I would like to emphasise that the expansion of the BRICS group is causing a turmoil in the countries of the West and above all in the USA…

Submitted by Isidoros Karderinis

At the dawn of 2024, from January 1, five more countries became full members of the BRICS, a transnational association, which until then consisted of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, and thus became BRICS+ (BRICS Plus), totalling ten countries.

Egypt which is located in northeast Africa and partly on the Sinai Peninsula, which is an isthmus to southwest Asia, thus making it a transcontinental country, it is considered a major power in North Africa, the Mediterranean Sea, the Islamic world and the Red Sea. A populous – with 104.5 million inhabitants – historical Arab country with a long and very rich cultural heritage and at the same time the most powerful military country in Africa that controls the strategic Suez Canal. Egypt also has huge reserves of natural gas, estimated at 2,180 cubic kilometres and Egyptian liquefied natural gas is exported to many countries.

Ethiopia is a country located in the Horn of Africa, at the eastern end of the continental African. With a population of 107.5 million inhabitants, according to an official estimate for 2023, it is the most populous Mediterranean state-i.e. that has no sea- in the world. A poor but rapidly developing country with great geo strategic weight in Africa, which apart from its agricultural production which contributes 41% of GDP, also has the largest water resources in the entire continent. Ethiopia is the largest producer of coffee in Africa and the second largest producer of corn.

Iran is a Middle Eastern country in Southwest Asia. It has a population of 88.5 million according to the United Nations average estimate for 2022. Iran is considered a major regional power and occupies a prominent position in matters of global energy policy and economics, mainly as a result of its large oil and natural gas reserves. Iran was the eighth largest oil producing country in the world in the year 2022 with 3,822,000 barrels per day. At the same time. it has strong armed forces and a large scientific staff, which are stationed in key parts of the planet such as the Arabian Sea and the Persian Gulf.

Saudi Arabia is a country on the Arabian Peninsula, occupying most of it, about 80%, and which is washed by the Persian Gulf to the northeast and the Red Sea to the west. According to an official estimate for 2022 its population is 32.2 million inhabitants, 30% of whom are non-Saudi citizens (2013 estimate). Saudi Arabia’s economy is based on oil, from which approximately 75% of budget revenues and 90% of exports come. Saudi Arabia in the year 2022 came second in the world after the USA with a production of 12,136,000 barrels per day and holds 17% of the total proven oil reserves on a global scale.

The United Arab Emirates, abbreviated UAE, is a federal state consisting of seven emirates, at the southeastern tip of the Arabian Peninsula. The UAE is washed by the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman, and borders Saudi Arabia and the Sultanate of Oman. They have a population of 9.3 million according to an official estimate for 2020. The country is rich in oil and natural gas deposits and its people enjoy an income comparable to that of developed western countries. The UAE was the seventh largest oil producing country in the world in the year 2022 with 4,020,000 barrels per day.

As for Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, which are among the wealthiest countries by GDP per capita, they have continued to post economic growth despite global uncertainties, including high interest rates, inflation and geopolitical tensions, as they focus on diversifying their economies.

Saudi Arabia’s economy grew according to the IMF by 8.7% in 2022 – the highest annual growth rate among the world’s 20 largest economies – and by just 0.8% for all of 2023. On the other hand, the economy of United Arab Emirates grew by 3.4% in 2023, with oil GDP growing at 0.7% and non-oil GDP at 4.5%, supported by strong performances in tourism, real estate, construction, transport, manufacturing and increasing capital expenditure.

With this entrance, therefore, the group, which appears as the rival force in the G7, now expands in the Middle East and includes within its bosom the countries, traditional allies of the West, which now manifest tendencies towards autonomy and of course control a large part of the world’s production of hydrocarbons, further increasing the group’s financial strength.
Thus, the BRICS+ countries collectively now represent 45% of the world’s population with approximately 3.5 billion people, a third of the Earth’s solid surface, 44% of total global oil production as well as almost 1/3 of global GDP, amounting to approximately 29 trillion dollars, having surpassed in purchasing power parity terms the G7, the group of the seven most powerful economies of the developed world.

