Submitted by William Skinner

Those who support the abolition of the Common Entrance Examination (CEE), will certainly welcome the current administration’s intention to move our children, out of what is really a socioeconomic and educational gas chamber. We have not seen a determined, enlightening, or progressive effort to reform the education system, from any administration, since 1962, when free education was introduced.

Those who believe that education reform is like purchasing garbage trucks or buses are deluding themselves. It should not be the plaything of political grandstanding and excessive nonproductive press conferences. Our last Minister of Education has bequeathed nothing but presentation without content.

While this writer wholeheartedly supports progressive continuous assessment as the best method, for our children to make the transition from primary to secondary school, the awareness, that it is not the only one is constant. Any reform of the system that does not include how we are going to harness our human resources, for the next half century, will be a complete waste of time.

The current administration is failing quite miserably, in its bungling efforts, to get our children back in the classroom, after their long absence caused by the pandemic. It is difficult to have confidence in its ability to radically reform the education system, if it cannot even get this existing problem solved or at least reduced.

The frustration has now reached our incredibly young children, some under the age of five, who joined their parents in a march of disgust against being imprisoned in their homes. Amazingly, we can find ways to expose the country to COVID, via a general election, to solve a bogus division. We can create senseless super spreaders, but we cannot develop a system to rescue our children from psychological trauma because of boredom and stress due to extremely limited or no social interaction.

Our children: barely out of pampers; whose pee has not yet begun to foam; and who are still to encounter a training bra, took to the streets to remind those who have undertaken the appearance of adults, that the nonsense must cease.

As we embark, on the quest to abolish the dreaded CEE, and reform our education system, we must collectively do better because our young people, who have just abandoned their cribs are not going to stand for “any foolishness.” The message is more than clear.

241 responses to “Education Reform: Jettisoning 11+”

1. MILLER
    YOU NO DOUBT UNDERSTAND THE RUBBISH YOU SPEW
    I DONT AND I WILL NOT WASTE TIME WITH YOU ABOUT THAT

HOWEVER, PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT I AM NOT AN ardent proselytizer of the Judeo-brand of mythology, BUT A COMPETENT EXPOSITOR OF THE WORD OF GOD.NOR DO I SEEK TO CONVERT SCOFFERS AND MOCKERS LIKE YOU, AND THOSE OF YOUR ILK. I WOULD ONLY ADVISE YOU TO READ ACTS 17:30 AND SEE F YOUR PUN BRAIN CAN GRASP THE TRUTH THAT IS THEIR ENSHRINED

RE on BU- are you now casting aspersions on the first 12 chapters of your doctored Bible and merely confirming what a top-notch scholar in the Anglican Church just confessed to? Is Yahweh no longer the only creator of planet Earth in six days and his only begotten Son the Light of the World? Are the Jews, his ‘only’ chosen people, no longer destined to inherit and dominate the same Earth because they colluded in his only son’s death and, to this day, still refuse to acknowledge him as their Saviour and King?

IF YOU DO NOT KNOW THE WORD YOU SHOULD GET SOMEONE WHO DOES TO ASSIST YOU.

I HAVE LONG –SINCE 1977- USED A VERY GOOD 16 POINT “C” WORD OUTLINE OF THE WORD, OF WHICH I WILL SHARE THE FIRST FIVE
    1-CREATION 2- CONSCIENCE (the fall) ,3- CAPTAIN NOAH (the flood) 4-CONFUSION OF TONGUES AT BABEL, 5 THE CALL OF ABRAHAM

If you will read and understand Genesis 11-12, you will see the origins of Abraham, the father of the Jewish people or Hebrews (which means :from across the river). Please kindly note that this river is not the Danube or the Thames, but the Euphrates. So then the ethnicity of the Jews is what is called the Far East, and is an essential part of what Bible Geographers like Aharoni calls the Fertile Crescent. THE JEWS DEFINITELY DID NOT COME FROM EUROPE INITIALLY.

IT IS TRUE THAT JEWS WERE EXILED AFTER THE NORTHERN SECTION OF THE DIVIDED KINGDOM WAS EXILED BY THE ASSYRIANS.
    IT IS ALSO TRUE THAT THE SOUTHERN SECTION OF THE DIVIDED KINGDOM WAS EXILED BY THE BABYLONIANS SOME TIME AFTER, APPARENTLY TO THE SAME AREAS.
    IT IS ALSO TRUE THAT ONLY 20 % OF THOSE THUS EXILED RETURNED TO ISRAEL UNDER EZRA ZERUBBEL AND NEHEMIAH
    IT IS ALSO TRUE THAT THE JEWS WERE SCATTERED ALONG THE AMAZING AND NUMEROUS ROMAN ROADS OF THE KNOWN WORLD TO EUROPE, AND BEYOND AFTER TITUS SACKED JERUSALEM IN AD 70.

I HOPE THAT I HAVE IN SOME WAY ADDRESSED YOUR MORONIC MOUTHINGS IN THESE VERY STUPID QUESTIONS YOU HAVE ASKED?
    If the Jews are not of European descent (some with even blue-blooded eyes) Since in your assessment Jews are not European-and certainly not the descendants of that cursed sambo called Ham- who are they, then?
    Are they from the Land of the Rising Sun or Chinese or Hindu Indians or even Eskimos who have their own Creation and Adam& Eve stories?

