Submitted by Bentley
I’m sure you must have seen this article from GIS (see below).
While I totally agree with the need to address food security by regional leaders much more is needed to be done if we are to ever come close to satisfying the food requirements of the region from regional sources. With specific reference to Barbados there are several areas that we need to urgently address. These include:
- Getting an effective praedial larceny act in place,
- Giving meaningful incentives to small farmers,
- Work towards removing the stigma associated with farming and agricultural work,
- Allow would be small food crop farmers to have a real stake in the sector (provision of unused parcels of government land at viable concessions, revive the agricultural seed store with a wide variety of viable seeds),
- Put conditions in place to control crop pests especially monkeys. I’m sure there are several other factors you can think of.
Food security and food crop farming must be seen as important by every member of society and government must do all it can to ensure this is achieved.
I remember the late Dr Keith Laurie saying that during the second world war Barbados was able to feed itself since no food was coming in from outside. There is no good reason why we can’t achieve this on a Caricom wide basis.
See GIS article referred to by Bentley
It’s Time To Secure Region’s Food Security
BY JULIE CARRINGTON | MAY 20, 2022 | TOP STORIES

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has used the platform of a major agriculture conference to make a strident call for regional heads to join together to ensure the region’s food security.
She made the call yesterday during the opening ceremony of the three-day Agri-Investment Forum and Exhibition in Guyana, as she spoke on the topic: Pursuing CSME and Removing Barriers to Enhancing Agri-Trade Within the Region.
Ms. Mottley told the large gathering that the ongoing crisis with Russia and Ukraine had reinforced the vulnerabilities of the millions of people living in the Caribbean, based on the effect of wheat and other food restrictions in place by some overseas countries which export wheat and its by-products.
The Prime Minister shared that Russia, the Ukraine and India had stopped sending important food and grocery items outside its borders, and warned of more restrictions to follow by governments to safeguard their food supplies in the face of soaring inflation.
She articulated the view that the entire Caribbean region had to be viewed not just in the context of the population in CARICOM of 18 million people, but also the visitors received on an annual basis, whose “responsibility is ours to feed”.
Ms. Mottley affirmed: “We are at that moment in time when it is up to us to stand up to the challenge or to recognise that the consequences of it will indeed be difficult and potentially devastating for our people. While we await the global initiatives to be announced by the UN Secretary General and the global crisis response team he has established on food, energy and financing with the expectation that what the world faces will be more challenging than what we faced in 2008 to 2010. We have a responsibility to take preemptive action in this region to protect our people.”
The Prime Minister and other regional heads also made a case for more regular transportation of goods across the region with the suggestion that a new solution be found to move the cargo.
“In this moment, when maritime transport is at its greatest challenge, we have to recognise that the bridge to resuscitating Caribbean tourism air transport may well be having regional air cargo moving to help offset the investment to move our people,” she emphasised.
Ms. Mottley continued: “We may need to look at different planes and we may need to look at more regular traffic. The regularity of movement may well be the solution for us rather than these large aircrafts that move once or twice a day.”
The three-day event was held under the theme: Investing in Vision 25 by 2025, which represents the goal to lower the region’s US $6 billion food import bill by 25 per cent within the next three years.
I don’t have to be the first with the news. All is revealed in good time.
Also, I said, “He who feels it, knows it.” One does not have to have every little detail. One can FEEL the mood of a country as small as ours. One KNOWS when citizens are prospering and when they are suffering.
Sigh!
Nothing to doubt when it comes to cover ups. They always see it as exposing their failures and so their main concern is to protect THEMSELVES.
Personally, I think no school is without its shortcomings and lapses. If the issue is properly dealt with it speaks well of those in charge. It is the attempted cover up that blows it up.
The thing to do now is to offer all the support for however long it is needed to the little boy and his family.
Also tighten up security and be much more vigilant.
I never liked these large primary schools. I bypassed the one on my doorstep and sent him a little way to a very small school.
This wouldn’t have been possible there.
i planted 2500 melons and tried hard to limit the amount of chemicals for pest control by using an organic based insecticide. Today, I am out over $2500 which is cost, labor, seedlings, water and fertilizer.
Farming is a gamble and truth be told most crops are highly laden with chemicals if pest and fungi are to be kept at bay.
A testing regime needs to exist to prohibit the abuse of systemic sprays in farming.
Anyone else recalls this story of Bajans returning to Bim from Suriname poor and destitute after what would have been over 40years living there according to the Salemite? I am keen to read it becausen Suriname’s economy was in the pits after independence and by 1980 they had the coup
Monkeys cause issues for garden attraction as bird population declines
https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2022/05/Hunte-730×456.png
Article byMarlon Madden
Published on
May 28, 2022
The continued explosion in the green monkey population is creating a major headache for the operator of one of Barbados’ popular attractions.
