Submitted by Observing
First they gave a non-impactful salary increase.
Then they raised taxes and rates in every place possible.
Then they kept gas prices high despite world conditions.
Of course they watch silently as retailers raise their prices left right and center.
Then they restructured government bonds that found bondholders getting less and taking longer to do so, maybe even dying in the process.
Then they decreased corporation taxes, propped up Pinnacle Feeds, Abeds and God knows who else.
Of course we can’t forget the big huge contracts without tender to the small few persons.
Now they have passed a bill which means that any Government obligations can now be paid with bonds that will take 3 1/2 years with no interest at all…hopefully. Clearly just a glorified IOU.
AND on top of that they will also institute a National Credit Bureau that will record all the debts and obligations which were in arrears specifically BECAUSE the government wouldn’t pay me what they owed me in good time in the first place.
But of course, the millions HAD to be spent to move to a Republic without public education and buy in.
And of course the billions HAD to be borrowed so foreign reserves can look good.
And of course the consultants, new foreign embassies with full staff and silent ministers HAD to be kept in place.
And a budget to help the “poor man” understand what is really going on HAD to be postponed indefinitely.
Really can’t wait to see what comes next.
My oh my how they care.
and i notice that NO ONE is as worried when the system and the government are not only GAMING the people but destroying their lives singlehandedly..
Bajans love to complain, it must be in the DNA. If one go back in the archives I remember all the complaints when the previous Gov’t tried to insist that each pension recipient open an account to facilitate the receipt of their pension.
This is the number one reason i never go into business with other people, there is always a grey area where no one is ever clear about who created what…but ya have no such problem when ya reject partners and partnerships.
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/cars/news/computer-scientist-claiming-to-be-bitcoin-creator-satoshi-nakamoto-wins-50bn-crypto-dispute/vi-AAREA5V?ocid=msedgntp
Here is a case where the system is GAMING the people while setting up a DEBT TRAP for them….and those people are taking this one very seriously and ARE NOT AMUSED…but if they accept this continuing disrespect without acting, it will be on them.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/11/strike-call/
“The Act, which was passed in the House of Assembly, facilitates the creation and issuance of Series J bonds to allow Government to settle its obligations and liabilities “due to certain persons”.
Franklyn charged that under the legislation, civil servants could end up having to accept payments owed to them by the Government in these bonds, rather than cash.
“This is time for a general strike. No civil servant after reading about this should turn up for work until that Government is gone. Unfortunately, I can’t call them out because I don’t have all the civil servants, but this is not even political now. You cannot treat people like this,” the outspoken Senator told Barbados TODAY during a telephone interview.
“I thought that the Government was bad, and I have been saying so for a long time, but it is worse than I’ve been saying and it is about time the people in this country stand up to them and get rid of them.
“This is something that the Government should fall for…. It is shameful to think that a government would do this to its people,” he added.”
@ WURA-War-on-UDecember 11, 2021 6:08 AM,
Why do you continue to offer pearls to the swine? Not a day passes by in Barbados when we hear of yet another loan being accepted by this malicious government of rogues. Loans are never free. This government just like the previous one have burdened their citizens and their descendants with a perpetual debt burden. Which they will never escape from.
How ironic that our original masters had planned a similar fate for our ancestors and their descendants: a life of perpetual slavery.
We are in a euphoric mood “celebrating” our, so-called, new found republic status. Oblivious to the fact that Bajans remain a people indebted to all. And that the day is fast approaching when Bajans may find themselves displaced and completely isolated from all activities within the country.
These crazy people in this rum shop seem only intent in taking cheap pot shots at certain individuals. Let’s hope for their sakes when their country goes belly up they will have a safe haven to escape to.
“Swine????”
You do not consider the barrage of potshots coming from the other direction?
AS USUAL. You are true to form.
Let us worry about ourselves!
Your kind of “concern” we do not need. It is not at all helpful.
Save your concern for yourself up in England. Do you have somewhere to run?
