A short three years ago in 2018 then Prime Minister Freundel Stuart remained in office for 90 days beyond the five year anniversary of the first sitting of parliament permitted under the Barbados Constitution. Three years later incumbent Prime Minister Mia Mottley has called a snap general election eighteen months before it is constitutionally due. 

The early ring of the bell has caused tongues to wag with rumours and rumours of rumours rolling off the social media conveyor belt. The blogmaster reconciled a long time ago that political parties are in business to win general elections and this is the single consideration to reflect on when evaluating and commenting on political issues.

Every election cycle we hear talk about the need for the enactment of fixed term, campaign financing legislation etc. When the winner is announced on the night of the 19th January there will be further calls campaign financing laws and amendment to the electoral laws etc. To be expected, nothing will be done to address the issues raised by the politicians who raised them.

This week there were howls of protests from members of the public when it was discovered the voters list was posted online with personal information. The majority of Barbadians were oblivious to the fact the Representation of the People Act was amended in 2020 to make legal what occurred. What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians have in what is debated in parliament. It should make the debate promised about the Barbados Constitution very interesting.

The blogmaster will resist the usual political punditry at predicting who will win which ‘seat’ on the 19th. Given the current hopeless economic state of affairs in the country, it seems a pointless exercise to expect B or D will make a difference. Both political parties have to bear responsibility for where we are today. Do not expect manna to fall after nearly fifteen years of famine.

The blogmaster and others have blogged many times on governance issues, however, BU dashboard shows these blogs record lower hits than the others. What does it say about our ‘intelligence’ as a people? 

The government you elect is the government you deserve.

Thomas Jefferson

Will average Barbadians be encouraged to seriously debate the merits of imposing fixed term laws to eliminate the opportunity for a prime minister to attempt to manipulate the result of an election? The blogmaster is not optimistic. Stuart tried in 2018 and supporters of the Democratic Labour Party defended the decision. Mottley three years into a five year term has done similarly and Barbados Labour Party are stridently defending the decision. Around and around we go, when it will stop nobody knows.

What will be the issues this time around?

Same old, same old – NTSH

467 responses to “Silly Season Time Again”

1. Mia Amor=Mia Loves=Mia Cares.

2. @Raw Bake January 2, 2022 9:44 PM “Amoral”

Are male politicians amoral?

Or is amorality only a female thingy?

3. Why don’t you ask them?

4. @Raw Bake January 2, 2022 10:19 PM “Why don’t you ask them?”

I just did and I did not like their answers at all.

Altogether they told me that they routinely break all of the 10 commandments.

Some told me that they break 11 to 20 also.

5. So what do you want from me now?
    To tell you that all politicians are the same?
    None uh dem ain’t nuh good?
    You already know that.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    She was always MAM?
    @SS
    I am always chill…at least these days. The odd rum helps if things heat up.

7. What has happened?

AFTER BEING GIVEN a decisive mandate to rule with a victory where only one box was won by the previous ruling party, one would expect the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to be able to “sew a fine seam”.
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has called on the people of Barbados to reiterate their decision. What is the cause of this rather strange requirement with only three and a half years at the head?
    The previous government may still not have recovered from the beating, so much so that a new leader has been seeking with muted success to revive the party. I say revive because no significant number had declared its hand as yet from the old guard or from new people who have come forward for public scrutiny.
    Prime Minister Motttley has had glowing praise as she has been outstanding on the world stage, carrying the name of Barbados wherever she went with complimentary reports from world leaders. Such a scenario should have engendered high regard from the people of Barbados. However, the fact that she now requires a fresh mandate is perplexing. Where is the problem? Is the problem within her own Cabinet or with an unsatisfied public?
    I believe that the disarray within her Cabinet is the main cause of the problem. Some prominent members of the Cabinet have declared early and publicly that they will not be participating in running again for election.
    They are not by any means near the usual retirement age. Is there dissent within the Cabinet? You know like rather than announce public dissatisfaction and harm the party, members may prefer to leave quietly. Are they dissatisfied with measures taken or how measures are taken?

