Submitted by Floridian
mia mottley and dale marshall_crime
Prime Minister Mia Mottley and Attorney General Dale Marshall

Our reflections highlight a crucial tension in our justice system. When prosecutors take an overly zealous approach or when officials are shielded by doctrines like qualified immunity, it naturally erodes public trust in the very institutions meant to safeguard fairness. After all, citizens expect that convictions will rely solely on robust evidence, not on efforts to appease shifting public sentiments.

In Barbados, Acting DPP Alliston Seale has exemplified the integrity and rigor needed in such a sensitive environment. His decision to discontinue the prosecution in a case riddled with evidentiary challenges despite the political pressure and public outcry is a testament to his commitment to the principle that one cannot convict a person on questionable evidence. This approach, while it might unsettle some of the “powers that be,” preserves the fundamental standards of justice and upholds the rights of the accused, ensuring that every conviction is thoroughly and fairly.

While doctrines like qualified immunity are meant to protect officials from frivolous or politically motivated lawsuits, they can also shield bad practices if misapplied. Similarly, overzealous prosecutions can, in their zeal to deliver swift justice, undermine the integrity of the legal process. Striking the right balance means ensuring that the system remains accountable while also providing legal officials the space to make evidence based decisions without unjust external pressures.

It’s worth considering deeper reforms and increased transparency as potential remedies. For instance, regular public reviews of prosecutorial practices, clearer guidelines on when to pursue or discontinue cases, and enhanced oversight mechanisms could help restore and maintain confidence in the courts and police. The dismissal suggests that by sticking to principles of evidential integrity and legal fairness as shown by my former colleague appears to do one can both protect individual rights and maintain public trust in the system. Unfortunately, the TBPS who police themselves while behaving as a law unto themselves and wonder why public confidence in them is low. The country still awaits the report of thug behavior of officers slapping, unjustified shootings and beating innocent persons. 

Related [Blogmaster]

David, see a video of a case here in the US where a rude officer dies of a heart attack while arresting a Hispanic who now sits in jail awaiting trial as he is now blamed for the death of officer and not the officer poor eating habits.

19 responses to “Urgent Reform Please to Court System!”

1. I think that case got tossed out eventually.

2. What a hypocritical bunch.

3. Elvis Sandiford Avatar
    Elvis Sandiford

When a clear cut case of probation interference is taking over 20 years to get back into court!!! What more can you say or expect 🤔. The justice system is not only broken…. it’s liken to doge city ( The wild wild west!,) Barbados has become so materialistic that justice depends on how much money you’ve got!

4. Elsewhere, I have pointed out the dual speed of the Barbados court system. Unlike Rowe’s case, a next rape case with had no witnesses and no DNA evidence, took years to be dismissed; the accused was on remand during that period.

Justice should be seen to be fair and to be equal.

5. In the early years of this blog many blogs were posted about the warts that were collecting on the backside of our legal system. The blog was accused by the talking heads as being ‘alarmists’. Yet here we are with the court collapsing under its own weight according to our long tenured Attorney General.

Are we there yet?

6. Elvis Sandiford Avatar
    Elvis Sandiford

The problem that I can see, and please correct me if I’m wrong! The justice system, which was but not any more have been dictated too. Fairness and what is right has been pushed aside for too long that those with affluence and influence are all that matter. Its about who has the power! The poor people are going to watch everything their forefathers built and left hoping that the legacy will continue, because they are no longer treated as human beings. They are unimportant to the new system, infact they are looked upon as an embarrassment and as one blogger stated, if things continue the way they are going, you’ll find a large degree of segregation where as the embarrassment will be located in a selected part of the country. Barbados we need to wake up and get a grip of things before it’s too late. BRING TRUE JUSTICE BACK!!! ⚖️ Fairness for all!

7. @Elvis

The establishment will not admit it but there is the question – is the judiciary manipulated by some?

