The blogmaster with the benefit of technology listened to a few of the political meetings from the different political parties and with 7 days left to V-Day- he has a confession to make. Given the current crisis state of the socioeconomic landscape of Barbados, if ever there was a time for sensible Barbadians to make voices heard, the time is now. Kudos to the loyalists who have been willing to brave the threat of coronavirus infection to listen to the voluminous platitudes barked at them from the different political platforms.

The Barbados economy has been operating at junk level in recent years and although some will present the chicken and egg argument, society or economy – Barbados has reached a critical juncture in its post independence journey where radical decisions should be made to ensure a wholesome society can be sustained.

Dear Dr. Estwick

We have all the time in the world. Technology permits you to post the full details to YouTube or similar. We look forward to reviewing the details. By the way – “What the Government should have done is to ask the NIS to float a medium-term Treasury note or a long-term Treasury debenture for the exact sum of money owed by the Government, and the money should have been therefore obtained from the Central Bank of Barbados.”

Please explain in detail. Sure sounds like a massive money printing operation to me, I hope I am mistaken.

The issue of the NIS Scheme (fund) has been fleetingly mentioned by the prime minister and the urgent need to recapitalize the fund to ensure it remains a lifeline for senior citizens. The fund has been raided by successive governments through the years as the cash cow of first resort. The fund was encouraged to sell shares in strategic assets for 30 pieces of silver. Its investment committees have had no qualms sopping up government paper touting higher yields as a defense to investment strategy and ignoring the risk factor indicator. In 2018 the government administered a bald fade on bond holders et al and over night over ONE BILLION rh dollars dissipated.

Unlike the politicians and political talking heads the blogmaster will not bother to be prolix and vacuous on an important matter. A sensible driver of a vehicle will not with eyes wide open and in possession of faculties steer the vehicle over a cliff. The Barbados Economy is precariously perched on the edge of an economic cliff. What more will it take for the majority of educated Barbadians to be sensitized to the current state of play? Instead we are concerned about our inability to support conspicuous consumption at the level of household. What is wholesale, what is retail? What is global, what is local? What is macro, what is micro? In an ‘ecosystem’ all entities are by design interconnected and must optimally perform for the good of the whole. 

Barbados cannot succeed if citizens do not constructively engage in the civil society construct. Barbadians have surrendered civic responsibility to an elite few. We continue to pay the price for our cowardice by not exercising our rights as citizens. It is the only way a democracy will be able to breath without a respirator.

87 responses to “A Campaign Rehash of Nothingness”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The election campaign is playing out as all discerning observers expect. So will the result. Barbadians will be Barbadians. Most of us do not talk much. We act. AND we act decisively. We do not like long talk.

2. Why should Barbados Politics be so obsessed with Money and/or Christianity, seems like the Capitalist Devils fucked up your minds, when they played a number on you

3. @Vincent

What you are saying from your comment is that we will act based on the choices before us?

4. Critics. Or Eric de FLY

Ok, give us those RADICAL options.

This Government Inherited a BROKEN ECONOMY. It’s been only (three years).

Barbados is a country, not a used-car lot.

Side liners/Rottweilers one of de same. Yes, I can fix it ?

Words Vs Task. Guess we are masters, until one arrives at de Helm.

5. The blogmaster appreciates you sticking to one moniker/

6. @ David
    What did you or do you really expect?
    We are extremely happy with the status quo.
    We get fed with Barrow we give it to Tom; we get fed up with St, John , we give it back to Barrow/Sandiford; we get fed up with Sandiford we give it to Arthur; get fed up with Arthur give it to Thompson; get fed up with Stuart give it to Mottley.
    And on it goes with the arch apologists defending all their failures and then calling people who speak the truth “ throwing shaders” or “don’t belongs” even telling them they hate their own country.
    You reap what you sow.
    What the hell did you or do you expect ?

7. @William

We need to get our people on the same page. Beside a river of blood what are the avenues we must continue to explore. We know some of the things we must do but the comfort level from the majority makes it a wishing upon a star exercise.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 10:09 AM
    This may be another attempt to place Hobson’s choice before us. We will handle it appropriately.

