The following was received from a concerned Barbadian residing overseas – Blogmaster

Dear BU:

I have hesitated to make this matter public before as it involves the accounting system for Barbados Land Tax but my problem may be a test case that is aimed at the Barbados senior property holders living abroad.  Here are the facts: 

1) Timely tax receipts are non-existent and Notices come late so that those abroad cannot take advantage of a 10% discount.

2) Since 2019 a marked increase in discrepancies whereby I was double-billed for an arrears due on the BRA portal  I paid both and contrary to practice, the over-payment was  not brought forward as a credit and that receipt arrived a year late.

3) In 2020 I made 4 International Money Transfers in Barbados dollars to cover 2 residential lots and 2 co-owned agricultural lots to the BRA Account at Central Bank of Barbados and they were subjected to a charge of which I was unaware.

4) There was a misapplication of deposits with the sum for the second tranche applied to the first residential lot which had a higher tax.

5) A record was sent me by email that showed that the deposit on the higher taxed lot had been made before I had made the IMTs

6) Several registered letters and emails have been sent to the Commissioner Lewis Ward and to a senior accounting officer but they are yet to acknowledge BRA’s mistake and remove the penalties and now I am being charged thousands of dollars

7) To make matters worse, I sent in 2021 a wire to Republic Bank to cover the 4 lots – BDS$7808.98 with detailed instructions as to disbursement.  I asked for receipts but none came but in August 2022 3 lots appear with heavy penalties for non-payment of taxes.  The fourth agricultural lot which is being requisitioned was free and clear.  So where did my money go? 

I have all my receipts that showed nothing was owing until the false deposit. It would seem that this matter is not worthy of reply. nor speedy resolve.  But it has serious ramifications for the safety of money transferred to Barbados by taxpayers and investors.  Please warn other senior citizens.

Wire Transfer record – Redacted by BU

352 responses to “Barbadian Property Owners Living Abroad, BEWARE”

1. @Pacha

As the professor and the blogmaster the student, is there ever a perfect market?

With man made constructs what are your realistic expectations if as you have hypothesize in this space many times we are witnessing the inevitable decline of economic and political systems that are not now fit for purpose?

2. @ David

Our problem has always been getting departments to coexist and run efficiently for the benefit of the consumer and country.

Look at the licensing authority. They are 2 years behind on sending out the license stickers yet we build cameras on overhead stands to read expired numbers. LOL

Anyhow I digress and beg your forgiveness sir!

3. @John A

The electronic surveillance is suppose to replace the primitive sticker system if the blogmaster understands correctly.

4. @ GP
    You are quite correct.
    Back in the day we called it : speculating.
    Nowaday before a building is finished it’s put on the market. Real estate can be long or short term.
    It’s amazing we continue to see things the same way we did fifty years ago.
    We can’t even get tax collection right.
    Peace

5. @ David,

BU continues to be a source of information and opportunity for discussion.

6. WHY BARBADOS LOOKS LIKE THE SPITTING IMAGE OF SRI LANKA….
    https://youtu.be/Ohl0VvWV9n8

7. WILLIAM,
    IF I KNEW WHAT I LEARNED ABOUT REAL ESTATE INVESTING AFTER I LEFT MEDICAL SCHOOL, I WOULD NEVER HAVE GONE TO MEDICAL SCHOOL

OF COURSE I WOULD NOT HAVE HAD THE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FROM MY BANKER IF I WAS NOT A DR.

HE WAS GOOD TO ME BECAUSE I WAS SIMPLE, VERY DOWN TO EARTH AND ALWAYS PAID WHAT I HAD TO PAY FAITHFULLY

I SOLD OR GAVE AWAY NEARLY ALL OF MY MEDICAL BOOKS,
    BUT I NEVER LENT OUT ANY OF MR REAL ESTATE BOOKS

YES HANTS
    BU continues to be a source of information and opportunity for discussion.

INDEED
    AND A PLACE WHERE SOME ENGAGE IN IDOLATRY
    WE HAVE A MORE IMPOLITE NAME FOR IT IN BARBADOS DONT WE HANTS ?

NOW DEFINE DISCUSSION SIR?
    DOES IT INCLUDE INCESSANT DAILY DOSES OF MUSICAL DIARHHOEA?
    DOES IT INCLUDE PERPETUAL GARBAGE ABOUT ALL THE BLACK POLITICIANS WHO ROBBING THE SLAVES?
    DOES DISCUSSION INCLUDE TEKKING POSTS FROM UNAPPROVED PROVIDERS, AND PERMITTING APPROVED MOCKERS TO FAIL IN THEIR ATTEMPTS TO LAMBASTE THE UNAPPROVED PROVIDERS WHO HAVE HELPED TO EDIFY BU BETZPAENICS IN THEIR AREAS OF EXPERTISE.

