It is running more than 14 days since the IDB sponsored Science Test 11 year olds were coerced to complete. If one follows the newsfeeds the noise in the public space although fading continues to demand answers for the disrespect shown to children, parentss and actors in the school system. The kernel of dissatisfaction is the covert manner offensive questions were clandestinely inserted in the MOE/IDB sponsored Science Test.

The blogmaster has made his position known in an earlier blog – checks and balances were compromised at every step of the management process – which includes the Ministry of Education as the government agency responsible under our laws for administering education and the last defence, the management at the schools which without question allowed non school personnel for a period to assume responsibility for young children on different occasions.

See related blogs:

The blogmaster received the following communication which indicates there are concerned citizens prepared to deploy boots on the ground to ensure citizen advocacy is alive and well in the country. Is there a better cause for citizens to advocate?

Child Advocate Faith Marshall-Harris has publicly agreed what transpired by administering the Science Test with the offensive questions is tantamount to child abuse. She also tentatively confirmed the contentious test was administered on two other occasions. It should be obvious the information shared by Minister Kay McConney and Chief Education Officer was sanitised to protect parties responsible. Some of us are not stupid.

Here is the grouse of a lowly blogmaster. If we are serious about improving our governance framework; integral to the process is ensuring the public screams accountability when necessary. We must not permit elected officials with a mandate to serve us to continue with the prevailing mindset that the political class is in charge. This feeds the prevailing culture of the tail wagging the dog. For the apathetic mindset to change which characterises the majority of Barbadians, we MUST change. The blogmaster is hopeful the ongoing matter of how the IDB Science Tests were delivered to our children will be the trigger to signal all and sundry, enough is enough.

Another issue arising from the test is the ongoinging spat between Pollster, Moderator Peter Wickham and Starcom (VOB 92.9). Starcom should not allow Wickham to bully management. The station has the license (via the producer) to determine who should be allowed to contribute to the call in program. Wickham has the right to determine if he wants to continue as a moderator if the decision of the producer as agent of the station does not mesh with his expectations.

The blogmaster has tuned in to VOB callins that were moderated by Wickham several times when he fearlessly bullied callers who he is known to disagree, AND, was allowed – incorrectly so – to do so by producers who may have been intimidated by him. No doubt the station manager will have to carefully weigh the benefits of terminating Wickhamโ€™s contract with reaction from sponsors, existing and potential, who maybe offended if the station moves too far left or right of centre. In the same way Wickham is comfortable using the public airwaves as his bully pulpit to promote homosexuality others should be able to do the same without feeling verbally harassed and pressured. 

Now, permit the blogmaster to be clear about HIS position on homosexuality. We have to accept diversity in the ecosystem, we exisit, we have to embrace what it takes to be an inclusive society. In the same way the blogmaster does not always agree with some comments/contributions posted by members of the BU community, the blogmaster at great personal sacrifice has had to defend the blog. That said, allow the blogmaster again to be clear that in his opinion the matter of sexual orientation is a binary matter. A human being is defined as a man or woman at birth, full stop. 

To ensure good governance is seen to be practiced those who played a leadership role in the infamous IDB Survey must be disciplined. Too many times we the people have allowed foul ups, bleeps and blunders to go unpunished inflicted by successive governments who serve at our pleasure. Enough is enough!

209 responses to “9-day Wonder Redefined – A Matter of Governance AND Holding Public Figures Accountable”

