Written by a BU family member – Blogmaster

While the 4th Minister in this BLP government must be applauded for at least trying to present something concrete when it was clear that they are not sure what to do about reform, they must not be applauded for any groundbreaking change regarding Common Entrance. Why not you ask?

The Common Entrance was pilloried as promoting elitism. It was said that it was unfair to students with different learning styles. That it only tested academic subjects. That it didn’t cater to students with learning and social challenges. It was said since 6 years ago that it had to go entirely. But what do we have now instead?

Instead of Maths, English and an essay, we have added two additional academic reading subjects in Social Studies and Science.

Instead of a one day exam, we have included two years of continuous assessment.
But, the traditional cut off marks remain. The pecking order of the schools remain. The perceived elitism remains. The use of academic subjects only remains. The purported colonialism remains. Have we fixed the “so called problems” that according to this government were “crippling” our children and stifling our development? 

Now tell me this. If a child was not equipped to pass Maths and English. Do we really believe they will be equipped to pass Science and Social Studies?

Tell me as well, Do we really think that a child who performs poorly in Class 3, will miraculously improve in one year in Class 4? Will continuous assessment change that?

And, can the Minister please explain for us simple people, how do they intend to standardize the instruction, marking and assessment process across all 69 public primary schools, so that what happens at School A is the same as what happens at School B. Are we really levelling the playing field for everyone or are we simply moving the same football match from one pasture to a next?

The Minister speaks about learner profiles. About National Diplomas. About Social and Emotional Learning. About Inclusive Education.

The public should do well to know that these are exactly what were proposed in the year of our Lord 2001 under the then BLP administration in their EDUTECH Curriculum 2000 plan. A combined 16 years of governance later, and we are still trying to implement them. But we should also ask, are those plans from 2000 fit for purpose or practical in 2025?

There is so much more to be said but, I will end by saying the obvious.

The student who was well prepared, well monitored and well supported will do well in any Common Entrance and any modified system.

The student who was not well prepared, was not monitored, was not supported or who had learning or other challenges along the way will probably NOT do well in any Common Entrance and similarly, will probably NOT do well in any modified system UNLESS they receive support, intervention and attention at the earliest stages of school or at the earliest manifestation of their challenges.

The Common Entrance Exam itself was never the problem. This supposed modified structure is not a solution although, it can be seen as a good backpedal to the middle school proposal fiasco. 

If you want the solutions, ask any of the practicing nursery and primary school teachers who have already identified the problems and have been begging for support and resources to address them for years. It is that simple. 

As for the Ministerial statement. As usual, long on talk, long on catch phrases, long on buzzwords and slogans, long on promises for 2026, 2027 and 2028…maybe.
But short on specifics, short on clarity, short on connecting the dots with an executable time bound budgeted plan to show us simple people how real measurable results will come and how everything will connect for the good of all.

Feels like déjà vu.

From a current educational practitioner who does not wish to be identified for fear of what happens when you are.

29 responses to “Education reform or just rhetoric?”

1. Principal: Reform ignores elitism

One school principal believes that the proposed education reform merely rebrands problems without addressing the fundamental issue of elitism that has plagued Barbados for decades.

Akil Ifill, principal of the Ifill School, was responding to the Ministerial Statement by Minister of Educational Transformation Chad Blackman in the House of Assembly last Tuesday.

Ifill, whose expertise is in online and digital learning platforms, acknowledged several positive aspects of the proposals. He praised the continued professional development for teachers in the public school system, the introduction of a nutrition policy, early testing to identify student deficits, and the digital learning platform set to launch in September.

“I like what I’m seeing about the digital learning platform,” Ifill noted.

However, his endorsement quickly gave way to sharp criticism, particularly regarding the proposed changes to student allocation for secondary schools set to begin in 2028.

Blackman announced that the traditional Common Entrance examination would be replaced with a hybrid system combining 50 per cent continuous assessment with 50 per cent test-based evaluation, alongside considerations for school choice, geography, and gender equity.

Structural changes

Despite the structural changes, Ifill argued that the fundamental problem remained unchanged.

“Nowhere in the address have I seen the real issue being spoken of, which is the elitism that we see.”

Ifill pointed to the persistent inequality in resource allocation as evidence of this systemic elitism.

“You still have instances where [some] schools are allocated more funds than schools that are deemed at the bottom,” he explained. This disparity, he indicated, creates a hierarchy where students who pass for certain schools “somehow feel as though they have not achieved anything”.

Ifill’s concerns extend beyond the examination system to the practical implementation of the proposed geographic considerations. He highlighted the reality that some parishes have only one secondary school, questioning how the minister’s plan to allocate 50 per cent of students within school catchment areas would work in practice.

“There’s only one secondary school in St John, one secondary school in St Lucy,” he noted, suggesting that parents would still find ways to get their children into the older schools such as Queen’s College or Harrison College.

He said the problem was not with individual schools but with public perception.

“There’s nothing wrong with the school. It is the perception of the school that is part of the problem,” he said, referring to schools such as Princess Margaret Secondary, that parents might avoid despite their quality.

Looking beyond the examination system, Ifill offered solutions he believes could position Barbados as a world leader in education.

He advocated for more psychologists and education officers in schools, particularly at institutions where students face significant learning challenges. He also called for the removal of traditional textbooks in favour of digital resources, tablets in classrooms, and books written by Barbadian authors available for free.

