Politicians Trying Again to Enact Integrity Legislation – Sitting Judges to Get a Bligh

Of the 30 Barbados Labour Party (BLP) members of parliament it was reported 24 supported the Integrity in Public Life Bill in the Lower House last week. The country will wait to see if the Bill passes the Upper House where it was defeated three years ago.

Already there is criticism coming from some quarters regarding the exemption of sitting judges, Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General. Attorney General Dale Marshall explained that existing terms and conditions of employment makes it difficult to include those groups of public officers but new appointments will be included. Some will say given how problematic enacting integrity legislation has been for the last thirty years, let us start the ball rolling.

Of course if (when) the Bill is passed by the Upper House there will be the big job of operationalising by appointing an Integrity Commissioners and allocating required budget to ensure its effective working. There is reason to be concerned, several years after the creation of the Employment Rights Tribunal it continues to be negatively affected by being under resourced by government.

Corruption continues to be the scourge of man’s existence, one cannot listen or watch global news without a mention being made of corrupt behaviour by public and private players. The failings of man is a universal condition, local actors by some divine intervention are not exempted from being dishonest. Fortunately many of us, some suggest the majority, are driven to want to engage in honest behaviour. A responsible government must ensure a relevant governance framework to manage integrity in public life is implemented and robustly policed.

Although integrity legislation is a necessary start to monitor and ensure transgressors are punished – we wait for the sister laws governing freedom of information to be implemented as well – we should not forget the obvious, it takes two hands to clap. Public officers cannot exercise corrupt behaviour unless willing actors in the private sector make themselves available. We must ensure our court system is made fit for our purpose along with the Barbados Police Service and other enforcement agencies raise to support. In hindsight, it seems ludicrous those responsible have had to haggle for years to improve security at ports of entry. Honest citizens deserve to be protected from corrupt players.

The blogmaster understands why there is scepticism in some quarters about enacting legislation without including judges. It is no secret that in developing countries like Barbados this is where an elevated level of corruption is found. That said, the longest journey starts with the first step. Is it conceivable the Upper House will kick vote down the Bill because of this obvious fault line?

See Relevant Bill

84 thoughts on “Politicians Trying Again to Enact Integrity Legislation – Sitting Judges to Get a Bligh

1. Former Opposition Leader Joe Atherley is on different sides of the issue with Caswell, whom he appointed to the Senate.

Atherley backs second attempt at integrity bill
    Former Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley is giving his support to Government’s second attempt at the Integrity In Public Life Bill.
    However, despite the adjustments made in hope of getting the measure through the Senate this time around, Atherley told the Sunday Sun that he still had some concerns about the latest iteration of the Bill.
    Tabling the Integrity In Public Life Bill, 2023, in the House of Assembly on Friday, Attorney General Dale Marshall revealed the two changes made to the Bill. The main change is that only newly appointed judges, along with their spouses and children, will have to complete declarations of their assets and liabilities before taking office, and that declarations of people in high office will not be published in the public domain.
    Atherley said that while he understood Government’s position, he believed that existing judges could have been given the option to declare their assets in the spirit of transparency.
    “I understand when one would suggest that persons who were appointed to judicial positions prior to this legislation would feel a bit disadvantaged if they are captured in this legislation. I can understand that, especially when one makes reference to the fact that it is not only the individual but relatives who also come under scrutiny,” Atherley said.
    He continued: “However, I think that people driven by a sense of honesty and a sense of integrity would not necessarily object to being captured by legislation which offers protection to the state in matters of corruption. So though I understand the position taken that they were there before, I believe that conversation should be had with these people individually to see who would volunteer to have themselves captured under the legislation.”
    Atherley, who is leader of the People’s Party for Democracy and Development, said he understood that there may be plans to cast the net wider to
    capture lower-level public servants, a move he believed to be unwarranted.
    “I believe that any corruption is to be found at the higher levels in public service and there are measures already in place for persons that operate at the lower level. I don’t know that you have to bring them into a net like this. So I hope that it does not go that far,” he said.
    Atherley, who once represented St Michael West on a Barbados Labour Party ticket, said he was most concerned about the blind trust provision, describing it as a potential loophole in the system.
    A blind trust is defined as a financial arrangement in which a person in public office gives the administration of private business interests to an independent trust in order to prevent conflict of interest. Under the trust, the owner does not know how the assets are managed.
    Atherley said: “The thing that concerns me is this business about a blind trust within this cultural context. Though it is practised elsewhere, it is the kind of mechanism in which people can still hide their assets.
    “I always supported the Integrity in Public Life Bill. I never objected to its passage because I believe that we have to make a start somewhere, but I always acknowledged that there were concerns such as the blind trust that can provide a loophole for some people who are unscrupulous.” ( CLM)

• Things that make you …

No due diligence done by those who attempted to do business with Moore? What recommended him for business?

