Is Barbados trapped in a vortex of incompetence?

Chief Education Officer – Dr. Ramona Archer-Bradshaw

In light of today’s fiasco which went horribly wrong at the Springer School earlier today the following comments posted by the blogmaster on the blog Education Transformation – Substance or Smoke? to which Bush Tea replied are instructive.

@Bush Tea

When a society and by extension people lack confidence in the leadership, there will be negative consequences. We can discuss, distill, slice and dice these proposals all we want but if people lack the confidence and complementary self esteem, it will be an academic exercise.

In the land of the blind, a one eye …

It is not that people ‘lack confidence in leadership’.
There is NOTHING that Bajans would like better than to have leaders in whom they can have confidence.

The problem is that the people lack COMPETENCE in leadership…. and even with the most expensive PR in the world, the most rancid of their yard poultry is being forced to lose confidence…

A bunch of emotion-driven ‘leaders’ appealing to party loyalty can only go so far…. Even Santia has now fallen into the trap (with that ill-advised speech a few days ago).
Clearly, these are TOUGH assignments – requiring WISE leadership….

…and Boss, ‘WISE’ has ONLY ONE origin…..

Education Transformation – Substance or Smoke?

Implementation of projects and activities will sometimes go wrong; milestones have to be changed because additional resources maybe required, events outside the control of project management may occur and so on. However, under successive governments and especially the incumbent, the label that Barbados suffers from implementation deficit has grown.

There is one example the blogmaster likes to use to define the ineptness of successive governments starting from the Tom Adams era in the mid-1980s. No it is not the government of the day ignoring Auditor General reports. It is how we have allowed the Zr/Minibus subculture to take root. To the extent it has compromised our once orderly society. An orderly society that differentiated Barbados from Jamaica, Trinidad and the others. In was a characteristic in the 80s which encouraged immigrants from other islands to flock to Barbados to enjoy our quality of life. This is no longer the case.

Here is the question.

If the government cannot bring order to the transportation sector that is responsible for a negative subculture- we see it on our roads daily- where are Barbadians to be infused with the confidence that the largest Cabinet in the history of Barbados can be a successful agent for transformational change?

It is no secret the blogmaster for years has always adopted a cup half full outlook. In recent years it has become difficult to maintain a positive outlook with the level of inertia and incompetence being visited on the people of Barbados by elected officials. The irony is if a general election were to be held next week a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) would probably be reelected.

Here is another question.

Is Barbados trapped in a vortex of incompetence?

163 responses to “Simulated Incompetence”

1. @Artax

The blogmaster remains firm in the view that Inniss done, meaning elective politics.

2. Cutting off one’s nose to spite one’s face is not a winning strategy. One and done is better than having none.

Perhaps, you are missing a great opportunity to provide honest and sensible input to a party.

If all capable people absent themselves from the discussion then the country will continue to have issues on simple items.

3. Why attach history to every comment? If we continue to do so, then those who are currently mismanaging the economy will be given a free ride.

More helpful to the public would be question the veracity of his statements and not quibble about the number of buses we had during the loss decade. He has no responsibility for what happened then.

4. I anticipated such comments. Hence the reason why I withheld certain information.

We should examine historical information and events that either influenced or formed the basis for current developments.
    As such, ‘history will always be attached to certain comments.’

Yearwood’s criticisms of the Transport Board clearly indicated he did not conduct the required research before ‘rushing to the press’ with shiite.

Its 2009-2010 annual report indicated TB required at least 221 buses in operation on a daily basis to adequately and efficiently service all routes.

The ‘last time’ buses were bought was in 2006.
    Rather than purchase passenger omnibuses, the previous administration chose to purchase five (5) Nissan tour coaches instead.

When the DLP left office in May 2018, TB was struggling to keep approximately THIRTY-FIVE (35) buses in operation daily.

To be fair, the current administration embarked on a repair and refurbishment program of the old Mercedes-Benz Marcopolo buses purchased in 2000, 2004 and 2006.

At least 50 old units are still in operation, in addition to 59 BYD electric units, totaling 109.
    And, an average of 55 additional buses are available through the TAP initiative.