Owner of Hunte’s Gardens Anthony Hunte told Barbados TODAY he believed the time had come for authorities to create a monkey attraction by capturing the primates and putting them into a specially designed habitat, away from the rest of the population.
He said that as a result of the increase in the population and their foraging habits, there had been a decline in the number of birds at his St Joseph site.
As a Barbados TODAY team sat down with Hunte on Thursday, he drew attention to noises being made by the birds as monkeys had made their way through the garden moments earlier.
“The monkeys are coming and are starting to eat the birds’ eggs. The birds that live in this area lay their eggs in the trees and the monkeys come in. So we are having a big reduction in my birds right in this area, and what is most serious is the hummingbird because we are seeing less and less of them,” he said.
“We used to have nests nearby where the visitors could come and look at them [and] look at the chicks, but not anymore. I don’t know where they are laying but they are obviously trying to find spots to hide them from the monkeys. But they are definitely reducing the population of the two species of hummingbirds in this garden,” he said.
Estimating that there could be about two dozen monkeys in a troop passing daily, Hunte said the situation had become dire, especially within the last two years, and the primates were “getting bolder”.
“They are coming really close and going after the eggs,” he lamented.
Hunte said while visitors often enjoyed seeing both the birds and the monkeys, he was concerned the birds were getting very agitated once the monkeys came around.
He said he feared that if decisive action was not taken to either control or isolate the monkey population, a bad situation could get worse.
“Really, we have too many in Barbados currently and they have gotten out of hand. We have thousands, and the more we feed them the more babies they are going to have,” he said.
“If there is any possibility where there are huge acres of land, like maybe down Hackleton’s Cliff, another attraction could be planned where the monkeys actually live in a specific area and have to live in that area. So, as we feed them in that area you grow trees so they live and don’t move out of that area because they are ruining crops all over Barbados,” he said. “We have to have the will to make the decision. Once you make the decision then you move with it, and procrastination I don’t think is good.”
In addition to stealing bird eggs, Hunte said the monkeys sometimes damaged plants in the garden, although he added that he tried his best to maintain “a good relationship” with them by allowing them to eat from the fruit trees.
However, he expressed concern for farmers whose crops were being harvested by the primates.
Charmaine Hatcher, general manager of the animal protection organisation RSPCA, said while she understood the reasoning behind Hunte’s suggestion, different troops of monkeys in a contained space would not work, since they are very territorial.
“I know what Mr Hunte is talking about because Hackleton’s Cliff area is very bushy and yes, you can plant trees, but trees take a long time to get to maturity to bear fruit . . . . With regards to just keeping monkeys in one particular area, I would say that can’t work because monkeys live in troops,” explained Hatcher.
The veterinarian further explained that the primates were venturing into new areas to seek food because their habitats have been taken away over the years, and people were feeding them and even keeping them as pets before releasing them when they got older.
She also noted that the manner in which people were disposing of their unwanted fruits and vegetables was attracting them to places they were not known to visit before.
The Barbados Wildlife Reserve is home to between 200 and 300 green monkeys. One representative at that St Peter location told Barbados TODAY that putting all the monkeys in Hackleton’s Cliff was not a good idea.
“We can’t do that because the whole island is covered in monkeys. We have about 20 000 to 25 000 monkeys on the island. We can’t get them in one area because the monkeys move in troops and different places have a different troop and the different troops don’t come together,” he explained.
While expressing sympathy for the farmers and residents being affected by the primates, he acknowledged that given their numbers “if you get rid of one troop another troop will come in that area”.
“And some of them break off on their own and create a new troop. We have been trapping monkeys over 30-plus years and the population, even though it went down, it gone back up so that will be difficult,” he said, adding that the lack of natural predators was responsible for the increase in the population of the green monkey that was introduced to Barbados more than 350 years ago. marlonmadden@barbadostoday.bb
“Anyone else recalls this story of Bajans returning to Bim from Suriname poor and destitute”
ya can’t change reality, no matter how ya try to pretend…if it was my personal business or something to do with my websites and books/magazine which is none of ya business…….the dumb negro would instantly recall and be all over it it though, even 60 years later…
.tek dah….go into the nationnews or barbadostoday archives, or BU archives where there is a mention……one of the dailies.. carried it…yall are never focused or in tune with what ya should be..
ya should be more focused on the pretender running around everywhere pimping this award and that title to nowhere while nothing changes for the Black Afrikan population who pay parliament salaries……….public nuisances every last one of you…
Suriname is still very UNSTABLE, it’s no secret…….but yall still trying to send Black Bajans there….lol
Guyana is still VOLATILE with the race hatred…and ya sending them there too…steupppss..
People in the diaspora are calling in to 246 Radio London to share HOW THEY FEEL IT from the criminals in Barbados….people on the island “feeling it” thanks to the beasts in the bar association, court system and parliament, is not EXCLUSIVE to Barbados only…those in the diaspora including all beneficiaries have felt it by the LOSS OF MILLIONS OF DOLLARS and their inherited estates FOR DECADES…….