Testing centre

“You need to have a national testing centre. That is something revolutionary,” he said, suggesting this could serve dual purposes as a testing venue and a resource centre for psychologists and parent education when not being used for examinations.

Ifill also called for more male teachers, particularly at the primary level, to provide students with balanced perspectives and role models.

“When you have a male and female balance, the child gets an understanding of how to operate in the real world from two different perspectives,” he argued.

Ifill questioned whether the education system adequately prepares students for entrepreneurship rather than simply training them to work for others.

“You’re a small island economy. The focus of our education system as Barbadians must be to have Barbadian students own businesses,” he stated, noting that people from around the world come here to create businesses while locals struggle with basic business concepts.

On the curriculum reforms, including the introduction of financial literacy and coding from first to third form, Ifill supported entrepreneurship education but suggested some subjects could be offered as shorter courses rather than full programmes, acknowledging that students accustomed to social media apps have shorter attention spans.

Despite welcoming certain initiatives, such as addressing deviant behaviour in schools and introducing civics education, Ifill remained sceptical about the overall transformation.

“Time will tell, but I do not believe that in several years Barbados is going to be a world leader in education with this proposal as it is.”

(DDS)

2. Rhetoric!!
    – and not even well thought out rhetoric at that…

Steupsss!!
    So how come the mantra of “many hands” don’t apply to this 11plus?
    How the Hell can TEACHERS not be intimately involved inFRAMING the new policies?

– Why not sit with ALL of the current stakeholders and LISTEN to contributions such as Principals, Teachers, Parents, Business people, Professional bodies, and John Public BEFORE getting up and talking shiite…?

Yuh mean that TIME AFTER TIME we have to hear the ENLIGHTENED views only AFTER the horse escapes from the Cabinet?

What a place!
    It is like they SET OUT to fail….

3. @@BY Family member “The Common Entrance was pilloried as promoting elitism.”

I like elitism. I think that elitism is a good thing. But as I’ve always said “elitism by MERIT” For example nobody has ever let me into their choir, not even my Christian church, and they were correct to shut me out as I am no Rihanna.

ZR woman who didn’t go to Harsun, QC, Cawmere or nuthing so.

4. @Ifill “suggesting that parents would still find ways to get their children into the older schools such as Queen’s College or Harrison College.”

If I had school children AND money I would simply buy a house in the HC or QC catchment area, or even rent one in those areas at the time my children are about to be assessed.

I might even to please Bush Tea buy or rent a house near to Cawmere.

5. In the USA and Canada too it is well know that well educated, well informed parents with money do their best to buy or rent a house in the catchment area of an excellent public school.

The people in Greenfields and Haynesville betta look out.

6. Mottley defends education reform

PRIME MINISTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY has defended Government’s recent education reform measures, insisting they are designed to give every Barbadian child a fair chance at success and to move away from an over-reliance on a single high-stakes exam.

Speaking during a televised address to the nation last night, she acknowledged that the proposed changes, which will take effect from September 2028, had sparked debate.

The reforms will introduce continuous assessment across the primary years to complement, rather than replace, the Common Entrance Examination, while also reshaping school admissions policies.

“In Parliament, we signalled important shifts beginning with admissions reform from 2028 September,” Mottley said. “We are moving to continuous assessment across the primary years to complement the Common entrance, not to totally replace it, but to balance it so that a single morning at age 11 does not decide a child’s whole life.”

She said that marks will continue to play a role, but the new framework will also take into account catchment areas and geography. “We will ensure that each school’s intake reflects the full talent of our communities.”

The Prime Minister noted that Government had set a firm target for literacy, pledging that by December 2026 every primary school child in Barbados must be able to read.

“Yes, December next year. We are committed to that. This is why we are driving a major national push on literacy and building the diagnostic capacity nationally to understand why a child may not be learning so that we can intervene early.”

She acknowledged critics who questioned whether such ambitious goals are realistic, but said her administration will ensure teachers, parents and students are fully supported. “We will equip our teachers with the tools they need, retraining, keep parents in the loop with clear milestones, and give children the confidence that somebody is watching, caring and pushing them forward,” wshe promised.

She stressed that the reforms were not about lowering standards, but broadening opportunities and supporting the whole child.

“In today’s world, knowledge and information are literally in the palm of your hand, but what schools must give now is deeper. We must forge and ensure that their skills develop. We must nurture values and attitudes, and we must encourage the habit of excellence and caring among each of our children.”

Mottley said education could not be measured by a sprint at age 11, but by the development of life-long learners.

“The race for excellence cannot be a sprint at age 11. It is not fair to them. It is a long-distance journey that they will take and we will take it actually with them. A marathon with people along the road, handing out water, handing out towels and whatever else they need, so that every student reaches the finish line at their pace, with their head held high.”

She urged Barbadians to see the reforms as an investment in fairness, equity and national development. “My friends, these three words will become the standard of how we treat the education of our nation’s children: Every Child Barbados, not a single one left behind.” (CLM)

7. I agree with the author. And would go further and say that the Common Entrance should stay.

What needs ti change is the underlying culture and that children are arriving at secondary school unable to do the three R’s.

