Submitted by Just Observing

Every once in a while this government finds a catch phrase and sticks to it. We had our “nothing to see here” moments. There was the famous “lost decade” and “old guard.” Once upon time it was “all uh we, my friends and no retreat no surrender.”

The newest catch phrase is “no quick fix.”

Dale Marshall’s response to the spike in crime that equals or surpasses that of 2006-7 which he criticised??

No quick fix.

The Central Bank Governor’s response to bank fees AFTER the Prime Minister said it has to stop?

No quick fix

The Prime Minister’s response to abolishing Common Entrance after proclaiming it so on a political platform and after Dr. Denny bragged about a 2023 end in Parliament?

No quick fix

The roll out of the Summer Nutrition Programme which NO ONE knew about before it was announced??

No quick fix

What about integrity legislation and freedom of information? After all, it’s 30-0 with a packed Senate

No quick fix

Cost of living. Tax on gas? Increasing prices? Decreasing items on shelves?

No quick fix

Legislation to protect the elderly and the vulnerable?

No quick fix

Legislation to protect hard working farmers from praedial larceny?

no quick fix

Repairs to housing damaged by Elsa and the provision of low income housing?

No quick fix

Covid numbers again at 400 with a consistent 33%+ positivity rate?

No quick fix

But then again, what should we expect. We were told to “gimme de vote and watch muh.” We were also told of “mission criticals” “many hands make light work” “we got dis” and “this is who we are.”

Whether BOSS, BERT, SUN, REAP, BOUNCE or whatever…. I guess it’s just back to life and back to reality.

No quick fix!!!

457 responses to “No Quick Fix”

1. William Skinner Avatar

I have not heard one person say that they would not support giving our children food. I have heard a few say they would have preferred vouchers to buy the food or whatever the children needed but no one has said outright that they would not support the program.
    I said it before and I will repeat : every disagreement or criticism of this administration is seen as an attack..
    The same people who spent years criticizing ,and correctly so , Stuart and Company are pissed off and become intellectually dishonest, when others criticize Mottley and Company.
    That’s why we can’t escape the Duopoly.
    In my opinion, the Minister should never have stated that people don’t want our children to be fed.

2. Donna July 27, 2022 8:11 AM #: “I am not going to believe that yet.”

Donna

You should read further.

“The information: Grupo Armado Organisado (GAO) from the La Guajira, Santa Marta Colombia’s northern Caribbean coast, hired three Venezuelans who were able to purchase Trinidadian passports to travel to Barbados a week prior to the explosion.”

“This violent group is known to be responsible or controlling 80% of the narco-trafficking routes along the Northeastern coast of Colombia, to include Eastern Venezuela ‘s Gulf of Praia, the waterway between Venezuela and Trinidad.”

“For such an operation to be successful, the source told us, the operatives traveled from Port of Spain to Barbados a week prior to the explosion, and there are elements within the Barbados Police Force that were paid to provide support including surveillance and lookouts for the target. The Trinidadian government is therefore partly responsible for the crooked lawyer’s demise. The Cartel is sending a clear message to any lawyers who are planning to cross them, through the deployment of such a violent explosive device against a lawyer who stole from them. This may serve notice on all Bajan lawyers that la Justicia Divina (translation: Karma) is coming for them.”

3. Lesson learned
    When yuh play with fire yuh gonna get burn
    The world has changed as moral values are being eroded
    People’s are of little or no value to any one
    A family life snuffed out would mean nothing if money is involved

4. As a matter of fact if govt had the total well being of the 7000 mentioned a program which incorporate social workers visiting the home would have given govt a better understanding of the needs of these 7000 which calls for more than a six week meal program
    The social worker would have reported what they saw and the importance and necessity of having a sustainable meals and additional help for these people
    This govt doesn’t flinch when it comes to rolling out financial help for big business in the millions and yet to hear when who and how these programs are rolled and see who the players involved receiving and how much

5. That’s why we can’t escape the Duopoly.
    In my opinion, the Minister should never have stated that people don’t want our children to be fed.

Cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

From what I read the minister never stated that .