I don’t know what to say, but BU seems to be DEVOLVING instead of evolving, despite the few who are trying……ah wonder who is to blame.
.don’t look at me, i int de body dat create de BU family…
Good article about food security….BUT..
Getting serious now about food security is like adopting a new policy on the Titanic towards speeding near icebergs.
We done sunk.
Interesting read
Food for thought
http://www.worldpoliticsreview.com
Guyana’s Oil Wealth Comes With Some Strings Attached
Frida Ghitis | Thursday, March 10, 2022
If the global scramble to replace Russia’s oil in the wake of its Ukraine invasion had occurred a few years from now, instead of today, diplomats would be turning not only to Saudi Arabia, Iran and Venezuela for potential new sources of oil, but also to another, perhaps unexpected country: Guyana, a minuscule South American nation that is now in the process of becoming a petroleum powerhouse.
In the history of the world, few moments like this—in which an impoverished country suddenly discovers that it possesses untold wealth—have ever occurred. And yet, that’s what happened in Guyana in 2017, whenExxonMobil revealedthat it had made a major oil discovery in the country’s coastal waters. Since then, similar finds have kept coming. Guyana is now believed to possess some 10 billion barrels of oil in its deposits, worth an eye-watering$130 billion over the next 20 years.
Get your FREE copy of our in-depth report on U.S. Foreign Policy Under Biden.
In a country that is one of the poorest in its hemisphere, where in 2011 nearly half the population lived onless than $6 a day, the news was understandably greeted with euphoria. If all goes well, gross domestic product could skyrocket 1,000 percent by 2025, according toformer U.S. Ambassador Perry Holloway.
But in truth, the impending wealth is a mixed blessing. Oceans of oil do not guarantee prosperity, much less well-being. Just next door to Guyana, Venezuela holds one of the world’s largest reserves, but its people are nevertheless mired in poverty, oppressed by an authoritarian regime that hasleveragedthe country’s wealth to secure and maintain its hold on power.
In fact, the world is full of countries that have been either blessed or cursed with bountiful quantities of hydrocarbon. The question ahead is whether Guyana will end up looking more likeNigeria, which has made disastrous use of its oil wealth, or likeNorway, which has become a model for the successful management of such resources.
To navigate the rough waters of the infamous “resource curse,” Guyana’s leaders will need to fend off the common challenges that come with newfound oil, including an explosion of corruption, the collapse of non-oil industries, the exacerbation of ethnic and political divisions, and the destruction of the environment, to name just a few.
And they will need to act fast. Production started back in December 2019, and exports began shortly thereafter. Three energy companies—ExxonMobil and Hess from the United States and CNOOC from China—have formeda consortiumthat is already extracting petroleum, and several smaller firms have also secured contracts and started drilling. Although the Guyanese treasury has so far only seen a trickle of funds coming in from these ventures, analysts project that exports will reach1.2 millionbarrels a day by 2030, putting Guyana among the world’s top 20 oil producers.
The International Monetary Fund had initially projected that the country’s gross national product would surgean astonishing 86 percentin 2020, the fastest growth rate on the planet. But 2020 was, of course, packing surprises. When the coronavirus pandemic hit, global oil prices collapsed, and revenue projections sank with them.
To navigate the rough waters of the infamous “resource curse,” Guyana’s leaders will need to fend off the common challenges that come with newfound oil.
Still, despite the pandemic’s effects on oil and its broader economic impacts, Guyana’s GDP climbed43.5 percent in 2020—nothing short of amazing. In the first half of 2021, as the country suffered devastating floods and as oil prices remained depressed, the economy grew “only”14.5 percent—a lower, but still spectacular rate. Indeed, the country’seconomy is already shifting, with sugarcane workers now catering to oil businesses and the real estate sector booming.
Clearly, the potential for growth is extraordinary, but so is the potential for disaster. In 2020, just as oil was beginning to flow, Guyana held presidential elections, and the process showed just how dangerous the new riches could become.
Guyana’s politics and society are sharply delineated along ethnic lines. In the 17th century, the country’s then-colonial power, the Netherlands, brought enslaved Africans to work in sugar plantations. When the British empire took control in the 1800s, it freed them and brought over indentured workers from India. Centuries later, the country is divided between the descendants of Africans and the descendants of South Asians. Afro-Guyanese generally align with the democratic socialist People’s National Congress Reform, or PNCR, while Indo-Guyanese tend to support the left-wing People’s Progressive Party, or PPP.
The allure of oil has only exacerbated these ethnic and political tensions. In 2020, the incumbent, President David Granger of the PNCR, prematurely declared victory on the basis of unverified and disputed results from the capital region. Supporters of his rival, PPP candidate Irfaan Ali, launched protests that soonexploded into violence. Even after the electoral commission declared Ali the official winner of the race, it appeared Granger might not surrender power. In the end, though, power did change hands, and Ali was sworn in after a recount confirmed his victory.