8. This Pile matter reminds of our inability to solve the Zr problem.

CJ’s concern in Vonda Pile’s case

THE ISLAND’S TOP JUDGE has expressed concern about the time which has elapsed in the matter brought against attorney Vonda Pile.

Chief Justice Leslie Haynes also decried the fact that the lawyer was not served for yesterday’s hearing, but said the principles of natural justice demand that the matter be adjourned.

He was speaking in the matter of the Legal Profession Act Cap 370A of the Laws of Barbados; the matter of the complaint of Anstey King against Vonda Minerva Pile, and in the matter of Vonda Minerva Pile, attorney, in the Court of Appeal.

Pile was sentenced to just under three years in jail after she was found guilty, by majority verdict, in June 2019, of stealing US$96 008 between April 29, 2009, and October 26, 2010, from Bajan/New Yorker businessman King.

However, she was found not guilty by majority verdict of money laundering.

Yesterday, when the matter was called in the Court of Appeal before Chief Justice Haynes and Justices of Appeal Francis Belle and Margaret Reifer, Pile was not present.

Deputy Registrar Irene Stephney informed the court that Pile had been served, on three occasions, with the notice of the appeal via email.

When questioned by Chief Justice Haynes about proof that Pile had received the notices, Stephney explained that under the electronic filing system, when an email was sent, if the email did not go to the receiver’s inbox, it “would bounce back”.

“That has not been the case,” Stephney told the court.

Solicitor General Anika Jackson, SC, who appeared amicus for the Attorney General in association with attorney Rico Yearwood, said since the matter was not an appeal, it was only required that Pile be notified.

“In light of the time that has elapsed, the seriousness of the matter, I think we should proceed,” she said.

Barbados Bar Association

Senior Counsel Andrew Thornhill, who appeared with Barbados Bar Association president Kaye Williams, Kashawn Wood and Akeem Rowe on behalf of the association, said they were of the view that “the presence of Ms Pile was not required”.

“These proceedings require the court to only consider a report forwarded by the Disciplinary Committee [of the Bar Association] so the absence of Vonda Pile need not derail it,” he said.

Attorney Rita Evans, who appeared with attorney Omari Drakes on behalf of the Disciplinary Committee, agreed with the submissions.

However, Chief Justice Haynes expressed his concern about the development.

“I am very concerned that even though these are proceedings, this court will make an order which affects the rights of a third party. The principles of natural justice inform me that the person must be given a right to be heard,” he said.

“This court is a court of law. We cannot just put down the law when it suits us and pick it back up at any other time. The fact that there is no evidence of service of Ms Pile is a matter of great disappointment to me.”

He agreed that the matter “has been going on for far too long”, adding that “we all came this morning to deal with the matter”.

“But regrettably, if we were to deal with the matter, there is a very strong argument that the principles of natural justice would be breached”.

He said the matter was too important “to accept the fact that it did not bounce back as confirmation of delivery”.

“This is a matter of great importance. It deals with an attorney’s rights. It’s been hanging around far too long for the good of the profession but, at the same time, we have to balance that with the principles of natural justice and therefore we will adjourn the matter.

“In the circumstance, we have no option but to adjourn this matter in order to properly serve Ms Vonda Pile with notice of the date of hearing,” the Chief Justice said.

The proceedings were adjourned until May 30 with orders that a court marshal serve the notice of hearing on the attorney.

9. “The establishment will not admit it but there is the question – is the judiciary manipulated by some?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Come on Boss …
    That is no ‘question’, that is the MOST OBVIOUS observation possible for ANYONE with eyes that work.

The reason ‘that the establishment will not admit it’, is even MORE OBVIOUS.
    IT IS THE ESTABLISHMENT that is doing the manipulation.
    Shiite Boss!!
    If a government is willing to CHANGE A FUNDAMENTAL CONSTITUTION just to give a job to a ‘special friend’ – what do you think they would do with a coroner’s inquest? …or with a civil matter in which they have interest?

