Any breaking of the law by anyone operating in Barbados should be pursued relentlessly by the authorities with the objective of exacting justice. The blogmaster is forced to state the obvious because of the following comment posted to the blog – The more things change: When hard wood equals hope.

So amusing that some of you are evuh so interested in drawing connections out of thin air for HOPE, but gleefully sidestep the INVESTIGATIVE report into the LOTO suggesting that he violated the Theft Act and was in a conspiracy to defraud the UDC. Hard evidence there from a DLP report and wunna ignoring it. Carry on trying to mislead people.

Observe That!

The blogmaster like many listened to the orchestrated reply by Deputy Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw during the ‘budget’ reply. It is interesting to note Bradshaw was given the task of prosecuting the matter of possible wrong doing by Thorne, no doubt the result of the constant public hammering she has been receiving concerning poor delivery from the ministries of Transportation, Water Resources, Education AND Case closed! business.

For those who missed details of the accusation the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) posted the Guyson Mayers report on social media – Barbados Underground

The accusation leveled at Thorne that he engaged in illegal activity at the UDC is a reminder of how nasty politics can get. Does any right thinking person believe the document Bradshaw waived around in parliament during the wind up to the budget miraculously appeared as she presented?

The blogmaster is reminded of the so called FBI “Official & Confidential Files” that were kept by J Edgar Hoover in his private office. Some of the files said to have recorded sensitive information on political leaders, media and other individuals who were critical of the FBI. The blogmaster is not naive to be led to believe the great revelation about Thorne was unknown to the Prime Minister and members of the BLP hierarchy. Wheel and come again!

The country waits to see the outcome of this shot across the bow of Thorne. What it has so far confirmed is that politics is a dirty business. In the case of Barbados functioning without an opposition presence in the Lower House since 2022 and one contrived in the session of parliament post 2018, it is a dangerous business.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley is the political leader of the ruling Barbados Labour Party, therefore it is understandable her political focus. However, if she wishes history to record her kindly, she should be concerned her actions and decisions do not irretrievably compromise the integrity of Barbados’ governance structure. A word to the wise should be sufficient.

73 responses to “The BLP, Ralph Thorne and J Edgar Hoover”

1. ‘F’ for Mottley

DLP president says Budget a high point of failure

DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) president Dr Ronnie Yearwood has charged that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley’s 2024 Budget represented a “high point of failure” in delivering relief to Barbadians.

Last night, he outlined some key points he said it should have covered.

“What has the Budget done to address the fact we literally have an ageing crisis on our hands? One of the things the Budget could have done is to provide the ability for those of us who can work from home to be carers by providing a tax incentive for you to take care of your elderly,” he told a St John branch meeting held at St John’s Parish Church.

“The last thing any of us want to do is to have to drop our elderly mother or father off at the hospital because they came to the harsh reality ‘I can’t feed them and the rest of my family too’. These are the choices some people face. How does this Budget help to deal with that?” he asked.

The party president said this was where a tax incentive would come in handy, one which catered to taking care of the elderly at home as people wanted to live out their elder years with dignity.

Another area Yearwood highlighted was Civil Service reform, arguing that Government was going about the process all wrong.

“This Budget has failed to address the fundamental issues facing this country. How do you expect to have civil service reform as a high-level exercise? It has to be a bottomup exercise. Let’s have a conversation with civil servants. When has anyone asked civil servants, ‘How do you feel about your job? Why are you doing it? Do you like it?’

“There has to be a reason that receptionist isn’t answering the phone. There has to be a reason why that teacher doesn’t teach. There has to be a reason why that civil servant is not moving the file, but had anybody ever sought to understand? When have we ever done a review to find out the state of the Civil Service? When have we had genuine Civil Service reform? No, but instead everybody wants to beat them over the head with a stick,” he said.

Yearwood suggested establishing economic service zones in Barbados where international businesses could relocate and provide jobs, opportunities and knowledge transfer.

“This allows more money to flow around the economy because you have more opportunities to make money.

“Barbados has a growth challenge this Budget has not been able to address. The reason being none of the capital projects Government announced since 2018 have come off the ground. How do we create new jobs and opportunities? Service zones is one way,” he said.

Yearwood steered clear of any talk concerning impropriety on the part of political leader Ralph Thorne.

No comment

During the Budget debate in the House of Assembly last week, Deputy Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw called for the Attorney General to investigate Thorne’s dealings with the Urban Development Commission concerning certain land deed transfers 15 years ago.

When asked about it after his speech yesterday, Yearwood said he was not going to comment.