Even if we believe Yearwood’s assumption that ‘only 65 buses are on the road’ is true, it is far much better than what occurred previously, when some days only 25 buses were in daily operation.

A CLEAR INDICATION there has been SOME IMPROVEMENT.

The previous administration essentially ‘ran TB aground.’ Those events ‘formed the basis for current developments.’
    Therefore, under the circumstances, Barbadians have the RIGHT to “quibble about the number of buses we had during the loss decade.”

I agree Yearwood “has no responsibility for what happened then.”
    But, he chose to make it his responsibility by making unfounded criticisms, without or purposely ignoring the relevant information.

That’s one of the reasons why I suggested “someone in the DLP’s hierarchy should’ve advised him to do a bit more research before commenting on the issue.”

5. Give Bushie a BREAK Artax…
    The DLP reminds one of ‘Bud and Lou’ of mobile cinema days – when comedy was more of the Ossie Moore type – laughing at idiots.

First of all David Thompson sold his soul to a Devil from Paris, and completely lost any chance at a legacy…. strike 1…
    Then he gave us Froon and Stinkliar who seem to actually THINK that they were Bud and Lou…. one barely mumbling monosyllables (so they mek him PM) while the other one did not understand decimals (so they mek him MoF).

Then Froon – for NO CLEAR REASON built the ugly shiite monument, in the MIDDLE of the Garrison – CLEARLY a satanic alter with the trademark pitchfork now dominating the space…. Bushie TOLD WUNNA dat that was shiite…..

ok – 30 love in their donkeys… but in two short years, Mia’s cracks begin to show, and quick so ….election get called….
    JUST when Bajans decided to vote in an ‘opposition’, The Depeiza woman bring Froon to give big speech… A MAN THAT HAD NOTHING TO SAY AS PM… talking more shiite bout ‘glory days’ (meaning when he was chauffeured around in a big Benz)

…and of course Bajans REMEMBERED….. so WAX!! annudda 30 love in dey tail

Ok… time pass, …big mout Donville gone ‘way and get lock, up for a crime that is ROUTINE in brassbados…

Did you think that the DLP would now SEEK OUT persons of good REPUTE, of proven leadership and of known competence in order to present a BRAND NEW fact to the publick?

NAHHHH!!

…they bring back ‘Don the con’… cause Bajans are BB Jackasses – who deserve NO BETTER… what the Hell would we want someone like Grenville or Mascoll for…?
    What a damned place…
    What a curse!!

6. I know the following information is off topic, but I believe it is important.

A large weather system is approaching the region, with the potential to strengthen into a tropical storm by Wednesday or Thursday this week …… and eventually, a hurricane.

Conditions are conducive for rapid development, since the system is traveling under the wind shear.

The next name on the list is ‘Tammy.’

7. @ Bush Tea on October 15, 2023 at 10:37 PM

Agree with you 💯%.

8. William Skinner Avatar

The Headteacher’s job is to effectively manage the school plant. He or she cannot set any education policy. Educational policy is set by the government via the Ministry of Education. The Minister of Education is the therefore the person directly responsible for ensuring that educational policy is executed via the cabinet and like all cabinet members can only be hired or fired by the Prime Minister,
    In the case of the bungled exercise at Springer, it is quite obvious that as the manager of the plant, the head teacher must be held responsible for what took place under her watch.
    However, if it can be proven that she did inform the Ministry of Education of her intentions, she should have been told that such an exercise was extremely out of step with proper emergency planning. She should have then been given the correct procedures. Those who failed to do so cannot now totally blame the Headteacher exclusively for the incident.
    It all comes done to who knew what was going to take place and when they knew it.
    For several months now, those who take an objective view of what has been happening in the delivery of education, have been puzzled by the role the Chief Education Officer has been playing or given. In many cases she seems to be acting more like a minister and a damage control element . In this particular exercise she has skillfully walked back statements she made immediately after the incident made its way into the public space.

9. The MOE responded to say the school advised there was a drill and not a simulation?

10. So Boss, who should take the blame for having persons working as Principals… and who did not know the difference between a drill and a simulation?

…or for not having clear GUIDELINES in place in 2023, after the kinds of incidents that the Redman lady outlined?