8. @ John A
    A lot of our problems are cultural We have a belief that the world has to either wait or catch up with us.
    A lot of this attitude comes from the top : political, public and private sector leadership sets the tone and we simply follow .
    Until we realize the opposite; that the world is not waiting on us and we have to catch up, we will continue to fool ourselves and the gullible.
    Peace

9. Over the years I was tempted to buy some property on the island some from my perspective were smoking deals with opportunities but came to the realization that if you can’t make money in your own backyard why would you be so full of yourself thinking you can in someone else’s.

10. @ William

That is a really true point there you raised. Thing is our banks are trapped in the 1970s mentality as are the credit unions. I mean if you bought a house pre 2008 for say $700,000 with a 20 year mortgage at even 5% back then, 14 years later it would with interest and payments have cost you over a million dollars. To think the sale price on that today may only be $600K with an 11% sales cost inclusive of agency fees and all expenses, that would me you would only get in hand a bit over $530K. Remember too that does not include carrying cost like landtax, insurance and maintenance either for the last 14 years.

That is where the expression “house poor” came from post 2008. So many people watched their value plummet it was scary. Suddenly real estate was showing a whole other side mainly the down side. You can blame the banks, the developers or whoever, but sadly it was the consumer that got the shaft. As to whether we will see the market return to pre 2008 levels, I seriously doubt that in any hurry. With Inflation and all the instability we have now along with pending recessions in our major source markets, excess liquidity does not seem to be in a favourable position.

Thing is though no one has addressed these issues with our people. There has been no serious discussion about Bim say ” Today to 2030.” That discussion needs to be holistic and cover everything from restructuring the NIS and the cost, to feeding ourselves and diversifying the economy. I guess doing that would not make for good politics though so we leave our people blind to their reality.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“WHY BARBADOS LOOKS LIKE THE SPITTING IMAGE OF SRI LANKA….”

lol…the long range corruption caught up with all of them…

“Poor woman, she also got whacked by a lawyer. The Diasporan experience.”

hope she has the will and DETERMINATION TO WHACK BACK…

12. ANOTHER DAY SAME BULL SHIT BUT NO SOLUTIONS TO OFFER BY THE SO CALLED AUTHOR AND ACTIVIST, CAUSE WUNNAH FOLK WILL TIEF HER NON-IDEAS———
    THE REAL REASON WHY SHE GIVES NO SOLUTIONS IS DUE TO THE FACT THAT SHE HAS NONE WHATSOEVER.

IT IS OF COURSE NOT TRUE THAT BARBADOS LOOKS LIKE THE SPITTING IMAGE OF SRI LANKA… IN ANYWAY, INCLUDING POLITICALLY. DEM CERTAINLY AINT GOT A LOT OF BLACKS THERE OR BLACK POLITITIANS ROBBING THE PEOPLE.

13. @John A
    I even checked with a major architect and they said yes he has seen cases where the Enviromental Dept had issued stop warnings after the plans were approved by the TCP.
    ++++++++++
    So this is what they are doing! A friend complained to them about a roadside mechanic/bodywork man who has made their neighbourhood a living hell with abandoned/ derelict cars and they said “our are tied”.

14. BREAKING NEWS:

The Queen of England has passed away.

15. David

Seems that another matter of sum import has been referred to the highest court in the land😀

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

TLSN…it’s making the rounds…

17. David
    Your queen is dead!

18. @DAVID

Form 11AM this morning I posted on #SocialMedia the following:

The intrigue continued all day…

#CNN called it rolling commentary all day so did all #MSM…

We all know that #TheMonarch passed this morning but #PR will be the death of all of us…

Parliamentary business halted…

Crowds flocking everywhere including palaces…

International MEDIA* on rolling commentary ad lib…

#Denial seems to be an archipelago group of islands out beyond the shores of common reason…

Most do not want to accept that a 96-year-old frail woman was on her #DeathBed as the family gathered & as the #CrowFlies!!!

King Solomon, the #WisestMonarch who ever lived said the following: “For the living know they shall die but the dead know nothing…” (Ecclesiastes 9:5)

She had a good batting inning, but it is time to declare (#TheObvious)!!!

