Submitted by Observing

The key thing about this scenario isn’t just the $7,500. It is how politicians FOR YEARS from BOTH SIDES have treated the public’s trust and intelligence with disdain.

Santia Bradshaw, DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER

The refrain “case closed” struck a nerve while listening to the PM’s address on Saturday. A large part of that was because the case was NOT closed and there were still questions that needed to be answered. First of all, let’s agree that charity is needed, MPs need help serving their constituents and the custom and practice is for “donations and gifts” to be given directly to politicians to utilise as needed. The problem comes when it is clearly said that we need to move AWAY from this practice and when a whole law has been passed to discourage it.

Mistakes are made. Maybe Santia didn’t know about the check. Maybe she didn’t ask for it. Maybe all other 29 MPs also received but didn’t have a break in at their office. Maybe. BUT, let’s judge the issue by the words of the MP herself.

Santia (NationNews): “Either way, it was processed by my office and the proceeds went to the people of MY constituency”

“Bradshaw who is the Minister of Transport stated that the cheque was part of a charitable contribution to HER annual Christmas hamper programme

Santia (LoopNews): She explained that the cheque is a charitable donation towards HER annual Christmas hamper and food voucher programme which she has led for several years. This particular contribution could have been written to MY charity OR in MY name, as it was done. Either way, it was processed by MY office and the proceeds went to the people of MY constituency.

– My, my, my.

NationNews:

“Mottley added that the cheque was NOT solicited by Bradshaw, and it was NOT cashed.”

“There has been no criminal behaviour, there has been no breach on the part of the Deputy Prime Minister of any law, and there is nothing that merits her dismissal. CASE CLOSED”

As has become the norm nowadays, nothing to see here. Why even bother that the donor regularly receives business from the Ministry the MP is currently heading and whose company stands to do more work. Like the typical parent back in the day…..”Shut yuh mouth and stop complaining!”

The key thing about this scenario isn’t just the $7,500. It is how politicians FOR YEARS from BOTH SIDES have treated the public’s trust and intelligence with disdain.

Freundel “closed” many cases including sewage, the Eager 11, garbage collection, downgrades galore, piss poor industrial relations and zero communication.

Mia has now “closed” cases including the check, the survey, the unbuilt Chinese houses, contracts without tender, cost of living and of course an increased cabinet.

Who determines when a case is closed? Who do these people really serve? When will enough be enough?

At some point WE have to demand more, or at least be willing to ask more of those WE place in positions of authority. If the media is too afraid to do it, then civic society must. Sitting in silence while being shut up and shuffled away just doesn’t cut it.

David asked about the bi-weekly Cabinet updates. I guess the Press Secretary and numerous staffers in the PM’s office are too busy to fulfil that promise. But hey, David Thompson (may he rest in peace) made MANY a promise too!

6 is half dozen. It just so happens that some sixes speak so much more softly and sweetly than others .

Will the real leaders please stand up?

Case closed!

84 responses to “Case closed!”

1. @NO

Kudos to Mr.Hinkson for being above board in his charitable efforts, but in the main I am sure that any charitable donations to politicians are not separated from personal funds.

2. U said that a million time and imo most Bajan agree with u. U are jumping to conclusions when u question me on what hard to understand about it .
    Can’t I comment on what I wanta without having to agree/ disagree with ur agenda? Cheese!!!!

As I said before my attempted explanation was for the few that were “ a bit lost “ about the checks. I did not even have u in mind.
    Sarge (from the previous blog – I never got back to him ) and cuhdear Bajan were the ones I had in mind

3. Lost as usual

I am well aware of both ur points

On ur second point – how many brown paper been caught so far ?