….Bushie?

11. This means that there should have been an outline or some document clearly showing what was going to take place. It is almost strange that any headteacher can just inform the ministry without a clearly defined plan or that the ministry would just say go ahead and do it without requesting a clear plan.
    The fact that drill was used and not simulation is of no real importance.
    Whatever it was , a request should have been made to produce a plan outline or draft.

12. @Bush Tea

Disciplinary action must be taken but we know in the public service performance management is something they make up based on subjective‘standards’.

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bushie
    Please note that after the fiasco, we then learned , that there was a three month old committee that was working to produce such guide lines.
    Quite “ convenient “ information.
    This means that once the ministry was informed, it would have been of utter importance to instruct the headteacher to submit exactly what she was planning to do at the plant.
    The Chief Education Officer, tried to deflect this , by saying they don’t want to “ micromanage “ heads.
    This was or should have been a case of ensuring that children , some who were students, in a new environment for a few weeks, would have been safe.
    That should have been the major consideration.

14. The reality is that the hair brain simulation plan was conceived at the school as proposed by safety committee. While the buck stops at the ministry, as the line manager the principal exercised poor judgement and should also be held accountable.

15. David
    So why no one has been fired for the RAAC scandal? Have you heard the names Gavin Williamson or Suella Braverman? I tell you read more.🤣🤣🤣

16. @BMcDonald on October 13, 2023 at 8:46 AM said “The object of the exercise is to report on all the weaknesses including the need to manage psychological and physical harm so that these agencies can learn from the simulation. In medicine and other sciences, we all learn from bad outcomes.”

I remind BMcDonald and the blog of the Hippocratic oath “First, do ye no harm”

No ethical doctor deliberately harms a patient in order for the doctor to learn. To deliberately harm another person is CRIMINAL. To deliberately harm even an animal is also CRIMINAL. People talking about who and who should resign, be demoted, fired; about parents should sue, but I say that some of our “educators” and security officials want locking up for what was done to the children at Springer.

17. This is what unethical officials have done in the past

Tuskegee Syphilis Study
    The purpose of the study was to observe the effects of the disease when untreated, though by the end of the study medical advancements meant it was entirely treatable. The [black] men were not informed of the nature of the experiment, and more than 100 died as a result.

Nazi Medical Experiments
    German physicians conducted inhumane experiments on prisoners in the camps during the Holocaust. During World War II, a number of German physicians conducted painful and often deadly experiments on thousands of prisoners without their permission. Considering the inhumane conditions, lack of consent, and questionable research standards, modern scientists overwhelmingly reject the use of results from experiments in the camps.

Henrietta Lacks and the Lacks family
    In 1951, a doctor took samples of cervical cells from Henrietta Lacks, a Black woman undergoing treatment for cancer, without her knowledge or consent. Scientists used the cells in medical research, leading to several crucial breakthroughs—but Lacks’ family did not receive compensation.

More than 70 years after doctors at Johns Hopkins Hospital took Henrietta Lacks’ cervical cells without her knowledge, a lawyer for her descendants said they have reached a settlement with a biotechnology company that they accused of reaping billions of dollars from a racist medical system.

Please tell me that our officials, especially our education officials are well read people and therefore know of these past unethical actions, and will understand why what was done to the Springer children was unethical on a Tuskegee/Nazi/Johns Hopkins level.

18. The original oath was written between the fifth and third centuries BC and includes “I will abstain from all intentional wrong-doing and harm, especially from abusing the bodies of man or woman, BOND or free.”

And here we are 2500 years later trying to justify the psychological abuse of children, when it has been known for thousands of years that not even bonded people, that is not even enslaved people should be deliberately harmed.

19. @initiation rituals on October 15, 2023 at 8:23 AM said:
    “freemason initiation rituals are often intended to psychologically shock and awe to hold and control people changing their brain circuitry”

People who seek to join freemason lodges are adults who freely consent to do so and who freely consent to the rituals.

The children are NOT adults. The children did NOT consent. A school PAID for by ALL of us taxpayers is NOT damn lodge.

What was done to the children was both FOOLISH and WRONG.

20. I am wondering how Kay plans to retain her seat in the next election, but maybe her plans are to do 2 terms and exit.

