The announcement by Prime Minister Mia Mottley during the independence and republic ceremony that Rihanna was recommended by the government and accepted by the now President of the Republic of Barbados to be added to the pantheon of national heroes came as a surprise. To be expected public opinion is mixed although many appreciate Rihanna for what she has accomplished on the world stage as an entertainer, businesswoman and philanthropist.

It is instructive to to examine the criteria outlined in the Order of National Heroes Act, in particular the criteria for eligibility declared in the schedule to the Act.

Order of National Heroes

In determining the eligibility of a person referred to in section 8, the Prime Minister shall have regard to whether that person

1. (a)  has given outstanding service to Barbados and his contribution has altered the course of the history of Barbados;
  2. (b)  has given service to Barbados which has been exemplified by visionary and pioneering leadership, extraordinary achievement and the attainment of the highest excellence which has redounded to the honour of Barbados; or
  3. (c)  has, through his heroic exploits and sacrifice, contributed to the improvement of the economic and social conditions of Barbados and Barbadians generally.

The blogmaster will reserve opinion, for the moment.

174 responses to “Rihanna, National Hero of Barbados”

1. Even if Rihanna does not formally meet the requirements of a national heroine, her nomination is at least a successful act of global public relations. Just like the proclamation of the republic, which will not improve the lousy vaccination rate of the superstitious, naive black masses.

But when I go through the criteria for national heroism in my mind, there is no question that only one person after Bussa has met those criteria: our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley. She has successfully battled hurricanes, volcanic ash, national bankruptcy, lice, cockroaches, Donville Inniss, OSA, and the DLP.

2. Public commentary will be interestingly to listen to in coming weeks and months. The blogmaster notes the wishy washy comment attributed to the leader of the DLP in the media. From a political perspective the appointment has forced a new narrative in the public space with a general election on the horizon. Busy time for pundits.

#youngvote
    #femalevote

3. “Even if Rihanna does not formally meet the requirements of a national heroine, her nomination is at least a successful act of global public relations”

Sums up the entire exercise right here

Just observing

4. I love Rihanna and I hope she is reading the underground to get this message xxx

Now that the Queen Umbrella has been taken away the call for reparations is portrayed in a song called Bitch Better Have My Money..

5. How many of the others met the criteria?

But this is indeed an attempt to grab worldwide attention and probably to grab Rihanna herself AND the imagination of some young people, especially girls.

Perhaps it would not have entered my mind to do this but I am not going to quibble because, after all, Rihanna IS an exceptional achiever and NEVER ceases to serve Barbados. NEVER!

We may not be able to measure the extent to which she has changed the Barbadian story, or maybe we have not tried but I believe that as surely as Obama’s electoral win allowed black Americans to dream of becoming president, so Rihanna’s success has allowed black Barbadians to dream of global success in ways that they never did before.

She has given our young people a dream and more importantly, a BELIEF that they too can “shine bright like a diamond” and also an example of how to remain loyal and faithful to one’s roots wherever they go.

Priceless!

She has convinced me! I love the gal, imperfections be damned!

6. Advertising campaign conceptualised by spotters and skinners

Bajan to the world.

Barbados Rihanna Barbados Rihanna Barbados Rihanna Barbados Rihanna

7. A reasonable comment Donna.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, to attempt the style of an oft quoted famous headmaster (maybe from your school days) : ‘Young lad , ah please remove yourself from that fence post forthwith’

Do tell why you “will reserve opinion, for the moment”!

Over the years of reading BU: several bloggers here offer commentary that LEAD the tone of Bajans’ public sentiment.

So I expect that nothing from ANY leading columnists (barring political ass kissing bias) will shed greater light than remarks from wise heads here … and you are one of those heads … so get OFF the fence 😇🤦🏾‍♂️!

I said my piece on another blog so will only add this …

Young Ms Fenty and her advisors made a very calculated decision to ACCEPT this honour at this stage of her life.

Thus I will surmise that just as calculated she intends to take maximum advantage of this and comport herself even more awesomely than ever before to the credit of her nation of which she is a national heroine.

At least that SHOULD be the calculus.

Furthermore the PM and her advisors really are brazen to have made the offer in the first place.

If Barbados had a Freedom of Information Act whereby all govt correspondence etc could (had to) be made public eventually unless it was some dire national security concern I would have LOVED to read which advisors strongly opposed this move.