So much emphasis is being placed on the secondary school issue / entrance. But years ago the emphasis was on everyone able to read, write and do arithmetic.

If you can do those, you can do anything in future.

The problem is also cultural. The block culture, poverty, those are the issues impacting learning.

The Common Entrance should not include more subjects. If children cannot even read properly, why add more subjects?

What is needed is fixing the primary issue and ensuring that children always, even after the traditional eleven, have opportunity to advance to higher level education at the best institutions.

It is simplistic to expect every institution to be the best.

Cuh Dear / Simple Simon is on point with her response.

There must be best. There must be competition.

But when Wukup takes priority over respect, discipline, science and music in all forms, you will have a problem.

8. The PM’s so-called “defense” of the Education Reform plan is pathetic.

Somebody NEEDS to tell her that we are TIRED of the lotta emotional rhetoric about ‘pulling down’ the country and about being ‘haters’ – every time we criticize some shiite done by her and her minions.
    It is time that she come with a written SCRIPT with FACTS – as Owen had long suggested to her, where her ideas would have been properly THOUGHT out beforehand, and would be available for coherent scrutiny afterwards.
    Tired of the emotional shiite!!

Firstly…
    How do you criticize a falling population – when YOU and most of your top brass have NO children, …AND when you champion a lifestyle that encourages others to emulate this?

Secondly…
    How do you bring a boy to do a man’s job – only to have him call on his ‘Mommy’ at the first sign of problems?
    If Chad is NOT up to the task, then why not appoint someone who is…?
    There are NUMEROUS talented persons out there, who ACTUALLY understand the issues involved – and would happily undertake the task… even if no such person exist in the shiite cabinet.
    …BUT of course – such persons tend NOT to be mere ‘message -carriers’ and ‘front-men’ … and thus appear to be NOT eligible for such roles.

Bushie would have thought that the new MoE would be the one to come and EXPLAIN his thinking, answer the tough questions from stakeholders, and undertake to resolve issues…

But mommy jumps in – clearly all upset because wutless Bajans DARED to challenge her instructions, as submitted by the new messenger.

Then to be ranting and raving about Bajan’s attitudes – when HER GOVERNMENT has set the strongest examples of law breaking, incompetence and lack of transparency.

– Did Abrahams ACTUALLY say that wunna was breaking the law for YEARS by illegally wiretapping Bajans…?

– Where are the lotta REPORTS that are required by the LAWS OF BARBADOS?
    – What happened to the MILLIONS of dollars that have disappeared under
    — HOPE, STEAL Housing, Four Seasons, NIS, Transport Board,
    Why is NOTHING being completed as promised
    — QEH, Roads, Sugar reform, Sewerage, Hyatt, …
    When will we get a PM’s statement – WITH FACTS AND DETAILS, on these?

Far from being unpatriotic, Bajans must be the MOST tolerant brass bowls on the planet… to be so patient with such jobby…
    Oh Wait!!
    Except for Americans.
    Only Trump is worse than us in some key respects.

What a place!!
    Blessed for DECADES
    …and now….!!

9. The big question: what is the latest with the suite of integrity legislation? There are systemic reasons why the public has become apathetic and disengaged.

10. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

A chinese proverb goes “A journey of a 1000 miles begins with a single step. The journey of educational reform is transitional, to be best implemented in small steps in the coming years.
    As far as i’m concerned, no deep argument is needed proving that the Common Entrance (BSSCEE) AS IS is woefully inadequate for purpose. In my opinion it is one of the first aspects that should be addressed in Education Reform in Barbados.

The Common Entrance was suitable as an easy way to breakdown the elitist\segregationist educational system coming from the colonial period into the 1950s. Our educational system SHOULD come and must go further now that we are 20+ years in the 21st century. The Common Entrance is outdated and practically nonsensical to continue with it as is.
    I have only partially read the ministerial state and as far as I’m concerned it is going in the right direction.

Addressing the initial contributor that proports to be current education practitioner, they are making points that are not “holding water”. In my opinion it is a poorly veiled attempt to keep the BSSCEE as is.

To quote the contributior:-
    “Instead of a one day exam, we have included two years of continuous assessment.
    But, the traditional cut off marks remain. The pecking order of the schools remain. The perceived elitism remains. The use of academic subjects only remains. The purported colonialism remains. Have we fixed the “so called problems” that according to this government were “crippling” our children and stifling our development?”

To this I say then that this is a valid argument to do away with the BSSCEE altogether. The BSSCCE is mainly an ALLOCATION exam. It is an inadequate ASSESSMENT METHOD. To start, why should ALLOCATION to secondary schools be based on results of a one off exam at age 11. Why can’t there be a “Common Entrance” exam at the end of each of the Terms 1 to 3 in class 4. Or, alternatively, why can there be an exam at the end of Term 3 from Class 1 to Class 4. I would think multiple exams would be a better form of assessing and therefore allocating students.
    Others will go further, asking why should there be ALLOCATION to secondary schools be done at age 11 or even at all. Why can’t children just go to the closest secondary school to prepare them for CXCs \ CSECs then the CAPEs

From the contributior:-
    (“Now tell me this. If a child was not equipped to pass Maths and English. Do we really believe they will be equipped to pass Science and Social Studies?
    Tell me as well, Do we really think that a child who performs poorly in Class 3, will miraculously improve in one year in Class 4? Will continuous assessment change that?”)