American CEO in vaccine trial ‘broke’
      The man who is accused of defrauding Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney of millions of dollars to be used to purchase COVID-19 vaccinations for Barbados is broke.
      Attorneys John D. Schwalb and Michael T. Stoller, who have been representing Alex Moore, an American businessman and chief executive officer of Good Vibrations Entertainment (GVE), for the past year throughout the preliminary civil case have applied to the United States District Court Central District of California to withdraw as counsel.
      The motion, filed on July 17, a month before the August jury trial gets underway, was granted by the presiding judge.
      Lead counsel Schwalb informed the court that GVE “is essentially bankrupt and has no assets of which I am aware”, as Moore owed him US$30 000 in legal fees.
      Moore and GVE are accused of fraud and breach of contract among other things pertaining to the non-delivery of US$10 million in COVID vaccines. He received US$4.2 million in 2021 to procure the vaccines but never fulfilled the deal.
      Evidence showed that he spent the money on numerous lavish luxury items, including purchases which totalled in the hundreds of thousands on vehicles, designer items, jewellery, plastic surgery, and more. He also disclosed in his deposition that he gave several hundreds of thousands of dollars to family and friends.
      Both attorneys in their declaration charged that Moore had been uncooperative with them.
      Schwalb said: “Moore, the sole member of Good Vibrations and an individual defendant, has refused to cooperate with myself, as well as local counsel in this matter. This has resulted in a serious breakdown of the attorney-client relationship as well as the retainer agreement between the client and attorney.
      Deadlines not met
      In terms of the payment of the retainer fee, he disclosed that: “Neither Good Vibrations nor Moore have met the deadlines and agreed upon obligations as it relates to the payment of my fees and expenses in this matter. Despite continued promises the deadlines have come and gone without payment and there have been multiple explanations, but nonetheless, no payments have been made since December 2022.
      “There is a rather significant outstanding balance currently owed which has been outstanding since at least December 2022. His current outstanding balance is in excess of $30 000. He has refused
      to even make payments on the outstanding balance. Within the past month, Moore has largely ceased communicating with me. He has refused to return telephone calls, text messages and email, including emails about outstanding discovery. I have given Moore multiple extensions based upon his promises. I have explained his obligations to cooperate with regard to discovery and moving forward on this matter. Nonetheless, he has not. I am a sole practitioner and have advised Moore that I cannot continue to, nor should he expect that I would continue to, represent him without any payments toward his outstanding fee balance in over seven months or him failing to meet the agreed upon deadlines. He was fully warned that I would seek withdrawal if not paid on multiple occasions.”
      The attorney further complained that there was a “complete breakdown of the attorney-client relationship such that I cannot continue to represent him consistent with my ethical obligations to him, the court and opposing counsel”.
      Stoller submitted a similar declaration stating that he, too, had not been paid by Moore.
      “I have served as counsel to defendants Good Vibrations Entertainment, LLC, and Alex (Flex) Moore since June 2022. I billed for the work I performed in connection with this matter . . . . I have devoted whatever time was needed to get up to speed on the matter and assist with pre-trial requirements in anticipation of the August 7, 2023 trial date for the representation of defendants Good Vibrations Entertainment, LLC, and Alex (Flex) Moore. Defendants have not paid for any of the work performed and the fees accrued. Despite numerous bills and letters being sent to the defendants, they have been delinquent in making any payments.”
      Both attorneys also told the court that they had informed Moore of their intention to withdraw as counsel but had received no response. ( MB)

• Abrahams: Only way to ease backlog

Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams contends it is “impossible” for the justice system to get on top of the backlog of cases “unless it gets rid and disposes of some of the cases without trial”.
      He told the House of Assembly on Tuesday: “Practically, the Government needs to look at how can we fairly dispose of some of these cases or encourage the disposal of some of these cases, while still securing justice for the persons who have been affected by the crimes that have been committed.”
      In the only other contribution to debate on the Supreme Court of Judicature (Amendment) Bill, 2023, which adds the authority of the Chief Justice to make sentencing guidelines for judges to follow in criminal cases to the existing legislation, Abrahams, an attorney, said the guidelines were necessary “not only for the setting of parameters for judges but also to inject certainty in the process”.
      He focused on the practical implications of the amendment, pointing out its significance for accused people who he suggested would be more inclined to plead guilty to the offence if they were more aware of the likely penalty.
      “Where persons are thinking of what the maximum sentence is, but have some idea of what the minimum is, or the parameters within which the sentence will be concentrated, it might make them more likely to accept what they have
      done and plea it out of the system,” he said.
      “The instinct of an accused person is to plead not guilty. You very, very seldom have people coming forward and saying ‘I did it’. Your own clients will not tell you the whole story and your own clients will give you what they think you need to hear to be able to represent them properly. So, we have a whole set of persons who are not guilty, who are currently doing time, if we are to believe what is said, and quite often the refusal to confront what you have done has to do with your apprehension as to the uncertainty of what happens next . . . .”
      Abrahams suggested: “If persons understand what the sentence is, it might let them focus on the futility of the path that they embarked upon.” (GC)

• BILL CRITICAL
      Armstrong says country’s reputation depends on passage
      As Government makes a second go at the Integrity In Public Life Bill legislation, chairman of the watchdog group Integrity Group Barbados (IGB), Andy Armstrong, says the country’s international reputation on corruption hangs on the vote of the Senate.
      Stressing that Barbados is one of only two countries in the world without integrity legislation, Armstrong contends that the continued absence of the measure is enough to give international investors pause.
      “From outside it is very important because Barbados is still one of only two countries in the world, the other being Syria, that do not have this type of legislation. This is certainly not great company to be in and I know that international organisations and big multinational companies, if they see that we do not have any integrity legislation, will have some concerns even though they still come here. Once we have it in place, I think overseas investors will be a lot more comfortable [doing] business with Barbados,” Armstrong said.
      The IGB chairman explained that the initiative was also a confidence booster for the local private sector as well, adding that it was a major step in allaying fears related to transparency.
      “Locally, I think it is important because it puts everyone in those key positions on their guard. People will be aware of what they declare, and they would, therefore, have to be a lot more careful than they were in the past and even the act of being more careful will reduce corruption, if it exists,” he said.
      Attorney General Dale Marshall tabled the Bill in the House of Assembly on Friday, and pointed out the two changes made following its initial failure to get the required two-third majority in the Senate in 2020.
      The main change is that only newly appointed judges, along with their spouses and children, will have to complete declarations of their assets and liabilities before taking office, and that declarations of people in high office will not be published
      in the public domain.
      The same protection for existing judges also applies to the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General. Regarding the publishing of declarations, Marshall admitted that had been an oversight, and the issue had been ventilated before Parliament’s Select Committee.
      “It slipped through. We will not make any declarations public. That provision has been taken out.”
      Enough changes
      Armstrong told the Sunday Sun he believed the changes to be enough to reach a middle ground, noting while some may not consider it perfect, tweaks to the legislation could be made after it has passed.
      “There was a concern that the last bill did not include judges at all but this one includes any new judges that will be appointed after. I know not everyone is happy with that as some believe that all judges should be covered from now, but I think it’s a good compromise.
      “I understand the Government’s position that putting it in could mean the law being challenged, which could take another five years to be resolved. I really would not like to see any more delays because this is a piece of legislation that Barbados should have had 30 years ago,” he said.
      Despite the length of time it has taken, the longstanding businessman said that he was happy that the bill has been again tabled in Parliament, noting that many feared its demise following its failure to become law in 2020.
      “I am very pleased that Government has brought the legislation back, that they have made changes and that it passed overwhelmingly in the House of Assembly. I was actually there for a large part of the proceedings with two other members of our group. It is now on to the Senate to debate the measure on August 9 and we will be there again to give moral support to try to get it over the line,” he stated. ( CLM)