However, during the meeting, attorney Karina Goodridge, who is a shadow minister without portfolio in the DLP’s president’s office, said it was all about distraction.

“Don’t get distracted at all with the actions of the . . . Barbados Labour Party . . . .

Right now they are attacking the DLP for an equaliser and if you follow politics, you will know who I am speaking about.

“In civil law, the case is proven on a balance of probabilities and in criminal law, it is beyond reasonable doubt. One thing I will always drive home is you are always innocent until proven guilty, so don’t get distracted by the attack on Mr Thorne. We are not the police or the judiciary and neither is the Prime Minister,” she declared.

2. Truly, I don’t think DLP can win (a seat).

I’m finding all over America that people are sick and tired of the tweedle-dee dees and the tweedle-dee dums who constantly flip-flap from one side to another. People are interested in having candidates that are truthful.

Shirley Chisholm

What is Shirley Chisholm famous quote?
    Shirley Chisholm Quotes – BrainyQuote
    You don’t make progress by standing on the sidelines, whimpering and complaining. You make progress by implementing ideas. If they don’t give you a seat at the table, bring a folding chair.

https://www.brainyquote.com/authors/shirley-chisholm-quotes

3. Before Barack Obama and Maxine Waters There Was The Honorable Shirley Chisholm

| UNBOUGHT & UNBOSSED 🏛#shirleychisholm #womenshistorymonth |

4. Dub,

You do know that Shirley Chisholm was a Barbadian-American, I assume.

5. Everybody everywhere is tired of Tweedle Dee, Tweedle Dum and, in some countries, Tweedle Dum Dum.

The world is sick of politicians. The only people who don’t know that are the politicians. Too full of themselves to see what’s happening.

6. D
    I discovered that last night watching the “Shirley” movie which really did move me
    https://www.theguardian.com/culture/2024/mar/25/shirley-chisholm-biopic-movie-netflix

7. Once again the blp jumps forward to expose their wickedness and hypocrisy to the masses
    Thorne was a member of the blp during those alleged accusations
    The blp kept mouth shut as a sign of supporter for Thorne
    Not one of the members ever stepforward during that time to say Thorne was wrong
    Bradshaw now decides to find solace dating back to fifteen years of alleged illegalities about Thorne to cover any misdeeds of illegalities towards her concerning a 75thousand dollar check which has provided fodder for the public who wants to know why Mia declared case closed

8. In the case of the prosecution of Thorne by the Deputy PM @David “conveniently” leaves out the elephant in the room.

9. A budget deserving of an F
    A budget failing to highlight budgetary measures to deal with rising debt and price control and increase productivity all necessary to sustain an economy financially
    Govts must learn that dependence on a one nest basket fueled by global input can be depleted at a drop of a hat when negative factors influence an economy

10. Wow, the cheque is now $75,000 and conveniently Thorne’s allegations are alleged while Bradshaw’s are fact according to the prodigal one. Please provide a deposited cheque if the DLP wants to convince me that the lady did something wrong. If not, all I need to do is write a cheque and drop off at Thorne’s constituency office/home, then send the stub to the Opposition. See how absurd the accusation sounds? By the way the Mayers Report was commissioned, developed and prepared by two former General Secretaries of the DLP. Before welcoming Thorne back, one assumes they also knew and kept quiet.🤣

11. @ Sargeant
    Boss
    The REAL elephant in the room is that this is how the MAFIA works.

They find some illegal dirt on officials, and then blackmail that victim into doing their dirty deeds.
    You can BET YOUR LIFE that our fancy World Cup ‘security’ infrastructure has been used to accumulate enough dirt to make a full parliamentary kitchen garden.

So when all they can find Thorne is something that WE ALL KNOW that all lawyers do routinely, it explains why he was largely UNUSED in government – DESPITE his clearly superior talents. Not enuff dirt found to guarantee full control… LOL, unlike the other lapdogs that are sent out to do the dirty work…

Bushie DARES ANY of the lawyers (and other ‘law-makers’ in Parliament) to subject themselves to a public, independent audit (like is required in countries where HONESTY is valued) and to prove the Bushman wrong…

The elephant in the room is that we are ALL now part of the mafiosa…..