THERE ARE SEVERAL SECULAR JEWISH HISTORIANS, BOTH ANCIENT AND MODERN, WHO CAN SPEAK OF THEIR HISTORY. I HAVE GIVEN YOU WHAT I KNOW FROM THE SACRED BOOK AT WHICH YOU CONTINUE TO SCOFF. IT IS GOD WHOM YOU MOCK, NOT ME For I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that Day. – 2 TIMOTHY 1:12

So your very stupid questions betray the depth of your ignorance. I have not in any way contradicted the Biblical teaching of the creation, or the fact that Jesus is the Light of the world, which is essentially a New Testament doctrine, taught mainly in John’s gospel presented in the section labelled CROSS.

This concept is first alluded to in Genesis 15, where we read in verse 7 And he said unto him, I am the LORD that brought thee out of Ur of the Chaldees, to give thee this land to inherit it., before the account of the cutting of covenant or berith of the Abrahamic Covenant is presented. There we have a picture in type of both comings of the Lord Jesus, as 1- a flaming torch or flambeaux, ie THE LIGHT and 2 A FLAMING FIRE THE JUDGE.

FINALLY RE If the Jews are not of European descent (some with even blue-blooded eyes) what justification do they have for establishing the state of Israel in 1948 to repossess what is written down in your same “Holy Writ” as the land overflowing with milk and honey?

Again your ignorance and lack of understanding of all the prophetic Scriptures indicates that Jews did not have to be of European descent to have any justification do they have for establishing the state of Israel in 1948 to repossess what is written down in your same “Holy Writ”. Instead it ought to be clear if you have read properly the correct sources, the miraculous repossession of their land was effected by a people who were miraculously preserved by the GOD OF MIRACLES, WHO YOU OBVIOUSLY DO NOT KNOW.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I still want to know what Argentina is doing in Black majority Barbados….yes, they gave a few doses of vaccines….but WHAT DO THEY WANT..

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William……. It’s wonderful to see how many are NOW revering Dr. Blackman now that he has passed on..

GP….to get to the real TRUTH of what you preach, you need to check with the ORIGINAL SOURCE…. it’s very easy to find, just seek…and no you do not have it…

4. @ WURA
    Well, the truth is that it will be all out of guilt if they did. Even the Pan Africanists, who say they idolize him , are now under the sheets with Mottley. They are now trying to rewrite history; after cussing and calling Grantley Adams an Uncle Tom. These Comrades called the BLP, the “white people” party for years. They were around the DLP and then they slid into the NDP. But, about six years ago, they got together and decided ; started to lionise Mottley. They they haven’t looked back since !

5. @ DpD
    What’s fun for the boys is death for the frog. What @ David deliberately fails to understand , is that he controls, the most successful blog in Barbados and he is just as responsible for the role he plays in the new media as the Fourth Estate in the traditional media.
    For example he tried very early this morning to deliberately pretend that he is ignorant of the statement I made in relation to Don and COW. Thank you for your comment. Otherwise he’s a pretty nice chap.

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“@ WURA
    Well, the truth is that it will be all out of guilt if they did.”

they cannot even see themselves….after they all stood by and watch what they did to this man, DID NOT SAY A WORD…..reminds of some here on BU….but now can’t stop talking…because he is gone and cannot call out their COMPLICITY….but they are the ones who have to live with it, he is now an ancestor, he has earned his stripes…

they should ALL be wondering and worrying about what will happen to their empty souls…

And those CAN NEVER BE TRUSTED….

.i have a very big problem, call me whatever, but i could NEVER in good conscience vote for any party that I KNOW….is not only corrupt, deceitful, buy votes, sellout the people, sell out the island, LIES NONSTOP, complicit in oppression, discrimination and disenfranchisement of those who vote for them and terrorize those who don’t……cannot be trusted, at ANY TIME….and then boast i voted for them….that means…they CANNOT BE TRUSTED EITHER….i would watch my back every single day with those types of people..

the time i voted…was 50 years old, first time, and that opened my eyes to the world of nastiness they all live in EVERY DAY….and see nothing wrong with any of it…i honestly did not know the magnitude, but could feel it, sense it from a teenager, it never felt right, felt dirty…..and now it has shown itself to be a level of dirty that not many could imagine……

so, we should never even have to ask what went wrong and why the island is at a crossroads…and judging from certain things am seeing/reading…..they have no clue which route to take….they will more than likely lead their followers STRAIGHT INTO A DITCH…all indicators are pointing to that……but if they don’t care, neither should anyone else. we have done our parts already..

7. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

actually, in reality they not only voted for them, THEY VOTED FOR ALL OF THAT..

William….things may evolve on BU later if and when the wallowing in colonial politics ends……

8. What color is a spirit

Big shout out to all the Courvoisier® cognac drinkers who can’t spell it

9. WARU
    WE NEED TO FOCUS HERE ON THE NECESSARY EDUCATIONAL REFORM IN BARBADOS–THE HOW, THE WHO, THE WHEN, THE WHERE…….WE KNOW THE WHY.

BUT LET ME FIRST RESPOND TO YOUR ATTEMPTED BARB

RE GP….to get to the real TRUTH of what you preach, you need to check with the ORIGINAL SOURCE…. it’s very easy to find, just seek…and no you do not have it…

INDEED
    I CHECK WITH THE ORIGINAL SOURCE DAILY AND OFTEN THROUGHOUT THE DAY AND NIGHT

AS THE SIMPLE LITTLE SUNDAY SCHOOL CHORUS SAYS,
    I MET JESUS AT THE CROSS ROADS WHERE THE TWO WAYS MEET
    SATAN TOO WAS STANDING THERE AND HE SAID COME THIS WAY
    LOTS OF PLEASURES I WILL SHOW TO YOU TODAY
    BUT I SAID NO THERES JESUS HERE
    JUST LOOK WHAT HE OFFERS ME
    DOWN HERE MY SINS FORGIVEN
    UP THERE A HOME IN HEAVEN
    NOW THATS THE WAY FOR ME

