petition

The People of Barbados will be severely affected by the proposed changes to the National Insurance Scheme. They have noted that last March 2022, the Prime Minister stated that it was her intent to:

1. Make the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) a Statutory Corporation more independent from      Government by the end of 2022.

2. Recapitalize the NIS.

3. Add a requirement to diversify investments both locally and abroad.

4. Ensure that when private projects SEEK PUBLIC SUPPORT, they give the NIS the choice to invest.

However, the People of Barbados not having been privy to any report on the consultations regarding the National Insurance scheme, not being provided information on the Actuarial Review of the Pension Fund, not having knowledge of the assets of the Scheme or how the tax payers monies are being spent or invested or government’s action to recover funds that are being owed; are now being faced with a Bill that has already  passed in the House of Assembly without discussion when this Bill will have profound effects on the lives of the dwindling middle class and all of the persons from the lower echelons of society and Barbadians yet unborn. The Bill is now before the Senate the step before it becomes the law of the land.

Please sign the Petition to Withdraw The National Insurance (Amendment) Bill & Pensions (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill

The People have decided to take a stand.  Our concerns are for:

1. Public engagement in a matter that profoundly alters the National Insurance scheme as it presently exists.

2. The conducting of a Social and Economic Impact Assessment on how such action will affect persons who currently live in Barbados as well as Barbadians who live abroad that have worked on the island and are due a pension.

3. All other options be explored to maintain the safety net of the people before the National Insurance Scheme is tampered with to the detriment of the people.

4. The impact on people who are currently eligible for a pension but with the proposed Bill, will not have enough contributions since the number of contributions will rise from 500 to 750.

5. That government bear the burden of proof to show evidence that their proposal in the form of a Bill has been a successful in another country and can therefore be a model adopted by Barbados.

6. That an island which currently has concerns about the level of productivity would even consider extending the retirement age of its workforce as this will undoubtedly lead to less productivity especially for manual, blue collar, construction and agricultural workers and a rise in physical and age-related illnesses.

7. The fact that many of our statutory corporations were established to relieve them of the administrative burden of the public service. While this makes sense in theory (1) we know that many statutory corporations have not been very good at producing financial statements to account for their operations (2) they are more politicized than the Civil Service since Governments will change the entire board and top management based on partisan political considerations rather than performance or ability. (3) Ministers with responsibility for statutory corporations are known to have refused to bring information about their operation to the Cabinet. There is nothing to suggest this will change.

8. That our pensions will be used to support/prop up private sector projects.

9. While diversifying investment sounds good, who will manage these investments? With no regard for the Auditor General how will we know that the money will not be going to family and friends? The people still are not provided with the transparency to know what happens to borrowed funds after they pass through the Estimates process so how can we trust what will happen to our NIS funds?

The time to act is now and based on the foregoing, we the People are demanding that:

1. The age of retirement to be at 65

2. Eligibility remains at 500 contributions

3. Politicians and citizens to be on par with respect to retirement age

4. More compliance officers be employed to ensure contributions are paid

5.  Government pay back the money owed

6.Government identifies the leaks in the scheme and fix them

7. Government goes after defaulters

8. Regular audits are conducted

9. Systems are put in place whereby the government cannot use the funds

10. NIS be placed into the Central Government and not under the absolute control of the Minister

11. Systems are put in place to help microbusinesses file their contributions

12. That The National Insurance (Amendment) Bill & The Pensions (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill be withdrawn.

166 responses to “Sign up – Government Asked to Withdraw Changes to NIS Bill”

1. @ Northern

I agree with you 100% in that we dont even know if what is being proposed by the state can save the fund in the absence of audited financials. What therefore is the true state of the fund? Truth is no one knows.

What is the market value of its real estate vs the value it is booked at?

Do the rents being collected by the fund offer an acceptable return on the properties being rented?

Have the losses on the remaining paper held by the fund been reflected in the net value of the paper? After all if you drop the return from 6% to 1, or extended the maturinty of the paper it has to effect its market value does it not?

So yes even with all the changes being proposed how secure really will the fund be in the absence of audited financials bearing in mind the above?

2. Taxman…..Good morning to you boy. Took you a whole hour to find the Hopi Clown Culture. There I was giving you the benefit of the doubt. Don’t you know its an honour to take on the role of a clown in Hopi culture? Can’t say that about the other culture where Homie is truly offensive.