12. Deepfake technology creates questions of what’s real and what’s fake

Re: Political War Whores
    🛠️ Tools in the Toolbox 🔨
    Deep Fakes
    misinformation
    disinformation

Bob Marley & The Wailers – Revolution Lyrics

Never make a politician (aaa-aaah) grant you a favour
    (doo-doo-doo-doo)
    They will always want (aaa-aaah) to control you forever, eh
    (forever, forever)
    So if a fire make it burn (make it burn, make it burn)
    And if a blood make you run (make you run, run, run)
    Rasta up on top (aaa-aaah), can’t you see (doo-doo-doo-doo)
    So you can’t predict the flock, Eh-eh (doo-doo-doo-doo)

13. Now are barbadians to belive that only after Bradshaw misdeeds of the cheque were exposed that Bradshaw then knew about Thornes 15year allegations
    Listen the blp is just as much in cohoots with any wrong doings alleged to Thorne 15 years ago
    They knew and said nothing now using Parliament to sling mud and worse yet trying to use tax payers money to whip a dead horse
    Let that sink in

14. Waaaait I now realised the Mayers Report was also presented to the Board. Was the former President of the DLP, Mrs.Depeiza not a member of the Board during that time too? When yuh set out to be wicked and it comes back to bite yuh! Keep missing the salient point.

15. @Enuff

#StraightOuttatheRedbag.

Waiting on CLICO and Paradise (Clearwater) next.

16. William Skinner Avatar

Here we go again. Don’t we ever get tired of this comedic window dressing . The first step is to admit that we are terribly disappointed in the nonsense that is and has been going on in our country for at least four decades. We can do that and then at least try to salvage some form of national cohesion .This nonsense which we are currently lamenting about, was exposed over and over again but we chose to ignore it because we were more interested in defending our parties and politicians of choice. We won a whole lot of petty party/ personality battles but the crowns won were nothing but the delivered disappointment.
    Again, haven’t we had enough of the nonsense.

17. David

Here I was thinking you’d include Savvy. I am disappointed.

18. The long and short of this story is that Bradshaw is capable of devious actions against any one who dares to ask or show any form of concern against wrongdoings towards her even if it means using taxpayers money to do so
    Outta here

19. ‘To be fair,’ I agree that “…. the BLP is just as much in cohoots with any wrong doings alleged to Thorne 15 years ago,” assuming they knew of such allegations and remained quiet, simply because he was a member of that political party. However, if what Enuff mentioned is true; that “the Mayers Report was commissioned, developed and prepared by two former DLP general secretaries,” then, it means they were essentially attempting, at that time, ‘to shoot across Thorne’s bow’ as well. However, by celebrating his return to the DLP, with cheers, hugs, laughter and ‘tuk band music,’ any person of reasonable thought could objectively assume the DEMS would not only remain silent, but seek to defend him as well. This is the hipocrisy of politics.

20. @Artax

If government is a continuum by Mottley’s own admission in the recent budget then your point is moot. Mottley ran her political platform promising to issue in change and the people have given her an unprecedented mandate on the last two occasions.

21. @Enuff

Too many, impossible to mention all.

22. Yes indeed the dlp did excute and leveled charges against Thorne
    However Howver 15 years later those charges were not found to be sufficient and enough to find Thorne guilty of misdeeds or wrong doings
    Presently the dlp President has made a decision to include Thorne as a leader of the opposition of the dlp
    The justice system has not found Thorne guilty of any misdeeds
    The dlp.Constitution Therfore gives way for Thorne having a clear record to participate and be an active member in serving the country and people
    Maybe after 15 years of seeking political gain sake a point of recognition has given way for the dlp to say there is nothing in the issue that warrants skull duggery
    Let’s move on

23. The hipocrisy of politics, as described in my previous comment, has been clearly demonstrated on this thread. I’ll explain. Prior to Thorne ‘crossing the floor,’ he was an ‘in-law’ to the BEES and ‘out-law’ to the DEMS. Enuff’s response to the Mayers Report would’ve been in defense of Thorne (similarly to how coxangela is NOW defending him), while coxangela’s response would be similar to how is attacking Bradshaw. Interestingly, Thorne’s status has changed after ‘crossing the floor.’ He is now an ‘out-law’ to the BEES, while at the same time becoming a DEMS’ ‘in-law.’ Note the reversal of responses from Enuff and coxangela.

24. Firstly I had no comment during the 15 year period of Thornes allegations
    In part I did not fully followed the story and my personnel life merited more than that of being captured by the politics of the day
    However now that Bradshaw sees it fit to raise a dead horse at taxpayers expense I am moved to put my two cents worth of the asking what point is Bradshaw trying to make after all when a cheque issued in her name was dismissed by the PM and no charges were leveled against her in the justice system in any form or fashion
    Bradshaw ability to cast stale meat in the political arena maybe the highlight of her political arena when all said and done

25. Repent Ralph Repent

The lingering question is whether the alleged Christian and newbie opposition was corrupted and then lied about it based on the evidence presented.
    As a so called self identifying Christian, he should come clean forthwith and admit any and all some such transgressions before forgiveness can be even be considered.