1. Brasstacks issue โ€˜an internal matterโ€™

MANAGEMENT OF STARCOM NETWORK does not intend to publicly discuss the details that led to a stand-off between one of its moderators and a caller last week.
    However, political scientist and moderator on VOBโ€™s Down To Brasstacks radio call-in programme, Peter Wickham, has maintained that he felt disrespected about being โ€œmutedโ€ during a conversation with Dr Veronica Evelyn last Thursday.
    Since the companyโ€™s public apology to Evelyn and Wickhamโ€™s absence on the programme this week, the issue continued to be a hot topic on social media. Some callers to the popular programme even asked about his absence from the airwaves.
    Station manager at Starcom Anthony Greene said he would not be commenting on all of the intricacies of the situation.
    โ€œThere is a lot that goes up on social media that does not have all the facts and full perspective. In relation to this specific matter, it would not be prudent for me to detail this situation in the public domain when it should be dealt with internally, as it involves an individual who offers a service to the company,โ€ he said.
    When asked if the company would continue its working relationship with Wickham, Greene also said he would not be able to publicly discuss that. However, he maintained that the programme would continue to encourage diverse views.
    โ€œ Down To Brasstacks leads public debate in our country, so strong and heated exchanges are to be expected. Down To Brasstacks is committed to continuing to allow for different
    perspectives and diverse types of content to be shared in a way that enables peopleโ€™s ability to think critically.
    โ€œPublic media such as ours have the responsibility to do this in a way that observes and promotes the highest professional standards,โ€ Greene added.
    Early last week, Evelyn, a consultant sociologist and social commentator, voiced her opinions on Comprehensive Sexuality Education (CSE) as the controversial Inter-American Development Bank/Ministry of Education pre-test questionnaire continued to be debated.
    Then on Thursday she said she was told she needed to be a part of the conversation as Wickham mentioned her.
    CSE
    โ€œI didnโ€™t hear the programme but someone called me and said that I needed to be on the programme, so I am here. I would like to know how you feel or what you would like to hear from me? What is it that I have said that you object to in terms of CSE?โ€ Evelyn asked live on air.
    Wickham, who has been moderating virtually from France, said he would not repeat due to time constraints, but encouraged Evelyn to continue her contributions, once they were new.
    She continued: โ€œWe are a new republic and we have to define character. We donโ€™t have a whole lot of human resources so our human capital is important.
    โ€œWe are at a strange point. We are cash-strapped, we do need funding and funding does come with conditionalities,
    so we are between a rock and a hard place. Apart from that, there is a changing world view. I know the Humanists society would like to see no Massa, no God . . . ,โ€ she said.
    Wickham interjected and said his microphone was muted during the exchange.
    Starcom then released an on-air apology to Evelyn.
    On Tuesday, Wickham took to his social media to give his side on this matter.
    During a cell phone interview with the DAILY NATION yesterday, he said he had heard nothing further about his return to the programme, but maintained his position.
    โ€œMy main bone of contention is when I attempted to interrogate her [Evelyn] with respect to the first point she made, I was cut off. I felt at that point it did not make sense trying to have a conversation with her because it was clear to me that she was being imposed in a way that would essentially allow her another platform to repeat herself, so I decided it was best to abandon the conversation,โ€ he said.
    While acknowledging that people had a right to disagree, he said he felt as if he was treated differently.
    โ€œI do feel it is entirely reasonable for people to disagree with my handling of the situation, but I also feel I was effectively disrespected and I was treated with less regard than any of the others were treated in the past and, as a result, I took a position,โ€ he added. (TG)

2. GOV’Ts come & go… Man’s rulership remains fundamentally flawed at its very core!!!
    https://youtu.be/xZXV6DFWdw4

3. William Skinner Avatar

โ€œ Too many times we the people have allowed foul ups, bleeps and blunders to go unpunished inflicted by successive governments who serve at our pleasure. Enough is enough!โ€ (@ David)
    Correct. And we continue to do so with a lot of essentially bogus arguments designed to protect the same political class that has consistently taken us for granted.
    No where has this been more than evident than in the raging debate about the so-called test survey , where a lot of scenarios were designed to somehow obfuscate the failure of those elected to do their jobs and the price they should pay. For example , after all the side stepping , we learned that a similar test was conducted all the way back in 2021.
    On another matter , but one of some concern , regarding how insensitivity seems to be the main menu item, we read in this morningโ€™s paper. that a cabinet senior minister, in the midst of a rate increase hearing by a public utility, has come out in very strong support of that utility.
    One would have thought that such an โ€œ endorsementโ€ could have been withheld, until the decision of the rate hearing was made.
    More to come

4. Heads up in the Sky โ˜๏ธ
    This is most impressive indeed
    9 to 14 days is a long time for those with a shorter attention span than a Goldfish
    a human attention span is 8 seconds
    showing the effect of an increasingly digitalised lifestyle on the brain

U Know I Love It
    Wowie Zowie Vs Wowie Zowie Extended Mixes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HmOfzQ6Oyk

5. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved

“This is most impressive indeed
    9 to 14 days is a long time for those with a shorter attention span than a Goldfish
    a human attention span is 8 seconds”

yep….goldfish is all of 3 seconds…the only time you can hold the attention span of a goldfish any longer is when you are taking photos of it….i tested that theory already in a goldfish tank…lol

6. Should the minister the criticized the same bl&p kept his opinion until after the conclusion also ?

7. “A human being is defined as a man or woman at birth, full stop.”

