Submitted by Observing
The Honourable Prime Minister Mia Mottley, Lawyer

The deafening silence of a large segment of the public where national socio-political matters are concerned is concerning.

Politics aside, all uh we have some part to play in the growth of the country and the development of the generation that will pay our pensions. If we don’t well crappo smoke we pipe.

The recent signing of a “mission Barbados” agreement was the latest attempt at using smoke and mirrors to rub cliches and prescribed narratives in our faces at a time when robust national discourse and debate should be revealing true true ideas and real real solutions to our ever pressing and ever looming challenges.

How in heavens name can it be claimed that labour is fully on board with Government, when CTUSAB the umbrella body was not present (Caswell either).

What do these six points mean from a policy perspective, or are we still satisfied rhetoric is a good replacement for reality and good governance?

What about the manifesto “promises”? Have those “promises” been kept as yet??

The IMF advisor cum Central Bank Governor is clearly an eternal optimist since nothing pronounced so far indicates any concern about anything.

What about the variable interest rates on our low interest rate loans?? Are these the siblings of the Dodds Prison USD/BDS confusion?

The bank failures in the US are a sign of things to come but clearly we continue smartly with no foreign exchange earning capacity and increasing debt and debt service expenditure.

One again all the eggs are in the tourism basket while the other baskets are “prettied” up just for show. God help us.

Let’s not even get started on education non-reform. 5 years after the platform speech, hundreds of thousands spent and we are exactly where we were 5 years ago. No where.

Nutrtion policy, national assessment? Different day, same smoke.

Back in 2000 the then Minister pushed too hard too fast and without listening to those on the ground or taking advice. Sounds familiar?

By the way, where is the media????

Can they uncover the Dale Marshall and Joes River saga?

Will they touch the the extradited/kidnapped Trinidadian affair?

Will we ever see the terms of the loans that have not increased?

Will anyone ask what the hell Senior Ministers really do?

Will they uncover a full list of consultants? Especially those that recently retired from jobs and waltzed back into Government?

Are we to believe the recent unemployment figures?? Really??

In any case, it is always said that “we like it so.”

The absence of a serious opposition or loud civic voices allows it to continue.

Upward and onward we shall inspired exulting free.

135 responses to “Smoke and Mirrors (part 3)”

1. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

The REPUTATION:

“Friday, May 5, 2023
    BARBADOS, WHERE LAWYERS CAN STEAL FROM THEIR CLIENTS WITH IMPUNITY

Where did Attorney Vonda Pile hide all that money?
    Barbados continues to be the jurisdiction where the local culture not only allows, it actually encourages the local legal profession, swollen with far too many attorneys, to steal estate inheritances, real estate sales proceeds, insurance recoveries, and whatever other client assets they acquire, without any fear of the consequences. We have repeatedly exposed the plight of illiterate clients, who have literally been stolen blind by the lawyers that they trusted.

Lawyers in Barbados are free to repeatedly break the law, and to victimize their clients one after another, because there simply is no effective self-regulation of a “profession” which has become a Gathering of Thieves who become rich through crime. Some even stray into organized crime, as the firebombing death of a local attorney, together with her entire family, by alleged drug traffickers unhappy she stole criminal proceeds intended to be the subject of money laundering, illustrates.

Barbados attorney VONDA PILE, who stole almost Bds$200,000 from a client, and who elected to serve three years in prison, rather than return the money, was recently released from custody, and was seen arrogantly representing a new client in court this week. The local Bar Disciplinary Committee advises that they have no jurisdiction to disbar her, because Barbados does not require practising attorneys to be members. Ms. Pile is merely the latest in a very long line of attorney-criminals, who can happily operate with impunity.

Evil is alive and well in Barbados, living and thriving in a local legal profession driven by greed and avarice, and unchecked by a government itself populated by attorney-politicians. The people absolutely distrust all attorneys as the result, as they should. There is no justice in Barbados.”

Kenneth Rijock at Friday, May 05, 2023

2. More, deeper, organic, levels of democracy in China than in the USA, France, Barbados, etc

With Chinese characteristics!

Even Vietnam gets a score in the eighty percentile.

Dispense with the democracy vs autocracy, Bidenist, false dualism for an hour to gain insight into conceptions which are far superior to western European offerings.

https://youtu.be/mgcyqkEOhQc

Professor Roland Boer.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha one of your better responses.
    What happens when a mathematician applies their logic to the English language.

4. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

The reputation is so UGLY worldwide, it beggars belief that they are still running around lying, pretending deceiving and believe someone is impressed, those who are, are deemed nobodies, they dont count..

Dont hold ya breath they will even try to clean it up, an impossible task….there is too much of it, the corruption infection is now terminal..

Weeeee would never want to be them…a terrible place, horrifying situation.

5. @ Pacha
    Perhaps the framers of the constitution presumed that they were dealing with logical, intelligent people, who understood that EVERY good debate REQUIRES that there be a ‘proposer of the Moot’, AND ALSO an OPPOSER – as a basic academic requirement.

In which case, having elected 30 ‘representatives of the people’, those 30 were EXPECTED to divide themselves into Proposers of policy and OPPOSERS of policy – even if only on a policy-by-policy basis, in the interest of arriving at the best decisions for the COUNTRY.

Who was to know that the constitution was to be applied to a bunch of brass bowl Bajan clowns – who have settled instead for the interest of the ‘PARTY’ rather than the COUNTRY, and where ‘good decisions’ are therefore seen to be those where opposing views are stifled?

John is actually quite correct.
    However he is missing the basic point that one should not throw pearls, which were designed for kings, to swine – in the form of brass, and expect the results to be logical.
    …the damn hogs are NOT CAPABLE of understanding the value of pearls – what they value and WANT is mud, slime, and wuk-up…..

Steupsss..
    The damn place is past its used by date… caused by greed, materialism and unrighteousness – in HIGH and LOW places….
    and as we ALL know now …

“Quos Deus vult perdere prius dementat”

6. The devil is in the details Avatar
    The devil is in the details

Lib Dems’ Ed Davey calls for national debate over UK’s slavery role.
    Davey says King Charles III is ‘moving towards trying to look at this issue with greater subtlety’ than government.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2023/may/07/lib-dem-ed-davey-calls-for-national-debate-over-uk-slavery-role

“The devil is in the details” is an idiom alluding to a catch or mysterious element hidden in the details; it indicates that “something may seem simple, but in fact the details are complicated and likely to cause problems”. It comes from the earlier phrase “God is in the details”, expressing the idea that whatever one does should be done thoroughly; that is, details are important.

More recently, the expressions “governing is in the details” and “the truth, if it exists, is in the details” have appeared.

Mr JazziQ | Boiler Room SYSTEM: Amapiano London

7. The master of ceremonies here even once tried to equate Mottley with Putin and Xi.

When you people this lost, that ignorant, so ignorant that a miniscule circle of awareness purports to contend with the universes – this is toooooo much darkness to enlighten!

Allow death to be!

8. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

That is what happens when you put these minion puppet types in charge, the mindsets are always of those who themselves are descended from indentureship or slavery as happened in india as well…but when they think they have arrived and in the parliament telling everyone to loud applause “that illegal immigrants will not be able to take part in the new slave system”…that iz exactly what you get….the wannabes..small islands are infested with them.. told yall reparations are not on the table.

“Rishi Sunak has ruled out his government making an apology or reparations for slavery. The prime minister told the Commons last month: “Trying to unpick our history is not the right way forward, and it’s not something that we will focus our energies on.”

9. Bushie
    Well sighted!
    This writer never even considered the level of sophistication your insight could have brought to our national affairs.

Again, you’re right. It would take too high a level of social, political, intellectual development, from what we have now, to even so approach.

Thanks

10. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Bushman….do you see part of the problem….am totally against reparations going to corrupt governments .NOT A DIME…..they have done more than enuff damage in the last hundred years…..everyone knows what will happen if they get their scam hands on any…….too many thieves….i believe it should go directly into the hands of descents….bypassing the middle crooks….

….but….here is part of the problem…..THEY KNOW the Black groups involved in the slave trade back then, 1600s and coming forward, no matter it was trending and one of the few ways to survive, they also know OBVIOUSLY ..who the descents of these black slave masters are…remember, none of us have perfect ancestors.

Had the parliament rats not been so deceitful to the people for over half century, misleading them and hiding valuable information that could help…this could have been handled quite differently with much better results…but ya done know who ya dealing with.

11. Mek We Dweet + Bonus Version Dub Avatar
    Mek We Dweet + Bonus Version Dub

How much should Britain pay in reparations?