Contrary to what the political class seems to believe Bajans do NOT have short memories. Bajans “bad-minded” and will bide their time, smile in the politicians face and vote against them.

Trusting that all of the 30-0 crew understands that not every skin teet is a laugh.

21. @Enuff

How is RAAC similar to the situation under discussion?

22. Although it is said Bajans have short memories, she is definitely looking at a one term if she continues on current trajectory.

23. ‘So why no one has been fired for the RAAC scandal?’

Once again we have resorted to ‘it also happens elsewhere? Why must we use the worst of other places or their failure as our benchmark? Must we duplicate their failings.

And this is considered as punching above our weight.

Sooner or later someone will find an event in the lost decade to compare this to.

24. We have 20 teachers at Springer Memorial reporting sick after being dissatisfied with what transpired at a debrief meeting yesterday. The incompetence continues with some of the teachers claiming they were unaware of simulation details.

25. David

This is what you said: “Enuff. You like to point to the UK to support positions taken or no by this BLP government. In the UK system a minister often is forced to take responsibility when things go wrong in assigned ministries: it has nothing to do with micromanaging.” Now you’re asking how is RAAC similar to the situation under discussion? It is similar because something went wrong in schools which is your justification for a Minister taking “responsibility”.

TheoGas (98% hydrogen sulfide)

“Once again we have resorted to ‘it also happens elsewhere? Why must we use the worst of other places or their failure as our benchmark? Must we duplicate their failings.”

Sir, it is Caswell that reference elsewhere as a benchmark. Even David in his post referenced the “UK system”. All I did was to show that what Caswell was saying happens elsewhere is not necessarily true. You’re only pretending to be against foreign benchmarks when it doesn’t suit your narrative. When your Ronnie(wh)o used benchmarks from other places few weeks ago, you were here piss parading. But then again, you always have a hard time keeping up because you read to oppose.

26. Any comments on the simulation/drill?

Don’t tell me it happened elsewhere or something similar happened during the lost decade.

You can tell when a party is failing, it members point to other countries to hide their screw-ups or they act as if they are now living in the (lost decade) past.

27. @ TheOGazerts,

Springer Memorial School will be closed for the next two days.

Chief Education Officer, Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw met with staff and some students at the school this morning and has determined that they need a break following last week’s simulation exercise

https://www.nationnews.com/2023/10/18/springer-memorial-reopen-monday/

28. @Enuff

There is no culture of holding public officers accountable to compare with the UK. Identifying a single incident to make your point is therefore a good one.

29. Springer on break

by MARIA BRADSHAW mariabradshaw@nationnews. com

SPRINGER MEMORIAL SECONDARY SCHOOL will be closed for the next two days as the Ministry of Education has determined that staff and students “need a respite” from last week’s traumatic simulation exercise.

Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw confirmed to the DAILY NATION that she held separate meetings yesterday with the teachers, ancillary and administrative staff as well as some of the students at the Government Hill, St Michael school yesterday, following which a decision was made to give them a break.

Also in attendance were chairman of the board of management Maxine Moore, principal Cheryl Gill, education officer Cyrilene Willoughby and senior school attendance officer Sharon Weekes-Cumberbatch.

While Teachers’ Professional Day is tomorrow, Archer-Bradshaw said the school will reopen next Monday.

“This morning, I convened a follow-up meeting with staff at the Springer Memorial School. At the end of the near three-hour-long meeting it was determined that teachers and students needed a period of respite. As a result, there will be no school on Thursday . . . and Friday.

“A full investigation has been launched into the simulation exercise that occurred on Wednesday, October 11, and these investigations are ongoing,” she said.

Responding to queries from this newspaper, Gaynelle Marshall, communications consultant with the ministry, stated: “It was a very open discussion about all that has ensued – the fallout, people’s feelings. While there, the [Chief Education Officer] also took time to meet with the ancillary staff and administration staff and also spent a considerable time interacting with students. “Investigations are ongoing as information continues to come to light about what happened, how it transpired and how it was communicated,” she added.

Last week’s simulation exercise, which was planned by the school’s health and safety committee, was supposed to depict a gang invasion and place the school on orange alert, which required the students to be in their classrooms with the doors and windows locked.