#Time2Rest

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“#Denial seems to be an archipelago group of islands out beyond the shores of common reason…”

good one….and all she wanted to do was get away from all the shit….and finally did…

Pacha….let’s see what the dependents do now they will get a king…

20. FISCAL CONSOLIDATION AND STRUCTURAL REFORMS.

Well big words with a tough meaning for us again!

21. Thanks Hants. It is human nature to focus on issues that fall short and in the process overlook the positive stuff. Thanks to you and the many others who help to maintain the BU community.

22. @William

You are aware we are discussing a matter in a Barbados context given state of play? Flipping property in Barbados as an investment venture is done by niche players and should not be compared to the US market or the 70 and 80s you maybe more familiar.

23. @John A

The pros and cons of getting a mortgage in Barbados is no different than another country. The interest cost is a given. Why blame the banks and credit unions if Barbados regulatory environment allows them to charge customers at rates to prop up their bottom line?

24. @Pacha

Barbados is a Republic.

25. @DAVID

THE OMINOUS NATURE OF THIS DAY: Historical Perturbations & the “END” of the #ElizabethanAgeII

Sept 8, 1529 – The Ottoman Sultan Suleiman re-enters Budapest and establishes John Zapolya as the puppet king of Hungary.

September 8, 1781 – Bloody battle begins at Eutaw Springs, South Carolina

September 8, 1863, at the Second Battle of Sabine Pass, a small Confederate force thwarts a Federal invasion of Texas at the mouth of the Sabine River on the Texas-Louisiana border.

September 8, 1915, a German Zeppelin commanded by Heinrich Mathy, one of the great airship commanders of World War I, hits Aldersgate in central London, killing 22 people and causing £500,000 worth of damage

September 8, 1945 – American troops arrive in Korea to partition the country

The prophecy of Isaiah 7 & 8 posits 2 GROUP at the end of human history:

The followers of #Immanuel &

The followers of #Mahershalalhashbaz

We are here folks!!! Exciting times…

26. @ David

No you misunderstood my point. What I am saying is that banks and credit unions need to offer more products other than car loans and mortgages.

So for example why hasn’t a bank here in conjuction with BARP started to offer reverse mortgages ? Why have they not packaged renewable energy loans inclusive of land purchase and hardware? I can go on and on but basically they are trading on 30 year old formulas of revenue and have looked no further.

27. @John A

Let us reverse the question- BARP and Tony Marshall promised to champion reverse mortgages, if memory serves legislative change is required etc. have we heard BARP on the outcome of the process regarding consultation with the minister of finance? If reverse mortgages were seen to be profitable for lending companies in Barbados, it would have happened by now.

28. David

Only titularly

Forever will the monarchy be within the viscera of the Bajan.

Enter Charles. A man recently found with 2 million dollars or pounds, the untaxed proceeds of a bribe, crossing an international border, to state his most recent law breaking or moral deviation.

Sir David! Now bow to your king!🙃

29. David reverse mortgage business is budgeted to reach $5.5 billion USD this year in the USA. As of August 2022 the sector was up on last year for the same period by 12.5% in the USA. It is one of the fastest growing personal finance sectors in the USA today.

As for why it was not pursued here one can only guest as to the reasons.

30. @Pacha

Try as you might you cannot change the fact Barbados was led kicking and screaming to the altar of a republic.

31. @John A

Do we have to guess?

Do we have a vibrant secondary market to move property?

Do not make the mistake by comparing to large diverse markets with many intermediaries.

32. Talk like that doesnt matter you probably were out of the will since you became a republic ,

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOLL @David, you have a way with words that is often PERFECTLY measured …your 2:28 and 2:32 posts were excellent in that regard.😎👍

I too was tickled by @Williams affirmation on ‘speculating’ … as I really thought that was a given !

It’s like company shares : the speculative day-trading and options play is a given and provide a lot of money making opportunities, however, the long term play on shares is very much a vitally important component as well … like with retirement plan portfolios, for example!

Land is much like that … it always will have a significant long term worth regardless of any speculative trading! And particularly in Bim that will be the case, as you noted!!!

And on that matter of the Queen … damn straight we are a REPUBLIC … her death will be treated with the respect due but no gnashing of teeth facetiously or otherwise… 😎 Incidentally in death she brings up some PR, as:

“Her unprecedented reign included not just cultural and societal shifts, but changes to the British empire itself. When she was crowned, Britain had more than 70 territories overseas. Now, that number stands at 15, after Barbados removed Elizabeth as its head of state in December.