“We are in a euphoric mood “celebrating” our, so-called, new found republic status. Oblivious to the fact that Bajans remain a people indebted to all. And that the day is fast approaching when Bajans may find themselves displaced and completely isolated from all activities within the country”
and it would serve them right, they have had YEARS AND YEARS AND YEARS of WARNINGS…the archives are choc-a-bloc with what was likely to happen and NOW IS….am happy to throttle back on putting myself out there to issue any more warning, got better things to do, too busy to be bogged down with all of this anymore…but suffice it to say that many, many people are waking up and seeing the reality and ARE ACTING ACCORDINGLY…so the years spent warning them, for me, were not wasted…now they can handle it accordingly and the others can suck the salt handed to them..
“These crazy people in this rum shop seem only intent in taking cheap pot shots at certain individuals. Let’s hope for their sakes when their country goes belly up they will have a safe haven to escape to.”
perpetual Slaves will never move forward, they are whom the 1445 Papal Bull (shit) was created for….they knew there were those so miseducated and indoctrinated that they would not need to fear them, just step on them, keep them as outcasts at the very bottom of the social and economic ladder and they are quite happy with that status….they will even come out and boast about it, i said here some up to earlier this year, that the current environment will expose who the slave minded are…and it has..
They are wasting their little pettiness on me, not only have i moved on to better……but the system of evil has been OVERCOME by me…….we witnessed the anti-black corrupt had to return to their Afrikan vomit that they have hated for half century and made laws to CRIMINALIZE Afrikan descents from engaging with our ancestral lands, so we will also witness those who think they are better than Afrikans surivive OR NOT what is on its way…let’s see where they end up,…..UK and other jurisdictions are already DRAWING LINES in the sand…and the minorities also have their plans….i am buying a very good camera for the occasion….not about to miss any of it.
It’s does not take a thing off me to still throw my opinions out there…since it’s clear that this is just THE BEGINNING OF THE END……interesting times ahead..
Where is Angela Cox the recently anointed Goddess of Debt?
Seems she has begun a following.
TLSN…the big REVEAL.
“Debt Act – a major concern
I have just reviewed what I think is one of the most worrisome economic policies that this Government is about to make into law, the Debt Settlement (Arrears) Act 2021 to issue Series J bonds.
Let us start by simply understanding what a bond is. A bond is an IOU.
Governments issue bonds as a way to borrow money.
Therefore, a bond is a loan to the Government and people usually decide if they want to lend the Government money.
However, in these Series J bonds, the Government is not asking people to lend it money but can compulsorily issue bonds for cash it owes to creditors.
The Debt Settlement (Arrears) Act states that the Government can issue bonds to persons it has acquired land from, persons with legal claims against the Government, arrears the Government has with people (including Public Servants), and in respect of “any outstanding liabilities of any kind of the Government”.
Normally, if we lend money, we expect to get paid back with interest. However, the Series J bonds pay no interest.
The amount of money you lend, or rather the amount the Government compulsorily takes from you, is what you will be paid back when the bond matures or comes to an end.
You will receive your money at the end of 42 months or three and a half years. But unlike a normal bond where you get all your money back, in Series J, you will get your money in drips over another three and a half years. That is a total of seven years before full repayment of your money.
It could be longer if there was a natural disaster as the Government can defer payments for two years, meaning that it could be nine years before you get your full money back.
Even when the money is due, nothing is stopping the Government at that time from giving you more bonds as payment.
This bond issuance amounts to a default on current Government debt for payments that are imminent and a deferment of payment of up to seven years.
This issuance also signals that the Government may not have the cash to make multiple payments for things that are due even though it borrowed over one billion dollars in the past financial year. No wonder the Minister of Finance would not bring a budget!
Obviously, the issue affects everyone who is owed money by the Government but what does this mean for Government employees? It means that, after all your hard work, the Government could pay your gratuities partly or all in bonds.
Many people schedule their affairs so that the gratuity pays off the mortgage and car payments, with some leftover for home improvements or to pay for overseas education for grandchildren, to help their children pay mortgages, or to pay for important surgeries, cover medical bills or take that trip of a lifetime. You cannot take bonds to the supermarket in effect!