Now two years into his term, Ali says he’s determined to heal Guyana’s deep divisions.Last month, he unveiled his “One Guyana” plan to usher in an age of unity that will see all Guyanese share in the country’s future prosperity. To do that, he will have to combat the corruption that is endemic to so many resource-rich countries. Already, there have been disturbingallegations of malfeasance in the issuing of oil licenses, triggering corruption investigations.
The Guyanese Parliament is also attempting to stave off the effects of the “resource curse.” It recently approved a new set of rules for oil producers and, crucially, authorized the establishment of a sovereign wealth fund to manage the income from the oil industry. Such a fundcould prove pivotalin easing the economic distortions that come with a sudden upsurge in hard currency.
But the discovery of oil has also brought geopolitical risks. Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro has spent years trying to revive a 120-year-old territorial dispute with Guyana that would lay claim to the offshore oil fields. The International Court of Justice ruled in Guyana’s favor on the procedural question of whether it has jurisdiction over the matter in December 2020, but Caracas rejected that decision. Shortly after the 2020 ruling, Maduro issued a decree laying claim to 70 percentof Guyanese territory, and the Venezuelan navy detained a dozen fishermen sailing in Guyanese waters.Guyana submitted its case to the ICJthis week. But until the court issues a final ruling, this aggressive new threat to Guyana’s sovereignty only adds to the country’s already daunting list of challenges.
Eventually, though, Guyana’s leaders will face challenges not just at home or in the neighborhood. With oil comes a higher international profile, and it’s only a matter of time before the rest of the world comes calling—as they are in Saudi Arabia, Iran and Venezuela today in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. One day soon, Guyana’s name will similarly come up whenever world powers discuss geopolitical crises, even wars thousands of miles away.
Frida Ghitis is a world affairs columnist and a regular contributor to CNN and The Washington Post. Her WPR column appears every Thursday. You can follow her on Twitter at@fridaghitis.
worldpoiticsreview.com worldpoliticsreview.com
Twice I posted an article about Guyana oil reserves and the political social and econoimical challenges it would face
Twice the article was denied on BU
Let freedom ring
The first casualty of War is free speech
Must there always be a protest for truths to be seen heard or mention
Why must such be so ?
“In the history of the world, few moments like this—in which an impoverished country suddenly discovers that it possesses untold wealth—have ever occurred.”
for the fowl…ya also need some background on Suriname as well……particularly the current UNSTABLE political environment…since i don’t do politics, ya on ya own to go digging….wuh wunnah love to dig up every stupid shite i post….never the important topics….like ya garbage collectors or something…lol
Food for thought especially for vision less govts who haven’t got the vision or thought process to rely on its own
But seekout other pastures to graze on
Xxccc
But in truth, the impending wealth is a mixed blessing. Oceans of oil do not guarantee prosperity, much less well-being. Just next door to Guyana, Venezuela holds one of the world’s largest reserves, but its people are nevertheless mired in poverty, oppressed by an authoritarian regime that hasleveragedthe country’s wealth to secure and maintain its hold on power.
In fact, the world is full of countries that have been either blessed or cursed with bountiful quantities of hydrocarbon. The question ahead is whether Guyana will end up looking more likeNigeria, which has made disastrous use of its oil wealth, or likeNorway, which has become a model for the successful management of such resources
Pachamama….Black Afrikan people are being warned, if you are leaving for the continent to do business or seek to eventually relocate..
.DO NOT GO THROUGH CORRUPT COLONIAL GOVERNMENTS….go on your own, in your OWN TIME, CHOICE and via your OWN PLANS….
the minorities who HAVE NO RIGHT OR ENTITLEMENT, NO PLACE and no calling, already have the full story…
am sure you have heard whispers here and there…
I have not made a serious comment on this topic as I do not fully understand it.
One blogger made a comment that stuck in my mind… Why would the GoG find a solution that helped the youths of Barbados when some Guyanese youths need help.
Indeed, we must use our common sense, press conferences and pretty announcements are good, but I would not look for you to fix my home when you cannot fix your own.
Please note, that I am not bashing the trade efforts. At some stage we must use from planning to execution and it is there that my fear begins.
I welcome your correction of my ignorance.
Typo Monday
We must MOVE from planning …
Most small.island govts take all for fools Hence they use the politics of smoke and mirrors to hide The truthfulness of plans and policies
Only a few months ago the war between the have and have-nots boiled over during the Guyanese election process heading to various courts
The govts sticking their noses might haven’t forgotten the rage and anguish
Barbados leader stood up in the midst of the ongoing putting her two sense worth
The blow back of these two countries sitting side by side would be another chapter adding to the anguish left over by many Guyanese who felt they were wronged
A tinder box of sort
Stayed tuned
Madame Salemite
Given your track record on TRUTH, until I see the article I will believe nothing you say. The story ain’t mekkin sense–Bajans going to Suriname in the 70s to farm at the encouragement of government? When the Vincys etc were coming here to work in the agri sector? Furthermore, I don’t know of any farm labour programme that comes with a right to citizenship. But fast forward to now, as a member of CARICOM there are rights accorded to nationals, including investors, not to mention an agreement between the Surinamese and Barbadian government. The Brokopondo ’bout investment, not a farm labour programme but about. So this non-point about govt acceptance etc is pure ish and English is normal in Suriname. I keep telling you quantity is not quality.