At the same time there are at least thirty other developing world nations that have already expressed a keen interest in joining the group. Among these countries are Algeria, Congo, Bolivia, Venezuela, Indonesia and Kazakhstan, which are not rich countries, but possess enormous mineral wealth, and would very much like to break free from the noose of Western multinational corporations and dollar.

So, in this direction, the countries of the BRICS group have created the New Development Bank (NDB) since 2014, while a large part of the trade between them is done in national currencies and not in dollars. They are also moving forward with discussions and elaborations on the creation of a common currency (slowed down, however, by Indian objections). And they are still looking for solutions alternatives of international transaction to SWIFT. As a result, all these unfolding movements gradually lead to a de-dollarisation of the global economic system.
At the next BRICS+ summit to be held in October 2024 in Kazan, capital of Tatarstan, a Russian city located at the confluence of the Volga and Kazanka rivers in central European Russia, other countries – energy giants – may join the group and this will have as the effect of increasing the control of the global energy market from the 40% that it is today to a higher percentage.

In closing, I would like to emphasise that the expansion of the BRICS group is causing a turmoil in the countries of the West and above all in the USA, which are proceeding with knee-jerk reactions, with the mere idea only of the definitive loss of their global leadership, and is a real milestone towards inevitable historical course of formation of a new intercontinental world order, a polycentric world.

Curriculum vitae

Isidoros Karderinis was born in Athens in 1967. He is a journalist, novelist and poet. He studied economics and completed postgraduate studies in tourism economics. His articles have been published in newspapers, magazines and websites around the world. His poems have been translated into English, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Swedish, Romanian, Bulgarian and Albanian and published in poetic anthologies, literary magazines and literary newspaper columns. He has published eight books of poetry and three novels in Greece. His books have been translated and published in the United States, Great Britain, Italy and Spain.

Social media
Facebook: Karderinis Isidoros
Twitter: isidoros karderinis
Linkedin: ISIDOROS KARDERINIS
Gettr: ISIDOROS KARDERINIS

216 responses to “BRICS+: AN IMPRESSIVE ENLARGEMENT”

1. Terror is the poor man’s war, war is the rich man’s terror.

2. Scramble for Africa V2.0 Avatar
    Scramble for Africa V2.0

Smells like Bullshit..
    European Heads of State (like Italy’s far-right bird Giorgia Meloni) are saying that they are strengthening relationships becoming closer to Africa for mutually beneficial purposes.
    I smell a rat.
    A dirty stinking rat…
    Europeans are pirates renown for parasitical 2 faced self serving double speak with divide to rule tactics dirty tricks from the book of hook and crook. African leaders are known to dance to their tune in return for aid monies.

3. @ John on January 29, 2024 at 10:10 AM said:
    “You can’t love the 3 dead US soldiers, all you can do is to remember the fact they gave their lives out of love.”

Now here is the perfect alibi for Israel- with the backing of Biden- to declare war and bomb Iran.

We shall see if that Israel- behaving like the proverbial bully in the Palestinian school playground- is really a top fighting dog.

Or has their god Yahweh really forgotten them as it did during their holocaust in Europe and as it did with the Jewish nemesis Jesus on the cross?

There wasn’t any second guessing when it came to Iraq and Libya.

Why go after small fish and proxies like the Houthis and Hezbollah.
    Let the ‘real’ war games begin against Iran!

Putin is expecting the creation an alibi to invade Ukraine in the upcoming Spring.

4. World Peace in this lifetime Avatar
    World Peace in this lifetime

@Tron, in year 6 of the New Order
    Let’s hope Mia becomes the next leader of the UN and channels her superpowers to achieve World Peace in this lifetime.

5. @Miller

How does one justify bombing Iran when the many skirmishes we are seeing in the region is as a result of USA stance on the Israel Hamas conflict? Should Iran be held responsible for all anti Israel hostilities?

6. Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself Avatar
    Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself

“Should Iran be held responsible for all anti Israel hostilities?”

Israel should be held responsible for all Anti-Israel hostilities.

Problem is, excuses for wars are based on bent propaganda of warmongers.

Instead of stopping genocide, the West is providing cover to Israel, giving them free reign to kill at will.