The Government gets to arbitrarily decide who will get cash and who will get bonds, as the Debt Settlement (Arrears) Act does not set out any criteria for making the determination, nor any limits of the liabilities that Government owes you that will be turned into bonds.
The Prime Minister, as Minister of Finance, can then pick who will survive and who will not, whether intended or otherwise.
That is the effect of these bonds.
Many businesses have cash flow problems, and often the Government will be a major buyer, so how does offering bonds help small and medium-sized businesses that the Government owes money to? Those businesses cannot pay their workers in bonds. And given that the Government defaulted before, no one wants to invest in Government bonds voluntarily, hence this compulsory, cash grab approach.
If the people you owe need cash, you cannot give them bonds and tell them that you are waiting on the Government.
So you are still in debt for the next seven years while you wait for the full return of your money. Also, what if you have to pay income or corporation tax on the bonds received as payment? Where are you supposed to find that cash? BRA will not accept a bond from you!
So let us take the whole picture.
The Government recently printed 125 million dollars, posing as a bond issue, after walking the hills and valleys of this country, criticising the last government for printing money during the last great depression following the 2008 financial crash.
As the IMF will not let the Government print money, the issuing of bonds is just a workaround. Is this what we taxpayers are paying all the Prime Minister’s financial advisors to do – find ways to take advantage of us!
In my last column, I said “… the Prime Minister does not seem to understand the basics of banking, and loan and financial risk as carefully and clearly explained in another section of the regional press… “This BLP Government, interestingly, has transformed before our eyes to the party of borrow and spend as the economic competence of the Arthur years is frittered away, looking like a very distant memory.”
For those of you who think that comment is harsh, consider the alternative.
The Prime Minister has embarked on a policy of populism by spending to try to ensure victory in the next election. However, history has shown that it’s a short-term approach used by leaders to stay in power, but it then has a devastating effect in the long term that can possibly end in a failed state.
The Debt Settlement Act essentially wiped out all monies owed by the Government to Barbadians, with the Government arbitrarily deciding who can receive cash or bonds.
These J bonds are the equivalent of the paper used in making paper mâché. We can only assume the government would like us to use the J bond paper to sculpt the things we would normally buy with money.
Dr Ronnie Yearwood (yearwood.r.r.f@ gmail.com) is an educator, lawyer and social commentator. The views and analysis here are his own and not of any institution or organisation he is affiliated with.”
William…Pacha…a hell of a read.
Matters are proceeding as predicted. I “suspect” DrY maybe incorrect to state the BRA will not accept Bonds as payment. For if a GoB pays me in Bonds, surely I can use the same Bonds to pay them? They may not want them, but how can they refuse legitimate paper issued by the GoB?
The electioneering strategy is less about spending more, than not spending any less. Which by definition today results in a deficit.
On a side note, inflationary issues aside, it seems many Int’l Govs are using Omicron as an excuse to tell their people “do not travel, you may not get back in”. This is a veiled method of saying spend at home.
The next strategy, will be the compulsory exchange of cash in banks/credit unions, for all with in excess of $XXX, for Bonds. Preferably with some unique new name.
At which point Gabby’s song will change to Bonds, Bonds, Bonds and more Bonds
@ WURA
Some very valid points are made in the article. However, it is important that the economically depressed do not throw caution to the wind. Excessive debt means they will also pay for the extravagance of the well to do.
The small are always hounded by debt collection agencies while the rich escape by forming dummy corporations and other legal loopholes.
In our economic system the richer one gets the less taxes they pay. One of the first things this administration did was to write off huge amounts of taxes and we recall who was a prime beneficiary of such sophisticated but blatant skullduggery.
Many years before that we allowed foreign corporations tax free holidays. After the period was over they pulled out leaving struggling workers and empty factories.
The Duopoly runs the country as they please.
We now have three great potential exports: Crocodile tears; double speak and short memories.
Peace
“Excessive debt means they will also pay for the extravagance of the well to do.”
that’s but one of the reasons they are warned to STAY AWAY FROM ALL DEBT…..and credit bureaus….stop maintaining the lifestyles of thieves..