If Thompson could find a loophole for a New York Law Clerk to become AG, and we could find ourselves with a clown as Eddykashun minister, or with Tom’s son back here in the senate – when the BASIC constitution PROHIBITED such…

Can we be said to be ‘under the rule of Law’?

Bushie does dead with laugh at the talk about a ‘new constitution’…
    FOR WHAT…? – when constitutions are so malleable???

Then we see some cases ACCELERATED to the top of the heap, while ordinary citizens suffer for DECADES …and die, before their matters are casually ‘disposed’ of…

What a damned place!!

Biggest joke recently has been a whole bunch of our shiite lawyers explaining why youths accused of a shooting spree on Spring Garden had to be set free without a trial…
    – all about ‘Due process’ apparently…

They REALLY MEAN ‘shiite process’…
    A whole set of PAID PUBLIC SERVANTS do shoddy work, and the legal establishment’s explanation is that ‘the evidence is bad’, ‘no witnesses are willing’, ‘some people died’.
    WTH!!!

But BEST OF ALL…
    The PM RIGHTFULLY declares that the country DESERVES explanations to this obvious shiite…
    …but apparently we DO NOT DESERVE any for:
    -the radical vaccine embarrassment
    -the HOPE money short by $60m
    -the Duguid/Sutherland STEAL houses
    -the Holetown land scandal
    -the geriatric hospital built on zone A site
    -the story of land transactions in Bay Street – from Ms Ram to Afrixabank

What a place we have become….
    …and NOTHING shows it like our lawyer-run judicial system and the resulting crime and lawlessness that it engenders….
    Wunna can blame Bushie fuh DAT too…

10. @Bush Tea

BTW, what is the latest with the McManus inquest re: Sandy Lane?

11. A dark day in Barbados and kudos to Chief Justice to subtle telling a flipping bunch of incompetent so called lettered lawyers they are silly. Imagine the sort of judicial travesty that takes place in Barbados daily. Dark days are ahead.

12. We cannot just put down the law when it suits us and pick it back up at any other time.
    —————-
    Fuh trute? Wasn’t the same Chief Justice a Chair of the NIS where he continued its abuse of the law? These JA’s are the very ones who pick and choose when the law applies, and when their paltry excuses for non compliance are adequate.
    And we get upset when persons in the general population do likewise.

13. SMALL ISLAND – #SmallIslandThinking: AN ALBATROSS AROUND THE NECKS OF A PEOPLE WHO ARE LAUDED AS THE MOST LITERATE ANY WHERE IN THE WORLD – BUT HOW PROGRESSIVE ARE THEY REALLY

I have lived through since (DIS) Hon. Tom Adams served as PM of Barbados from 1976 to 1985, there have been 5 PMs who followed him – “Most, if not “ALL” with their own modicum & measure of “(DIS) Honor!!!

Bernard “BREE” St. John ( 1985 – 1986 )
    Errol “DIPPER THE SKIPPER” Barrow ( 1986 – 1987 )
    Erskine Lloyd Sandiford ( 1987 – 1994 )
    Owen “ESA Fields” Arthur ( 1994 – 2008 )
    David Thompson ( 2008 – 2010 )
    Freundel “Ain’t Got A Clue” Stuart ( 2010 – 2018 )
    Mia Mottley ( 2018 – present)

Almost [50] years of ebb & flow, yet the waters remain in the “STAGNANT” shallow draft…

None of these leaders have done nothing that can be considered “LEGACY” when taken as an afterthought…

[50] years of “SMALL ISLAND THINKING” remains a pervasive phenomenon – in an age of so-called “ENLIGHTENMENT”, where the “TECHNOCRATIC FEUDAL OVERLORDS” laud over the “MASSES”, having hoodwinked & brainwashed entire population groups, including GOVs to be participatorial in the “GIANT SCAM” that is postmodern life!!!