Who bragged bout gine the Red Light District, Salemite means you Donna?🤣
The last people on earth me or anyone with an inkling of commonsense would care if the PIMPS AND FOWLS for corrupt governments believe what we say…, yall NEVER have any credibility anyway…so you believing or not….does not hold water, something like being among the 100 influential people in the world,….no one cares…..
what i know PERSONALLY…is that none of you can be believed at any time..
the last people on earth anyone with an INKLING of commonsense would care if ANONYMOUS PEOPLE ON AN ANONYMOUS BLOG believe what i or anyone else says……..it’s idiotic to say the least….it’s ANONYMOUS…and always has been, anything goes and no one can LIE AND DECIEVE like fowls and pimps…
.at least EVERYONE knows who i am and WHAT I LOOK LIKE…and i don’t hide to post shite……only few anonymous people actually contribute something useful…
you are the one boasted that going to Suriname is like being in Amsterdam and i told ya it is not the same thing when just visiting a red light district..as opposed to farm work…
what i know PERSONALLY…is that none of you can be believed at any time..
let me reiterate… because there are bloggers who are upstanding even though anonymous, but they are few and everyone knows who they are…and you fowls/pimps are not among them….
Enuff,
Not me, bosie! Never went to no red light district. I en got nuh callin’ dere.
Fowl Enuff…ya took up guard duty today…lawd…the lower ya crawl, the less anyone thinks of you..
If Guyana is really serious about this initiative of assisting Barbados to achieve food security, more land is required not 50 acres for agriculture. With only 100 acres (50 for agriculture and 50 for sheep farming) it is not worth the venture in my opinion. The government can find that amount of land in Barbados to assign to the youth to venture into farming.
Where the land is located is also important. If it is in Essequibo forget it, transportation costs will be prohibitive. The bottom line is that transportation cost will impact the cost of produce and it will be passed on to the consumers in Barbados.
Those shade houses (only the tops are covered) that the Guyanese PM mentioned are not a solution to the problems facing agriculture in Barbados. We need green houses to combat the stigma of working in the hot sun and the monkeys. All of what was noted by Bentley as well.
The logistics of this venture would have to be well planned to worked out. How many people can these 100 acres accommodate to make it worthwhile for someone to leave Barbados to engage in this agriculture, proper housing and if it is not near a developed area, I do not know how long our young farmers who are accustomed to a densely populated island will last. It is not like they can come to Barbados every weekend.
Then there is the matter of financing these entrepreneurs. Who will extend credit to them?
I am all for developing agriculture in Barbados to the max first and after this consider a well thought out plan for farming overseas using local labour for specialized projects. This will not be the flip side of Guyanese agricultural workers coming to work in Barbados.
Once againOSA was right the logistic of this fancy gimmick does not make sense
Osa once said Mia policies are mostly formed on gimmicks
Remember the emminet committee which Mia wanted OSA to be a part of
Poor guy if only he had followed his own advice
Heather…don’t mind the fowl and its masters….they are just as clueless as their fowls and pimps….lol..50 bill
it all looks and sounds good on paper, but the reality is ALWAYS completely different….
ya should see the 140 plus page do up they put together over 15 years ago… to tief 50 billion dollars in reparations , all to set up this white/minority only hotel and cruise ship terminal in St. Lucy….while descendants get nothing but $8 shite jobs, oppression, suppression, racism, disenfranchisement, the whole nine yards of more slavery……and elaborate scams, all off our ancestors’ misery….and they are not even afraid of a haunting…
none of them can be taken seriously…when ya see them coming….RUN don’t walk….find another direction to dart through….
” SANTA FE FARM is located in the North Rupununi, Region9, Guyana.
The farm is the brainchild of Barbados entrepreneur, Sir Kyffin Simpson who had a vision for the creation of an integrated farm in the Rupununi Savannahs of Guyana. The farm presently occupies 29,000 acres of leased land for agriculture purposes, of which 8,000 acres have been prepared for rice cultivation.”
” The farm is the brainchild of Barbados entrepreneur, Sir Kyffin Simpson “
Any uh wunna know any ting bout farming in babadus atall atall atall ?
@ Hants, I see that Google is your friend. The fact that Kyffin Simpson has leased 29,000 acres of agricultural land in Guyana and Barbados has a food Security problem is shameful. What is being done with the produce?
In my post at 2:49pm, the local labour means Guyanese labour.