9. @ Weed

Been asking de Government to cultivate Medical Weed de past two years. It fell on deaf ears and Ralph Gonzales, a compulsive BU proof reader ran off with de Idea. He is exporting MW to Germany 🇩🇪. We are selling marl to de local builders. Yes, de Churches won’t endorse it…

10. When you study Jesus
    You should be like Jesus

When you study Buddha
    You should be like Buddha

When you study Shiva
    You should be like Shiva

Long Ek Ong Kar, Adi Shakti Mantra (Morning Call)
    Posture:
    Sit in an Easy Pose with jalandhar bandh (neck lock: gently lifting sternum while tucking chin).
    Mudra:
    Have the hands in Gyan Mudra, or resting in Buddha Mudra in the lap. Maintain a strong Neck Lock
    (jalandhar bandh).
    Mantra:
    EK ONG KAAR
    SAT NAAM SIREE
    WHA-HAY GUROO
    One Creator of Creation.
    Whose Name is Truth
    Great beyond description its Infinite Wisdom
    Chant this mantra, in a 2-1/2 breath cycle, in the following
    manner: Inhale deeply and as you pull in the navel
    abruptly, chant EK. Then ONG KAAR is drawn out. Give
    equal time to Ong and Kaar. Inhale deeply and as you pull
    in the navel abruptly, chant SAT. Then NAAM is drawn
    out. Then, just as you get to the end of the breath, add a
    quick SIREE. (pronounced S’REE.) Inhale half a breath,
    pull in the navel abruptly, chant WHA. Then HAY GUROO
    (HAY should be relatively short, GUROO is pronounced
    G’ROO and is drawn out, but not too long.) The Ong Kaar
    and Naam Siree are equal in length. The Wha-hay Guroo is
    equal in length to Ong. Try not to let the pitch fall

https://static1.squarespace.com/static/5722754462cd943ca7c5b7df/t/588a98976b8f5b4f8cca293a/1485478044045/long-ek-ong-kar-1.pdf

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 10 :31 AM
    No , David. We need to take a look into our people’s book and sing in harmony with them. We are an educated society. All citizens must have an input. There is a paradigm shift emerging.

12. @Vincent

You are suggesting the people are always right, leaders must always go with the popular flow?

13. Your comment is awaiting moderation.

When you study Jesus
    You should be like Jesus

When you study Buddha
    You should be like Buddha

When you study Shiva
    You should be like Shiva

Long Ek Ong Kar, Adi Shakti Mantra (Morning Call)
    Posture:
    Sit in an Easy Pose with jalandhar bandh (neck lock: gently lifting sternum while tucking chin).
    Mudra:
    Have the hands in Gyan Mudra, or resting in Buddha Mudra in the lap. Maintain a strong Neck Lock
    (jalandhar bandh).
    Mantra:
    EK ONG KAAR
    SAT NAAM SIREE
    WHA-HAY GUROO
    One Creator of Creation.
    Whose Name is Truth
    Great beyond description its Infinite Wisdom
    Chant this mantra, in a 2-1/2 breath cycle, in the following
    manner: Inhale deeply and as you pull in the navel
    abruptly, chant EK. Then ONG KAAR is drawn out. Give
    equal time to Ong and Kaar. Inhale deeply and as you pull
    in the navel abruptly, chant SAT. Then NAAM is drawn
    out. Then, just as you get to the end of the breath, add a
    quick SIREE. (pronounced S’REE.) Inhale half a breath,
    pull in the navel abruptly, chant WHA. Then HAY GUROO
    (HAY should be relatively short, GUROO is pronounced
    G’ROO and is drawn out, but not too long.) The Ong Kaar
    and Naam Siree are equal in length. The Wha-hay Guroo is
    equal in length to Ong. Try not to let the pitch fall

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 10 :44 AM.
    The people choose the leaders. Not the other way around. Leaders in an Educated Society are those who encapsulate the hopes and dreams of the people and bring these to fruition.. Leaders serve the people . The people do no serve the leaders.

15. @ David
    Leadership must inspire . We don’t have that in either party. As Professor Don Marshall says : there must be a higher level of public discourse. It can only be engineered from the collective leadership. Why do you keep on putting the pressure to change on the people , who are struggling to eat and find bus fare. We asked them to kick out Stuart they did; we asked them to kick out Arthur they did.
    What have you heard from Depeiza to inspire you; what have you heard from Mottley to inspire you in the last two weeks. What have you found in the current BLP manifesto? What do you expect to find in the DLP manifesto?
    The people who must be blamed are those in position of power and influence who keep hedging their bets because it works for them. And that includes all media and all publications including all blogs.