In normal context this is posisbly reckless with very high risks — and no more rewards really than already being accrued.

To put in context: If Malala Yousafzai was Bajan, despite her world renown; being a Nobel laureate etc … at a similarly young age I would not agree for her to be lauded a national heroine either.

There is a time for everything under the sun, as wise heads 😇 surely counseled this PM. This was not the sensible time-in-life for such an accolade … but it was exquisitely perfect time for maximum PR …. no better scarf than one created from the ‘Savage X Fenty’ fashion house, now is there!

This is wrong at so many levels and Lord forbid there are no ethical infractions amiss also.

Anyhow, I done wid this.

God Bless Bim and long may our heroes and heroines excel with superior moral fortitude.

9. @Dee Word

Down with the emotional and supposition argument. Let us start by offering an opinion on her eligibility based on the Act.

10. Googled the word ” hero ” .

” A hero is someone who has done something brave, new, or good, and who is therefore greatly admired by a lot of people.”

Rihanna has done something good and is greatly admired by a lot of people.”

Barbados loves Rihanna

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh one minor correction … that should read : *God Bless Bim and long may our HEROINES and HEROES excel with superior moral fortitude.’

Ladies first! 🙏🏿😇

But @David, do u think THIS decision could have sparked that spate of MP resignations from elective-office reported in press some weeks ago!

Afterall, what’s a hot public debate without some deep seated conspiracy prattle bring generated!

Just saying.🤦🏾‍♂️

12. Barbados, PM’s, idea of a NATIONAL HERO is definety inline with Bajan LOW MORAL thinking. What if USA, ENGLAND etc selected their NATION Hero’s using the same criteria, there would not be enough space to erect all the statues.

The Republic downward spiral has started, stand by for the final BREAKING NEWS.

13. David you wrote ” based on her eligibility based on the Act.”

I read The Act you posted. There is no ” her ” in The Act.

So is there a revised version ? I don’t like ” guessing and interpreting “

14. @ Tron December 1, 2021 7:09 AM
    But when I go through the criteria for national heroism in my mind, there is no question that only one person after Bussa has met those criteria: our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley. She has successfully battled hurricanes, volcanic ash, national bankruptcy, lice, cockroaches, Donville Inniss, OSA, and the DLP.
    (Unquote).

We notice how you like to ‘equivocate’ matters by equating your Empress MAM to Athena.

However, your Supreme Leader will be so apotheosized only when your Empress fulfils ‘Her promise to abolish the ‘social-screening’ Eleven-plus Exam and to replace it with a system of educational assessment befitting the 21st century requirement for teaching, learning and training of the country’s only future resource or any real value.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

LOL @David, I did that yesterday, senor.

I NEVER start with the emotive … that’s not debate and decision making practicality … that’s BS. I work hard to leave my BS in the ‘bano’!

I am not ‘supposing’ anything either.

No living ‘tender’ age personage should be lauded as a NATIONAL heroine/hero. No. That’s not sensible nor practical.

Excellence abounds across many a generation in Barbados and without taking ANYTHING from Ms. Fenty her world renown is not any specialized hall mark for such an honour.

The criteria is bland (as these things can be) and numerous other people met those standards but were never so acclaimed … this was all about political posturing .

This is NOT a critique of Rhianna… she has excelled tremendously.

Let’s be blunt… according living folks such an accolade is a slippery slope … a very slippery slope. Ms Fenty should not have been placed on that slide in my humble opinion.

I dun bro … as somebody gine claim soon I don’t like the lady or some other stuff best left in their ‘bano’.

16. If the wording of the eligibility criteria for selecting a hero is bland as detailed on the Schedule to the Act what is the point of it?

17. @Hants

The comment probed eligibility based on the schedule, it was not about gender.

18. Shit man! Wuh we frighten fuh? A few colourful Bajan cuss words. Want to bet that none of our dead heroes ever used them?

How about some sexy sins?

Want to bet that none of our dead heroes ever so “transgressed”?

Anybody’s name embroiled in a murder scandal?

I am told that one of them owned slaves!

Shit man and again I say SHIT!

HEROES HAVE ALWAYS HAS FLAWS!

Or maybe we it is not her flaws we are afraid that she may expose!

Maybe we are afraid that she may expose the Bajan breasts and backside!

Quite frankly, I have come to the point in life where I realise that we were born naked and so nakedness cannot be as bad as we make it out to be.

