Prime Minister Mia Mottley, the political animal she is, is probably plotting how best to deflate that bubble of energy the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is befitting from the crossing of the floor by Ralph Thorne. After all a Machiavellian type of politics and leadership defines our politics.

The blogmaster is embarrassed to confess that it is the first time in many years there is the interest to follow some of the debate in the Lower House. The perceived familial arrangement when Joseph Atherley crossed the floor, coupled with a monotonous cadence of delivery did not inspire interest in a public already apathetic about the work ethic and level of integrity demonstrated by the political directorate. Compared to Thorne’s studied and sometimes acerbic interventions, it stokes flashbacks to what many perceive as key elements to good political debate. There will always be the opportunity for a courageous David to draw sympathy in a fight against Goliath.

Already we see former DLPite, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Kerri Symmonds and BLP ‘pitbull’ has been ‘let loose’ on Thorne. Symmonds should keep top of mind social media space is littered with his exploits as a tyre slasher and other uncomplimentary behaviour – read more. A word to the wise should be sufficient.

Two key considerations must apply should Barbadians want to pragmatically assess the current political landscape of Barbados.

• There is no plausible third party option or semblance of one. A contradictory position if we accept that quality representatives must emerge from the very citizens responsible for electing them.
  • The current one party dominance post 2018 has compromised good governance of the country. This should be a concern for all Barbadians.
  • If there is no third party option in the short to medium term, a logical position is to support any attempt to pump life into a struggling DLP while continuing to pursue a third party solution. This is a pragmatic view compared to being ideological and illusional.

Mottley the confirmed political animal will do what she does best, continue to exploit her station in life to extend dominance of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and self interest. The longer she feels comfortable operating in animal mode, her legacy will fall short of achieving stateswoman. Mottley’s reluctance to amend the subvention rule as one example supports the view. In this case it is not always about the money, symbolic gestures can help to trigger fit for purpose behaviours and culture.

Although Thorne stands to lose his seat when the bell is rung by Mottley, there is the period between now and then a moribund DLP – if it chooses – can use the time to clawback credibility from a cynical and apathetic electorate. In the short time Thorne has made his move it gives credence to the view that hope springs eternal.

The blogmaster expects Mottley to respond to Thorne’s demand of the news-feed in the only way she knows.

83 responses to “Awaiting Mottley’s move”

1. The Big Fight

Woman King
    A Warrior

Versus

Thorne
    A Tarrier

NO CONTEST

2. They’ll never take my power, my power, my power
    They feel a way, oh wow (Boma, boma yé)

3. You are never able to discern the underlying issue here of governance concerns by Barbadians. It is always about Mia beating somebody. Then again how can you?

4. Just like a test
    Ju-just like a test
    I cram to understand you

Is Barbados is a bit like South Africa, USA and Palestine?

5. Ban ‘eee nuh!!!

Send ‘e where ac gone…

6. At the end of the day it does not matter the international reputation she has been able to develop, what matters is her ability to make things better for Barbados now and set the table for the future.

We have a poor public transit.

We have inadequate garbage collection.

We are short on secondary and tertiary waste management.

Water generation and distribution is a challenge.

The national insurance scheme problems have been kicked down the road by successive governments.

Government regulators struggle to regulate the utilities.

Integrity Legislation promised by successive governments for 50 years not operationalized.

DEBT!
    Should the blogmaster continue?

7. Weee shall not be surprised when Donald Trump suddenly dies.

For the Deep State or Permanent Government is even less inclined than previously to have a sometimes maverick put a monkey wrench into their games, or even threaten to again.

For them a scenario now worthy of a response greater than Russiagate where Clinton acolytes within the CIA concocted a story which started a war and derailed Trump the first time around.

Weee are also unsurprised by the same linear discussion here.

That whatever happens within the local political petri dish cannot possible have any relationships to for instance ……..

The victory of George Galloway in the recent UK by-election, the fear of all three major parties, he having secured more votes than Labour, Conservatives and Liberals combined, in a safe labour seat for decades.

The irrational response of Sunak with more police state measures, threats.

Many more indications that something much more profound than Thorne could be brewing.

Approaching the question as to whether there is.

Or the whole panoply of external forces which maybe impinging on a political village always presumed to be strictly internally determined, and nothing but!

Is there something more profound within the political ether?