3. Bushie

Since it’s shiite why not confront it instead of doing the expected.

Deflection, obfuscation, with the regular psuedo-philosophy made up within your mind, as you go along.

The limits of your imagination have imprisoned the mind to the idea that this writer will take you serious enough to allow such a brassbowl to prevent sleep.

That this writer is within your time zone. See what a rasssoul brassbowl thou art.

4. David

Somebody had to make the decision ent? Lynette getting a pension btw.🤣🤣🤣

5. Germany was first to develop a modern Social Security program.

Retirement age 70, lowered subsequently to 65.

6. @Enuff

Say you are not about to throw former BLP blue eye girl under the bus. The late OSA would be so upset with YOY.

7. But cuhdear John A
    Why would we NOT aim to create an ideal society?

Also why would you bring SAGICOR as an alternative consideration?
    This is like using Hitler as an example of why Martin Luther King was killed.

Sagicor is one of the VERY BEST examples of what has become wrong with Barbados.
    A MUTUAL Fund, created and funded by policy-holders, and growing off the backs of ordinary Bajans for decades… up to the point where it became powerful enuff to make a POSITIVE difference to the whole society, when the albino-centrics and the Judases involved, decided to DE-mutualize it, convert the MUTUAL assets into private property – cutting out all these, on whose backs it was built, and eventually selling out to foreign capital albino interests… who now enjoy BILLIONS in profits… while our debts grow…

May God curse that company eternally…

(@ David, when do you plan to do an article on the salary given to the architect of this great Bajan betrayal? … that was published some months ago…? $6M plus p.a. was it not…?)

The NIS is meant to be the DIAMETRICAL opposite to the SAGICOR travesty John A.
    Unfortunately we have put jokers in charge who are ‘Sagicor wannabes’, but they are likely to end up bankrupting the whole damn place with their antics…

8. Just google origins of social security and don’t depend on what is written by Barbados-Centric lunatics.

9. @Bush Tea

Hoped Walter would have done an article on this matter with his rich bona fides.

10. Contributors to the economy and birth rate.

11. NorthernObserver Avatar

I see what I guess was one your classmates passed. A fine fellow.

12. @ Bush

Yes i agree with you that the de mutualising was not the best thing, but we must be fair and admit today it is a strong pension fund, which a large percentage of companies use as their corporate pension plan. I use them only as a refernce to show the alternative to a state slush fund.

Again i stress there is nothing wrong with state social services but they must come from the consolidated fund going forward and leave the NIS to run as a pension fund in the true sense of the word.

13. Bush Tea on August 6, 2023 at 9:42 AM said:

@ John A
    Skippa, perhaps you should take a deep breath and reflect a bit before taking such a dogmatic position on this…

A NATIONAL insurance scheme is actually one of the most COMMUNITY CENTRIC CONCEPTS imaginable. It is the antithesis of the endemic albino-centric philosophy that drives almost everything around us.
    Our NIS was conceptualized as a SOCIETAL safeguard for ALL of the citizens of the little shiite place – but ESPECIALLY for the marginalized.

The issue is the poor among us of whom we have many.

The original intention was that the needs of the poor would be taken care of through charity. The state entered as the numbers of poor increased and charity was not enough.

The state’s altruistic actions were also motivated by self-interest as the state’s help would ensure unrest would not grow and would actually help the economy as people remained fit for work.

But the politicians realised if it was expanded they would win votes and give them more and more power.

So, more and more benefits were granted requiring more and more contributions …. a principle of socialism where the State takes care of all.

Now this is an “albino-centric” principle, charity has been around throughout the ages … actually it isn’t. The Incas of Peru used it long before the ideas of Karl Marx gained traction.

The non contributors to the state’s scheme are highlighted perpetually but suppose they cannot or do not get a paying job, stay at home mothers for example, or have decided by fair means or foul to take the responsibility to make their own arrangements for their future because they recognise everything the Government touches eventually turns to dust.

Charity is usually but not always found in individuals who have “made it” in life and choose to help the less fortunate.

It is the basis of philanthropy, although not always.

Philanthropy is sometimes disguised money laundering.

