A few weeks ago a big news story was telecommunications company DIGICEL locating a mobile cell tower smack dab i the community of Olive Lodge Road without required approvals- see Digicel cell tower rejected by residents. When the dust settled the incident exposed how these telecommunications companies operate if left unchallenged. Kudos to the residents of Olive Lodge Road.

There is another practice telecommunications companies have been gouging Barbadians for many years. FLOW, the other one, will suddenly discontinue or change a mobile plan and there is nothing the consumer can do about it. We are told pricing for mobile products is not regulated by the Fair Trading Commission (FTC), the regulator.

An example – your mobile plan has rollover minutes feature. FLOW removes the feature and the subscriber is left with a ‘watered down feature’ and has to switch to a new plan to satisfy usage habit. A new plan is ALWAYS more expensive than the original plan.

Another example – an investigation needs to be done how FLOW handles requests for rebates for out of service condition. The bogmaster received a complaint from an upset consumer, however, in order to protect the customer is unable to provide details.

To a lowly blogmaster the correct approach is for FLOW to ‘grandfather’ the mobile plan or offer the subscriber an incentive to switch to another plan – it is the the professional and ethical thing to do. We live in a country where our governments AND regulator mandated to safeguard and protect the interest of Barbadians, do nothing. The result is that FLOW and DIGICEL continue to rape the population without vaseline.

Enough is enough, we should protest against FLOW and DIGICEL by switching off our data plans for a week!

12 responses to “FLOW is ‘screwing’ us”

1. AS SOMEONE WHO IS VERY FAMILIAR WITH FLOW AND DIGICEL I WILL GIVE A PRICE COMPARISON HERE IN TANZANIA AFRICA

MY WIRELESS HIGH SPEED INTERNET AT MY HOUSE IS 10MBPS @ U$$25 MONTHLY WITH UNLIMITED DATA.

THERE WAS NO INSTALLATION CHARGES. CAME WITH FREE ROUTER AND FREE 1 PUBLIC IP ADDRESS.

SINCE I ALSO HAVE A VOIP TELECOMM BUSINESS I ALSO HAVE A SECOND INSTALLATION FROM A DIFFERENT COMPANY WHICH IS DEDICATED INTERNET 6/6MBPS WITH 2 PUBLIC IP ADDRESSES FOR ROUTER AND VOIP EQUIPMENT. I PAY US$45 PER MONTH FOR THIS UNDER A BUSINESS PACKAGE.

I REMEMBER THE DAYS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND WHEN I USED TO PAY OVER US$1500 PER MONTH WITH ONLY 1MBPS DEDICATED WIRELESS INTERNET.

FOR MY SMARTPHONE I PURCHASE 10GBS IN DATA AND GIVES ME ALSO 500 MINUTES OF TALK TIME AND 1000 SMS US$8 FOR 30 DAYS OR MONTHLY.

YOU CAN COMPARE TO THE RAPE ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND.

2. @David, how much money Flow and Digicel contribute to political parties to maintain influence and which politician is given preferential treatment. Alex Macdonald got rewarded for facilitating wiretapping. Trevor Clarke got an ambassadorship for his facilitation. So do you expect the poor service of dropped calls to improve when corruption is so endemic. My wife and I are trying hard to get our property sold as Barbados is not what we expected and we prefer to stay in the UK

3. And yet, I am convinced that the island can become a very good place to live.

Sadly, with scammers and con men piloting the ship this will not be realized. Doubly sad, that many of us has made the decision to be elsewhere as we do not see a recovery.

4. @ The OG,

Barbados is still a great place to vacation if you are a retiree.

5. Wuh I livin’ heh very good fuh now. If you see a recovery in the West then you are not paying attention to anything but the usual misleading economic indicators.

The world is in a state of flux. Nobody knows where anybody is going to end up. Seismic shifts may be up ahead.

The world rearranges itself!

6. If the telecommunications environment continues to decline relative to pricing and quality the welcome stampers will migrate elsewhere. The point is not intended to dilute issues facing locals.

7. @ David,

” telecommunications” is an essential service.

8. Wha happen ? BUvians not lowing ?

9. How can any of these issues be properly understood absent what’s happening within wider environments.

All of them.

For people continue to talk about these matters as if all the variables, external especially, are constants. External to companies, regions, countries.

For examples.

The telecommunications spaces are generally much more consolidated, become more of a national security platform, seen elites become actors within a range of hybrid wars, and on and on.

So to labour under aged presumptions, particularly in relationship to the diminished relative power of customers, will fail to make contact with present realities far less the innovations this industry is driven by.

10. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Appealing to the Christian faith is standard fare for our politicians :

2018 EASTER MESSAGE FROM THE HON. MIA A. MOTTLEY, Q.C., M.P. POLITICAL LEADER OF THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY

In Barbados and all across the Christian world, people of faith are today celebrating the risen Christ.

Easter, symbolizes the triumph of good over evil and our capacity to overcome the pain, despair and dark forces that threaten our lives. It encourages us in our most difficult of times, to find our faith and accept God’s will for our lives. One can only wonder at the pain of Jesus’ mother and disciples as they stood, watching him die. Yet, the story does not end there, but with the triumph and joy of the resurrection and with it, our redemption.

What I have always found fascinating about the Easter story, is that after his resurrection, Jesus appeared first and delivered the news of the miracle of his Resurrection to Mary Magdalene. Just as simple shepherds in the fields, were the first to whom the angels appeared to tell of Jesus’ birth, this was yet another example of the way in which God shows confidence in “ordinary” people and entrusts them with great things. It continues to be a potent reminder that we all have a role and value in the eyes of God. At its core, the Easter story is about the transformation that takes place in our lives when we have an encounter with God and submit to His will.

Despite Barbados’ current circumstances, the Easter story provides hope for us as a nation. It tells us that even though we are in the throes of difficulty, even though economic darkness surrounds us, social deprivation distresses us, a lack of security envelopes us, and fear of the future threatens our lives and stability, we must not despair. We must have faith that the God of the ages is still able to transform our circumstances in His time and all we must do is wait and act in accordance with His will.

The observance of Easter 2018 takes place at a time when many have felt that our country is having “a wilderness experience” that challenges our faith and fortitude as a people. As Barbados fell from the top spot in every regional and international, social and economic indicator, as our daily lives became more difficult, crime worsened and our economy tilted precariously, Barbadians have experienced a deep sense of drift, fear and the sensation that we have become unhooked from all that we knew, expected and hoped for ourselves, our families and our country. How lost the disciples and the women who loved Jesus must have felt as their Master and anchor was tortured and crucified. How afraid for their future they must have been.

In many respects, there is a parable here for us. Some may say that we stand where the disciples stood, powerless and afraid, but for the resurrection and its message of hope. Let us as a nation, accept with certainty, the power of God to intervene in our personal circumstances and those of our country. Let us also have confidence in His purpose and faith that God’s will, will be done.

This Easter, we cling to our faith and the certain knowledge that God is still our guide and on our side and that no matter how long and dark the night, joy comes in the morning.

We celebrate the risen Christ and await our political release and national renaissance.

A blessed Easter to all, on behalf of the entire Barbados Labour Party family and my own family.

So, is Thorne is keeping a tradition ?

11. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    This was sent to the wrong thread. My apologies.