THAT MEETING OCCURED ON SUNDAY NIGHT IN MARINE GARDENS ON MARCH 8TH 1968

IF I AM WRONG, I HAVE NOT LOST ANYTHING. HE HAS PROTECTED AND PROVIDED ME ALL THROUGH MY 70 YEARS JUST AS PROMISED IN THE FIRST PART OF PSALM 23:6. I LOOK FORWARD TO THE SOON START OF PART TWO OF THAT VERSE

IF I AM RIGHT THOSE WHO GO THE WRONG WAY HAVE LOST EVERYTHING FOR HE HAS SAID IN JOHN 14:6 I AM THE WAY THE TRUTH AND THE LIFE

ANOTHER SIMPLE SUNDAY SCHOOL CHORUS SAYS
    EVERYBODY OUGHT TO KNOW WHO JESUS IS
    I AM GLAD THAT I KNOW

NOW LET US GET BACK TO PROPERLY ADDRESSING THE ISSUE OF EDUCATIONAL REFORM IN BARBADOS

10. @ GP February 9, 2022 11:42 AM
    (Unquote):
    If you will read and understand Genesis 11-12, you will see the origins of Abraham, the father of the Jewish people or Hebrews (which means :from across the river). Please kindly note that this river is not the Danube or the Thames, but the Euphrates. So then the ethnicity of the Jews is what is called the Far East, and is an essential part of what Bible Geographers like Aharoni calls the Fertile Crescent. THE JEWS DEFINITELY DID NOT COME FROM EUROPE INITIALLY.
    (Unquote).

Tell that to Einstein or even Mark Zuckerberg!

We know you like to describe the Miller and the Bushman as the twin sons of Satan.

But how can you big-up so much a man like Abraham by calling him the “father of the Jewish people”?

Abraham, yes the same Abram the Sumerian, who pimped his own wife who was his half-sister as a harlot in the Pharaoh court while he was in Egypt.

According to your own line of reasoning Adam, or even Noah, was the father of the Jews.
    As a matter of ridiculousness, Noah had to be the ‘Father’ of every living human and their multitude of religions all over the planet.

You ought to make up your mind about this Jew origin thingy.

Is being a Jew a religious label or an ethnic classification?

If it is an ethnic badge then you, Rev. GP the Rabbi, will never enter the kingdom of Yahweh since you- being a descendant of the cursed Ham-are neither one of the chosen ethnic Jews nor a practising religious Jew who still awaits the return of your Messiah King David and not your baby-boy Jesus.

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“BUT LET ME FIRST RESPOND TO YOUR ATTEMPTED BARB”

GP…it was not a barb, but the honest truth, was pointing you in the direction that i KNOW you can find ON YOUR OWN……

“WARU
    WE NEED TO FOCUS HERE ON THE NECESSARY EDUCATIONAL REFORM IN BARBADOS–THE HOW, THE WHO, THE WHEN, THE WHERE…….WE KNOW THE WHY.”

that’s what we are doing, but it CANNOT be done from a colonial standpoint…

remember the big parade they had……babylon has fallen after 400 years they said, big headlines, some said, “we” dropped kick Elizabeth to the curb…..

all of that, despite Barbados NOT being the first republic in this hemisphere…sorry half of a republic…

SO WHY….are they still using Elizabeth’s colonial constitution AND colonial POLITICAL SYSTEM…..

how will that ever see a successful TRANSITION for and upgrade TO a brand new Black Afrikan educational system…that is STILL COLONIAL BY THE WAY….

this is no joke, it’s very VERY SERIOUS…

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…because of all that mixed up madness, am trying to point GP in the RIGHT direction…but he has to find it on his own…the info is AVAILABLE for those who want to find it..he is the only one, among too many others, who don’t believe that criminals who have LIED for thousands of years….WON’T BE LYING STILL.

UPGRADED COMMENT:

all of that, despite Barbados NOT being the first republic in this hemisphere…sorry half of a republic…..why….STILL no republic constitution…after 23 YEARS….

they got the 16 YEAR OLD blueprint to TIEF billions in reparations from the descendants though, and PLANNED NOT give those entitled a DIME,their other half of DBLP, their sidekicks, only planned to give 120,000 out of 265,000 plus Afrikan descents reparations, that would be their yardfowls voters/supporters/ we hope and bribers… if Europe and UK are dumb Enuff to give any of them a cent……

13. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

They are EURASIANS…..all the information is right there, they are definitely not from that region they are claiming…….who they really are and WHERE they came from, .it has all already come out in the wash….no need to keep guessing…they and along with newcomers have terrorized our ancestral lands for thousands of years, it’s nothing new….

14. I’ve heard and read arguments supporting the continuation or abolition of the ‘common entrance examination.’

I believe under circumstances where teachers have qualified at graduate and post graduate levels….. and, have benefited from extensive upgrades of their teaching skills, the CEE continues to be taught in the same outdated format as it was in the 1960s or 1970s, when many students went from school straight into the teaching service.
    For example, we could look at abolishing the CEE and introducing a comprehensive educational system that ensures all schools cater to the varying abilities of children.

Rather than discussing alternative assessment methods and the ‘way forward,’ unfortunately, some people have chosen instead to drop their usual childish ‘trade mark’ snide remarks, perhaps believing when they do, the persons they’re actually attacking don’t know who they’re referring to, while attempting to ‘force their points of views down people throats.’

However, as the older folks say, ‘when yuh say ‘A,’ yuh got to say ‘B.’