6. AC

The school meals programs is for primary school children when school is in process
    This is the first time that I know of that it was extended into the school vacation period. I would not rule out it not being continued in future vacations if government see a need for it ( or something similar)
    But school meal is not just a 6 week program. It been going on for decades

7. IN THE USA

“Employees of a South Side market traded food-stamp funds for cash, alcohol, cigarettes and drugs over much of the past year, according to a search warrant filed last week.”

https://www.dispatch.com/story/news/crime/2013/01/15/2-accused-trading-drugs-booze/23949926007/

8. Thank you @ hants.

I don’t know what the fuss is about vouchers protecting a person dignity ( my words)
    Every time I see someone paying with viouchers I assume the financial status ,
    I a small society like Barbados where everyone knows everyone the whole island will still know who shopped with vouchers even before the groceries reach that person home

9. I am not for or against vouchers or direct school meals. I am for the kids getting fed

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

‘When yuh play with fire yuh gonna get burn”

that’s exactly what EVERYONE with more than 2 brain cells is saying…..those who love to contradict have NO CREDIBILITY…..as they were FIRST to want to JUMP INTO the Ukraine war while having NO INFORMATION and NO CLUE who those people are or any of the THOUSAND YEAR history………until they saw Afrikans being mistreated across that area of Europe and that’s the only time they BACKED DOWN from their high horse of nonsense..

their ignorance will surely cause their deaths…..but i know when to mind MY BUSINESS…

11. As one person opined on another social platform
    Barbados is a small community where everybody knows each other and having children lined up for food present a problem one that (those,)who never knew of the child situation now have a glimpse of the child reality
    Somethings needs to be keep private between govt and society
    A line for food breaks that privacy as well as dignity factor involved

12. GOVERNMENT MUST BE COMMENDED FOR PROVIDING ANY NUTRITION TO THE CHILDREN FOR ANY PERIOD OF TIME.
    ALL REASONABLE FOLK WITH UNDERSTANDING KNOW THAT NUTRITION IS ESSENTIAL FOR GROWING CHILDREN.
    TO BE NICK PICKING AT GOVERNMENTS EFFORTS IN THIS REGARD IS A SIGN OF MENDICANCY AND IGNORANCE.

MANY OF OUR CHILDREN FAIL TO REACH THIER TRUE POTENTIAL AT SCHOOL BECAUSE OF RELATIVE MALNUTRITION.
    I HAVE HAD CONTEMPORYIES AT HC WHO TOLD ME, MANY YEARS AFTER SCHOOLDAYS, HOW THEY WERE UNABLE TO CONCENTRATE IN CLASS BECAUSE THEY WERE HUNGRY.

ONLY FOOLS OF THE HIGHEST ORDER WOULD OBJECT TO GOVERNMENT’S ATTEMPT TO FEED ANY OF THE CHILDREN IN ANY WAY FOR ANY PERIOD OF TIME.

13. There are some parents in Barbados that can afford to feed their children but will still send them for the school meals because it is FREE and they can save some money
    Si a child getting school meals does not alway mean that the parents are in desperate needs .

I will bet you that if you use the vouchers and put an income threshold that that 7000 figure will fall

14. We are all Davids now self regulating a censor free space for cultivation where one argument leads to another and then a fight and a long held grudge war.

A food program for children should be viewed as an exercise to develop a working model for possible food shortage events.

Children with a lack of sufficient food in development up to 18+ years will be stunted.

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I don’t think these are taking any food shortage that is now causing WORLDWIDE HUNGER and estimated to cause over 1 BILLION people to starve to death…….seriously,

,,these should be PRESSURING GOVERNMENT to EXTEND the program INDEFINITELY and don’t look for ways to CUT CORNERS to redirect hundreds OF MILLIONS of vat and taxpayer’s dollars TO CROOKS…

that money should instead GO ONLY TO THE ISLAND’S CHILDREN so starvation is BEATEN BACK…

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

an even BETTER reason to mind ya business….someone(s) just lost nearly 3-TONS of COCAINE…notice ya are not hearing ONE WORD about that…everyone is pretending IT NEVER HAPPENED..

if it was a consignment batch….well just say, these people have LONG MEMORIES…mine don’t even match up..

…were i the enablers i would STAY CLEAR AND GIVE THEM ROOM….but enablers are entitled to KARMA TOO…

17. Has David show up for duty yet five days and counting

18. HantsJuly 27, 2022 11:09 AM

Pension.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/07/27/unsustainable/

Hope none of the old codgers on here depending on GOB for pensions!!