8. WITH ALL RESPECT TO BAJANS EVERYWHERE …….
    THERE IS CONTEMPORARY CHAOS AND CONFUSION EVERYWHERE!
    BOTH AT HOME AND ABROAD.
    AND YES, IT IS UNACCEPTABLE TO US OF CERTAIN VINTAGE
    WHEN WE WERE POORER, ALL THINGS WERE BETTER MANAGED AND ORDERED

NOW HAVING BEEN “EDUCATED” AND ENLIGHTENED, EVERYTHING OUGHT TO BE BETTER. THERE OUGHT TO BE PROGRESS BUT WE RETROGRESS.

BUT……THERE IS CONTEMPORARY CHAOS AND CONFUSION EVERYWHERE!
    BOTH AT HOME AND ABROAD.

IT SEEMS THAT WHETHER WE LIKE IT OR NOT, THE WRITING IS DEFINITELY ON THE WALL. ANTIOCHUS EPIPHANES-ESQUE PERSONEL ARE DESTROYING ALL COUNTRIES.
    INCLUDING BARBADOS…….ESPECIALLY BARBADOS!

WHETHER WE LIKE IT OR NOT THE WORLD IS PREPARING FOR THE RISE OF ANTIOCHUS, THE MAN WHO THE ANTIOCHUS EPIPHANES-ESQUE PERSON OF THE SECOND HALF OF DANIEL 8 & DANIEL 11 PREFIGURES THAT WILL COME TO SOLVE THE PROBLEMS OF THE WORLD

THE CLASS CLOWNS WILL NOW SCOFF AND DISPLAY THEIR INTOLERANCE, BUT PSALM 2 SAYS EMPHATICALLY THAT THE LORD WILL LAUGH THEM TO SCORN AND HAVE THEM IN DERISION. AND SO DO I, ALL LIKE NOW.

THE CLASS CLOWNS MAY NOW ENTER STAGE RIGHT

9. At the end of the day it does not matter the international reputation she has been able to develop, what matters is her ability to make things better for Barbados now and set the table for the future.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    In actual fact, Boss…
    Neither of these options REALLY matter.

Bushie has lots of admiration for the PM’s political acuity.

Therefore Bushie is very surprised at her naivety in putting serious store in her seeming international popularity.
    ALL OF HSTORY have shown that BLACK people who demonstrate outstanding skills which attract the admiration of the albino-centric world, have ended up either dead, imprisoned, ruined or shredded.

Apart from Mandela who turned his back and walked away, very few have been able to escape such an end…

From Bob Marley to Bill Crosby to Toussaint Louverture, the albino-centrics have almost ALWAYS found ways to neutralize outstanding black talents… what has changed?

A word to the wise is sufficient…

With regards to ‘making things better for Barbados’…
    Bushie explained LONG AGO, that this is now water under the bridge. We passed that particular point some time ago ….and Froon celebrated this, by installing the illogical, ugly monument on the Garrison.

The REAL mission for Barbados (and for this world) now is one of SURVIVAL.
    But more importantly, it is about coming to understand the ACTUAL PURPOSE of this life experience on Earth, and in Brassbados, …. and then taking appropriate SENSIBLE action… But THAT is a whole DIFFERENT story…

As bright as they are, neither the PM or our dear friend Pacha, are in any position to meaningfully address the PRESENT NEEDS of our local brass section…

Unfortunately…
    The downward trajectory is terminal Boss….
    There is grass at the bottom, and it awaits our donkeys…

10. “GP” and “Bush Tea” may be two devout religious end-world times believers, but they are not prophets per se. Prophets are God’s messengers.

GEN 17:9 And God said unto Abraham, Thou shalt keep my covenant therefore, thou, and thy seed after thee in their generations.

GEN 17:10 This is my covenant, which ye shall keep, between me and you and thy seed after thee; Every man child among you shall be circumcised.

GEN 17:11 And ye shall circumcise the flesh of your foreskin; and it shall be a token of the covenant betwixt me and you.