There are also several examples of a child (let’s call him ‘Wayne’) who, under similar circumstances of growing up in an impecunious household and not ‘passing the 11+,’ told ‘the man who came along with his fancy car, clothes and women,’…….. “khah yuh c**t”………
    …….. because he (‘Wayne’) was determined not to ‘follow a multitude to do evil’ but, through hard work and ‘furthering his education,’ became a successful businessman. Likewise, “multiply that 500.”

Couldn’t ‘Wayne’ be an example and of significant encouragement to other so called “11+ failures?”

There are also examples of ‘bright’ children with responsible, educated parents from rich homes, who resorted to crime as well.

The supporters of the ‘CEE’ could use those examples to reasonably present the ‘other side of the argument’ and be as equally as convincing as the ‘antagonists.’

But, our behaviour provides classic examples of confirmation bias, the act of using information that confirms our particular existing beliefs or biases.

15. @ Waru, the keenest soldier in the war for the liberation of the brainwashed blacks:
    “SO WHY….are they still using Elizabeth’s colonial constitution AND colonial POLITICAL SYSTEM…..title”.

And still parading in Monarchy titles like Dame and QC while wearing the old lady’s royal bling soon to be worn by a real QC, the Queen Consort Camilla.

16. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Besides…Miller is right, that new crop of carpetbaggers only arrived on that scene in 1948, placed there by the Rothchild empire…who CONFESSED they are the ones put them there, don’t know what GP is on, none of this is any secret, they are all of recent European extraction…

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“And still parading in Monarchy titles like Dame and QC while wearing the old lady’s royal bling”

people are noticing that and talking about it too……i would take it away from them, given what they got up to lately…they should not have it anyway, telling the easily fooled they are now a republic but hanging on to all the colonial trimmings, including the system……fake like hell..

18. 1981 / 1982 Then Education minister Dame Billie conceptualised a Zoning plan for secondary school children in Barbados.

30 years later it seems that plan is being revisited.

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…i sincerely hope that Pacha is watching all of this play out….the script was already written about the end result..

20. re how can you big-up so much a man like Abraham by calling him the “father of the Jewish people”?
    Abraham, yes the same Abram the Sumerian, who pimped his own wife who was his half-sister as a harlot in the Pharaoh court while he was in Egypt.
    THAT IS VERY EASY ACCORDING TO THE WORD OF GOD WHICH I KNOW AND BELIEVE
    1- hE IS CALLED THE FRIEND OF GOD IN THE BOOK OF JAMES
    2- IN ROMANS 4 , IT IS SAID OF HIM THAT HE BELIEVED GOD, AND IN SO DOING HIS FAITH APTLY DESCRIBED IN GENESIS 22 & AND CORROBORATED IN HEBREWS II WAS ACCOUNTED TO HIM FOR RIGHTEOUSNESS
    3 THE INCIDENT TO WHICH YOU REFER INDICATES THAT HE WAS A SINNER, JUST AS YOU ARE AND JUST AS I AM.
    THE SCRIPTURES ARE FULL OF VERSES THAT TEACH THAT JESUS CAME TO DIE FOR SINNERS.
    IT TEACHES THAT WE CAN BE FORGIVEN OF OUR SINS AS DAVID WAS AS RECORDED IN ROMANS 4 & PSALM 51.
    IT IS WRITTEN IN I JOHN 1:9 THUS 9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
    I BELIEVE THAT GOD & HIS WORD SHOULD HAVE THE LAST WORD NOT A BIBLE ILLITERATE IN THE BU RUMSHOP. NOW YOU DO NOT HAVE TO AGREE WITH ME BECAUSE WE DO NOT WALK TOGETHER AT ALL

RE According to your own line of reasoning Adam, or even Noah, was the father of the Jews.
    As a matter of ridiculousness, Noah had to be the ‘Father’ of every living human and their multitude of religions all over the planet.
    BUT ALL THROUGH THE OLD TESTAMENT AS WELL AS SEVERAL REFERENCES IN THE NEW, GIVEN BY JESUS HIMSELF-WHO IS GOD, IT IS CLEARLY TAUGHT THAT ABRAHAM WAS THE FATHER OF THE JEWISH NATION AND ALSO OF THE ARABS

You ought to make up your mind about this Jew origin thingy.
    I AM VERY CLEAR IN MY MIND CONCERNING WHAT I BELIEVE

Is being a Jew a religious label or an ethnic classification?
    YOU CAN BELIEVE WHAT YOU WANT AND CLASSIFY IT HOW YOU CHOSE BUT SUCH INFORMATION IS NOT REQUIRED FOR SALVATION. AS JESUS THE AUTHOT OF SALVATION TOLD NICODEMUS TWICE IN JOHN 3, YOU MUST BE BORN AGAIN OUT FROM ABOVE.

RE If it is an ethnic badge then you, Rev. GP the Rabbi, will never enter the kingdom of Yahweh since you- being a descendant of the cursed Ham-are neither one of the chosen ethnic Jews nor a practising religious Jew who still awaits the return of your Messiah King David and not your baby-boy Jesus.

AGAIN YOUR IGNORANCE OF THE WORD AND OF THE ROAD TO SALVATION IS LACKING, AND COMES TO THE FORE

FIRST JESUS IS INDEED THE MESSIAH AND KING AND DAVID’S GREATER SON c>f 2 cHRONICLES 7:14 & pSALM IIO FOR A START
    AND IT IS TRUE THAT AFTER A PERIOD OF INTENSE SUFFERING THAT AWAITS THEM IN THE COMING TRIBULATION, THAT AT ITS END, THE JEWS WILL ACJNOWLEDGE AND RECIEVE JESUS AS THEIR KING AT HIS EPIHANEA OR THE GLORIOUS APEARING OF TITUS 2:12-13

ONES QUALIFICATION FOR ENTERING YAHWEH’S KINGDOM HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH ONES ETHNICITY FOR BOTH JEW AND GENTILE MUST COME TO GOD THE SAME WAY—BY BELIEVING IN JESUS WHO GOD HAS SENT.