2. At least we got anomolies, witnessing the phenomena of a world stage relocated to a court room .. quite the feat…even for lawyers, judges and all shareholders involved …that must be the greatness in them..

Integrity legislation and the lack of after 40 years of promises, in the news again…who says dem int consistent. ..

Too late, too late, but they are still winging it.

• One thing’s for sure, lawyer reputations are GONE permanently, NONE were stellar to begin with, not with DECADES of complaints of violations they all ignored…

Looks like the seige of the island THAT DONT BELONG TO ANY OF THEM…though they love to pretend…is coming to an end..

3. Scandalous corruption where finders fees and legal fees were paid to Politically Exposed Persons of the DLP and BLP.

4. I am waiting to hear of any problem we have now that hasn’t been around for four decades plus.Outside of COVID, one finds difficulty in identifying any issue that is absolutely new.
    We saw the hooliganism emerging along with gangs; those were the roots of the hardcore crimes we have at present. It then made its way to parliament: gun threats and cussing.
    We always find excuses , political clap trap and hero worshipping of politicians, as serious answers/ positions whenever any profound discussion about the negatives affecting our country surfaces. This trend continues.
    Thankfully, we still have citizens such as Ralph Jemmott , Jeremy Stevens , Caswell Frankly and a few others, who are quite objective when commenting on issues.
    The current mini bus culture was driven by open political and corporate greed.
    Just to avoid any stupid argument, when I say we , I am speaking about we the country and not we as in BU. Thanks.

5. Perfect recipe for the disintegration of a society. One law for me, another law for thee. All descendants of slaves yet some slaves are ‘more equal’ than others. Exclude Sitting Judges, Director of Public Prosecutions and the Auditor General. Three professions that absolutely necessitate INTEGRITY.

Do we still wonder why the ignorant, inexperienced youth rebel?

Integrity is necessary to protect the ‘innocent/weak/blind’ from the proclivities of the vulnerable overlords who are susceptible to corruption.

Maybe the PM can ask the Chinese to wrap their loans/gifts in a Confucian Leaf from their Integrity Manual, because the Chinese are constantly chopping off the heads of their corrupt citizens who violate their Laws of Integrity which cover Bribery, Theft,Corruption, Lying…….

While there are some persons who live believing that since they don’t/can’t see GOD, GOD can’t /don’t see them, there some of us who have realised that we are living in an epoch where the Universal Law of Retribution has been enacted at warp speed.

• What is the DLP’s position on the amended Bill before the Senate? If Dr. Yearwood or any of the candidates offered a comment, the blogmaster missed it.

6. Skinner

This has all been nothing but a pappy show.

Seems like more than a single lost decade.

We see Jamaica following suit with a proposed republicanism. Even as Holness allows his country to front a military aggression against Haiti, with Mottley in tow, of course.

And although weeeee know integrity legislation makes not an iota of difference anywhere it exists it feeds narrow political interests in Barbados.

At best it will merely present a patina as the standard political trick when if those who pretend to be democratic were really serious an unencumbered right to recall would have been long instituted given the electoral arithmetic.

• The popular sentiment…looks like sumbody slipped and fell off the world stage.

Someone said “despite all the fluff.”

• I don’t know why they think the masses are so ignorant of their shenanigans.
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      perhaps because this ignorance is so obvious and pervasive…???

Except far a VERY few, ..and then 99% of that ‘few’ just talk…

7. Verbal masturbation and pissing on the leg and telling folks it is raining.

Will sit and watch long article posted, some waxing eloquently and at the same time know… All this means nothing.

• it is impossible” for the justice system to get on top of the backlog of cases “unless it gets rid and disposes of some of the cases without trial”.

Breaking news
      Cases to be heard will now be scheduled by the lottery system. Big winners will be announced weekly. Remember this, if your number isn’t called ‘don’t come to court’

8. Do you know the difference between a conspiracy theory and an alternate universe?

What would you do if one day you came to the realization that it was all smoke and mirrors. What if you realize that new laws and new initiatives were nothing more than propaganda and a PR campaigns? What if you realize the publicity of being on the world stage and that the headlines and awards doesn’t really amount to anything.

What if the contact with Africa was mainly to hide corrupt money. The US has shown itself not to be safe and willing to pursue criminals; the EU blacklisting the countries and talking of corruption. So what do you do? You push out legislation and align yourself with corrupt leaders who you call bankers. Going to bet my shirt that you will never find a dollar of stolen money in the real universe.