I heard there are different rules in jail and have seen some stories on TV and in movies, but have never been jailed or able to verify accuracy of this with any ex-cons stories outside on release. Apparently it is more about domination and ex-convicts and gangsters who are violently against homosexuality say it is alright inside jail.

Woman Like Man ยท Fierce Ruling Diva

8. @John2

Take a minute to collect your thoughts to avoid posting gibberish.

9. “A MATTER OF GOVERNANCE AND HOLDING PUBLIC FIGURES ACCOUNTABLE…”

A wonderful #BuzzLine…

Who is accountable for the “VACCINE INJURIES, “EXCESS DEATHS” & the vast sums of monies paid to the #BLPGOV & doctors in BIM* who traded & peddled “UNTESTED”, “UNPROVEN” #Pharmakeia on the gullible populace of some 300K+ individuals who opted to take a #VAXX under false pretences (coerced through FEARMONGERING) – mandated by a “CORRUPT, INCOMPETENT, INEFFECTIVE” basket case for a GOV???

I vociferously disagreed with Dr. Elliott Doughlin over his sideliner position with UK Med chief at the time, Chris Whitty, knowing that these #DirtyBasterds (who were bought & sold) “KNEW” that #CovidJabs had no real “EFFICACY” against that “MAN-MADE, LAB-CONCOCTED” stinking piece of #GainOfFunctionResearch which was #ScamDemically foisted upon the world – thanks to the #CCPGOV (who are complicit in “CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY”) and will pay a hefty price, if not now – in the very near future!!!

3 years on, now the truth emerges, as it cascades over the heads of men like Pfizer CEO Albert Bourla, Anthony THE FRAUD” Fauci, #BillGatesOfHell & the entire “CABAL OF SATANISTS” whose sole objective is the “NEO-MALTHUSIAN” sleight of hand, to rid the world of a few billion folks given the earth’s “SUPPOSEDLY” scarce natural resources!!! And “DUMB-ARSE-HUMANS” fell for it (though warned time & time again, by the #AlternativeVoicesOfReason)… WHAT A CROQ!!!
    https://youtu.be/2jTgDj7uiX8

10. Tom Renz: Hell Will Freeze Over Before Fauci, and Peter Daszak Get Away w/ Crimes Against Humanity

https://www.brighteon.com/8988e34d-e775-41ca-8307-9e3d40b2d1f7

11. First JPMorganโ€™s Jamie Dimon, now Goldman Sachsโ€™ John Waldron tells us that “the world is about to get hit with an “ECONOMIC HURRICANEโ€ … #IgnoreAtYourOwnPeril

https://debtbomb.news/

So, while you lot march down the streets with your placards – remember you are being warned about what is to come down the railroad tracks at CERN speed…

https://www.zerohedge.com/markets/its-unprecedented-goldman-president-echoes-dimons-hurricane-warning

12. I begin by stating that I do not know the full story, but at this time I am leaning towards the side of P Wickham
    (1) Did he invite her or was she forced on him?
    It appears she was not invited and decided to call him based on the invitation of those not connected to the program. I can only conclude that her intention was to wrestle with him. Putting on big man boots and then crying when your feeling get hurt.

(2) As moderator of the program, muting him was to show him the utmost disrespect.

Bullying callers? You know the man, you know his style and yet you still call the program.

Iwelcome all/any correction

13. David

I donโ€™t want take the comments off track

But one minister criticized one aspect that he felt concern about
    The other minister praised another aspect that he felt should be highlighted

I have no problem with both sides being made public

Is that how a democracy supposed to work ?

I stand by my gibberish
    If you criticize/ against your one then you should also the other

Out

14. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

No one is getting away with human rights violations of children and adults or crimes against humanity in this era…..no one..

“Bullying callers? You know the man, you know his style and yet you still call the program.”

the dude or girl or whatever he calls him/herself is a public nuisance and is getting progressively worse…the same clown wanted the Rasta community kicked out of the Slave society because they were watching the roll-out of the vaccines to better make an informed decision …AS IS THEIR RIGHT,,,and this nuisance wanted to take that right away from them because he believes he is some power unto himself..