Some random words for all of you to ponder and wonder..

Measuring statistical evidence using relative belief

The relative belief ratio and inferences
    To determine inferences three simple principles are needed. First is the principle of conditional probability that tells us how beliefs should change after receiving evidence bearing on the truth of an event. We let Ω denote a general sample space for response ω with associated probability measure P.

The principle of conditional probability: For events A , C⊂ Ω with P(C) > 0, if told that the event C has occurred, then replace P(A) by P(A | C) = P(A∩C)/P(C).

This leads to a very simple characterization of evidence.

Principle of evidence: If P(A | C) > P(A), then there is evidence in favor of A being true becausethe belief in A has increased. If P(A | C) 0.

So, for example, RB(A | C) > 1 implies that observing C is evidence in favor of A and the bigger RB(A | C) is, the more evidence in favor.

26. @Whoever “One of the things the Budget could have done is to provide the ability for those of us who can work from home to be carers by providing a tax incentive for you to take care of your elderly”

Agreed

“The last thing any of us want to do is to have to drop our elderly mother or father off at the hospital because they came to the harsh reality ‘I can’t feed them and the rest of my family too’.

Don’t agree. Because in fact even the lowest NIS pension of Barbados $920 per month is enough to feed one pensioner. When the pension money comes feed the pensioner FIRST. Anything else after.

27. ” I am moved to put my two cents worth of the asking what point is Bradshaw trying to make after all when a cheque issued in her name was dismissed by the PM and no charges were leveled against her in the justice system in any form or fashion”

Every little action, there’s a reaction

Bradshaw was attacked by DLP to attack BLP and then she was used by BLP to attack DLP back

Formally stated, Newton’s third law is: For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction. The statement means that in every interaction, there is a pair of forces acting on the two interacting objects. The size of the forces on the first object equals the size of the force on the second object. The direction of the force on the first object is opposite to the direction of the force on the second object. Forces always come in pairs – equal and opposite action-reaction force pairs.

An Example of Interaction Force Pairs is DLP and BLP

28. You did not fully define RB(A|C).
    But some basic mumbo-jumbo.

29. Artax

Up to now I haven’t accused Thorne of anything. I simply haven’t missed the meat of the matter.

30. @Ronnie Yearwood “There has to be a reason that receptionist isn’t answering the phone. There has to be a reason why that teacher doesn’t teach. There has to be a reason why that civil servant is not moving the file.”

Once you are collecting a salary paid for by the taxpayers of this country then should do the job which you are paid to do. I used to work at a place where we were instructed to answer all phones “before the second ring” and answering the phones was not only the receptionist’s job, it was everybody’s job.

31. Yes theo spot on with your usual bitching 10 out of 10 for the queen bitch pat yourself on the head

in mitigation
    the formula caused a HTML issue for the full text to disappear up the wordpress backside

32. @David “Yearwood steered clear of any talk concerning impropriety on the part of political leader Ralph Thorne. No comment.”

Yearwood, Thorne, Bradshaw and Mottley were all members of the BLP at the same time. Were they not?

Stupssseee!!!

33. @Karina Goodridge “One thing I will always drive home is you are always innocent until proven guilty”

This is INCORRECT.

One is PRESUMED innocent.

Like this morning I am presuming that I am the richest man in the world, instead of being a poor @ss pensioner, until someone disproves it. Lol!!!

34. For 4 years little Shirley Chisholm went to Vauxhall Primary in Christ Church, Barbados. The school has another name now which I cannot remember.

35. I here listening to Down to Brasstacks. Some of you could do the same.

I will continue to read the comments by some of you BU intellectuals with the hope that my 72 year old pre geriatric brain can be “stuffed with knowledge”. lol

36. David, you can’t be serious. Are you SURE you ACTUALLY READ my comment, or perhaps read it but did not understand what you read? My ‘point’ is, the Mayers Report, which the BLP would’ve known existed and of the contents therein, ONLY became an issue for them AFTER Thorne ‘crossed the floor.’ Prior to which, they ‘REMAINED SILENT.’ You asked if ‘any right thinking person believes the document Bradshaw waived about Parliament during the Budget wind up miraculously appeared,’ which essentially reinforced my ‘point’ that the BEES knew the report existed, but chose to remain silent, simply because Thorne was a member of the BLP. You made a juxtaposition of the situation to Hoover ‘holding files’ on people. The DLP essentially prepared that report to essentially, according to you, ‘shoot across the bow of Thorne.’ Obviously, the DEMS will seek to defend him now he is a member. Remember, you posted a news article in which ‘the DLP’s shadow minister without portfolio in the president’s office, attorney Karina Goodridge,’ advised those in attendance at the St. John branch meeting not to ‘get distracted with all the actions of the BLP.’ Against this background, perhaps you may want to explain HOW my ‘point is moot.’