YOU WOULD DO WELL TO FALL ON YOUR KNEES AND ASK GOD TO HELP YOU TO UDERSTAND THE VARIOUS TRUTHS IN THIS PASSAGE FROM ROMANS 10:8-17
    8 But what saith it? The word is nigh thee, even in thy mouth, and in thy heart: that is, the word of faith, which we preach;

9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

10 For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

11 For the scripture saith, Whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.

12 For there is no difference between the Jew and the Greek: for the same Lord over all is rich unto all that call upon him.

13 For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.

14 How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?

15 And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

16 But they have not all obeyed the gospel. For Esaias saith, Lord, who hath believed our report?

17 So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.

IT IS WRITTEN THAT THE DEVILS KNOW THE SCRIPTURES AND TREMBLE,
    IT IS HILARIOUS TO SEE ALL THESE YEARS MORONS IN THE BU RUMSHOP SCOFF AND MOCK THINGS THAT THEY DO NOT UNDERSTAND, THOUGH IT NOT SO TO BE.

NOW DO YOU HAVE ANYTHING OF SUBSTANCE TO SAY ABOUT EDUCATIONAL REFORM?

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…Kiswahili has NOW officially become the AU’s working language, do you think that will make a difference in colonized minds who don’t see the urgency in Afrikans in Barbados …can’t speak for the other islands…..learning a common language that can take them STRAIGHT to their ancestral heritage…..but chukking every other foreign/alien language and culture at them….before they learn their own.

22. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Someone already emailed me a LONG LIST of Kiswahili/Swahili words to learn..

23. HANTS February 9, 2022 2:39 PM
    RE 1981 / 1982 Then Education minister Dame Billie conceptualised a Zoning plan for secondary school children in Barbados.
    SHE WAS ANOTHER POLITICAL IDIOT THAT MESSED UP THE SYSTEM

ZONING WAS LARGELY ENTRENCHED FROM THE TIME WE CAME ALONG. SHE JUST SOUGHT TO REINVENT THE WHEEL

CHILREN IN THE NORTH ATTENDED ALEXANDRA OR THE COLERIDGE AND PARRY SCHOOLS BEFORE THEY WERE AMALGAMATED. AND THE SUCCESFUL ONES TRANSFERRED TO HC AFTER O LEVELS. I CAN THINK OF SEVERAL PERSONS WHO DID SO. IN OUR TIME AND BEFORE.

CHILREN IN THE SOUTH TENDED TO GO TO LODGE OR THE FOUNDATION SCHOOLS. DR THOMAS THE FIRST BARBADOS SCHOLAR FROM THENCE, JOHHNY CHELTENHAM, AND DR VICTOR EVELYN, WERE THE NAMES OF OUTSTANDING BOYS FROM BFS.

ZONING HAS ITS ADVANTAGES. IT CERTAINLY ERASES FATIGUE AND THE TROUBLE OF COMMUTING FROM ONE END OF THE ISLAND TO THE NEXT. IF THE CURRICULUM AND TEXTS AND STAFF ARE THE SAME AND OF COMPARABLE STANDARD, ZONING HAS MANY PSYCHOLOGICAL ADVANTAGES.

WILLIAM ONE OTHER WAY IN WHICH OUR SYSTEM IS BETTER DISPENSED AND IS BETTER. IS THAT WE PROVIDE TEXT BOOKS AND CLOTHES ALLOWANCES TO OUR SECONDARY SCHOOL CHILDREN (OR AT LEAST WE WERE DOING SO IN THE LATE 8OS WHEN MY IST BOY ENTERD HC) EDUCATION IS FREE AT THE POINT OF DELIVERY, AND WE FEED OUR PRIMARY SCHOOL CHILDREN.

24. Thanks Hants, a topic about the merits or not of the CEE and we have some who are unable to focus on the topic but know everything that is wrong with everything. Steuspe.

25. Artax,

Being a youth worker, I sat through seminars with criminologists who had done research.

Even without their input I had already put myself into the shoes of the “rejects” and could see where many of them would end up.

There is a type of person who uses rejection as a reason to prove people wrong.

There is a type of person who gives up when rejected and determines to prove people right.

The former is not a problem and needs no discussion.

The latter is the type creating problems. The educational reform is for them.

26. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William what hat Blogmaster complaining bout now, he got a brand new language to learn, better get to it..

..say it SLOWLY…K,,,I…S…W..A…H..I..L..I

27. William Skinner,

Happened to my father too. Political interference from Tom cost him a promotion to principal. The EO did not stand up this time.

Playing with the futures of our children.

28. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

All that contrived misery in THAT FORM can come to an end…..but only if people TAKE CONTROL OF THEIR OWN DESTINy and THAT of their families ….many have done it, many ARE DOING IT now…..

or

continue to ALLOW others to decide the destiny THEY THINK YOU SHOULD HAVE…, but don’t COMPLAIN after…

it was very difficult trying to figure out how best these young people can get out of the QUAGMIRE created for them….and BAM…just so a solution..knew it was in the works, but came sooner than i thought it would…OPPORTUNITY KNOCKS…

29. ONE OF THE THINGS I HAVE GLEANED FROM REGULAR PERUSAL OF BARBADOS OBITS IS THE NUMBER OF PERSONS WITH ADVANCED DEGREES WORKING BOTH IN BARBADOS AND ABROAD, WHO ARE CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN OF VERY POOR PARENTS WHO TOILED IN THE FIELDS. THESE POOR PERSONS ENSURED THAT THEIR GUARDIANS WERE EDUCATED IN OUR SYSTEM.