“surely I can use the same Bonds to pay them? They may not want them, but how can they refuse legitimate paper issued by the GoB?”
oh, they will definitely find a way and then blame you for having the useless bonds that THEY GAVE YOU…lol
The other countries don’t need to import ours. Their storerooms are already full.
So how does a small island pay of its debts? Is it possible for a country such as China to be handed ownership over our sea territory? It sounds outrageous. However nothing would surprise me with a leader who would probably struggle to understand basic home economics.
“So how does a small island pay of its debts?”
they can’t, they are too dependent, in too much debt and like to rely on minorities too much for scams….the population shoiuld see it for what it is and MOVE AWAY from all of it..before they become TRAPPED…..
of course no one believes a word they say…
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/10/nupw-raises-alarm-about-debt-bill/
“He noted that the legislation would allow government to clear debts for land acquired by previous governments over the years similar to the Series F bonds created in 2018 to clear $1.9 billion in arrears by previous administrations.”
@TLSN
This is 2021?
No sovereign Nation pays OFF debt, it refinances it. And if that doesn’t work it defaults. Unless your lender is the Chinese, none off these debts are secured. You just tell the lender you are unable to pay. Sorry. What are they going to do??
Is this BLP group any different from the one before? You only live once, make hay while the sun shines. And when you are no longer here to enjoy the sunshine, it is another’s problem.
@ TLSN
The problem is that we want change but rather than concentrate on that we prefer to pretend that it will be alright in the morning and the crap keeps repeating itself. We can’t go forward unless we confront the challenges be they economic or otherwise.
There is a pervasive element of puerile escapism that does not connect with reality and we are taking one step forward and two steps backward believing that reheated cold soup is the answer.
If Grantley Adams , Errol Barrow and others ,with all their flaws ,had been so inclined we will still be heading cane and living in shacks.
The Independence Experiment has been severely retarded by this thinking. We cannot allow this thinking to impede us anymore. We must call it as it is and leave the petty nonsense to evaporate to nothingness on its very own.
While we can’t be perfect there is nothing wrong with trying to correct inequalities and the shameless exploitation of our people.
@ NO
Great !! You have succinctly explained and identified the broken model. It does not mean we should embrace it. Persistent poverty has been the main result of that type of economic planning.
We should not bequeath billions of debt to future generations. All that does is guarantee poverty of the less fortunate and most vulnerable citizens. Like it or not that represents the majority of us.
@William
We have bequeathed billions of debt to future generations. Get it right!
I suggest you all leave your petty nonsense to do likewise.
Some ass came here talking about casting pearls before swine.
Who the rh are the swine?
Is he not trying to score points?
Steupse!
You lot couldn’t sell water in a dessert! You need to know how to talk to people. Nobody listens to people who talk down to them.
Tone deaf poppets!
I said we “ should” not , I never said we have not.
BTW I read today that our PM said that education will be the centre piece of changes going forward.
Perhaps a little light has found a crack in the preponderance of ignorance that has highlighted socio economic planning for the past 4/5 decades.
Certainly, it’s time for serious national discourse in many areas. This comfort zone approach is literally destroying and offering our young people nothing but emptiness. They are begging for vision and opportunity and we continue to offer nothing of sustainable substance.
Peace
@William
We are tired of the talk. Let us see how it translates to action.
Agreed. Time to shake off the frigging cobweb and pie in the sky BS.
“The problem is that we want change but rather than concentrate on that we prefer to pretend that it will be alright in the morning and the crap keeps repeating itself. We can’t go forward unless we confront the challenges be they economic or otherwise.”
pretenders would prefer hide the massive problems, PRETEND it’s not happening, PRETEND they are happier than everyone else while others/most aren’t …….the pretend gang have nothing to pretend with anymore….it has all been LAID BARE…
the good news is they have been pretending to want those in the diaspora to return, well now that UK is planning to toss out as many UK citizens as they can, they will certainly have no problem with expanding the population, so there is no need for immigrants….”come back home” just took on a whole new meaning….lol…careful what ya ask for…
I remember the days YEARS AGO when i told the CLOWN BRIGADE on BU that they were wasting their time on total shit, if their one and a half brain cell has managed to grow even a little bit, now they can appreciate what was told to them…
definitely no surprise, with the decades old chronic lack of maintence of anything taxpayers money bought, this is just one more…
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/12/11/workers-want-morgue-challenges-addressed/
“One said that she would like authorities to deal with the “chronic” break down of the refrigerators which are used for storage of corpses. According to the hospital source, there are 34 freezers, plus the two used specifically for limbs and babies, and on a good day “you may get half working”. This has contributed to the outsourcing of cadavers to two contracted morgue facilities at an estimated cost to government of at least $150 per body per day.”