The world that you live in has contact with the real world, but in that small area that you inhabit fiction has replaced reality. We’re past all stages of conspiracy theories, we create an alternate universe.

• bottom line…
      This is why the Barbados government is so gung-ho about Africa.
      Since Donville, Miami is no longer a Safe Haven….

What say you Enuff…?

• That’s a very sharp elbow to the face (integrity) of our brethren, Mr BushGriot!

Very forcibly blunt, you are!

• Very forcibly blunt, you are!
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      Ya mean like aloes….??!

9. Everyone and their Mama on the Continent and everywhere else knows that’s exactly what that is…..pay attention going forward and there just might be some breaking news from Afrika too….western networks in my orbit are already prepared…and waiting..they know it’s all an ACT…..especially with the culprit’s track record of manipulating and emasculating weak stupid men to perpetrate criminal agendas….stay tuned.

“What if you realize the publicity of being on the world stage and that the headlines and awards doesn’t really amount to anything.

What if the contact with Africa was mainly to hide corrupt money.”

10. There’s a quickening going on here on Mother Earth. Climate Change is just a distraction from your spiritual upgrades.

Just a few months ago one of my greatest wishes was to see the destruction of Pfizer. Around July 19, a tornado swept thru N. Carolina and partially destroyed that bytch. July 14, there was an huge explosion at Dow Chemical Plant in Louisiana. This is a major defense plant that manufactures chemical ethylene oxide which is used to make thermobaric munitions.

The BEAR just recently destroyed a warehouse of cluster munitions that the idiots from the west sent to the Ukraine while murting some polish german and other mercs.

In the meantime, the silly Africans are worried about starvation because they can’t get wheat from the ukraine. Give one good reason why they should not starve when GOD put them in the Garden of Eden.

Then you have the silly Haitians, a population of over 11 mil, yet 10K of them can’t take back their country from a few families including Bill and Hilary. How long Haiti will you live in hell. Your forefathers roasted the hell out of the coloniser, then you turned around and paid him reparations for your freedom. Asinine! Your folly has reached the heavens.

I think GOD is sick of stupid Black People…the Apple of His Eye.

Use that fire within to destroy that evil before it destroys you. You got the power so use it. This ain’t no spectator sport. This is a contact sport. The GOB can only get away with that which the populous condone.

• “I think GOD is sick of stupid Black People…the Apple of His Eye.”
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      This summarizes the Bible in one sentence.

11. USA “fights corruption” worldwide outside the law
    it wants to remain the most powerful gang in the world

12. Bushie
    I don’t have neither time nor patience to waste with all yuh. Only last week all yuh were defending the Kinch gentleman. Corruption comes in many forms.

• @enuff

Is that how you have interpreted the Kinch matter? Then you were not paying. The more things change eh?

• LOL @ Enuff
      But Boss, you NEED both time and patience with lowly brass bowls such as Bushie…
      Were you not supposed to be part of the great communications team that would break down all this issues for the bushman in the street…?

What happened bozie? tings getting too hot…?

• You are tooooo political. Defending Kinch?
      AK is playing with them in the hope…..
      But it is no different from how the Bridgetown initiative plays with others?
      It’s all a game enuff, all a game

13. Those who do not support the Bill should be investigated by the people for possible misdeeds. Because no normal decent person would fight against integrity legislation unless they have something to hide.

Of course I am not accusing anyone of misdeeds because I do not know of any.

14. @ David
    So wait Boss…you getting soft or what!!!??

You saw the front page of todays Nation … and left it off BU for critical analysis?

A country that has borrowed NUFF money to spend on free education, has invited foreigners to come and look after the running of its little shiite airport – apparently because the local scholars ain’t worth what Paddy shot at..

Do you REALLY expect ANY kind of meaningful analyses of this decision by the government to come from ANY other sector of our shiite society?

OK..
    The first and most OBVIOUS sign of idiocy is the claim being paraded by Artax’s star boy Bourne that “The new agreement would see GAIA receiving 30% of the revenue earned…
    Increasing by 10% when pre-covid levels are passed… ie 40%, and then to 50% in the final 10 years.

Sounds great… except – What exactly is meant by ‘revenue’…?

Cause…
    Revenue is the TOTAL FUNDS generated by an operation…. before expenses!!
    If the franchise holders are able to hand over 50% of gross income, as the franchise costs, then any idiot (including the Brass Bowl variety) could have run that business successfully.

Bushie is betting that the people who actually UNDERSTAND what has been agreed, probably KNOW that those percentages actually refer to PROFITS and NOT to ‘revenue’.

Those bright people probably ALSO know that franchise holders have the UNRESTRAINED ability to determine what levels of ‘profit’ they will declare for any period (by simply manipulating the ‘expenses’ for example.)

Please Mr David King, ask Enuff (politely) to confirm that we were not gullible enough to sign a 30-year franchise – where the licensee gets to determine the annual ‘fee’ based on their own internal ‘profit’ levels declared….. [cause Enuff ain’t got no time with stinking Bushie…)

• Can’t blame Bourne for an agreement ‘government’ signed, the terms of which were explained in Parliment by Tourism Minister Ian Gooding-Edgehill. I cannot understand the rational of entering into a 30 year PPP with GAIA, one of the island’s most important and profitable assets, to realise a 50% return in revenue [gross or net???] in year 30. Let’s hope provisions were made for an overview of the financial statements by the Auditor General’s Office and Director of Finance…… and DISCLOSURES made AVAILABLE to the public.

• The country is broke.
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      When you are a people who are ‘easily parted from their assets’, …you INEVITABLY end up broke.