To this i will ask how a one off Common Entrance exam would be better in this regard? A system of assessment to supplement the BSSCEE is almost a no brainer. When I went to primary school, students had end of term exams from Class 1 (and earlier) right up to Class 4 for various subjects. We were graded and a end of term report was provided to be sent to our parents. In other words, there ALREADY exists a basic framework that allows for this continuous assessment for children.

From the contributior:-
    (And, can the Minister please explain for us simple people, how do they intend to standardize the instruction, marking and assessment process across all 69 public primary schools, so that what happens at School A is the same as what happens at School B. Are we really levelling the playing field for everyone or are we simply moving the same football match from one pasture to a next?)

As far as I know our system is based on (professionally trained) teachers given syllabuses from the MoE. Formal schooling starts from 3-5yrs right up (and past) age 11, with formal exams given at year end. The contributor is implying that schooling is mostly ad-hoc or near shambles. In terms of assessment, the easiest change to implement is to standardize the end of term or end of year exams across all the primary schools. Then have teachers outside the school grade the exams papers. Our education system is standardized, what it needs is IMPROVING and MODIFYING to suit 21st century needs

11. Frankly many like the blogmaster are tired of the education reform talk. How can we have a ministerial statement to declare the new way forward for education AND key stakeholders like teachers’ unions, principals et al do not agree with Minister Blackman?

12. @ David,

I created a visual representation using a map of Barbados and coloured pins.

Did it over a weekend and delivered it to the Minister on a Monday morning.

” In 1981, Barbados proposed an education zoning system that aimed to have students attend their neighborhood secondary schools. This proposed system would have made schools more representative of local communities and encouraged increased parental involvement, potentially leading to improved educational outcomes and reduced behavioral problems. The plan was for all students to attend their local secondary school from Forms 1 to 5, with entry to sixth-form colleges based on CXC results. “

13. Minister urges Barbadians to fully embrace CARIFESTA

BARBADOS IS PREPARING to welcome the region with a showcase of culture, heritage, and artistic excellence as the island readies to host CARIFESTA XV.

Speaking during a media briefing yesterday at the CARIFESTA Secretariat, Senator Dr Shantal Munro-Knight, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office, underscored the significance of the event and urged Barbadians to embrace the opportunity to participate fully.

Munro-Knight revealed that representatives from 39 countries, comprising national delegations and specially invited guests, are expected to attend. She described this as a signal achievement for Barbados.

“That is something that Barbados is doing, the government is doing for all of us. But it’s also a signal that a small island developing nation can do something big within the region, can showcase Caribbean excellence, can showcase what it is that our culture, our heritage and our arts contributes to all of us nationally,” she said.

The Minister stressed that the success of the regional festival depended heavily on the public’s support and participation.

“Even from this very beginning, I do want to ask all of Barbadians, all of Barbados, to make sure that we come out, participate in all of the activities, all of the events, because it is your support that will ensure the success of CARIFESTA XV. As the festival director would have indicated, we can do this, we are doing this, but we do this not alone, we do this in partnership,” she said.

She highlighted the contributions of the Development Bank of Latin America and the Caribbean (CAF), which has partnered with the Government of Barbados not only for CARIFESTA but also across several sectors.

CAF has approved grant funding of $450 000 to support the promotion of cultural tourism and the creative economies.

“CAF has been a loyal partner, a significant partner to the Government of Barbados in many spheres. Even as we speak to this particular contribution for CARIFESTA, CAF has assisted the government in a number of areas in terms of water, building resilience within the water sector as well.

“CAF within, again, the cultural sphere would have contributed through the Reclaiming Our Atlantic Destiny project as well, helping us to build out amphitheatre as well. And then later on, as we will move to make sure that we unveil the monument, the memorial as well, under the Reclaiming Our Atlantic Destiny project,” Munro-Knight said.

The Minister described the CAF partnership as long-term and meaningful, noting that their involvement extended naturally into the cultural celebrations.

“I think, as the Festival Director would have indicated, when we began the conversation with CAF, it was an easy one. They saw it as an extension of what they were already doing and already investing with us in the Division of Culture and with the Prime Minister’s Office,” she said. (CLM)

14. Global drive

Chief outlines reasons for changing classes and forms to grades

BARBADOS’ PLAN to rename classes and forms to grades is just designed to help students align with international standards, says Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw.

Addressing a news conference at the Ministry of Educational Transformation on Constitution Road, The City, yesterday, she said that as Barbadian students step out into the world, the naming of grades will help international partners and other institutions around the globe to better understand their educational levels.

“We want to ensure that it is in line with the international standards. I’ve been in meetings with several schools, universities and organisations overseas, and almost every time I have to explain to them what Form 4 is, and when I say Class 4, then I mean Grade 6. So as to ease the discussion, so as to ensure that our students’ grades are understood when we send them overseas . . . we have to be able to be forward-thinking.

“We must recognise that this is not just little Barbados anymore and little Barbados’ education system. We have students who travel overseas. Here as a ministry, we engage with all kinds of partners internationally to seek the same funding, to discuss how we can collaborate on programmes. To have the name changed eases all of that in terms of the discussion, in terms of the funding, in terms of the understanding, so that we can move forward and be a global force to be working together,” she said.