Contamination = FDA recall.
https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/gilead-issues-voluntary-nationwide-recall-two-lots-vekluryr-remdesivir-due-presence-glass
“The remdesivir recall Gilead recently announced a voluntary nationwide recall of two lots of Veklury. The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) shared the announcementon its website, as is customary for such recalls. The company explained that it issued the COVID-19 drug recall after investigating a customer complaint.”
and for those who don’t care what customers think, they do have a right to complain if they believe that something is dangerous to their health..
Still not buying your water, even in the DESERT!
STILL HAPPY IN BARBADOS!
William…you do see how political wickedness is no longer hidden, they will not get away with it anymore………the “come back home” was issued by Afrikan leaders and meant for Afrikan descents in the diaspora to use the opportunity to reacquaint with OUR ANCESTRAL LANDS on the continent…..but the wicked and backward KNEW OF and hid the information for the last 4 years…….but gave it to their criminal minority business partners so they could go in the place of the descendants of enslaved Afrikans, well we know how that one turned out…too much DISRESPECT to us and our ancestors to allow that one to slide……
…DURING ALL THAT TIME they started CHANTING “come back home” at the diaporan citizens to fill their narrow agendas of luring them back to the island, many will have money, many still have properties or they won’t even be a thought in the minds of the GREEDY and CORRUPT………many voiced that it’s too risky given all the exposure of the last last 10-15 years of how Black people are disenfranchised on the island….now we are hearing the “go back home” UK crew legislating just that……so we wait to here if the tone of “come back home” from those with narrow agendas change….
@ WURA
“William…you do see how political wickedness is no longer hidden, ….”
It was really never hidden . None so blind as those who refuse to see.
how the hell could we even begin to make all of this up…..🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
the good news is, diasporans don’t even have to pay attention to any of it, don’t have to return to any slave society island if they don’t want……..THEY GOT CHOICES…for those interested..
EDUCATION!
I have been saying for decades that this is our biggest problem. Was discussing it with my son this morning. The only thing school contributed to his current foreign exchange earning ability is literacy. EVERYTHING ELSE HE TAUGHT HIMSELF! He now has his first happy US client with millions and millions of views on Youtube.
No wonder he often sat looking through the window!
Where were the classes for his intelligences?
How many block boys have untapped talents?
I think ALL!
Time for action! I was ready for a few decades now.
TIME TO EMPOWER OUR CHILDREN!
P.S. This is not an indictment of his teachers who were mostly good and did manage to add value in other areas.
@Donna
Education isn’t “sexy” enough nor does it provide a tangible “bottom line” to put in a revenue forecast or income-expenditure statement. But it is great for political theatre, rising passions and cuddear optics.
Real change in education will only come when there is real change to the people and/or mindsets running education.
@ Observer
Those “ running it” has not definitively touched it since 1962.
@ David can attest that I have said on BU for donkey years that we cannot seriously restructure an economy without reforming the education system.
That’s why we are stuck with one that produces servants and not innovators and broad creative minds. When they do surface we don’t assist them.
A lot of the crime and feelings of marginalization are a direct result of the gas chamber called the Eleven Plus. It gases hundreds of our children every single year.
Many of the boys and girls on the block are actually boys and girls in shock. Shocked by a system that never prepared for them.
We are not into education we are into electrocution.
LOUDER…unskilled misleaders will miss it the first time….and with their track records of NO SHAME will feel proud at being such idiots…
@” Observer
Those “ running it” has not definitively touched it since 1962.
@ David can attest that I have said on BU for donkey years that we cannot seriously restructure an economy without reforming the education system.”