However, it involved five men, said to be members of the Barbados Defence Force and the Barbados Police Service, who stormed the school while armed with “mock guns” and machetes, banging on doors and windows and in one case, kicking down a door and breaking a school desk.

Unaware of the scenario being played out, hundreds of students as well as teachers panicked, with some having anxiety and asthma attacks, some being injured while running for their lives, while others suffered mental trauma. It forced the early closure of the school as several parents who heard rumours that gunmen had run through the school turned up to collect their children.

Absent from school

The DAILY NATION understands that several students and 16 teachers have been absent from school since the incident. When asked about the absent teachers, Archer-Bradshaw said she would have to check on the numbers.

However, informed sources said 16 teachers have been out on sick leave since the incident while two were attending workshops and two more have not been at school since the start of the term in September.

In addition, they reported that some teachers were turning up for school but not attending classes, leaving children unsupervised for several hours.

In relation to yesterday’s meeting, which was held in the staff room, a source said teachers said they were still affected and hurting over the incident. It was revealed that members of the Health and Safety Committee apologised to the staff but one teacher said outright that she would not be accepting the apology.

In addition, staff were told “to put the incident behind them as best as they could for the children’s sake and it was important to start moving forward”.

A pastor was also on hand who prayed and worshipped with the teachers.

30. “There is no culture of holding public officers accountable to compare with the UK. Identifying a single incident to make your point is therefore a good one.”

I assume you meant is NOT a good one. But let me introduce you to Suella Braverman:

https://news.sky.com/story/suella-braverman-under-pressure-to-axe-untenable-barges-plan-after-bacteria-discovery-on-bibby-stockholm-12938297

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2023/may/21/suella-braverman-what-are-allegations-speeding-fine-explainer#:~:text=The%20UK%20home%20secretary%20was,attending%20a%20speed%20awareness%20course.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/suella-braverman-rwanda-ministerial-code-breach-b2345537.html

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/suella-braverman-rwanda-deportation-court-b2367097.html

The fact that you continue to think a Principal and the school administration has zero responsibility tells me you’re not serious. The Minister or CEO failed to send the emails to the staff as well? You may have the last say.

31. TheoGas (98% hydrogen sulfide)

“Any comments on the simulation/drill? Don’t tell me it happened elsewhere or something similar happened during the lost decade. You can tell when a party is failing, it members point to other countries to hide their screw-ups or they act as if they are now living in the (lost decade) past.”
    ———————————————————————————

If you read to understand rather than to oppose, you would have seen that I already said errors were made but it is wrong to blame the Minister and CEO for a school effin up THEIR simulation, which THEY told the CEO was a drill.

This government you’re accusing of failure has been able, and continues, to get things done that your party while in government struggled with (ID cards that cost millions stayed put in a box then had to be dumped, Sam Lords, Supreme Court and school meals building in Six Roads, income tax returns etc, etc). I therefore can’t imagine your Dems managing during covid or accomplishing what the current administration has been able to do.

Getting 20% wrong in any exam is never a failure. I think the problem with people like you is that on sensing another potential thumping, it becomes priority to gaslight others into believing that 80% is a fail. Worse is when the aspirant has over the last near 40 years been synonymous with F.

Your party thought Jonesing, talking about demons, introducing tuition fees at UWI, renaming schools and expanding 6th form schools was the transformation required. Meanwhile schools were crumbling. The current under fire Minister and her ministry repaired 26 under its summer repairs programme in 2022, this year the total was 20 with all completed by the first day of school. Sit back and watch a government that is willing to take on big issues, even if mistakes are made along the way, achieve big things. Watch muh!

32. But then again, you always have a hard time keeping up because you read to oppose.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Enuff, yuh know yuh right.

33. @Not Enuff
    A small note .. I have not applied for membership, paid any party fees and am not a member of any party. It is unfortunate that my constant highlighting the numerous failures of administrations in power happens when the BLP is in power. I will resist the push to go back to the lost decade.