.these types should be nowhere near the public and certainly not on media…too uneducated for theirs or anyone else’s good…

15. Then donโ€™t take it off track if that is your intention.

16. Without Lorenzo, I could not tell you the name of another talk show host in Barbados and I get the impression that Lorenzo is mainly referring to those who were a loud voice during the DLP years.

Without Lorenzo, I would have still heard of P Wickham, That tells me as a host he was a success in terms of generating publicity for his show and himself.

The more controversial hosts tend to have the larger audience. We had a very popular talk show host in New York who would often tell callers “Get off my phone, you jerk”.

17. Comment received via Blogmaster Quick Note:
    โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”-
    โ€œHomosexuality, prostitution and other perceived limitations should be addressed under the commandment โ€˜to love thy neighbor as thyselfโ€™. Thereโ€™s no need for regulations to enforce this commandment. The foundation that supports family as the bedrock of our existence has been established in the Bible. Mankindโ€™s attempt to change Godโ€™s word never ends well. Children without sound morale fiber and/or connect to God will become societyโ€™s liability. A Republic that favors all will attract the worst especially visitors of the worst persuasion using our shores for their sick preferences. Our children who are now being conditioned to accept perverse behaviors will be their fodder.โ€

18. @ TheOGazerts,

Peter Wickham has been open and honest about his lifestyle and support of the LGBTQ+2S community.

Meanwhile on the world stage Barbados is well represented.

19. “Defected Radio Show”
    “No one is getting away with human rights violations of children and adults or crimes against humanity in this eraโ€ฆ..no one..”

Human Rights is a Universal Law that applies to all everywhere

LBGTQ Human Rights need to applied in all places too

Churches and Religious Laws were made by Humans thousands of years ago and were exclusionary

Defected Radio Show: Masters At Work Takeover

20. @David the “like” button is too wide. I did NOT like the last quick note message.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Both Goldman and JP have been ringing that bell for the better part of a year, last i read only this week, they have exactly 12 months to prepare…..and more in-depth info is even scarier…but there’s so much of that going around already…..that’s all the warning anyone needs to know ..AND…if they stick around only listening to lying, deceitful politicians and their imps….that’s it for them….in no small terms..

22. “I did NOT like the last quick note message.”

do not worry
    simply press like again to dislike / unlike / reset

This is heaven heaven
    and I want to stay forever
    Angels are by my side
    say you are doing alright
    doing alight yeah
    and forever for ever
    I want to stay forever

Angels By My Side

Angels By My Side (feat. Pauline Taylor) (Floorplan Dub)

23. @Hants

Will have a look.

24. I agree. One is born man or a woman. One can be a transman or a transwoman but one cannot expect to be considered the same as natural borns. One should be afforded human rights but one must be listed as trans on identification documents.

Or are people to demand xrays before getting hitched?

I see there is a march planned against the type of sex education Bajans believe the survey was a prelude.

If it were a march demanding accountability for the sneaky survey, I would be there. But I suspect it is more an anti-LBGTQ+ march.

NOT ME!

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re your original post that “Brasstacks issue โ€˜an internal matter” one can sarcastically say : “as internal as any public cuss-out can be’!

As one of the station’s executives said “Down To Brasstacks leads public debate in our country…” and with that spot at the top they are surely keen to maintain a strong position in the business of advertising $$ and generating consumer interest.

Wickham’s brand is a viable one I suppose and there is nothing preventing him from developing his social media platform to capitalize thereof as a competitor to Starcom!

And I would also agree that โ€œHomosexuality, prostitution and other perceived limitations should be addressed under the commandment โ€˜to love thy neighbor as thyselfโ€™.

However, it’s impractical to further suggest that “Thereโ€™s no need for regulations to enforce this commandment.” Which nation did not have to implement regulations to ENFORCE that same ‘commandment’ as it related to how Black neighbors were treated by white brethren!

So of course there will have to be regulations to facilitate a just, equitable treatment of our neighbours who identify as LBGTQ!

26. My spider sense is tingling …
    “One can be a transman or a transwoman but one cannot expect to be considered the same as natural borns. ”
    *** More information is needed. Not certain what is meant by the same? Can I substitute “treated” for considered.

“One should be afforded human rights but one must be listed as trans on identification documents.” but yet “One is born man or a woman.”
    ** More information needed.
    Since at birth they will be listed as male/female, why must this change on identification documents?
    If trans do not self-identify to those issuing the identification, how will the authorities know who is who?
    What will change if folks are listed as trans?