“That’s why we are stuck with one that produces servants and not innovators and broad creative minds. When they do surface we don’t assist them”
that was the whole ;point…kill the creativity in those thus BLESSED before it grows, so all that’s left are mindless Slaves, unable to think for themselves, unable to help themselves…..but in so doing ya are also LEFT WITH over half century of POLITICAL FAILURES……so it balanced out quite nicely to EXPOSE THEM all…….
RA!!!!…
@William@Donna@Observing
How do you explain the sizable chuck of the national budget education demands if it is not considered important?
Jobs, employment and unions
In my book i pointed out that the lack of creativity and the penchant for rigidly and determinedly keepng the RETROGRADE.. colonial education system in place has had a disabling and DEVASTATING effect on each Afrikan generation born into this crime scene…given that Afrikans are TRULY BLESSED as the ORIGINAL creatives..and we will ALWAYS be EXCEPTIONAL that’s why everything was and still is stolen from us…
as a creative i will ALWAYS take offense to what they did…given that i know what am well capable of…and dumbing down creativity to PROMOTE dependency is another anti-Black Afrikan crime of the century….
William…how many times are we going to have to point this out before they actually get rid of the backward… colonoial education system permanently out of Black children’s lives..
I have never said education is not important. The current system has long outlived it’s usefulness. The huge budget is not the issue ; the issue is what it produces. The money can be justified if it is spent differently.
“I insist that the object of all true education is not to make men carpenters , it is to make carpenters men.”
( W.E.B Du Bois)
@ WURA
The same same thinking that the apologists and obstructionists are exhibiting today is exactly what they were doing back in 70s.
Is it any wonder that we have produced leaders who would give a former slave master our highest nation award. And call it a Freedom award on the same day we were announcing to the world that we were dumping him a d his mother?
@William
The comment was not you saying it is not important Never mind @Frank answered the question meant to be provocative.
@Skinner, pray advise why u are fixated on “Is it any wonder that we have produced leaders who would give a former slave master our highest nation award. And call it a Freedom award on the same day we were announcing to the world that we were dumping him and his mother?”
It was nothing more than diplomatic niceties … a gesture that appears awesome and respectful but basically means diddly squat!
Of course the PM could have said thank you and good riddance but that would have been stupid … just goodbye could have worked too!
Of course on the other hand there are those like yourself who find the PM act outrageous …
But what’s the big deal … we will carry on as a nation. If you and other feels so aggrieved then VOTE the BLP out … ah oh wait… you’ll likely have to put in the other leaders … who – by their prior actions – are even MORE clueless.
It was a DIPLOMATIC nicety … nothing more. In 2021 we HAVE to be diplomatic to all former slave masters .. . Afterall we are now married to their sons and daughters and even more importantly they yet control the world’s wealth sir!
Just bluntly saying…. progressive rhetoric is good but talk and reality must coexist!
“@ WURA
The same same thinking that the apologists and obstructionists are exhibiting today is exactly what they were doing back in 70s”
and making sure INFORMATION IS WELL HIDDEN FROM THE PEOPLE…..and that’s why there is no moving forward….you obstruct your own progress, keep information hidden that will free you from neocolonialism, racism, THEFTS etc… so what do you think will happen..
.but that motivated me to do what am currently doing, no more hiding info to promote evil agendas to stagnate the population even further…info is now DISTILLED in a big way…
“Is it any wonder that we have produced leaders who would give a former slave master our highest nation award. And call it a Freedom award on the same day we were announcing to the world that we were dumping him a d his mother?”
everyone is still wondering what they were hoping to gain by that….an epic fail…and highlights the uselessness of colonial agents….
.at least their “come home” COPYCAT chanting is being helped along, since that display of folly…………only problem for them, many in UK have already ORGANIZED themselves and know exactly what they plan to do…..so let’s see if anyone answers the call..
None so blind as he who wears magnifying glasses for spectacles!
@ DPD
I have long accepted that yours is the prevailing view.
William…don’t know if you have spoken to a cross section of the population lately, but they too are not only concerned, as we have been for YEARS….but are TAKING STEPS….to ACT…they have organized and become very IMPRESSIVE…
They are not getting value for money. I am not one who believes that there was evil intent. Rather, I think it was mental and physical laziness.