Nakedness is a distraction. It is NOT a sin.

These days, I see past the bumper and bubbies! (That’s butt and boobs, 555)

19. If Sarah Ann Gill can be seen as a National Heroine why not Her Excellency Robyn Rihanna Fenty?

Are you going to wait until Rihanna dies for Her recognition as a National Heroine?

When is Nanny Grigg going to be put on par with Bussa? Or are there no electoral votes in such recognition?

20. Rihanna is a Sweet Singing Shining Soul Light Super ⭐ Star 🌟 Glowing Star 🌠 Shooting Star that ✨ Sparkles Bright

A true national hero would hold a free concert for all Bajan youths under 18 or over 18 to rock and come in

free music is the best music in the whole wide world and universe

21. WHAT THE RH!

Who are America’s revered FOUNDING FATHERS?

Weren’t some of them SLAVEOWNERS?

Did not Thomas Jefferson have a second family with one of his slaves?

Isn’t America LITTERED with the statues of CONFEDERATE LEADERS????

And Britain, want to take a look at their national icons and statues?

Was Winston Churchill not a racist bastard who was responsible for the death of many Indians?

But you dare to come here crying down black Barbadians for morality?

How many slaves has Rihanna owned? How many people has she killed?

The woman uses a few “bad” words and shows some pretty skin!

You are so bigoted you can’t see straight enough to avoid shooting big holes in your own foot until you haven’t a leg to stand on!

22. The debate is not necessary.
    See it for what it is and call it as it is.

There is just one yardstick. At this time, Barbados has to make the most of what is available to it.

Rhianna is the most mileage for the least gas.

23. What criteria what?
    Mia woke up one morning and decided that she was going to name Rihanna as a National Hero(ine)?. No consulting, no discussion, no checking of criteria.
    Just, I seh I gine mek she one and dat is dat. What de ef I paying wunna fuh, mek it happen!

Now the “spinmaster” wants to discuss if she was eligible to be selected.
    When did we discussed her nomination?

Everyone with eyes to see, and especially Rihanna, can see this for what it really is.

24. I get it. She is young and may make a ‘mistake’ in the future. Most people will figure out that … Rhianna is not Barbados and Barbados is not Rhianna.

Besides, we have many things that need fixing. Becoming a Republic did not change our underlying problems

25. Wily Coyote December 1, 2021 9:38 AM

Barbados, PM’s, idea of a NATIONAL HERO is definety inline with Bajan LOW MORAL thinking. What if USA, ENGLAND etc selected their NATION Hero’s using the same criteria, there would not be enough space to erect all the statues.

The Republic downward spiral has started, stand by for the final BREAKING NEWS.

You sound just like Richard Hoad dem other white racist bastards who said the same thing when Barbados became independent. Wunnuh then ran away to Australia and dem far out countries because wunnuh did not want to be ruled by a black prime minister and wunnuh wished the country would collapse.

You white racists don’t have nothing good to say bout believe black people and think they should still be slaves and under white people rule.

I tired of the racist foolishness you duz post to BU.

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, 😂 … u are truly a awesome provocateur for debate ( as u should be).

But to @Hants re “I read The Act you posted. There is no ” her ” in The Act.”

The Dean and now Justice Cumberbatch advised the blog some many moons ago that ‘he’ or any male pronouns MUST be read generically to also be rederring to females in all legal docs of that type, as I imagine you remember.

Thus I do expect you were jesting!

So, @David I say bland to refer to the fact that the criteria is not exceedingly specific … for example it does not refer to someone on the field of battle. Rather its quite all inclusive.

As indeed is the point of such honours … to acclaim all citizens who have done “outstanding service to Barbados”.

I am not questioning the Act … merely pointing out that there are so MANY outstanding Bajans who could fit the criteria…. Ms Fenty is EXCEPTIONALlY good undoubtedly but others have made an awesome “contribution [that] has altered the course of the history of Barbados”, I believe.

To repeat this is NOT about Rhianna’s achievements … it is about a wanton political publicity grab that sets the wrong long term perspectives on previously serious matters of state.

Do you recall the haranguing over the original list of heros and heroine… the action of having Barrow’s name on the list was a major conniption !

For practical reasons I don’t agree … I invest absolutely no emotion to such a consideration.

Rhianna is an obviously devastatingly powerful businesswoman coupled with her skill and talent; a great role model; supreme ambassador and unparalleled national gem.

