A short three years ago in 2018 then Prime Minister Freundel Stuart remained in office for 90 days beyond the five year anniversary of the first sitting of parliament permitted under the Barbados Constitution. Three years later incumbent Prime Minister Mia Mottley has called a snap general election eighteen months before it is constitutionally due. 

The early ring of the bell has caused tongues to wag with rumours and rumours of rumours rolling off the social media conveyor belt. The blogmaster reconciled a long time ago that political parties are in business to win general elections and this is the single consideration to reflect on when evaluating and commenting on political issues.

Every election cycle we hear talk about the need for the enactment of fixed term, campaign financing legislation etc. When the winner is announced on the night of the 19th January there will be further calls campaign financing laws and amendment to the electoral laws etc. To be expected, nothing will be done to address the issues raised by the politicians who raised them.

This week there were howls of protests from members of the public when it was discovered the voters list was posted online with personal information. The majority of Barbadians were oblivious to the fact the Representation of the People Act was amended in 2020 to make legal what occurred. What it has exposed is the lack of interest the majority of Barbadians have in what is debated in parliament. It should make the debate promised about the Barbados Constitution very interesting.

The blogmaster will resist the usual political punditry at predicting who will win which ‘seat’ on the 19th. Given the current hopeless economic state of affairs in the country, it seems a pointless exercise to expect B or D will make a difference. Both political parties have to bear responsibility for where we are today. Do not expect manna to fall after nearly fifteen years of famine.

The blogmaster and others have blogged many times on governance issues, however, BU dashboard shows these blogs record lower hits than the others. What does it say about our ‘intelligence’ as a people? 

The government you elect is the government you deserve.

Thomas Jefferson

Will average Barbadians be encouraged to seriously debate the merits of imposing fixed term laws to eliminate the opportunity for a prime minister to attempt to manipulate the result of an election? The blogmaster is not optimistic. Stuart tried in 2018 and supporters of the Democratic Labour Party defended the decision. Mottley three years into a five year term has done similarly and Barbados Labour Party are stridently defending the decision. Around and around we go, when it will stop nobody knows.

What will be the issues this time around?

Same old, same old – NTSH

467 responses to “Silly Season Time Again”

1. So what if Waru lies
    PM has been caught telling whoppers
    Where was the outrage
    Bunch hypocrites
    Ask Caswell he has called her out many times
    Them truths she cannot dissolve

2. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, to your valid point of the nonsense of some debating here I would ask whether there are any allegations of voting fraud in Bim in recent elections!

When a blogger continues to harp on the issue of *’The list is culled primarily by comparing the register of deaths against the electoral list.’ [….] ***but can you say HOW OFTEN this takes place***”, there is clearly a suggestion that there are shenanigans afoot!

I am not aware of any instances where dead persons ‘voted’ or folks long emigrated … or at least to any magnitude that it tipped results.

As noted previously voter’s lists are a fundamental business of politics and it really isn’t left to commenters on a blog to be venting nonsensically on such issues…. if the general secretary of a party does not have her team diligently managing such lists and addressing concerns continually then ANY discussion anywhere else is absolutely worthless … as it would be too late to save their election loss.

And when the commenters despite the factual efforts of others are simply creating alternative facts it makes the whole thing even worst.

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh also @David, have any of the parties sought judicial review of the directive that covid positive folks in quarantine centers are considered under QEH medical care and are thus not eligible for special voting consideration!

This is the type of issue that must be legislated … UNLESS of course no one party sees it as affecting them more than another.

Fact is that legally it’s a nonsense … how can a virus that necessitated a state of emergency invocation be equated to standard care confinement vis voting privileges… that’s simply absurd on its face.

If none of our civic or political groups has the moxie to challenge this assault on civil rights then WTF is the entire electoral process really about … just to elect another bunch of self serving lackeys.

SMH!

4. “So what if Waru lies
    PM has been caught telling whoppers”

2 lies does not balance out to the truth

“And when the commenters despite the factual efforts of others are simply creating alternative facts it makes the whole thing even worst.”

the internet is full of bullshit
    waru takes all her information from it
    and writes books not understanding facts

Truth has a vibration that resonates with your heart
    if you always speak the truth
    it is easy to recognise truth
    and reject lies instinctually

5. @Dee Word

There have been reports of irregularities before elections which have always been addressed i.e. duplications, addresses etc. There have been no material reports of voter fraud that the blogmaster is aware. On voting day as you know you have to produce ID and the name is flagged on the voter’s list which would have been circulated to all political parties for checking and other validations.