16. @Vincent

A leader by definition is expected to add to the job in a way ALL people cannot. Bear in mind the hopes and dreams of ‘people’ represent disparate perspectives.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ 555 at 10 :47 AM.
    “When you study Jesus
    You should be like Jesus.”
    He served people.

18. @William

The pressure being placed on the people by the blogmaster is to seize their role as civic agents; to demand accountability by greater participation because it is being withheld by the elite. Do you expect what the people want will come without demand from gatekeepers of the establishment?

19. @ De Loan

Per Masey Green.

“Rihanna” We’ll take de $700 Million US @25 percent interest over 5 years?????

Most considerate dear!!!

Thanks 💐

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    The leader must be discerning of the needs and wants of the people. He brings discernment. Not everyone, who offers himself in Public Life , Is discerning. Personal ambition is secondary.

21. Mobility

How well can you actively move yourself?

A weird question, isn’t it?

Explore your range of motion and improve your relationship with your brain and body.

This is vital in the home practice, and extremely beneficial not only for how you move throughout life but to set yourself up with a daily practice you can sustain and grow.

While we have been working on core stability and hip stability, in order to balance the flexibility you are no doubt already exploring/seeking – today’s session is all about neurological control and strength.

We are talking range of motion, joint health, decreasing injury, and increasing tissue health.

We are talking integrity.

The roots of ancient yoga hold emphasis on philosophical, spiritual and meditative practices. Hatha Yoga, the branch of physical practice, then came later.

Now here we are, with reverence, practicing still. We are virtually connected, many of us at home.

What I see is an opportunity.

Get to know your body in a way that only this type of set up can yield.

How well can you actively move your self?

Meet me on the mat today for a mobility practice that means something.

22. Shiva as Lord of Dance. As a symbol, Shiva Nataraja is a brilliant invention. It combines in a single image Shiva’s roles as creator, preserver, and destroyer of the universe and conveys the Indian conception of the never-ending cycle of time.
    Shiva is one chill deity. He’s one of the three major gods in the Hindu religion. And he has a penchant for pot. “Shiva loves marijuana.
    In his fierce aspects, he is often depicted slaying demons. Shiva is also known as Adiyogi Shiva, regarded as the patron god of yoga, meditation and arts.

23. David get with the program. This is Barbados. More places of worship per SQ.mi than most places on earth. Find another blog anywhere, where religious (christian) analogies are made so often and on any topic. And by so many.

24. Vincent @ 11:09 A.M

Good options are in very short supply – from the leader MAM –
    Who , inexplicably , called general elections, while :

Holding 29 seats – in a 30 seat Parliament !

Having 18 months remaining in her 5 year term !

Who now spend her time ‘ fouling ‘ up the night air & airwaves…..asking the Barbadian electorate…..to give her…..30 seats on January 19, 2022 !
    Does MAM believe Barbadians are….that daft ?

25. @Frank

Words and actions must agree for trust to be developed between the actors.

26. @Vincent

See example above of the challenge we face.

27. ““When you study Jesus
    You should be like Jesus.”
    He served people.”

Formation
    This is a Spiritual War
    and we have come to slay
    like Beyoncé Vs Rihanna
    in a Soundclash
    Who is the best of the best
    Who is the worst
    Who is the cursed
    Any day
    Any way

28. David get with the program. This is Barbados. More places of worship per SQ.mi than most places on earth. Find another blog anywhere, where religious (christian) analogies are made so often and on any topic. And by so many.

Xxxxxxxxxx

JAMAICA HAS THE MOST CHURCHES IN THE WORLD PER SQ MILE YET ARE AMONG THE MOST VIOLENT AND IGNORANT IN THE WORLD WITH HIGH MURDER RATES EACH YEAR.

29. Barbados Tourism seems to go for the Capitalists like their Culture
    But, they should aim for the hippies
    marijuana
    music
    dance
    yoga
    vibes
    for locals and tourists

30. Baje maybe the weed? Ask 555.
    Hal Austin claimed Jamaicans rather than being ignorant were the most innovative of Caribbean people’s.

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ FBLP
    @ David BU
    Thanks for the reminders. I am quite conscious of the political context in which this Election was called.
    Our challenges remain the same after the votes are counted on January 20 ,2022.