14. John A, included in NIS is a health care contribution, of which the employee and employer pays 1% and 1.50% respectively. I am at a loss as to how your suggestion that the non-contribution be reclassified and paid from the consolidated fund, deemed to be ‘selfishness.’ In other words, payment of the benefit would be simply TRANSFERRED from NIS to the consolidated fund. The original ‘terms and conditions’ applied to the payment (ceteris paribus), would NOT CHANGE. Remember, EVERYONE pays taxes…. either deducted from earnings (PAYE) or directly (VAT).

15. NorthernObserver
    on August 6, 2023 at 11:02 AM said:

I see what I guess was one your classmates passed. A fine fellow.

Yup.

Lost touch after school.

Probably won’t make his memorial service but that doesn’t mean I can’t remember him from school.

16. Bushman……just do me a favour. I usually agree with most of your commentary but please stay away from this lonewolf’s comments because there are 2 too many churlish, childish hit dogs looking to spread rabies on this blog. One agreement and you got plebes in their feelings.

Pacha…..why are you hollering? You got hit? Kef and Kin or Kith and Kin?
    Who denigrated Iweb’s song? Did you listen to the first line ’cause all I did was to reverse that line….Is the Brain truly the Center of Wisdom? Is it?

17. @ Bush Tea

As i said before i support social protection however going forward it must come from the consolidated fund. What we should look at is changing the name of the welfare department and expanding it into including non contributory persons.

So call it say The Depatment Of Social Improvement. Peraonally i find the Wellfare Deprtmant in 2023 sounds degrading to my fellow Barbadians to begin with. It sound truly 1960s

18. @ John A
    We are largely on the same wavelength, but you need to be careful not to get carried away with the overwhelmingly materialistic predisposition of those who judge everything by money, property and power.
    We all enjoy different talents and blessings (and curses). It is VERY risky to judge others without knowing the crosses that they may bear…
    Some non-contributors may actually be MUCH better and MORE deserving persons, than some of us who paid up our dues for 40+ years.
    A scheme that values EVERYONE as participants (and not some as pitiful welfare recipients) is therefore brilliant philosophy.
    …anyway, Bushie has no further points to make in this regard.

19. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

William…after being exposed to certain studies this year and last year…i just couldn’t allow the pan african charade in Barbados to continue…it’s a horrible injustice at ALL levels…

The impostor players in Barbados did not even know what they dont know…..their own decades old scam exposed them because they were so much in the dark themselves while convinced they could keep the population in the dark permanently…but Karma dont play those sleazy games….now i know why Pacha ignore them…it’s always best to find out these things yaself..

20. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John A on August 6, 2023 at 11:31 AM

I agree with you 200%. Barbados has progressed much since the days of mud floor chattel houses so government must start cutting back on the socialism and ONLY provide a basic safety net if we as a society are to progress further.

It can be called Department of Social Care and People Empowerment and have it start by taking over the burden of all pensions both contributory and non-contributory away from NIS.

1) Every person with zero income gets the current non-contributory of $230 per week pension.
    2) Everyone making income will get an additional $50 pension per $200 average weekly income for the last five years worked before retirement maxing out at $250 additional pension.

Maximum pension possible from government would be $480 per week i.e. $230 non-contributory + $250 for $1000+ weekly income.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    You used to the boss of reminding us how much Bajans love a distraction?
    Such are these non-contributory awards. They are a drop in the bucket.
    The former MoF should be in jail.
    He orchestrated the over-buying of bonds, (home grown financing) he formed and executed CBL, and then oversaw the obviously illegal act, of redirecting NIS contributions from public officers to GoB coffers.
    Obviously he was tight with the PM, in the Cabal, and was rewarded for his dastardly acts, by getting a big job at the World Bank.
    Don’t get distracted.
    Accountability for actions is required. This shit didn’t happen in a vacuum nor overnight. Until you attack the Cabal, the rest is just small, distractions.
    Force them into a corner.
    Pick your spots.
    The RH private sector could help, but after the D’s, they are gun shy, as to who comes next.

22. West Indies won by 2 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)

Lead the series 2-0

23. @ Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. on August 5, 2023 at 5:13 PM said:

“Did anyone notice who stole the money from the NIS…..billions of dollars, with their criminal sidekicks of the minority……… ”

I’m afraid that those comments have flown over the head of the majority of commentators. One of the Johns stated that the NIS funds have been MISMANAGED. This is the problem we face when commentators are happy to use euphemisms. He should have stated that the funds were looted!!!!!