The change in system, mentioned last Tuesday by Minister of Educational Transformation Chad Blackman during a Ministerial Statement in the House of Assembly, has been criticised by some members of the public as a mere copy of the American system.

Archer-Bradshaw said the grade format was not a sole American structure but recognised internationally.

She also sought to clarify the introduction of a hybrid system to replace the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Exam, also known as the Common Entrance or 11-Plus, by 2028.

The Chief Education Officer explained that the new continuous assessment framework will allow students an opportunity to showcase what they can do, instead of the present “one-shot method” where they are graded on results from one day of examination.

“We know how it goes with the Common Entrance. Some students can have a very good day on that day, or some students might have a very bad day. And we know that if we are moving towards a more equitable approach, there is a need to allow students to showcase what they can do over time, and that is the reason we want to approach it in that way,” she said.

“That means that we will be looking at the marks and their performance at Classes 3 and 4. During those years as well, the students will get an opportunity to write what we call their standardised paper pencil test. They will write these tests in Class 3 and Class 4,” she said, adding that this new approach will also assess their performance in social studies, citizenship and science, alongside the traditional mathematics and English subjects.

New seven-year structure

“The focus of the transition is to allow students to demonstrate their full potential using a variety of methods and a variety of approaches. The minister spoke about the fact that we will be assigning 50 per cent of the marks to the standardised tests and 50 per cent of the marks towards the continuous-based assessment.

“It is on that basis that students will transition from class 4 to first form at secondary school. So we want to do away with the one-shot exam,” she said.

Students will also have the opportunity for an additional two school years under a new seven-year structure, wherein they can redo CXCs, pursue CAPE and broaden their learning and opportunities.

Archer-Bradshaw said efforts to tackle the literacy level of students and adults across the country will be increased with changes to the curriculum at primary level and significant investments made in the teaching of reading.

“Before, reading was taught using an eclectic approach. What we did over the past year and a half was to put a more structured approach to it. As a result, we had exposed over 300 teachers to the Linda Mood Bell approach and the Snappy Sounds programme.

“Initially, we were focusing on Infants A and Infants B, and that had the potential to impact about 5 000 students. What we’re going to do from September 2025 is that we’re going to expand the teaching of reading to teachers across all levels at the primary level,” she explained.

The ministry will also target adults who are unable to read or have reading deficits, pairing with the Criminal Research Justice Unit to address that gap.

Another aspect mentioned by Archer-Bradshaw was the improvement of infrastructure to make schools more inclusive for people with disabilities, with up to ten primary school plants scheduled for refurbishment to include ramps and adequate lighting.

“There’s the belief generally in Barbados that if you have a child with a disability, that child should be at a special school because he or she has a disability. What we want to do [is] include our students with disabilities and those who are gifted as much as possible within the mainstream school.

“It is only in very severe cases where the student may not be able to cope, that we will have the child pulled out and they will receive some special attention,” she said. (JRN)

15. Children’s future hanging in the balance

ON AUGUST 12, not a fortnight after the mouthings on the significance of “freedom” for our slave ancestors, was the future for children of the poor in Barbados abandoned to the whims of our new emancipated elite?

Eighty years ago a primary school education was all that the majority of the population could expect for their children. Those children were taught and assessed in classes in primary schools in every parish, and those who could afford it would sit entrance exams to get into the sought after but scarce secondary schools.

Each secondary school had its own entrance exam and its own “confidential” pass list. For the majority who could not afford it there was the pathway of the parish scholarship – the 11-Plus of the day? – and the one child in the parish who came out top had their fees paid in the secondary school that accepted them.

In those days it happened that two or more children could be swapping top marks in their primary school but only the one could prevail on the day of the parish scholarship and unless their family had the means, other bright children would not get a secondary school education.

A kind of saving grace in those days was that a child could stay on in “primary” school until age 14 for by then you were now a man and a girl might be expected to become a mother. The teachers in primary schools came from the community serving the schools and knew or were known to the parents, with whom they interacted naturally.

There was little question of teachers putting the blame on the parents of any child. The sought after secondary schools, some established explicitly for the tuition of children based on their colour, nurtured their exclusivity by often denigrating children who gained admission on merit if they came from “illegitimate” parents.

Free secondary education

The introduction of free secondary education reformed that system and created a middle-class, some of whom are now seeking to or have indeed replaced the old elite – perhaps a symptom of the mental slavery not emancipated from.

The old elite had controlled the access to “higher” secondary school education on the basis of colour, class and religion.

Free secondary education allowed the movement of children from any household irrespective of their colour, class or religion into the school of their choice through the gateway of the 11-Plus. The discriminatory skirmishes that remained have been on religious affirmation through dress and hairstyle.

The movement of all children to secondary schools, apart from emancipating the children of poor parents, broke down most of the class barriers in the secondary schools.

Unfortunately, this reform was associated with the deterioration of education attainment in our public primary schools as attested to by the results in the 11-Plus examination over the years.

Preferred school placement

Now the colour and class system of preferred school placement has been replaced by private primary schools and extra lessons given by the teachers of our public system.

The result has been deteriorating 11Plus examination results in our public schools and educationists declaring that the exam is at fault and should be abolished – not reformed, just abolished.