11. David
    As usual, no context! Stuupse.

12. These political ‘discussions’ are becoming ‘a bit confusing’ to me. On one hand, we acknowledge and argue the fact that both BLP and DLP are members of a ‘duopoly.’ That both political parties share political, ideological and philosophical similarities. While in Opposition, they accuse each other of corruption, which, in addition to promising the introduction of integrity and freedom of information legislation, are their campaign mantras. However, failing to address breaches of financial regulations consistently highlighted in AudGen annual reports; or convene PAC to investigate those issues; or refusing to implement ITAL or FOIA, can be reasonably interpreted as deliberate attempts to protect each other. And, the ease with which a ‘loyal, committed’ DEM today, could switch allegience to become a ‘loyal, committed’ BEE tomorrow, while being warmly welcomed and embraced by members, is perhaps a defining characteristic of the ‘duopoly.’ Thorne’s ‘crossing the floor’ and immediately joining the DLP, is a perfect example. Yet, on the other hand and under those circumstances, the blogmaster is suggesting since there aren’t any ‘third party options,’ we “should support any attempt to pump life into a struggling DLP….” So, we should ‘resuscitate’ the DLP, (perhaps because he and a few others believe Ralph Thorne is the ‘saviour’ of the DLP and Barbados)….. and continue to ‘go around the political mullberry bush.’

13. Donks, Gripe,and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe,and Josh

Bushie what wrong with the monument at the Garrison. It does help de Sandy Lane Gold Cup look international enough on tv. The one thing missing is a small swing gate to get past the horse rails onto the pasture. Otherwise, its fine.

You know is Froon who permit the popular night racing. People like you and the caucasians hate Froon. Blacks through history were taught to hate themselves. At the very least read Malcom X. Dislike of blackness still popular 200 years after slavery done. Bajans only start liking Sandiford on his death bed. Froon luck may change.

Check out Dighton Mottley the brass bowl food man in the park. He grand child bossing the whole island . Think about it . Who neutralize Bob Marley talents. Marley more popular now than before he dead. Mind you he was popular asf in he short life. He estate and he children have Rihana level coin. He breed a trailer load of women.

You cant put Toussaint and , Mandela in the same line as perv Bill Cosby. Choops! Man go add to your museum bits and pieces . Stop talking shiite.

14. @Artax

Is that what you conclude from the blog? You need to reread. There is no potential third party option for citizens, however, our system of government requires an elected opposition in parliament to trigger working committees especially the PAC. What is so difficult to understand that if there is no budding third party option at the moment we have to do the best with what is before us? It is about being practical.

15. @Enuff

As a longstanding member of the BU family we know where you sit comfortably…LOL.

16. WHAT HAPPENED TO DAVID COMMISSONG?

MIA HAVE HIM QUIET AS A CHURCH MOUSE.

IT’S AMAZING THAT A MAN WHO WAS SO PRO AFRICAN AND FOR THE POOR HAS SOLD HIS SOUL FOR PIECES OF SILVER THESE LAST 5 YEARS.

I MUST SAY TWICE IN THE LAST 2 YEARS MIA MOTTLEY HAS BEEN SINGLED OUT TO ME. FIRST TIME IN TIJUANA MEXICO A BLACK AMERICAN BROUGHT HER UP AND HOW IMPRESSED HE WAS WITH HER.

SECOND IS LAST SATURDAY HERE IN TANZANIA AFRICA A LOCAL BROUGHT HER UP AND SHARED SAME SENTIMENTS.

IF SHE COULD PUT THAT SAME ENERGY AND GET RID OF THE WHITE SHADOWS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND AND MAKE LIFE MUCH BETTER FOR BLACKS ON THE 2X3 ISLAND I WOULD SHARE SAME SENTIMENTS.

17. Gladys Shepherd Avatar
    Gladys Shepherd

Trying to confirm whether the most black businesses ever established was in the 1970s ie soon after our independence in 1966. When did the numbers start contracting. If any black businesses were established after Republic Day 2022

18. Surprise that both Bushie and Pacha can be wrong on the same post.
    Pacha: My fear is the reverse of yours. Right wing nutters are more likely to take action than any other group.

Bushie: Mia is no threat to the status quo. She would reinforce, support and prolong the system for her own benefit. She is safe

19. @Gladys

In the retail sector for sure there was massive consolidation with the arrival of big supermarkets in the 90s and hardware stores. Many village shops and mom and pop operations shutdown.

20. @Baje
    Mia successfully neutralize possible threats by giving them ‘big jobs’. Book smarts isn’t street smarts.

The hypocrites here congratulated when they should have cautioned.

There is no recovery for the island.

21. The hypocrites here congratulated when they should have cautioned.

There is no recovery for the island.

Xxxxxxxxxx

AGREE WITH YOU 100 PERCENT.