Observing,
If education is not “sexy” you are not doing it right!
What could be easier to sell to young people than recognition and development of those talents that make them shine? Talents outside of the traditional areas.
The foolish parents would be a harder sell but happy children would soon convince them.
If you start early in your five year term, the results would be evident by the next election.
@Donna
Love your comment, you are making it a habit of late. Keep it coming.
William,
We have more in common than we have differences.
I have long seen the folly of the ‘Screaming Test”. and a whole lot more of what passed for education. Luckily I was capable of making up for what was lacking.
Just for the record, the help for my son was available through the Youth Development Commission but only AFTER he left school.
Covid put a hold on the sessions. Sessions were cancelled. He filled in the blanks by himself.
For many, after they leave school is too late. They are already lost.
The difference between my son’s outcome and the block boy’s outcome, is a good parent to keep him on track during the dulling school years…and funds to purchase all the technology.
And of course, the belief that he could be successful. Easy with parental resources and support, both emotional and financial. Very difficult without them.
Most children need to see the light at the end of the tunnel to keep hope and belief alive. Marginalised children cannot see that light. Many stop looking.
You are correct. I have seen first hand how happy , polite children have a serious personality change almost immediately after “ failing “ that exam. This was in a professional setting.
The real truth has been hidden from parents for decades. Many children enter that room who are incapable of writing a proper sentence.
The classism we noted regarding PTAs also comes into play.
I have long maintained that a half billion dollars invested in our youth at the entrepreneurial level will reduce unemployment and save foreign exchange. However the jokers have put their faith in iron birds and floating hotels.
I have never met a young ambitions youth who has deliberately squandered an opportunity.
There is nothing like a young person, sitting down with their peers and explaining how they have been successful. They look up to each other; form bonds from school days; neighbour hoods etc. It’s a powerful tool that we have not chosen to master.
Like @ David , I hope the PMs recent statement means something. But, with great caution, she’s been around and was once the Minister Of Education and it was not a stellar performance.
“I have never met a young ambitions youth who has deliberately squandered an opportunity.
There is nothing like a young person, sitting down with their peers and explaining how they have been successful. They look up to each other; form bonds from school days; neighbour hoods etc. It’s a powerful tool that we have not chosen to master.”
especially if they ever found out through historical information and the CORRECT education just how powerful they are through ANCESTRY….the next issue of my Kush quarterly magazine gives more insight into WHO WE ARE…..and WHERE WE REALLY CAME FROM…
.remember mentioning my powerful bloodlines and Clown Enuff had to jump out, think that was the last jump he made lately…
https://www.thedailybeast.com/interview-with-the-vampire-author-anne-rice-dead-at-80?utm_source=web_push
This article speaks to what a child needs wrt parental support to enable success. Without that and with an educational system that calls him an idiot or makes him feel like one, many fall by the wayside and stay there.
The only run-of-the-mill career in the Bajan that my son ever contemplated was teacher. He wanted to be a toy maker. I bought him tools and material. We spoke of his dreams and wrote them down. He wanted to be a cricketer. I bought him thousands of dollars in gear and got him into a club. He wanted to open a martial arts school and there went some more thousands in lessons and gear. Till finally he settled on what he does now. I took out my credit card for online purchases of equipment, technology, software etc. Finally, I told him the card was his. Several thousands more.
Where the hell does a poor child get that?
These opportunities need to be provided at school.
Correction – in the Bajam context.
BajaN
Where the hell does a poor child get that? FROM A VERY LOVING FATHER. WHO DID THE SAME FOR HIS SON AND MAXED OUT HIS CREDIT CARDS TO BUY HIS PHOTOGRAPHY EQUIPMENT
AND CASHED OUT A INSURANCE POLICY TO FURTHER SET HIM UP
hurray story teller
can I tell my story also?
THAT IS WHAT GOOD PARENTS DO
WATCH NOW AS THE TAKE DOWNERS COME ON LOL
ENTER KIKI STAGE RIGHT