Bob Marley & The Wailers Hypocrites Lyrics:
    Dip, for diplomatic / Hyp, for hypocratic / Dry, for dry-land tourist / Top, for Topper Norris! / See the hypocrites, dem a galang deh …

Who’s Topper Norris ?
    its a generic term for high ranking people

7. Hitler did not kill any Jews… on January 29, 2024 at 10:18 AM said:

Here’s the joint
    The point was..
    26,000+ Palestinians deserve more love and empathy than 3 deaded (US) soldiers, their families grieve and mourn too

Grasshopper, David and Hitler

Can any of you name 10 of the persons you mean to love and with whom you mean to empathize?

Forget the Americans for the moment!!

Give us names and show us your commitment.

Here is the list of Israelis IDF members who have given their lives and will be forever remembered, not only by their families.

https://www.gov.il/en/departments/news/swords-of-iron-idf-casualties

8. @David on January 29, 2024 at 2:18 PM:

That’s what the pro-Israel politicians in America are calling on Biden to do as a form of revenge.

If Israel is all it pretends to be then-with the blessing of Biden and any overt support from Trump- it should be able to drop a few bombs on Iran to let Khamenei know which god he ought to be serving.

Not even Sunni Saudi Arabia- the Islamic nemesis of Sunni Iran- would get involved by cutting off oil supplies to the West for the sake of the Almighty greenback.

Why do you think Saudi Arabia is so ‘muted’ in its condemnation of Israel’s genocidal acts against the Palestinian people, most of whom are Sunni?

What we should be more concerned about is when China invades Taiwan.

What would Barbados say??

9. Grasshopper, David and Hitler

Here is the site where you can find the names of victims and survivors of the holocaust.

https://www.ushmm.org/remember/resources-holocaust-survivors-victims/database-of-holocaust-survivor-and-victim-names

… and here is the site for the fallen from the Commonwealth War Graves Commission

You can get every name.

https://www.cwgc.org/

10. @ Miller on January 29, 2024 at 3:01 PM said:
    Not even Sunni Saudi Arabia- the Islamic nemesis of Sunni Iran- would get involved by cutting off oil supplies to the West for the sake of the Almighty greenback.

Should read: ‘Shia Iran’ and not Sunni.

11. What would be the international outcome should the USA/Israel hits Iran. If I were Russia, China or North Korea I would see this as an opportunity to make hay whilst the sun shines. All three of those countries are in the crosshairs of the great Satan. It would serve the interests of all three countries plus Iran to form an alliance as a form of deterrence. Nato has a formidable batch of weaponry at its disposal. However its land mass is miniscule. America may have bases throughout the world however they may find themselves spread too thinly. Iran can do some serious damage within its regions and beyond. It would be foolish of Russia, China and North Korea to witness the elimination of Iran and not come to their support. It would give these western devils an even greater opportunity for them to harass and stalk these three powerful nations. It could pick them off one-by-one.

There is a saying: Divided we fall; united we stand.

12. … and here is the list of the Vietnam war dead

https://www.virtualwall.org/iAlpha.htm

… and a list of members of the Union who gave their lives.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Union_military_personnel_killed_in_the_American_Civil_War

13. Iran is the culprit because the USA says so?

14. TLSN on January 29, 2024 at 3:08 PM said:

There is a saying: Divided we fall; united we stand.

… or put another way:

Matthew 12:25
    “And Jesus knew their thoughts, and said unto them, Every kingdom divided against itself is brought to desolation; and every city or house divided against itself shall not stand:”

This is Judeo Christian civilizational logic.

Direct from the Bible.

It is lacking in BRICS+ members.

That’s why Iran is fair game for the US, UK and of course Israel.

The time is not right for Russia and China to lift a finger in support.

Don’t worry, after the Christian part of the Judeo Christian civilizational logic disappears into thin air.

You may get to see Gog and Magog on march.

Any thinking on why North Korea is not yet a member of BRICS+?

15. My money is on the Judeo Christians.

16. The Judeo Christian civilizational logic demands each individual be recognized just as one day God will deal with each individual.

17. Red Card for the BU Troll Avatar
    Red Card for the BU Troll

“Judeo Christians” is another full on racist trope

as touted by Steve Bannon’s Fascism-nationalism for ‘Judeo-Christian Values’ ..