LEARNING TO SURVIVE AND THRIVE OUTSIDE THE 2 X 3 ISLAND GIVES ONE A DIFFERENT PROSPECTIVE.

22. @Donks, Gripe, and especially Josh
    OK Boss, Bushie is glad that someone likes the Satanic monument…
    It is an ill wind that blows nobody good..

But yuh wrong about Froon. …Bushie does NOT hate the Froon, the bushman just vex as shiite that he wasted such a PERFECT opportunity to bring NEEDED change bout here…
    Night racing may be your pinnacle of achievement, BUT the CAHILL fiasco was particularly galling (as Sandi would have said..) to Bushie…

@ OG
    When our PM gets around to pushing her REAL agenda, and when it becomes clear that it is at odds with the albino-centric focus…. the dilemma outlined above will become clearer…

The Empress wants to push the idea of the albino-centrics SHARING their illegally acquired wealth with the VICTIMS of their centuries of greed…

Where do you think this will end..? in a Nobel prize?

23. @ Gladys Shepherd,

My mother used to be in awe of the great Erma Rock.

John or Bush Tea, could fill you in. Sadly, that generation who can recall when black businesses were pushing the boundaries have all but past away. The current crop of poor black men, feel they are doing well if they have a government job, working for Cow Williams, Chefettes, KFC, the tourist industry and/or working for anyone who is not black.

Jordan’s supermarket is perhaps the largest black owned Bajan business? Our young people have only a few examples of sizeable black businesses on the island. Never mind, at least we are now a republic.

https://nationnews.com/2017/02/28/black-history-month-emergence-of-black-merchants/#

24. PM Mottley is attracting strident criticism more than in the past.

@enuff you are taking note?

25. Mia successfully neutralize possible threats by giving them ‘big jobs’

You give them too much credit, they were never threats, just mendicants

What really sets Mia apart is her army (all incompetent) of sycophants, disciples and plain old opportunists she has placed in strategic positions throughout the country:

The deputy lapdog who actually thinks she will one day be PM
    The snooty minister in her office, whose previous job was running the Marijuana licensing authority and who does nothing other than talk down to Bajans
    The weather woman, the frigging weather woman is a cabinet secretary (her responsibilities, We Gatherin 1 (cancelled) and 2)
    The wife of a Minister with no public health experience chosen as Executive chairman of the hospital (fired after near mutiny at the QEH). They just had to abolish the post.
    The unqualified inexperienced QC alum she had to fire from the top technical post in the Minisitry of Agriculture
    The team leading the Ministry of the public service that have essentially made principals play musical chairs with 0 days notice before school starts and who knows what other shenanigans they get up to with appointments
    The Chief education officer who has a body woman that is actually the person qualified for the job
    A Medicinal marijuana licensing Authroity that has received yearly transfers of 3 million to do nothing other than social media advertising, when they know international banks will not allow access to the banking system for any business involved in marijuana.
    A public affairs department run by her campaign personal assistant
    The BTMI run by Bizzy ting, that even Petra could not stomach to work for and Jens left without another job lined up
    The communications opportunists everywhere you look stopping just short of lying to the public
    The missions to Kenya, Ghana, UAE, Ireland, Cuba, Panama for whatever reason

Man I done

26. Barbados flagged ship hit in the Red Sea. There have been casualties.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

Apparently the ship,True Confidence was “once” owned by US firm. It was sold a few years ago to a Liberia entity, and operated by a Greek subcontractor. It was possibly a case of mistaken identity, though it was headed for Saudai Arabia port.

28. That’s not ‘what I conclude from the blog,’ David. I was awaiting a response before continuing. We’ve had an Opposition in Parliament prior to the 2018 ‘election anomaly,’ and were unable “to trigger working committees especially the PAC.” To be fair, Atherley tried his best, as Opposition Leader and chairman of the PAC, when that committee commenced investigating Transport Board. That ‘died a sudden death.’ Yes, I agree “there is no budding third party option at the moment.” However, ‘saying,’ “we have to do the best with what is before us,” is essentially ‘admitting defeat,’ while “being practical” could involve ‘using every means necessary’ to encourage the establishment of a viable ‘3rd party,’ provide people a forum whereby they could discuss national issues and viable, alternative, progressive socio-economic policies, implementation methods and benefits to be derived therefrom. A forum where people could come together and exchange ideas and solutions to solve problems in health, education, law enforcement, agriculture or the economy. Try to remove the mindset that contributing to Barbados’ development, means one has to be affiliated with the BLP or DLP.