So far we have this check that will cause change

And previous we had a wire transaction that led to prosecution

The real dirty ones will now move away from checks and wires and deal solely under the table / bags / envelopes

4. The blogmaster can reply as he wants as well. The public does not trust you lot for a reason.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

Hence Sarge, why such separation should be mandatory for MPs.
    And other limits set for politicians (election expenses).
    For we already know from the D.Innis case “preclude defendant from introducing evidence or argument that bribes are a custom or practice in Barbados.”
    https://casetext.com/case/united-states-v-inniss-6

6. The public do not trust my lot?
    Why don’t u be a man a come out and state plainly what my lot is instead of harvesting comments? Or does the size of ur check / paper bag depends on the number of comments.
    Unlike u I have neither friend or family in politics or do I depend on any politician for anything I suggest u run that snide remark towards ur friend ronnie0 it is more in his camp and definitely not in mine

7. You lot are members of the political directorate. That clear enough for you?

8. U are closer to and more involved in the political directorate than I ever was or every will be
    My political life / any influence I have in politics is through ur BU

9. Perhaps the politicians in #Barbados and political aspirants can learn from the attached story. In #Liberia after elections each ministry is audited and a joint transition team is formed for formal hand over of ministries. Assets declarations are also promptly due on leaving office which is then compared to what was declared on attaining office.

https://frontpageafricaonline.com/news/rep-yekeh-koluba-raises-transparency-concerns-over-president-elects-donation-source/

10. There is an abundance of best practices this government and others can adopt to improve governance in Barbados but is there the ‘will’ to do so?

11. The lack of will to address clear systemic weaknesses – such as the OBVIOUS case of businessmen bribing politicians (and other decision makers in private sector) with gifts, …is the clearest possible indication that the ‘powers-that-be’ have personal vested interest in having such loopholes.

All that it takes is for the TOP AUTHORITY to set the required standard and to champion the cause…

…but one should not expect an alcoholic to be an effective proponent for breathalyzer testing – no matter how many lives it can save.

12. The youth are watching and a #youthquake is not impossible in Barbados. What is even more concerning is how main stream media allowed the most venomous attacks against the last government for their misrule, incompetence and arrogance.

We are hearing that Barbadostoday refused to carry an ad about an upcoming march. Such acts threaten our democracy and fuels deceit which is rewarded through appointment of incompetent friends and family. Such acts create a dysfunctional and disorderly society,no wonder some see building prisons as a lucrative business.

Too many of the current BLP elected officials either have no balls and should be fired by Auntie Mia for squandering their mandate, if I use silence as a yardstick of dereliction of duty to voters. I have not heard my ministerial acquaintances of Adrian Forde, Dwight Sutherland, Peter Phillips recently.

I have repeatedly said Barbados needs strong leaders and Auntie Mia is what the doctor ordered. However, the problem is the weak balls less persons around her who behave like if they are in a kindergarten and must be spoon fed.

Persons who aspire to lead as political representatives should make social networking, ambition, life long learning as well as have high energy as attributes.

Again, I blame the ball less around Auntie who are weak. Who wants a weak team around them as a strong leader, not me.

BTW, de whole blasted QEH board needs to be fired or resign, stop appoint friends and family to run government institutions, you would not put friends or family to run your key business enterprise.

13. There is also talk about requests from the DLP constituency to hold meetings being declined and those from the BLP being allowed.

14. @David, constituency meetings denied by whom?

15. It was mentioned Wednesday on Brasstacks, if memory serves it is Princess Margaret school, one in St. Philip for sure.

16. What was mentioned?

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

Does Barbados have a National Building Code?

Wasn’t this part of the 2020 Planning and Development act?

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

That was Jan ’23
    A recent BT article on the floor collapse at Mt Tabor school, proclaimed it was built to Code.
    So I am believing there must be a Building Code?

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

Oh RH, I’m just now reading that article, it hasn’t been proclaimed yet!!!!….that was Jan ’23. 3+ years.
    Wasn’t proclamation the IPL challenge?
    And I suggested blindly maybe 2026, looks like that timeframe could be accurate.

20. Once again, amazed, amused and in pain.

Amazed that men/women with high IQ fall for the throw it against the wall legislation of legislation.

Amused that the legislation does not stick on the wall but it sticks in the minds of the high IQ folks.

And in great pain. How many times can Mia deceive these folks. You can fool some of the people some of the time, but you can fool high IQ Bajans all of the time.

21. @Theo
    “How many times can Mia deceive these folks.”

Replace Mia with “these politicians” and the answer will be “over and over again!!”

With a docile non investigatory media, a scared civil service and silent civic society anything goes!

22. OFF MESSAGE,
    Any news on the constitution? Or has everyone forgotten.

23. What auntie what!
    Please stop it. Are you a big man, or are you as ball-less as those you have identified?

How is it possible for a leader to surround themselves with weak ball-less people, and still be considered a strong leader?