After the Slavery Abolition Act of 1833, the British government agreed to pay £20m in compensation to 46,000 slave-owners. The equivalent sum today would be £2bn according to the Bank of England’s inflation calculator. The Caricom Reparations Commission has not put a figure on Britain’s reparations bill. Instead, it issued a 10-point plan that includes debt write-offs for Caribbean governments and contributions to public health and education spending. In 2004, the Rastafarian Nation in Jamaica said European countries once involved in the slave trade, especially Britain, should pay $129bn (£72.5bn) to resettle 500,000 Jamaican Rastafarians in Africa.

How has Britain responded to calls for reparation?

In his meeting with the Jamaican prime minister, Cameron ruled out paying reparations reaffirming a long-standing rejection of the idea by the British government. Instead of focusing on the past, Downing Street said he wanted to improve future relations with Jamaica by announcing funding for infrastructure projects and a new prison.

12. A post-truth era
    A friend once asked me, “What does it feel like to believe a lie?” The answer he gave me was jarring. “The same way it feels to believe the truth.” Study it for a moment. It may be one of the most important truisms one must come to grips with in what some have described as a post-truth era.
    Oxford Dictionaries declared “post-truth” the word of the year in 2016. They define it as an adjective “relating to circumstances in which objective facts are less influential in shaping public opinion than emotional appeals.” There are some problems here. Oxford Dictionary defines the word “fact” as “a thing that is known to be true, especially when it can be proved.” If a fact is, in fact, something that can be proven, then aren’t “facts” by definition, “objective truths”?
    When Oxford uses the term “objective facts” does that mean that there are “subjective facts”? Are there then, “facts” which can be proven objectively and “facts” which can’t? The fact is, some facts are not true facts.
    A lot of things that were once known to be true are now known to be false. Some things, like religious truths, were widely taken to be truth on faith and are less so now. Some truths that were scientifically proven to be true were later scientifically proven to be not as true as previously thought. It is probably true that much of what you believe to be true today, will be considered crap in generations to come. This is a hard truth for many to swallow.
    We feel the need to feel like we know the truth.
    The need to feel like you know the truth seems to be greater in most people than the need to actually know the truth. Because to actually know the truth and to feel like you know the truth feel the same. And the first one is harder to accomplish.
    Some have argued that we have recently entered a “post-truth era” where “fake news” and “alternativefacts” capture people’s brains and hearts. But, if you are Black and/ or African you know that we’ve been living in a post-truth era for at least 400 years. Fake news about Africa and Africans has been the norm. History was shaped by false facts about the inferiority of people with darker skin and the superiority of persons with lighter skin. These lies, which were believed to be true, were often backed by government, religion and science.
    If you recall the invasion of Iraq which was justified and sold to the world via major media houses on the basis that Sadam Hussein was stockpiling weapons of mass destruction, it is hard to believe that you would still believe that you ever lived in an era of truth. The truth may be that you have always been living in an era of lies, but you just did not realise. Because believing lies can feel the same as believing truth. But, you just believed the word of those who you believed would know.
    Official sources of information have often not been trust worthy. A post-truth era may just be one where the monopolies on information have been broken. Rather than a posttruth era we live in an information dense era. Information is not as easily monopolised. The problem is though, the information processing and assessing capabilities
    of most people have not kept up with the access to information.
    Many still believe that what they believe is true is true, mainly because they believe it and it feels true. The situation is dangerous because, not only are we still prone to believe lies, the variety of lies on the menu destroys the social stability of shared beliefs.
    Shared beliefs can bring stability even if those beliefs are not true.
    This is why our recite and regurgitate educational system once worked to an extent and is such a problem now. Whether it teaches you to believe religious facts, social facts or scientific facts is not the central issue. It does not teach you the hard skills of working through mountains of information, composed of true and untrue facts. And, to be open to the fact that absolute truth may be beyond reach. This is so necessary today.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: adriangreen14@gmail.com

13. Adrian Greene should have been truthful enough to credit at least one thinker who has dealt with these phenomena.

They have long shown that ‘a thing is not necessarily true or false, it maybe both true and false’ – is the shorthand.

14. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha….check it out….based on comments, people are resigned to outcomes, but not sitting back and waiting.

“Over 2,000 US Banks Are Insolvent — Telegraph

Almost half of the 4,800 banks in the US are nearly insolvent, as they have burned through their capital buffers, The Telegraph reported earlier this week, citing a group of banking experts.

