Of the 30 Barbados Labour Party (BLP) members of parliament it was reported 24 supported the Integrity in Public Life Bill in the Lower House last week. The country will wait to see if the Bill passes the Upper House where it was defeated three years ago.

Already there is criticism coming from some quarters regarding the exemption of sitting judges, Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General. Attorney General Dale Marshall explained that existing terms and conditions of employment makes it difficult to include those groups of public officers but new appointments will be included. Some will say given how problematic enacting integrity legislation has been for the last thirty years, let us start the ball rolling.

Of course if (when) the Bill is passed by the Upper House there will be the big job of operationalising by appointing an Integrity Commissioners and allocating required budget to ensure its effective working. There is reason to be concerned, several years after the creation of the Employment Rights Tribunal it continues to be negatively affected by being under resourced by government.

Corruption continues to be the scourge of man’s existence, one cannot listen or watch global news without a mention being made of corrupt behaviour by public and private players. The failings of man is a universal condition, local actors by some divine intervention are not exempted from being dishonest. Fortunately many of us, some suggest the majority, are driven to want to engage in honest behaviour. A responsible government must ensure a relevant governance framework to manage integrity in public life is implemented and robustly policed.

Although integrity legislation is a necessary start to monitor and ensure transgressors are punished – we wait for the sister laws governing freedom of information to be implemented as well – we should not forget the obvious, it takes two hands to clap. Public officers cannot exercise corrupt behaviour unless willing actors in the private sector make themselves available. We must ensure our court system is made fit for our purpose along with the Barbados Police Service and other enforcement agencies raise to support. In hindsight, it seems ludicrous those responsible have had to haggle for years to improve security at ports of entry. Honest citizens deserve to be protected from corrupt players.

The blogmaster understands why there is scepticism in some quarters about enacting legislation without including judges. It is no secret that in developing countries like Barbados this is where an elevated level of corruption is found. That said, the longest journey starts with the first step. Is it conceivable the Upper House will kick vote down the Bill because of this obvious fault line?

See Relevant Bill

84 responses to “Politicians Trying Again to Enact Integrity Legislation – Sitting Judges to Get a Bligh”

1. Former Opposition Leader Joe Atherley is on different sides of the issue with Caswell, whom he appointed to the Senate.

Atherley backs second attempt at integrity bill
    Former Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley is giving his support to Government’s second attempt at the Integrity In Public Life Bill.
    However, despite the adjustments made in hope of getting the measure through the Senate this time around, Atherley told the Sunday Sun that he still had some concerns about the latest iteration of the Bill.
    Tabling the Integrity In Public Life Bill, 2023, in the House of Assembly on Friday, Attorney General Dale Marshall revealed the two changes made to the Bill. The main change is that only newly appointed judges, along with their spouses and children, will have to complete declarations of their assets and liabilities before taking office, and that declarations of people in high office will not be published in the public domain.
    Atherley said that while he understood Government’s position, he believed that existing judges could have been given the option to declare their assets in the spirit of transparency.
    “I understand when one would suggest that persons who were appointed to judicial positions prior to this legislation would feel a bit disadvantaged if they are captured in this legislation. I can understand that, especially when one makes reference to the fact that it is not only the individual but relatives who also come under scrutiny,” Atherley said.
    He continued: “However, I think that people driven by a sense of honesty and a sense of integrity would not necessarily object to being captured by legislation which offers protection to the state in matters of corruption. So though I understand the position taken that they were there before, I believe that conversation should be had with these people individually to see who would volunteer to have themselves captured under the legislation.”
    Atherley, who is leader of the People’s Party for Democracy and Development, said he understood that there may be plans to cast the net wider to
    capture lower-level public servants, a move he believed to be unwarranted.
    “I believe that any corruption is to be found at the higher levels in public service and there are measures already in place for persons that operate at the lower level. I don’t know that you have to bring them into a net like this. So I hope that it does not go that far,” he said.
    Atherley, who once represented St Michael West on a Barbados Labour Party ticket, said he was most concerned about the blind trust provision, describing it as a potential loophole in the system.
    A blind trust is defined as a financial arrangement in which a person in public office gives the administration of private business interests to an independent trust in order to prevent conflict of interest. Under the trust, the owner does not know how the assets are managed.
    Atherley said: “The thing that concerns me is this business about a blind trust within this cultural context. Though it is practised elsewhere, it is the kind of mechanism in which people can still hide their assets.
    “I always supported the Integrity in Public Life Bill. I never objected to its passage because I believe that we have to make a start somewhere, but I always acknowledged that there were concerns such as the blind trust that can provide a loophole for some people who are unscrupulous.” ( CLM)