29. We can agree to disagree Artax, you are missing the point.

30. David
    You do what you have to do.

31. OG 11:01

We agree wid you.

And yes, Galloway is the leader of the fledgling Workers’ Party.

Indeed, Sunak accused him of links with several far right formations including the leader of the Brexit movement and a rabidly right wing racist party.

He considers that he agrees with them on one or two issues only. While burnishing credentials as a life long socialist.

But yes, White, far rightist forces, are far more likely to capture the polity given that they feel they have everything to lose. This has been our long held central narrative.

However, in the by-election, if followed you’d find that the main things were around issues of the genocide of the Palestinians, given the high number of Arabs in the constituency. And with this cudgel Galloway run away with victory.

But yes, these issues are complex. But in the main, you’re quite right, no pun intended.

32. I came across a particular ‘show’ while perusing YouTube. Its host, who appears to be a non-national, is accompanied by a panel comprising of 2 disgruntled former BEES and 2 current DEMS. The guests I’ve seen so far, seem to be DLP sympathisers. Again, based on what I’ve seen the few times I watched that show, its agenda appears to be promoting the Opposition Leader and the DLP. They profess to be ‘opposition,’ yet, other than criticisms, I haven’t heard any of them present any alternative, innovative, progressive policies for the socio-economic development of Barbados and Barbadians. ‘Saving Barbados’ means voting the DLP ‘into power’ next elections. The show will continue, this time praising and defending the ‘government,’ while a NEW show will emerge with a similar format, but hosted by ‘BLPites and apologists.’

33. @Artax The Marcia Weekes Show can be likened to a pressure movement which has its place in a Barbados where one party won all the seats in the last two general elections plus a by election. Then factor the poor state of the DLP.

34. Perhaps you’re the person who is “missing the point.” I’ve seen a contribution to this forum, encouraging people who ‘have dirt on the BLP,’ to post such to an email address with Barbados Underground included. Assuming it is associated with BU, a message encouraging Barbadians to present ideas beneficial to their development or the establishment of a ‘3rd party’ could’ve been pursued instead. Perhaps you’ve now become disappointed with the BLP and decided to use your forum to promote the DLP, under the guise that ‘dem un got nuh 3rd party.’ So, in the mean time, rather endeavour to assist in the development and establishment of an alternative, we prefer to switch parties and complain. What examples are providing for youngsters, by continuing to believe ‘we can’ do nuh better?’

35. Has the PM MIA been absent for a significant time of the important Estimates debate? Asking for a friend.

36. @Artax

Has the blogmaster prevented you from posting pro government stuff.

Has the blogmaster prevented you from submitting an article for discussion to air alternate views?

37. Rasshole Fedup Avatar
    Rasshole Fedup

These RH black house slaves are just no good. What do we have after nearly 60 years of black rule….wastage, corruption, manipulation of simpletons, political thieves with yachts, offshore villas, penthouses in US and offshore accounts in the name of proxies. @David, the woman beater former tire slasher should speak to the vaccine scandal of his leader and the Whiteoak party the same night they won the elections as well as who got a cut.

38. We had the MoH who retired from active service having received Honourable designation. The vaccine saga occurred under his watch. It seems he decided to retreat and surrender.

39. Civil Servant Avatar

@Artax, is your conscience of knowing right from wrong so corrupted by the big mouth drinks that you would condemn any person who speaks against the BLP. Have you no shame or care for the future of Barbados. How could you ignore the vaccine scandal and the $54M paid to whiteoak friends of Avinash.

40. Perhaps the best neutral position is to support neither BLP or DLP.
    Supporting DLP with 1 MP and 2 Senators is a hiding onto nothing.
    Supporting BLP is like having a good dictator who ignores complaints.
    Parliamentary Politics is just a spectator sport to subdue the masses.

41. Civil Servant, it’s clear you’re either an idiot or comprehension is not one of your strong points. Please indicate WHERE in my contribution I mentioned ANYTHING that suggest I’ve condemned any person who speaks against the BLP. Please explain how any reasonble, rational thinking person could objectively interpret my comments relative to “encouraging Barbadians to present ideas beneficial to their development or the establishment of a 3rd party could’ve been pursued instead,” to mean, according to you, I “have no shame or care for the future of Barbados?” If advocating for a NEW political direction by encouraging the establishment of a NEW POLITICAL PARTY that chooses to articulate ALTERNATIVE, PROGRESSIVE, INNOVATIVE policy initiatives, rather than continue with switching from D to B, to D to B, while PRETENDING to be ‘punching above our weight,’ and ‘hard pressed’ to identify any progressive social policies since ‘free’ education, national health service, tenantry freehold act and NIS……. then I plead guilty for not caring for Barbados’ future.