SO CLEARLY IT IS NOT A GAS CHAMBER TO ALL. IT IS CLEAR THAT THOSE WHO AVAILED THEMSELVES OF THE SYSTEM BENEFITTED IN SOME WAY. OTHERS DID NOT TO THE SAME EXTENT.

ARTAX HAS MADE THE VALID POINT, ATTESTED TO BY SEVERAL NEWSPAPER ARTICLES OF LOCAL FOLK WHO SOME FOLK MIGHT HAVE CONSIDERED TO HAVE FAILED, OR FAILED BY THE SYSTEM, HAVE BEEN MAKING A LIVING BY ENGAGING IN VARIOUS ENTRPENEURAL ACTIVITIES

I LOANED A CO-WORKER A FEW BOOKS THAT MY SONS HAD USED IN THIER CCE PREPARATION, TO ASSIST HER SON IN HIS PREPARATION. SHE FOUND THE BOOKS DISFIGURED UNDER A BED. THIS LAD WAS IN PRIMARY SCHOOL WITH THE CHILDREN OF DOCTORS, AND HAD MADE UP HIS MIND THAT HE WOULD NOT MAKE THE BIG LEAGUE SCHOOLS. HE GAINED A PLACE AT ELLERSLIE, WHERE HE SETTLED DOWN QUITE NICELY, AND WAS MAKING VERY GOOD PROGRESS IN THE ENVIRONMENT THERE. BEFORE HIS FAMILY EMIGRATED. LAST I HEARD OF HIM , I6 YEARS LATER, HE HAD QUALIFIED AS A CHEF IN THE UK. THAT TO ME IS SUCCESS.

PERHAPS THE PSYCHOLOGY OF THE PROCESS NEEDS TO BE AN IMPORTANT FOCUS OF THE REFORM.

WHAT ARE THE CHILDREN THINKING? HOW CAN WE ASSIST THEM IN ATTAINING THEIR GOALS? I THINK SOME CORE CURRICULUM IS NEEDED WHICH MUST INCLUDE MATHS , OUR NATIVE LANGUAGE ENGLISH, AND PERHAPS SOME RUDIMENTS OF MUSIC.

ONE OF MY PARTICULAR LAMENTS HAVING GONE THROUGH OUR SYSTEM IS THAT I DID NOT PAY MORE ATTENTION TO GAINING SKILLS IN CARPENTRY IN THE WOOD WORK PROGRAM, AND THAT THERE WAS NO FORMAL TRAINING IN SCHOOL BEFORE CERCA 1965 WHEN TANK TOOK OVER AT HC.

30. William Skinner Avatar

Re: Meals , free text books that we give our children etc; you may have a point. I’m not familiar with what our Neighbour’s. . But I’d that really education? Lol…. Just kidding

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

William, Miller, TLSN…….look how these are going to get everything handed to them now..

…the owner of the Abibitumi.com website that offers Kiswahili courses, is also the head of the Linguistics and Afrikan Studies Department at the Univeristy of Ghana…majoring as a PhD in Afrikan Studies…

32. RE Happened to my father too. Political interference from Tom cost him a promotion to principal. The EO did not stand up this time.
    Playing with the futures of our children.
    TO DO SUCH TO A PARENT CAN HAVE A TREMENDOUS AFFECT ON THE PSYCHE OF THE PARENTS CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN, BOTH FOR THE GOOD OR FOR ILL

SUCH OCURENCES POINT TO THE NEED TO DEVELOP PROGRAMS WHERE CHILDREN FOCUS AND AIM TO BE SELF EMPLOYED SO THAT THEY CAN NOT BE FIRED OR HAVE THEIR ADVANCEMENT DERAILED BY INFERIOR SUPERIORS FOR WHAT EVER REASON

RE There is a type of person who uses rejection as a reason to prove people wrong.
    There is a type of person who gives up when rejected and determines to prove people right.
    The former is not a problem and needs no discussion.
    The latter is the type creating problems. The educational reform is for them.

THIS IS A SERIOUS PSYCHOLOGICAL SITUATION THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED AT THE FOREFRONT OF REFORM AS CHILDREN OFTEN BECOME WHAT THEIR PARENTS AND TEACHERS PREDICT THAT THEY WILL BECOME.
    HOW WILL WE GET PARENTS AND TEACHERS TO SAY THE CORRECT THINGS TO THE CHILDREN IN THEIR CARE

.THE LATE S. O LORDE PREDICTED AT THE NEW BAY PRIMARY SCHOOL IN EARLY I958 PREDICTED THAT A CERTAIN 6 YEAR OLD BOY WOULD BECOME A BARBADOS SCHOLAR, AND HE WAS RIGHT, ALTHOUGH THAT WAS NOT THE FOCUS OF THE BOY THROUGHOUT HIS SCHOOL DAYS

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

MAJORED as a PhD in Afrikan Studies…

34. @ GP February 9, 2022 3:35 PM
    ZONING HAS ITS ADVANTAGES. IT CERTAINLY ERASES FATIGUE AND THE TROUBLE OF COMMUTING FROM ONE END OF THE ISLAND TO THE NEXT. IF THE CURRICULUM AND TEXTS AND STAFF ARE THE SAME AND OF COMPARABLE STANDARD, ZONING HAS MANY PSYCHOLOGICAL ADVANTAGES.
    (Unquote).