Point is, we are broke BECAUSE we are stupid. Not stupid because we are broke.

@ Artax
      Bushie was only blaming Bourne for the silly EXPLANATION of the agreement… revenue indeed!!
      But was he not a lead expert in the negotiations?

@ NO
      Bedtime shiite!! LOL
      As explained, Bushie can smell shiite from miles away … even when it is wrapped in fancy PR gimmicks. (It is called wisdom – and comes from ONLY one source…)

No doubt Artax can recall another ‘Government Financial arrangement’ that guaranteed them a percentage of profits generated….
      The treasury is YET to receive a single cent…

But the deal has been like ‘sugar’ to the gang involved…
      What a DAMNED place…

Worse part is not the crookedness on high… it is the complacency and compliance at the brass bowl level…

When the stuff hits the big fan, Bushie would be unsurprised to find out that some young Bajan-big-boxied-BBs are the property of some Sheik or the other…
      steupsss…
      Even the damn Israelis are rising up against the Demons led by Netanyahu… we just soak it up….

• @Artax
      Keep dreaming.
      There will be no public disclosure. They have gotten away with it with the NIS ( dare I mention that) and others for so long, they is no reason. I found a delayed BTMI report recently from a different chair, which begged forgiveness for the fact auditors could not qualify the numbers, but rest assured the other years were well underway…and they change the chair…and Natta.
      The public don’t understand them, so why bother?
      Sometimes soon they will tell them what the NIS can afford, and the public will accept whatever they are told.
      By the way, is White Oaks still retained?

15. Bushie it ent bedtime yet?
    You know since Estwick time, looking to the UAE for $$$ has been a thing.
    So here they are.
    And you are the King of beggar identification.
    Wha dey say, beggars can’t be choosers.
    They likely turned a blind eye to a few things, after all, they have nuff oil money, and a fifedom which doesn’t share it with THEIR people.
    That is the kind of chump change they spend on a few horses of unknown potential.

16. David, are you pulling my legs. Who was the lawyers for the bwa building, cahill, coverley. Check paradise papers and see many the common names. My legal clerk see and hear and see a lot of dirty wickedness

• @enuff

That our government has to reacquire land on Bay Street for a car park to allow ‘things’ to flow?

Anyway John Public shouldn’t have to think with any debt, straight forward explanations should be forthcoming. Didn’t your government create a Public Affairs Agency to ensure effective communication with Barbadians?

17. Even more encouraging is that inside sources say 100 lawyers attached to the RICO civil case in Florida is nothing, there should be 400-500 names of “thieves for lawyers” in Barbados on that list…..

Did weee not warn they will need a wide bodied 747 CON-AIR jetliner for all the crooks when the time comes and if their pimps, fowls, slaves imps get reeled as they so deserve, they may need 3-4 wide-bodied 747s…….well.

• Share it on BU nuh.
      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
      Come on Enuff!!

Who elected BU to be responsible for communicating with Bajans?
      Did David get 30-0 endorsement too?

Don’t be like your regular yard fowls such as ‘renzo’ and the brass tacks crowers…

• @enuff

I am hearing leading veteran journalist asking for improved information flows from government.

18. But they are doing to David what he usually does with the DLP. He usually blames everything on a lack of an opposition instead of blaming those doing the deed.

We will get FOI, but the information should come from David.

19. Do you remember when things us to fall off the back of a truck?

Guvment changed; rute changed, truck brek down, stuff tied down and de fellers packing de truck lost BU email addy.

Is anybody feeling used??

20. Useless trying to cover up anything when the info already circumnavigated the globe…is NOT GOING AWAY…but being shared EVERYWHERE…until the end.

I can see some media got conflicts of interest since the lawyers they use for this and that are on the list headed to a Florida court room or WILL SOON BE added..

….but others who are weak and easily manipulated into promoting, supporting and enabling these dangerous criminals have no excuse to not print the story.

Now everyone sees for themselves that NONE can be trusted…as we said all along…

21. David
    Not with me, with the government. You do know transparency could very well also embarrass you, right?

22. 1 “You do know transparency could very well also embarrass you, right?”
    2 “The blogmaster has no problem with being embarrassed if it is deserved.”

3. “you could wear a see through nightdress and then have a shower in it”

23. What “Integrity Legislation” when country does not have a LEGISLATED Building Code, Electrical Code etc. and now their (corrupt politicians) are onto “Integrity Legislation AGAIN. Wily did not realize it was April 1st again and JOKES were IN PLAY.

24. Integrity of a Republic
    In order for you to be born, You needed:
    2 parents
    4 grandparents
    8 great-grandparents
    16 second great-grandparents
    32 third great-grandparents
    64 fourth great-grandparents
    128 fifth great-grandparents
    256 sixth great-grandparents
    512 seventh great-grandparents
    1,024 eigth great-grandparents
    2,048 ninth great-grandparents
    For you to be born today from 12 previous generations you needed a total of 4,094 ancestors over the last 400 years.
    Think for a moment about how many struggles, how many battles, how much sadness, happiness, love stories and hope for the future that your ancestos had to undergo for you to live in this present, moment.
    You are the dream of many ancestors

25. Things are falling apart at a rapid pace. Dont look like the radical vaccine specialist will get a dime more than they got already….defendant is not paying his attorneys and they quit.

Wonder who will pay St. Lucia.

A real mess is brewing since all of a sudden, after decades of tricks and lies…integrity legislation is now “critical”…guess it wasn’t before..

The public better demand the draft be made very public…let the people see what they are doing.

• The irony is our governments in the region do the same at the domestic level.