2. Things that make you …

No due diligence done by those who attempted to do business with Moore? What recommended him for business?

American CEO in vaccine trial ‘broke’
    The man who is accused of defrauding Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney of millions of dollars to be used to purchase COVID-19 vaccinations for Barbados is broke.
    Attorneys John D. Schwalb and Michael T. Stoller, who have been representing Alex Moore, an American businessman and chief executive officer of Good Vibrations Entertainment (GVE), for the past year throughout the preliminary civil case have applied to the United States District Court Central District of California to withdraw as counsel.
    The motion, filed on July 17, a month before the August jury trial gets underway, was granted by the presiding judge.
    Lead counsel Schwalb informed the court that GVE “is essentially bankrupt and has no assets of which I am aware”, as Moore owed him US$30 000 in legal fees.
    Moore and GVE are accused of fraud and breach of contract among other things pertaining to the non-delivery of US$10 million in COVID vaccines. He received US$4.2 million in 2021 to procure the vaccines but never fulfilled the deal.
    Evidence showed that he spent the money on numerous lavish luxury items, including purchases which totalled in the hundreds of thousands on vehicles, designer items, jewellery, plastic surgery, and more. He also disclosed in his deposition that he gave several hundreds of thousands of dollars to family and friends.
    Both attorneys in their declaration charged that Moore had been uncooperative with them.
    Schwalb said: “Moore, the sole member of Good Vibrations and an individual defendant, has refused to cooperate with myself, as well as local counsel in this matter. This has resulted in a serious breakdown of the attorney-client relationship as well as the retainer agreement between the client and attorney.
    Deadlines not met
    In terms of the payment of the retainer fee, he disclosed that: “Neither Good Vibrations nor Moore have met the deadlines and agreed upon obligations as it relates to the payment of my fees and expenses in this matter. Despite continued promises the deadlines have come and gone without payment and there have been multiple explanations, but nonetheless, no payments have been made since December 2022.
    “There is a rather significant outstanding balance currently owed which has been outstanding since at least December 2022. His current outstanding balance is in excess of $30 000. He has refused
    to even make payments on the outstanding balance. Within the past month, Moore has largely ceased communicating with me. He has refused to return telephone calls, text messages and email, including emails about outstanding discovery. I have given Moore multiple extensions based upon his promises. I have explained his obligations to cooperate with regard to discovery and moving forward on this matter. Nonetheless, he has not. I am a sole practitioner and have advised Moore that I cannot continue to, nor should he expect that I would continue to, represent him without any payments toward his outstanding fee balance in over seven months or him failing to meet the agreed upon deadlines. He was fully warned that I would seek withdrawal if not paid on multiple occasions.”
    The attorney further complained that there was a “complete breakdown of the attorney-client relationship such that I cannot continue to represent him consistent with my ethical obligations to him, the court and opposing counsel”.
    Stoller submitted a similar declaration stating that he, too, had not been paid by Moore.
    “I have served as counsel to defendants Good Vibrations Entertainment, LLC, and Alex (Flex) Moore since June 2022. I billed for the work I performed in connection with this matter . . . . I have devoted whatever time was needed to get up to speed on the matter and assist with pre-trial requirements in anticipation of the August 7, 2023 trial date for the representation of defendants Good Vibrations Entertainment, LLC, and Alex (Flex) Moore. Defendants have not paid for any of the work performed and the fees accrued. Despite numerous bills and letters being sent to the defendants, they have been delinquent in making any payments.”
    Both attorneys also told the court that they had informed Moore of their intention to withdraw as counsel but had received no response. ( MB)