6. @Dee Word

So far just talk. One must imagine that in the meetings between parties and the EBC this must be an issue raised. So far the chairman has indicated the parties are happy with progress.

There is still time!

7. @ NorthernObserver,

Fake news ?

8. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar
    African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved

And poor Damaged Goods Donna got to eat, sleep, dream and ALWAYS think about me all the time, although she got NUFF, NUFF LIES ON BU too….and am STILL MORE CREDIBLE THAN HER and ALWAYS BE…because i GOT RECEIPTS…and she GOT NONE…

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

been doing other things….haven’t checked. It is showing up in several other feeds, but all are regurgitators.

10. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

They could have made preparations for booths for those infected and those in quarantine, as other jurisdictions have done and other platforms have suggested, but they never like to copy the positive ONLY THE NEGATIVE……negative COPYCATS…

are they not the ones talking about SAFE ZONES….well there are safe zones in certain offices that work just fine……for those infected, in quarantine, in isolation etc..

lazy, incompetent, salary sucking LAGGARDS…

11. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

As a matter of fact we have to query government intent, because they KNOW of one professional who set up a safe zone that INCLUDES ultra violet lighting that KILLS THE VIRUS…and they cannot say they don’t know because they were OFFERED to show them the right way to do it…

12. Dear Artax:

I am completely non-partisan, but I have been involved in election administration in Barbados, and previously in the great white north for many decades, and so have 2 of my siblings, and my child whom I refer to as “Little Johnnie.” The four of us have worked in multiple elections in Barbados and in the great white north where many of my siblings and Little Johnnie lives. None of us have ever joined any political party. None of us have ever run for elected office, although we all could if we chose to do so. None of us have ever been full time employees of the EBC here in Barbados, nor of the elections authorities in the north, but we have always felt that it helps to keep elections clean if we non-partisan people are on the spot, to keep a sharp eye on the political partisans.

So “yes” I have an excellent understanding of election administration.

13. Wherever I have lived I have always applied for a vacation day off so that I could work in the election. Once the company’s HR officer, may she rest in peace, turned up to vote at the polling station where I was working. Of course I was expecting her because I had already reviewed the list. My immediate supervisor and the company’s time keeper had already recorded my vacation day off. The woman went back to work asking whether I had called in sick that day. I had not. The HR person, a white Bajan didn’t know, but I knew that had gone to secondary school with an elder sibling of mine, so I “knew” her. Could anticipate exactly what she would do.

14. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

We gotta ask the REAL REASON they don’t want over 3,000 people to vote, just saying they are infected, in isolation or quarantine, is not enuff..they got something else going on but the people will deal with that…

15. @ angela coxJanuary 3, 2022 3:18 PM
    So what if Waru lies
    PM has been caught telling whoppers
    Where was the outrage
    Bunch hypocrites
    Ask Caswell he has called her out many times
    Them truths she cannot dissolve….
    (Unquote).

Ac, you do have a point there which cannot be refuted even by the likes of Donna.

What is so different about the poor Waru who is a mere embellisher of the facts designed mainly to attract discussion and stimulate cogitation?

Why is Ms “Y G” being held to such a high standard when the Bajan people are still waiting to hear and see the contents of that Big Red Bag on display since May 2018 or even the explanation behind the Malmoney volte-face culminating with the vaccine scandal that even caused Dear Uncle Jeff, the compromised MoH (and even Sister Moe) to be totally pissed off?

What have become of those buzz words of ‘Transparency’, ‘Accountability’ and ‘Good Governance’ equivalent to diddly-squat under the Twiddle Dee dynasty of the short reign of the King ‘D’ the thief and liar and his successor the Stuart regent the Lord Fumble and the current queen dubbed Twiddle Bee?

Are the Bajan voters going to be subjected to such BS in the coming 2 weeks when the only game in town is that of ‘Insolvency’; with the IMF administrator the only agency forced to take on the job like the Pied Piper of Hamelin?

What can you expect from a country which has defaulted on its debt but still pretends to present the impression that all is hunky-dory in the Bajan paradise of a republic of Knighthoods and Queen Counsels while its sweet-skin bucky citizens continue living in the Kiddy-kingdom of imported materialistic bliss?