.. as mentioned Islam is just another extension of Abrahamic faiths

18. It may be too fresh for the Palestinian to have a list of all the victims of the current genocide, but I will not hold my tears until a list is publish. And though I regret the death of those killed in earlier wars this does not hurt me as greviously as it does for those being murdered today.

Death natural and unnatural is a part of human life. We cannot resurrect those who have died before but, today, we should try to halt the slaughter of innocents.

If you cannot weep (today) for the murder of innocents, then weep that the human within you is as dead as those killed in World War I & II.

19. @ David on January 29, 2024 at 3:13 PM said:
    “Iran is the culprit because the USA says so?”

Of course not!

Unlike Iraq and Libya, Iran is no walk in any military park.

But we want to see is for Israel to stop the obviously outright bullying of the poor unarmed Palestinian people and take on another military power in their fighting weight class.

Daily carpet bombing of civilians (collective punishment) is just not right and put the Zionist Israelis in the same class as the Nazis who murdered helpless unarmed Jews in Europe.

20. Know their names Avatar
    Know their names

The thousands of Palestinians killed in Israeli attacks on Gaza.

(out of date data as the body count keeps rising daily)

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/longform/2023/11/1/know-their-names-palestinians-killed-in-israeli-attacks-on-gaza

Brits did not / could not kill and wipe out all the white IRA Terrorists during the troubles, let alone kill Irish civilians as they would have been held accountable for human rights breaches.

Their ex-soldiers are still going to Court for murders committed 50 years ago.

Biden has been accused of tacitly supporting IRA terrorists

He downplayed the truth and facts of the information of murdered civilian counts in Gaza, instead of stopping the flow, he keeps giving Israel a pass

21. @Miller

There is a reason why Biden must hesitate to start a war with Iran especially in an election year. It is not so black and white as it is for the Bible thumpers and end timers.

22. @ John on January 29, 2024 at 3:23 PM said:
    “My money is on the Judeo Christians.”

How do you explain the slaughter of thousands of Jews in Western Europe during the Christian reign of the Court of Inquisition?

Hitler was also a Judeo-Christian fascist and was only carrying on the Christian tradition of exterminating apostates and heretics like you (homos and quakers).

23. Who is the only ICJ Judge to vote against all of the ICJ’s measures?

Hint: She comes from Uganda

24. The Biden response Avatar
    The Biden response

“There is a reason why Biden must hesitate to start a war with Iran especially in an election year”

> “Biden vows response at time ‘of our choosing’ after three US troops killed in Jordan drone attack”

My money is on him using his response to gain maximum votes in election campaigning just prior to the 5 nOvemebr election as Warmongering boosts US flag waving jingoism nationalism populism

FYI, there is a comment in your bucket re: names of Palestinians murdered and Biden’s tacit support for Irish Republican terrorists cause

many tanks in advance for you cooperation and effort

25. Miller on January 29, 2024 at 4:02 PM said:

@ John on January 29, 2024 at 3:23 PM said:
    “My money is on the Judeo Christians.”

How do you explain the slaughter of thousands of Jews in Western Europe during the Christian reign of the Court of Inquisition?

Roman Catholic Church.

Antidote … The Reformation, 1519-1648

Guess what, the Inquisition was instituted by the Roman Catholic Church and the Reformation sought to reform that church.

The Bible prophesied the spread of the Jews to the four corners of the earth.

Antisemitism promoted the spread.

26. white not white Avatar

“Hitler was also a Judeo-Christian fascist and was only carrying on the Christian tradition of exterminating apostates and heretics like you (homos and quakers).”

John thinks he’s white
    but whites would think he is black
    impure blood, a mongrel

27. The Biden response on January 29, 2024 at 4:19 PM said:

“There is a reason why Biden must hesitate to start a war with Iran especially in an election year”

China etc has him by the stones.

He is bought and paid for.

May not see another election, but he probably will be the subject of an impeachment.

28. TheOGazerts on January 29, 2024 at 3:43 PM said:

It may be too fresh for the Palestinian to have a list of all the victims of the current genocide, but I will not hold my tears until a list is publish.

Grasshopper

You will never get a list and for two reasons!!

First, a list will give an identity to those who actually died.

Second, better if these dead are just a number

You are crying tears for the undead, just a number!!