If you supposedly have a team and regularly find yourself doing all the work, then you are not the leader.

Strong leaders are not afraid of selecting the best and brightest to be part of their team.

24. @Rawe Baker

The PM has selected 27 out of 30 to serve in Cabinet? You asking for her to turn water into wine?

25. @ Raw Baker on January 13, 2024 at 6:07 AM said:
    (Quote)
    What auntie what!
    Please stop it. Are you a big man, or are you as ball-less as those you have identified?

How is it possible for a leader to surround themselves with weak ball-less people, and still be considered a strong leader?

If you supposedly have a team and regularly find yourself doing all the work, then you are not the leader.

Strong leaders are not afraid of selecting the best and brightest to be part of their team.
    (Unquote)

Well put!
    Our friend ‘Observing’ or even that scary red Sycophant called ‘Enuff’ would have to come to a similar conclusion.

How else can a despot- as branded by the late OSA her own boss of over 14 years- be so successful in convincing the people of Barbados that she has been their Joan of Arc for the last 5 years?

Maybe MAM should (NOT) be overly admired as an outstanding student of Machiavellian politics.

“There is no other way of guarding oneself from flatterers except by letting men understand that you will not be offended if they tell you the truth …”

“When everyone feels free to tell you the truth, respect for you dwindles… A wise prince should take another course: choose wise men for your advisors, and allow only them the liberty of speaking the truth to the prince, and only on matters about which you ask, and nothing else. But you should question them about everything, listen patiently to their opinions, then form your own conclusions later.”

26. Oh dear Miller, rent-free living in an open plan head is too sweet. Talk of a $1B project still rankles eh?

27. @ Enuff on January 13, 2024 at 5:31 PM:

What “$1B project” what!! Is that the cost of the long-promised New National Stadium and its 15 mini satellites?

Is it a reincarnation of another WTE or the long-awaited South Coast Sewage project?

Why do you have that nasty habit of claiming ownership of private sector projects?

Does that “$1b” include the start of the Hyatt hotel or the Savvy-on-the beach demolition?

You and your red lying cronies are just as bad as the previous lot of blue and yellow jokers with their Andrews factory nuclear electricity generator from burning river tamarind with US$ 270 million still sitting in a Japanese merchant-lending bank.

Why not disclose the plans for that environmental eyesore at the Old Hospital site?
    You guys cannot even get the long-awaited Vehicle Electronic Monitoring system up and running despite the long-erected hardware costing millions in borrowed forex continues to sit idly weathering the rain and sun.

No wonder there are tens of thousands of uninsured vehicles on the roads of the 2×3 islands!

Is this project going to end up like another St. John polyclinic or the LES white elephant?

But who cares as long the thousands of reconditioned petrol burning vehicles- imported into the island using IMF borrowed foreign exchange- continue to pay road taxes at the pump?

At least you guys should be able to perform within your limit of competencies and get the 2×3 place, especially Bridgetown and its environs, clean up in time for the much-needed Cricket World Cup event.

But who really ‘cares’ these days?

Is it MAM or the BIG red sycophant aka political ass-licker labelled ‘Enuff the Red’?

28. All eyes on Integrity Bill after 5 months

By Antoinette Connell antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com

One of last year’s most contentious pieces of legislation was the Integrity in Public Life Bill tabled in July and which was passed on that second attempt.

However, the expected ensuing action was not applied, as it has not been proclaimed. Controversy followed its introduction and remained now even after it has been passed amid public contentions that it could deter the best brains from taking up high office.

Under Objects and Reasons it states: “This Bill would establish a regime, including an integrity commission, to promote the integrity of persons in public life and strengthen measures for the prevention, detection, investigation and prosecution of acts of corruption, alter The Constitution to the extent necessary for the purpose and provide for related matters.”

It deals with gifts, a code of conduct, powers of the commission to investigate/summons, registering of interests, declaration of financial affairs, inquiries, protection from lawsuits and blind trust, among other areas.

The Bill made it through the House of Assembly in 2020 as expected, but failed to get the necessary two-thirds majority in the Senate when, during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, at least four senators left the sitting abruptly, two abstained and others were absent. There was also robust public discussion on the Bill as to who should declare assets.