16. @Cuhdear Bajan “The list is culled primarily by comparing the register of deaths against the electoral list. ”

@African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved January 3, 2022 1:25 PM “but can you say HOW OFTEN this takes place , they don’t need to go to any undertaker…there is a registry for DEATHS”

Often. I certainly notice several times per year that it is being done.

You said “they don’t need to go to any undertake there is a registry for DEATHS” Let me explain this to you real, real slow. The information in the death registry has to come from somewhere/somebody, the information does not create itself. Who else knows for sure that a person is dead except undertakers??? LOL!!! OK. Doctors certify deaths. But after the doctor has done his/her thing,all ‘o we gotta to to the undertaker. Once he puts us 6 feet down, Death is certain and he/she informs the registry of the fact. Only then can the death record be created.

P.S. Records do NOT create themselves. Records are created by PEOPLE who know the FACTS. The undertaker knows the FACT of our deaths, even moreso than doctors, because rarely doctors make mistakes as to whether a person is dead or not.

Undertakers make NO mistakes.

LOL!!!

17. @Hants January 3, 2022 4:03 PM “@ NorthernObserver, Fake news ?

Not fake news, but stale news. That report in from a year ago, January 2021

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

Friends in Bermuda had relayed this info when I spoke with them NYDay. Didn’t know anything more than Bermuda. Now it seems there is a “hidden” release (meaning it appear on google search but not within the AC link it directs you to) on AC stating this a few days ago. People travelling with return dates in the newly cancelled period have confirmed they have received notification of flight cancellation.

19. “The information in the death registry has to come from somewhere/somebody, the information does not create itself.”

This comment thread tangent just won’t die and has it’s own life

Doctors write medical certificates for cause of death
    Medical Examiners Coroners Office is responsible for recording manner of death and medical reason or cause of death
    some coroners aren’t doctors but, medical examiners are doctors, there are also forensic pathologists
    Undertakers dispose the bodies

20. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Miller…they are trying to transfer the BILLION DOLLAR THEFTS of their money and ALL THE LIES THE POLITICIANS tell them on to me, and ya done know how well that is going to play out….they will be forever fretting after am done….🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

they are lucky am back writing and don’t have the time to make up some shit for them to bawl about and run to the archives digging every day…,like dogs who forgot where they hid their bone..

plus things have gotten way too serious for that….too much underhandedness is now in play..

Donna needs something constructive to do….Pacha left her high and dry so she has no one else but me now, poor thing…i almost feel sorry for her to have to deal with me..

“Are the Bajan voters going to be subjected to such BS in the coming 2 weeks when the only game in town is that of ‘Insolvency’; with the IMF administrator the only agency forced to take on the job like the Pied Piper of Hamelin?”

people already feel that they are being BOXED IN…when they are NOT THE ONES TIEF OVER 5 BILLION DOLLARS and now there is a deficit and NO WAY TO CLOSE IT……..that belongs to both governments and the minorities who helped them…plus there is info going around about the vaccine lie where money was passed allegedly and then denied..heard it from more than one quarter.

the people better keep their eyes OPENED REAL WIDE.

21. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Cuddear got a thing for undertakers,…..and funerals…..guess Covid took away the minibus men..

don’t know why anyone would need undertakers to prove death…lol

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    I agree it appears to be an old article loop et all picked up.
    But
    https://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/caribbean/20211229/air-canada-halt-service-bermuda-due-covid-19-surge
    This is current
    And then
    https://antiguanewsroom.com/breaking-air-canada-suspending-flights-into-antigua-and-barbuda/
    I couldn’t find the attached letter, but I miss things on my 3×5 screen.
    So either somebody did a fake news thing which went viral or its true? Not sure

23. I had warned all white shadows not to donate campaign funds to the DLP.

Now the Preconco office has burnt down. Things happen …

24. @ Cuhdear Bajan January 3, 2022 4:54 PM

It is quite clear your knowledge of the electoral process was gained from knowledge and experience…….. not unsubstantiated nonsense some people usually read on ‘Facebook’ and other social media sites…… and then run with it on BU, believing the rubbish is true.

In the case of deceased persons, as you indicated, undertakers make burial arrangements, which also includes collecting death certificates from relatives and registering the deaths with the appropriate department. Rather than admitting they are unaware of the process and move on, they prefer to continue displaying their ignorance.