In reading #AndreaLevy’s “SMALL ISLAND”, it critiques colonial hierarchies but also mirrors real-world tensions, such as Queenie’s patronizing openness vs. Bernard’s xenophobia. The novel underscores how island mentalities – whether Jamaican or British, shape identity & belonging…

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Small-Island-Winner-Orange-Prize/dp/075530750X

The lurid fascination within #PopCulture often romanticizes islands like BIM* & JamTown as idyllic escapes ( e.g., The Light Between Oceans ), yet darker portrayals (e.g., Lord of the Flies) reveal the fragility of social order in isolation…

“SMALL ISLAND THINKING” is wielded as a double-edged sword. While it fosters resilience in some quarters, cultural pride, & innovation in others, it also risks the stagnation we are witnessing, inevitable exclusion of our young men & women, & systemic inequities based on an “IMPORTED COLONIALIST CLASS STRUCTURE”!!!

The key takeaway lies in balancing community cohesion with openness – a lesson exemplified by islands navigating climate change & the aftermath of rampant globalization, as can seen in the #FijianIslands & in islands like #Vanuatu. As one Caribbean writer notes: “The imperfections seep through, but the good will always be there…” suggesting that leaders cannot be so “BRAIN DEAD” as to not have a “VISIONARY MINDSET” for their nations…

I could sit here all day positing a theoretical framework of vulnerabilities, negative perspectives based on insularity & a host of areas that needs to be “REVAMPED” which would make our societies more effective, but sadly, after almost [50] years, we are still being “LED BY DONKEYS” ( JACKASSES IN DRAG ) living lives of “MASS
    CONTRADICTION”!!!

Now, “VIA ARMIS” is becoming the “ANTHEM” of the 2020s

#StayTuned 4 who’s next

14. THE BLACK WORLD IS CHANGING RIGHT BEFORE OUR VERY EYES IN 2025. I WARNED THAT THIS YEAR IS PIVOTAL. WE ARE [5] MONTHS IN & THE #Revolution GATHERS PACE, TRACTION & STEAM

If entrenched #BlackLeadership continues their “CORRUPTION” – the handwriting is on the wall for you!!!

SEE WHY:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0jURy-L760

15. An interesting read to show the importance of ethical behaviour in all things.

https://www.newsweek.com/five-supreme-court-justices-sit-out-case-rare-move-2074666

16. Elvis Sandiford Avatar
    Elvis Sandiford

ETHICAL BEHAVIOUR???? A statement that I support 100 percent. However it’s a statement that I have heard many times over the past 20 years. It a cop out for those in the boys club, not oppose each other. What is ETHICAL BEHAVIOUR? Is it ethical for an Attorney-at-Law that is representing you in a property dispute case and then at the same time to represent the Defendants Attorney-at-Law in another law suit? As I said before it’s like watching a john wayne western. There is nothing ethical about the justice system in Barbados.The discription of ETHICAL in Barbados is how much you’re willing to pay for the result you want!!! Shoot me down if you want but that’s a fact and the truth, period! How are we to bring an end to coruption when the children of today are taught first how to decieve.

17. The system from top to bottom is administered by persons born among us and educated on the public dime. If there are negrocrats among them, how can we correct the problem. The era of a few lettered people is long gone. The time to examine systemic failure and attribute the blame where it belongs is here. Those who benefit from the systemic failure trumpet admiration for a system that benefits incompetents who flout their power and connections. Who is responsible to make sure that justice is delivered without delay. If it is four persons and we increase that number to twenty who have the same world view then it is unlikely that change will occur. The reasons for delay will become more and more desperate and silly all in an attempt to reinforce image and status of negrocrats. If, on the other hand, these persons do everything within their power to minimize delay, things will move swiftly. Look at the entire system, the choke points and modalities for creating delay are well known to most people. Can you tell me when any person in the system has been sanctioned or otherwise disciplined for wilfully contributing to delay without just reason. A few have been successful in challenging delay on constitutional grounds and it has cost the tax payer. I fully expect the number of successful constitutional challenges and the extractions from the public purse to increase. Will we talk while that becomes an expensive flood without consequences for negrocrats who or orchestrate delay.