My spider senses are tingling ……

27. The conspiracy theories were bogus too. Not one shred of proof.

My opinion stands. This was a sneaky survey. It was an egregious act perpetrated on the nation’s children. An apology is insufficient. There needs to be accountability.

At the same time, it could have been negligence in follow up rather than a deliberate act by Government.

My opinion on that is as valid as any holier-than-thou hair on fire conspiracy theorist.

A lawsuit might uncover the whos, hows and whys.

Until then, I stick with my opinion. Gross negligence!

I also stick with the “bogus” matters that only a FOOL would think could detract from the main point and provide cover for politicians.

OUR CHILDREN ARE NOT UNAWARE OF ANY OF THE MATTERS THAT WERE RAISED BY THE SURVEY. When I was in primary school, some of the boys used to draw a diagram of people copulating all over the bathroom walls.

That was nearly half a century ago, when the Brady Bunch couple used to sleep in separate beds, peck each other goodnight dressed in nightgowns and pyjamas and go to sleep.

Many of them did not even have tvs.

Now they have technology at their fingertips. And Brady Bunch pecks gone deep throat in diverse directions.

But to sneak those questions on them and their parents, forcing them to focus personally on them prematurely and even worse, PUT THEIR NAMES ON THE SCRIPT could be described as abusive.

And whoever has a problem with my compartmentalising the issues is a damn idiot with poor powers of comprehension.

But I’ll be damned if I allow them to sneakily attack my character imputing some putrid political motive as though I am some apologist for sale.

He will be answered EVERYTIME!

28. TheO,

I haven’t thought through the details.
    These are complex issues that must be worked out to the benefit of ALL and not just transpeople. There is an internal difference between natural born males and females. There are certain functions that transpeople cannot perform.

In the meantime I will tell my son to ask for xrays if he is thinking of marrying a non Bajan from outside of this country of “gypsy” people with big mouths.

29. Im other words, TheO, a transwoman’s right to be who “she” is must be equal to a prospective mate’s right to know who “she” is.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Both Goldman and JP have been ringing that bell for the better part of a year, last i read only this week, they have exactly 12 months to prepareโ€ฆ…and Bezos just weighed in and added his voice…..grinding slowly to a halt…

“Amazon founder Jeff Bezos has added his voice to the chorus of voices warning of hardship ahead for the US economy.

On social media, the billionaire wrote that the economy was sending a signal to โ€œbatten down the hatchesโ€.

Growth in the US has already contracted for two quarters in a row, a milestone that in many countries โ€“ though not the US โ€“ is considered a recession.”

31. “That said, allow the blogmaster again to be clear that in his opinion the matter of sexual orientation is a binary matter. A human being is defined as a man or woman at birth, full stop. ”

You’re conflating gender, sex and sexual orientation. No more from me on this.
    Wickham was right to tell Dr.Evelyn carry her RH. This is a woman that opposes laws preventing discrimination based on sexual orientation. Would you entertain someone that believes you should be discriminated against because of your blackness? In 2022, the likes of Dr.Evelyn are more likely to run sponsors than Wickham.

32. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

lawd…all the confusion…….but it suits those who love nothing better than wading into other people’s sex lives…..now dey have been GIVEN nuff nuff to wade through….that should keep them quite busy with the salacious for……as long as they breathe….

betta dem dan me….never liked involving myself in other people’s personal business, not about to start now..

33. Steupse!

34. TheO,

As anyone with half a brain should realise, my concern is that some transpeople look so natural born on the outside that you don’t know what their insides looks like. As far as I know, “vaginas” are being fashioned by skilled surgeons but not ovaries, wombs, fallopian tubes etc.

A person has a right to know what they are getting.

35. “I begin by stating that I do not know the full story, but at this time I am leaning towards the side of P Wickham.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“I do not know the full story” concerning Peter Wickham either. Unless I’m in someone’s vehicle or on his/her property during the time ‘Brass Tacks’ is being broadcasted, I DO NOT listen to that programme.

Firstly, I became โ€˜turned-offโ€™ by โ€˜Mr. P, Mr. Strakerโ€™s Tenantry, Ms. Undecided, Tall Boy, Stats Man,โ€™ Winnie, Wesley, Rawle, Alvin and ALL the other so called โ€˜regular callers,โ€™ who are ALLOWED to call and talk the SAME SHIITE, with monotonous regularityโ€ฆโ€ฆ every day.

