The following was sent to the Nation Newspaper by Minister Donville Inniss

Sanka Price taken to task by Minister Inniss
Nation Editor Sanka Price taken to task by Minister Inniss

Reference is made to an article appearing in your Nation Newspaper today which relates to matters before the Parliament of Barbados (Order Paper).

Under the caption on Page 5 Govt Seeking to raise record  $4B, you state, “When the House of Assembly returns from the Easter recess today at 10am, Government will be seeking to raise the highest amount of money ever – a record $4 billion – through the issue of Treasury Bills and tax certificates which is almost double the current level set two years ago.”

This is an erroneous statement. I am not sure if the error is due to the contents of the Order Paper or due to your newspaper misunderstanding of the laws of Barbados. However, by way of clarification, the Government is seeking Parliament’s approval to raise the loan limit to $4b (as opposed to borrowing $4billion).

Section 2(1) of the Treasury Bills and Tax Certificates Act, Cap 106 gives the Minister of Finance the authority, subject to Parliament’s approval, to raise sums not exceeding the amount specified in the relevant resolution by the issue of treasury bills and tax reserve certificates and tax refund certificates. Such monies raised via this mechanism may also be used to pay off bills issued and outstanding.

Now whilst the abovementioned quote may be excusable, the following comment in said article is perhaps a deep reflection of mischief seeking to outpace commonsense along the racetrack of intellectual competence.

and with proposed amendments to the electronic Transactions Act also on the Order Paper, there are indications that the cash trapped Government may not be able to pay people eligible for tax refunds in cash but may do so with tax certificates.

Perhaps had your writer taken the time out to ask a question or to do some basic research then the conclusion drawn in statement above, would not have surfaced. Perhaps my not-yet-conceived grandchild, is more appreciative of the fact that the Electronic Transactions Act amendments helps to create a better platform for e-commerce and the greater use of ET to help transform this economy by enhancing administrative matters related to said Act.

To take these two pieces of matters before Parliament and conclude that the Government is cash trapped and is looking to provide tax refunds via tax certificates and not cash, is absolutely erroneous.

I am particularly disturbed by your article because your media house sometimes seems oblivious of how far and wide your comments reach and how others use the information contained therein informs decisions elsewhere which may impact upon our island.

This article was drawn to my attention earlier today by a potential investor from Europe, who called this morning to say that based on these two paragraphs, his firm is re-looking the Barbados option. I have sought to allay his concerns by pointing out the errors. Not sure how many others out there are guided by the errors of some of your articles.

By way of charting a way forward, I make myself available to explain any item on the Order Paper of Parliament and to help clarify any concerns you may have.

Regards

Donville Inniss MP

107 responses to “Nation Newspaper Continues to Mislead”

1. first of all SSS .too little too late,,,,,,,,,secondly i do not associate myself or in any way like to be associated with thieves,,,scamps and prostitutes ,,some of which you have you have in no uncertain terms characterized yourself… now before you go getting on a wild an abrasive tantrum at ac ,,i recommend that you reread your various post as you went on a self serving witch hunt to demean ac while in the process in no uncertain terms paint a picture of yourself as unflattering ,,, do not worry about standing in or behind ac,,i am capable of standing guard against the abuse and hostile responses,, as before i stated that maybe they will be a process of forgiveness on my part but being apologetic never! given the many unflattering terms in which you have portrayed yourself i would be a fool to apologize …point being that your own words and characterization of yourself taken in the context given could have well be a confession and confirmation as to what ac said about you…….all of which you explicitly describe and define and accepted to be of your nature,,…….SAD…..meanwhile i am in the process of moving on…..away from the gibberish and slime and gutter talk…….hope u have learnt a lesson….and remember that your past is a crucial part of your future and like a shadow it follows u wherever you go,,,,,,chill PEACE ,,,,,,,child,,,,,,

2. listen…..i am not your BOO,,maybe WELL <<WELL and others like PDYR are your BOO ,,maybe yuh guys can hook up and have an enjoyable lunch at the Pavillion…..i hear they served good food for people with ironcast stomachs,,,, like yours,,,,,

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Now Now Now Ac
    Amends are amends. Though I can find like 2 dozen ways to demean you, I decided upon the majority of good contributions made over the last days by you not to stoop to descriptions that aptly describes the portraying of your character on here. Yes you were pummel by the SSS and like I have said, rightfully so. You attack my woman-hood and that i took seriously. Anything else to characterize me and it would have been fine with me.

Now tell me, is confession not good for the soul pumpkin? Would you like me to say that i am all of this and that and pretend on here to be something that I ain’t? Pumpkin I am a bitch, a low class doan-carish bitch. How would you describe Mia Motley – a high class lesbian of good standing or just an educated immoral bitch? How would you describe the wife swappers and the pick-me-up-a high class whore – mongers? Are they all in your eyes astute beings of moral stance and character just because they are part of the rank and file? I mean for you AC is the sin better when polish or simply bad when raw?

AC boo boo I do not have to brag or boost or use a bundle of high-fo-luted words to impress like some on here. If we speaking facts lets research it. If we presenting an argument lets defend it with evidence. I told you I do not like political pimps. Your constant defending of this corrupt DLP party without objectively acknowledging their wrong makes you a pimp. Hence the constant labeling. Recently, you have been some what balance so I ease up off you a bit. You are still yet to apologize for calling me a man, which you said you won’t do and so when ever I see you write shite on here i will again attack your ass if your writing serves a political one sided agenda. But in some of your writings there is much intelligence. Why you choose to be the blog jester is way beyond me. I believe some of my words hurt to the core because there were true but the truth of the matter is AC, you need to be true to yourself and what you believe because all of the long talk above still does not take away the gutter that is in you like it is all of us. No offense boo boo but it is what it is. So we gine be friends or you want us to be enemies. Last call on this mend the fences train.

4. “Blog Jester” “Pimp” additional names for AC LOLL! AC you are the most insulted person on BU and on the WEB! And you continue to roll in your shite with delight! ROTFLMAO

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Islandgal
    You want to start trouble? I trying to patch up my differences with AC. You want her to say now that you are allied with the SSS like she and others believe me and Well Well to be tag team partners? I think AC got the messages some what to be balance in her views. Some where I read that she is the wife of a lawyer. So she has some type of status in the context of the Barbadian elitist and the quo’s.

6. Lemuel

I neither support DLP or BLP, but I live here enough said!!

Lemuel… you may not agree with the partisan politics of both parties, but you should still exercise your franchise with the hope and anticipation that both parties will progressively move in accordance with your desired agenda, in the not to distant future. It’s kinda like having to choose between the lesser of two evils so to speak! And finally, you know, it is a defeatist attitude to abandon the fundamental of all Right because neither party adheres to a prescribed agenda.

7. now look who showed up for dinner …one island gal withh a craw fish bone stuck in her throat..well i be damn. Lol..look honey ac know uh reeling from the after effects ac said on yuh pavillion article..don,t worry uh sweet head life goes on..hugs and kisses…girlfriend…