When asked who will go to what secondary school the answer is “just leave it to us” – after all, we have studied abroad and have reached far so we know what is best for the children. We will reintroduce subjects other than maths and English into the primary schools, and no measurement will be needed for that may prove too stressful on the children [from the heights and terraces?].

What about the children from the blocks? We will expand vocational programmes for them to work in the construction industry and rival the Guyanese and the Chinese.

We will set up stadia so they can get a chance to join a team abroad. We will produce a new entrepreneurial class of highway vendors, and if they cannot take advantage of any of those opportunities we can always expand Dodds.

The abandonment of any form of formal assessment in our primary school system, which is unhampered by the subjectivity of teachers and can be scrutinised by parents – is likely to expand the underclass in the country.

Total subjectivity in assessments at the primary school level will likely reinforce a class system based on economic status, political and religious allegiances and embed any questionable practices in the placement of children in secondary schools. All that would be left is to formally legalise them as we are doing with the pledge to abolish, not reform the 11-Plus exam.

– PROFESSOR SIR ERROL WALROND

16. A sensible analysis By Sir Errol.

The 11 plus was a MAJOR improvement on what we had before it.
    Like EVERYTHING else, there is always room for continuous improvements to be made – all the way up to six sigma.

Even bushmen are riddled with faults, but the WHOLE POINT of life is the focus on moving closer and closer to perfection (loving God with all our hearts), …and NOT on destroying whatever progress has been achieved already.

But all that jackasses (and the demons of this world) can contemplate, is kicking things down… (“deconstruct and re-construct shiite!!”)
    EVEN when they are unable to even articulate a rational substitute for the current imperfect arrangement.

This is why even with the lotta hands on deck, we can’t make one shiite work.

What a state!!

17. The education system use to be regarded as a model for others, the table has turned @Bush Tea. A sign of the times?

18. Yes!
    A clear sign that the dark forces have taken control of our world (so that Mother Karma can do her outstanding work)
    The period of GRACE and leniency (where EXTENDED opportunities for repentance and leniency were allowed) has ended.

So instead of seeking to BUILD POSITIVELY on existing foundations, we are into a massive ‘mashup and build back’ phase of idiocy….
    Education is but ONE of the multiple casualties…

19. The proposal to extend secondary life by two years seems positive on the surface. The proposal to build technology and AI schools seems positive.

Proposals are a good start?

20. The extension of secondary learning is neither here nor there.

And the tech and AI also.

The imperative is to improve the quality!!! of primary education and then secondary education, to lift the average level to satisfactory at least.

Then, extension of secondary would be relevant, then opportunities can be given to those who wish to broaden their scope and switch potential careers etc.

Associate degrees in all A Level schools etc, following a standard curriculum.

But the basics have to be right first.

And again…the same effort needs to be put into developing respect and discipline as is spent on Wukup.

That is the basis of all.

21. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

Again from the original contributor. To quote:-

(“But, the traditional cut off marks remain. The pecking order of the schools remain. The perceived elitism remains. The use of academic subjects only remains. The purported colonialism remains. Have we fixed the “so called problems” that according to this government were “crippling” our children and stifling our development?”)

(“The Common Entrance Exam itself was never the problem. This supposed modified structure is not a solution although, it can be seen as a good backpedal to the middle school proposal fiasco. “)

To this I will say then that the Common Entrance AS IS, is the MAIN TOOL maintaining this elitism and hence is a problem IN THIS CONTEXT.

The REALITY in Barbados is that if you “pass” to St George Secondary, St Lucy Secondary, St James Secondary you are perceived as “duncy”. Due to “failing” a one off test, taken at 10-11 years old in a physical environment they are not accustomed to, a child is “doomed”. In Barbados you are perceived as “bright” or “duncy” based on the school uniform a student wears. That “duncy” student then has to work harder against this stigma for 5+ years to gain appropriate CXCs\CSECs to enter to BCC or UWI to fully shake this stigma.
    Even if the child attends the Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology (SJPIT) they are still perceived as “duncy”. However if this same student becomes a HVAC tech, a electronics tech, a plumber a mechanic etc via the SJPIT they are then perceived as having some level of “intelligence”

So I will ask the original contributor, how maintaining a system of de-facto “bright” and “duncy” secondary schools sustained by persisting with the BSSCEE AS IS is really helping the education system in 2025. We as Barbadians keep persisting with this system because “we had it since the 1950s and it has always worked”.
    What is sad is the BSSCEE was introduced to break the racial and wealth elitism in our secondary school system, only for it to be repurposed in our collective minds to maintain another system of elitism based on “intelligence” of a student at 11 years old. Frankly it defies belief. When you look at it from “outside the box” it is offensive to continue with AS IS

22. @ David
    “The education system use to be regarded as a model for others, the table has turned”

Oh yes it has. 6 years of talk and waiting and here we are!

“Proposals are a good start?”
    Then we are left to ponder on how many “good starts” we have had that NEVER finished!!!

@horsemeat
    Sensible. Common sense even.
    Mitigate for the weakness the top. Strengthen those at the bottom and add layers of support in between. Eventually the improvements would be seen on a systemic level from top to bottom and from left to right.

But hey, we are only simple minded Bajans

Just observing

23. @Horsemeat

The upgrade in quality and extension of school life can be mutually inclusive.