An accusation that dates back to the days of Owen Arthur has been festering for quite a while. It is worthwhile listening to his speech in Parliament again. It may be the “bete noire” of the situation.
    But can that be the reason why a representative would not wish to give voice at the highest level for the people that sent him/her to parliament?
    Then the accusation of dictatorship may have some truth. But what if the decisions of the Prime Minister have placed Barbados in a favourable position? There is a rising choir of dictatorship from the public that may also be echoed within the Cabinet. But what if the measures favourable to Barbados have been mostly seen as positive?

The opposition of the various churches to not condemning homosexuality, approving same sex marriage, the removal of God from the Charter, the permission of priests to ratify same sex marriages have all been seen as forced on the society. The crucial move to declare Barbados a republic without a referendum is a festering issue.
    Here the pulpit is a considerable opposition. We have not heard members of the Cabinet coming out heartily in support of the Prime Minister.

The response to the epidemic has been mainly favourable. A help within the means of Barbados has been given to the most vulnerable. However some measures have upset the general public, especially the nurses and civil servants.
    • One measure may have its genesis going back to the decision to choose the leader of the biggest trade union to be the representative for St George. This has virtually silenced the ability of the representative of the nurses now to be without the previous voice of the trade union. Having the trade union muzzled means that representation and opposition now comes mainly from the Senate where it is limited. A strike of the nurses has other spinoff effects on the economy now faced with the COVID-19 situation. This strike is in fact representative of the general public.
    There is another issue about which one is not sure if there is consensus. The effective Minister of Finance has declared that the Barbados dollar is safe. I am not sure that this is a financial observation or a political boast. Are all the members of the Cabinet in agreement? No one has indicated that we can arbitrarily use the foreign exchange of the world institutions sitting in our Central Bank to pay for food or medicine.
    All in all, examining the pros and cons and taking into consideration the sophistication of the Barbadian electorate, (shown in 2018), this sudden move by the Prime Minister may be chancy, popular as she is. Her real hope is the unpreparedness of the opposition.
    But, listening to David Comissiong’s outline of the good deeds of the administration, there should be no need for an election this early.

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail. com

8. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

A dictatorship IS NEVER A GOOD THING IN ANY FORM…..and NEVER ENDS WELL for the people it targeted to destroy…but yall can take ya chances, some of you with mentalities so degraded ya don’t know if ya coming or going anyway…so ya wont feel a a thing, but ya current and future generations WILL HATE YOU…since ya have options but too buttoned down and insular to use them..

Supporting a CORRUPT govornment no matter what they do to UNDERMINE the majority population…NEVER ENDS WELL…

9. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Karma and Retribution are VERY REAL.

https://african-online-publishing.com/books-2/

10. Mia wanted to seal 5 more years as opposed to the 5 quarters left
    It is obvious that she will win again
    and the opposition had already started their campaign of smears and rumours and low level petty bitching trying to gain traction

11. Proper Activism Dread
    Mia ditched the British Crown
    Linked up with China + Africa

She is no apologist to white racist faces in racist places

12. Coming soon…

The Healing of the Nation
    Economy will Boom again
    Go tell your friends..

Desi Roots – Weed Fields

13. I Love Marijuana

“I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people”

The new covenant that God promised through Jeremiah involves three things. 1. … In the end, it didn’t work for God to give people his law written on tablets of stone, because their hearts were still hearts of stone. The law remained external to them, never fully internalised as basic principles for living.

14. I am listening to and reading the news this morning and hearing the reiteration of “covid positive people not allowed to vote” “people who show up at polling stations with covid symptoms will be dealt with according to the law”
    Also on the front page of today’s Nation a a masked former Cabinet talking to 3 unmasked constituents. They are outdoors, looks like a non-public space so nobody is breaking the law breaking the law. But does the corona virus obey man-made laws?