On ID cards
    Once again, I must urge you to remove an item from your win column. Indeed, the current administration is also struggling with the ID cards

https://nationnews-brb.newsmemory.com/?publink=18292b92d_134ad8e

‘Ishmael said the new Barbados Trident ID that was rolled out recently was Phase 1 of the overall modernisation effort for Government systems. Phase 2, he added, will be when a digital ID will be introduced.”

It was very clever of the Minister to now introduce the concept of Phases in the rollout of digital IDs. In this way, continuing and new bungles/blunders/mistakes/screw-up can be described as the end of a phase and the start of a next Phase. They may be incompetents, but they are not stupid.

On the courts /Justice system
    Please note that unlike you, the AG refuses to take a victory lap. I see now that you confuse buildings with relief for the poor and oppressed. A new building does not mean justice for citizens, new hotels are not housing for the homeless.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/10/18/need-to-upgrade-criminal-justice-system-says-ag/
    Your AG
    “Everybody in this room is keenly aware of the ethics of an inefficient criminal justice sector. You are aware of the implications of an inefficient criminal justice sector on human rights, the perception that the system may be skewed in favour of the criminals and the impact on victims and witnesses all leading to a lack of confidence in the ability of the State to govern and manage,” he said.

On the 80%/20%
    I t please me that you are increasing the failure rate of your party. However, a proper definition of what would be considered consider a success would drastically change those percentages. My ratings:
    On Old Talk/ Kicking the can down the road/ bungling/solving nothing/ giving money to friends … 80%
    On actions that benefit the poor …20%

Yes, I read to oppose. I will always oppose misrepresentations (that was nicely put)

34. use your imagination and change the lyrics.

35. @ Enuff on October 19, 2023 at 10:04 AM said:
    “This government you’re accusing of failure has been able, and continues, to get things done that your party while in government struggled with (ID cards that cost millions stayed put in a box then had to be dumped, Sam Lords, Supreme Court and school meals building in Six Roads, income tax returns etc, etc). I therefore can’t imagine your Dems managing during covid or accomplishing what the current administration has been able to do.”

Are you, too, going to assign failure and blame on the previous DLP administration for the tens of thousands of vehicles without the necessary third party insurance being driven daily on the roads of your 2 by 3 island called Barbados?

Didn’t the current administration spend millions importing an electronic monitoring system to put an end to this fiasco of blatant illegality?

What are the reasons for your administration’s failure to make this vehicle policing system functional?

Is there a deadline by which all vehicles should be properly registered or can it go on until the Twelfth of Never?

If not the previous DLP Administration then whom are you going to blame?

Is it fair to say that the current Minister of Finance no longer has a vested interest in ensuring vehicles are registered annually?

After all, those hundreds of millions of dollars in road taxes are now collected up front at the pump, without the requirement of going through the annual regulatory registration requirement.

Therefore, the more uninsured vehicles on the road the merrier for the MoF to rub his palms gleefully in shouting: “All is Mine”.

Doesn’t this provide carte-blance opportunity for any Tom dickey and Harriette johnny to be on the roads in not-road-worthy unsafe vehicles without the necessary third party insurance or even valid driver’s licence?

Maybe the imposition of VAT (to help pay for the rising national debts) on the premiums of motor vehicle insurance policies might be just “Enuff” incentive for the MOF to pay greater attention to this legal requirement of motor vehicles having the necessary third-party insurance in order to be on the roads of the ‘small’ island.

36. @ Miller
    Cuh shiite!!!
    yuh gwine kill ee’ …??

Deme is Enuff licks yuh now….

37. be prepared

38. @enuff

Very well. Nothing to see here.

39. Interesting approach by the BLP.

No internal elections, says senator

There will be no internal elections when the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) holds its 84th annual conference on the last weekend of the month.

That is because there is no opposition to those nominated to serve on the executive, chief executive officer of the party Senator Patricia Parris revealed.

It was also disclosed that Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley would not return as chairman of the party as she has served the maximum number of years constitutionally allowed. However, she retains the political leadership of the party.

The new executive includes party chairman Reginald Farley, first vice chairman Kirk Humphrey, second vice chairman Marsha Caddle, third vice chairman Kirk Haynes, general secretary The Most Honourable Jerome Walcott, and treasurer Davidson Ishmael.