Secondly, I have to question VOBโ€™s commitment โ€œto encouraging diverse views,โ€ since a reasonable level of FAIRNESS and BALANCE IS NOTICEABLY ABSENT from โ€˜Brass Tacks.โ€™
    Whether COINCIDENTAL or DELIBERATE, the radio station seems to choose moderators, 95% of whom are SYMPATHETIC to the Democratic Labour Party.
    They (moderators) would often give DLP members and supporters an ADEQUATE AMOUNT of UNINTERRUPTED TIME to ARTICULATE their contributions.
    Iโ€™ve heard some people defending that position by saying, since the DEMS are โ€˜not in power,โ€™ their voices should be heard.
    However, I dismiss that as shiite, because DEMS callers are allowed to DEFEND the DLP, whether that political party forms the โ€˜governmentโ€™ or Opposition.

Thirdly, as it relates to Peter Wickham, I AGREE wholeheartedly with the The-O-Guyโ€™s October 20, 2022, 10:21 AM contribution.
    For example, how can we, โ€˜on one hand,โ€™ HONESTLY CLAIM we want to โ€œencourage diverse views,โ€ and then, โ€˜on the other hand,โ€™ TRY to SILENCE Wickham simply because we DISLIKE his lifestyle or DISAGREE with the position he takes on certain issues?

Additionally, I read contributions by some โ€˜BU regulars,โ€™ in which they โ€˜pour scornโ€™ on Christianity and dismiss the Bible as a โ€˜book of myths and fables,โ€™ because they DO NOT BELIEVE in God or that Jesus ever existed.

Those individuals DELIGHT in CUSSING Dr. GP for believing otherwise.

However, they are QUICK to QUOTE certain verses of Scripture from the SAME โ€˜book of myths and fables,โ€™ or talk about God, when it becomes CONVENIENT for their particular agenda.

That โ€˜bullers and wickersโ€™ should burn in the SAME โ€˜hellโ€™ that is mentioned in the Bible.

Herein lies the HYPOCRISY.

36. Artax,

You have to toe the cabal’s line here on BU, or else.

Was I not labelled a “cunt” simply because I believe that slow evolution rather than violent revolution stands a better chance of achieving sustainable change?

P.S. Have you seen Lawson lately? He must be somewhere in Afrika practising his clicking expertise.

Murdaaaaah! That is my hit and run for the day.

37. @Donna,
    “In other words, TheO, a transwomanโ€™s right to be who โ€œsheโ€ is must be equal to a prospective mateโ€™s right to know who โ€œsheโ€ is…”

“A person has a right to know what they are getting.”

I fully agree with those statements.

I must now wonder what is worse … a partner with manufactured parts or .can think of nothing more terrifying than finding an extra part that’s not supposed to be there.

I know that you will agree, regardless of what these people claim, they should still have the same basic human rights as everyone else.

I have not discarded any conspiracy theory for I feel that we have not been provided enough answers. My concern is that some of the questions were ‘incriminating”. I wonder if the speech given by the examiner’ before the exam went something like this โ€œYou have the right not to answer some questions. Anything you write here, you will be asked again in the future. There is no need to tell your parents what was asked” (A corrupted version of the Miranda Rights

—x–
    I often claim that I am not a Bible thumper but I have thrown a few religious phrase into the lobby now and then. The Bible, regardless of what anyone thinks, contains some inspirational messages and verses. To me it like a buffet. I pick and choose what I want.

—–x—-
    I saw where a Minister was full of praise for the BL&P. I think we all agree that the BL&P will get the rate hike. It will be slightly less than what was asked for.

—x–
    Today, someone pointed out that “Bosstic” (a good man) was not aware of the vaccine caper. “Bosstic” pointed this out and exited this stage. Could it be that Min of Ed was also on the sidelines and are waiting for others (who were more informed) to provide the explanation. They did not do anything (wrong) and so they will not resign.

38. A few typos there …

Ignore the cabals. I enjoy what many of the bloggers say and many I ignore..

–x–
    @555
    My favorite blogger
    sniff, sniff
    With the fall of the British pound, his supply of good stuff seem to have decreased,
    If you have termites and want then to leave your house (in a hurry) , play some of his music.
    I know, I shouldn’t but I cannot help it ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day y’all.