But, I’m sure you remember when the same shameless individual vehemently argued with you that former DLP candidate, Dr. Rolerick Hinds, was the duly elected representative for St. Thomas, based on him having an office and and a billboard bearing his photograph in the constituency?
    And, when you provided the forum with evidence that proved otherwise, the person ‘said’ people from St. Thomas ‘told them so?’

And, we all KNOW they DID NOT “make up some shit for the forum to bawl about,” because they believed what they presented to BU was ACTUALLY TRUE.

One does not have to run to BU’s archives looking for proof of their ignorance and dishonesty, when they provide the forum with the necessary evidence on a daily basis.

Just review the discussion about the Electors’ Register. The SAME person ADVISED that, “EVERYONE SHOULD GET a COPY (of the voters’ list) and PERUSE it THEMSELVES,” ……… but, subsequently CONTRADICTED his/herself by ‘saying,’ “PEOPLE on the list don’t care who they are HAVE a RIGHT to PRIVACY, EVERYONE seems to KNOW that EXCEPT the government..”

I guess they believe it is this type of reasoning that passes for “logical and critical thinking” they so often claims is absent from BU.

25. Angela Cox too is full of lies. We all know.

But predictably, out comes the clique member, Little Pee Pee to defend and excuse a liar whom, for some unfathomable reason, he chooses to call an embellisher.

Still trying to catch me?

But….the object of this blog is to hit politicians with THE TRUTH, not to show them that we are no better than they!

So….politicians lie! Yardfowls like Angela Cox lie! Tellers of truth to power lie?????? Self-proclaimed educators of the naive masses write books of lies?????????

Lookah, put yuh lil pee pee back in yuh pants do! Ain’t nobody got time fuh dat rosebud!

26. Post the lies I told, WURA!

I will not hold my breath.

You make wild accusations but you never can back them up.

I leave you to Artax and Cuhdear who have displayed your nakedly lying ass quite expertly and hilariously.

I cannot type and shell my peas. Too many peas to pick and to shell these last few days to bother with your sick self.

And talking about sickness, NOWHERE did I suggest that Archbishop Desmond Tutu molested anybody’s child!

I said he was an Anglican big wig AND a freedom fighter of great acclaim, proving that the two can exist in one person. AN AFRICAN, AN ANGLICAN and yet NOT A SLAVE OR A SLAVE-MINDED!

JUST LIKE A CERTAIN FORMER SUNDAY SCHOOL TEACHER WHOM YOU IMPLIED SHOULD FEEL GUILTY FOR TEACHING THE YOUTH THE WRONG THINGS.

WHAT DID ARCHBISHOP TUTU TEACH THEM?

So the sickness you accused me of suffering is all in your own mind.

BUT WE ALL KNOW THAT! NNTSH!

27. @Artax January 3, 2022 9:33 PM “But, I’m sure you remember when the same shameless individual vehemently argued with you that former DLP candidate, Dr. Rolerick Hinds, was the duly elected representative for St. Thomas, based on him having an office and and a billboard bearing his photograph in the constituency?”

I remember all too well. LOL! I still walk by there regularly.

My country is not without its faults, but for somebody to come on BU and claim that the electors list has not been revised in more than 30 years and to claim that the people at the EBC are too lazy and incompetent to do the work they are paid to do just got my hackles up. I don’t like when people tell blatant lies on Barbados and/or Bajans. I don’t like when people denigrate Bajans and/or Barbados.

None of my children were on the electors list 30 years ago, because they were either minors or unborn. They were all added to the list once they reached 18. Got a close relative who works with EBC too, a Cawmerian at that. Up and On. LOL! The staff work hard and work well to keep the list as current as possible, but it will ALWAYS be a work in progress.

28. It is amazing that the Miller sees no harm in the suggestion that the voter’s list is substantially incorrect after watching what happened in the last US presidential election.

The lengths to which some of you will go to back your chosen bloggers!

If BU were a political platform you would fit right in with the partisans.5

SMH

29. I hope you will watch the election campaign tonight. Really a spectacle how our politicians jump up and down, gesticulate, shout and utter sounds like wild ones.

Our white massas are making their black puppets dance. In the past they had to make their slaves dance with a whip, today a few banknotes are enough.

Barbados is still a plantation. But our black masses don’t know it.