Declarations

In reintroducing the Bill, Attorney General Dale Marshall pointed out that two changes were made and the new Bill amounted to what should be a “happy median”. The main change is that only newly-appointed judges, along with their spouses and children, will have to complete declarations of their assets and liabilities before taking office, and that declarations of people in high office will not be published in the public domain.

The same protection for existing judges also applies to the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General.

He said last year: “We’ve come here today to present this bill one more time to the people of Barbados, a piece of legislation which, in a vast majority of instances, replicates the one presented a few years ago.”

Marshall said two areas had been of major concern in the Upper Chamber – that high court judges were excluded and some reports, if published, could make public the declarations of those involved.

“It is not a case where we like judges or don’t want to do anything against them. We cannot negatively affect the terms and conditions of existing judges. The law clearly sets that out.

“We have now reached a happy median. It may be inconvenient, but it is an inconvenient truth. It’s the law as it stands. As we chose judges we’ve had to choose people of the highest integrity. I don’t feel we need to lose sleep about corrupt practices on the bench.”

The declaration of assets and liabilities, vetting and truth verification requirements will also apply to others such as permanent secretaries, chairpersons of the island’s 56 state-owned enterprises, chief executive officers of Government agencies and magistrates. Marshall admitted there had been an oversight on the issue of publishing of assets and the issue had been ventilated before Parliament’s Select Committee.

The Democratic Labour Party was not totally in favour with all aspects of the legislation and questioned the rationale of having the Integrity Commission sending its reports on its activity to the Prime Minister asserting that as a conflict with its proposed transparency. The reports should go directly to Parliament or to the President as suggested by the party president Dr Ronnie Yearwood, who added “you can’t be sending reports to the Prime Minister, who is supposed to be covered by the very integrity legislation. . .”

Andy Armstrong, chair of the watchdog Integrity Group, said the country’s international reputation hung on the Senate vote as only Barbados and Syria were without such anti-corruption legislation.

He said: “This is certainly not great company to be in and I know that international organisations and big multinational companies, if they see that we do not have any integrity legislation, will have some concerns even though they still come here.

Political observers Dr George Belle, Peter Wickham and Devaron Bruce, were all agreed the Bill would be passed the second time around and their prediction came true.

Just as the debate died down, it was re-ignited, fanned by the revelation in a theft case that one of the items stolen from the constituency office of Deputy Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw was a $7 500 cheque made out from a Government contractor to her.

It elicited a response from Bradshaw regarding what she described as a “sniff test” being carried out in relation to the cheque, a contribution to her charity. She found support from Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley who, during her national address this month, attempted to quell the public’s questioning of what happened to the Integrity in Public Life proclamation.

Apart from dismissing the notion that Bradshaw should be fired, Mottley said it was only five months since the Bill was put in place and it required establishing a new commission and setting up any entity took “considerable time”. This, she said, is particularly so in small states where “the same people are involved in multiple jobs and activities”.

“We’ve seen it with the establishment of the Anti-Corruption Authority, we’ve seen it with the new Civil Aviation Authority,” she said, adding that the entities were not fully operational 18 months later.

29. Oh dear, the verbosed one is triggered once again.

30. @ Enuff on January 14, 2024 at 11:28 AM:

Rather be “verbose” any day than be a blatant LIAR with the ingrained habit of embellishing your CV, with fictitious work achievements.

There was absolutely no need for telling such lies about yourself.

To impress whom? Another Bajan liar like yourself?

Since then your integrity on this blog has been shattered, totally!

Now you are regarded merely as a political pimp and red-ass-licker.

31. Diary of a madman Avatar
    Diary of a madman

Diary of a madman (or scam alert)
    01/14/2024
    Awoke full or energy. Searched the papers for the next big scam/con. There is a story about steal houses, but that is an old con/scam. Not interested but must give full marks for how slick that scam was.

01/15/2024
    This year is really hustling. I would swear that yesterday was New Year’s day. Was I unconscious for 14 days.

Full of energy, searching for this week news of a new scam. Am I the only one aware of Mia’s touch. Everything she touches she messes up.

Looks liked she touched Enuff. He/she is one messed up bird.