In explaining the turn of events during a press conference held at the BLP’s Roebuck Street headquarters yesterday, Humphrey, who is also the Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs, explained that this exemplifies the level of unification within the party. He also made it clear that the democratic process was followed.

“Just to be clear, we were not returned, we have a new executive. The outgoing chairman of the party is the Prime Minister and there is a new chairman in Reginald Farley. Marsha Caddle returns as a new member of the executive as second vice chair, I moved to first vice chair, so everything on the executive has changed . . . . I just want to make it very clear that the process was followed, and these are the names and the positions that we ended with,” Humphrey said.

“I suspect that people are satisfied with the persons that came forward. The Barbados Labour Party has always, in public and in private, conducted itself with decency and we will not call into question the affairs of the party.

“I think that the Barbados Labour Party family was satisfied with the persons that came forward, and if you look at the executive, every person there is quite deserving. In some years there is going to be competition, both in our party and others, in other years there is no competition.”

This year’s conference, which marks the party’s 85th year in existence, will be held at the Daryll Jordan Secondary School in St Lucy from October 27 to 29, under the theme, BLP At 85, Crafting Our Future Responsibly.

The conference opens with an award ceremony during which 30 stalwarts, one from each constituency branch, will be recognised. Five outstanding contributors to sport, and four people who have contributed to Barbadian culture will also receive awards.

The guest speaker on the opening night will be Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis, Dr Terrance Drew.

The party’s business will be conducted on the morning of the second day of the conference. Later that day, Mottley is expected to deliver the party’s report card.

The final day will start with a church service, which will be followed by the introduction of the 2023-24 BLP executive.

(CLM)

40. Survivors of the ” simulation fiasco ” are all due to return to school on Monday, October 23,”

41. TheoGas (98% hydrogen sulfide)

I thought I had responded to your feeble attempt to discredit my last post.

Firstly, the Trident card which 230,000 people have signed up for (90,000 were awaiting collection back in January) and people are lining up to pin is not the same as a Digital ID card. This is clearly explained in the same article you posted. The Trident card is a similar type of smart card your DLP government attempted to do but all $4M worth of them are now permanently resident at Mangrove Dump. I have mine, you should do likewise. Again reading just to oppose.

Secondly, I said the Supreme Court building; nothing I said mentioned the Criminal Justice System (CJS), though when your SC building is leaking etc and there’s no accommodation for the court to operate that will affect the CJS. But it is only when one is so far removed from facts (intellectually, locationally and ethically) that one struggles to connect the dots. I purposely stayed away from mentioning everything that makes up the 80% because if I wanted to talk about the CJS, I could have simply raised more judges, courts, e-filing etc. The need for reform does not mean, reform is not ongoing. More proof of reading to respond not to understand.

Finally, your attempt to play with the 80%-20% issue. Annual tuition fees for an undergraduate degree at UWI Cave Hill range from $6,100 to $65,000. When the current administration reversed your DLP government’s decision to have Barbadians pay tuition at UWI, who do you think are currently benefitting most? As a Bajan living somewhere in one of the perfectly managed big countries, you are undoubtedly aware of the adverse impact student debt has on poor individuals/households and how it exacerbates inequality and intergenerational poverty. When the current government reinstated the $1300 Reverse Tax Credit (after your DLP peeps reduced it to $650 and still wasn’t paying), increased the threshold to $25,000 and is paying it annually, who do you take benefits? Similarly, who benefits from the compensatory credit? Trust loans? What about the $50M since 2020 via the Household Mitigation Unit? The raising of the taxable property value from $150,000 to $300,000? I dun.

42. I will give you a proper response, but it seems as if you have already started your 2026 campaign

43. ARTEFACTS GONE

Thieves hit Parliament museum for priceless items

By Maria Bradshaw

mariabradshaw@nationnews. com

Several priceless artefacts including the treasured jacket which Barbados’ first Prime Minister, Errol Barrow wore on November 30, 1966, the night this country gained Independence, have been stolen from the Parliament Museum and the National Heroes Gallery at the condemned West Wing of the historic building.