Now some questions for the bright boys of BU from a certified “Silly Woman”
    The PM and her former Cabinet colleagues are out and about, so is Omicron. If the PM tests positive will she be allowed to vote?
    If Verla test positive will she be allowed to vote?
    If Atherley tests positive will he be allowed to vote?
    If Grenville tests positive will he be allowed to vote?
    Will we get statements from any of the above telling us what they propose to do if they are covid positive on election morning?
    Or is such information a “state secret”?
    If Ninja man tests positive will he be allowed to vote?
    If head of the covid monitoring unit tests positive will he be allowed to vote?
    If I test positive will I be allowed to vote?

Going to work the ground now, which is what my “friend” GP thinks is about all I am good for.

I will check back in 11ish to see the answers from the bright boys. And I don’t mean you WARU.

15. If people are positive
    there should be mobile booths for positive people to vote
    it could be their last ever chance to vote

16. Oh and another question

Since the CDC and the Canadian authorities have reduced the quarantine period from 10 days to 5, but advised that masks still be worn, will Barbados follow suit and reduce our quarantine period to 5 days?

And if not why not?

Or do we have access to a science that is not available to the CDC and Public Health Canada. And if so can someone please show us that different science?

And if I and/or Ninja Man or a current, potential or former Prime Minister/Cabinet Minister are all on day 6 of our quarantine period will be allowed to vote. And if not why not?

And if not won’t we feel unfaired?

17. Some problems are tests do not test conclusively, virus incubates and omnicron is like a mild cold or no symptoms.
    It is not strictly a binary phenomena Covid or Not, as people have small traces of virus as body heals / fights the internal war.
    The new science seems to be spread of omnicrom strain is no big deal, could help build up natural resistance and some other Governments seem to be unofficially going for herd immunity, by their inaction for new restrictions. Barbados is still playing safe as they do not have the assets for much collateral damage and are higher risk with disproportionately old population with underlying conditions, unhealthy living etc in a small community the size of a US battleship.

18. Drink And Drive

19. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

“And I don’t mean you WARU”

Since am not a BOY…ya definitely could never mean me..lol

20. @Cuhdear
    You asking too many highfallutin questions!!! This election isn’t about common sense and logic.

21. I agree with David

Steupse!

Why can’t people stick to the truth?

Publish the names and addresses of the dead people! They are dead so they cannot be hurt.

Publish the names and stop talking shite!

P.S. A few names will not suffice. There will always be a few.

22. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Of course in wanting DECEASED people’s names published you will not even TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION surviving relatives and how they will feel….Cuddear said, i believe a neighbour of hers who passed away 2 weeks ago is still on the list, ask her to publish the person’s name to satisfy your idiocy, am not in that business..

people who passed away as far back as January and EVEN FURTHER will still be there……since the last HAS NOT BE PURGED IN DECADES….as much as 30 years…

i said i will NOT BE PUBLISHING anything from that voter’s list….my publishing company i can do as i like…when you get one, publish what you want….and stop bottomfeeding so early in the morning..

23. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

since the list HAS NOT BE PURGED IN DECADES….as much as 30 years…..if EVER…

24. The last Barbados census was 2010.

25. “Publish the names and addresses of the dead people! They are dead so they cannot be hurt.

There is a death registry
    (There may also be a sexual offenders registry etc)
    although they may not be complete and are snapshots of moving targets

26. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Barbados does not have sex offender’s registry, it’s something like what Donoguid said…”there is not a politician in Barbados would EVER VOTE FOR integrity legislation…none would want a sex offender’s registry either….did TEETs the AG not say that said offenders have to be protected..

no morals and no integrity..

27. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

.did TEETs the AG not say that said offenders have to be protected…..while EYEING people’s 14 year old daughters..

28. @African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved January 3, 2022 10:42 AM “since the list HAS NOT BE PURGED IN DECADES…as much as 30 years…..if EVER…”

This statement of WARU’s is a big fat LIE. The list is routinely purged. Purging an electoral list is a forever project.