3. Abrahams: Only way to ease backlog

Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams contends it is “impossible” for the justice system to get on top of the backlog of cases “unless it gets rid and disposes of some of the cases without trial”.
    He told the House of Assembly on Tuesday: “Practically, the Government needs to look at how can we fairly dispose of some of these cases or encourage the disposal of some of these cases, while still securing justice for the persons who have been affected by the crimes that have been committed.”
    In the only other contribution to debate on the Supreme Court of Judicature (Amendment) Bill, 2023, which adds the authority of the Chief Justice to make sentencing guidelines for judges to follow in criminal cases to the existing legislation, Abrahams, an attorney, said the guidelines were necessary “not only for the setting of parameters for judges but also to inject certainty in the process”.
    He focused on the practical implications of the amendment, pointing out its significance for accused people who he suggested would be more inclined to plead guilty to the offence if they were more aware of the likely penalty.
    “Where persons are thinking of what the maximum sentence is, but have some idea of what the minimum is, or the parameters within which the sentence will be concentrated, it might make them more likely to accept what they have
    done and plea it out of the system,” he said.
    “The instinct of an accused person is to plead not guilty. You very, very seldom have people coming forward and saying ‘I did it’. Your own clients will not tell you the whole story and your own clients will give you what they think you need to hear to be able to represent them properly. So, we have a whole set of persons who are not guilty, who are currently doing time, if we are to believe what is said, and quite often the refusal to confront what you have done has to do with your apprehension as to the uncertainty of what happens next . . . .”
    Abrahams suggested: “If persons understand what the sentence is, it might let them focus on the futility of the path that they embarked upon.” (GC)

4. BILL CRITICAL
    Armstrong says country’s reputation depends on passage
    As Government makes a second go at the Integrity In Public Life Bill legislation, chairman of the watchdog group Integrity Group Barbados (IGB), Andy Armstrong, says the country’s international reputation on corruption hangs on the vote of the Senate.
    Stressing that Barbados is one of only two countries in the world without integrity legislation, Armstrong contends that the continued absence of the measure is enough to give international investors pause.
    “From outside it is very important because Barbados is still one of only two countries in the world, the other being Syria, that do not have this type of legislation. This is certainly not great company to be in and I know that international organisations and big multinational companies, if they see that we do not have any integrity legislation, will have some concerns even though they still come here. Once we have it in place, I think overseas investors will be a lot more comfortable [doing] business with Barbados,” Armstrong said.
    The IGB chairman explained that the initiative was also a confidence booster for the local private sector as well, adding that it was a major step in allaying fears related to transparency.
    “Locally, I think it is important because it puts everyone in those key positions on their guard. People will be aware of what they declare, and they would, therefore, have to be a lot more careful than they were in the past and even the act of being more careful will reduce corruption, if it exists,” he said.
    Attorney General Dale Marshall tabled the Bill in the House of Assembly on Friday, and pointed out the two changes made following its initial failure to get the required two-third majority in the Senate in 2020.
    The main change is that only newly appointed judges, along with their spouses and children, will have to complete declarations of their assets and liabilities before taking office, and that declarations of people in high office will not be published
    in the public domain.
    The same protection for existing judges also applies to the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General. Regarding the publishing of declarations, Marshall admitted that had been an oversight, and the issue had been ventilated before Parliament’s Select Committee.
    “It slipped through. We will not make any declarations public. That provision has been taken out.”
    Enough changes
    Armstrong told the Sunday Sun he believed the changes to be enough to reach a middle ground, noting while some may not consider it perfect, tweaks to the legislation could be made after it has passed.
    “There was a concern that the last bill did not include judges at all but this one includes any new judges that will be appointed after. I know not everyone is happy with that as some believe that all judges should be covered from now, but I think it’s a good compromise.
    “I understand the Government’s position that putting it in could mean the law being challenged, which could take another five years to be resolved. I really would not like to see any more delays because this is a piece of legislation that Barbados should have had 30 years ago,” he said.
    Despite the length of time it has taken, the longstanding businessman said that he was happy that the bill has been again tabled in Parliament, noting that many feared its demise following its failure to become law in 2020.
    “I am very pleased that Government has brought the legislation back, that they have made changes and that it passed overwhelmingly in the House of Assembly. I was actually there for a large part of the proceedings with two other members of our group. It is now on to the Senate to debate the measure on August 9 and we will be there again to give moral support to try to get it over the line,” he stated. ( CLM)

5. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

At least we got anomolies, witnessing the phenomena of a world stage relocated to a court room .. quite the feat…even for lawyers, judges and all shareholders involved …that must be the greatness in them..

Integrity legislation and the lack of after 40 years of promises, in the news again…who says dem int consistent. ..

Too late, too late, but they are still winging it.

6. Thought you might like to see the effect of corruption in Barbados.

This dates back to EWB!!

https://www.thesun.ie/news/11069253/abandoned-barbdos-resort-simon-cowell/

7. Sleazy & Jiggs Avatar
    Sleazy & Jiggs

Scandalous corruption where finders fees and legal fees were paid to Politically Exposed Persons of the DLP and BLP.

8. And you know this how?

9. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

One thing’s for sure, lawyer reputations are GONE permanently, NONE were stellar to begin with, not with DECADES of complaints of violations they all ignored…

Looks like the seige of the island THAT DONT BELONG TO ANY OF THEM…though they love to pretend…is coming to an end..

10. William Skinner Avatar

I am waiting to hear of any problem we have now that hasn’t been around for four decades plus.Outside of COVID, one finds difficulty in identifying any issue that is absolutely new.
    We saw the hooliganism emerging along with gangs; those were the roots of the hardcore crimes we have at present. It then made its way to parliament: gun threats and cussing.
    We always find excuses , political clap trap and hero worshipping of politicians, as serious answers/ positions whenever any profound discussion about the negatives affecting our country surfaces. This trend continues.
    Thankfully, we still have citizens such as Ralph Jemmott , Jeremy Stevens , Caswell Frankly and a few others, who are quite objective when commenting on issues.
    The current mini bus culture was driven by open political and corporate greed.
    Just to avoid any stupid argument, when I say we , I am speaking about we the country and not we as in BU. Thanks.

11. Perfect recipe for the disintegration of a society. One law for me, another law for thee. All descendants of slaves yet some slaves are ‘more equal’ than others. Exclude Sitting Judges, Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General. Three professions that absolutely necessitate INTEGRITY.

Do we still wonder why the ignorant, inexperienced youth rebel?

Integrity is necessary to protect the ‘innocent/weak/blind’ from the proclivities of the vulnerable overlords who are susceptible to corruption.

Maybe the PM can ask the Chinese to wrap their loans/gifts in a Confucian Leaf from their Integrity Manual, because the Chinese are constantly chopping off the heads of their corrupt citizens who violate their Laws of Integrity which cover Bribery, Theft,Corruption, Lying…….

While there are some persons who live believing that since they don’t/can’t see GOD, GOD can’t /don’t see them, there some of us who have realised that we are living in an epoch where the Universal Law of Retribution has been enacted at warp speed.

12. What is the DLP’s position on the amended Bill before the Senate? If Dr. Yearwood or any of the candidates offered a comment, the blogmaster missed it.

13. Skinner

This has all been nothing but a pappy show.

Seems like more than a single lost decade.

We see Jamaica following suit with a proposed republicanism. Even as Holness allows his country to front a military aggression against Haiti, with Mottley in tow, of course.

And although weeeee know integrity legislation makes not an iota of difference anywhere it exists it feeds narrow political interests in Barbados.