According to Professor Amit Seru, a banking expert at Stanford University, around half of US lenders are underwater.

“Let’s not pretend that this is just about Silicon Valley Bank and First Republic,” he said. “A lot of the US banking system is potentially insolvent.”

15. Waru

Not nearly! Insolvent period.
    Even the four or five big guys. JP Morgan et al.

Yellen, Biden and Fed Chair Powell are all lying.

People are so stupid, we’ve just had the biggest bailout, which was supposed to be a baili-in, in the history of mankind and nobody noticed.

It happened when the FDIC decided to insure deposits about 250k and cover mortgages and bonds held by banks which are underwater because of the inverse relationships with interest rates, without a requirement to mark them to market.

Inflation, or higher interest rates, which were supposed to trigger a mini recession.

A recession which was aimed at making poor people poorer and the rich richer.

They are lost!

16. Funky Reggae Avatar

Life is all about…
    Controlling Narratives
    Good Guys Bad Guys
    White Guys Black Guys
    Eastern Guys Western Guys
    Chinese Guys American Guys
    Russian Guys Ukrainian Guys
    Slave Guys Slave Master Guys
    The Art of Spin is all about the Spinners Spinning Spin
    Will USA and UK admit they were Bad People for Slavery?
    Or will they change the narrative to say there are no good and bad people just people
    and USA and UK are now warmly welcoming Africans like equals in the sequels?

17. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Hence the reason am staying in my corner. Waiting for things to get under control and settle down. Too much turbulence.

Hopefully the Caribbean can see its way forward sans corrupt dictators….this is their opportunity, lets see if they grab it or remain in a state of flux…begging, borrowing and dependency.

18. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

Pacha…people on the island are up in arms and rightfully so, some health ministey person is seen trying to lure the gullible to be injected with 2 vaccines that have no good track records…

That is despite WHO saying the nonsense is over very recently …saw where Russia is also stopping the injections…

..but not the ignorant idiots who believe in injuring people and destroying lives …they are determined to proceed, but only if allowed. Dont know who they are trying to impress cause no one is

That’s the problem with them…always doing dumb things to impress……or carry forward some wicked agenda..

19. From Dominica came Ross University because of a hurricane, presented as a temporary fix at the time.

Now the Grenadians are worried about SGU. As part of a general fear that Barbados is cannibalising the off shore business of other territories.

Mia Mottley, say it aint so!

Barbados has offered incentives which smaller islands can’t. Barbados has far better airlift. Barbados has a much higher development. And on and on.

But should there not be a modicum of honour even amongst thieves? Or is it just about survival of the fittest? And if that is so, what of
    Skinner’s “One Caribbean”? Or
    Mottley’s lotta shiiite talk bout
    integration.

20. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Someone just opined that a leash should be applied.

They are tired of vote beggars, their employees, pretending to be their masters, taking liberties. ..can’t blame them.

21. Apapiano (South African House Music) Avatar
    Apapiano (South African House Music)

The Criteria for the Leader of Opposition in Parliament is the Second Party with most Seats qualifies, but no one could meet that standard.
    It was like when John wanted to run for office but couldn’t find a couple of people to co-sign that he was capable so he did not meet the basic requirement.
    Any elected BLP MP could have gone Independent if they wanted to, but they didn’t feel like it.
    There is nothing in the Constitution that states Parliament is invalidated if no one can meet the criteria to be LOO.

22. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    My Brother, “
    “Skinner’s Caribbean” does not envisage any of the current crop of jokers, including Mottley, as saviors.

23. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Everyone is happy the truth about all of them is finally being revealed.

..the nerve to call themselves leaders and are so disrespectful of the people., their needs wants and hiding their history from them, the same citizens who pay their salaries and responsible for all the perks they enjoy.

They can take their Slave master wannabe petty selves and find something constructive to do for once in their corrupt destructive lives..

.NO ONE in Barbados or the wider Caribbean will tolerate slave masters in black face….so keep on testing..and watch outcomes.

24. CENSORED 🚫 Avatar
    CENSORED 🚫

Clarification disambiguation :
    The subgenre of house music that emerged in South Africa is called :
    ~ Amapiano (Zulu or Xhosa for “the pianos”)

25. picky or petty Avatar
    picky or petty

“.NO ONE in Barbados or the wider Caribbean will tolerate slave masters in black face….”