The actual dead are just the pawns of Iran used to create the number.

29. stop your crowing and falsities Avatar
    stop your crowing and falsities

After President Biden cast doubt on the Palestinian death toll in Gaza, Palestinian officials released a list of 6747 names.

Geezer should have taken his finger out of his backside to stop mass killing of innocents, but only proved that self appointed world cops are as bent as the mafia gangsters

30. children of Israel are the sons of slaves Avatar
    children of Israel are the sons of slaves

The children of Israel are the sons of slaves
    There are not lily white alabaster

31. … so much for BRICS+

32. @ John on January 29, 2024 at 3:23 PM said:
    “The Bible prophesied the spread of the Jews to the four corners of the earth.
    Antisemitism promoted the spread.”

If Jews can be found all over Earth then please explain why the Jews of Europe look so ‘racially’ different from the Jews of Ethiopia.

Which one is the real McCoy as described in your first (Genesis) book of mythology?

The Jews from Poland or those of Ethiopia?

Can we conclude that the differences arise merely for the same reason(s) the “Christians” from Italy and Poland look ‘different to’ Christians from Barbados, Nigeria, India or even the Philippines?

33. Miller on January 29, 2024 at 6:11 PM said:

@ John on January 29, 2024 at 3:23 PM said:
    “The Bible prophesied the spread of the Jews to the four corners of the earth.
    Antisemitism promoted the spread.”

If Jews can be found all over Earth then please explain why the Jews of Europe look so ‘racially’ different from the Jews of Ethiopia.

Easy!!

Intermarriage.

My grand mother’s grand mother was Sephardic Jew and was coloured.

Not only was she the result of a mixed marriage/s but she married the son of a slave.

So obviously there will be descendants of Abraham of all colours, some bronzed and burnished like me in this corner of the world and others paler and some darker.

I look quite different from the Jews of Ethiopia who themselves are probably well mixed but I am a descendant of Abraham as they are.

Remember what God told Abraham!!

Genesis 15:5
    “And he brought him forth abroad, and said, Look now toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be.”

King James Version (KJV)

Abraham’s seed is to be found in many more people than simply Jews.

I am a descendant, maybe you are too!!

How would this happen other than by mixing with Gentiles in all four corners of the earth where God sent them?

34. jewish population Avatar
    jewish population

The Jewish world population is quite piddling, less than 17,000,000

https://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jewish-population-of-the-world

35. What is the population of persons descended from Abraham?!!

Innumerable!!

36. Did the Biblical Abraham really exist historically? Avatar
    Did the Biblical Abraham really exist historically?

“What is the population of persons descended from Abraham”

Did the Biblical Abraham really exist historically?

The biblical Abraham traveled from Ur of the Chaldees to Canaan in the 18th. century BCE. He traveled on domesticated camels. He interacted with Philistines.

What’s wrong with this picture? Lots! There were no Chaldees (Chaldeans) prior to the 10th. century BCE. There were no domesticated camels in the Levant prior to the 10th. century BCE. There were no Philistines in Canaan prior to the 12th. century BCE.

The obvious answer to your question is, therefore, no. The Abrahamic myths were written in the 7th. century BCE by authors who did not know the history of their land. Their myths were based on the geography they knew in their own time, not at the time they pretended to be writing about.

37. Grasshopper

The 3 names are out days after their deaths, real fresh.

Sargeant William Jerome Rivers, 46
    Specialist Brionna Alexsondria Moffet, 23
    Specialist Kennedy Ladon Sanders, 24

These individuals will be remembered and their deaths duly avenged.

They are all African American who gave their lives in service of their country.

38. Grasshopper

All 3 from Georgia, all 3 black.

What do you think Biden will do?

1. Nothing, they are black
    2. Bomb the shit out of Iran and/or its proxies

He has a big problem, the black vote is going Republican.

Do you think that may prompt him to chose option 2?

39. More Countries dropping their funding on UNRWA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXBlu6J96ro

40. A bit about water

41. “The 3 names are out days after their deaths, real fresh”
    0/1.

Surely, you realize that it is easier to provide the names of 3 soldiers, than it is to provide the names of thousands of women and children who are blown to bits by Isreali weapons..