———————

“The bottom line is that … like women, we are doing twice as much as you to be considered half as good.” – Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Amor Mottley, to the U.S. Congress.

Mottley was explaining how, from her perspective, financial transparency rules imposed by the international community on small Caribbean countries simply aren’t fair–and are having considerable economic consequences.

26. Government Politicians like Judges can work around integrity laws such as classified secrets, national interest, deniability, secret witnesses, sealed testimony

27. I take it the weakminded never thought it would reach to this, so blindedy by their own arrogance and loyalty to the greedy wicked, lying, deceitful and dangerous “political animal,” they cannot even see their own embarrassment, and self reduction.

They look so good, they will never recover from this, all their own doing….when digging graves for others out of spite and envy, always dig two.

28. Pacha…this is corrupt politicians in a nutshell, always believing they are untouchable…this is what the corrupt in mind adore about them ..

Ghana just clamped down on pollution of their social system…i take it they are not happy with corrupt politicians embarrassing them worldwide either….and taking a hardline stance against such .

Yolande Grant
    African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

July 25, 2023 @7:36AM

Source: France 24

Ghana’s former Sanitation Minister Cecilia Dapaah arrested in corruption probe

A former government minister is investigated for corruption in Ghana. The inquiry comes after she reported her housekeeper for stealing a large sum of money, but prosecutors want to know where the money came from.

29. Gotta admire China…they dont play the “i can take bribes with my friends because i got a taxpayer paid title and wunna cant stop me”…

.China would behead ya corrupt ass….this one is lucky he did not lose his head, yet..

Corruption destroys countries socio-economically…just look at Barbados….dont know how anyone can admire or adore that, ya gotta have a self worth, self esteem, self respect deficit……and a self-hating surplus…to admire corrupt politicians

“Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. July 25, 2023. @ 4:42PM

“Suspended Death Sentence For Chinese Bribery Official

Zhou Jiangyong, former party secretary of the Chinese city of Hangzhou, has been handed a suspended death sentence in his bribery case after being convicted of illegally siphoning off more than 182 million yuan (over $25mn) via personal friends.

According to the Global Times on Twitter, the court gave Zhou a two-year reprieve, deprived him of political rights for life, and confiscated his assets.

Further details of the case have not been disclosed.”

30. Our Supreme Leader promised us this magnificent law – now she is keeping her word!

Let us fight together for nation, people and party against the traitors in the Senate who sabotaged the law last time.

Tron

31. @ David,
    With Aljazeera in town, accompanied with the international media and a pool of foreign dignitaries in Bridgetown to discuss reparations; would it not be best to focus uniquely on the appalling levels of corruption in the country.

There are many of us who believe that this government will share the spoils and filter the majority of any reparations into their own pockets and that of their associates.

32. You may have noticed how our Prime Minister and her cabinet underlings have been grandstanding over the last couple of days. Their international audience has arrived. These charlatans will say anything to impress them.

• True patriots show more respect to the legitimate, democratically elected government and thus to the people!

I will therefore rephrase your negative sentences as an example so that you know how to honour the government and the people in the future:

“You may have noticed how our most honourable Prime Minister and her honourable cabinet are rightly very proud over the last couple of days of what has been achieved and of future successes. The international audience has arrived to admire all the great progress that has been made on our island. Our government will do everything to ensure that our guests are well and will show them all the wonders of nature and all the achievements of civilisation.”

33. @ David,
    I’m watching the live event that Hants sent. I very much enjoyed the Spiritual Baptist preacher and his powerful message. His murderous team of drummers added a whole heap of militancy to his message. I hope that the white folks, whom were present, did not feel to intimidated.

It’s way past my bedtime.

• Pension reform proposals in Parliament on Friday

Article by Barbados Today
      Published on
      July 26, 2023

Barbadians will be privy to the proposals recommended for pension reform at the end of the week.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley revealed on Tuesday that the attention of Parliament will turn to the much-awaited matter at the next sitting set for Friday.

She added that the Government would seek to ensure transparency regarding the reform of state-owned enterprises.

Mottley was speaking as the Lower House took note of the memorandum of understanding between the Government and the United Arab Emirates to develop the Grantley Adams International Airport through a public/private partnership.

“If this Government was not interested in being fully transparent on this issue, we would not even be having this debate here as we will with the Mass Transit Authority, as we will on Friday with the pensions reform, as we will with the issue of Barbados Agriculture Management Company and their restructuring, as we will with the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation when the time comes for that, and as we will with the Urban Development Commission/Rural Development Commission going into the National Development Commission when the time comes,” she said.

Mottley added that going forward, information regarding the reforms will come from the House of Assembly.
      ← →
      5 / 6

“We are simply stewards for a time and what is done in the offices of government must equally be capable of being shown in the light of day in the Parliament and in the country, and that was the mechanism we have chosen to be able to use in order to keep the country au fait and up-to-date with all that we are doing,” she said.

The pension reform plan has been highly anticipated since last year’s revelation by officials of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) that unless adjustments were made, the NIS Fund could be depleted within two decades.