It’s all down from here.

19. … CLICO all over again.

20. angela coxJuly 27, 2022 11:05 AM

Has David show up for duty yet five days and counting

Must have lost that loving feeling.

21. … and some stupide ignorant faking women believe they can conceal anything from a partner!!

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“The Mia Mottley administration has been advised to find another source of funding to pay public servants’ pensions as its continued use of government revenue to do so is now “unsustainable”.”

why would anyone have to tell them that…they allow every Tom, Dick and Harrylal to stick their THIEVING HANDS IN IT….don’t they think it would come to AN END…

day runs till night catches up…..the longest day has an end…

apparently these believe that everything lasts FOREVER especially when it’s criminal…

23. John 2,

You got time to waste? Anybody can see that ac is criticising for criticising’s sake.

It is only obvious that The SCHOOL MEALS programme will not stop in six weeks but WILL CONTINUE into and throughout the next SCHOOL term.

And you will have to order or sign up for them THEN AS ALWAYS to minmise wastage or prevent shortages.

And as for She Who Knows –

The huffing and puffing about St. George children being left out of the programme would have had to be the smelliest BULLSHIT OF THE HIGHEST (OR LOWEST) order.

Who the rh (roast hog) could believe that the Government would deliberately leave out a parish of children from a national programme?

GTFOH (Get the fish outta here)

Logic says that it was an administrative mistake or people turned up without registering or they went to the wrong school.

You see, this is why I have to take what some people say with a WASHPAN of salt!

Some of it is just senseless.

I said it before and I’ll say it again – there is enough to criticise without having to make stupid stuff up.

Then, all I saw the Minister saying is that he was glad enough for the school meals when he was poor and hungry and that we all need to remember where we came from – almost all of us no more than a couple of generations away from abject poverty and many playing “poor great” (poor great poppets) but still han’ tuh mout.

Of course, we could level some criticism at successive governments for the last bit.

Artax,

Help muh heh! I read on but I’m not tracking. What is worthy of note? Should it dispel or deepen disbelief?

Or skepticism, to be more accurate.

24. So you speak for all “partners” now? How do you know what they know?

Now THAT Is STUPID!

25. Not criticizing for the sake
    I speak a truth a truth which says people emotions should not be tampered with or undignified

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Angela…these do not even know what’s going on around them….they are hardly in a position to tell anyone anything..especially those who are more plugged in.

27. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Pacha…drama on the continent…

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

well…apparently someone knows a lot….

“Second floor explosion debunks police theory of gas fire suicide
    If you read yesterday’s article, Barbados Lawyer Allison Lovell and her Entire Family were Assassinated in a money Laundering Deal Gone Bad, you know that there are two other co-conspirators in Lovell’s money laundering operation. Whilst we do not have absolute confirmation of their identities, our sources have given us some additional information, which we are withholding for their obvious safety. It is humbly suggested that they surrender themselves to law enforcement abroad, and cooperate with the authorities. For that purpose, Suga Dee of 246bajanvibesradio.com has asked that they contact him, in confidence, so that he may assist them. “

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Angela…people are still trying to save them because they know what they can expect…there is NOWHERE FOR THEM TO HIDE ON THEIR OWN…if they tangled themselves with Santa Marta…

personally…they would have to deal with it on their own..but there are those who would be thinking of another loss of whole families…

30. The question is – plugged into WHAT?

Why would I want to be plugged into that shit?

I have no wish to be so connected.

31. But wait, this person who knows suh much en frighten?

Out in de open so?

Steupse!

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I got nothing to be afraid of…because i have NOTHING TO HIDE….not even my name and face…

33. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

Plug into presence of power, knowledge, peace, bliss, immortality and practice recharging
    Get rid of the dual concept of fear, weakness, declining activity feelings that things are incapable of working, then you need some recharging.
    Eternal Recharging is not possible for a cell phone, but it is possible for our divine human structure. Practice Kriyayoga Meditation to become eternally charged. If you learn to practice all the time you will experience eternal, ever-new, power, knowledge, peace, bliss and immortality; continuously. You will never feel you are limited. Simply try with sincerity and devotion.

