largest embarrassments to the PM was or is an accoutant! One can only Hope the truth behind much of this mismanagement is shared with the public after the PM looks into the matter.

Wait speaking of coming back to we after looking into something, anybody know what happen to the Savvy Saga?

34. @John A

Re: Savvy according to MoT Gooding-Edghill in his report in the well of parliament that matter is in court.

35. Get back behind the crease Avatar
    Get back behind the crease

@John A
    It appears you are crossing the crease and coming down the wicket. Let me help you with a few get out of jail phrases

‘I was hacked’
    ‘David! Looks like we have more than one John A’

36. What call a lawyer quick! Lol

37. boss lady on de wirl stage.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/wtCEYEfnfz8

38. https://youtu.be/cN-jYBOdN5o?si=ULWV44dAh-jtv3oJ

There are many, many, many example. This is apt of where we’ve arrived.

There shall be no return to the presumed position ante.

39. A discussion ensued on another thread relative to PM Mottley’s frequent travelling, and NOT her COMPETENCY as Prime Minister.

Various reasons were presented to explain why she was accumulating “frequent flier miles,” including her “international recognition and popularity.”

Obviously, frequent travelling and judging Mottley’s performance as PM, are TWO SEPARATE and DISTINCT ISSUES.
    And, as such, we need to ADDRESS THEM SEPARATELY.

For someone to JUXTAPOSE both issues to suggest ‘Barbadians no longer judge the Prime Minister on her competency and ability to raise the standards and quality of life for their citizens and the infrastructure of their country, but solely on her international recognition and popularity’……

…… to purposely mislead BU, is an act that can only be described as deceitful and irresponsible.

Perhaps he should ‘give up the ghost’ as well.

40. We domestic Bajans are all stupid, you know. In 2024, we don’t even know how HIV is transmitted.
    🤣🤣🤣🤣

Meanwhile, up in Not So Jolly Ole England, Rishi Sunak is set to bar the issuance of sick certificates by GPs and non-tariff barriers due to Brexit are set to drive prices even higher, despite Boris Johnson’s and Jacob Reese Mogg’s assurances to the contrary.

So….the English are lazy AND stupid in the minds of their political servants. Well, in all fairness they WERE proven stupid, when they fell for the Brexit lies.

41. MR BLOGMASTER

YOU CAN KEEP TRYING TO DELETE THE AND SUPPRESS THE TRUTH.

BLACKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND STILL LIVE IN IGNORANCE AND BACKWARD THINKING SO DO MOST BLACK AMERICANS.

THE WHITE MAN MADE US FEEL SO SUPERIOR TO OTHER BLACKS ESPECIALLY AFRICANS.

HOWEVER NOW IN TANZANIA 3 MONTHS I HAVE NEVER SEEN A POTHOLE ON.MAJOR ROADS, CLEAN STREETS AND COST OF LIVING 80 TO 90 PERCENT BELOW ANYWHERE I HAVE LIVED OR VISIT.

A PEOPLE WHO ARE SO HUMBLE IT IS MIND BLOWING. I HAVE SEEN WAY WAY MORE DEVELOPMENT THAN ANYWHERE ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

FINALLY WE NEED TO TAKE OUR HEADS OUT OF OUR COLLECTIVE ASSES AND THE WHITEMAN BRAINWASHING OF OVER 500 YEARS.

42. The blogmaster of a 2×3 blog encourages you to go and post on US blogs in a 100×200 country.

https://www.instagram.com/reel/C3uWPwtuh1B/

43. The blogmaster of a 2×3 blog encourages you to go and post on US blogs in a 100×200 country

Xxxxxx

I DO SO 200 PERCENT AND ALWAYS CALL A SPADE A SPADE .

I HAVE NEVER LIVED IN SAN FRANCISCO. HOWEVER SAN DIEGO YES.

CALIFORNIA AS A STATE WOULD BE NO 5 ECONOMY IN THE WORLD AND OVER 40 MILLION PEOPLE.

HOWEVER MY FEEDBACK WAS ABOUT TANZANIA AFRICA. YOU CAN CONTINUE TO PLAY THE GAMES YOU GUYS LOVE TO DO ON THE 2X3 ISLAND AND NOT FACE REALITY