A number of commentators have stated that there are a number of unworthy poor people who do not deserve to receive such funds. Perhaps they are correct in their assertions. Miraculously they make no mention of the absurd sums of monies received by the usual minority suspects. Are they not aware that these characters have been the largest recipients from the NIS funds?

Paragraphs and paragraphs have been written as to how the NIS can be fixed whilst it remains under the control of a group of crooks. How can that make sense. Remove the foxes if you want to safeguard the hens.

24. @ Northern

The unions should not now be protesting nor should anyone else. That protest and shutdown should of occured when the billion dollars of contributors money was taken and written off by government.

In what other country could that had happened without serious objection? Could you see that happen in France for example where the people marched and objected to moving the age from 60 to 62? How about the USA or Canada? You think Biden if he had the power so to do, could go into their pension system and right off a billion dollars of the citizens contributions? No sir he would have more law suits than he could count next day, along with demands for his resignation.

So let us now ask ourselves a few questions honestly.

WHAT HAS CHANGED TO STOP THE SAME THING HAPPENING AGAIN? WHAT HAS BEEN DONE TO ENSURE NOT PROMISE, THAT FUTURE GENERATIONS WILL NOT FACE A SIMILAR FATE? WHAT HAS BEEN DONE TO PROMOTE CONFIDENCE IN THE FUND?

the answer is not one dam thing!!

25. “Fraud prevention in Barbados not taken seriously-Mottley administration just lagging!
    By: Staff Writer”

October 12, 2021

https://www.caribmagplus.com/fraud-prevention-in-barbados-not-taken-seriously-mottley-administration-just-lagging/

26. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“largest recipients” aka welfare frauds…but fools will never see it as that….they see it as once the thieves are not from the depressed and oppressed areas, they are entitled, wont ever see them as mooching from the fund like the parasites they all are…..the damaged Slave mind..

The cow crook got tens of millions for a Apes Hill club house and fancy pool for racists only, which were dug up and knocked down by the new owners…tens of millions burnt, down the drain, never repaid…every minister, lackie, pimp, fowl etc from both wicked governments should be in prison.

27. @John A

Why do we make these unrealistic comparisons to France and other countries where people advocate is a way of life?

28. @ David

Because our complacency over the years has worked against us and seeing there is no opposition, we the people need to be more outspoken and vigilant. More attention has been paid so far to Kadooment than this issue doesnt that say it all?

The PM is a master strategist and i admire that quality in her. Drop the news before cropopver and the bajans will ignore it and worry bout the next fete. Plus the free one didnt hurt either.

29. @John A

While your observation is valid Barbadians will not move to being more outspoken and vigilant without relevant events and triggers to influence it, could be the NIS and other issues may converge to influence a tipping point for such behavioural change – it is a process.

30. Yolande Grant - Aftican Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – Aftican Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

This was brought to my attention days ago…i had to tell the person it will not happen under such corrupt administration…

So who knew that the island had 80 fraud examiners that are never used…only reason i know is because the person is one..

“Barbados should make use of it’s 80 Certified Fraud Examiners when writing the Integrity Bill . .”

31. Oh hell! Another senior moment. Imagine typing “fazed” for “phased”, looking at it, thinking it looked funny and still not sure how to fix it! And I am quite a way from sixty-eight! I wonder what mistakes I would be making by then in de people workplace

I thank my lucky stars I won’t have to find out.

32. Last Call Fe Blackman Avatar
    Last Call Fe Blackman

“valid Barbadians will not move to being more outspoken and vigilant without relevant events and triggers to influence to influence it”

the secret is to influence the influencers

BU should have some form of digital currency like stock options for employees that are worthless the could be called called budavids.
    Each comment on BU that is worthy will receive 20,000 budavids.

33. Hants on August 6, 2023 at 5:08 PM said:

West Indies won by 2 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)

Lead the series 2-0

Unbelievable but good to hear.

At one stage they were 3 for 2 wickets chasing 150 odd.