“The fact that Kyffin Simpson has leased 29,000 acres of agricultural land in Guyana and Barbados has a food Security problem is shameful. What is being done with the produce?”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Simpson used his money to finance an agricultural project in Guyana.
Therefore, in all fairness, is he obligated to sell his produce to Barbados?
@Arax, it should never be an obligation. He should be Patriotic about this. It should be his giving back to the hands that fed him which are now hungry and crying.
Why has the government not gone into an agreement with Kyffin Simpson to off load some of the produce from Santa Fe Farms in Barbados?
Heather May 30, 2022 8:42 PM
RE: “He should be Patriotic about this. It should be his giving back to the hands that fed him which are now hungry and crying.”
According to an ‘old Bajan saying,’ ‘sounds good pun paper.’
But, the reality is, to those guys, “giving back” seems to mean sponsoring sports such as rugby, squash, lawn tennis or surfing and sporting events held by the Barbados Rally Club, Barbados Turf Club, Barbados Yacht Club and Barbados Polo Club.
And, patriotism probably means donating 2 or 3 Suzuki Grand Vitaras to the Barbados Police Service……. or making campaign contributions to the BLP and DLP.
Over the years, the owners of Black Bess Quarry Ltd. benefited from numerous government contracts, including resurfacing the airport’s runway and building the roundabout near District B Police Station.
They sold the property to JADA, the company along with its subsidiaries subsequently went into receivership and the employees had to seek their severance payments through the NIS Tribunal.
Recall, those same owners went through a similar process some time during the 1970s or 1980s, with Manning Construction.
Do you really believe those guys ‘care bout hungry Black people?’
Heather May 30, 2022 8:50 PM
Can “the government” FORCE Simpson INTO ENTERING any agreement?
Madame Salemite
You must stop telling lies. I’ve been to Suriname and Amsterdam a few times. So I would not come on BU and say Paramaribo is like Amsterdam. Produce the article or your comment at the time of it being in the newspaper; or this is just another one of your many, many concoctions. White people gunning down blacks in supermarkets or even when they simply jogging, who leffin or discouraging blacks from going Amurka? Police profiling black children in the UK going so far as strip searching a young black girl because the teacher smelt weed. The young girl was menstruating. After the embarrassment, nothing found. Who leffin or discouraging black Bajans from going? Mam quantity ain’t quality.
No Artax, the government cannot force the elites to do anything. However, it can ask.
As I said the politics mixed in with this Guyana deal would spill over
Already social.media platforms are saying
Prawns are no stranger to Guyana. Live fresh prawns are caught in Guyana waters – Guyana has been exporting prawns long before Mottley start talking about farming of shrimp and prawns. – y’all don’t forget Barbados supply their resorts with nuff prawns for their tourists – Guyana is the ideal place for exploitation – why Guyana can’t start its own export and employ our local fishermen and generate jobs? We have all this oil money to invest in Guyanese small businesses and expand in our Fishing Industry- y’all don’t need Barbados to head this industry – we have the local expertise -been there a long time ago in the fishing industry – no wonder Mottley was so adamant for the PPP to win the election – she had her eyes on Guyana’s natural resources: land, exportation of our prawns, diamonds, gold, bauxite, rice, sugar and the list goes on and on – time to pay the Piper -y’all !! Now Barbados allotted acres of land for farming – unbelievable
We now have another character who plays with words. Shade houses referred to by the Guyanese PM is nothing more than a structure made of wood up rights with a plastic roof. No one has to go to Guyana to learn how to build one. Any carpenter should be able to build one.
No technology is involved.
More to chew on coming from social media thoughts on Guyana Barbados deal
Coming from this government, it’s pay back time, these are the people that stood by this government during the 2020 election charade.
Who does that? Which country gives away their land to another country. Something does not smell right. The Guyanese people should protest this before things get out of control.
Heather
What a ting! If only you iffed so much about your Ponzi meeting turn. Knows everything but could not set up a meeting turn. Can’t tek you seriously.🤣🤣🤣
Whether people hold discussions in formal or informal forums, there is usually a divide between those who agree or disagree with issue under review.
‘Picking and choosing’ two (2) comments from a social media platform, in which the authors expressed disagreement with the Guyanese/Barbados venture, CANNOT be used as PROOF that the ENTIRE Guyanese population OPPOSE the arrangement.
Comments from individuals who are supportive of the venture, should also presented, so as to ensure some level of fairness and balance is brought to the discussion.
For someone to DISHONESTLY present ‘one side of story,’ as the GENERAL CONSENSUS among Guyanese, because it confirms his/her particular political bias…… and is politically expedient for him/her to do so…..not only questions that individual’s motives, but brings their credibility and integrity under scrutiny as well.