30. Waru talks bull that cannot be denied
    but suckers drawn into the bull need to step back
    as they are being baited

31. William Skinner Avatar

I have been intimately involved as a candidate and also as a senior member of two campaign management teams. My last involvement was in 2018, in a professional capacity.
    I have never witnessed anything but the highest professional standards in the process.
    Having said that, I must say that I am extremely concerned about the possibility that some citizens may not get the opportunity to vote in the current election.

32. @ William Skinner January 3, 2022 11:06 PM

I see it exactly differently and support our official bodies 100%.

I also have grave security concerns about unvaccinated people being allowed to vote. If so, then only with a double PCR test that must not be older than 24 hours. At your own expense, of course. And then, please, in separate rooms and with separate ballot boxes, so that a clear boundary line is drawn vis-à-vis the vaccinated.

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ Tron
    Don’t think we are that far apart. I just prefer that we all get a chance to vote.
    The very best to you and yours in 2022.

34. Mottley: Can’t put back poll
    by ANTOINETTE CONNELL
    antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com
    TWO WEEKS OF campaigning for the January 19 General Election officially started yesterday – minus the usual excitement associated with polls.
    The election has been overshadowed by the COVID-19 pandemic and concerns about the surprise announcement 18 months ahead of the due date.
    There were several new faces emerging, with candidates making it official, while there was muted merriment in some cases because health protocols blocked large gatherings and physical distancing was enforced.
    Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley warned there could be no delaying of elections due to the pandemic, of which the highly contagious strain Omicron was detected here last month.
    “We can’t delay anymore because the issues that the country has to grapple with have to be dealt with now because we can’t wait another 18 months,” she said, warning that to wait would mean the country and the people would pay the price.
    Large group of supporters
    As usual, Mottley had a large group of Barbados Labour Party (BLP) supporters at the St Michael North East nomination centre at St Matthew’s Primary School, but this time around there was not much excited jumping around, and that was the case with others from her party, whose supporters in some cases included stilt walkers.
    The election announced on December 26 has been debated as to the timing and whether it was safe to do so in a pandemic or whether it is a foreboding of austerity measures.
    The concern about Barbadians in COVID-19 isolation not being able to vote on election day is also getting the attention of the Prime Minister, after it was revealed on Saturday by health officials that those in isolation with COVID-19 should not attend the polling stations, thus making them unable to cast a vote.
    However, the issue was blown up on social media, with some arguing it would disenfranchise hundreds.
    Mottley said: “The truth is, I now have to take a brief from everyone . . . . From the Ministry of Health and the [Electoral & ] Boundaries Commission. I didn’t get a chance over the weekend . . . so when I take a brief I will be in a position to speak to it.”
    Last night the Electoral & Boundaries Commission was still computing the number of candidates, with the BLP and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) each fielding the full slate of 30. The newly formed Alliance Party for Progress (APP) coalition has 20 candidates in the race, led by Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley. Other fringe parties are also offering up candidates, and some independents are in the race.
    President of the DLP, Verla De Peiza, said they were operating fully aware of the COVID-19 environment and had been forced to do more with less in terms of personnel.
    “Fortunately for us, we were a bit ahead in the game in that we had certain logistics organised. We are still rejigging a few things nationally. We were about 90 per cent ready and we will shortly be releasing our list of meetings,” said De Peiza, who is running in St Lucy.
    She said it was a tough time to call the elections “with 18 months or so
    to go, but it is what it is and we will do our part to make sure our people are kept safe”.
    The attorney, who is in her third attempt to win at the polls, said dissatisfaction with the BLP administration did not take long to set in.
    Shifted
    In another surprise of the election, Atherley, who rode to victory three times on a BLP ticket but immediately switched in 2018, has shifted constituencies this time around. While he was elected in 2018 to represent the St Michael West constituency and left the party to become the Opposition Leader a week later, yesterday he handed in his nomination papers for the neighbouring St Michael Central, where his church is located.
    “I still represent St Michael West up to today, but a number of people from St Michael Central have been asking me for years to come and run up there when I was not a Member of Parliament after 2008. It was also the area in which I grew up, my church is in St Michael Central, and I have been serving the people of that community for the past 40 years of my adult life,” he said.

35. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

Just as i thought, TOO LATE TO CALL BACK the election…lawd

“My country is not without its faults, but for somebody to come on BU and claim that the electors list”

Cuddear…ya still full of shit…yall can NO LONGER COVER UP any wicked acts by the lazy salary sucking sluggards anymore…it’s OUT THERE for the whole world to view…….ya may as well give it up….did you read the new blog, take a read about what goes on in the lazy ministries, very few people do their jobs, MOST DO NOTHING AT ALL, political pimps and yardfowls don’t believe they have to work for money………the complaints have been MANY for decades…nothing you say can change that…

Donna Saint Liar is still at it…and STILL GETTING NOWHERE…you could not teach my young relatives anything i would take GREAT OFFENSE with you as a teacher misteaching the young ya sick minded crap…, you are TOO TWISTED and intellectually dim….ya so sick, ya gotta apologize to ya son….i was merely repeating what i have been saying for YEARS about the “come back home” COPYCATS and out jumps Donna Saint Liar claiming i was talking about her…her, who no one gives two shits about, she has not done anything impactful on the blog, been waiting for the last year to see what she can do , big F……but always believe every comment is about her…as for Artax Saint Liar, he has already been labeled incredibly ignorant AND ALWAYS PROVES IT..

you and Artax Saint Liar ..the FAKE FACT CHECKER…..don’t think bloggers notice that when ya get CAUGHT IN YA LIES ya take a day or two off from BU and return believing everyone forgot….yall gotta play those juvennile games I DON’T…i have always been ME, NEVER PRETENDED to be anyone else, so i don’t have to hide..

look yall getting published RIGHT NOW and will likely feature as the anonymous frauds ya are in my next book, if i feel ya deserve it..although i won’t want to waste the space on nobodies…but may just generalize and outline the mental sickness yall display..

36. Donna

So….politicians lie! Yardfowls like Angela Cox lie! Tellers of truth to power lie?????? Self-proclaimed educators of the naive masses write books of lies?????????
    Xxxxxxx

But wait Angela Cox I am.not a politician
    Not a PM or any way a servant of the people
    Everybody knows that PM has told bold faced lies
    What kind of example is that for a person in high authority to be exemplifying to citizens
    Yet u and thousands others see no wrong in her being the PM
    People living in glass houses should not throw stones
    Xxxxx
    BTW why was the list having personnel info.placed on the internet
    There is where the problem lies deal with that not with Waru she is doing a job that the media ought to be doing keeping the fire burning at the feet of govt and their incompetent officials
    Heads should be rolling and accountability should be asked of the duffus who gave permission to exposed people’s personnel info to thieves and scumbags
    If the info was not exposed on the internet Waru and others would not have the delight of going throw the list and coming up with information that is scandalous and place govt in a bad light

37. Here we go discussing nonsense. Our politicians reflect who we are.

38. African+Online+Publishing+Copyright+ⓒ+2021.+All+Rights+Reserved Avatar

The day the Saint Liars do something to actually enhance the blog, will be a day to remember, but not holding my breath, it’s like waiting for politicians to STOP LYING, for lawyers to STOP TIEFING …..NEVER GOING TO HAPPEN..

39. We know from previous elections the issue we should be more focused on is politicians buying votes with their various in inducements on offer; cash, electronic items etc. Instead we do what the politicians like and become sidetracked by a few who don’t live or vote in Barbados.

40. DavidJanuary 4, 2022 6:06 AM

Here we go discussing nonsense. Our politicians reflect who we are.

Xxxxxx
    David something is seriously wrong with your head
    The incompetence of govt has been exposed and their nonsensical decisions many of which includes this PM thoughtless and confused decision of calling an election which suppresses citizens rights to vote

41. David,

The liars must be discredited. We cannot ignore the lies. They grow wings and fly! We must shoot them down.

Crazy Lying Woman,

I think I was away for one day only. And my posts have not gone anywhere.

REPOST THE LIES I TOLD!

Nobody is being baited. I simply wish we could stick to the truth.

This constant lying, exaggeration and embellishment defeats the purpose of the blog and turns “assets” into liabilities.

The lies are getting worse as they often do when encouragement is given to the compulsive liar.

I have watched Donald Trump for five years. Look what his election lies have done to America!

They call it “THE BIG LIE”.

His presidency started with the little, harmless inauguration crowd fib and ended with the most destructive “STOP THE STEAL” whopper!

42. ““We can’t delay anymore because the issues that the country has to grapple with have to be dealt with now because we can’t wait another 18 months,” she said, warning that to wait would mean the country and the people would pay the price.”

Pain
    So who will be buying into and voting for more pain, what demographic are these stupid people

I am giving you a taste of the pain for reasons that I believe will serve you.
    Change is never easy.
    This journey has a beautiful poetry to it.