At best it will merely present a patina as the standard political trick when if those who pretend to be democratic were really serious an unencumbered right to recall would have been long instituted given the electoral arithmetic.

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    I don’t know why they think the masses are so ignorant of their shenanigans.

15. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

The popular sentiment…looks like sumbody slipped and fell off the world stage.

Someone said “despite all the fluff.”

16. This is a story familiar to Barbados. It makes for painful reading.

https://www.icij.org/investigations/pandora-papers/kenya-uhuru-kenyatta-family-offshore-wealth/

17. Round the mulberry bush Avatar
    Round the mulberry bush

Verbal masturbation and pissing on the leg and telling folks it is raining.

Will sit and watch long article posted, some waxing eloquently and at the same time know… All this means nothing.

18. Getting justice is like winning a lottery Avatar
    Getting justice is like winning a lottery

it is impossible” for the justice system to get on top of the backlog of cases “unless it gets rid and disposes of some of the cases without trial”.

Breaking news
    Cases to be heard will now be scheduled by the lottery system. Big winners will be announced weekly. Remember this, if your number isn’t called ‘don’t come to court’

19. This blog akin to aloes–bittuh ehhhhh.🤣

20. Reporting from Universe 2 (where you live) Avatar
    Reporting from Universe 2 (where you live)

Do you know the difference between a conspiracy theory and an alternate universe?

What would you do if one day you came to the realization that it was all smoke and mirrors. What if you realize that new laws and new initiatives were nothing more than propaganda and a PR campaigns? What if you realize the publicity of being on the world stage and that the headlines and awards doesn’t really amount to anything.

What if the contact with Africa was mainly to hide corrupt money. The US has shown itself not to be safe and willing to pursue criminals; the EU blacklisting the countries and talking of corruption. So what do you do? You push out legislation and align yourself with corrupt leaders who you call bankers. Going to bet my shirt that you will never find a dollar of stolen money in the real universe.

The world that you live in has contact with the real world, but in that small area that you inhabit fiction has replaced reality. We’re past all stages of conspiracy theories, we create an alternate universe.

21. I don’t know why they think the masses are so ignorant of their shenanigans.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    perhaps because this ignorance is so obvious and pervasive…???

Except far a VERY few, ..and then 99% of that ‘few’ just talk…

22. bottom line…
    This is why the Barbados government is so gung-ho about Africa.
    Since Donville, Miami is no longer a Safe Haven….

What say you Enuff…?

23. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Everyone and their Mama on the Continent and everywhere else knows that’s exactly what that is…..pay attention going forward and there just might be some breaking news from Afrika too….western networks in my orbit are already prepared…and waiting..they know it’s all an ACT…..especially with the culprit’s track record of manipulating and emasculating weak stupid men to perpetrate criminal agendas….stay tuned.

“What if you realize the publicity of being on the world stage and that the headlines and awards doesn’t really amount to anything.

What if the contact with Africa was mainly to hide corrupt money.”

24. There’s a quickening going on here on Mother Earth. Climate Change is just a distraction from your spiritual upgrades.

Just a few months ago one of my greatest wishes was to see the destruction of Pfizer. Around July 19, a tornado swept thru N. Carolina and partially destroyed that bytch. July 14, there was an huge explosion at Dow Chemical Plant in Louisiana. This is a major defense plant that manufactures chemical ethylene oxide which is used to make thermobaric munitions.

The BEAR just recently destroyed a warehouse of cluster munitions that the idiots from the west sent to the Ukraine while murting some polish german and other mercs.

In the meantime, the silly Africans are worried about starvation because they can’t get wheat from the ukraine. Give one good reason why they should not starve when GOD put them in the Garden of Eden.

Then you have the silly Haitians, a population of over 11 mil, yet 10K of them can’t take back their country from a few families including Bill and Hilary. How long Haiti will you live in hell. Your forefathers roasted the hell out of the coloniser, then you turned around and paid him reparations for your freedom. Asinine! Your folly has reached the heavens.

I think GOD is sick of stupid Black People…the Apple of His Eye.