39. William Skinner Avatar

Peter Wickham says he expects to continue being a part of Brasstacks. Perhaps, he will get his wish.
    And, even if he doesnโ€™t , at this time, his influence , will still have a lot of shelf life.

40. Critical Analyzer Avatar

We keep playing into the hands of people with agendas by speaking of LGBTQ+ lifestyles as if their relationships are so different from heterosexual ones that they are worthy of all this discussion and attention.

How many callers know the relationship status of the other Brasstacks moderators even to the point of knowing if they are married?

We need to start telling all persons seeking to bring up any private relationship talk into the public domain, “We don’t care who you love as long as it is not my spouse.”

41. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hants October 20, 2022 5:31 PM

Does this improve the value of the ones in my possession?

42. Artax unlike you i do listen to Brasstacks as i have stated on here regularly.I am a fan of Mr Wickham and Mr Ellis who are the top two moderators in my view since you cannot come with nonsence without being challenged.The others like Ms Jemmott, Dr Hinds, Mr Blackman , Mr Wilkinson are clearly biased towards the DLP and allow known dem callers Alvin, Mr P, Strakers, Mr Young, and Ms Decided to repeat themselves everyday virtuslly unchallenged.Some claim it is because there is no opposition but that is not their role and is a big turn off.However my problem with Mr Wickham is when he gets into talk on the bible and his nonsense about pork and pig foot souse.I personally thought he was disrepectful to the lady based on what was heard on the air.However i would hope he returns to brasstacks soon.
    On another note i wonder how TLSN feels always on here pulling down Ms Mottley and bajans and now look what hsppen in her country the PM ain, t last two months and she got talk for us.Save your advice for the UK.I gone.

43. African Online Publishing Copyright โ“’ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Just heard an interview with Dr. Evelyn…not big on all the paper trail…though it’s very impressive, but if i had to choose between someone who is WELL TRAINED… a PhD to boot in Sociology, a very impressive journey in various disciplines…….

………and a public nuisance who don’t even have real training in anything except for bullying………since no one can tell me what the hell is a political scientist after years of asking.

…A REAL REAL TRAINED PROFESSIONAL…like Dr. Evelyn WINS HANDS DOWN…

just because she does not sound like some backward unintelligent fool, that’s no reason to hate…

44. Has anyone ever met anyone as so contrived as The 0 The Watcher,
    he is so dark and creepy, makes you wanna leave Bu

45. Personal note
    Actually, I like you.
    You can give and you can take
    So put on your big boy boots and stick around.

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

As @JohnA has been apt to remind us, ‘we too love a distraction’.
    This is how we shelve accountability, waiting for the next topic to surface.
    The Minister of Education is the political head. In comparison to the the staff heads, the PS and CEO.
    It is my opinion, the numerous matters raised in this “test” debacle were serious enough to merit prompt and decisive actions by the Minister.
    The initial hope was an apology by the IDC would deflect any local damage. When this failed, the CEO offered (directed to offer?) an apology. Only after, did we hear from the Minister, in a tag team format. Is this a technical matter (CEO), administrative (PS), or both?
    It is also my opinion, the Minister failed to get in front of this matter and display the leadership expected from the Minister.
    The issue made worse, when it was divulged that lo and behold this “test” had been conducted before. Maybe twice before. Months ago.
    I have no expectation the Minister know the nitty gritty of everything which transpires within said Ministry.
    But once the ‘cat was out of the bag’, the Minister has not displayed the leadership and decisive action one would expect. I hesitate to say demand, for based on past situations this is ‘deja vu all over again’.
    In my world, it isn’t even a question if the Minister be replaced. The new Minister will determine what staff changes are required, as a result of the various matters related to the ‘test’.
    I suspect a Cabinet shuffle maybe forthcoming?

47. @Dee Word

Wickhamโ€™s sexual preference was known by the station before he came out of the closet. This is not the issue. He takes on an aggressive and obnoxious position from time to time discussing some issues with some callers which may or may not be related to homosexuality.

In the matter at hand he could have allowed the caller to state her position even if he didnโ€™t engage. Most issues discussed on the program are recycled. His position that Dr. Evelyn was repeating herself from the Monday is nonsense , used as an argument to shut her down.

48. @Enuff

Your position is not surprising.