34. Come on, my friend. You are misleading the forum. WI lost 2 wickets in the first over. They were 4/2 after 2 overs, and progressed to 33/3 after 4 overs.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

Events themselves won’t trigger without people.
    And not your typical run of the mill who oppose nearly everything.
    Imagine if…..the top private sector employers announced all their NIS deductions were going into an escrow account. They would be released when the NIS filed annual reports.
    We are doing what the law requires, now it is time for the NIS?
    That is powerful. They are not refusing to remit, but remitting with a condition which is the law.

36. Enjoying the performances

37. Excellent suggestion NO.
    This would be a viable move – if our private sector were not even more crooked than the Government is.

When you have not paid VAT in eons and your business is not being prosecuted thanks to the ‘goodwill’ of some minister, you are NOT in a position to take any high moral ground.

When you are the recipient of questionable contracts thanks to ‘high level assurances’, then you are highly unlikely to threaten government with lawful sanctions.

The damn place is TOO FAR GONE for any but the most drastic revolutionary revamping…. which is coming.

38. @NO

Acknowledge your point.

39. @Enuff
    Somebody had to make the decision ent? Lynette getting a pension btw.🤣🤣🤣
    +++++
    Petty! Petty! Petty! The 30 MP’s who voted for the changes will also be receiving a pension as soon as they reach the grand old age of 50.

Isn’t it commendable to see someone take a stand on an issue that doesn’t impact them?

40. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

“The damn place is TOO FAR GONE for any but the most drastic revolutionary revamping…. which is coming.”

Not a lot of choice left, look at the damage done, while weak minds sit around pretending it’s all normal and natural…in no hurry to end the evil…still promoting the vilest of criminals posing as leaders…., refusing to call out the dangerous, thieves, liars and impostors still poised to deliver more corruption, shame and embarrassment….along with injustice after injustice aimed directly at the population….the equally dangerous enablers..who can aways tell you how things cannot be changed, never how they can.

Good thing no one but those who think just like them…going nowhere…is waiting for them to make decisions to save them…they are on their own reveling in folly.

41. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved..

Bushman…nearly as bad as the NIS scandalous disaster..only because they int get to RoB nuhbody..except those who foolishly invested their money in that still illegal shitshow…….sources disclose they are failing MISERABLY in the medical marijuana fraud they created..people are running away from them…claiming too much confusion…the only thing ya get from scammers.

42. Atrax we are both right!!

At the stage I entered and turned back it was 2 down for 3 runs!!

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Brandon King, 0.1 ov), 2-2 (Johnson Charles, 0.4 ov), 3-32 (Kyle Mayers, 3.4 ov), 4-89 (Rovman Powell, 9.5 ov), 5-126 (Nicholas Pooran, 13.6 ov), 6-128 (Romario Shepherd, 15.1 ov), 7-128 (Jason Holder, 15.4 ov), 8-129 (Shimron Hetmyer, 15.6 ov) •

43. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha …seems some states already started….just a matter of time now..

“The current reaction comes after media pointed out states using AI to set bail and distribute welfare benefits.”

44. Yes, John. I re-read your comment, which I erroneously thought you meant WI was 2 runs for 3 wickets, when I first read it. Appologies to you.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

This gives some in PrivSector, the opportunity to show they have nothing to hide?
    Some maybe concerned for future, bec Bim is one vindictive place.
    But sometimes you have to do what is proper, and let the cards fall where they may.
    Only the politically rabid could twist how the publishing of the required Reports is NOT in the peoples best interest.

46. John
    I have need of your expertise. What can you tell me about a slaveowner of Barbados … William Lynch. I am trying to research if he was real.

47. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…gotta give them the 2 years they were unable to use the Spring Garden route…but damn, you have the 50 year old template so how did they manage to screw up the timing….cant speak for blue box cart and the christian band but we got there about 2:30 and did not see the first band until after 4pm..and then only 2 or 3…someone messed up…the bands will be coming down well into the night…late…

But they had a very large, colorful and diverse crowd all along the highway.

48. Old Geezer on August 7, 2023 at 4:49 PM said:

John
    I have need of your expertise. What can you tell me about a slaveowner of Barbados … William Lynch. I am trying to research if he was real.

What year???

if 1817 to 1834, search this site.

https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/1129/

Alternatively, you can check this site and you will get access to whatever burials, marriages or baptisms that are recorded the parochial registers.

Most Quakers won’t be recorded.

No William Lynches before 1700.

https://www.familysearch.org/en/