Use that fire within to destroy that evil before it destroys you. You got the power so use it. This ain’t no spectator sport. This is a contact sport. The GOB can only get away with that which the populous condone.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

That’s a very sharp elbow to the face (integrity) of our brethren, Mr BushGriot!

Very forcibly blunt, you are!

26. USA “fights corruption” worldwide outside the law
    it wants to remain the most powerful gang in the world

27. Very forcibly blunt, you are!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Ya mean like aloes….??!

28. Bushie
    I don’t have neither time nor patience to waste with all yuh. Only last week all yuh were defending the Kinch gentleman. Corruption comes in many forms.

29. Nathan J Green Avatar
    Nathan J Green

Those who do not support the Bill should be investigated by the people for possible misdeeds. Because no normal decent person would fight against integrity legislation unless they have something to hide.

Of course I am not accusing anyone of misdeeds because I do not know of any.

30. “I think GOD is sick of stupid Black People…the Apple of His Eye.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This summarizes the Bible in one sentence.

31. @enuff

Is that how you have interpreted the Kinch matter? Then you were not paying. The more things change eh?

32. LOL @ Enuff
    But Boss, you NEED both time and patience with lowly brass bowls such as Bushie…
    Were you not supposed to be part of the great communications team that would break down all this issues for the bushman in the street…?

What happened bozie? tings getting too hot…?

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

You are tooooo political. Defending Kinch?
    AK is playing with them in the hope…..
    But it is no different from how the Bridgetown initiative plays with others?
    It’s all a game enuff, all a game

34. @ David
    So wait Boss…you getting soft or what!!!??

You saw the front page of todays Nation … and left it off BU for critical analysis?

A country that has borrowed NUFF money to spend on free education, has invited foreigners to come and look after the running of its little shiite airport – apparently because the local scholars ain’t worth what Paddy shot at..

Do you REALLY expect ANY kind of meaningful analyses of this decision by the government to come from ANY other sector of our shiite society?

OK..
    The first and most OBVIOUS sign of idiocy is the claim being paraded by Artax’s star boy Bourne that “The new agreement would see GAIA receiving 30% of the revenue earned…
    Increasing by 10% when pre-covid levels are passed… ie 40%, and then to 50% in the final 10 years.

Sounds great… except – What exactly is meant by ‘revenue’…?

Cause…
    Revenue is the TOTAL FUNDS generated by an operation…. before expenses!!
    If the franchise holders are able to hand over 50% of gross income, as the franchise costs, then any idiot (including the Brass Bowl variety) could have run that business successfully.

Bushie is betting that the people who actually UNDERSTAND what has been agreed, probably KNOW that those percentages actually refer to PROFITS and NOT to ‘revenue’.

Those bright people probably ALSO know that franchise holders have the UNRESTRAINED ability to determine what levels of ‘profit’ they will declare for any period (by simply manipulating the ‘expenses’ for example.)

Please Mr David King, ask Enuff (politely) to confirm that we were not gullible enough to sign a 30-year franchise – where the licensee gets to determine the annual ‘fee’ based on their own internal ‘profit’ levels declared….. [cause Enuff ain’t got no time with stinking Bushie…)

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

Bushie it ent bedtime yet?
    You know since Estwick time, looking to the UAE for $$$ has been a thing.
    So here they are.
    And you are the King of beggar identification.
    Wha dey say, beggars can’t be choosers.
    They likely turned a blind eye to a few things, after all, they have nuff oil money, and a fifedom which doesn’t share it with THEIR people.
    That is the kind of chump change they spend on a few horses of unknown potential.

36. @Bush Tea

The country is broke.

37. A good example of the corruption of Power with Judges in the Court System is US Supreme Court

38. Can’t blame Bourne for an agreement ‘government’ signed, the terms of which were explained in Parliment by Tourism Minister Ian Gooding-Edgehill. I cannot understand the rational of entering into a 30 year PPP with GAIA, one of the island’s most important and profitable assets, to realise a 50% return in revenue [gross or net???] in year 30. Let’s hope provisions were made for an overview of the financial statements by the Auditor General’s Office and Director of Finance…… and DISCLOSURES made AVAILABLE to the public.