#KriyaYoga #Recharging #YogiSatyam
    Kriyayoga – Source of Eternal Recharging

34. DAVID DAVID IS THAT YOU WHO I SAW HMM?

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

What happened Angela??

these are acting like if ya have to fear talking about a group who ACTUALLY EXIST and known THROUGHOUT the Caribbean for DECADES, people know their methods, it’s common knowledge……

but what they should fear, they don’t and just charge right in ..

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i take it there are mucho soft bowels on the island today, cause am sure that’s just the tip of the melting iceberg…

37. Not you. The contact man.

Steupse.

Money laundering for drug cartels, I am certain, happens everywhere, no doubt including Barbados. And hence all the odorous financial regulations. You cannot even get a medical insurance policy without jumping through hoops these days.

What I find hard to believe is that two sane people would fail to complete the transaction and blithely remain like sitting ducks in their home in St. Philip.

Seems to me that one would at least go into hiding SOMEWHERE else in the world.

A sane person would know that $2.5m would not be enough to see them safely and comfortably secreted in any foreign hideaway anyhow.

In those circumstances, that would be chump change.

These people would have had to be the world’s biggest idiots.

38. I keep checking in for David. This is too weird.

39. If this story is true we should assume that we may see the assassination of more members of our legal professionals, along with their family members. A precedent has been set. Such a scenario had been predicted for a long time. The criminals appear to have purchased some members of our police force. The sooner we accept that Barbados has become a narco-state; than the sooner we may be able to resolve our long term structural problems.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It’s recorded as a narco-state sometime during the 70s and 80s,,,horse bolted long time ago…

there are people who can give you chapter and verse about how that system works, a system within a system..

the amazing thing, very few people in the general population know it exists or would even believe it….it has its own history.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

When people live so blissfully, they ALWAYS find themselves waking up one day……Barrow said it remember, and asking, who, how, when, where…because it started DURING HIS REIGN….after the previous and existing reigns of terror visited on the population..

what i find strange, is that those who know pretend they DON’T…and would go silent….maintaining the status quo.

42. DonnaJuly 27, 2022 5:09 PM

I keep checking in for David. This is too weird
    Xxxxx
    Why is it weird
    Can’t a person have some” me” time away from all the noise and clutter

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I notice the word master triggers some type of dependency….that word should be used less…completely eradicated…

along with plantation…

District in some instances….these are code words straight out of the black codes…

a remake is definitely needed, but everyone gotta find it within themselves to DO SO THEMSELVES…

Emancipate yourself from mental slavery – Bobby Marley

44. Onerous not odorous

45. @ GP July 26, 2022 5:51 PM
    (Quote).
    RE “The World Economic Forum (WEF) is calling for the end of private car ownership in the name of saving the world from climate change by reducing the need for green tech resources.”
    HEAR THE IDIOT AGAIN
    ONLY FOOLS BELIEVE THAT RUBBISH

CLIMATE CHANGE AND GLOBAL WARMING HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CARBON DIOXIDE EMMISSIONS OR FOSSIL FUELS
    (Unquote).

Is this statement emanating from the fogged brain of a man who fancies himself to be a guru of all sciences and likes to argue that the more carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere the better for life on the planet?

Does that ‘betterment of life’ include humans who rely on oxygen to exist?

But what can we expect from a certified fool who believes that the billions of tons of fossil fuel and its varied sources found in the earth and under the oceans were made in one day by a manmade idol called Yahweh just like the many beds of dead coral reefs making up the island called Barbadoes.

The late James Lovelock, on his deathbed, must have prayed powerfully to the Goddess Gaia in order to rid this planet called Earth from the raving madness of blind johnnies like GP calling themselves doctors.

46. You is one igrunt so and so doah neh!

What dependency what?

Not one blasted fool besides you thinks that I need a man for ANYTHING. AND EVERYBODY knows that I bristle with the slightest suggestion of a man as my master.

Look be off do, you vexatious spirit!

47. DonnaJuly 27, 2022 5:09 PM

I keep checking in for David. This is too weird.

Maybe they held him in America.

48. I was away for a week and no one missed me😢

Well, it seemed like a week to me.
    —x—

Let’s hope David is fine and resting. Perhaps, he just realized how funny the BU family is and decided to let the fun flow.

More seriously, the discussion is poorer when his hands are off the wheel.

49. I think odorous was just fine. In fact, it was even better.