42. “All 3 from Georgia, all 3 black.

What do you think Biden will do?”

Conspiracy theory alert.
    A better question is ‘what do you think Biden did?’

Just this week Black clergymen were in the news bemoaning the deaths of Palestinians and wanting Biden to take a firm stance against their slaughter.

Now, a few days later we have an event more that could fragment the coalition of clergymen .

I will not attempt to put one and one together to make two, but I know that wickedness walks the land

43. War News: Terrorists kill Civillians Avatar
    War News: Terrorists kill Civillians

Terrorists kill civilians and Israel has crossed that line.

26,751 – now killed
    That’s 20,000 more than when big mouth Biden dismissed truth and was provided names of the dead

Israel’s Complicit Allies in Genocide
    Yank apologists for Israel are now pedantically disputing the word genocide
    instead of morally holding Israel accountable as ruled in Court of Law

They are now stopping aid for refugees forcing them to starve, along with their axes of goose stepping racist white warmongering poodle allies

US Army blame the killing of 3 soldier boys on confusion error, as they thought the incoming drone was one of theirs

Brit Navy blame their incompetence on faulty wiring, when their battleship moved backward instead of forward in the direction of the bow instead of the stern.

Biden the Irish American Terror can go to hell in November

44. Never will I be a defender of this false Israel
    I man am a defender of the real

Yo on the battlefield
    I stand with my sword and my shield
    On the battleground
    Jah army keep holding it down

Hit them with words power and sound (yo)
    You don’t know what you’re getting into (nah)
    They don’t know what we already been through (nah)
    We don’t have no love for the system
    I man couldn’t even pretend to (nah)
    We Jah people clash with the enemy

Positivity must overcome negative energy
    We ya stand firm and at this moment till eternity
    Even if Babylon murder me
    My blood stain will not hurt me now
    My spirit will evolve to complete the word

Jah Jah people be strong when them man reach their worst
    Propaganda lies is their form of seek and search
    What is life really worth

Yo on the battlefield
    On the battleground

When hatred fills the air
    Enough is enough
    But when your evolution is guided
    By a great feeling of doubt
    Don’t wonder what we fighting for
    We fight for truth and rights and more
    Only the strongest will survive
    In this fight and war

Ya want to make sure that your spirit and your mind is pure
    Your slavery and genocide
    Man that’s business that’s usual

Some is only in the streets
    Some is locked up in a cubical
    How can this evil exist
    In a universe so beautiful

Yo its a crying shame to see my people dying on the battlefield
    On the battleground

45. Root the ffers out and wipe them off the face of this earth.

46. @ John on January 29, 2024 at 9:14 PM said:
    “What is the population of persons descended from Abraham?!!
    Innumerable!!”

Come on, Johnny Knox, please stop with your confusing nonsense!
    In a previous post didn’t you ‘count’ the worldwide Jewish population to be less 20 million?

Wouldn’t your copycat claim that the population of people descended from Abram is “innumerable” -like the stars in the Milky Way- make him the ‘Father’ of every human being alive; including the Eskimos, Pygmies, Aborigines but excluding the Neanderthals?

Since you know you are from the ‘seed’ of the mythological Abraham it would be most informative to let us know which of his concubines you are descended from.

Isn’t it highly probable you are descended from that servant girl Hagar which would make you a ‘re-born’ Muslim?

Here is a question for you and your sidekick the religious nutter called GP:

Did Abram’s sojourn in Egypt (pimping his own wife who was also his sister) take place before or after the so-called Exodus?

47. There are 400 million Arabs in the middle east who will claim to be descendants of Abraham through Ishmael.

There will probably be far more descendants through Isaac because many of his descendants were scattered to the corners of the earth.

A very conservative estimate would be way in excess of a billion descendants of Abraham.

… as innumerable as the stars in the sky!!

Noah of course is the ancestor of the whole human race, all 8 or 9 billion of them …. and Adam is Noah’s ancestor!!

So, if the entire human race of 8 to 9 billion people claims Noah as an ancestor, then a billion or more descendants of Abraham is easy to comprehend.

There are only 10 generations from Noah to Abraham.

Genesis 15:5 King James Version (KJV)
    And he brought him forth abroad, and said, Look now toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be.