42. @ Civil Servant March 6, 2024 at 4:13 pm

“How could you ignore the vaccine scandal and the $54M paid to whiteoak friends of Avinash.”

You sound like a person with ‘Insider knowledge’.

This was one of the largest kickbacks in the form of Finder’s Fees the poor taxpayers of Barbados have been saddled with.

If only the Thorn(e) now in the seat of the LoO could pursue this massive scam he would be doing a world of good for the Nation Barbados.

43. David, I believe your March 6, 2024 3:49 pm contribution is a response to my comment. It’s obvious you either do not read a contribution in its entirety, or you read, yet you do not understand what you read.

44. You all seem to be very distant from the realities of the real world, There is going to be a price to be paid for all of those who were involved in the democide – the weaponization of the Mrna gene therapy otherwise known as a vaccine which to date at a low estimate has killed 20 million people worldwide and injured several million. There is data on every PM, Assistant, Educator, Doctor, Nurse and the list goes on who forced these “Vaxeens” EAU without informed consent on unknowing and unwitting patients. I just want to let you all know that all of wunna who were involved in this mass murder campaign had better WAKE UP because the bell is going to be tolling soon.

45. BTMI busiest lady embracing Africa.

46. What opposition? All I see is a talking doll called “Thorn” with our Supreme Leader’s hand stuck underneath it. If there’s one thing I recognise, it’s the voice of our beloved Supreme Leader.

One Puppet for the Supreme Leader on her golden Throne
    In the Land of Barbados where the Shadows lie.
    One Puppet to rule them all, One Puppet to find them,
    One Puppet to bring them all, and in the darkness bind them
    In the Land of Barbados where the Shadows lie.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@MTA
    The RH contract with White Oaks, almost like the CBL Act, was proudly displayed on the Barbados Parliament website. An initial ‘act of transparency’, which clearly spelled out the “success fees” payable, when that success was purely dependant on the NIS and CBB saying ‘yeah’. That met the described threshold of success.
    You will note similar players in both.
    You don’t require inside information, you know both included large payments well beyond the stated recipients.
    CBL ‘got messy’ for after using BDD$124 M of taxpayer funds the collateral lands got “fucked up”, so thus far the taxpayers don’t even own the land after paying the guarantees. It is in some closed session of the courts.
    White Oaks was much cleaner. For while all were looking at the debt restructuring, WO was making out like bandits with the full blessing of the newly elected GoB. The “success fees” were in addition to a hefty monthly retainer, and generous expenses.
    But “they were worth it”, just ask those with whom the 2 WO partners had to share the success fees.

48. Despite what the internet is saying, Trump does not favour Christ

Them say them love
    And them live in hate
    Them say no steal
    And them a thief your head
    Them say no lust
    And them live like a whore
    Me never hear such a thing before

Me say see them there
    They favor sheep
    But them a wolf
    See them there
    Them favor Christ
    But them an anti Christ

Man shall be like a tree
    That is planted by the riverside
    By their fruits you can see
    A macka tree never bear no fruit

49. William Skinner Avatar

We took one third party half seriously in the post Independence period and it was made up of the BLPDLP family. Before that period , there was another one, with seats in Parliament , and that too was made up of BLPDLP family.
    In one of the last two elections, an independent candidate got more votes than any of the third parties.
    In the 2018 elections, a rural independent candidate got more votes than the DLP candidate. That candidate had previously contested the constituency as a DLP candidate.
    Perhaps , seriously well managed independent candidates, may pose more of a threat to the BLPDLP family.

50. @William

Civic minded individuals are aware of the benefits to supporting quality candidates. Unfortunately somewhere along the way the perception of the duopoly overshadowed individuals and as they say the rest is history. Probably has something to do with the reluctance of good people to offer themselves to public service. It calls for enormous sacrifice to be a public service in a modern world. The irony is political parties are not recognized in the constitution and parliament.

The question then becomes, how do we turn it around.