(JB)

Source: Barbados

• EDITORIAL
      Integrity laws vital

THERE IS KEEN INTEREST and even optimism that Barbados will at long last get modern integrity legislation once Independent senators vote in the affirmative when the proposed law goes before the Upper Chamber early next month.
      The Integrity Group Barbados, which has been lobbying for such laws, is understandably elated that the legislation will be placed on the books before year-end while the regular political scientists’ voices see it as a boost for transparency, accountability and good governance.
      The country does deserve effective laws related to integrity since, even though we hold dear to our Christian faith, we do not firmly follow the Commandments as laid out in the Holy Book. Admittedly, morals and ethics cannot be legislated.
      Not unexpectedly, the Integrity In Public Life Bill, 2023, did not encounter any opposition in the House of Assembly last week given the united Government benches.
      This is why the voice of trade unionist and former Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn, a protagonist to the earlier legislation being rejected in the Upper Chamber is welcomed, again. His points should be carefully considered for their pros and cons.
      We should recognise that the Integrity In Public Life Bill becoming law is only one stage in a tedious process and should pay careful attention to the kind of controversies that have bedevilled the Integrity Commissions in both Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.
      The ongoing contention between the Commission and some members of Parliament in Jamaica is something we should carefully observe. Despite having a retired President of the Court of Appeal, Justice Seymour Panton as its chair and a foremost anti-corruption
      expert, Greg Christie as its executive director, the commission has not been immune from either scathing criticism or threats. The perception is troublesome.
      The contention in Jamaica highlights why the Integrity Commission must be strong and effective if it is to be enduring.
      It must also be seen and accepted as being above politicians and political parties.
      But, there are other issues of concern to us, chief of which is whether integrity legislation can be effective without supporting laws.
      If Government wants critical legislation on the statute books it can make it happen given its total control of the Lower House and sway in the Senate. New laws always bring additional demands on the state and should not hinder the promotion and passage of important legislation.
      We regard campaign finance reform, political party registration and freedom of access to information laws as integral to integrity legislation being successful.
      Barbados needs to ensure there can be no contributions to political parties or individual politicians from foreign governments or corporations and that we have a full grasp of lobbyists, their purpose and funds they dispense.
      Reforming campaign finance, Election Day financing and holding political parties publicly accountable must be part of the compendium of laws related to integrity legislation – points for all Barbadians to ponder.

• PART ONE

NIS revitalisation & reform

Much has changed to our pension system since those modest beginnings in a politically repressive era.
      by RAWDON ADAMS IN OCTOBER 1937, Barbados became the first country in the world with a majority population not of white, European racial origin to grant universal pension rights to its citizens.
      The pension was non-contributory, means-tested and paid to all who were over 70 and had been resident for 20 years or more. Within the first year of operation starting on May 1, 1938 over 4 000 pensioners were covered.
      The 1937 legislation marked the moment at which care of the poor and elderly changed from being hit-and-miss charity work or an act of kinship to an obligation on the part of the State to honour the absolute right to a pension. This extraordinary policy benefiting all, was won at a time when less than four per cent of the population – notably all men of relative means – had the vote.
      The 1967 NIS design
      Much has changed to our pension system since those modest beginnings in a politically repressive era. Yet throughout, the country has sought to hold in balance three, sometimes conflicting, goals: first, that there is continual improvement to social security in terms of benefit adequacy; second, that contributions financing benefits are affordable; and third, that the overall system is financially sustainable.
      Pursuit of those goals and balance led in 1967 to the current National Insurance Scheme (NIS) hybrid pay-as-you-go/partially funded contributory model depicted in the accompanying graphic.
      At the time this was a logical evolution as the model was ideally suited for the 1960s:

The real economy measured by Gross Domestic Product (GDP) grew at an remarkable 6.8 per cent average rate annually between 1960 and 1970 almost doubling in size. This drove new jobs, increasing wages and, with them, rising contributions.

The population was young with a median age of 20 and relatively few pensioners to be paid and many workers to finance them.

The total fertility rate (TFR), the source of future contributors, was high at 3.6 children per woman.
      Why we must revitalise for the 21st century
      Today the context is vastly different:

Real economic growth has been stagnant. Average annual GDP growth between 2003 and 2019 was 0.62 per cent. Including the COVID years to 2022 it was 0.35 per cent per year. And in ten of those years real GDP per capita growth has been negative.

The country is much older with a median age of 39. Moreover, Barbadians are living longer. Today, someone aged between 65 and 69 can expect to live another 18 years – four years more than in 1967. Since 1967, in contrast, the retirement age has increased by a smaller two years from 65 to 67.

We are having fewer children – the TFR today is 1.6. Any number below two means the population is shrinking. Combined with an older population this means we are increasing benefit spending whilst simultaneously reducing the contributor base.
      Our 1967 system cannot survive these 21st century forces. Since 2016 they are the primary factors behind the NIS’ growing deficit between benefit expenditures and contribution income. We have a generous minimum pension guarantee and, if undealt with, these deficits will leverage that generosity into a chasm of unsustainability.
      How? Those deficits have been met thus far by National Insurance Fund investment income from its portfolio. That portfolio is worth $4 billion today. Nonetheless, in the absence of corrective actions the $4 billion will be driven to zero by as early as 2036 as the underlying investment assets are liquidated to meet the rising deficits. That would not end the NIS but it would mean the pay-as-you-go rate would rise to between 27 per cent and 34 per cent to compensate.
      That is an unacceptable prospect and is why the NIS Revitalisation Reform process was launched immediately after the publication of the 17th Actuarial Review. Revitalisation’s goal is that the 21st century NIS evolves and restrikes the fairest balance possible between adequacy, affordability and sustainability such that an absolute level of financial dignity and protection for all current and future retirees continues to be guaranteed.

Rawdon Adams is the deputy chair of the National Insurance Scheme.

34. Lord have mercy! The myopic wife of an ex-prime minister believes that ex-prime ministers should be treated in higher esteem after they have served. The poor woman is oblivious in the knowledge that the reason why Barbados is neck deep in the abyss is due to the high number of corrupt or incompetent Prime Ministers who have “served” Barbados since 1966.

Lizzy dearest, Barbadian hens take umbrage to a fox guarding their house. Take my advice and remain quiet. Barbadians have short memories. Reel and come again in a couple of years.

“Senator Thompson said there should be a discussion on what policies can be put in place to support former leaders.