37. Cuhdear Bajan, Vauxhall Primary was renamed after Shirley Chisholm.

38. Enuff, I did not accuse you or cox of anything. Please note I deliberately used the word, ‘would.’

39. My old father who did not go to school after the age of 11; and may he continue to rest in peace used to say that “Bajans too t’ief”

In my opinion Bajans don’t really care ’bout t’iefing as long as we are the beneficiaries of the t’iefing.

If I lie. Tell me so.

40. Thanks Artax.

41. By the way the Mayers Report was commissioned, developed and prepared by two former General Secretaries of the DLP. Before welcoming Thorne back, one assumes they also knew and kept quiet.🤣

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

DONVILLE INNISS IS A FRAUDSTER LIKE SO MANY ON THE DLP AND CURRENT BLP.

END OF FUCKING STORY.

ANYONE WHO DEFENDS ANY OF THEM IS EQUALLY CORRUPT.

42. Well I dont get in the B and D thing but i got to tell you that based on what Hope had and what we Bajans got to show for it, them houses at Lancaster CAN NOT be sold for their true cost. So wunna talking bout what was lost well the lost aint done yet. Cause every one that sell got be be subsidised by the tax payer if you want somebody buy one. If you doubt me take the money lent and divide it by the houses finished and see what each cost!

That project based on the cost is a money pit for the taxpayer all over again!

43. Karma Police Lyrics
    [Verse 1]
    Karma police, arrest this man, he talks in maths
    He buzzes like a fridge, he’s like a detuned radio

[Verse 2]
    Karma police, arrest this girl, her Hitler hairdo
    Is making me feel ill and we have crashed her party

[Chorus]
    This is what you get
    When you mess with us

[Verse 3]
    Karma police, I’ve given all I can, it’s not enough
    I’ve given all I can, but we’re still on the payroll

[Chorus]
    This is what you get
    When you mess with us

[Outro]
    For a minute there
    I lost myself, I lost myself
    Phew, for a minute there
    For a minute there
    Phew, for a minute there

44. John A, housing, similarly to tertiary level education, bus fare and other such services provided by the state, are subsidised by taxpayers. Does the state provide those services ‘make a profit’ or to ‘make things a bit easier’ for poor people? What then is your opinion on government providing subsidies to sheep farmers as was done in New Zealand, for example, which made the retail price of lamb affordable to the average consumer? Suppose the state allowed the market to dictate Transport Board bus fare?

45. I wrote before that Thorne must have touched a nerve in the BLP and that’s why they are trying to discredit him with 15 year charges. The BLP was willing to sit on these allegations so long as he was a member but now he has switched horses in mid stream the knives have come out.
    Some people can’t see the forest for the trees while they are busy debating 15 year charges,HOPE is leaking like a damaged sieve to the tune of millions of dollars. I wonder whether certain connections were behind the effort to shift the laser beam off HOPE and turn the microscope on Thorne.
    The AG has been tasked with investigating Thorne and the PM has promised an inquiry into HOPE, someone must know where the bodies are buried but HOPE springs eternal.

46. @Sargeant

The PM has given a public commitment she will do what she has to when the report into dealings at HOPE is completed. Hopefully the promise will hold more credence than the one made about Savvy on the Bay.

47. @ Artax

Subsidised housing is one thing but soaking the tax payer is another. The PM said this was set up to be a revolving fund. How then can you have a revolving fund when every transaction is done at say 50% of the cost of the item? Plus dont forget the land was transferred at $2.50 a square foot so there is a cost(loss) there too.

Remember when the DEMS did the Grotto as a low cost housing ” solution” and yet the cost of the units were said to be $500 sq ft. Well that was cheap compared to this.

48. @John A

Have you factored the energy saving component?

49. How to blag {cough} {cough} or bullshit {cough} {cough} in Public Office
    Public inquiries are now a routine response to crises and disasters after every scandal or major controversy and is a way of whitewashing tricky high-profile matters of public concern with long drawn fake investigations and wack ass responses.

50. @Sargeant “…someone must know where the bodies are buried but HOPE springs eternal.”

I wonder if a lot of the bodies are buried at Lancaster. I will go in and look next time I have the opportunity to pass there, which is nearly every day.