At least we are on all fours on this one. No Jewish religious dogma and propaganda to create any divide.

If all the schools are adequately resourced, as often bragged about by the education management officials, why can’t the children be transferred from primary to secondary level without having to be put through that strainer of classism and economic apartheid?

Wouldn’t the academically strong students have the opportunity to mix and mingle with those otherwise gifted and equipped students in order to make for a better social environment at the national level and reflective of life in their real world to be in their adult years?

What do you think would happen eventually to a small society when you put all the so-called bright students in the same learning space and the not so academically gifted in the same ghetto of education with no role models to admire?

Are the authorities afraid that many children from the inner City areas would end up walking through the gates of HC and St. Michael?

Since Barbados is just a small territory when it comes to commuting how about turning the selection process to attend Secondary school a lucky dip supervised by a robot assigning the students’ names to school places all across the small island?

35. What I meant was that promoting and withholding promotions to principal based on political affilliation rather than merit has a terrible effect on our schools and therefore our children.

But yes, psychological problems and undiagnosed learning disabilities do play a major role in poor educational outcomes in Barbados.

I was not referring specifically to teachers’ attitudes and words wrt the children’s psyches but rather to the whole educational system and that of society.

However, I have heard first hand reports of a few teachers whose attitudes and words were outrageous and damaging.

My sister-in-law’s words were always encouraging and her results showed each child performing at full capacity, whatever it was.

But then again, she did not land into the teaching profession by mistake. It was her only career choice. She made no plan B.

How do we get teachers to say the right things to children?

Good question!

36. WILLIAM
    RE Re: Meals , free text books that we give our children etc; you may have a point. I’m not familiar with what our Neighbour’s. . But I’d that really education? Lol…. Just kidding
    AS YOU KNOW WELL GOOD NUTRITION FACILITATES LEARNING. LOL SO THAT POINT IS ABOUT FACILITATING EDUCATION.
    WHEN I WAS TEACHING IN JAMAICA IN 2011 THE LADY APPOINTED TO LOOK AFTER MY ROOM WAS ALWAYS ASKING ME FOR ASSISTANCE IN THESE MATTERS. WE DO HAVE A LOT GOING FOR US, BUT MUCH BETTER CAN BE DONE

YOU NEED REPORTING TO THE HEADMASTER FOR PERFORMING BELOW YOUR LEVEL OF COMPETENCE THERE SIR. LOL. HANTS WILL GET YOU A WORK CARD OR CONDUCT CARD AT HC

SERIOUSLY THOUGH THAT IS A MATTER OF CONCERN IN OUR REFORM CONSIDERATIONS

ONE OF MY CONTEMPORARIES WHO AFTER SCHOOL RUNSA SUCESSFUL DIVE BUSINESS TOLD ME IN 2000 THAT HE USED TO BE HUNGRY AT SCHOOL AND COULD NOT CONCENTRATE

IN THE MID 90’S I WANTED TO GET INTO IMPORT EXPORT SO THAT I COULD HAVE A BUSNESS IN WHICH MY SONS COULD PARTICIPATE WITH ME
    I IMPORTED A VERY GOOD PRODUCT THAT SIMPLIFIED THE TEACHING AND UNDERSTANDING OF BASIC ARITHMETIC
    I WOULD SHOW IT TO MY PATIENTS WHO WERE SCHOOL TEACHERS .
    THEY ALL COULD IMMEDIATELY SEE ITS VALUE
    I WENT DOWN TO THE MOE AND WASTED PRECIOUS TIME TRYING TO SHOW IT TO THE MOE WHO IS OUR CURRENT PM
    THOSE WERE EDUTECH DAYS. HER ASSISTANT WHO CAME FROM A VILLAGE WHERE I HAD LIVED AND HAD BEEN A TEACHER FOR 25 YEARS ALSO SAW THE PRODUCT.
    I SOUGHT TO SELL THE MOE ABOUT 100 — ONE EACH FOR EVERY GOVERNMENT PRIMARY SCHOOL.
    THE HONOURABLE MORON TOLD ME THAT SHE WOULD NOT WANT IT TO BE SAID THAT SHE HAD SHOWN FAVOUR TO ME, ONE OF HER CONSTITUENTS, AND ONE WHO HAD LOAN HER LITTERATURE THAT HELPED HER WRITE HER THESIS WHEN SHE WAS AT TEACHER’S TRAINING SCHOOL.
    THIS PRODUCT WAS SORT OF CHEAP AT THE TIME COSTS MORE THAN IO TIMES MORE NOW

37. Strangely enough, my sister-in-law went to HC. I must ask her if her experience there had anything to do with her choice.

38. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Someone suggested this morning…that college courses should be separated from HIGH SCHOOL COURSES…that too is causing a lot of CONFUSION…

separate the 6th form level students from the high school students…bring some balance…another location

eg…there is Hunter College and Hunter High School…

39. donna
    WHAT EVER YOU MEANT IN YOUR TWO POSTS IS NOT THE ISSUE
    IN MY OPINION WHAT YOU HAVE RAISED IS PERTINENT AND POIGNANT AND SHOULD DEMAND A SERIOUS SESSION OR TWO OF DISCUSSION, TO EXEGETE ALL THE POSSIBLE RAMIFICATIONS BECAUSE I PERCIEVE THAT THESE ISSUES ARE FUNDAMENTAL IN CORRECTING THE CAUSATION OF WHAT WILLIAM CALLS A GAS CHAMBER

TO FAIL TO PROMOTE A WORTHY SERVANT IS RIDICULOUS.
    SOME ONE IS FAILING TO SEE THE POTENTIAL LONG TERM AND FAR REACHING RESULTS OF SUCH A DASTARDLY DIABOLICAL DEED. FIRST AND FOREMOST YOU ARE INVITING HIM TO UNDER PERFORM AND JUST MARK TIME, AND DO THE VERY MINIMUM
    FAILING TO PROMOTE IS ACTUALLY MORE COMMON THAN YOU THINK

i HAD A PATIENT WHO WAS NOT PROMOTED TO HEAD THOUGH SHE WAS DOING THE WORK FOR THE HEAD—WHICH HE WAS INCAPABLE OF DOING

ALSO UNNECESSARY TRANSFERRING PERSONEL IS A MAJOR PROBLEM

40. RE eg…there is Hunter College and Hunter High School…
    TO FOLLOW ANYTHING THE AMERICANS DO IN EDUCATION IS DEFINITELY BULL SHIT OF THE HIGHEST ORDER
    THE AMERICANS TEND TO EXCEL IN DOING EVERYTHING WRONG AND THINK THAT THE WORLD EXISTS ONLY BETWEEN ALASKA AND THE FLORIDA KEYS
    MY BEST ONLINE STUDENTS ARE FROM ASIA AND EUROPE

WHAT WE NEED TO DO IS KEEP THE BEST OF WHAT WE HAVE THAT WORKS
    AND FIX THE PARTS THAT WE PERCIEVE THAT ARE WRONG BEFORE WE START PULLING DOWN AND TRYING TO REPLACE
    PERSONEL AND PSYCHOLOGY SEEM TO BE THE BASIS OF THE PROBLEMS ALONG WITH THE NEED FOR A BETTER VISION TO PROMOTE BUSNESS SKILLS AND LIFE LONG SKILLS RATHER THAN ONLY ACADEMICS

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“FOLLOW ANYTHING THE AMERICA DO IN EDUCATION IS DEFINITELY BULL SHIT OF THE HIGHEST ORDER”

says the doctor who lives in USA….separating the confusion that you claim you want to change where 12 year olds are telling you they are going to Harrison College, when that’s the HIGH SCHOOL SECTION, not a college at all but a HIGH SCHOOL from the 6th form students who do a 2 YEAR ASSOCIATE DEGREE..before moving on to university is not following anyone it’s being truthful and practical

here is Joe…i went to Harrison College….oh really, did you finish 6th form.

only went up to 5th form…

oh so you went to the high school then….steupppss

never did an associate degree so did not attend any college course…yall still full of shit and ain’t ready yet, change only sound good to you when ya TYPING IT…..fake prestige will kill yall..

same goes for all the others with a 6th form doing associate degree courses..

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…that DUMB SHIT is why they convinced themselves and still trying to convince everyone that they are the most educated in the Caribbean….

a colonial TWO SUBJECT TEST…consisting of Math and English only….does not quality anyone to take an ASSOCIATE DEGREE COURSE at 11 years old unless they are EXCEPTIONAL….have seen some, not that many, in the US and other jurisdictions…..but that’s the kind of pressure they put on 11 year olds on the island..

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

In case some don’t know….the 2 year 6th form course is equivalent to an associate degree, that’s why universities outside accept them…

44. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Can’t remember just how many recently got 2 year associate degree programs…but here goes:

Springer Memorial High School

Springer Memorial College

Ellerslie High School

Ellerslie College

Lodge High School

Lodge College..

St. Michael High School

St. Michael College…

and so on

45. @African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved February 9, 2022 6:28 PM
    “that’s the kind of pressure they put on 11 year olds on the island..”

Pressure what.

I took the 11+ I didn’t even take extra lessons

As did my children. One refused to take extra lessons, would rather come home and run ’bout and play with neighboring children. still got a 95% on the English portion. Only 88% on the math though. Nuff, nuff on the SAT, and the GRE too.

Maybe some of the grands will take it this year. No extra lesson fah dem because Covid19 is a real-real ting.

The real-real truth is that the 11+ in that hard.

This is my mantra. Every morning that yah find yaself alive “do your best that day”

And tomorrow is another day.

And I did my 2+ hours in the fields this morning. That is enough for a person nearing 70. That’s my best.

Parents and officials spend way-way too much time worrying about foolishness.

And trying to undo the past.

46. @WURA “a colonial TWO SUBJECT TEST…consisting of Math and English only….does not quality anyone to take an ASSOCIATE DEGREE COURSE at 11 years old”

NOBODY is saying that 11 to 12 year olds have to take associate degree courses.

Where is the world does the typical 11 to 12 year old take associate degree courses?

When there is so much outdoor play to do.

Wunna mad.

47. Another kidgot in the low 70’s in the 11+

Earned a 4 bachelor’s degree in 4 years. No repeats.

Parents stress themselves way too much

48. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I took the 11+ I didn’t even take extra lessons”

have you figured out how to translate one of Bob’s song yet…if ya can’t, taking the 11 plus was useful to you to learn to read, write ONLY….anyone can become a worker or business owner without it…and without CXCs….

49. These 2 kids got admitted to every university, in the Caribbean, the UK, the USA and Canada to which they applied.

Had to say no to nuff, nuff universities.

Parents worry themselves way, way too much.

Parents need to chill.

50. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

i know someone who has no CXCs not even a college degree, but one of the BEST Math and Spanish tutors to be found anywhere, and always in high demand…did not pass the “gas chamber” 11 plus test either…