“We must evolve a practice and a concretised policy for how we treat former political leaders and prime ministers. I don’t care what party they belong to; if they have served, then they must be treated with a certain dignity. They should have at least a car and driver; they should not be butting about looking for someplace to park; they should have a special number plate, and so on. I am asking the country really to let us be mature enough to deal with this matter properly,” she said. (Source: BT)

These elites have a hell of a nerve. What gives them such confidence to speak on the behalf of others.

• A good news story from retired public servant Peter Laurie.

3 crazy foreign policy ideas
      By Peter Laurie

Three crazy foreign policy ideas for Barbados. Idle thoughts of an idle man.
      First, though, a quiz: what are the three features of Barbados that make it successful internationally?
      Answer: stability, stability, and stability.
      Just think. There’s no other country in the world in which if one political party had won all the seats in the legislature in two consecutive elections four years apart (2018 and 2022) there would not be widespread accusations of voter fraud, intimidation, corruption and so on.
      Here are two observations by outsiders that might help explain Barbados’ stability.
      Trinidadian professor of sociology, Anthony Maingot: “Of all the countries of the Greater Caribbean, Barbados has most successfully combined a deep respect for tradition with a constant attempt to modernise.”
      Vincentian PM Ralph Gonsalves: “Barbados is at once the most conservative and the most progressive society in the Caribbean.”
      While I’m a huge fan of Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s foreign initiatives, I’m not sure I understand the recent visit to Venezuela. Anyhow ….
      Here are the three crazy ideas. First crazy idea (low risk): Barbados should enter into a unique institutional association with Guyana, call it what you will, in which sovereign responsibilities for joint integrated economic activities, broadly interpreted, are shared.
      Now, someone may accuse me of wanting to latch on to Guyana because of its oil riches. Well, way back in 1993, PM Lloyd Erskine Sandiford suggested a confederation when Cheddi Jagan was president. Moreover, President Irfaan Ali, in a keynote address at the 2022 Agrofest in Barbados, suggested that it was important to create some kind of institutional mechanism to ensure that the growing forms of cooperation between the two countries would be preserved.
      Why Guyana? Three reasons. First, the two CARICOM leaders with high international profiles right now are Mia Mottley and Irfaan Ali. Ralph Gonsalves is the other.
      Second, the economies of the two countries are complementary and their peoples have enjoyed a long history of cooperation, including joint diplomatic representation in the immediate post-Independence period.
      Third, it would actually strengthen regional integration. The two countries could proceed with integration at a much faster pace than CARICOM. But it’s essential for two things to be part of the association agreement: one, it should be open to any other CARICOM member state to join on the association’s terms; and two, no increase in bureaucracy.
      Second crazy idea (high risk): Let’s establish a naval security hub/facility/centre (call it what you will) in Barbados (HQ of the Regional Security System) for the eastern Caribbean. Invite Brazil, Canada, India, Nigeria, the UK, and the US to participate. The invited countries would, of course, define the extent and limits of their participation if, indeed, they accepted the invitation.
      Let’s define some terms. Naval: We’re talking about the security of the Caribbean Sea, an expanse of water that’s vital to the survival and wellbeing of those who live in and around it, not to mention the well-being of our planet.
      Security: This is security in its broadest sense (civilmilitary coordination) including traditional ones like: illegal trafficking in humans, weapons and drugs, terrorism and piracy, illegal fishing and environmental crimes, as well as natural and other disasters. These threats require coordinated collective security to ensure a peaceful, secure, sustainable blue economy.
      Naval facility
      And, of course, such a multi national naval facility, encompassing four continents, might deter any large non-CARICOM country from invading a CARICOM country.
      Why those countries? Well, Brazil is the second largest black country in the world, and also has the second biggest navy in the Western hemisphere. Canada always has been and always will be a reliable friend to the Caribbean. India is expanding its global footprint, has the sixth largest navy, and has every reason, including its Caribbean diaspora, to show its naval presence in the Caribbean Sea. Nigeria has the largest navy in sub-Saharan Africa and, in this era of reparatory justice, is a logical African naval outreach to the African diaspora in the Caribbean.
      While I have reservations about both the current leadership of India and Nigeria, we’re talking about a national presence that transcends government. The UK, since Brexit definitely needs to show the flag in the Caribbean. If you don’t understand why the US should be part of a security footprint in the Caribbean, I don’t know what to tell you.
      Stability
      Such a naval hub would enhance the stability of the Eastern Caribbean and be a boost to our economies.
      Third crazy idea (no risk): CARICOM should develop a special informal cooperative group-to-group relationship with the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden).
      Why? They, like us, are all small countries who share similar values and aspirations: egalitarianism, social welfare, freedom, and sustainable growth and development.
      The Nordics are social democracies, with vibrant trade union movements that are generally part of social partnerships and operate within market-based innovative economies. They have large but efficient public sectors. Social democracy across the world is under siege by far-right nationalist populism. Social democrats should stick together.
      Finland’s educational system is one of the best in the world. Denmark invented flexicurity, a labour market policy that attempts to reconcile employers’ need for a flexible workforce with workers’ need for security, making it easy for employers to hire and shed workers or introduce labour-saving technology, while providing generous social welfare and job retraining services.
      We can share expertise and experiences with the Nordics. A special group-togroup relationship might also lead to investment, tourism, and international business, and technical cooperation for capacity building in the Caribbean.
      These three crazy ideas would not only enhance our greatest asset: stability, but would allow us to shatter the rigidities of traditional international relations and disrupt the sacrosanct models of international cooperation.
      About time.
      Peter Laurie is a former head of the Barbados Foreign Service and author of several books.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.