There were Bajans resident in Barbados who were alive yesterday and who are as dead as door nails today. Those who died yesterday are still ALL om the electoral list.

WARU is claiming that the list is so bloated that 50% of people should be removed.

Yet if the EBC had removed 50% of the people on the list people like WARU would be bleating that the EBC and corrupt politicians have colluded to disenfranchise the majority people of Barbados.

Sometimes yah just can’t win.
    Damned if you do.
    Damned if you don’t.

29. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Ya lie…Cuddear…..cause if as Blogmaster says there was no census for 11 years…there would be no rush to purge any list unless people volunteer the information about deaths, immigration etc…and as i said without getting into specifics…a lot of that information SHOULD NOT HAVE MADE IT TO or BE STILL ON THAT LIST….and that is 30 YEARS AGO…and coming forward….

cause you do not know what i know and am not about to share that either, i will share NOTHING FROM THAT LIST that can impact those names…

30. It is nearly midday and it seems that all of the bright boys are busy at their very important jobs.

31. Would appreciate if this nonsense argument ends or the topic will be closed. There is a difference between a purge of the list and the removal of names after day to day investigations.

32. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Either way, no one seems to be doing their jobs in Barbados….or none of this would even be a topic…am sure they are collecting their monthly salaries WITHOUT FAIL though..

33. Where is the evidence that suggests the voters list “HAS NOT BE PURGED IN DECADES….as much as 30 years…..if EVER?”

A SILLY DISCUSSION!!!!

The EBC ALWAYS NOTIFIES the public whenever names of persons are DELETED from the Register of Electors.

At least twice a year, a ‘Deletion List From Register Of Electors’ is published in both the Advocate and Daily Nation newspapers for public scrutiny, or it may also be viewed online or at the EBC’s office weekdays, between 8:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.

There are reasons for this process.

So, is it being suggested each time a list of deceased persons is published, the EBC did “not even TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION surviving relatives and how they will feel?”

Yet, this same individual is DEMANDING that there should be some level of TRANSPARENCY in the process.

It is obvious the lady clearly DOES NOT KNOW what she is ‘talking about,’ and is ‘arguing for the sake of arguing.’

Why can’t some people accept when they’re wrong and simply move on.

34. FWIW a cousin died in August and his name was removed from the voters list as per the most recent list of names purged from the list

35. @African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved January 3, 2022 11:48 AM “Ya lie…Cuddear…..cause if as Blogmaster says there was no census for 11 years…there would be no rush to purge any list unless people volunteer the information.”

Both you and David are mistaken if you feel that the census has much to do with the purging of the electoral list. The list is culled primarily by comparing the register of deaths against the electoral list. Undertakers notify the registry when a death occurs, because the undertaker knows with ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY that you are dead, dead, dead, since it was he/she and her/his team that put you 6 feet under, or put you into the heat of the crematorium. So you are unequivocally dead. Your death is recorded in the registry. The family and or the undertaker informs NIS that you are dead, so that NIS can pay the funeral benefits AND stop your pension payments. So both the registry and the NIS shares info about deaths with the EBC. And the dead person’s name is deleted from the list, the family don’t actually have to do anything. And the deceased doesn’t have to stress himself or herself with these tedious administrative matters.

36. David January 3, 2022 11:50 AM #: “Would appreciate if this nonsense argument ends or the topic will be closed. There is a difference between a purge of the list and the removal of names after day to day investigations.”

My apologies. Did not see your above comments.

But, please let me add, a ‘Deletion List From Register Of Electors’ was created on Thursday, January 7, 2021 and made available to the public from Sunday, January 31, 2021.

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/download/deletion-list-from-register-of-electors/

Obviously, the names of those persons who died immediately before or after the Register was compiled, WOULD NOT APPEAR on the list. And, for obvious reasons, their names would appear on the ‘Register of Electors.’

Hence, the Register would NEVER be accurate…… but, it does not necessarily means it is fraudulent.