34. David

Beyond the pomp , sermony and legal sleight of hand, what has that meant, making any substantive difference within the national acili?

35. @Pacha

It is a start of a long journey.

There is the Constitutional Review Commission that has started it work to revamp the Constitution.

Would you have preferred that on this day QII would have been in seat?

36. David

Mottley is addressing the country on ‘matters of national importance’ in 45 minutes, what’s going on, speculation?

37. David

Seriously now.

We’re on record as saying getting rid of monarchy should have done 50 years ago.

But we have no confidence in the good little English boys and girls whose constitutional review will maintain the substantive position ante.

You don’t believe for one moment that Bush Hall with all those streets named after monarchy could be changed, do you?

Or that 400 years of British cultural impositions could be removed by claiming some ‘republic’, do you?

That some cultural transformation is afoot?

38. Now that the word Queen has become available should we take it

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

don’t even have a republic constitution…a NECESSITY BEFORE calling oneself a republic……still fooling themselves…

Pacha….wait until male descents flex then they will MAYBE awake from their Alice on fantasy island full of shit fairytales.

in the meantime no one got the time to waste..

40. Is a hurricane in the Atlantic?

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Or that 400 years of British cultural impositions could be removed by claiming some ‘republic’, do you?

That some cultural transformation is afoot?”

didn’t see this before i typed….but, …these still believe in goblins, wizards of the fake variety when they got REAL ONES OUT THERE…..and all types of rabbit holes created just for them..

they don’t even control the economy under the Monroe Doctrine, remember the lengths used to issue in the radical vaccine scam….because they can’t just tief like that anymore……gotta use insidious approaches and pray for success, but there they are claiming something that is not real or true….

42. @Pacha

Agree with this comment. So far the interactions from the Commissioners more than hint that a new Constitution will not veer too far from the original. Hope not!

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

There is an Earl out to see, pretty strong but don’t look threatening to any island and one just crawled off the Afrikan coast 15 degrees N.

44. Waru
    The current struggle for mere survival will take up all the national energy. Except for the useful bits helping in electioneering.

The ‘Mottley Revolution” has been long dead.

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They won’t accept that truth Pacha….it’s not in their recent genetic makeup to do so…but will try to talk a fallacy into existence….a FAILED attempt is all that will manifest..

timing is everything.

let’s see if the electorate who are not fowls and birdbrains etc learned anything in the last 3 years…”

“The current struggle for mere survival will take up all the national energy.”

am sure you noticed they cannot see what’s ahead…

….that’s why i am throttling back on the use of my energy, conservation is key..

46. David
    “We are the kind of tailor that can make a suit for a man by not measuring but merely seeing the corner where the man pass”

What else would you expect from Englishmen and women given a chance to exert their superior cultural proclivities.

The history of Barbados is replete with commissions. We currently recall the Moyne Commission after the 1937 attempted revolution by workers. And what good did that do.

47. @John A
    So for example why hasn’t a bank here in conjuction with BARP started to offer reverse mortgages ?
    ++++++++
    You are normally a voice of reason on these pages but WHAT? You were just bemoaning the perilous state of RE in Barbados and now you posed that question? You know of course that the beneficiaries of the borrowers Estate have to repay the loan within a specified time (as in most reverse mortgages) or the owner can opt to repay the loan but maybe they are cash strapped that’s why they would take a reverse mortgage in the first place

If/when the inevitable happens then someone is stuck with a home that they must sell in a market that is moribund to satisfy a mortgage lender or they can pay off the loan and if there are multiple beneficiaries crappo smoke yuh pipe.

Unless of course you want to pick up real estate at fire sale prices.

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“St George’s – Members of Parliament in both the Grenada lower and upper houses of parliament will later this month participate in a post-election seminar with parliamentarians from the United Kingdom.

An information activity notice from the Office of the British High Commission in Grenada stated the UK branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) will be visiting the Spice Isle to conduct the seminar.

“This will be an information-sharing initiative partly due to the newness of the majority of parliamentarians following the June 23 general elections,” the notice stated.”

Pacha…what independence what…ya would think they have A TEMPLATE for new parliamentarians……something more indigenous friendly. and pro-Afrikan….but they have to follow instructions just like the clowns pretending republic but still wearing and modeling all the demoralizing symbols of empire…

49. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…don’t even hold your breath that even with all the PROOF visibly available that they will ever get it, they have to see for themselves…and even then, denial is a thing.