To whom it May Concern
On the issue of bias if bias becomes of concern then said individual lodging complaint can resolve such issue by posting a comment that counter what was posted as a remedy
As previously stated OSA said the Mia falls for gimmickry and one with open eyes and ears can see that the policy of barter where houses and land is means of exchange would bring much angst between the people of Barbados and Guyana
The politics of the past and present between these two nations have left open sores which have not heal
Is food security an achievable goal?
https://www.theportugalnews.com/news/2022-05-31/hunger-there-is-no-corn-in-egypt-see-genesis-42-12/67510
@ TLSN
Well, Bushie can take a break now from the lotta shiite talk on BU about donkeys inna the grass.
It seems that the regular news networks, and even BU bloggers, have caught up with the program.
Suffice to say, as the Rastaman did, “itta go be dread inna Babylon”.
Brass bowls will reap what we have been sowing now for decades.
HOWEVER, Bushie has reassurance for the RIGHTEOUS….
Those who ‘did right’ by their conscience, their families, their neighbors (and therefore) their God.
It will be well with you! …BECAUSE you will enjoy the fruits of your deeds.
For the others, prepare to experience what YOU have dished out to others…. only worse.
“It seems that the regular news networks, and even BU bloggers, have caught up with the program.”
nah….they have not caught up fully yet, it’s just the first glimpse GAVE THEM FRIGHT….they don’t know the half of it and from what am looking at…..they betta get with the REAL PROGRAM or crapaud and EVERYONE ELSE except them will smoke their pipes..
.cause the tiefing dogs already ate ALL THEIR DINNER…
Bushman..we can definitely take a break now and watch it play out and what the REACTIONS of the dummy naysayers….
Meta(rape)verse
This is what ya fake misleaders and their partners in crime were just pushing on the island as a savior..
wonder what the old fowl gotta say bout dat…
“Researcher ‘RAPED’ in Metaverse – report
‘Within a few minutes of logging into the platform [Meta-owned Horizon Worlds], researchers experienced homophobic slurs, gun violence (including a shoot-out at a house party), drugs laid out on a table, and a user stalking the researcher and following her into different worlds,” the SumOfUS NGO report read.
One of the researchers, a young woman using an avatar with a female voice and appearance, claimed she was “raped” by a user, while others watched. The experience was described as “disorienting” and “confusing” by the researcher.
Meta tried to shift the blame for the incident on the researcher herself, pointing out that she had disabled a safety feature that prevented other users from getting too close to someone else’s avatar.”
A very relevant question to ask is if CARICOM is going about this CMSE and the removal of barriers and enhancing trade in agricultural goods the right way. On introspection it seems that a lopsided trade arrangement is being launched. It has not been articulated what each territory will be producing to trade within the region. Barbados has not stated what it will be trading. It is expecting to trade black belly sheep at a premium price so one can assume that this trade will be outside of the region. The focus seems to be on Guyana becoming the major benefactor. Here is a unique opportunity for the food security pie to be divided up between all member states with each of them specializing in 2 or 3 crops for regional export. That way everyone will benefit. This pending arrangement to rely on Guyana to ensure food security will marginalize the farmers in Barbados. The focus on our part must be what goods Barbados can specialize in and export to the region.
Thousands of patrons welcome the return of agriculture expo:
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/05/31/thousands-of-patrons-welcome-the-return-of-agriculture-expo/
Notice no other country in the region has said pint about the arrangement
LOL @ David
The place is getting curiouser and curiouser….
The annual exhibition seems to be the ‘be-all’ of local agriculture.
James Paul says that he sees ‘some areas for improvement ….NEXT YEAR.’ Murduh!!
In normal countries, the exhibition is simply a snapshot of daily farm life.
‘improvements’ relate to daily production and are urgently implemented.
Not bout here… everything in its own time.
Bushie watched with mirth as wunna built some new ‘ponds’ in st Philip and Lears.
But Boss.. that is 1050s technology..
Ponds shiite…!!
Now when Demon Bill Gates making baby ‘milq’ outta jobby, and them other men making ‘mock port’ outta scraps, the local agricultural machinery discovers… ponds… ha ha ha shiite!!!
if it wasn’t SO serious Bushie would dead did laff…. But Indar does look like he serious!!!!
what a place!!!
@Bush Tea
Have never been a fan of Agrofest in so far as it has not sparked interest in agriculture capture in national GDP numbers. However it remains a good walk about for an hour with the family.
Let’s walk through the millions of dollars this govt has piled up.in debt strapped across the bajans back
Fresh menu
BARBADOS AND GUYANA COLLABORATING ON HEALTHIER SCHOOL MEALS
Government is looking to Guyana to assist with the provision of healthier inputs to be added to the current school meals menu, to control the rising cases in childhood obesity.
Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley yesterday pledged to deepen cooperation in this area with Barbados’ CARICOM neighbour, during a courtesy call with senior officials from Banks DIH Limited at Ilaro Court.
Mottley emphasised the importance of healthy eating habits in children, and mentioned the role that the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Nutritional Security can play in reducing the spend at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital to treat diabetes and obesity in the future.