Cuhdear Bajan January 3, 2022 12:45 PM #: “Undertakers notify the registry when a death occurs, because the undertaker knows with ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY that you are dead, dead, dead, since it was he/she and her/his team that put you 6 feet under, or put you into the heat of the crematorium. So you are unequivocally dead. Your death is recorded in the registry. The family and or the undertaker informs NIS that you are dead, so that NIS can pay the funeral benefits AND stop your pension payments. So both the registry and the NIS shares info about deaths with the EBC. And the dead person’s name is deleted from the list………..”

@ Cuhdear Bajan

You are correct.

Here endeth the lesson.

37. The comment was not at you which is laced with sense.

38. Cuhdear Bajan
    What you suggest sounds like a sensible common sense practical approach to maintaining integrity of information in the age of information that would indeed be sound policy to implement by those whose job role in life is in this area.

Appointment with Life
    However there are also agents of misinformation with idle minds and also people who do not have energy to be aware of what is going on in their perceptions in their minds and what is going on around the world in the here and now which is the subject and object of perception of their mind. Mindfulness allows us to be in the here and the now and is the capacity to help us to be in the present moment for an appointment with life.

39. So Where is Mia and her PR handlers on these two issues
    One of the voters list that exposes the incompetence of govt officials who would exposes citizens names and addresses and NRN all over the internet where thieves and fraudsters lurk
    A nation in Crisis a National crisis which begs for answers
    Another crisis which undermines the integrity of the Constituion having a called by the PM for early elections which if go unresolved can corrupt the democratic purpose
    Often more times than not the PM has used the PR engagement with the public on all and any issues
    Now in this critical time of a Nation crisis
    Her voice is silent
    So 😥

40. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

“The list is culled primarily by comparing the register of deaths against the electoral list. ”

but can you say HOW OFTEN this takes place , they don’t need to go to any undertaker…there is a registry for DEATHS….at least i hope there is, although people have COMPLAINED bitterly how slow they are….but they should be linked DIRECTLY to eEectoral and Boundaries…and reports given on deaths EVERY DAY. NOT EVERY FEW YEARS when someone deigns to remember…

besides, you do know or not that the deceased matter is not the only issue with the list….everyone should get a copy and peruse it themselves, i said what i had to say and nothing changes.. ..i will not be divulging anything else…people on the list don’t care who they are have a right to privacy, everyone seems to know that except the government..

41. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

When ya dealing with incompetence and have reason to show it up, people don’t like to hear, again, without getting into specifics, had a matter dealing with the registry where a relative needed a document and was offshore, i simply asked why that registry was not hooked up directly with another government entity so the processing of that particular information would not require running hither and yon….there are computers and telephones and this and that for such direct links these days….there is no reason to make anything seem harder than it needs to be…information is now distilled IN SECONDS….there is no reason to run around FOR WEEKS, MONTHS OR YEARS…

42. Again I asked where is Mia voice to speak to the nation on these burning issues
    Leaders lead

43. DO NOT FEED THE PIGEONS OR TROLLS
    THEY SHIT ALL OVER

Code of the Streets
    Some snitches get killed and then buried in ditches by the gangstas
    So let the dead bury the dead
    But, the living man give thanks and praise instead

I no go a this burial

Naw Go A Dem Funeral

44. Let’s not feed the trolls
    Just put them to sleep
    First The came for the trolls and not one spoke out

45. Waru does not vote

How to vote

Voting in person

You vote in person at a polling station (usually in a public building, such as a school or local hall).

Your poll card

You’ll be sent a poll card just before an election telling you when to vote and at which polling station. You can only vote at the polling station location on your card.

You can NOT apply for a postal or proxy vote instead.

46. WURA fabricates stuff to make herself appear to be “in de know”.

In short, WURA LIES!

WHO DOAN KNOW DAH????!!!!!

And that is why she will not publish the names of deceased persons on the list. Talking shite about relatives being hurt!

Hurt how?????

STEUPSE!

Let the cussin’ begin! Again!

Like water off a duck’s back.