24. Yes , but without the quality improvement, nothing can happen. So that is the primary imperative (no pun intended) that underpins all, along with strengthening respect and discipline.

By discipline I do not mean beatings. I mean that each child knows to be on time. Each child knows to say good morning and good afternoon. Each child does their homework. Each child restrains from getting involved in a fight. Each child stands in a queue at the bus terminal.

Aim for the moon. Maybe then we will at least reach a star.

Aim for nothing and get nothing.

25. “The long-standing dominance of elite schools in Barbados’ national scholarship awards is set to change,”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/08/22/blackman-promises-fair-access-to-scholarships/

26. Educational change: A continuing process

By the early 20th century, Barbadians’ expectations were growing. . .

This article was written and submitted by Dr Dan C. Carter, educational historian and author.

It is fairly well known that in postslavery societies such as Barbados, education was a major issue for the ruling elite. The freedom for the slave masses in 1834 created a controversial debate regarding the kind of education to be provided for them – whether a literary one or one suited for agricultural purposes. This debate dominated the local legislature. The massive profits from the sugar industry depended very much on a docile, compliant and illiterate labour force which the plantocracy tried desperately to maintain.

However, through the efforts of the missionary groups such as the Moravians, Methodists and later the Anglicans in the mid-eighteenth century, the planter class grudgingly convinced themselves that education for the black masses was an investment in the sustainability of the sugar industry. The missionary bodies then commenced Sunday Schools and later daily schools for the masses. Bishop Coleridge, almost from the time he landed in Barbados, championed the cause of education and together with the other denominations established an impressive array of elementary schools. This effort was supplemented by the Barbados vestry system which also built elementary schools and developed a system of supervisory control over them.

Intellectual mecca

However, from as early as the 18th century, Barbados developed a set of institutions which mirrored their curriculum on the British grammar schools – such as Harrison College and The Lodge schools. In Barbados, in particular, they catered exclusively to the children of the ruling class and those of the colonial representatives. These schools, through the annual Barbados scholarships and those offered by Codrington College, made Barbados the intellectual mecca of the Caribbean. Scholars from these local institutions also greatly enhanced the intellectual life of those British universities where they became students.

Unfortunately, these most treasured local institutions catered only to the elite at first, but over the decades absorbed more of middle class whites and blacks on their school rolls. Bishop Mitchinson, whose influence on the Education Act of 1878 was immeasurable, structured the education system to enable a black boy going to St Giles’ Boys’ to enter Harrison College through the provision of a First Grade Exhibition from Primary to First Grade. This change, however, cemented the literary and academic culture that dominated the curriculum in schools, whether secondary or primary, to this day.

However, by the early 20th century, Barbadians’ expectations were growing as they contemplated greater access for their children to these local elitist schools. A major break for middle class girls came with the opening of what was then called The St Michael Secondary Girls’ School. This development was followed by the establishment of a series of secondary modern schools which immediately gave opportunity for thousands of children of secondary school age to gain a secondary education. This was further followed by the introduction of the abolition of fees at the older grammar schools which completed the cycle of free secondary education.

What effectively moved the pendulum towards a more equitable examination for social justice was the Barbados Secondary School Examination (BSSE) familiarly called the Common Entrance Examination. This examination ensured that every Barbadian, of whatever creed or colour, was eligible to take the examination at ten-plus. However, since 1959, controversy has raged over the BSSE. One aspect of the controversy that I will discuss is the examination’s lack of ensuring greater equity within society.

The examination created the two secondary school systems – one, an extension of the old grammar school tradition, and the other the growth in the newer secondary school development. There had emerged from the Choice of School Forms to secondary school a clear bias on the part of Barbadians towards the older grammar schools. In fact, when all the secondary school options were exhausted, those still not facilitated were arbitrarily sent to certain secondary schools, with low public profiles.

The partial zoning experiment never really abated the negative perception of these schools although the objectives were rather laudable. Seventy per cent of children within a zone (there were three zones) were to come from inside the zone, while 30 per cent would come from outside. The hope was that this mechanism would improve student engagement in after school activities and limit the transportation woes attendant on a child leaving St Philip and journeying to St Peter daily to attend school, among others.

Now that Barbadian society has generally seen the tremendous progress being made at the newer secondary schools and that their graduates are participating and contributing to Barbadian society at all levels, I was particularly drawn to the portion of Minister Chad Blackman’s statement of educational transformation when he stated: “Admissions will follow a 50:50 split of local and external candidates, with minimum scores applied more flexible for catchment area students”.

This proposed strategy has the potential of improving the quality intake of students entering the former newer secondary schools. If this is achieved then further progress at all levels of student accomplishment can be assured. Equity within Barbadian society would have been advanced. My preference, however, would have been a 60:40 ratio with 60 per cent students retained within a zone and 40 per cent from outside.

The minister must be congratulated on bringing such a comprehensive educational policy to the legislature as his statement has touched on all the issues relevant to educational change since 1959. In Barbados today, as it was in pre- and post-slavery society, education continues to be that mechanism that initiates change and brings about social justice.

Source; Nation

27. What a roll of jobby…
    by an Eddykator, Twistorian, AND Eddykashun CONSULTANT.

Steupsss…
    Yet another mafia lieutenant with attachments to State nipples, pathetically singing for his supper…

28. Beyond the ministry’s spin

By Sir Errol Walrond One presumes that the Every Child Barbados insert in the August 20, 2025 Midweek Nation is the written text of what the minister delivered in Parliament earlier.