Awesome.

Now in modern life its necessary to infuse youth with vigor or otherwise create upliftment so she needs to be elevated to the very select position of national heroine!

So be it. I definitely done now, bro.

27. @MillerDecember 1, 2021 9:47 AM

Perhaps I do have my eye on the multi-volume work penned by Martin Bernal. Anyway …

After the abolition of the colonial exams, only one question counts for higher education: Are you loyal to our Supreme Leader, state and party? Yes or no? If you say yes, you no longer need a university exam to ascend to the highest offices of state, because the loyalty to our Supreme Leader is the highest value in our New Republic.

Day 2 of the New Republic

28. @David, I have nothing against Ms. Fenty and I wish her well in this new role. It is not to be taken lightly.
    However, in my opinion her personal achievements do not meet national criteria.
    It is also my opinion that she is the latest pawn to achieve the goals of MAM for recognition on the world stage. This was about MAM not even about the personal achievements of Ms Fenty. It is great PR on the world stage.
    Going forward, I hope that Ms. Fenty will use her platform to transform and take the musical genres of Barbados to the international stage and pave the way for thousands of Barbadians to become internationally acclaimed. She become bridge the same way that Bob Marley used his musical genius in music to transform the lives of those in the music industry in Jamaica. For me she now has to make an indelible mark in music on the Barbados soundscape. The apologist will say that Calypso and Spouge are not her genre but it is now the time to try for the team Barbados.

I also think that it is time to move away from these political affiliation of honours and that a new system is put in place where public participation by ballot determines the outcome. The public will therefore not be surprised to hear who the honours are bestowed upon.

29. @Dee Word

Can you make your mind up- is she eligible to be elevated to national hero or not. If she is then questioning motive behind the selection is irrelevant.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

Zero surprise to me. The PM and Rihanna, have been tight for years. And lest we forget, the Rihanna consumer lines are big advertising spenders. In Barbados, the understanding between big spenders and the media is often referenced. One has to believe Rihanna has been instrumental in several of the PM’s international gigs. She has the clout. And they don’t ‘just happen’. This PM has not been shy in recognising those close to her, the first ‘Sir’ raised similar questions.
    I guess Rihanna may have been given the ‘Key to the Republic’ or similar. National Heroine, why not? And while the male population may not be aware, this event was off the estrogen meter, a female PM, a female President, a female Heroine of international acclaim!! Plus so many other story angles.
    The event of becoming a Republic, was well orchestrated on the global media stage. And well covered. Well done.

31. @Heather

You definition of Rihannas contribution maybe deemed narrow by some.

32. A Load!!!

This Rihanna travesty resulted from begrudging.

Bajans???

33. Heather December 1, 2021 10:46 AM #: “I also think that it is time to move away from these political affiliation of honours and that a new system is put in place where public participation by ballot determines the outcome. The public will therefore not be surprised to hear who the honours are bestowed upon.”

@ Heather

Are the persons upon whom national honours are bestowed, nominated by Barbadians?

For example:

“Nominations for the National Independence/Republic Honours 2021. (BGIS)”

“Barbadians are invited to submit nominations for the 2021 National Independence/Republic Honours, to the National Honours and Decorations Advisory Council.”

https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/nominations-for-national-independence-republic-honours/

Just asking?

34. Correction – HEROES HAVE ALWAYS HAD FLAWS!

TYPOS

35. Let me see now..
    ⭐ a global black role model
    🌟 singer business woman
    🌠 multi millionaire at 33 … wait.. billionaire ($+1.7bn)
    ✨ world’s richest female singer in 2021
    what more do all y’all self righteous sanctimonious jealous haters want or need from a young gal from the hood made good like anybody wished they could she’s probably more famous than Barbados

36. @ NorthernObserver December 1, 2021 10:52 AM

On Thursday, February 21, 2008, during a rally in Bridgetown, to honour Robyn Rihanna Fenty, then PM David Thompson announced she was named as an honorary Cultural Ambassador for Barbados…… and ‘government’ was also recognizing her contributions by giving her a “piece of the rock” — a plot of real estate in the Apes Hill area of St. James.

The people who opposed it, did so for similar reasons they’re now opposing her being appointed a ‘national hero.’