32. Did the DLP present its manifesto.

Regardless of whether it is an empty promise or serious proposal, the lack of a manifesto by this time shows the party was caught unprepared.

Hopefully, the DLP will start tweaking the 2022 manifesto and strategizing for a post 2022 election.

We aiming for the prize from 25.

33. The DLP manifesto is said to be coming tomorrow.

34. For those of you who want relief from the musick of dub
    https://youtu.be/O6QvWORQsZI

35. “The Black Breast,
    has produced
    her Best,
    flesh of my skin
    Blood of my
    Blood”

I Shall Be Released

36. Are we poised to Venture North & East…

“This is on top of Mottley’s pledge that under a new BLP Government, instead of having the first $175,000 exempted from land tax, they will carry that exemption to $400,000.”

Medical Weed, our economic genie 🧞 ?

Cannabis Market Size to Worth $97.35 Billion by 2026; Increased Use for Medical & Theraputic Purposes to Aid Marijuana Industry Growth, Says Fortune Business Insight.

St. Vincent & Grenadines became proactive, while we continue to procrastinate. …

I got good dirt n St. Lucy..

While we wait. Pie decreases..

37. @ Cuhdear Bajan
    January 4, 2022 9:33 PM

I’m adding to your list of essentials on Voting Day January 19, 2022

All voters must Thoroughly shower and eat your desired meals prior to leaving home.

Full Garrison of BDF personnel minus long guns or sidearms to assist the BPF with traffic, enforcement of the 6 feet distance between each voter and other Logistical needs around polling stations across the Island.

St. John Ambulance Brigade/Red Cross Chapter Volunteers, equipped with first-aid kits, clean face mask, latex gloves and bottle water. All supplied by Government procurement.

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Gentleman, blogging in its brevity often strips a debate of necessary context and thus much is left to interpretation … your comments on leadership are as such contextually bare! *

So let me also be brief with this ‘contextual’ attempt.

Using ur post @Vincent re “The leader must be discerning of the needs and wants of the people. He brings discernment. Not everyone, who offers himself in Public Life, Is discerning. Personal ambition is secondary.”

Presuming that u are saying “personal ambition SHOULD be secondary” I would agree but it seems that you are obliquely asserting that ambition is often THE motivator!

I perceive it as such myself.

To the other point, I would disagree when you say “Not everyone, who offers himself in Public Life , Is discerning”.

I suggest to you that EVERY leader at every level of adult achievement and many youthful ones too DO DISCERN well what those around them want … in fact, they use that psychological awareness as an advantage to hoist him/herself atop the group.

The problem of course is that most of those leaders use that discernment of their followers to enhance their personal ambition and NOT to enhance the expectations and needs of those they lead!

Similarly, when @Skinner opines that none of Mottley or even Stuart (then) are not inspirational I see that as much too narrow a transactional interpretation on their value (current or past) as political leaders.

I get it that he speaks to that same dynamic of leading the populace along bold new technology and economically viable paths (enhancing their expectations and weaknesses) but even as the leader fails there, one cannot dismiss the other pertinent characteristics of their leadership abilities … like that same discernment which they use to elevate themselves as an MP and then as the ‘first among equals’ of MPs!

As I said this is blogging and brevity is the key so I’ll end by saying that leadership is a multi-dimensional set of skills. Our politicians have indeed displayed some EXCELLENT leadership qualities but it’s also true that they have been piss poor in some others.

39. @Dee Word

#prolix
    #thepossible

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

“It fell on deaf ears and Ralph Gonzales, a compulsive BU proof reader ran off with de Idea. He is exporting MW to Germany.”

William…looka look….🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Boats sailed long time ago..

we need to stop elevating these vote begging thieves to more than civil SERVANTS, because once elected despite what they pretend….THAT’S ALL THEY ARE……calling them “elite” WHICH THEY ARE NOT…and swelling their already swollen heads is part of the problem, if they are not let into the parliament by the BLACK POPULATION to put on their pretend “elite” pedigree dog food act, they are nothing but OPPOSITION…

“Leaders serve the people . The people do no serve the leaders”

PUT THAT ON REPEAT…so that the pedigree dog food gang now sitting at the back begging for votes can hear…

“even telling them they hate their own country.”

i always have a problem with this, partly because i don’t isolate myself to any one country, can’t do the sentimental thing, due to knowing a whole lot more about our history, knowing the continent is our ancestral lands and knowing that our ancestors built cities towns and countries ALL ACROSS the earth for hundreds of thousands of years, so in reality, the earth is truly our home and no one will get away with continue dividing into sections and borders in an attempt to DELETE HISTORY…like they did previously and caused all this ONGOING misery in the lives of the earth’s FIRST peoples.

41. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and knowing that our ancestors built cities towns, countries and VERY IMPRESSIVE CIVILIZATIONS ALL ACROSS the earth for hundreds of thousands of years, that are STILL STANDING TODAY…saw one this week and was actually mesmerized and can tell it was ancestral hands put that there and it cannot be removed.

for over 100 YEARS the likes of Garvey, King, Malcolm, Cheikh Diop, Nkrumah, Stokely Carmichael, all the colossus for professors, all the gifted singers Marley, et al now his children and grandchildren and all the other great singers; offspring are singing it, i can rattle off a thousand other names, have told everyone that YOU CANNOT CANNOT CANNOT move forward if you DO NOT KNOW WHO YOU ARE….because there is NO PATH without that knowledge of IDENTITY…..

but too many reside in their slavery comfort zone and want to keep everyone else STUCK THERE WITH THEM…

42. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar

And now more than ever you need your REAL IDENTITIES because for whatever reason the government took ya colonial/FAKE identities and threw it ALL ACROSS CYBERSPACE…

43. @ Frank January 12, 2022 11:51 AM
    Baje maybe the weed? Ask 555.
    Hal Austin claimed Jamaicans rather than being ignorant were the most innovative of Caribbean people’s.

And what is so ‘incorrect’ with Hal’s claim?

Maybe your myopically insular mentality is preventing you from seeing the validity of it.

Maybe you need to read a bit more of the British Press for a balanced point of view.

On the whole, English-speaking Caribbean people have been punching way above their weight given the small population which, generally, is no more than an average city in some Asian countries.

What cannot be gainsaid is that the vast majority of those successful on the global stage have been Jamaican whether they are in the arena of sports, music, literature business or even cultural penetration.

Aren’t the same so-called more Christianized black Bajans copycats of the very Jamaican bad-boy culture?

Even the descendants of those early migrants into in the Western Diaspora have made their mark in similar ventures especially in the UK.

Hal is ‘Spot On’ where that claim is concerned.

Isn’t Italy the home of both Roman Catholicism, the mother of the same Christianity, and that of the Mafiosi?

44. Somewhere

West Side Story

1957 broadway lyrics

A GIRL
    There’s a place for us,
    Somewhere a place for us.
    Peace and quiet and open air
    Wait for us, somewhere.

There’s a time for us,
    Some day a time for us,
    Time together with time to spare,
    Time to learn, time to care.

Some day,
    Somewhere,
    We’ll find a new way of living,
    We’ll find a way of forgiving.
    Somewhere,
    Somewhere . . .

There’s a place for us,
    A time and place for us.
    Hold my hand and we’re halfway there.
    Hold my hand and I’ll take you there
    Somehow,
    Some day,
    Somewhere!

1961 film lyrics

TONY
    There’s a place for us,
    Somewhere a place for us,
    Peace and quiet and open air
    Wait for us, somewhere.

MARIA
    There’s a time for us,
    Someday a time for us,
    Time together with time to spare,
    Time to learn, time to care
    Someday!

TONY
    Somewhere
    We’ll find a new way of living

MARIA
    We’ll find a way of forgiving
    Somewhere.

TONY AND MARIA
    There’s a place for us,
    A time a place for us.
    Hold my hand and we’re halfway there.
    Hold my hand and I’ll take you there
    Somehow,
    Some day,
    Somewhere!

45. Stylelily

Bajans no pop no style
    Little England change up their British Stylee
    and have to use a Jamaican Stylee
    or an American Stylee
    or an African Stylee

46. “Chattel” ?

“but too many reside in their slavery comfort zone and want to keep everyone else STUCK THERE WITH THEM…”

Xxxx

*Reiterate..

De World Population is 7,917,659,138
    Population Change Since Jan. 1 82,321,440

Individuals carries one 24/7

47. Wasn’t the point made sometime ago that a campaign was not the time to have a serious discussion about anything?

48. Miller read posts at 11.16-11.36-11.51
    Confident you will figure things out.