39. The country is broke.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    When you are a people who are ‘easily parted from their assets’, …you INEVITABLY end up broke.

Point is, we are broke BECAUSE we are stupid. Not stupid because we are broke.

@ Artax
    Bushie was only blaming Bourne for the silly EXPLANATION of the agreement… revenue indeed!!
    But was he not a lead expert in the negotiations?

@ NO
    Bedtime shiite!! LOL
    As explained, Bushie can smell shiite from miles away … even when it is wrapped in fancy PR gimmicks. (It is called wisdom – and comes from ONLY one source…)

No doubt Artax can recall another ‘Government Financial arrangement’ that guaranteed them a percentage of profits generated….
    The treasury is YET to receive a single cent…

But the deal has been like ‘sugar’ to the gang involved…
    What a DAMNED place…

Worse part is not the crookedness on high… it is the complacency and compliance at the brass bowl level…

When the stuff hits the big fan, Bushie would be unsurprised to find out that some young Bajan-big-boxied-BBs are the property of some Sheik or the other…
    steupsss…
    Even the damn Israelis are rising up against the Demons led by Netanyahu… we just soak it up….

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Keep dreaming.
    There will be no public disclosure. They have gotten away with it with the NIS ( dare I mention that) and others for so long, they is no reason. I found a delayed BTMI report recently from a different chair, which begged forgiveness for the fact auditors could not qualify the numbers, but rest assured the other years were well underway…and they change the chair…and Natta.
    The public don’t understand them, so why bother?
    Sometimes soon they will tell them what the NIS can afford, and the public will accept whatever they are told.
    By the way, is White Oaks still retained?

41. Sleazy & Jiggs Avatar

David, are you pulling my legs. Who was the lawyers for the bwa building, cahill, coverley. Check paradise papers and see many the common names. My legal clerk see and hear and see a lot of dirty wickedness

42. David
    If you think with some depth and less bias, you’d get it.

43. @enuff

That our government has to reacquire land on Bay Street for a car park to allow ‘things’ to flow?

Anyway John Public shouldn’t have to think with any debt, straight forward explanations should be forthcoming. Didn’t your government create a Public Affairs Agency to ensure effective communication with Barbadians?

44. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Even more encouraging is that inside sources say 100 lawyers attached to the RICO civil case in Florida is nothing, there should be 400-500 names of “thieves for lawyers” in Barbados on that list…..

Did weee not warn they will need a wide bodied 747 CON-AIR jetliner for all the crooks when the time comes and if their pimps, fowls, slaves imps get reeled as they so deserve, they may need 3-4 wide-bodied 747s…….well.

45. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Not sure why this is being debated, World Bank already has a new leader, the indian dude who saved the pretender from being mauled on a Paris stage by the French..

https://rijock.blogspot.com/2023/07/have-allegations-of-organized-probate.html?m=1

46. David
    But didn’t you say you have all the info? Share it on BU nuh.

47. @enuff

Wishing you an equitable outcome in your discussions with Kinch.

48. Share it on BU nuh.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Come on Enuff!!

Who elected BU to be responsible for communicating with Bajans?
    Did David get 30-0 endorsement too?

Don’t be like your regular yard fowls such as ‘renzo’ and the brass tacks crowers…

49. No FOI, if BU doesn't share information Avatar
    No FOI, if BU doesn’t share information

But they are doing to David what he usually does with the DLP. He usually blames everything on a lack of an opposition instead of blaming those doing the deed.

We will get FOI, but the information should come from David.

50. No FOI, if BU doesn't share information Avatar
    No FOI, if BU doesn’t share information

Do you remember when things us to fall off the back of a truck?

Guvment changed; rute changed, truck brek down, stuff tied down and de fellers packing de truck lost BU email addy.

Is anybody feeling used??