(just being picky or petty so don’t feel no way)
    “they” are not ‘in black face’ if they have ‘black face’
    “they” are longer “slave masters” and are “plantation overseers” after emancipation of slaves

26. Introducing ... Billy Woods Avatar
    Introducing … Billy Woods

his Jamaican feminist intellectual mother and Zimbabwean revolutionary father met in grad school in the US, where Woods was born. By the time he was five, they’d relocated to Zimbabwe, where his father worked in the nation’s first government after winning independence. “It was my first experience of the malleability of identity, the politics of revolution, and drastic change,” he says.

After his father died, the family returned to the late-80s US. Woods describes the experience as “a culture shock”, as he navigated “how American racism worked, the ways in which being a despised minority weighed on you psychologically. White Rhodesians had been openly racist to me in a way I rarely experienced in the US – I remember being with some white friends, going back to their house to get a soda and them warning me their father didn’t like ‘kaffirs’. But it didn’t have any real effect on my self-esteem, because our country had a black president, our house was bigger than theirs, my dad had a better job than his … I didn’t feel like a second-class citizen in Zimbabwe, because I wasn’t. There wasn’t the power behind that racism that there is here. The ways American apartheid was enforced were more subtle and unspoken and indirect, but based on the powerlessness of being that minority. The power imbalance in everything made it totally different. People would do shit to you, and it was left up to you to figure out, ‘Was that racism?’”

27. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Information most African descents, and those domiciled in Afrika dont know. Similarly, many whites and others dont know either..

..time for the truth about black traitors to reign, the wicked slave master types exposed…they have hidden in the shadows for thousands of years……committing ant African crimes for personal gain…

..explains why there should be no more Marcus Garveys, Harriet Tubmans, Martin Luther Kings, Malcolm Xs, Freddie Hamiltons…etc…all because of black Judases..

https://youtu.be/187mC2Rqygw

28. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserve. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserve.

Take note that the Caribbean had black slave masters as well, a detail criminal frauds in the parliaments omitted, am sure those are the rush to the front deceitful descents of black slave masters now angling for reparations….TO TIEF…

NOT A DIME.

29. Ten Against One Avatar
    Ten Against One

Jamming in the House of Dread

Sheltering under Christianity
    And using all means of insanity
    To achieve vanity
    Robbing and stealing in the name of the Lord
    And playing the game in the same name

Singing natty ten against one
    Sing natty tell you ten against one
    ‘Cause I tell you it will be ten against one

One man I don’t like is a hypocrite
    The other one I don’t like is a hooligan
    Heathen gone back biting
    Throwing at him bombing and fighting –
    It wasn’t Rasta
    The bombing and fighting – it wasn’t Rasta
    War inna jungle – it wasn’t Rasta
    The bombing in Rema – it wasn’t Rasta
    Cussing in Garden – it wasn’t Rasta
    The fire in a Jonestown – it wasn’t Rasta
    Ask ‘im Babylon – then I tell ’em,
    Why you trimming out the dreadlock?
    So mi tell yuh what to
    Ask ‘im Bablylon
    Is why yuh trimming out the dreadlock?
    Long-time rob him of his language
    No one going rob him of his culture
    True me say the table going turn
    And watch it and the fire going burn

This time it will be ten against one
    ‘Cause I tell ya it will be ten against one

Going on the other side
    And then a how you come over, hill so high
    And then you can’t go over
    Still so round, and then you can’t go around

Sing natty sing them songs of victory
    Watch it natty sing them songs of love
    Tell me natty sing them songs of glory, woooaah

Then and a sing it and a shout natty set them free Far I

30. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved

William was there not a thread about this on here with this same dude…

Is this not the same dude claiming he lost a client’s over 200 title deeds and the deceased lady never got back her inheritance neither has her beneficiaries…

https://youtu.be/x1o7AIYUbko

31. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Yo Pacha….

“The Signs Of De-Dollarization Are Everywhere — Analysis

The major global economies are shifting, and the clues are there for those who know where to look.”

32. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Maybe now that all these embarrassing scams are being exposed everywhere ..by a ton of people….they will stop trying to put on airs across the Caribbean, and pointing fingers as though they are clean while knowing they are dirtier and much more corrupt than most..

one things for sure…more to come.

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    I seem to vaguely remember so but can’t be 100 percent certain.

34. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Comeuppance time, we wait to hear outcomes….

…what a crowd, glad enuff it int me have to investigate ALL OF THEM.