If you’re interested, read some of the comments on the following blogs.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2008/02/21/rihanna-gets-reception-fit-for-a-queen/#comments

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2009/07/07/thompsons-folly-forcing-barbados-ambassador-for-culture-and-youth-upon-a-girl-named-rihanna/

37. If you ask me, Mia is looking to cash in on Rihanna because desperate times call for desperate measures.

If you ask me, Rihanna is smart enough to know what this is about. You don’t make billions by being naive.

If you ask me, I would say that Rihanna would not drain the blood of Barbadians at this time by accepting $22,000 monthly without some sort of payback. I would trust her to put it to good use for the benefit of Barbadians.

It will return multiplied.

If it were me, I would use it to finance the education of some young people in the creative industries and a mentorship and revolving loan scheme for up and coming young entrepreneurs.

38. Davie Davie Davie 🎶

You opened a can of bad Smelling (blown) Sardines and de negatives are partaking..

De perfectors.

39. Oh dear! I just told my son that Wily Coyote reminds me of Richard Hoad. Glad to see somebody else has noticed the similarity.

These people!

I stopped reading Richard Hoad at the time of Trayvon Martin’s murder by George Zimmerman.

40. Barbados turning a new leaf as a Republic asnthe Template of morals and standards are being eroded
    It was only a week ago when the Name of God was being caught up.in a political whirlwind
    Now a standard set for being called a hero is being caught up in an epicenter of divisiveness
    It is so sad to see how the powers in high places can set aside their guidelines of principle to suffice a few
    Most heroes are sacrificial lambs
    Are barbadians ready and prepared for the many economic sacrifices they have to make which would in many cases catapult them to a status of heroism or sacrificial lambs

41. I am certain that Act was revised A reading on the original Act was revised which removed some of the original content deemed necessary to be a Hero
    Replaced with govt meaning and interpretation
    All done under the noses of Barbadians in Parliament about a week ago
    So far this govt has not failed to divide a country and its people

42. Of the Act and as amended was it done in the dark of parliament ?

#hignoranceabouds

43. Very hard or near impossible to overlook or ignore or downplay Rhianna humanitarian service at home and world wide
    However when govt pursue a path of tinkering with law s and Acts for self service
    Then there is a smoldering fire which must be out before the whole dam place burns to the ground
    Buyer Beware of political Wisepersons bearing Gifts

44. Bring the facts to support government tinkered with the law or …

45. Under the Public Order Act you are NOT ALLOWED to stand up for Black human rights, ya can be arrested for standing up for ya own rights, ya own property, ya own estate and inheritance, and for attempting to fight racism, oppression, discrimination, disenfranchisement, apartheid, thefts etc….so that indicates that there will NEVER be an opportunity for anyone to become a hero or shero under the present anti-black human legislations…UNLESS THEY ARE REMOVED permanently from the statue books…so this is the best ya will get…..until…but no one is holding their breath….because we all remember what they did to Clement Payne and in their inbred hypocrisy now pretending to honor him…

no one from DBLP thought it was REPUGNANT to have such evil legislation in place and they ALL KEPT IT..because they know why….want to see them blaming that on UK too….oh, they can’t because they are now a brand new republic with the same Westminster constitution that NO ONE FORCED THEM TO KEEP…….some peoople thinks that is funny and are laughing hard but i don’t for one minute think it’s funny..

46. #Artax what happens after the nomination? Where is the transparency?

47. DavidDecember 1, 2021 12:25 PM

Of the Act and as amended was it done in the dark of parliament ?
    Xxxxx
    In Parliament under the cloud of suspicious motives
    Now we know why
    Xxccccc

#hignoranceabouds
    The above also applies to u

48. @Heather

How would you suggest the government make the process transparent? You have prefer a referendum for example? If the criteria is clear it addresses concerns bearing in mind there will be an element of subjectivity.

49. Davie*

Our boys walking around with British Empire Medals (Sir).

What’s next ?

50. William Skinner Avatar

This partisan BS has no end on either side. When the fiftieth anniversary of Independence was with us, a lot of people had a negative approach to celebrating that also. The partisan comments are there for anybody to read on BU.
    A republic was promised by both administrations. It has been delivered and we should celebrate it. It was the right thing to do. Full stop.
    Fifty years is a milestone of any achievement: marriage ; a fifty in cricket;birthday etc.
    Back then we should have celebrated it full stop.
    We continue to reap what we sow. Pot, all day long , calling the kettle black.
    Shameful !!