The text has all the words and acronyms of a Ministry Paper but avoids any explanation or ownership of what failures there may have been in the past. Failures that have brought us to this point of transformation of our education system.

The paper did not mention in its analysis that we once had an education system that was widely acclaimed both at home and abroad, and therefore, provided no background or analysis as to why that system is now in apparent crisis particularly as it relates to the least fortunate.

In relation to the professional development of teachers, it is stated that the local training programme “need be in partnership with highly globally recognised universities to be attractive”. I would ask if the University of the West Indies is not so ranked globally, and if not, what are the outcomes of teachers from the preferred ranked universities in their own systems and in other systems where they teach?

Male role models

The paper stated: “While many parents actively engage – several are unaware and or unwilling to effectively engage with schools.”

I would like to point out that most of the parents are now the product of the school system itself and would have drawn their interest and behaviours from what they learnt both outside and inside the school they attended.

On speaking to infrastructural development, I note the Ministry has sourced a grant “Putting Youth and Women at the Centre of Climate Resilience”. Whilst I fully appreciate the global role of UNICEF, I do get the impression that women have not only reached par in Barbados, but there now seems to be a gaping gap for male role models in the current school system.

This dearth of positive male role models could lead to the alienation of boys, particularly those who are not doing well, and contribute to violent expressions in their patterns of behaviour.

The Ministry would also do well to “translate” some international programmes to the local context and expressions.

The remarks on student nutrition capture the history of effort in schools but did not touch on the overall problem in Barbados, where obesity in childhood is currently more an issue than is undernutrition. The problem of what food habits children acquire in, around and out of school is the current pressing nutrition issue and needs to be addressed in a more comprehensive way in the transformation effort.

The importance of citizenship was addressed, and I was interested to see that teaching of civics was reintroduced in 2022. Apart from what the content of a civics programme may have included, when and why was such a programme stopped?

Surely, we should not use the COVID-19 pandemic, for that was a time to enhance civic responsibilities rather than jettison them.

Civics

It would be vital for parents and the country as a whole to know what is being taught as civics, for one hopes that it will not stop at the political and commercial structures within the country. One hopes that students will be taught that the “free” education they have is from the contribution of every citizen, young and old, who pay taxes on everyday living and other activities, and that they have a duty to give back, not just to take, both at an individual level and to the community as a whole.

One notes that another residential rehabilitative and therapeutic facility will be established by 2028 for the children whose behaviour will not be tolerated at schools. Sounds like the same old hat, different name. Like with any affliction in our society, we should follow the principles of early detection and a wholistic approach to this problem rather than only trying to treat it when it is entrenched.

Detection has to be done in the early childhood period and the rehabilitative work must begin with the households from which they came. We must recognise that those households are in part a result of the output from our existing education system and therefore it bears some responsibility for what they are. Therefore, when one speaks of a “jumpstart literacy programme” in September 2025, one hopes that this is recognised as remedial work for the children and the parents and for what the Ministry has neglected for too long.

Basics

That the basics were not being achieved was illustrated over and over again in the now maligned 11-Plus examination. One hopes that the Ministry now understands that when an exam is conducted, it is both the children and the system that are being examined.

One notes that there is the intention by 2028 to modify the “11-Plus” into what will be a “10 and 11-Plus”. This intention should be welcomed, and one wonders why it should take three years to implement, but one supposes that we were on the track of abolition before.

What one does not see is any intention of using the results of these assessments to examine what needs to be changed in the tuition process on a continuing basis. What we see is increasing emphasis on “continuing assessment” as against standardised written assessment. Let’s face it, subjective “continuing” assessments are valuable, but are subject to our human failings, no matter how skilled or qualified we are. Such assessments should themselves be subjected to rigorous independent scrutiny from time to time.

One also notes that moral education will be incorporated into the curriculum, and it is tempting to ask whose morals, for there are so many such failures at all levels in our society.

We should, I hope, not confuse a particular religious instruction with morals education, for we must continue to build a society where people can chose or not their religion and live without being persecuted for their choice.

Many societal failures go unscrutinised, not just for punishment purposes but we should show children how different behaviours can produce better results for both individuals and the community.

Discipline

One also notes that there is a proposal that every child should be enrolled in a uniformed organisation, one must be reminded that the principles and benefits of discipline can be imparted in many other ways.

The minister speaks of specialised areas of study and while this is welcome and starts building the potential of students from early, one must remember these are best based on a sound basic foundation. One cannot build a robot without a sound grounding in basic mathematics, and one cannot teach it to communicate effectively if one cannot do so oneself.

This article was submitted as a Letter to the Editor.

29. Sir Errol is of course correct now.

One wonders where he was, back when Billie Millar, Louis Tull, Ralph Boyce etc initiated the FRONTAL assault on what was then our GLOBAL leadership in Education – by forcing FUNDAMENTAL Co-Ed changes in the system ….to MIMIC the idiocy of what was then LESSER QUALITY systems in the USA etc?

His voice back then would VERY likely have made a big difference…
    However…
    De horse is long out of the stable… we are stuck with eddykashun, led by brass bowl eddykators to our certain doom.

What a place