The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far.
    Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
    For even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is stable.
    From On Children, by Khalil Gibran

43. “His presidency started with the little, harmless inauguration crowd fib”

The Trump nonsense started with the lie of the Birther conspiracy
    that Obama was not American
    and everyone knew it was a lie
    but wanted to believe the lie

QAnon propagated that left wing politicians were pedophiles

Throw in some dog whistle racism to get the pack of feral racist dogs on board

Regressive minds..
    Taking back the country from progressive minds

44. Final warning.

45. Afican Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Afican Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

The next 2 weeks will be interesting, lawd, started the 2nd book at the RIGHT TIME….it’s just writing itself.

wonder if they realize yet that it’s the WORSE POSSIBLE TIME to call an election

wonder if they realize that they are NO LONGER WANTED by the majority of the electorate…

wonder if they realize that no one will sit quietly and allow themselves to be pushed into modern day bondage to generate the over 5 billion dollars they tief with their minority partners…

wonder if they realize that THEY WILL NOT GET AWAY WITH TIEFING A 400 YEAR OLD SLAVE SYSTEM to use on Afrikan descendants…as new black face slave masters with their minority sidekicks…and GET AWAY WITH IT…without ALL HELL BREAKING LOOSE..

they better start a lot of wondering themselves…..THE WORLD IS NOW WATCHING…and so is the Continent of Afrika.

46. Afican Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    Afican Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

Yes, and everything i post here, i post other places, time to INFORM THE WORLD about what really goes on in Barbados….no more LIES and sleight of hand without MASSIVE EXPOSURE..

47. @Miller – January 3, 2022 5:21 PM

What an insightful contribution.
    …and what a waste of time.

You certainly don’t expect the collection of brass bowls here to appreciate the enormity of their impending state of national desperation…. DO YOU?!!
    As Bushie tried to explain for many years now…. Our collective asses are cooked!!
    Our immediate future is going to be such, that the people in Afghanistan will offer us some aid… But the signature characteristic of a Brass Bowl is that, even on the way to market, he is cheerful and singing praises to the butcher(ess).

Now why would someone who CURRENTLY has 100% political power IN HAND; two YEARS to go – at what is probably the MOST critical time in the HISTORY of the country.; and with apparently unprecedented international support….
    CALL AN ELECTION???

Why?? to seek 120% support??!!!
    Or is it in desperation, having been shown our immediate future of horrors of biblical proportions?

Also, with the piss poor results achieved to date – given the OVERWHELMING political clout possessed by the queen Bee, one has to wonder what the EXACT plan is going forward. Yet we see Brass Bowls singing along on the ride….
    Bushie can’t wait to see how our brave Amazonian Female leaders will ‘man up’ to the coming chaos….

A people ALWAYS get EXACTLY what they deserve.
    Life was DESIGNED that way.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BushT
    Ya still got that thing about females in positions of authority?
    Time to move on.

49. Blah, blah, blah!

Wuh vex you now?

You want deep discussion on what? What is there to say that we haven’t already said?

Some of us are between a rock and a hard place. Some of us are between the devil and the deep blue sea that has no back door.

Our choice is between six and half dozen.

The task is to discern the lesser of two known evils or else purchase a premature pig in a poke.

I remember the hopelessness that descended over this country in the last few years of the DLP administration, when pipes were dry and sewage was foul, garbage and potholes were everywhere while commuters were going nowhere.

I remember Cahill and Coverley, The Grotto, Four Seasons.

I remember university tuition fees and NSRL and layoffs and downgrade

I remember the worst government Barbados ever had.

Cannot vote for them. They have brought back TWO of the chief offenders!

Lashley was at NHC AND Transport and Works.

Lowe was responsible for sanitation.

Both total failures to say the very LEAST! Both with question marks over their heads wrt corruption.

And there was such boldfaced skulduggery and arrogance that it was almost unbearable.

I look at this government and think that with all their deeply troubling flaws, they have done a better job. Covid has distorted the picture somewhat. We have lost whatever ground we had gained. I shudder to think what is to come. I don’t know that Ms. Mottley has the goodwill of the country that would allow her to hold it together. The last few months of vaccine scams, jobby bonds and hero to zero transformations are like the straw that broke the camel’s back.

Thinking about this voting thing is hurting my head.

This is one time I wish I was in.America. The choice there is clear.