“We need to start to change the way in which our children eat at every level and I have asked Agriculture to be intimately involved based on the produce available,” she stated.
The Prime Minister recommended to Banks DHI’s Sales and Marketing Executive, Carlton Joao, that his company should pursue all available investment opportunities in Barbados, adding that she and Guyana’s President Dr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, had done much to promote the region as “one singular environment and one singular investment space”.
In turn, Mr. Joao congratulated Ms. Mottley on her selection as one of TIME Magazine’s 100 most influential people of 2022.
He praised her for representing the interests of Barbados and the region on the world stage, and promised to lend assistance to Barbados wherever possible to achieve healthier meal alternatives for children.
(BGIS)
This is a blow for small farmers will be knocked out of this market.
By now, it must be clear to even the politicians themselves, that they have no idea what the donkey they are doing.
Bushie is still AMAZED that there are people who would accept responsibilities that are so far beyond their capabilities… and that, even if they foolishly did so, when they ‘catch themselves’ and realize their predicament, continue to sink themselves, (and the BBs that look up to them) deeper into the jobby,
One has to be either dumb enough to not see the danger…
Or callous enough to not care about the suffering you will cause.
angela cox May 31, 2022 5:50 PM #: “Let’s walk through the millions of dollars this govt has piled up.in debt strapped across the bajans back.”
~~~~~~~~~~~
You’re always making references to ‘piling up debt.’
Please provide BU with the necessary statistics to prove Barbados’ debt has progressively grown much higher NOW than it was when at the time the DLP was ‘kicked to the curb?’
Source: Nation Editorial
Please tell Bushie why the writers of these editorials are not required to put their names and email address like normal journalists?
That is a lotta shiite!! …and Bushie should be able to tell him/her why!!
The bushman is so TIRED of these official Trini newspapers in Barbados coming with this condescending shiite about how ‘well Bajans are doing’ when some little fingernail shop opens, or when some 9-year old helps to raise a damn sheep between watching U-tube videos of school fights…
Steupsss…
Add this insulting editorial attitude to their nasty habit of reporting every bit of jobby from our retarded politicians as if it is straight from the Bible with NEVER an intelligent question asked……and Bushie GOTTA cuss some damn body !!!
We have a shiite country with an annual budget of THREE BILLION DOLLARS…. mostly controlled by foreigners who own and dominate every shiite of value … and this wicked son-of-a Journalists using an editorial to laugh at Bajan Brass Bowls about owning a snow-cone cart.
What got Bushie REALLY ashamed however, is that we actually take these insults like complements….
The ONLY shiite worse than being made a slave ‘vi-et-armes’, is to be enslaved by YOUR OWN MIND, and to go along meekly like a damn brass bowl sheep…. to the slaughterhouse..
Wunna could go long…
But not this stinking bushman…!!!
@Bush Tea
The editorial represents the view of the newspaper/editor. Is there a need for a name? It was a PR piece.
100% bang on Bush Tea!
Blogmaster did you write the above?
Is there a need for a name?
~~~~~~~~
Man Boss, Bushie tired cussing the damn Nation …from since Harl Hoyte sell um off for 20 pieces of silver to buy his hybrid SUV.
Time to cuss some specific individual traitors now….
@ Dullard
Bushie was thinking that a more ‘dribbly’ blogger could be the writer, but now that you ask David…..
Hmmmmm ?!?!
In fine form is the Bushman. I haven’t laughed so hard all day!
All true this time, unfortunately.
@ Bush Tea,
Well spotted. The editorial is reminiscent of those classic cinematic archives from Brtitish Pathe, where propaganda was used as a tool to brainwash the British public and her subjects. We are in 2022, and yet the Nation editor believed it appropriate to publish an editorial in a Barbados which has recently become a republic.
Perhaps BU’s triple DDD could be the anonymous writer of this editorial. She always paints a glorious picture of Barbados and has the writing skills to seduce the doubting Thomas’s of this world.
Take a look at the two video clips below. In the second video taken in 1920! You will see that nothing, absolutely nothing has changed for the common working man and woman in Barbados. No doubt, BU’s very own DDD will put her own private spin on the last video.
https://britishpathe.com/video/boac-and-bwia-present-a-flying-visit-to-the-caribb/query/Georges
https://britishpathe.com/video/bridgetown-barbados-lady-coal-shovelers-in-british/query/barbados+coal+women
I read and hear of these multi-million dollar deals and projects, but the small amount of a paycheck is neglected.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/06/03/volunteers-reveal-they-have-not-received-wages-since-december/
From BT
“How many people are there in Barbados who go six months without getting paid? Six months is a very long time and how we are being treated is real unfair. If certain people had to go six months without getting a salary they would walk off the job but we are still coming to work,” she lamented.
“The hurtful thing is that there hasn’t even been any communication from anyone to tell us when we are getting paid. Six months without getting a cent and no one had the decency to come and tell us that there would be a delay in payment and that we would get paid by such and such a time.”