Sources said more than 20 artefacts have gone missing including several clothing items belonging not only to Barrow but the late Sir Grantley Adams and the late Prime Minister, Tom Adams, as well as art pieces and even Barrow’s musket gun and shoes.

The invaluable collectibles were stored in glass cases in the two spaces. Those cases were found shattered.

A senior police officer confirmed the situation, stating they were still trying to determine when the items went missing and who stole them.

“There were two reports of a burglary at the Parliamentary Museum and a number of artefacts were stolen. Some are possessions of former prime ministers. The police are carrying out investigations into the matter”, he said, while refusing to divulge what the list of items were.

“All we can say at the moment is that it included items of clothing belonging to former prime ministers,” he stated.

When contacted yesterday, Clerk of Parliament Pedro Eastmond said : “I am getting all the facts to give a report to the Speaker. Until that is done I prefer not to make any comment.”

A source familiar with the operations of the Parliament Building located at Upper Broad Street, in the City, noted that the museum and gallery was out of use since 2020 due to environmental issues. He said the West Wing had also been condemned.

“No one knows when the items went missing. It could be days; it could be months but when the alarm was raised the door was discovered unlocked,” he told the Sunday Sun.

The artefacts were discovered missing more than a week ago during a school tour of the Parliament building.

“The children wanted to see what a ballot box looks like, so the tour guide went to the museum to retrieve one and that was when the museum was found in disarray and the items missing. The police have been out here in their numbers dusting for fingerprints, going through the camera footage and carrying out interviews.”

The source questioned why the valuable items were allowed to remain in the museum even though the West Wing was out of use for so long.

“Those items should have been returned to the Barbados National Museum for safe keeping until the building was repaired. The West Wing has been out of use for three years and tours of the museum have been halted. It was not wise to keep those items there because they would still have to be removed for the building to undergo repairs.”

He said fingers had been pointed at vagrants who frequent the surrounding areas.

“This is particularly disturbing when you consider that Barbados is now a republic and some of those items were the historical remnants of our Independence era.”

When contacted General Secretary of the Democratic Labour Party Steve Blackett said he was unofficially informed about the theft, calling it a “national shame”.

“This is a real shame. The West Wing has literally been abandoned. It is the building where the Opposition office was housed and I understand it is in a deplorable state. It is a shame that you can have the artefacts of former prime ministers and our National Heroes stolen from Parliament which is supposed to be one of the most secure places in Barbados.”

Pointing out that Government had spent millions repairing the East Wing where the Upper House and Lower House sit, Blackett charged that the delay in executing repairs to the West Wing was because there was no opposition in Parliament.

“It speaks to the total abandonment and worse yet they have not paid attention to that section because there is no leader of the Opposition.”

Parliament’s website notes that the “Museum of Parliament traces the development of democracy in Barbados since 1629 until present times and the role that the island’s people have played in this growth.”

The Museum was also described as a “small state of the art museum with interactive screens and sculptures created by Barbadians and Caribbean artistes.”

44. @not enuff
    I am still on my phone but will answer your lengthy post separately
    —x—-

45. Do you get the impression that the wheels have fallen off the bus

Do you look at the cockpit with nuff hands at the wheel but yet get the feeling the steering is not working?

Can you make a guess at what this week screw-up will be? You know it is coming, but it could be anything.

Do you get the feeling that we are in a state of ‘ordered chaos’. Small men and women grabbing the microphone, saying a lot and doing nothing as our problems continue to grow?

By the way, where the hell is Mia? She needs to stop the job interviews and come back and put these fires out.

Mia’s motley mistake making ministers will kill us all by accident.

Mia come home. Put the nation before your job interviews

46. “He said fingers had been pointed at vagrants who frequent the surrounding areas.”

Quick so, case solved.

The only thing that I learnt from the story is that after the 30 paid vagrants leave, the unemployed vagrants inhabit our Parliament.

47. interesting.

48. Barbados Council Avatar

The British Legacy System for Barbados Government with the Crown as an Overseas Head was the wrong model to implement for a small country with a small population and was in the interests of maintaining Colonial Rule and Business Trade Interests.

A better, simpler and more informal model to use after Independence would be the concept of a Local Council which would be more social minded for people’s interests and more flexible for change in modern times.